Dr. Marty's Nature's Blend Reviews

Dr. Marty's Nature's Blend
( 271 reviews )
Website: DrMartyPets.com

Reviewopedia is supported by our readers. This page contains Amazon links through which we may earn a small commission for purchases.

Dr. Marty’s Nature's Blend is a dog food brand created by veterinarian Dr. Martin Goldstein, who states that his mission is to help boost pet health using his products.

Dr. Marty explains that he discovered a macrobiotic diet as being highly beneficial for overall human health when it helped him get over his ailments in his 20s. 

Since starting a macrobiotic diet Dr. Marty states his aches and pains have disappeared and he has lost significant weight.

As a result, Marty attempted to adopt similar techniques on the pets that he was treating.  When he tried a macrobiotic diet on one of his client’s dogs he discovered similar positive results.

Dr. Marty Goldstein has since then grown both his company and client list, which now includes several famous celebrities.  

Marty has been featured on the Martha Stewart show explaining the dangers of conventional dog food.

Dr. Marty Dog Food Exposed

The bulk of Nature's Blend marketing is done through online advertisements using a video titled “Dog Food Exposed”.  In the video Dr. Marty breaks down some of the most common issues with many big brand dog foods.

While the slick marketing video may come off as hype to sell products, we found that the claims made in the video were largely based on facts.

In “Dog Food Exposed” Dr. Marty points out 3 critical ingredients to avoid in dog food.

  • Preservatives  -  specifically Butylated hydroxytoluene - BHT, BHA, and Propylene Glycol

  • Fillers  -  Mainly heavy grains that would not be common in a dog’s ancestral diet such as: barley, oats, soy, wheat, or corn.

  • Meat By-Products  -  Bone meal or meat by-products can easily be snuck into dog food under the guise of regular meat. 

    However, they are not the same thing and can be loaded with nasty contaminants and cast-off meat products not suitable for use.

 

He also lists 3 Super Nutrients that should be included in your dog’s meals.

  • Organ Meat
  • Omega 3s
  • Prebiotics


These can be included as raw meat or in the form of supplements.

The pet food industry is loosely regulated, which gives companies a lot of leeway in how they can label their products.

For instance, in more extreme cases the byproducts used in dog food come from euthanized animals that may still have those drugs inside them.  This kind of contamination can expose your pets to drugs such as Pentobarbital, along with a wide variety of antibiotics.

These kinds of extremely low quality meats can be listed on ingredients labels as: Animal Fat, Meat and Bone Meal, Beef and Bone Meal, and Animal Digest.

In general, the cheaper the pet food is the more likely their protein is sourced from rendering plants where a slew of unwanted animal parts are converted to pet food.

This does not necessarily mean that even higher priced dog food brands are immune from recalls or issues with contamination.

Dr. Marty’s Dog Food Ingredients

The idea behind Dr. Marty Dog Food is that it focuses more on preventing the deterioration of pet health rather than curing a specific disease.

Dr. Marty states Nature's Blend uses the highest quality ingredients rich with multiple protein sources, and never any cereals, grains, or fillers.  Nature’s Blend is made in the USA and includes many vitamins and minerals.  

Unlike some other companies that cook the dog food intensively, Dr. Marty's Raw Dog Food is freeze-dried to retain the nutritional value of the food.

The ingredient profile is protein forward with a guaranteed content of:

  • Crude Protein  -  (minimum) 37%
  • Crude Fat  -  (minimum) 27%
  • Crude Fiber  -   (maximum) 4%
  • Moisture  -  (maximum) 6%

Nature's Blend Full Ingredients List is as follows:

Turkey, Beef, Salmon, Duck, Beef Liver, Turkey Liver, Turkey Heart, Flaxseed, Sweet Potato, Egg, Pea Flour, Apple, Blueberry, Carrot, Cranberry, Pumpkin Seed, Spinach, Dried Kelp, Ginger, Salt, Sunflower Seed, Broccoli, Kale, Mixed Tocopherols (natural preservative)

Nature's Blend can be served straight out of the bag or, if your pet prefers, it can be rehydrated with warm water.

Note:  When switching your dog to a new food it's important to introduce it gradually and follow the guidelines put forth by Dr. Marty.  Also, it is very easy to underfeed your dog on raw food diets so make sure that you are meeting all of your dog’s caloric and nutritional needs.

 

You may want to consult with your veterinarian before switching food brands if you are concerned about your dog’s health.  

Furthermore, carefully monitor your dog for any signs of distress during the integration phase of Dr. Marty’s Nature's Blend.

Cost and Price Plans

A bag of Nature’s Blend (net weight 454g) costs $59.95, which puts it in the premium priced pet food category.

Customers can save up to 10% when buying larger quantities from the company's website, which also often offers discounts when you subscribe to their newsletter.

Dr. Marty's dog food comes with a money-back guarantee. 

If your pet is not doing well on the food or is not experiencing the promised health benefits, you can send the product back within 90 days for a refund.

Customer Service

  • Email  -  [email protected], or contact form on DrMartyPets.com

  • Phone Number  -  (800)-670-1839, available during extended business hours, weekdays, and weekends.

  • Mailing Address:

    6320 Canoga Avenue, 15th Floor
    Woodland Hills, CA 91367

Customer Reviews & Complaints

Customer reviews of Dr. Marty’s Nature Blend are mostly positive.  

Customers generally love the product because their dog’s feeding habits improve.  Reviewers often report that their pets gained weight and became more energetic and healthier.

Some reviewers testified that their pets' liver enzymes improved dramatically after two weeks of Nature's Blend, and that their pets have more energy and sleep better.

As for negative reviews, some customers believe that Dr. Marty’s Nature Blend is too expensive and are often looking for a cheaper alternative freeze-dried blend that is still high-quality.

In some rare cases there are reports on Reviewopedia and other review sites of animals having negative reactions to the food.

Dr. Marty has an A+ rating with the BBB and a score of 4.23/5 from 1,017 customer reviews on that site. 

Their customer service team routinely responds to customer complaints posted there, attempting to solve issues by refund or other alternatives.

Where to Buy?

You can find this particular brand in stores and on their website, DrMartyPets.com.  

Dr. Marty states his dog food is designed for overall pet health for dogs of all breeds, so you do not need to choose a product specific to your dog's breed.

You can return the unused portion of the product within 90 days from purchase for a refund.

Competitors and Alternatives

One of the most similar companies to Dr. Marty’s, in both marketing and products, is Nutra Complete from Ultimate Pet Nutrition.  

Nutra Complete boasts very good reviews from customers and is similarly priced to Dr. Marty’s dog food.

 


Nutra Complete is a premier freeze-dried dog food.

  • meat forward
  • includes organ meats
  • additional vitamins and supplements
  • 4.3/5 rating from 1000+ customer reviews

1 pound bag - $35.09 on Amazon



Just Food For Dogs is another premium brand that offers a unique twist for those who want to feed their dogs the absolute best food on a budget.  

You simply order their meal plans with nutritional supplements and follow the preparation guidelines.  This lets you control the exact ingredients that go in their food and have the assurance that they are getting their exact daily nutritional requirements.



Just Food For Dogs DIY option lets you prepare home cooked meals for your dog.

  • Guaranteed nutritional profile
  • Cost effective alternative to buying expensive raw, freeze dried, or real cooked meals
  • 4.4/5 rating from 1000+ customer reviews

7.93 oz bag - $23.70 on Amazon



Finally, Bixbi is another leading brand that offers several options including a freeze dried and gently steam cooked product.  


Bixbi offers several all natural dog food options.

  • No fillers, hormones, antibiotics, or preservatives
  • No rendered byproducts
  • Whole ingredients
  • 4.6/5 rating from 400+ customer reviews

1.6 pound bag - $52.79 on Amazon

 

Is Dr. Marty’s Nature's Blend Worth It?

Whether your dog is experiencing signs of illness or is simply no longer interested in their current food, you may want to explore some of today’s alternative dog foods.

While kibble is convenient it comes with a lot of downsides such as a degraded nutritional profile and regular exposure to Advanced Glycation End Products (AGEs).  These are compounds that form when proteins are cooked at very high heat.

The accumulation of AGEs in the body has been linked with chronic inflammatory diseases in humans and other species.

One study found that these compounds were present at levels 122 times higher in dogs than the average intake for adult humans - most likely a result of a monotonous kibble centric diet.

Ultimately, choosing your dog’s food is a very personal choice that should be done with some research.  For instance, many veterinarians will not advise feeding raw foods.

Also, as discussed in some negative customer reviews, feeding premium food is often not a financially viable option for many people.  

For a large breed dog you may end up spending almost a thousand dollars a month if you relied solely on freeze dried options for all of their meals.

This is why Dr. Marty and others include options for using premium food as toppers or mixers.  If cost is a factor you can also explore some of the options listed above.

Overall, Nature’s Blend is a high quality dog food that comes with a premium price.  It can aid in stimulating your dog’s appetite and may improve their overall health.

If you have any experience with Dr. Marty’s Nature's Blend, please leave your reviews below.

See Also:  How to Choose the Right Dog Food: A Detailed Guide

You may also be interested in

Dr. Marty's Nature's Blend Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Cheers!! To Mia's great gut health and Our great air, yippee!
November 11, 2022

I am usually skeptical about these ads, however, my BoxerChi Mia turned 9 and has started slowing down quite a bit so I thought I would try it. When the product arrived the bags where so small for the price, I immediately thought I was definitely scammed. I decided to just used it as a topper...It's been two weeks and I've noticed a big change in Mia's energy levels, plus Mia absolutely loves it, not only that... she no longer clears the room when passing gas.. I am still on the first bag. I do recommend using it as a topper.

Had To Return This Food
October 4, 2022

Well my 16 yr old dog has been having gastro issues so I thought I’d give this a try I ordered it but soon after speaking to my vet about it I cancelled the order (PRIOR to a shipping notification) Customer service said it was shipped ??? and sent me a return authorization (me foolishly thinking it was a return label ! ) NO they don’t send return labels ! So beware if you return any food you will pay a lot to send it back !!

The most inexpensive way to return it cost me $14.55 for a bag of food I never opened ! Shame on Dr Marty! I had all intentions of trying the food after my dogs issues subsided but not now !! I’m not paying all this return shipping if it doesn’t work out ever again !!

Kat November 14, 2022

Hello Rosalie. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced. As it is industry standard, we do ask that you return the products if requesting a full refund. All orders are backed by a 90 day money back guarantee. However, all shipping costs are the customers responsibility. I would like to escalate your review to our Customer Relations Team so that an agent may provide you with personalized care and ensure you are fully refunded. Please email me at [email protected] I look forward to hearing from you soon. Have a nice day.

Scammed
September 18, 2022

Warning do not purchase anything from this company. YOU WELL BE SCAMMED. I placed an order for only one bag of food and when I looked at the bank statement, I was charged for two separates charges. Upon notifying them of this I was told that the second charge was for the promotion. I did not agree to an any promotion. they refused to reimburse me for the second charge. I'VE BEEN SCAMMED.

Kat November 14, 2022

Hello Pamela. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I would like to apologize on behalf of Dr. Marty Pets for your customer service experience. We hold our agents to high standards and we regret that you did not receive the service you deserve. Our additional offers are limited promotions given to every customer as a "Thank You" for your initial purchase and to provide you with more product at a lower price. These offers do not replace the original order but are added to it. These offers also have a clear button to be declined. All orders are also backed by a 90 day money back guarantee. I would like to escalate your review to our Customer Relations Team so that an agent may provide you with personalized care and ensure you are fully refunded. Please email me at [email protected] I look forward to hearing from you soon. Have a nice day.

My Hope is happy and healthy
September 3, 2022
My baby Hope is a Japanese Chin. She has grain allergies so after researching and using other food that was grain free I decided to try this one. I had success with a particular canned food, but she did have bathroom issues quite often. So I tried this Dr. Marty's natures Blend. She loves the taste and will eat it dry or with warm milk or warm water on it. Only problem I have is being a retired person on Social Security the price is quite high. I try to offset it by cutting back on things I now determine I can personally live without so that she is happy and healthy. I wish some of these type companies would do a senior discount. Senior pricing would be so helpful. But no matter what I will make sure Hope has her food. It has helped her a lot and she is happier, has more energy and her eyes are brighter. She is no longer on CBD oil daily for hip issues. She is 12. Now the CBD is maybe once or twice a month when the weather is changing it seems to affect her them. Sorry for the long book chapter. LOL. Pam

My German Shepherd Sheila and Nature's Blend Essential Wellness.
July 21, 2022

My German Shepherd Sheila is 14 years old and suffers from a variety of age-related ailments.

Since trying Nature's Blend Essential Wellness Freeze Dried Raw Food, I've noticed a marked increase in her energy, mobility, eating habits and attentiveness. If there's a downside to Dr. Marty's product it's only the price.

However, after some serious thought on the matter, I decided that Sheila is well worth the expense! Thank you, Thomas F. S.

Niecole G.Ducksworth August 28, 2022

How much do you feed your dog? My dog is Cane Corso and 105 pounds.

LORI November 06, 2022

off topic but when my male GSD dies (probably this year) i want to get a cane corso !!

Not sure what happened
July 18, 2022
Dr. Marty's has the worst customer service and you can't cancel subscriptions online. You can try to email them or call them but no one ever answers. My dog loved the food at first but refuses to eat it now. Not sure what happened but I had to force her to eat it. I was feeding her this food for almost a year and then just like that she hates it.

Kat July 26, 2022

Hello Sadie. My name is Kat, I am with Dr. Marty Pets. I would like to apologize on behalf of Dr. Marty Pets for your customer service experience. We hold our agents to high standards and we regret that you did not receive the service you deserve. I would like to escalate your review to our Customer Relations Team, so that an agent may provide you with personalized care. Please email me at [email protected] I look forward to hearing from you soon. Have a nice day.

The results were amazing!
January 24, 2022

After seeing Dr. Marty's presentation, I'll admit I was skeptical. When he talked about tumors, I decided to give it a try, since my dog had 2 tumors. A firm one about the size of a jaw breaker and a soft squishy one about the size of a tangerine. After the first bag I noticed them shrinking. At that point I decided to try it for my cats. One is 21 years old and did nothing but sleep all the time. The other had an untreatable cancer. After the 1st bag, the older cat started coming upstairs an following me around like a puppy, constantly wanting attention. By the 2nd bag the wound from the cancer in the other cat had started to heal over and the foul smell had subsided. The results were amazing!

I've been unable to afford to feeding them 100%, but these results have occurred with a 50/50 mix of a high quality kibble.

Chico loves his new Food!
December 11, 2021
My dog Chico really seems to enjoy this food. The worst part as Dr Marty says is “ waiting the three minutes to eat it”!

My dogs love it!
December 10, 2021
We’re very happy with the dog food and we will definitely order it again.

Peace of mind !
December 9, 2021

My dog Chopper took to Natures Blend dog food immediately with almost no transition period. He enjoys his nightly meal and seems satisfied and full. I feel better knowing that I have provided him with a really nutritional product !

Phenomenal food
December 8, 2021

This food is phenomenal. My dog knows how to wait very well 90% of the time. But those 3 minutes she has to wait for this food to rehydrate is like torture to her! She loves this food so much!

We are currently just giving it to her as a boost/topper but already noticed her hair growing faster, less itching/scratching and number 2s look more solid!

I’m giving a small baggie of this food to all my friends who have dogs for Christmas! I’m so happy I found this food and I know my dog is too!

Amazing, healing food that my dogs love!!!
December 8, 2021

I am so grateful to have found Dr. Marty's Nature's Blend. I would absolutely recommend it and this is why: One of my rescue dogs, who is about 3 years old, developed a chronic lameness in one of her front legs for nearly 6 months! We had her to see specialists like an Orthopedic Surgeon, and a Neurologist who both conducted many diagnostic imaging tests to try to pinpoint the issue. All the tests kept coming back inconclusive.

As a result, I was given different kinds of pain meds for her, and told that she needed to basically be on strict crate rest for 4-6 weeks. I told the doctors this was not realistic since she and our other dog (who is just over a year old) love to run and play, and separating them was not an option.

So I was given more meds to make her tired so she would not run around. It was terrible! I hated the idea of pumping her full of meds day after day without fully knowing what was even causing her to limp! Plus, nothing was helping it!

Finally, I started looking into different, holistic treatments. I knew there had to be other options. I started researching, and I happen to come across Dr. Marty's products. I watched a video on Nature's Blend. Even though I thought I was feeding my dogs top quality food, I quickly decided to change both my dogs over to Nature's Blend just to see if that could help with the limp. I know it is amazing what the body can do when given the proper nutrition! I received the food quickly, and it took me a week to transition my dogs over completely to Nature's Blend. They go crazy at mealtimes for their Nature's Blend!

The best part is that within about three weeks of eating only Nature’s Blend, my dog's limp looked noticeably better! Then within a month it was gone completely! Yes, completely! I was in such awe! I absolutely attribute the change of diet to my dog's full recovery! Having the better nutrition helped my dog's body to finally heal itself!

Both of my dogs are much healthier as a result! Before I switched their food, even my other pup was having a lot of issues with vomiting and diarrhea. He has a very sensitive stomach. Nature's Blend helped him as well! It is so important to me to start them on a healthy diet now when they are young.

I have also recently added ProPower Plus once a day to both of my dogs' food as an extra boost for their gut health. Again, I would absolutely recommend this food! I have heard about raw diets yielding very positive results for dogs and cats, but never really gave it a close look until now, and I am so glad I did!

Sara January 26, 2022

Who really goes to a Orthopedic Surgeon, and a Neurologist ,pump a dog full of meds day after day, but not try to crate the dog for 4 weeks but would spend countless amounts of money and time , I'm not saying that the food wouldn't help but this review sounds a bit fishy, just reading a review like this doesn't help sell the food in my opinion it's.not realistic.

Changed my dog's eating habits
December 1, 2021
My dog was usally a disinterested grazer, would just kind of pick at her kibble all day. Now, she eats her entire bowl in one setting (and then of course has a nice nap after). She loves this food!

Loyal Companions Deserve a Healthy, Loyal Diet
December 1, 2021

Not only am I thrilled that my dog is getting the right food, with the right nutrients, but my dog apparently feels that was too, as this previously picky, picky eater, now approaches mealtime with vigor. No more guesswork and trying three different meal options before he haltingly settles, finally, for one dish. Those days are over! And bathroom stools are healthy and firmly formed, another issue of concern, resolved.

I do have a suggestion pertaining to the packaging. I'm having trouble sealing the top of the bag and need a food "clip" to keep it shut. This might be an anomaly with the current bag we're using and not characteristic of other bags. Thank you, Dr. Marty for your investiture in animal nutritional health. This will help extend or, at minimum, improve the lives of our best, most loyal partners.

pamjohnston September 03, 2022

I had same issue with sealing the bag and got the containers from Walmart for cereal. Works perfect and is easy to pour from.

Teddy LOVES this food!
November 30, 2021
Teddy was never super excited about dinner time. From the very first day of using Nature's Blend.....he can't WAIT to eat. I mix it 50/50 with his Orijen kibble. This stuff must really be yummy!

11lb Yorkie loves it!
November 30, 2021
My 11lb Yorkie loves your dog food. She will usually eat one meal per day. She has plenty of energy and her coat is very shiny.

Jazzy loves this food!
November 29, 2021
Our female toy poodle has been so happy to eat this food. She used to be a picky eater but not with Dr. Marty’s food. At least 90% of the time she cleans the bowl.

My dog loved the new food.
November 29, 2021
My dog enjoyed Marty's Nature Blend right away. I added it to her regular food at first and she would pick out Nature's Blend first then finish with her "old dog food". She is more excited for her meals. I believe her coat is looking better and thicker. Very pleased with this change. Wish it wasn't so expensive but if she stays healthier it will be worth it.

Positive results in just one month
November 28, 2021
We switched to Nature’s Blend about 1month ago for our one-year old terrier mix. Now she stands guard by her food bowl every morning until she gets her food. We’re also seeing her itch much less throughout the day. One question we have is why it takes 5 or 6 minutes to soften after adding water even though the directions say 3 minutes. Can it be old?

Problems solved!
November 26, 2021
Our dogs love this food. They have never been such enthusiastic eaters before. They shed much less. One of our dogs has a congenital health problem and the other needs to watch his weight. Both problems solved with Nature's Blend!