BetterHelp Reviews

BetterHelp
Based on 326  Reviews



Review It

About BetterHelp

BetterHelp.com is the online home of BetterHelp, a company who says their goal is to provide their customers with access to quality, professional help when they are facing life's challenges so they can be happier.

The website promises that all the counselors you can be matched with through the BetterHelp website are licensed, board accredited, and qualified with either a PhD or a masters certificate in addition to years of counseling experience. 

How Does It Work?

Customers will sign up for an account and fill out a short questionnaire so you can be matched with a professional counselor who can provide the support and guidance you need. Once you've created your account and been matched with a counselor, you will begin communicating with your counselor via online messages, whenever you need, on your schedule.

Customers can communicate with their counselor on an unlimited basis each week until they feel they have successfully overcome the problem or obstacle they were facing. Customers are welcome to cancel their membership at any time without penalty. 

Cost/Price Plans

Customers can sign up, get matched, and begin speaking to your counselor all for free. Customers who decide to continue with their services will pay a flat fee of $35 per week for unlimited counseling, which gives you the ability to speak to your counselor as much as you need.

Refund Policy

Since BetterHelp allows their customers to pay for services on a week-by-week basis, their website does not detail any overarching or general Refund Policy. Customers who feel they have an issue or complaint that warrants a refund should contact Customer Service and deal with their situation on a case by case basis. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link, by phone at 888-688-9296, or by traditional mail at 440 N. Wolfe Rd, Sunnyvale, CA 94085.

Reputation

The few reviews available for BetterHelp at this time tend to be very positive, and reviewers describe a very professional and beneficial experience which just happens to have the added advantage of being accessible by internet or through your mobile device.

It is still important to understand, however, that BetterHelp does not claim that they are a replacement for professional therapy or counseling. They are an additional or alternative tool that people may use if traditional therapy is difficult to schedule or cost prohibitive, but depending on the issues you are dealing with, you may still be referred to a traditional mental health professional if that's what they feel is best for your needs.  

Is It Safe?

Customers who are concerned with privacy issues are assured by BetterHelp.com that their system is HIPAA compliant to ensure your privacy. They provide banking grade encryption which allows users to be completely anonymous, even to your counselor. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online counseling is a fairly new type of service and it doesn't seem as though BetterHelp has many competitors in the market right now.  
    
If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your BetterHelp reviews below.

326 ‘BetterHelp’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

useful to have a therapist available online



September24, 2018

Is comfortable and useful to have a therapist available online. It should be more openly available at work and academic, gradually is happening. Thanks.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
September 27, 2018

Hi Juan!

Thanks so much for your review! We appreciate your honesty and we hope that everyone in school or working can have access to a counselor if they need any extra assistance!

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Thankful For BetterHelp



September18, 2018

It's been a wonderful experience working with my therapist from BetterHelp. The process to sign up was simple and I seek council while maintaining my busy lifestyle. I have recommended and will continue to do so. My Therapist asks me questions and I feel as if I am being heard, provided great feedback and given insight on how to think of things more positively for myself and my partner.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 01, 2018

Thanks, Elle! We're so happy to hear that the convenience of the platform is easy for your busy lifestyle, and that your counselor is helping you with your relationship with your partner! Thanks, again!

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Poor counseling experience



September13, 2018

I am writing this review based on the one counselor I had. I have no doubt she is a good counselor in the "brick and mortar" setting, so to speak, but she did a poor job at counseling me in the online setting. At first, she gave me several handouts and worksheets that were pertinent to my situation. She also gave 2-3 decent chat therapy sessions where she interacted. However, our other online sessions were poor. I am unsure if she struggled with the online platform or if she had difficulty with the online interaction. (However, I do know I am not her only client.) Additionally, the information I would leave in our private "room" would go untouched. She would rarely leave comments, insights, or questions. It was especially stinging to be in an online chat session where I would post thoughts, details of my days, etc and receive nothing in return. Again, I don't know if she had technical difficulties or what. But I was not growing. Instead, I was gaining back problems because I had to re-stew in situations waiting for my counselor to respond.

She gave me some tools, but not further advice on how to use them or with whom to use them. When you give someone a hammer, everything you see is a nail! That is not a healthy way to restart a portion of your life!

Reading other betterhelp.com users made me see that they had more interactions with their counselors, so my expectations were not unusual. Paying approximately $260 a month and receiving very little is disappointing, frustrating, irritating, etc.

The reason I give my experience two starts is that she gave me some FREE handouts, so I don't have to buy books. :) And I was able to switch counselors, so let's see how that goes!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
September 27, 2018

Hi GJ! Thanks for your review. We do see that you've since changed counselors, but were you ever able to let this counselor know about your feelings and experience? We find that letting your counselor know and being upfront helps you both get on the same page! Hope you're able to do this with your new counselor.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

AWFUL SCAM WEBSITE



August29, 2018

I signed up back in March intending to do the free trial, to talk to someone about some pretty minor stuff like life decisions and anxiety. I saw that I was charged for a month of service before the end of the trial and then discovered that they intentionally make it very difficult for you to cancel your account.

Bad customer service, and very shoddy unprofessional support from therapists who gave overgeneralized responses and no real psychological advice of substance. It became obvious that they will just say anything to keep you using the site for as long as possible.

Don't believe all the fake 5 star reviews. Notice how there are no 3 star reviews or 4 star reviews? Only GLOWING, AMAZED 5 star reviews and 1 star truth bombs? That's because the legitimate reviews are the 1 star ones, and as others have said, this company is purposely squashing negative reviews and paying people to give fake reviews all over the internet. IT IS A SCAM.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
September 13, 2018

Thank you for pointing out the truth! I am giving it a second round with a new counselor. My first counselor started out promising. She gave free handouts pertinent to my situation. Then she started leaving online chats as in STOPPED responding as I was spilling my guts. Sorry, but this is supposed to be a professional company providing counseling.

September 27, 2018

Hi E.J. Thanks for your review. If you previously received a free trial, you will be charged on your subscription plan when you return to the service. All members can cancel their subscription plan at any time, and you can also see your next charge date at any time in your Billing Settings. We apologize for the confusion!

Frederika- We hope you were able to leave detailed feedback fro your first counselor and we're sorry to hear that.

October 13, 2018

ikr and all the 5 star reviews are written so professionally and said like a perfect ad

October 13, 2018

ikr and all the 5 star reviews are written so professionally like a perfect ad

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Don't bother



August23, 2018

I have had two counselors on this site who give general, vague advice upon hearing what my problem is without asking any questions. One spoke only in inspirational quote via email, and the next one spoke to me for 10min on the phone and sent me a sheet to fill out repeating all of the things I had already said on the phone. I really don't think they read our letters well. They introduce themselves and thank you for your letter, but don't comment much about what you wrote in the letter. I didn't get the feeling either of my counselors cared about me at all. My second counselor stood me up for our phone appointment. I am about to withdraw from the site. I'm on my third counselor in three weeks. One last shot.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
September 13, 2018

They sure love their sheets. I thought my counselor was being helpful by sending them to me. Maybe it's part of their repertoire! And they LOVE standing people up. for me it was in the online chat sessions. Very poor indeed! I'm trying again though, got a new counselor.

September 27, 2018

Hi Jill- thanks for your review. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Were you able to get in touch with our Support Team? They can help you find a new counselor!

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

A strong, supportive, accessible counseling program



July22, 2018

I stumbled on to an advertisement for Betterhelp on Facebook. My husband had a terminal illness and we lived overseas where counseling in my language is limited. I signed up and was instantly grateful for the program. The concept that at any time I felt a need to talk, unload and cry, I could access my counselor; middle of the night, weekend. That is the big plus of the program as well as the genuine professional support I received from my counselor. She was very responsive, supportive and could help me focus on my needs. I have continued for four months and know my grief process would have been more overwhelming without this program.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
September 27, 2018

Hi Pamela, thanks for your review of BetterHelp! We're so glad to hear that you like the convenience of the platform and that you can utilize your counseling room 24/7.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

My counselor Karen is awesome!



July20, 2018

She responds promptly and is a good listener.
Thank you BetterHelp.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 1 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 01, 2018

We're so glad to hear that Karen is a great counselor for you, Shadia! We hope things continue to go well for you, and wish you all the best!

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

THank you !



July18, 2018

I found Betterhelp via facebook at a moment I really needed someone to talk to without having to wait 6 months to get an appointment ! I have been in contact with Jennifer and I am really happy about her assitance, help and listening .... I would recommend Betterhelp !!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 0 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 01, 2018

Thanks, Lut! We understand that wait times can be pretty extreme for an in-person appointment, so we do our best to make that match as easy as we can for our members. We're so happy to hear your feedback, and thank you for taking the time!

Your Comment

Leave a Review