Pura Vida Bracelets Reviews

Pura Vida Bracelets is a brand of bracelets that states they have taken some of the beauty, culture, and lifestyle of local Costa Rica and brought it to the rest of the world, with the goal of doing some good. 

How Does Pura Vida Work?

According to their website, the two creators of the Pura Vida Bracelets brand were inspired to create their company after a vacation in Costa Rica.

The term “Pura Vida” seems pure life, and they say it is an important Costa Rican philosophy that “encourages the appreciation of life’s simple treasures.”

This philosophy advocates slowing down, celebrating good fortune, and refusing to take anything for granted. The website says this philosophy is all about living life to the fullest, and each bracelet is carefully handcrafted in Costa Rica with this in mind. 

In addition to selling beautiful, artisanal crafted bracelets, Pura Vida Bracelets says that their goal is to “do more,” which is why they have the Charity Collection. This collection is created to help people give back to causes all over the world. 

Currently this company is partnered with more than 190 different charities and has donated almost one million dollars to these charities through the sale of their products. They are also a member of 1% for the Planet, meaning they donate 1% of their annual net revenue to environmental organizations worldwide. 

Cost/Price Plans

This company sells a variety of products in categories like Bracelets, Clothing, Bikinis, Accessories, and more, and with such a large variety there is also a large variety in the prices of these products.

That being said, all prices are clearly displayed on each product page, and this company is currently providing free shipping to all US states.  

Refund Policy

This website is very clear that they do not provide any refunds to their customers, as they work with a very particular set of products and a percentage of their profits are donated to charity.

However, if your purchase does arrive damaged you are welcome to contact their Customer Service team in order to arrange a replacement, and if your bracelet breaks within one year of purchasing it, customers are welcome to send it back to them and they will send you a “fresh new bracelet.”   

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers can contact their Customer Service team to discuss any questions, concerns, or complaints by phone at 858-232-4945, by email at [email protected], or by using their Submit a Request link on their FAQs page.

Reputation

Pura Vida bracelets get mostly positive reviews from customers, with most of the complaints being regarding shipping times.

That being said, even though this company does not provide returns or refunds of their products, most of their products are fairly affordable so customers may not mind trying their products for themselves.   

If you have any experience with Pura Vida Bracelets or their products, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Pura Vida Bracelets Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Package came postage due
September 6, 2022
I placed an order with Pura Vida and I received a notice from the post office stating that I had to pay $3.04 in postage due. So although I paid a shipping fee, I had to go to the post office to get it and pay more. The postal clerk told me this happens all the time with this company. They ship their packages paying like they are completely flat. The package is not completely flat so the postal service charges more to the customer.

What the heck
July 21, 2022
Packaging was super messy. Did a rat eat it? My bed and floor are completely trashed because the box was filled with tiny shreds of paper and cardboard and I didn't get any stickers as promised. Extremely disappointed not ordering again.

Terrible customer service!
July 7, 2022
Horrible customer service. Somehow my subscription didn’t cancel properly. I reached out as soon as I noticed because it is a hefty amount. They basically laughed in my face and wouldn’t do anything to fix it. Beyond furious. I would never order from them again!

IritaMartinsone October 12, 2022

Horrible. Didn't order anything from here just right now took from my account 15£, just like that...

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE
December 24, 2021

NO CUSTOMER SERVICE!! Do not shop with them. I have been trying to get there assistance to track down my order for weeks and all they do is send me a link to the tracking service.

I have contacted the delivery service and they have advised that Pura Vida need to contact them to raise an investigation and they refuse to do this. They are unhelpful and lack compassion or care for their customers.

They couldn't even tell me the date my order was shipped and have done nothing to help.

Horrible Organization
November 9, 2020
While they claim to do good things in the world, they treat their customers with a complete lack of respect. They automatically renew subscriptions without a notification - even if you don't have an account and no way to cancel it. Then when they say they will cancel (same day as the renewal) and issue a refund, they do not...subsequent follow ups they now claim they can't issue a refund because they have sent an item out even though they were not supposed to. Thankfully fraud like this is covered by credit card protection. Businesses like this need to be closed for the fraud.

Buyer Beware / Major RIPOFF
November 9, 2020

Pure Vida has an automatic renewal program and unlike most other businesses they do not send out an update email that your account is about to be automatically renewed.

They charge your credit card and then when you contact them to cancel the account you are informed that they will not refund your credit card. All they will do is stop auto renewal for the next year.

So you get to pay for another year you do not want before your account can be closed. This has never happened with any other business that I have had. It is a RIPOFF. I only have them 1 star because you have to give them something to write a review. (Would not recommend their bracelets for an adult)

This monthly service was a Christmas gift for a young girl. She actually makes her own Bracelets now and they are a far better quality product than She received from Pure Vida and she is in 8th grade.

Horrible customer service
October 1, 2020
If I could give it 0 stars, I would. After making the same order twice because of a confusing website, I contacted customer service immediately. It is not possible to talk to them on the phone, only email. It took two days for them to respond, at which point they told me I was out of luck because the order was already in the warehouse, even though it still hadn't shipped. Will never buy from them again, wouldn't recommend them to my worst enemy.

Shady company
August 11, 2020
They are shady in their business practice. Will never purchase from this company again. Stuck with a one year subscription I do not want. Keep hearing the same nonsense from their email rep. I would encourage everyone to read all the fine print because they make it sound as though you can cancel at any time. That is not the case.

Buyer Beware
May 24, 2020

If you search the SAME complaints keep…

If you search the SAME complaints keep appearing..always customer service! I had a months long saga for an item not shipped

new customer
September 20, 2019
I have just started ordering from Pura Vida. A friend who has spent time in Costa Rica was wearing them and I thought it was a great cause. I have ordered twice and have had no issues at all. The bracelets are just as shown on their site and are holding up well. Will continue to buy from them until someone can give me a good reason not to.

Excellent product and service
June 14, 2019
I have been ordering from Pura Vida for almost 3 years. I've bought hundreds and my orders have always been correct, the one time I had an issue with the slide on a bracelet being too loose they sent a new one right away and said to keep the original. I've had no issues with quality of the bracelets, in 3 years, out of 80 bracelets I've worn, only 1 has broken and I caught it on something very sharp. I think they are a great company!

Their BOGO is BOGUS!
March 25, 2019
This company is not on the up and up regarding their BOGO sales. I ordered a style pack of 10 bracelets that qualified for BOGO....NO WHERE did it say I had to put 2 style packs in my cart to qualify....I ordered 1 thinking I was was getting a second style pack free. Since I thought I was getting 20 bracelets for the price of 10, I added a "mystery" bracelet for $4 extra dollars....THAT $4 bracelet was what I got for free and only 1 style pack. When I emailed to complain, they sent me a link for an article that explains their BOGO policy and there wasn't anything they could so for me. Their website is NOT user friendly and this company is non-transparent and could care less about their customers. BUYERS BEWARE!

PuraVida is Good :)
January 5, 2019
I don't really know what is happening here, but my experience with PuraVida was lovely. I placed my order on the week of Black Friday and didn't get my order in time, so I emailed them and they sent it within two weeks. When I received my package I realized I was missing one bracelet so I emailed them with evidence that they forgot to send me one. They apologized and said they'd pay for the bracelet and the shipping fee which made me relived. The reviews in PuraVida are not there just for display, I genuinely think that it is a good place to purchase bracelet and accessories, and if you had a bad experience, I want to apologize and hope that you all have better customer's service the next time you decide to order from them.

DON'T BUY FROM PURA VIDA!! WORST COMPANY!
January 3, 2019

I ordered a white bracelet and they sent me the wrong one and when I finally did get in contact with someone a week or so later because they are too lazy to respond back within a decent time, they DID NOT care I got the wrong bracelet and they would NOT send me the right one!!! It wasn't even white!!

What kind of company doesn't care about their customers???

They would not take the wrong bracelet back and send me the right one!! Who does that? They clearly don't care for customers.

JoanneRhodes May 24, 2020

TOTALLY agree! Customer service is the worst!

Pura Vida Bracelets = SCAM!
December 23, 2018
I purchased 4 bracelets as a Christmas gift and only received 3. I’ve been trying to reach them for over a week using various methods and I have yet to hear from them or reach them. They’re a fraud. Don’t purchase from them - worst customer service ever...it’s non-existent. I doubt they exist and feel like I’ve been scammed.

Patti January 03, 2019

I completely agree! They sent me the wrong bracelet and when I finally did get in contact with someone they DID NOT care I got the wrong bracelet and they would NOT send me the right one!!!

What kind of company doesn't care about their customers???

I HATE them and regret ordering from them.

RobinBelden May 28, 2019

I feel like this is an over exaggeration bi have been buying from them for the last two months no issues. I have also recieved an item broken and I reached out to them the day it happened. They replied next day and sent me a replacement by the end of the week.

MarniPeterson Kociban June 14, 2019

They do get crazy busy between their black Friday sale and Christmas, so that is likely the issue with the response time. I hope you resolved your issue.

JoanneRhodes May 24, 2020

Agree the customer service may be ok SOMETIMES..but certainly not consistently

Cheap product
December 9, 2018

I ordered the turquoise bar necklace. All of the customer reviews on the site gushed about the beautiful blue color. My necklace arrived looking like a cheap piece of cloudy white plastic---no blue turquoise color at all. I contacted the company and wrote a negative review on their site (which they removed in less than a day), but did not hear back. It took three emails and 2 negative reviews to get a response : "take a photo of your necklace and we'll see if it's the wrong color".

Lousy customer service!

Fraudulent Company
October 24, 2018
I purchased the bracelets, wore them once and decided they looked cheap, so I put them away in my closet and forgot about them. Earlier this year they were sued for deceptive marketing - claiming the bracelets were made in Costa Rica when they were not. PuraVida sent out an email explaining this and offering a refund within 45 days of receiving the returned bracelets. I jumped through all the hoops, completed the request for a return label....and waited. It wasn't until I complained several weeks later that the label arrived. I returned the items, have proof they were delivered (July) and it has been three months with no refund. An email to the company was met with 'we'll add you to our list to research'. I don't know of any other company with customer service this poor. No wonder they have a D- rating with the Better Business Bureau! Don't buy from them!

Possible scam
March 29, 2018

Ordered leggings for my daughter in January.

As of today March 28th no update emails on this order. I have Emailed the company 3 times, no response. No answer on their customer service phone line DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY!

MarniPeterson Kociban June 14, 2019

Are you sure you have the right company? They dont sell leggings.

Disappointed
December 20, 2017
I fell in love with the bracelets and the mission of Puravida so I made my first order of $50. I put my bracelets on and in less than 24hrs I broke out with a severe allergic reaction around my wrist. I even had to go to the doctor due to this allergic reaction because over the counter medicine would not ease the pain, inflammation and discomfort. The lack of concern and well being of a customer that cannot wear the product is not what I thought the company stood for. The only option I have received is, "we don't process returns". It has been almost 2 weeks and I still have discomfort and discoloration from the bracelets.

Order came 3 days late
June 5, 2017
I ordered an anklet and a bracelet on May 29th. I tracked my package, and it said it should have been delivered on June 3rd. Today is June 5th, and I still have not received my order. It said that my order is supposed to come tomorrow, but let's see what happens. I think these bracelets are very pretty and are for a great cause, but so far I am not impressed. Ill see what the product is like tomorrow. I emailed the company to see what the problem was, and I still have not received a reply.

M M July 10, 2017

have you received them yet? I am trying to contact their customer service too because I have a duplicate order. I got an email stating my order was incomplete, so I reordered and then got an email saying my original order (that was stated as incomplete) was shipped. Hoping to resolve this soon and not pay for two sets of bracelets. Otherwise I guess someone will be getting that for Christmas lol