Optima Tax Relief Reviews

56 ‘Optima Tax Relief ’ Reviews
  • Sort Reviews By:

Total Scam
May 13, 2016
Paid them 12K to settle my 80K tax problem. They settled it for 187 K after 3 years. They lost paperwork. They don't return calls. Scam. Scam. Scam. Oh and they hire people to do good reviews on BBB to up their score.

Ron R July 03, 2017

Yep.. agreed they took me for over $6K

Yah D February 24, 2017

I was scammed for 8K. I think their service only works for the underprivileged

people they advertised to on the radio. They're just basically using the IRS Fresh Start program to get people deals that they could themselves do if the IRS wasn't full of jargon.

Big D June 22, 2016

This is all true SCAMMERS

Optima Tax Relief is a scam.
January 23, 2016
I'm sorry but I cannot sit by while Optima commercials come on television telling people how they can help you.When I got with Optima I owed $7000 to the IRS.A year later I now owe almost 10,000 and they set me up with a payment plan that I could've did myself instead of paying them $2,000 dollars they did nothing but waste my time oh and because I complained they were nice enough to refund me $250 back.I was basically told that because my retirement had more than I owed they could'nt help me.I NOW PAY $125 a month plus the IRS is going to take anything I get back until the 10,000 is paid off.If I had listened to my wife that 2,000 would've went to paying off my taxes and right now i would be owing a little less than $4,000.Basically I was screwed by Optima they also lied when they said they can stop penalties and fees.If we were kids and the IRS was the school yard bully the only thing Optima would've done was tell them to wait until after school to beat me up all while charging me for my lunch money.Bottom line don't let them screw you over like they did me.

Scam artists!
March 23, 2015
they try to scare you with threats from the IRS, you can simply call your own tax preparer or the IRS yourself, save lots of time and lots of money, handle the situation yourself, its simple, even the IRS will take payments.

Big D June 22, 2016

All true, the did nothing for me after charging me almost $4000.

Optima is an Outstanding Company Every Step of the Way!
February 18, 2015
Everyone I spoke to was very professional and eager to help me. I typically demand a lot of attention, and service is what I got! They took a huge burden off my shoulders. I can't thank them enough! Thanks Optima!

Big D June 22, 2016

HHL must work for Optima

Truth H January 23, 2016

What department you work in

what a rip off
February 3, 2015
2000.00 dollars just to look up your situation. Your tax guy can do it for 100.00 dollars. They wanted 15,000.00 more to go forward with of course no Guaranty.

The most trusted & reliable I have experienced. I am satisied and glad to contact them.
February 3, 2015
I would like to recommend all my friends and relatives to contact Optima Tax Relief. They were able to assist me in obtaining and help to negotiate with the Internal Revenue Service. Please do NOT hesitate to contact Optima Tax and you will be satisfied.

JOHN B September 10, 2017

BERNARD = ANOTHER PAID OPTIMA EMPLOYEE

Truth H January 23, 2016

No you won't beenard probably works for Optima.

I can breathe again!
January 29, 2015
Optima Tax Relief saved me. The IRS sent me notices stating that I owed them almost $100,000. I felt like I exhausted all of my options - I went to a well known tax service in my county and they pretty much told me "I was in big trouble" without helping me resolve this or give me any advice on what to do. I lost sleep, I was so stressed, it was just a really rough time for me. When I was driving, I heard an ad on the radio from Optima Tax Relief so I decided to give them a call. At this point, I really didn't have a lot of hope. The gal I spoke with, Brooke, was awesome. She seemed to really care about what was happening to me. I was so thankful at this point that I found someone not only to listen to me, but to actually relay empathy to my situation. In addition, Optima Tax Relief made sure the IRS wouldn't come to my work, bank , or garnish my pay checks to collect funds from me, like their letters were threatening to do. I feel an overwhelming sense of protection and gratitude to Brooke and this company. I'm now on a manageable payment plan and in the end they will be taking 50% of my tax debt away. I am so thankful for them and will recommend Optima Tax Relief to all of my friends and family. I feel like I can actually breathe and sleep again.

JOHN B September 10, 2017

"Megan" = ANOTHER PAID OPTIMA EMPLOYEE, MAKING A PATHETIC POSITIVE REVIEW OF THIS SCAM COMPANY ! ! !

REASONS TO AVOID TAX RELIEF COMPANIES:

(The below is "8 reasons" is as cited by [REAL] tax professionals @ "WATAX" website; And, you can also see on their website the 91 "tax relief" companies SHUT DOWN because of their scam, unethical, illegal, and poor business practices! ! ! )

1.] These SCAM companies charge ridiculous, HIGH fees. If a tax resolution company is going to charge you $3,000 or more for representation, you deserve the red carpet treatment. You should have direct access to your licensed tax professional and/or have the customer service rep who does your up-front analysis to be with you to the end. (If you're interested, we wrote more about what $4,000 of tax resolution should buy you.);

2.] Many tax resolution companies have a tendency to whack you with new fees once you're on board with them, figuring you're more or less locked in. (We wrote more about this phenomenon too, about why reopening fees are problematic.);

3.] They give BAD advice. Plainly and simply, many tax resolution companies will advise you to do the wrong thing;

4.] They give DISHONEST advice (i.e. lying). The oldest trick in the tax resolution sales book is to tell someone that they'll qualify for an Offer in Compromise ("OIC") to settle their tax debt when they clearly do not qualify. It's human nature: people just love to hear that they will settle their debts—just like in the commercials! Shady salespeople love to scratch this itch for profit;

FYI: YOU can file YOUR OWN "OIC" (IRS Form # 656), but it's HIGHLY UNLIKELY you'll get such "compromise" as statistics show the IRS RARELY offer such.

You can file your own "EXTENSION" (IRS Form # 1127 - "Application for Extension of Time for Payment of Tax Due to Undue Hardship"), which is all these SCAM "TAX RELIEF" companies do anyway, charging you fees in EXCESS of $1,000s & $1,000s - with many consumers reporting being SCAMMED / CHARGED upwards of the $4,000-$7,000 ranges).

If you owe back taxes, there are several IRS tax relief programs to help, including the IRS "FRESH START INITIATIVE":

An "Installment Agreement" is generally available to people who can't pay their tax debt in full at one time. The program allows people to make smaller monthly payments until the entire debt is satisfied.

Under its "FRESH START INITIATIVE", the IRS raised the threshold for streamlined installment agreements from $25,000 to $50,000 in tax debt, and the maximum repayment term from five to six years. Taxpayers who owe less than $50,000 may apply online with the IRS and don’t have to complete an IRS "Collection Information Statement" (Form # 433-A, Form # 433-B or Form # 433-F).

An Offer in Compromise ("OIC") lets taxpayers permanently settle their tax debt for less than the amount they owe. The OIC is an important tool to help people in limited circumstances; taxpayers are eligible only after other payment options have been exhausted.

Under its "FRESH START INITIATIVE", the IRS expanded the "OIC" program to cover a larger group of struggling taxpayers. However, the IRS will not accept an offer if it believes the liability can be paid in full as a lump sum or through an installment agreement. The IRS offers guidance on choosing a tax professional for an OIC on its website.

5.] Misstating urgency and scare tactics. Tax resolution sales people and telemarketers harass those with tax liens, they're notorious for telling you that the sky is falling if you don't hire them immediately. "Your case has reached 'Elevated Status!" barks one company to its prospective clients, cold calling tax liens. Tax relief companies will often manipulate your emotions to make the sale. There's no reason to fake urgency. An honest tax professional should lay out all of the options for you without emotion or scare tactics;

6.] Employee turnover. Whether big or small, tax resolution companies are notorious for having high employee turnover. As many of the companies are reliant on "salespeople," employees who can't sell enough cases are fired. Hence, your case keeps getting handed off from representative to representative. In these environments, the institutional memory of your case can deteriorate fairly easily;

7.] Dropping the ball. Keeping your client out of aggressive collection actions like levies and garnishments requires constant vigilance and a very delicate personal touch. Large companies are famous for cases falling into the cracks and subsequently, clients getting nailed with levies from the IRS.

Going out of business. Running an effective tax resolution business requires a unique blend of great customer service with excellent marketing; and

8.] Going out of business. Running an effective tax resolution business requires a unique blend of great customer service with excellent marketing. Take one of those two elements away and you're out of business! Again, see "WATAX" website that lists THE 91 TAX SCAM COMPANIES ALREADY SHUT DOWN!

AS STATED BY THE FTC - - Problems with Tax Relief Companies:

1.] Promise that you will get relief from tax liabilities;

2.] Misrepresent how long it will take to process a debt relief request application; and/or

3.] Omit relevant asset information on financial statements submitted to the IRS.

ALSO STATED BY THE FTC:

"Tax relief companies use the radio, television and the internet to advertise help for taxpayers in distress. If you pay them an upfront fee, which can be thousands of dollars, these companies claim they can reduce or even eliminate your tax debts and stop back-tax collection by applying for legitimate IRS hardship programs. The truth is that most taxpayers don't qualify for the programs these fraudsters hawk, their companies don't settle the tax debt, and in many cases don't even send the necessary paperwork to the IRS requesting participation in the programs that were mentioned. Adding insult to injury, some of these companies don't provide refunds, and leave people even further in debt.

Some taxpayers who filed complaints with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) reported that, after signing up with some of these companies and paying thousands of dollars in upfront fees, the companies took even more of their money by making unauthorized charges to their credit cards or withdrawals from their bank accounts.

If you owe back taxes and don't know how you're going to pay the debt, the FTC, the nation's consumer protection agency, says don't panic, take a deep breath, and consider your options. If you are having trouble paying bills, it's often better to try to work out a payment plan with the creditor yourself than to pay someone else to negotiate a plan for you. The same is true when you owe money to the IRS or your state comptroller."

Big D June 22, 2016

This is total BS! Optima is a bunch of scammers!

Do the work your self with IRS! It is better, and cheaper!

Hoodwinked January 27, 2016

I agree...this is BS....ive been dealing with them for a year now...all that time and 2500 dollars later and I got nothing....they havnt contacted me on anything...unless I was late with there payment.....this company sucks!!!!

Truth H January 23, 2016

Yeah right Megan i call BS on this story

Optima's Name Truly Fit What They Did For Me..RELIEF!
January 28, 2015
I got my family's taxes in a complete mess. I owed so much I didn't know what to do. I was scared, embarrassed and depressed. I needed help, but I was afraid to let anyone know. I kept hear Optima Tax Relief's commercials on my radio and finally decided to call. Boy am I glad I did. The staff and attorneys couldn't have been more helpful. They were professional, well trained and PATIENT, more then patient. When you have the IRS at your door, it is not something I'd wish on any one. Optima stopped the garnishment, worked out a settlement and it's just great now. They truly are the light at the end of the dark, dark tunnel guiding you all the way. Thank you, thank you, thank you

Truth H January 23, 2016

Another fake review

My experience with Optima's no releif but grief.
January 3, 2015
In a nutshell. After quickly taking my $1000.00 dollars within 3 days called me to tell me I owed $65000.00 and they wanted $15000.00 to represent me.After I got up off the floor I went online and took advantage of the cancellation period. Optima told me that if i represent myself it would be a nightmare what they would do to me. So I decided to represent myself. I settled with the IRS on 2 years worth of tax expense audits for $7000.00. They use scare tactics and they think everyone is dumb. Nothing but a bunch of bullies.

Wendell January 23, 2015

i had problems with this company to,and they don't mind arguing with you after they recieve your money.

THIS IS A JOKE!!! DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!
December 4, 2014
MY HUSBAND AND I STARTED WITH THIS COMPANY AND WE GOT NO HELP FROM THEM AT ALL. THE ONLY THING GUARANTEED ABOUT THEM IS THE MONTHLY WITHDRAWALS FROM OUR BANK ACCOUNT. WE ARE THE ONES THAT CALLED THE IRS WEEKLY. ANYTIME SOMETHING HAPPENED WE WOULD CALL OPTIMA TAX AND THE ONLY ANSWER WE EVER GOT WAS "OH, THEY ARENT SUPPOSED TO DO THAT. WE WILL CALL THEM". THEY NEVER CALLED US BACK WHEN THEY SAID THEY WOULD. WE WOULD END UP HAVING TO CALL THE IRS OURSELVES AND WE JUST NOW HAVE REACHED A SETTLEMENT WITH THE IRS AND IT WAS ALL DONE ON OUR TIME AND WITH OUR PHONE CALLS. YET THE MONTHLY DISBURSEMENT IS STILL BEING TAKEN OUT OF OUR ACCOUNT AND FOR NOTHING!!! WE HAVENT HEARD FROM OUR REPRESENTATIVE IN A MONTH!!! WHAT A WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY!!

Wendell January 23, 2015

i agree it was A waste of time and more money at the end, I believed they file my tax and the IRS kept my refund,and then they told me they reduce it,but I know better.

scammed
May 10, 2014

"Anastasia" called us constantly until we forked over the $1000. After a month we were informed that they could set up a payment plan for us. We already had a payment plan with the IRS and it didn't cost us $1000. She said "according to the information you gave us" where she was referring to the original estimates I had given her over the phone and not the actual documents I had sent her. I knew then that it was all bull. She was trying to get another $2000 to see how "further" they could go with this. You know when someone is selling something and they use a lot of words and don't really say anything? That's Optima Tax Relief and Anastasia. Don't waste your money. I'm willing to bet most of these reviews are generated by OTR itself.

BTW, our tax problems stemmed form the Real Estate collapse back in 06. My husband built 10 houses and lost money on all of them, but we still ended up with a big tax bill because we lost so much money we couldn't stay current with taxes. I also lost my part time job that I made $11,000 on last year because the company closed. I still have my full time job though. Gotta pay those taxes.

Wendell January 23, 2015

i also didn't like when they ask for my 401k pass word,I didn't give it.

First Class Team at Optima
November 9, 2013
I can't say enough about the team at Optima Tax. They helped me get out of a real hole I had dug for myself. Not only did they save me a ton of money, but they went the extra mile to refer me to some great advisors that made a big difference in my life. I really appreciated the attention and care they gave to my situation, and the extra efforts they made to help me get back on my feet. Thanks Optima Team!

Truth H January 23, 2016

These positive reviews are fake

My experience with the team at Optima
June 16, 2013
Brooke I wanted to send you this short note to let you know how happy I have been you and your team at Optima Tax Relief. I am impressed with your businesslike approach which has moved the process along at a consistent pace but has not pressured me into moving forward until I have been fully informed and comfortable moving to the next step. It is reassuring to know that I have Optima tax relief on my side as I clear up my tax situation.

I would recommend Optima to my friends and family
April 25, 2013
The people at Optima tax certainly got things under control fast with IRS, they have stopped all collections and give me peace of mind by staying between myself and IRS , this is huge and very comforting, they answer my questions fast and in a way I can understand , good company , would recommend them to anyone have tax problems that needs IRS issues resolved

Save me from drowning in debt
April 25, 2013
I have been self-employed, doing taxes with tax professionals, and have been doing fine up until now! I received a letter from the IRS stating I owed more than $15,000! I started to call tax prep services all over the city who couldn't tell me anything or even how to start. I asked tax forums and I found Optima Tax Relief. They were able to stop the IRS from coming after me within a few weeks, and stopped them from taking my savings. Optima was able to talk directly to the IRS for me, get my paper work straight, and give me peace of mind. We were able to lower my taxes to a reasonable amount, and I keep Optima on speed dial just in case.

Optima Tax Relief (Scammers)
April 24, 2013
Optima sales rep told me a bunch of lies to get me to sign with them about 30 days later and $1000.00 dollars they told me what I already knew that's after the 15 day money back guarantee had run out . And I found out that the sales rep had lied to me to get me to sign . Now they want another 4000.00 dollars to do what they were hired to do get me a settlement with the IRS . I've tried calling them to see if they have begun that process but have not herd back from them I feel my only course of action to get my money back is to sue them witch I will and by the way when confronted about what the sales rep told me they told me he was no longer with them which I thought that was quite convenient for them . They suck do not use this company.

Related Reviews

No reviews yet
No reviews yet
No reviews yet