Optima Tax Relief Reviews

Optima Tax Relief has tax professionals who can handle most IRS and state tax issues. They help clients resolve and reduce tax debt while also bringing them into compliance with laws. Furthermore, they will provide protection for those whom are being threatened by collection agencies.

Optima Tax Relief provides tax consultations tax resolution, tax preparation and compliance and tax negotiation and settlement. Their team will go over your case with you, analyze your situation and propose a customized course of action for you.

They have created a two phase process to ensure you understand what options are available prior to moving forward and paying fees. The process from the initial phone call to the final results takes approximately two to six months. During this time they will help to ensure that the IRS does not contact your bank, work or garnish your wages.

Optima Tax Relief fees are not finalized until the results are revealed because they will reflect the amount of time you will be paying off the debt and the amount of debt that you are working with. Additional processing fees may also be required as you move through the steps toward a desired outcome. If you choose to cancel their services, you may do so within 15 days of your initial sign up date. They will refund any money you have paid during that time frame.

Through their website you will find valuable resources including articles, tip, advice, scam warnings, and much more. In addition to due diligence using these resources and other resources located on your own, a tax attorney is another helpful way to resolve your tax debt issues.

Optima Tax Relief has online reviews that show a majority of their clients were happy with the outcome of their debt resolution.

Many tax relief companies have been accused of running scams to earn money without providing any help in return. They use scare tactics and illegal methods to convince individuals to contact them for help. Not all of these tax resolution companies are bad; there are legitimate companies who can provide relief to those in need of assistance. It is important to be aware of such practices so you do not fall into their traps.

You may also be interested in

Optima Tax Relief Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Optima does nothing for a $2,250 fee - the next representative produces a refund instead.
August 27, 2021

I am a retired tax lawyer who takes on selected clients . My client owed $16,000 to the IRS and previously hired Optima to help. Optima charged my client $2,250 but no apparent services were ever provided. I replaced them as POA , researched her situation and filed amended tax returns. The amended returns negated her tax debt and even created a refund.

I have communicated with Optima that they were replaced and that I expect an accounting and a refund of their unearned prepaid service fee, To date, they have ignored me. As a tax lawyer with over 40 years experience , the only thing I have seen from Optima is fee collection from scared taxpayers.

OptimaTaxRelief scam
August 6, 2021
I’ll let you be the judge, I hired Optima to help with a tax issue from 2017, I provided them with my returns along with any other info they required. In June of 2020, they as well as I received a statement from the IRS with a final amount, due to their incompetence, I was assessed over $9,000 in interest and penalties. When questioned, all they gave me was a scripted answer.

Awful
May 19, 2021
I paid $495, quiet for months, never summited the right paper work... I almost got levy, luckily i called the IRS and got it resolved with out paying a huge fee to this tax company. Save your money and get tax advocate they do the same just for free.

Federal Prison
May 19, 2021
Everyone who works for Optima tax relief, founder, etc., is disingenuous and should all go to Federal Prison. This company is a scam.

Thanks to all
May 22, 2020
Thank you all just got out of the phone call with Optima. Very helpful. Luckily I always check for complaints and decide myself but seeing you are not getting results I will pass

Optima is a scam
March 6, 2020
Contacted Optima after a tax bill from IRS for over $25,000. Optima said no problem. Charged me just under $5,000 upfront for "tax relief" help. Note $5,000 is threshold for criminal fraud in many states. Optima did nothing to reduce IRS bill after getting my just under $5,000. After review by a real tax attorney I was told there was no real honest relief for my IRS tax bill. The real tax attorney also told me Optima is just a "pay up front" scam. The BBB "excellent" review is a result of "donations" by Optima to the BBB. Just like "Remington Financial" A plus review by BBB. Remington Financial officers all got Federal Prison time.

LarryWolford April 04, 2020

They did me the same way, I feel your pain. Buyer Beware

LarryWolford April 04, 2020

they did me the same way, total rip offs

Optima tax reief is a TOTAL SCAM
December 12, 2019

I paid Optima Tax Relief $2790.00 to negotiate my 2018 taxes down, but they did not make a single attempt. If your a poor sucker like me and signed on without reviewing the testimonials

1. stop paying them and CANCEL the service, it wont get any better

2. revoke the POA form you sent them by going online and getting a form

3.find a REAL tax lawyer who is IN YOUR STATE

BobHeine March 06, 2020

Thank you. I had same experience. Only my experience cost $2,110 more. Note Optima charges you up the the threshold of criminal fraud in your state, takes your money and does nothing.

Optima Tax Relief is a total scam
December 10, 2019
I paid Optima Tax Relief $2790.00 to negotiate my 2018 taxes downbut they did not make a single attempt.

LarryWolford April 04, 2020

I feel your pain, total rip off

Optima Tax is a RIP OFF
September 30, 2019
Professional rip off artists from the word GO. Quick to Expedite getting money from you. Once you pay them their money your fate is in the wind. They do NOT follow through on their cases and become very vague when you call your case workers with legitimate questions regarding problems with the IRS. An IRS case worker told me that the IRS had heard NOTHING from Optima Tax relief regarding my past tax problems in almost two years while my case worker continually lead me to believe they were working on my case. When confronted about the non-action in my case Optima threatened continually dropping me on the spot They need to change their name to OPTIMAL CON ARTISTS! I demand a full refund from these money grubbers.

I learn by others
May 20, 2019
My mother paid $5000. to these people only to hear them say “SUC-KER”

Run..Run..Run....Scam..Scam
November 7, 2018
The $499 up front was the hook! After that nothing was good. It took them 2 weeks just to contact the IRS. Then they told me there was an additional $14k fee for them to continue to represent me. I asked if they had negotiated any reduction in my owed tax...figuring if the reduction was substantial it would be worth it. They didn't even start negotiations, but wanted the $14k up front. They offered to finance it over 12 months, but the payments we over $1,200 a month, not counting what my payments were going to be to the IRS. When I told them that was not possible, they dropped me.

G. Wilson
August 6, 2018
At first it did not look like Optima tax relief can help me but after talking to several representative everything turns out to be okay problem solved

Don't do it
June 14, 2018
Pay them $2,500 and still have a tax liability I could have set up a payment plan myself they just take your money and lie to you and do nothing

LarryWolford April 04, 2020

don't fill alone, they did me the same way, total rip offs

Owner
January 3, 2018
Terrible. Optima charged me $5000. They promised a reduction for my taxes. All I got was a payment plan. I could have done this myself. Total rip off company. I needed that money. I am going to as many review sites as possible for reviews. Bloodsuckers that take advantage of your problems.

GenevaWilson June 14, 2018

Optima tax relief is a joke and a scam paid them $2500 and stll have a payment pkan until the balance is oaid odd PLEASE don't waste your money set up payments yourself.

GenevaWilson June 14, 2018

Don't do it

GenevaWilson June 14, 2018

They are a rip off paid $2500 dollars and still ended up on a payment plan

KerriAnn Mathews November 16, 2018

I am still waiting for my outcome, I paid them 10,000 plus they found MORE money that I owe the IRS. Hoping they can reduce what I owe but am getting very discouraged with the reviews. If my outcome matches all the rest, perhaps a class action suite would be advisable?

KerriAnn Mathews November 16, 2018

class action lawsuit perhaps?

BobHeine March 06, 2020

Yes. Optima did the same thing to me. Charged just under $5,000 upfront for service that had no effect on my tax bill from IRS. Note that $5,000 and over is threshold for criminal activity in many states. Optima is a sham. They deserve a class action lawsuit.

OPTIMA TAX RELIEF = SCAM
September 10, 2017

REASONS TO AVOID TAX RELIEF COMPANIES:

(The below is "8 reasons" is as cited by [REAL] tax professionals @ "WATAX" website; And, you can also see on their website the 91 "tax relief" companies SHUT DOWN because of their scam, unethical, illegal, and poor business practices! ! ! )

1.] These SCAM companies charge ridiculous, HIGH fees. If a tax resolution company is going to charge you $3,000 or more for representation, you deserve the red carpet treatment. You should have direct access to your licensed tax professional and/or have the customer service rep who does your up-front analysis to be with you to the end. (If you're interested, we wrote more about what $4,000 of tax resolution should buy you.);

2.] Many tax resolution companies have a tendency to whack you with new fees once you're on board with them, figuring you're more or less locked in. (We wrote more about this phenomenon too, about why reopening fees are problematic.);

3.] They give BAD advice. Plainly and simply, many tax resolution companies will advise you to do the wrong thing;

4.] They give DISHONEST advice (i.e. lying). The oldest trick in the tax resolution sales book is to tell someone that they'll qualify for an Offer in Compromise ("OIC") to settle their tax debt when they clearly do not qualify. It's human nature: people just love to hear that they will settle their debts—just like in the commercials! Shady salespeople love to scratch this itch for profit;

FYI: YOU can file YOUR OWN "OIC" (IRS Form # 656), but it's HIGHLY UNLIKELY you'll get such "compromise" as statistics show the IRS RARELY offer such.

You can file your own "EXTENSION" (IRS Form # 1127 - "Application for Extension of Time for Payment of Tax Due to Undue Hardship"), which is all these SCAM "TAX RELIEF" companies do anyway, charging you fees in EXCESS of $1,000s & $1,000s - with many consumers reporting being SCAMMED / CHARGED upwards of the $4,000-$7,000 ranges).

If you owe back taxes, there are several IRS tax relief programs to help, including the IRS "FRESH START INITIATIVE":

An "Installment Agreement" is generally available to people who can't pay their tax debt in full at one time. The program allows people to make smaller monthly payments until the entire debt is satisfied.

Under its "FRESH START INITIATIVE", the IRS raised the threshold for streamlined installment agreements from $25,000 to $50,000 in tax debt, and the maximum repayment term from five to six years. Taxpayers who owe less than $50,000 may apply online with the IRS and don’t have to complete an IRS "Collection Information Statement" (Form # 433-A, Form # 433-B or Form # 433-F).

An Offer in Compromise ("OIC") lets taxpayers permanently settle their tax debt for less than the amount they owe. The OIC is an important tool to help people in limited circumstances; taxpayers are eligible only after other payment options have been exhausted.

Under its "FRESH START INITIATIVE", the IRS expanded the "OIC" program to cover a larger group of struggling taxpayers. However, the IRS will not accept an offer if it believes the liability can be paid in full as a lump sum or through an installment agreement. The IRS offers guidance on choosing a tax professional for an OIC on its website.

5.] Misstating urgency and scare tactics. Tax resolution sales people and telemarketers harass those with tax liens, they're notorious for telling you that the sky is falling if you don't hire them immediately. "Your case has reached 'Elevated Status!" barks one company to its prospective clients, cold calling tax liens. Tax relief companies will often manipulate your emotions to make the sale. There's no reason to fake urgency. An honest tax professional should lay out all of the options for you without emotion or scare tactics;

6.] Employee turnover. Whether big or small, tax resolution companies are notorious for having high employee turnover. As many of the companies are reliant on "salespeople," employees who can't sell enough cases are fired. Hence, your case keeps getting handed off from representative to representative. In these environments, the institutional memory of your case can deteriorate fairly easily;

7.] Dropping the ball. Keeping your client out of aggressive collection actions like levies and garnishments requires constant vigilance and a very delicate personal touch. Large companies are famous for cases falling into the cracks and subsequently, clients getting nailed with levies from the IRS.

Going out of business. Running an effective tax resolution business requires a unique blend of great customer service with excellent marketing; and

8.] Going out of business. Running an effective tax resolution business requires a unique blend of great customer service with excellent marketing. Take one of those two elements away and you're out of business! Again, see "WATAX" website that lists THE 91 TAX SCAM COMPANIES ALREADY SHUT DOWN!

AS STATED BY THE FTC - - Problems with Tax Relief Companies:

1.] Promise that you will get relief from tax liabilities;

2.] Misrepresent how long it will take to process a debt relief request application; and/or

3.] Omit relevant asset information on financial statements submitted to the IRS.

ALSO STATED BY THE FTC:

"Tax relief companies use the radio, television and the internet to advertise help for taxpayers in distress. If you pay them an upfront fee, which can be thousands of dollars, these companies claim they can reduce or even eliminate your tax debts and stop back-tax collection by applying for legitimate IRS hardship programs. The truth is that most taxpayers don't qualify for the programs these fraudsters hawk, their companies don't settle the tax debt, and in many cases don't even send the necessary paperwork to the IRS requesting participation in the programs that were mentioned. Adding insult to injury, some of these companies don't provide refunds, and leave people even further in debt.

Some taxpayers who filed complaints with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) reported that, after signing up with some of these companies and paying thousands of dollars in upfront fees, the companies took even more of their money by making unauthorized charges to their credit cards or withdrawals from their bank accounts.

If you owe back taxes and don't know how you're going to pay the debt, the FTC, the nation's consumer protection agency, says don't panic, take a deep breath, and consider your options. If you are having trouble paying bills, it's often better to try to work out a payment plan with the creditor yourself than to pay someone else to negotiate a plan for you. The same is true when you owe money to the IRS or your state comptroller."

DonaldNovar December 12, 2019

you really hit the hammer on the head!

stay away
July 17, 2017

don't go here they will rip you off take your money and do nothing

Optima Tax relief - Honest Review
July 14, 2017
Good group of folks trying to help out the taxpayer! We all know the IRS could care less about struggling citizens of this country. Now we have help! Thank you Optima Tax.

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

So wait...........first you give a NEG review, then a POS review? CONFUSED!

STEPHENDIXON September 21, 2021

Probably paid off like they tried to pay me off.

I got swindled by Optima Tax Relief!
July 3, 2017
After >$6K in 'fees' i have the same tax problem i started with! From the beginning i asked "can you remove the IRS tax penalties" from my transcript? They said they could.. guess what they could not, and did not reduce any of my tax liability (all due to a clerical error). They took my money, and did nothing for me!! I could have set up a payment plan.. They should have issued me a refund and just let me know they could do nothing for me..

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

Either UR giving a POS review or a NEG review.......which is it OPTIMA EMPLOYEE?

STEPHENDIXON September 21, 2021

Why hasn't anyone stared a class action suit. I for one would support that.

bad people to deal with
May 24, 2017
they just scam me of almost $7.000 and they did nothing for my debt this are criminals something need to be done about them do not trust them they will take your money

Ron Rackerby July 03, 2017

I wish i could of read this a year ago.. they took me for over $6K

STEPHENDIXON September 21, 2021

Why hasn't anyone started a class action suit. I for one would support that.

Tax debt settled for less than 3 percent :)
April 25, 2017
Optima was one of several firms I contacted to address what, for me, was a substantial and insurmountable tax debt with the IRS. I didn't have to think too hard in choosing which company to hire as Optima's representatives were extremely knowledgeable, professional, and forthcoming about a streamlined process they utilize to guide their clients through the debt resolution process. I always felt I was in good hands and able to speak with a representative any time I had a question and, ultimately, my debt was settled for less than 3 percent of what I owed. Optima's fees were also considerably lower than their major competitors. I hope I never need the services of a tax lawyer again but if I do, I will contact Optima.