NextDoor.com Reviews

NextDoor.com
( 101 reviews )
Website: NextDoor.com

NextDoor.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Nextdoor supports censorship and blocking posts
June 20, 2019
Nextdoor is the worst. Their censorship belongs in China, not the US. They cancelled my membership because I posted about our corrupt police department, even though their mission statement includes making neighborhoods safe. They removed my post about the corruption also. Their mission statement says they exist to make neighborhoods safer, but they hide the truth. Their policy requires that they notify people of removed posts, but I received nothing. They violate their own policies. Stay away from this biased site.

larrycoulter June 30, 2019

nextdoor corruption does not treat all the same they pick and choose they kick me off for running an ad they say it was because someone reported me. then they let me back and many other are running ads and no problem a lead on nextdoor tells me report them i did nothing happened.then I find out the leads are the only ones kicking people off and the leads are one of your neighbors so if you live in an H.O.A your screwed. So my take is hate your neighbor do on to him or her before they do thats what nextdoor has to offer.

James Gearhart June 30, 2019

Thank you very much for your comments. I agree with you 100%. Nextdoor censorship is extremely subjective and inconsistent. My neighbor claimed I was ranting in violation of Nextdoor's guidelines. Define the difference between rants and passing along valuable information. I see others doing the same thing on Nextdoor but they are not taken down. Like you said, I will begin to apply the same guidelines to them now about posts I do not like and see how they like it!

LauraFester September 12, 2019

I feel your pain, James. Same thing has happened to me -- selective censorship by "Leads", who obviously are following their own agenda! No "help" from Nextdoor!

CharlesSteiner October 01, 2019

Nextdoor does not really vet its Leads. So, a Lead can be really irresponsible or completely overweening in his or her "will to power." It's also the participants and neighbors who can be the same. A majority can sink a Lead with negative feedback, even if the Lead is doing everything right. Or a majority of participants can let a corrupt Lead continue leading so long as the majority doesn't care.

Joseph Lee June 19, 2020

I feel your pain too, James. I've been tossed out of so many discussions for the most insignificant comments. I wonder whether you would be tossed out for that same post about the police now that there has been so much publicity about brutality by a few bad cops.

Wonder where did they get my E-mail address since I didn't give permission?
June 4, 2019
Last Saturday, I received a envelope and look at it strange, wonder what it's for? It's about the website called Nextdoor.com. Yesterday, I check my e-mail messages ( offer, friends, etc.) and saw a message from Nextdoor.com. I was suspicious and wonder where did they get my e-mail message? Someone should investigate this. P.S. I agree with the person who was right about discrimination. This site need to be shut down.

BethThompson October 21, 2019

This is exactly why I was researching this company and reading reviews. I got an invite in my mailbox. When I tried to sign up, it asked for access to my yahoo contacts before it would complete the process. I am always suspicious of a company that insists on my personal contact list.

JeanieYoshihara November 08, 2019

I received the invite in the mail. When I tried to sign up, it wanted access to my yahoo contacts, I did not continue. Why did they need my contact list?

JeanieYoshihara November 08, 2019

I stopped signing up when they wanted my contact list from yahoo.!!!

HONEST people giving reviews of nextdoor.com
May 9, 2019
We were thinking "we" were the ONLY ones who found fault with nextdoor.com and thanks to the reviews listed above, we feel justified. We are in Chesapeake VA and "I" was bumped from using ND because I disagreed with a popular person. For the past two yrs. have NOT been allowed to ever use ND again. I did NOT violate any rules, use bad language, threaten anyone, ridicule anyone nor disrespect anyone, yet was bumped. Recently husband and adult son tried to get on ND for reasons to sell some of their items and they've been refused to join and neither one has ever used ND. This is open discrimination at it's worst!!!!!

CharlesSteiner October 01, 2019

Nextdoor does not really vet its Leads. So, a Lead can be really irresponsible or completely overweening in his or her "will to power." It's also the participants and neighbors who can be the same. A majority can sink a Lead with negative feedback, even if the Lead is doing everything right. Or a majority of participants can let a corrupt Lead continue leading so long as the majority doesn't care.

data
April 4, 2019
Why do you have to let them have acess to all your email data ? Something doesnt sound right to me

Thomas Stratford April 19, 2019

Bingo! As soon as they asked for gmail conacts, it goes in the scam bin!

JosephCaro May 06, 2019

"Next Door" will only allow leftist leanings within the "News" "Political" categories. If you attempt to leave factual information for others to see -and it conflicts with their Socialist Ideologies - they will eliminate it - and throw you off for writing it! BEWARE OF BIG BROTHER WHO IS A LIBERAL WOLF IN SHEEP CLOTHING!

James Gearhart June 30, 2019

What would you expect from a company based in San Francisco? Conservative viewpoints? They probably have ANTIFA members working for them! Hahaha

Nextdoor.com bunch of cry babies
March 28, 2019

This web site if for a bunch of no life crybabies with nothing better to do than cry about drivers, the local news, and the long line at the golf course. They should rename the site 1-800-CRY-BABY. Seriously, get a life.....bunch of neighbors you would never hang out with in the real world......they live for the anonymity of hiding behind their computers and would never complain about something to someones face because their a bunch of cowards.

Scam To Steal Your Private Data- Snowflake City
March 23, 2019
First, being out of Marxist stronghold S.F, that raised a red flag. And I read it's all about the good of the communities they serve. Sorry, they are here for one reason -to make a buck, and their users are the bank. Their IPO raised $285 mil, and are valued at $1.5 Bil. Sound familiar? Yea, Fakebook and all the money it made by stealing, sharing, and selling users private information. This is another tool to fool you out of your privacy and money. My advise - run away as fast as you can. It's a scam full of snowflakes and narcissists.

POSSIBLY a great resource
March 17, 2019

Yes, this site scoops up free data, but we knew that. It can still be a great community resource.

How are the roads? Who knows a reliable plumber? Anyone know this dog? Why are the cops here? Private message me if you’re interested in joining our Tuesday play group.

All these are typical posts. Guidelines can be interpreted stringently, meaning conversations may stay shallow, but that’s not a given.

It all depend on the Leads (moderators). Sometimes they can be quite subjective, and they don’t always verify names or addresses, which are SUPPOSED to be supplied honestly. (If you click on map view, bogus addresses can sometimes be spotted easily because they’re in the middle of the street).

All in all, it’s easier these days than a listserv,

>BEWARE WOMEN LIVING ALONE<
March 16, 2019

This couple advertised themselves as "handimen". I was interested because of the woman involved and I am a widow living all alone. (Most "handimen" are male). The female was very pushy, which should have warned me. It turned out they were only looking for a fast buck. The man had no teeth, which was another warning. Well I learned my lesson, NEVER INVITE PERFECT STRANGERS INTO YOUR HOME! IF IT DOES NOT FEEL RIGHT, TRUST YOUR INSTINCTS!

Learned The Hard Way

Tim Gordon September 30, 2019

Licensed Contractors are the only way to go. Don't subject yourself to being ripped oof by an unlicensed Contractor regardless of the size of the job. Check CSLB>CA>GOV to verify a license.

Snowflake site
March 13, 2019

Recently I wrote a post on the Nextdoor.com about Narcan the overdose drug. The post merely asked how many times should you revive an overdosed habitual drug user. I never used a curse word and merely asked the question, “How many times should you revive a habitual drug user? Nobody answered the question and was trolled by every Persistent Debate Trollers on that site, and there’s plenty there. After 2 days Nextdoor.com removed the post and me from the site. I’m thinking if you can’t ask provocative questions on sites like this on matters that plague Pasco County; what good are they?

Ed lewis

Hudson. Fl

3058965930

CherieMoore May 09, 2019

We are in Chesapeake, VA and I was also bumped for asking questions, no vile behavior from me. My husband and adult son are not allowed to join and they've NEVER used it so there are certainly no violations from them. WHAT power to discriminate!!!!!

Snowflake city
March 11, 2019
Site is loaded with Snowflakes.....ever time a controversial post comes up they delete it…..They hate free speech on this app….Don’t waste your time….Snowflake city.

Not Good
March 4, 2019

This is written from the perspective of a Lead at ND - a former Lead. I was asked to be a Lead for ND last December 12th and I accepted. I'd been on the job for two and a half-months when I was unduluy attacked and cyber-bulied for having mentioned in a comment on a post I didn't create that Agenda 21 was responsible for bike installations suddenly appearing in San Francisco in many different neighborhoods, unasked for and unannounced. Commenters outside my neighborhood attacked me for "conspiracy theory," for being a "racist," for being stupid and ruining NextDoor.com for my single comment. Eight people from different neighborhoods joined in on repeated attacks.

My role as Lead allowed me to delete those comments that went against community guidelines but NextDoor would not allow me to report the individuals responsible for going against the community guidellines because these members were outside my neighborhood, thus giiving ND members outside my neighborhood the license to "bomb" me over and over again, trying to incite conflict, create public shaming and harassment -- with no protecttion offered by ND on this.

In fact, in order to obtain assistance from a specialist at ND, you have to email a specialist who takes up to 48 hours to respond. Based on my experience, the advice these specialists offer amounts to nil. One specialist named Chester actually wrote that all you can do as a Lead is to remind people of the guidelines, but "they usually resent you for reminding them." That's it? No help? Right -- no help!

I deleted my account yesterday when I discovered ND uses Leads as slaves to assist them with the management of the platform, offering, of course, no pay, but no protection as well. Roman slaves had no protection. Early Colonial Period slaves also had no protection. Nothing has changed in the age of technology concerning NextDoor.com.

As for being a regular member and commenter, unless you want to chat mindlessly about your love of dogs and cats, brag about your endless volunteerism for the community, or want to behave like a common thug and attack and bully for your own pleasure, there's very little for the normal human being at NextDoor.com. It should shut itself down, but it's too stupid to know this.

I gave names of the cyber-bullies to ND specialists. No one at ND acknowledged the names nor any intention of doing anything about the members who are deliberately non-compliant with ND's community guidelines.

NextDoor. com is only for a nest of vipers.

CherieMoore May 09, 2019

Thank You for writing that! YES, I totally agree "NextDoor.com is only for a nest of vipers." They have the power to close you down if you open topics to discuss and expand your brain cells, other than discussing how perfect they think they are. My husband and adult son wanted and tried many times to join ND and were rejected for NO reason as they've both NEVER used ND before, EVER. When someone has that kind of power to pick and choose who can and can not use the site, it's time to shut it down.

Member September 22, 2019

Charles, I would like to talk to you more,is that possible, more in private?

Tim Gordon September 30, 2019

Nice work exposing the site for what they are.

Nextdoor asks for access to my contacts? Why?
January 1, 2019
I was all for trying this out, but during registration it wanted access to all my contacts? Why? All I can think of is for selling or spamming me or my friends. Not going forward with it.

TerriSaenz Hunt February 11, 2019

I was wondering about that as well. I stopped going forward with this because of that.

They appear to give all personal information to spammers
December 11, 2018
Signed up for the 'safe and trustworthy' site. It is anything but that actually now I get a lot of cold callers, spam emails and even occasional door knockers declaring they are 'affiliates' of the site, and attempt to constantly sell and market products and services. All of the services and products they attempt to sell I never asked for and don't want. What I'm most concerned about is my personal information including name, address, phone number and email are now known to countless spammers and marketers. The site promotes itself as a neighbourhood local site - it is not. I assume it is free to sign up because you are actually selling all your personal details to cold callers and marketers. I have had to change my email. Changing my phone number is soon going to be necessary. The thing is I can't change my address. This site has doomed me to a deep habit hole of endless spamming and marketing. I feel less safe because of if, and absolutely feel violated.

Antagonistic
October 13, 2018
After several months of antagonistic posts about our (wife and I) desire to drive to the far-right of ugly speed humps, they finally stepped over the line and posted images and our address, suggesting retaliation. We called the cops, got a law firm involved, and conceal carry more often. Eventually, keyboard warriors get brave and make horrible mistakes leaving them at the mercy of someone like me. Horrible site.

Joseph Lee June 19, 2020

Wow, I shouldn't be surprised but I am. I've seen a couple of Nextdoor leads make very inappropriate posts about me and my differing opinion (and why people don't like me, if you can imagine). But it never occurred to me they might inadvertently post my address.

Name discrimination.
October 4, 2018

I printed a quick post about a ballot issue correcting a false statement made by the supporter of the ballot issue. I was notified the next day that I had been suspended because I was using a false name. Although my name is unusual and very unique, it is my legal name that is printed on my birth certificate. Next-door.com claimed that neighbors had reported me as a fictitious person using a fictional name. I challenged them to research my name and address as the legal homeowner of my property. I also offered them to merely "google" my name to see my professional background and to see that I am a published author with the same name. They responded back with a demand of a copy of a government issued identification. I don't have time to deal with this forum and the people that run it.

Governor C. Joy

Unfair Treatment from nextdoor
July 26, 2018
I find that, depending on nextdoor censors idea of what's fair (I'm not even certain that they read what they decide to delete), you could have your text removed and your association with nextdoor shut down. I had someone post a response to me and she stated that she had posted some pictures of the sunset, and simply remarked how beautiful it was, and for that, someone turned in a complaint, and her post was deleted. I have been "shunned" by nextdoor since about May of this year. They refuse to reinstate me. I believe that I am being discriminated against for my beliefs.

Set yourself up to be robbed and begged for money.
May 23, 2018
After joining nextdoor.com I suddenly started having people snooping around my property. If you share any info about your activities you will be leaving yourself open to be robbed. You will also have to listen to people who live in areas that may be close within miles but light years away in class. I've also found that many people connected to running the site have criminal backgrounds. Many were upset when I was against their boyfriends being in the neighborhood on work release programs. I was deemed intolerant for not wanting men in jail uniforms wandering the roadsides outside of my neighborhood. If you want to set yourself up for dealing with criminals, join nextdoor.com

Avoid Nextdoor!
March 16, 2018

Truly awful. Advertisements, bullying, political soapboxing, incessant complaining and gossiping, and the unfair "leads" who play favorites when randomly deciding which comments to censor and which to allow. Our family tried Nextdoor for 3 months and couldn't stand it any longer. Many friends and neighbors have quit Nextdoor for the same reasons. If you value fair and open communication, as well as privacy in regards to your personal information, don't waste your time - you will regret it!

Cheri James, Virginia Village, Denver, CO

Just plain awful!
March 2, 2018

Terrible site. Nothing but political zealots, whiners, bullies, and tattletales. Not to mention the "leads" who pick and choose what posts to block and which allow to be seen. A couple close neighbors and myself in Virginia Village, Denver, CO tried NextDoor for a few weeks and couldn't stand it any longer. Don't waste your time; you will regret it!

Jeff and Cheri James

Censorship: Nextdoor allows local school districts control over content
February 26, 2018

Our neighborhood school is the Cherry Creek school district of Colorado. This district has been in the news repeatedly over the past year or so for all kinds of scandals, teacher arrests, sex assaults, cover ups etc. It seems that if anybody tries to have a conversation about what's going on in the schools, the posts get shut down. Censored. I've even seen people I recognized as school administrators jump into conversations, admonishing people to be quiet, and the next thing you know, the thread will disappear.

The posts I've seen deleted weren't rude or offensive, and didn't name names or call names - just neighbors expressing concerns about the schools. There was no reason these posts should be deleted and it appears to me that Nextdoor is allowing local school districts to gain control over content (and, who knows, perhaps other corporate interests are allowed access for censoring comments they don't like).

Overall, I'd have to give it a 2 or 3 because there is good stuff also, people sharing info about break ins, coyote attacks, and other useful information. But the censorship thing is really horrible - people should be allowed to talk.

ElizabethLeap July 26, 2018

I have to concur with you. I have been exiled for merely agreeing with someone who posted a very non-threatening, well researched opinion that was immediately removed due to a complaint. Further my response to this unfairness was also deleted. I was removed from "nextdoor" and when I attempted to be reinstated, after trying to explain what had happened, I was deleted forever. I requested reinstatement on June 22, 2018 and am still unable to access the site. I did, unfortunately, let the individual who grants forgiveness know of my political leanings -- something that I believe sealed the deal.