NextDoor.com Reviews

NextDoor.com
( 93 reviews )
Website: NextDoor.com
93 ‘NextDoor.com ’ Reviews
  • Sort Reviews By:

Bullying and shaming on Next Door
August 8, 2017
Individuals have used next door to bully, shame and organize against a neighbor. The area is a dense apartment area in Los Gatos. The individual works with a feral cat rescue organization which feeds, traps, and spays cats that apartment owners often leave behind when they move. Her "neighbors" have decided to gang up against her. Next Door irresponsibly allowed the publishing of her picture and address. The "neighbors" have used ND to organize and meet to plan their strategy against this woman. She is widowed, elderly living alone and is now feeling very threatened. The "lead" for the neighborhood has received complaints regarding these posts, but they have failed to take the post down. They did finally remove her picture and personal information regarding her personal situation. Have refused to remove her address.

Old T November 24, 2017

Removal of address in a persons profile is up to the individual. People put too much info up to include their numerical address (house number). Nextdoor then creates a virtual map to your front door. Removing the house number, removes the map to your door. That said, she and you can send a report, the form is online, to Nextdoor 'HQ.' With more than one report, they tend to react.

Addendum to my earlier post
July 11, 2017

Look who controls this company. Someone is making big bucks off of this inspite of the terrible reviews they get on the Better Business Bureau Site. 38 out or 44 reviews were "Negative" from verified users:

https://www.bbb.org/greater-san-francisco/business-reviews/internet-services/nextdoor-com-inc-in-san-francisco-ca-447229/reviews-and-complaints

Check it out for yourself.

Old T November 24, 2017

You will find the untoward history on Wikipedia too. Another review site has more than 90% 1 start reviews. The small number of positive reviews read as 'scripted' (as in paid writer).

Don't shoot yourself in the foot.
July 11, 2017
There is a registered sex offender in my friends neighborhood. It was a victimless crime 20 years ago. The guy keeps to himself and never bothered anybody. Nextdoor.com comes into the neighborhood and all of sudden this guy's name is all they talk about. He asked them many times very nicely to stop. It got worse. So now, every time someone lists their property for sale this guy sends a registered letter to the Realtor putting them on notice he lives there. The Realtor is required by law to disclose that to potential buyers. Now people can't sell their property. Ironically, there is a woman who served a lot of time in prison who lives there but no one knows it because there is no "Murder Registery" anywhere. So..... "Don't shoot yourself in the foot"..

Old T November 24, 2017

A similar situation happened by me. A new "Neighborhood Hero' posted about a registered sex offender. Now for context. They ignored the two dozen or more in our area; most within the last 10 years or less. The one reported was several decades old; one time offense. The 'Hero' then went on to make vague untoward statements about the individual, e.g. too friendly. When several of us complained ('Leads' not monitoring), the 'Hero' went the 'public record' route and that they were doing a community service. It was pointed out to the 'Hero' that the sex offender registry, state or other, requires that you agree not to use it to harass people, etc. before you even use the site. One can be subject to criminal penalties for so doing. The 'Hero' suddenly removed the post with comments and left the site all together within 24 hours. We suspect that the 'Hero' was trying to make themselves look good rather than perform a community service.

Old T November 24, 2017

Similar incident near me. The 'Community Hero' posted about one person ... not all the others in the area. Then they made vague assertions about the person. Some of us complained and the 'Hero' claimed 'public record.' True, it is public record but when you use the site you are required to agree not to harass people, etc. and if you do so that you become subject to criminal penalty. The 'Hero' quickly removed the post and comments and disappeared from membership. Nextdoor is a cancer that is growing and now in other countries too.

Neighborly Defamation, Rascism & Hatred
June 10, 2017

After receiving a postcard invitation, which was unsolicited, I signed up. A few weeks later, their micromanager sent me a letter that another (anonymous) member said my name was not real so I needed to send my drivers license, passport, or utility bills, to prove my identity, and then they immediately blocked my account.

So anyone can say whatever they want and it's accepted as truthful. And Nextdoor will demand proof and ID of the singled out party but not of all of its members. It's not anywhere in its MemberPolicy that it's a requirement. The postcard suffices.

I have discussed this with my attorneys and am looking into filing suit preliminarily based on defamation.

Tony M March 28, 2019

It is a fake web site designed to show the fluff and not the negativity of the people posting.

Old T November 24, 2017

This company, Nextdoor (see history on Wikipedia), has many valid complaints all across the country. One review site has greater than 90% negative reviews. True, a few are not valid but the vast majority are. I have seen a West Coast BBB site where 3/4 of the reviews are negative (Nextdoor does not belong to BBB). They are now buying overseas sites, e.g. UK, and the new 'Nextdoor' sites are now complaining about what was good is now bad; people dropping out. The long term goal for Nextdoor was to grow a base to use for paid advertising which it now does. In the U.S., state AG's should be investigating Nextdoor for some of the untoward things that go on. Some areas have conned police to be on their sites which makes them look good. Almost forgot to mention, you will see a few wonderfully written positive reviews but they are a fraction of all reviews and one must question if they are real.

Great way to find out who is racist
May 16, 2017
I love Nextdoor. Thanks to Nextdoor, I know who the racists are in my neighborhood. I also know who has enough time on their hands to report all the "suspicious" people that happen to walk past their house during the course of the day. I never knew there were that many paranoid people living in such close proximity. If you report posts for racial profiling, which is strictly prohibited according to Nextdoor guidelines, the poster is notified. This does nothing but rally the racists who then like to gang up on the minority of nonracists. Thanks to Nextdoor, I also know which households "have a gun and aren't afraid to use it". I can't thank Nextdoor enough for empowering paranoid, gun toting racist with nothing better to do then stare out the window all day. If you are afraid of any person that happens to be in your neighborhood that does not have the same skin tone as you, this is the app for you.

Tony M March 28, 2019

The website is a joke designed for a bunch of cry babies

Nextdoor is a great asset to our community
March 25, 2017
I live in Bakersfield California and my wife and I became members about 6 months ago. I have found Nextdoor to be a wealth of community and big and small business information. You can buy /sell or give away almost anything a person could have.It has helped us find our animals and its another unique resource in the neighborhoods search for help in crime.I look at Nextdoor far more than I look at any other site.Of course there are people and information that is not helpful but I just scroll past what I am not interested in.There are always going to be morons that say things,period. I love that people use real names and live in our community. Thank you Nextdoor!

Tony M March 28, 2019

The web site was designed for people just like Ken....our point reaffirmed....call 1-800-CRY-BABY Ken...

Ken April 30, 2017

Mbradford, I have no idea who you are and I dont care. I use the Nextdoor app as I do every tool on the internet,including Yahoo and WebMD. I am well aware of manipulation by virtue of being an LVN/RN for 34 years. Try working with a bunch of stick up their butt males and females and you can take pictures of manipulation. Nextdoor is a TOOL to be used in conjunction with other information-period. I find out whats going on and what I dont wish to read,I dont. I am sorry for what happened to you on the site but not everyone has those type of experiences.I stand by my comment. If I am a criminal I am far more stupid than they are. Good day.

Mbradford April 29, 2017

Ken,

You're living in a dream world. Just wait until you find out what manipulation is done via Nextdoor. I wish you well. Since you mentioned crime, you should begin research on who is the criminal and the fact it could be you, according to Nextdoor. The small things you listed sound very nice, just look out. That organization is a billion dollar plus one that really likes people like you who are willing to do exactly as you are told. Again, I wish you very well

Gestapo Investigation!
February 6, 2017
This all started with a woman who posted about being harassed by a neighbor. He called the cops because she parked her car at her kid's bus stop. I couldn't help but get emotional because of what happened to me years ago. When I was in grade school, 3 mornings in a row, a strange guy was standing near our bus stop. I remember coming home from school and telling my Mom about it. Little did I know about how much danger we were in. It was clear this guy was up to no good. Thank God nothing happened to any of us. Maybe it was because were quiet and stuck together. Or maybe a neighbor was watching. I realized how important this is, so I knew in my heart what I had to do! I posted it on the Nextdoor site. I applauded this woman for being at her kid's bus stop. It made them all safe! People responded to me with overwhelming support! Including a police officer! In fact, one woman even felt bad about what I went through. I thanked everyone and all was good. Weeks went buy. And then out of the blue, I get Nextdoor's Gestapo letter. The said they were investigating me about the "bus stop" post. They claimed it may be offensive! What? You got to be kidding me! I DID NOTHING WRONG! I BLEW UP! I got on their site and wrote a scathing lettter back. I bleep out all swear words so there was no actual cussing. Then I told them they can put their bogus site right where the sun doesn't shine! They wrote back whining about my hurtful statement and that this too will be investigated. Well they got a lot of nerve when they were the ones who attacked me first! I had to endure Gestapo invesigations from a prior job and I'll be d(bleep) if I'm going to put up with it from these people! They're NOT my employer! They are also nothing but a lost cause! So I deleted my membership! These clowns can investigate me all they want. But it will do NO good because I'm no longer a member. And I will NEVER BE AGAIN!

Tony M March 28, 2019

The website will not allow you to post negative comment about the police department, or other long tern members....they will disable and ban your account . They do not want hr truth, they want fluff so they can get more advertising dollars....It is a corporate information and money grab.,...waste of time

Michelle S May 19, 2017

Well said!

MITCH May 15, 2017

I had a similar experience. Evidently, it's not what's listed on their guidelines page, it's whatever they want to label as "offensive'...even when it's not. These people, (running the site) are screaming liberals!

Ken April 30, 2017

Michelle, I cant follow your post. I have tried to read it but you really do not give any information on what you reported and what happened to you. I understand that a complaint from someone at Nextdoor caused an "investigation" I do not think this site would pay for resources that constitute an investigation into your post. Its good that you and Mbradford decided to not use the site anymore. I have been contacted several times for my posts because someone flagged them. People will censor very quickly when they dont like what you are writing. No big deal.

Mbradford April 29, 2017

Michelle,

That was no rant. "Robert" sounds more like the police to me. I also have a dim view of Nextdoor. I appreciated your post even if "Robert" did not.

Robert April 14, 2017

Wow, what a rant! Emo much?

Billy Moore
November 14, 2016

It has been my pleasure to have Billy Moore as my handyman for the last eight plus years.

Billy Moore is a polite, genial gentlemen who cares about the quality of his workmanship.

He's built fence sections, installed light fixtures, and a dishwasher. He's trimmed trees. Billy Moore has helped me keep my home in good repair. He leaves the work area as clean (or cleaner) as when the project began.

I highly recommend Billy Moore if you're looking for someone to do quality home repairs.

A Satisfied Customer

Michelle S April 17, 2017

Your lovely sales pitch will work to a certain degree, that is until the Gestapo decides to shut you down. Just wait and see!

Leads have all the Power? It's Rigged!
October 27, 2016
They give so much power to a neighborhood "Lead" who is nothing more than the 1st person to join! I've recruited many more people than her. My neighborhood has a Homeowners Association (HOA) but the Lead started the Nextdoor "neighborhood" with multiple areas & HOAs. I could understand if we had a small community but we have 140 parcels which is more than the Nextdoor minimum! But our lead has "Blackballed" our request for our own neighborhood like an '80s fraternity! To make matters worse the "Lead" named our geographical neighborhood after the nearby cemetery. Try getting your neighbors to join an app & tell them they belong to a neighborhood of those who passed.

Jim P September 26, 2017

Robert, you're wrong. Leads can, and do, stop replies to your post. As more people advertise their used clothes, your post, however important and helpful, fades and becomes completely unread. Leads also delete posts that are against their personal beliefs. We had a pit bull kill an infant. The pro-pit bull owners went on a rampage, and the Lead did nothing but block members posting facts about dangerous dogs. We had a post of a Death Threat posted against a member, and that post was deleted because it made the neighborhood appear unsafe. It's censorship.

Mbradford April 29, 2017

Oh "Robert," you sound so perfectly "Nextdoor" to me; that is, more like the "police." You should consider using the name of Roscoe White. It fits so much better for you. So, how do you deal with a bad "Robert," aka,, Roscoe White? I'd really like to know, okay? And please, take no offence to me at all. I'm just a bad old guy who never bothers anyone.

Robert April 14, 2017

Leads don't have any power to speak of. About all a lead can do is delete an abusive post. Leads cannot ban people and cannot actually prevent anyone from posting. If your lead is not doing his job then you can contact nextdoor, there are ways to deal with bad leads.

Our lead is mentally imbalanced, paranoid, a busy-body.
August 16, 2016
I know our lead personally -- she is semi-insane. She will instigate controversial issues (and even lie about other people) on the site, just so she can later become the central figure resolving it. If you contradict her in any way, she vindictively will delete your account.

Jim P September 26, 2017

Without wasting time, Robert, you are wrong.

Mbradford is correct. I suspect Robert may not actually participate other than selling things.

Mbradford April 29, 2017

Say "Robert" you sound very suspicious to me? And your role? You are the police or what? Leads can do anything including kill an account without reason. Nextdoor is very manipulative and self serving with tons of money coming in.

Robert April 14, 2017

Leads cannot delete accounts nor can they block anyone from posting. If your lead is a psycho then contact nextdoor tech support with a well-written argument and provide supporting evidence. Problems leads can be dealt with.

Reunited
August 3, 2016
We are so thankful for nextdoor.com Our two large black dogs accidentally got out of our gate. We looked for them until 3am on a Saturday night and then all day long on Sunday. One woman walking her dog recommended nextdoor.com and we created an account. The first thing we saw was a post about our dogs being spotted. We got an idea about where to look for them from the last place they were spotted and we drove to that area with a favorite squeaky toy. within 10 minutes a good neighbor heard the toy and chased us down and told us where we could find them. Another neighbor had taken them into their home for their protection. We feel so blessed to have been reunited with our boys and thankful for the wonderful neighbors who worked together to rescue our boys. Thanks so much to nextdoor.com we may have never seen our boys again as their chip was not found by a vet they were taken to.

Keven R August 07, 2017

Leads Are disusting trolls who control the invorment they want to see.Leads where I live have chased off the christian community for sharing church activities in the neighborhood. There is no feedom of speech unless one has found a dog,then the rest of the hood chimes in saying "kill it" or "dump it in the country.The leads have created a hostile environment and have torn the neighbors apart.Most disusting environment I'd had the pleasure to be a part of.

Very useful although "neighbors will be neighbors!"
November 13, 2015

Nextdoor.com is a great way to connect with your neighbors -- find out where the car break-ins are happening, who's having a garage sale, what that construction on Terasita is about.

However, like any unmoderated group, there's a strong "crotchety" vibe (like that review up above! wow!). Best to use the site for the good things, mute and report the meanies, and try to elevate the conversation a bit.

Jim P September 26, 2017

Graham, it sounds like you live in one of the few out of 80,000 neighborhoods nationwide that enjoy a homogeneous group of neighbors.

We have bullies, disrespectful leftists, hate mongers promoted by our Leads and the moderators in SF, and most of the intelligent discussions have been deleted.

Censorship at its best
October 5, 2015

I am a community leader and joined Nextdoor to keep my community abreast of current issues and events and have always provided facts. Any of my posts that disputed certain member's unsupported claims or innuendo were flagged or deleted and when I reached a following of approximately 100 people, my account was deleted by Nextdoor as they stated my posts were dominating the site or were controversial.

While the site is great for sharing information, anyone disputing erroneous information and providing facts and challenging anyone in a manner that is deemed by the censors, which they call leads, to be contrary to what they feel is acceptable to them, at their discretion, can be deleted at anytime, as was my account. I hold several state licenses and am a degreed professional that has always provided facts along with my statements and the site is ridden with Narcissistic, ego tripping socialists that expect everything to go their way.

I'm not referring to foul language, strictly controversial topics As an example, I mentioned that there were unlicensed people cutting hair in the community and my posts were flagged as I was being "negative".

Tony M March 28, 2019

the site is also racist and strictly for white people

Cheri J March 02, 2018

Yes indeed. Same thing here in Virginia Village Denver CO. Run by a bunch of liberal Nazi's.

Patton G July 11, 2017

Sounds like your "NextDoor" site was run by a bunch of democRATs.