NextDoor.com Reviews

NextDoor.com
Based on 56  Reviews



Review It

About NextDoor.com

NextDoor.com is a new, private social network designed just for you and the other members of your neighborhood and your community to interact online in order to make your neighborhood better and safer.

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the goal of this website is to give neighbors and communities a place to interact with each other to get to know each other better, and in the process, create a better and safer community.

To sign up as a member of NextDoor.com, you must submit your residential address as well as go through a series of multiple verifications to ensure that you are actually a member of the neighborhood, and not an outsider. 

Members must always use their real names, and not chosen internet handles, and they have completely control over how much information is shared and where it is shared. They also promise that their member information will never be available on public search engines like Google, and that no member information will ever be shared with third party advertisers. 

Once you are a member, NextDoor.com encourages you to use their site as a place to share information, like to spread the word about break-ins, find trustworthy babysitters or pet sitters, ask for help in locating lost pets, or simply to find out peoples’ names and organize neighborhood social functions.

Cost/Price Plans

This website is very adamant that they are completely free for members to sign up and use to interact with their neighbors and other members of their community. In order to ensure the most memberships and interaction, this website decided not to include membership costs. 

Refund Policy

Since no fees are paid at any time to NextDoor.com, there is no Refund Policy being offered by this website. Instead, if customers are ever invited by an ad or a link to go outside of this website and make a purchase, they will have to adhere to any Refund Policies offered by the website where they are actually making their purchase. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who have questions, concerns, or complaints they would like to direct to their Customer Service team can contact them by submitting them directly to their website through their Terms & Conditions page, which offers a Contact Us link at the bottom of the page.

Reputation

Unfortunately there are some negative complaints about this website online. However, none of these complaints appear to be about the security of this website or the lack of privacy measures, which is often what most people are concerned about when sharing details of their home life.

Most of the complaints by far were regarding the content of the information discussed on their neighborhood’s page, with most people saying that this is just a place for judgmental neighbors to sit around and gossip about the people in the neighborhood they don’t know or don’t like. Others complained that there were too many neighbors using this site as a way to sell or promote things for sale.

However, it does genuinely seem as though these experiences are not in the majority, and that your experience will depend greatly on the neighborhood you live in, and the “lead” contact in your neighborhood, as the lead is the person who establishes your neighborhood page and sends out the initial invitations. 

In general it seems as though there is a lot of good that can be taken away from the proper and appropriate use of this site, and the more neighbors who get involved, the more likely it is that the site will be used for what it is intended for.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

Certainly the internet is home to a wide variety of different social networks, and many neighborhoods already offer pages on popular social media sites like Facebook, or they may offer a Twitter handle for sharing of informational as well. 

If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your NextDoor.com reviews below.

Related Articles

56 ‘NextDoor.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
2 Reviews

Biased Censorship



December28, 2019

Mostly a bunch of people who probably have gotten blocked from Twitter or Facebook. They complain about much and bash others or post snide belittling answers but then report anyone who defends themselves. There are too many social platforms that censor people with differing views. The last thing we need is another one.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Nextdoor Follows Facebook's Censorship Policy



October18, 2019

New to Nextdoor, found out they are a progressive site that caters to progressive theology of Politically Correct BS..

There is room for competition for any Fair Neighborhood site that will not Discriminate and Censor...

Nextdoor is just another liberal mouthpiece

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
December 17, 2019

I'm a member of a NextDoor in Florida. You are absolutely correct. They are Leftists.... Run by Leftists...and we Conservatives are treated the same way the Left ALWAYS treats us. They are allowed to say whatever they want, no matter how offensive, and we get locked out of our accounts.This is my second time being locked out...this time for a MONTH. When I go back I am disabling my account. We already have Jack and Zuckerberg....we dont need this. If the site didnt cater, so blatantly, to Leftists it would've been an excellent site. Unfortunately, like all things Leftists touch, it's a hostile environment.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Lead invading people's privacy.



October3, 2019

I have always like the NextDoor group but In NextDoor Seneca , from Buffalo New York The lead, Ken Stuczynski is telling new members he has to go to their house to prove their address. In the past you always had invite postcards sent out or facebook or email invites. I find this request quite odd and dangerous to have strangers come to your house to verify your address. I'm already a member so it doesn't effect me. But I am worried about others. Especially the elderly. He says if people are that paranoid it says more about them than him.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 2 Comments
October 31, 2019

It is for utopians afraid to discuss anything controversial, even when negative comments have merit.
They will jerk your post and their is no recourse. They say you can take a complaint up the "chain of command" but it does not work that way. It is un-American. Posts must be warm and fuzzy otherwise forget it.

November 23, 2019

Easy to spoof a fake name and address on Nextdoor. Consequently, as on any social media site, you should post as if assorted 'bad people' who aren't even your neighbors could be watching. Don't discuss vacation plans, etc. Kudos to your lead for making sure your 'neighbors' are actually your neighbors.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

NEXTDOOR.com Promotes illegal Contractors



September30, 2019

I am a California State Contractor. Licensed, Bonded, and insured. I have been banned by NextDoor.com for exposing the many individuals people recommend to their neighbors as not having a Contractors License. Not just a few but 95% of the dozens of people I was exposed to on their site. Be extremely careful who you expose yourself and your family to when hiring unlicensed people to perform work on your house. Unlicensed people use your own HomeOwners Insurance to cover themselves and their employees because they are not self insured. they can't be because they aren't legitimate companies. If anyone is hurt including your family members YOU are held responsible.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 01, 2019

Thanks for this review. It is informative, helping the consumer understand the need and benefits of hiring someone with a contractor's license. especially at Nextdoor.com.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Selective censorship run amuck



September12, 2019

Three of four of our neighborhood "Leads" have direct ties to the HOA (one as manager and two hold committee positions). I posted a photograph of a sidewalk, pointing out the poor edging job done by an unnamed landscape maintenance company. Sidewalk could have been in Anytown USA as there were no "landmarks", houses/buildings, street numbers, etc. appearing in the photo and I asked for opinions about the shoddy job. (I was extra careful to keep the sidewalk from being identified.) My post was removed within 20 minutes. I learned from the "Lead" with no ties to the HOA, my post was reported and removed by just one "Lead" and there was "no vote" to remove. Same thing has happened to others in the neighborhood. So Nextdoor is useless as a tool for allowing neighbors to freely communicate "general topics of local interest" as stated on their website. So, I tried to change my address to a different neighborhood where I own a rental home. That was 3 weeks ago and I still cannot access my Nextdoor account. Three contacts to Nextdoor via their "Help" site and one phone call later and still nothing.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 01, 2019

Nextdoor does not really vet its Leads. So, a Lead can be really irresponsible or completely overweening in his or her "will to power." It's also the participants and neighbors who can be the same. A majority can sink a Lead with negative feedback, even if the Lead is doing everything right. Or a majority of participants can let a corrupt Lead continue leading so long as the majority doesn't care.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Nextdoor is not a "Private Social Network"



July26, 2019

Nextdoor should NOT be described as a "Private Social Network" as this is not only misleading, but also factually incorrect.

Nextdoor automatically connects you with everyone in your neighborhood and surrounding neighborhoods (by default) which is a massive invasion of your privacy. Your profile (image, name, street address), posts, interests and reviews are essentially exposed to thousands of people when you use the platform. I think this and this is why so few people post and comment.

True social networks like Facebook or LinkedIn have a mutual connection model that allows you to create your own network, and control who sees your information and content.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

LOL nextdoor LOL



June30, 2019

nextdoor you mean hate your neighbor club they don't care about anything and if you contact you are wasting your time cause they don't ever run or monitor it its your neighbor that has been there the longest called the lead and if they want can and will do what ever to please them. if someone complains about your ad its up to them what happens. nextdoor has nothing to do with it. some can do no wrong others have to suffer.this site is governed by idiots. so if you have a problem you either kiss there A hole or throw your figure up and move on. I give the figure and do on to them before they do on to you remember when your figure brakes though the toilet paper thats nextdoor

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
November 08, 2019

Sounds about right...thanks for your sense of humor

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Nextdoor supports censorship and blocking posts



June20, 2019

Nextdoor is the worst. Their censorship belongs in China, not the US. They cancelled my membership because I posted about our corrupt police department, even though their mission statement includes making neighborhoods safe. They removed my post about the corruption also. Their mission statement says they exist to make neighborhoods safer, but they hide the truth. Their policy requires that they notify people of removed posts, but I received nothing. They violate their own policies. Stay away from this biased site.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 4 Comments
June 30, 2019

nextdoor corruption does not treat all the same they pick and choose they kick me off for running an ad they say it was because someone reported me. then they let me back and many other are running ads and no problem a lead on nextdoor tells me report them i did nothing happened.then I find out the leads are the only ones kicking people off and the leads are one of your neighbors so if you live in an H.O.A your screwed. So my take is hate your neighbor do on to him or her before they do thats what nextdoor has to offer.

June 30, 2019

Thank you very much for your comments. I agree with you 100%. Nextdoor censorship is extremely subjective and inconsistent. My neighbor claimed I was ranting in violation of Nextdoor's guidelines. Define the difference between rants and passing along valuable information. I see others doing the same thing on Nextdoor but they are not taken down. Like you said, I will begin to apply the same guidelines to them now about posts I do not like and see how they like it!

September 12, 2019

I feel your pain, James. Same thing has happened to me -- selective censorship by "Leads", who obviously are following their own agenda! No "help" from Nextdoor!

October 01, 2019

Nextdoor does not really vet its Leads. So, a Lead can be really irresponsible or completely overweening in his or her "will to power." It's also the participants and neighbors who can be the same. A majority can sink a Lead with negative feedback, even if the Lead is doing everything right. Or a majority of participants can let a corrupt Lead continue leading so long as the majority doesn't care.

Your Comment

Leave a Review