NextDoor.com Reviews

NextDoor.com
( 93 reviews )
Website: NextDoor.com
93 ‘NextDoor.com ’ Reviews
  • Sort Reviews By:

this site allows vulgar attacks
July 23, 2020
when you try to protect yourself by altering the full legal name they require because someone used it to find you and harrass you outside of nextdoor you get kicked off but the vulgar spewing harrasser is all good and protected

Jill C May 13, 2021

Agreed!!! Nextdoor sucks!

Paul October 20, 2020

Sounds familiar.

Bill September 19, 2020

Have been there and experienced that!

Straight Up Criminal Website. Complete Liability and Rip-off. Consumer and Good Samaritan Warning.
July 21, 2020

Nextdoor is not what it claims to be. If it isn't in writing, don't believe it. Look at the results.

In other words consider all of this:

An incident occured in a local neighborhood where a "lead" had a false phone number that lead to a dead-end trail for a roofing company that was not even in the area. This sketchy "lead" showed up taking pictures of other people's cars without the consent of the property owners. They initially showed up knocking on doors but later reverted to taking pictures of their vehicles including license plate numbers. This conduct exposes unsuspecting property owners to identity theft and fraud. A second incident occured where rocks were thrown at houses by delinquent kids out at night. A third incident occured where a delinquent kid wearing a hoodie was eavesdropping a conversation near somebody's bedroom while trespassing on property at midnight. Caught on camera. These incidents are all linked to sockpuppet accounts found with false names and fictitious contact details. A political bias is shown in the "moderators" of the website that additionally favor libel related postings against veterans of the United States Military. Another incident occured where local neighbors were setting off particularly noisy fireworks for two consecutive days straight prior to the 4th of July. All of this was precipitated under the current direction of the "leads" and "moderators" on a local nextdoor listing. Another incident occured where one of the "leads" in the local area libeled a military veteran for alleged mail theft. The lead never provided material evidence of these allegations and because he was buddy-buddy with the admins and moderators, he was actually allowed to libel a United States Military Veteran who served his country honorably and was good enough to retire after 20 years. The veteran defended himself as he was jogging and told that "lead" to mind his own business warning him of potential civil court action if he continued. This "lead" made an explicit violent threat against this veteran just after the veteran was kicked off the Nextdoor website by one of the admins so that the veteran could not actually be able to prove an explicit violent threat was made during the libel thread that this "lead" instigated. Additionally, the content is not accessible under a traditional search engine. Other reviews have shown that the "moderators" and "admins" have Carte Blanche to delete anything that goes against their own left-leaning liberal biases. Posts proven and shown as libel are not taken down while those defending themselves against the libel postings are simultaneously kicked. This is a sneaky way of ducking out of a pending lawsuit for defamation. Finally, Nextdoor demonstrates a source of divide and conquer as shown by repeated racist postings falsely accusing people of being inferior because of the way they look. Neighbors have been making written threats of "knowing where you are" pending any kind of tactful disagreement about what they say vs. what they are actually doing. Selective Enforcement and Double Standards are the norm.

Cindy E March 02, 2021

Yes you can’t get a hold of anybody to find out which one of your completely benign comments got you suspended. The fact that I am a conservative and expressed a conservative opinion I’m sure it had something to do with it. But there’s no recourse.

Charline H January 13, 2021

I think we can complain all we want. I'm sure our complaints fall on blind eyes and deaf ears. I've tried every way possible to contact them with no response - even on the "pissed consumer" topic!!

Bill September 19, 2020

110% CORRECT!!!

Another left leaning SJW site
July 14, 2020
Been suspended twice. First for calling looters and rioters 'thugs' and second for calling out that lecturing strangers in public for not wearing masks, even if they have a medical condition that prevents them, is mask shaming. Nextdoor admins are pushing their SJW leftest agenda. If you disagree with them, you get suspended. Looking forward to my next suspension.

Paul October 20, 2020

Deactivated my account today. Happy day!

Bill September 19, 2020

I removed myself was tired of their crap and nonsense!! They have no love for anyone but themselves. Kind of queer if you ask me!

Temporarily Banned
June 22, 2020
Nextdoor.com is one-sided. I was temporarily banned and I was not informed of the reason. Probably because I stated something negative about a BLM protest, consisting of all white teens, crowding both sides of a small road, and seriously impeding cars, suv's, and me on a bicycle. I think all that I said was that 'they should move back because there was no shoulder, no curb, nothing but a narrow two lane road with about 30 large white teens waving signs above the road and chanting. Two more days and then I can get back on the "neighborhood" website.

Bill September 19, 2020

Don't go back !! Repeating the same behavior over and over with the same results is the definition of insanity.

Their stated purpose is not served..
June 18, 2020
A website for neighbors has gotta have room for negativity and members just want fluff. That's what facebook is for. There are a lot of legal, safety, and ethics issues right now trickling down to the little towns, and we need help, discussion, and answers. This website is not the place.

Tried to open a private folder.
June 14, 2020
I was on Nextdoor for a number of years but never used it much, however, about two months ago I logged in just to see what was going on and got a warning from AVG that “This site is trying to read your file “Tax Returns” do you wish to let it? To say the least I said no and got off of my local Nextdoor never to go back!

Joseph L June 19, 2020

I had no idea this might be a problem with Nextdoor. Thank you.

NextDoor should not censor informational conversation
May 26, 2020

NextDoor censors - they don't allow conversations to happen - they delete them. That is a terrible way to treat people. Everyone should have the right to say what's on their mind.

Specifically, I said I was missing a whole conversation about how to boost our immune system during this covid-19 time. I know that China and S Korea have successfully treated patients with high-dose IV Vit C. I know my doctor has stopped covid-19 symptoms in people with Viraclear. I know a doctor in NYC has treated people with glutathione. I know of many ways to boost the immune system. That post was pulled.

Then I posted info about the 9-part Vaccine series currently running that was explaining that vaccines are not effective or safe. That post was attacked. Then I was told that I would be banned if I wrote anymore about it.

Well - that info is life-saving. People cannot blindly trust vaccines. They have too much foreign stuff in them that sickens, injures and kills. Bill Gates' vaccines do not have a good history anywhere in the world. They're a ticket to extermination, basically, and we need to be able to say this.

Joseph L June 19, 2020

Far-left website. If your idea differs in the slightest, you get kicked out of the discussion.

Not for good neighborhoods
May 19, 2020
Just a lot of bullying and childish behavior. just like a mini fakebook site. nothing obviously is being monitored.

Cindy E March 02, 2021

Ours is being heavily moderated, with conservatives being suspended and liberals being allowed to be as hateful as they want.

Laura F January 01, 2021

Selective censorship in full display!

Joseph L June 19, 2020

Well stated. That has been my experience also.

Leftist organization
May 10, 2020
They use their platform to regulate content which does not agree with their leftist agenda. Speak out against it you are censored. Terrible company.

Cindy E March 02, 2021

Yep. Same experience. I don't know if it depends on the neighborhood you live in, or just the website itself. If your local moderators tend to be leftists you are going to find a lot of censorship and bias going on. It's kind of what their specialty is right now.

Joseph L June 19, 2020

If you're not a radical lefty, expect to be bullied, slandered, and then kicked out of discussions for politely stating opposing ideas.

Jack June 15, 2020

Totally agree this is a solidly leftist organization with an agenda. User beware.

MORE LEFTY BIAS
May 1, 2020
This site is biased and they want biased "leads"...people in my neighborhood regularly use the site as another means to bash Trump and no-one complains...why??...because it is NOT Republicans that attack free speech...it is the Demonocrats...this site is based in beautiful syringe and human feces infested SAN FRANCISCO!!...well, what a surprise!!...and...the CEO of Nextdoor, a Niriv Tolia, was convicted of HIT AND RUN in 2014...what a guy!!...I don't curse, degrade anyone, mock anyone, etc...but as soon as I DEFEND THE POTUS, THAT WE, THE PEOPLE ELECTED...I am purged from the site for 30 days!!...the lefties piss and moan to the "site police" and I AM THROWN OFF...this is the third (and last) time...on May 14th when I will be allowed back on, (if I keep my mouth shut and let the others disparage my President)...on May 15 I have a letter written to all my neighbors to copy and paste to the website that I am certain WILL GET ME BANNED FOR LIFE!!...so be it...jerks...

Cindy E March 02, 2021

It's because leftists view any speech they hate as hate speech. They have no tolerance for differing opinions. I find the website useful for practical purposes, like learning about break-ins or Internet outages. But it's completely intolerable because of the political bias that's allowed.

Once again conservatives need to start their own platform.

Joseph L June 19, 2020

Wow, it is amazing reading other people's posts and comments. Lee Teague described my exact repeated experience, "They seem to apply their policies one sidedly. If you do not follow their leftist agenda then you are banned. If you are attacked and reply back - you are banned not the attackers."

Jack June 15, 2020

Extremely one sidedly. It's kind of creepy that they are creating a spy network in all communities.

Lee T May 10, 2020

I agree same experience with Nextdoor. They seem to apply their policies one sidedly. If you do not follow their leftist agenda then you are banned. If you are attacked and reply back - you are banned not the attackers.

100% One Sided...These ND groups are exactly that...groups and if u don't fit in or agree then u r out
April 27, 2020

had a personal and a business acct......posted in general sec my companies willingness to help and a member who is a ND lead responded she didn't like my approach and for about 8 hrs trolled me slandered my company, my name and then reposted post I'd removed and would not stop no matter how many times i asked her to. she then email me the next day via our company with accusations and worst,,,,,,I changed my profile name after she posted photos of myself and my wife who is not on ND and her place of employment....Then ND disabled my account for name change policy. We then removed the business from the site and asked for a refund of ad cost we had paid in advance and so far nothing..........One sided is a nice way to put it..........So at the top of this page where it says REPUTATION......All TOTAL BS

Reputation

Unfortunately there are some negative complaints about this website online. However, none of these complaints appear to be about the security of this website or the lack of privacy measures, which is often what most people are concerned about when sharing details of their home life...................Total BS

One sided
April 27, 2020
had a personal and a business acct......posted in general sec my companies willingness to help and a member who is a ND lead responded she didn't like my approach and for about 8 hrs trolled me slandered my company, my name and then reposted post I'd removed and would not stop no matter how many times i asked her to. she then email me the next day via our company with accusations and worst,,,,,,I changed my profile name after she posted photos of myself and my wife who is not on ND and her place of employment....Then ND disabled my account for name change policy. We then removed the business from the site and asked for a refund of ad cost we had paid in advance and so far nothing..........One sided is a nice way to put it

Nextdoor has been great!
April 10, 2020
In my area this is a great site. We have been able to get reviews and help in finding local businesses with personal reviews. We have found our plumber, HVAC company, restaurants, and other services. Today during COVID 19 a neighbor fixed my lawn mower...for free. Another neighbor made masks for us. As with anything, fraud can happen. Do your due diligence.

Tom April 24, 2020

I recently have tuned into Nextdoor in my neighborhood and it sure seems to have a slant towards one side of the political spectrum. It is NOT a place for open discussion with viewpoints allowed from both sides of an issue (covid-19)....very disappointing....:(

I am so angry
April 3, 2020
While the app itself is great, after 8 loyal years, these people deactivated my account because they said I wasn’t using my real name! I am so pissed off! How rude! They said some of my neighbors said they didn’t know an Audrey A****Yeah right!! They could have written me, called me, anything

Left wing Communist Chinese social credit type org.
March 24, 2020
Absolutely the worst social media site ever. Owned and run by lefty, San Francisco Socialists. They pit neighbor against neighbor and use the same type tactics the Nazi's used in Germany during WW2 and more recently by the Stazi in East Germany. Using neighbors as "leads"(informants.. that's right Chris Colleran, the lead Next Door rat in Bristow, Va.) to report neighbors, all the while stealing your personal info for resale and use by 3rd parties. Screw you Next Door , never again will we use your garbage site. Take it to the Communist Chinese Party in China, you both have much in common.This site sucks out loud, avoid it at all costs. You've been warned!

Why do they provide it free?
February 29, 2020

We live in a small rural village. We have someone who organises a community email group which everyone has joined and enables us to post messages about lost dogs, church services etc.it works well. If we need anything changed we contact him.

I tried out next door and without asking was connected to 6 other nextdoor communities.

And ND wanted access to my contacts and wanted my neighbours email addresses which would be a breach of privacy to provide without their permission.

I was struck by the amount of nebulous spam and comment on the network. Our private data and posts would then be shared with people we don't know which could include the local burglar.

But there has to be a reason why Next Door provides this expensive service at no cost. They want to build a database of everyone's address, contact details, next of kin, likes etc and ship it off to California for commercial purposes. Next thing is they will sell to Amazon or another huge company.

Save the risk and set up a proper community group by email which everyone can easily manage

Populist garbage
February 19, 2020
Its fine for ppl to subtly insult shame or even slander but when you do it with a pair of testicle be prepared for a ban.

NEXTDOOR DOES NOT OVERSEE POSTS
February 13, 2020

There are suppose to be "Leads" for each neighborhood that oversees the posts.

In my last Nextdoor community there were a number of conscientious Leads that did a great job.

In my current Nextdoor community there are literally no Leads attending to the posts. There are people who have obviously false names denigrating and trolling others. When I sent a message to the "Lead" a month ago about my concern, no response.

I no longer feel safe using Nextdoor. If you use it, be careful what you disclose about yourself as some people on it are not identifying who they are and are up to no good.

terrible
February 7, 2020
you can never talk to a person and you get scams to login to different websites that are not next door i feel its not safe

Hagerstown MD
January 19, 2020

I am in Hagerstown MD on next door. Not only is the mayor show signs of bullying and aggression on next door and other platforms, but so do other residents when you point out facts in contrary to what they want to shove down your throat.

They are a giant bunch of entitled, white privileged individuals. If you point out facts when they are wrong, they have you blocked, effectively silencing you and revoking your first amendment right to free speech.

I am white myself, and don’t believe in, nor condone the actions of a fair amount of my current neighbors. I am blown away by the treatment you get by a lot of the residents here, as it is not neighborly, or American at all. Next door in other areas may be ok, but I wouldn’t get it here, nor would I want to live here. Stay away from Nextdoor in this area, as well as stay away from Hagerstown MD,