Optima Tax Relief Reviews

Optima Tax Relief Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Too Expensive
April 10, 2017
Its not worth it. Optima charges an arm and a leg for something that can be done anywhere else for a fraction of the cost.

Don't trust these people
March 6, 2017

After hiring them, it became clear that their basic function wasn't to get tax relief for their clients, but rather it was to generate a large revenue while hiding behind excuses and requests for records they had no desire to work on. After giving them almost $8900.00 and my 2015 personal and business expenses, there still has been no progress on my file. Most of their correspondence seems to center on more money to pay them. Their contract for $21,000 to handle our case is a waste of paper and effort on my part.

Please, for the sake of all that is mighty in heaven, stay way from Optima Tax Relief. Their only relief is to your bank account.

James Miller April 10, 2017

They asked me to pay $8,000 for phase 2, so I said "no thanks."

pedro May 24, 2017

they the same thing to me more money more money and nothing was done until I cancel the contract they still want more money they rob me of $6.500.00 in exchange for nothing and did it legal smart scammers all needed was a simple letter beware people

Optima Tax Relief
January 25, 2017
I owed the federal government over $14,000 for the 2014 tax year. Therefore, I acquired Optima Tax Relief services and explained my problem with them. Afterwards, they gave me a plan and steps I needed to follow. I did as they told me and submitted all the necessary paperwork. As a result, I no longer owe the IRS that sum of money and I am free from the stress related to my taxes. Thank you very much!

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

You can tell by the wording of these (FAKE) POSITIVE reviews that they're by OPTIMA EMPLOYEES / PR STAFF. It's clearly proven what a scam they are. I mean come on = 91 of these companies have been SHUT DOWN ! ! ! OPTIMA is in NO WAY ANY DIFFERENT. OPTIMA = SCAMMERS ! ! !

REASONS TO AVOID TAX RELIEF COMPANIES:

(The below is "8 reasons" is as cited by [REAL] tax professionals @ "WATAX" website; And, you can also see on their website the 91 "tax relief" companies SHUT DOWN because of their scam, unethical, illegal, and poor business practices! ! ! )

1.] These SCAM companies charge ridiculous, HIGH fees. If a tax resolution company is going to charge you $3,000 or more for representation, you deserve the red carpet treatment. You should have direct access to your licensed tax professional and/or have the customer service rep who does your up-front analysis to be with you to the end. (If you're interested, we wrote more about what $4,000 of tax resolution should buy you.);

2.] Many tax resolution companies have a tendency to whack you with new fees once you're on board with them, figuring you're more or less locked in. (We wrote more about this phenomenon too, about why reopening fees are problematic.);

3.] They give BAD advice. Plainly and simply, many tax resolution companies will advise you to do the wrong thing;

4.] They give DISHONEST advice (i.e. lying). The oldest trick in the tax resolution sales book is to tell someone that they'll qualify for an Offer in Compromise ("OIC") to settle their tax debt when they clearly do not qualify. It's human nature: people just love to hear that they will settle their debts—just like in the commercials! Shady salespeople love to scratch this itch for profit;

FYI: YOU can file YOUR OWN "OIC" (IRS Form # 656), but it's HIGHLY UNLIKELY you'll get such "compromise" as statistics show the IRS RARELY offer such.

You can file your own "EXTENSION" (IRS Form # 1127 - "Application for Extension of Time for Payment of Tax Due to Undue Hardship"), which is all these SCAM "TAX RELIEF" companies do anyway, charging you fees in EXCESS of $1,000s & $1,000s - with many consumers reporting being SCAMMED / CHARGED upwards of the $4,000-$7,000 ranges).

If you owe back taxes, there are several IRS tax relief programs to help, including the IRS "FRESH START INITIATIVE":

An "Installment Agreement" is generally available to people who can't pay their tax debt in full at one time. The program allows people to make smaller monthly payments until the entire debt is satisfied.

Under its "FRESH START INITIATIVE", the IRS raised the threshold for streamlined installment agreements from $25,000 to $50,000 in tax debt, and the maximum repayment term from five to six years. Taxpayers who owe less than $50,000 may apply online with the IRS and don’t have to complete an IRS "Collection Information Statement" (Form # 433-A, Form # 433-B or Form # 433-F).

An Offer in Compromise ("OIC") lets taxpayers permanently settle their tax debt for less than the amount they owe. The OIC is an important tool to help people in limited circumstances; taxpayers are eligible only after other payment options have been exhausted.

Under its "FRESH START INITIATIVE", the IRS expanded the "OIC" program to cover a larger group of struggling taxpayers. However, the IRS will not accept an offer if it believes the liability can be paid in full as a lump sum or through an installment agreement. The IRS offers guidance on choosing a tax professional for an OIC on its website.

5.] Misstating urgency and scare tactics. Tax resolution sales people and telemarketers harass those with tax liens, they're notorious for telling you that the sky is falling if you don't hire them immediately. "Your case has reached 'Elevated Status!" barks one company to its prospective clients, cold calling tax liens. Tax relief companies will often manipulate your emotions to make the sale. There's no reason to fake urgency. An honest tax professional should lay out all of the options for you without emotion or scare tactics;

6.] Employee turnover. Whether big or small, tax resolution companies are notorious for having high employee turnover. As many of the companies are reliant on "salespeople," employees who can't sell enough cases are fired. Hence, your case keeps getting handed off from representative to representative. In these environments, the institutional memory of your case can deteriorate fairly easily;

7.] Dropping the ball. Keeping your client out of aggressive collection actions like levies and garnishments requires constant vigilance and a very delicate personal touch. Large companies are famous for cases falling into the cracks and subsequently, clients getting nailed with levies from the IRS.

Going out of business. Running an effective tax resolution business requires a unique blend of great customer service with excellent marketing; and

8.] Going out of business. Running an effective tax resolution business requires a unique blend of great customer service with excellent marketing. Take one of those two elements away and you're out of business! Again, see "WATAX" website that lists THE 91 TAX SCAM COMPANIES ALREADY SHUT DOWN!

AS STATED BY THE FTC - - Problems with Tax Relief Companies:

1.] Promise that you will get relief from tax liabilities;

2.] Misrepresent how long it will take to process a debt relief request application; and/or

3.] Omit relevant asset information on financial statements submitted to the IRS.

ALSO STATED BY THE FTC:

"Tax relief companies use the radio, television and the internet to advertise help for taxpayers in distress. If you pay them an upfront fee, which can be thousands of dollars, these companies claim they can reduce or even eliminate your tax debts and stop back-tax collection by applying for legitimate IRS hardship programs. The truth is that most taxpayers don't qualify for the programs these fraudsters hawk, their companies don't settle the tax debt, and in many cases don't even send the necessary paperwork to the IRS requesting participation in the programs that were mentioned. Adding insult to injury, some of these companies don't provide refunds, and leave people even further in debt.

Some taxpayers who filed complaints with the Federal Trade Commission (FTC) reported that, after signing up with some of these companies and paying thousands of dollars in upfront fees, the companies took even more of their money by making unauthorized charges to their credit cards or withdrawals from their bank accounts.

If you owe back taxes and don't know how you're going to pay the debt, the FTC, the nation's consumer protection agency, says don't panic, take a deep breath, and consider your options. If you are having trouble paying bills, it's often better to try to work out a payment plan with the creditor yourself than to pay someone else to negotiate a plan for you. The same is true when you owe money to the IRS or your state comptroller."

Debt Relif
December 13, 2016
My name is Caprice and I had a substantial debt with the IRS. Optima was able to get the debt reduced from $27,000 down to $420. This is quiet a relief for me as now I will be able to pay this amount and clear my record. Thank you Optima

Ron Rackerby July 03, 2017

all they did was rewrite your tax forms correctly! any CPA could do that for a lot less... they do not fight for you!

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

ANOTHER "FAKE" POSITIVE review by an OPTIMA EMPLOYEE ! !

My Awesome Experience
November 28, 2016

I had an such an awesome experience with Optima Tax Relief that I would like to share with everyone. I had a 22,000.00 IRS debt and was looking at a wage garnishment as well as a hold on my bank accounts. I called Optima and the minute someone answered the phone they made me feel that everything was going to be OK. They sent me the paperwork i needed and we began our process together to reduce my 22,000.00 debt to the IRS to 100.00. There never was any stress and the whole process took less than one year. I am now debt free to the IRS.

Thank you Optima Tax Relief

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

LIAR! Another POSITIVE review by a PAID OPTIMA EMPLOYEE!

Great Service at Optima Tax Relief
November 23, 2016

I was initially skeptical, and dodged Optima Tax Relief. I asked questions over and over, and was leery about giving them my credit card information over the phone. After, Optima Tax Relief asked me to come visit their office and meet with them, I then felt at ease.

I signed up with Optima Tax Relief over the phoneand I did not regret it. They informed clearly of the possible outcome for a delinquent $10,000 amount I owed to IRS.

In about 5-6 months time, Optima Tax Relief, through Power Of Attorney gathered all required tax papers from me, communicated with the IRS on my behalf, brought all my tax paperwork up to date, and at the end, they constructed a Settlement with the IRS for $50.00 because of my hardship.

I highly recommend Optima Tax Relief to anyone who is in the same position that I found myself in.......YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT.

A.Silva

Corona, CA

IRS Taxes
November 21, 2016
Optima Tax Relief provides professional services for people who owe the IRS money. They resolved our IRS issues in a timely manner, answered all our questions. I highly recommend you give them a call.

OPTIMA TAX RELIEF SCAM AND FRAUD
November 10, 2016

Total rip off. Did nothing but get an amount owed from the IRS for $995. 15 Day Money back Guarantee is pointless because they take 2-4 weeks to get an answer that truly only takes 30 min. By that time they give you for the so called investigation, your past the 15 day Money back. Absolutely no negotiations, reduced amount, payment terms, options, etc were made in the first phase. If you pay 995 dollars for something you expect to get a little more than, "well you owe 16K".

Also notice they send you the recorded line that has the wording just right to not be able to sue them. Never did I get the recorded phone conversation with the Salesman?

Daniel November 10, 2016

DO NOT GIVE THEM MONEY FOR FIRST PHASE (INVESTIGATION). YOU CAN GET THE INFO BY CALLING THE IRS AND ASK THEM HOW MUCH YOU OWE. THAT'S ALL THE INVESTIGATION IS!

Optima Tax Relief
August 17, 2016

I was at a crossroads as to trying to figure out how to resolve an IRS tax debt. I just by chance happen to be driving in my car and heard an advertisement on the radio for tax relief service through Optima Tax Relief. I took the chance and made the call. Let's face it, I had nothing to lose, and everything to gain. I spoke with a representative, who took the time to explain the professional services offered by Optima Tax Relief.

This person was very easy to talk to, very professional, and just an all-around nice person. But that could just have been a way to convince me to agree to take on their services. But in actuality, this person sincerely cared about my situation, and was wanting to help. So I followed to steps to get started, and the rest is history.

After about 9 months of negotiations by the tax attorneys with Optima Tax Relief and the IRS, my situation drastically changed. I settled my tax debt over a year ago, and I am Federal Tax Debt free! I am so very grateful to the level of professionalism of all of the Optima Tax Relief team. I hope to one day have the convenient opportunity to stop the offices of Optima Tax Relief, to personally thank them for how they have help me.

If anyone has heard their advertisements, and have wondered about their services, or has hesitated in calling, make the call. I am a true witness to what this firm can sincerely do in helping people to resolve IRS tax debts.

Stephen A. Crayton

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

ANOTHER LIE by a PAID OPTIMA EMPLOYEE ! ! !

Thank you Optima
August 9, 2016
First, I would like to thank everyone at Optima Tax Relief. I owed about $17,000 to the IRS and they began to garnish my wages. I really didn’t know what to do. As I drove to work, I thought about my dilemma and who I could talk to about my situation. That’s when it happened. A commercial on the radio began to play and it seemed like a godsend. Shocked, I immediately pulled off the freeway so I can write down this phone number before the commercial was over. I quickly called and from the very beginning Optima Tax Relief associates were very courteous and professional. Throughout the entire procedure, I never felt uninformed. They called me when needed, emailed me and had a convenient way for me to keep track of everything online. To put it plainly, I was simply amazed at the speed and professionalism that they showed. Within a few days, they had convinced the IRS to remove the levy from my pay and I felt like a huge weight had been lifted from my shoulders. They then set up a payment plan that was within my means to afford. Over all, I am truly grateful for all the effort they put into my case and if I could give them ten stars I would.

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

Another lie by a PAID OPTIMA employee

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

Another lie by a PAID OPTIMA employee

Optima Relief Fantastic Job
July 31, 2016
Well let me tell ya little story I at one point was way behind in back taxes some where in the neighborhood of 30,000 dollars .I was receiving threatening letters from the IRS telling me that they were going to put liens on my accounts until I paid them off. That's when I called Optima from the very beginning I felt like I had someone on my side they explained how they could help how long it would take and what it would cost they got me into a tax amnesty program told me it would take about 1 year and there fee was reasonable they stopped the threat of liens to my accounts Finally I felt relief and within the time frame they promised my dept to the IRS has been resolved . I highly recommend choosing Optima Tax relief if you find yourself in a pickle like I did Kudos to you Optima

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

Another LIE by an OPTIMA employee

Very satisfied with Optima Tax Relief
July 27, 2016

After four years of personal, unsuccessful, and frustrating negotiations with the IRS, I turned to Optima Tax Relief for my representation. As one of the many individuals with IRS problems, I had heard Optima Tax Relief commercial advertisements and was skeptical. Thankfully, selecting Optima Tax Relief resulted as one of the best decisions of my adult life.

After four years of my unsuccessful IRS discussions, Optima resolved my IRS issue in less than one year. My problem with the IRS has been resolved with an Offer in Comprise at a savings to me of $23,495.

While one year may sound like a long time, it’s significant'tly shorter than the four previous years I had hopelessly spent dealing with the IRS. And, I did not have any inter action with the IRS – Optima Tax Relief did it all. They kept me up to date with the negotiations from beginning to the final resolution.

If you have an IRS problem that you cannot resolve, I would emphatically refer Optima Tax Relief as your representative. They do what they say they will do. They did for me- I no longer have an IRS problem!

Outstanding
July 27, 2016
This company helped me tremendously with my taxes. Everything was done quickly, efficiently and on time. I can't thank them enough for saving me so much money!

Optima Tax Relief
July 25, 2016
I was naturally scared after receiving a letter from the IRS due to an error in filing from a previous year. I immediately contacted Optima Tax Relief, and during the initial contact I felt a sense of relief. I was notified every step of the way while they fought on my behalf. When I was notified about the offer to settle my tax debt, I was shocked about how they resolved it. I couldn't believe the results they achieved and had the debt resolved for pennies on what I owed. Thank you Optima Tax Relief

Life saver
July 23, 2016
I had 7 years of back taxes I needed to have filed and paid. I called Optima after I started receiving certified letters from the IRS. They not only took care of everything, they got my tax debt that was $21,000 reduced to $100. It took over a year but they always keep in contact with you. They are by far the best company for tax problems.

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

These POSITIVE reviews CRACK ME UP, as they're clearly by paid OPTIMA employees - read the reviews, do your research, people; don't fall for their SCAM

Outstanding help
July 21, 2016

I had some past Federal tax situations that I needed help with. I had heard about Optima Tax Relief on the Mark Levin radio broadcast. I gave them a call and was immediately talking with a gentleman that was very business like, but also I felt that he cared about making sure I felt at ease, and that I was in good hands. He asked me a series of questions for a basic check to make sure they could help me. After it was determined Optima could help with my situations the process started.

During the time it took to go through the many steps to insure that every “T” was crossed and “i” dotted I talked with several different people at Optima that handled different parts of my situations. Dealing with the IRS on behalf of anyone like myself that needs help can not be easy, but these people did an outstanding, professional job. Every time a question came to my mind or I wanted to check on the status of one of the steps the process was going through the people at Optima were very quick to return my phone call, or email, but the majority of the time I was immediately put in touch with my case worker. At times when my case worker wasn’t available at the time the person I was talking with was extremely helpful and took care of my inquiries, if they could, or insure my case worker would get back to me by the next day, which they always did.

Everyone I talked with at Optima was always very pleasant, knowledgeable, helpful, and put me at ease during that very trying time. During the whole process it took for Optima to work with me, and the IRS to bring to a finalized solution, I really felt that they totally cared about getting the best outcome for me, and that they were diligently working towards that end. When I got the word from my case worker on what the IRS agreed to I was overjoyed, and I felt that a huge burden was lifted from off my shoulders thanks to these hard working people. Optima did a fantastic job and I would highly recommend them to anyone that is dealing with IRS problems.

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

These POSITIVE reviews CRACK ME UP, as they're clearly by paid OPTIMA employees - read the reviews, do your research, people; don't fall for their SCAM

Optima Tax Relief
July 21, 2016
I was recently widowed, with three little kids and a surprise from the IRS. My husband drained his 401K and I never knew about it so it was never filed for taxes. I called Optima and they explained how they could help me and the many different directions it could go from the start. It was a VERY long process and sure there were some frustrations with the staff (asking me to get my husbands signature on documents even after explaining a few dozen times on that one phone call the he was deceased). BUT I am very happy with the results. They never promised to make it all go away, but they did ease my mind when I panicked from paperwork that appeared in the mail from the IRS and they did get me a great settlement that I could afford. They communicated with me in the last few months of waiting often to make sure I knew what was happening and if I had questions. I do recommend using Optima when you have surprises you didn't expect.

Michelle Johnson July 21, 2016

I also see that there are many comments on the positive reviews that they are fake. Mine isn't fake, I don't know what I could say to prove that this all happened. Optima doesn't promise to make what you owe go away, but if there was a mistake made on your behalf or if there are life changes that affect your income - they can use that to assist in a lesser settlement. You don't get to just stop paying your taxes and think... oh someone will get me out of it. There are so many pieces that you leave out when you write your bad reviews. They don't try to settle your one letter you get - they research to make sure there aren't other years of issues that haven't been processed yet. If you owe more for future years that haven't processed yet they make sure everything is covered. I don't know your stories and I don't know if you had a bad representative from the beginning, nor do I know if you actually listened to the reality of what they could do for you before you sent your payment expecting everything to go away. They flat out tell you from the beginning they can't promise anything because they don't know the whole story until they research everything. Be fair in your reviews to others. If you weren't happy - I'm sorry. Perhaps there is more to the story you aren't telling on your side of why you didn't get the slate wiped clean.

Ron Rackerby July 03, 2017

They make you think that the fees and penalties will go away... they don't and they make it worse with payment plans that continue to make you pay more!

JOHN BASS September 10, 2017

These POSITIVE reviews CRACK ME UP, as they're clearly by paid OPTIMA employees - read the reviews, do your research, people; don't fall for their SCAM

Michelle Johnson September 12, 2017

I'm not a paid employee, I don't work for them and never have. Facebook me, Google me, I work for Armstrong Transportation Group. I live in MN, I'm sorry they didn't do anything for you, they truly did help me.

Extremely helpful and very appreciated!
July 9, 2016
From the start they were very helpful, informative, and available. I knew it would take some time to resolve, yet it was much quicker than expected, and they eventually were able to reduce my debt of over $25,000.00 to a final payment of $100.00 that resolved everything. My experience with Optima was fantastic, and I'd recommend them fully!

Best help I've ever received!
July 8, 2016
Optima Tax Relief saved my financial life in a really big way! After accruing over $30000 in tax liability from several years of being self employed / 1099, and not being able to keep up with the increase in my annual returns from the added self employment tax, I had no idea how to dig myself out of the hole. I started receiving collection letters from the IRS, and had a tax lien filed against me. I finally decided to call Optima Tax Relief after hearing commercials about them on the radio. They handled my case expertly, pulling my records from the IRS, invoking power of attorney to protect me, and working with the IRS to create a settlement that worked for me. When all was said and done, I ended up with a total settlement of approximately 10% of my total liability, which included my payment to Optima for their services. I absolutely couldn't be happier, and feel like an immense weight has been lifted from my shoulders!!! I would highly recommend them to anyone needing help with tax issues.

optima helped
July 7, 2016
Optima helped me out, the IRS was starting to freeze my accounts for the over 12,000 I owed. optima stopped them and eventually settled with a payment I can afford and after all is said and done I will have paid the IRS near 3,000. I am very happy with them.