NextDoor.com Reviews

NextDoor.com
( 93 reviews )
Website: NextDoor.com
93 ‘NextDoor.com ’ Reviews
  • Sort Reviews By:

Invades privacy. I did not finish signing up but it set up an acct anyway!
January 9, 2020

I tried to sign my parents up for this, but it wanted to have my list of email contacts. That's ridiculous so I threw away the application. Now a year later they send me an email as if my parents, who don't even live there anymore, have an account!

I HOPE YOU ARE READING THIS BEFORE YOU START THE SIGN-UP PROCESS. DON'T DO IT.

Huge disappointment
January 3, 2020

So many complaints not sure where to begin. First, this site is not monitored by anyone. It was originally meant as a neighborhood site to welcome new neighbors, give recommendations on restaurants, businesses, etc. Now it is nothing more than a battle zone where everyone is busy putting down others opinions and battling it out publicly.

Secondly, certain topics such as politics, marijuana or any other controversial subjects should be banned. There are always conflicts when those topics are discussed that create a lot of hostility.

When Nextdoor decides to kick a member off the site, they should give a warning rather than just kick someone off with no notice or even an email after the fact explaining why or for how long. The whole site, in my opinion, is a huge joke filled with nothing but childish adults who feel the need to be right or better than the next guy.

Ring neighborhood alert
January 3, 2020

There are way to many "neighbors" that seem to use this venue to insult, humiliate, and embarrass anyone for posting something they deem a waste of time, stupid, etc. I posted once and never again.These neighbors are not in the least bit interested in alerting anyone except to let the neighbourhood know what tasteless bores they are.I thought this app was going to really help fight crime, suspicious activity, lost pets etc. But these bores can't handle that at all. No it must be their way so they insult and intimidate everyone. Of course there is no way to block them or report their nasty comments.

Elizabeth M January 04, 2020

Yes unfortunately.

Ilene January 03, 2020

You can report their nasty comments and hell will freeze before the site does anything unless they are a repeat offender. The site has become a complete joke filled with hostile people who just want to belittle others

Beware of these information thieves
December 29, 2019
They will refuse to delete your personal information when requested. This country desperately needs federal internet privacy and data protection laws.

Cary O January 09, 2020

Even if you realize they want to steal all your contacts and you abort instead of completing the application, it's too late!

I'm a lead
December 29, 2019

Actually the leads are crapped on quite a bit. Nextdoor does not take action in quite a few instances that would make logic sense. They've had a bug out for over 3 weeks now and its not fixed. There are some bad leads. Getting Nextdoor to fix the problem and perm ban those who abuse volunteer leads is a problem. The rules haven't been modified for the new "interest" groups, that they have been promising for ?2 years? at least, I think. Businesses are allowed to do anything they want because ND wants the money. There are ways to fix the issues, but Nextdoor doesn't want to do anything about it.

Bottom line: when leadership is bad then you get the leads problems discussed about here. You'll see good leads back off and not bother. Then it turns into the lost dog/cat, needing recommendations vs. reading what is already out there but you're too lazy to look for it or ask how to look for it forums that people don't involve themselves in.

Vic N January 04, 2020

I did, quite a bit. Then after the lack of support from Nextdoor, the back biting from neighbors, they now get more petty fights breaking out, more lost dog/cat that many don't look at. I've been told the business postings and the lost dog/cat are big ones for chasing people away. People refuse to look and see if there is a recommendation before they ask for one. The feed is then useless for many. Sort of feeds on where people don't want to bother unless they ask for something and then go. Sad.

Vic N January 04, 2020

I did a ton for them, and not only got no common sense/logic help (new Support people haven't followed guidelines and I finally said something about how bad it was they didn't know the rules) but quit bothering doing a lot of checking. Now the forum is not what it used to be. Their own fault. Don't listen, because all they care about is the data mining from the millions of dollars they got.

Ilene January 03, 2020

At least you acts as a lead. The lead in my community is absentee and has no interest in doing a thing.

Biased Censorship
December 28, 2019
Mostly a bunch of people who probably have gotten blocked from Twitter or Facebook. They complain about much and bash others or post snide belittling answers but then report anyone who defends themselves. There are too many social platforms that censor people with differing views. The last thing we need is another one.

Nextdoor Follows Facebook's Censorship Policy
October 18, 2019

New to Nextdoor, found out they are a progressive site that caters to progressive theology of Politically Correct BS..

There is room for competition for any Fair Neighborhood site that will not Discriminate and Censor...

Nextdoor is just another liberal mouthpiece

Diane M December 17, 2019

I'm a member of a NextDoor in Florida. You are absolutely correct. They are Leftists.... Run by Leftists...and we Conservatives are treated the same way the Left ALWAYS treats us. They are allowed to say whatever they want, no matter how offensive, and we get locked out of our accounts.This is my second time being locked out...this time for a MONTH. When I go back I am disabling my account. We already have Jack and Zuckerberg....we dont need this. If the site didnt cater, so blatantly, to Leftists it would've been an excellent site. Unfortunately, like all things Leftists touch, it's a hostile environment.

Lead invading people's privacy.
October 3, 2019
I have always like the NextDoor group but In NextDoor Seneca , from Buffalo New York The lead, Ken Stuczynski is telling new members he has to go to their house to prove their address. In the past you always had invite postcards sent out or facebook or email invites. I find this request quite odd and dangerous to have strangers come to your house to verify your address. I'm already a member so it doesn't effect me. But I am worried about others. Especially the elderly. He says if people are that paranoid it says more about them than him.

Richard November 23, 2019

Easy to spoof a fake name and address on Nextdoor. Consequently, as on any social media site, you should post as if assorted 'bad people' who aren't even your neighbors could be watching. Don't discuss vacation plans, etc. Kudos to your lead for making sure your 'neighbors' are actually your neighbors.

Mike M October 31, 2019

It is for utopians afraid to discuss anything controversial, even when negative comments have merit.

They will jerk your post and their is no recourse. They say you can take a complaint up the "chain of command" but it does not work that way. It is un-American. Posts must be warm and fuzzy otherwise forget it.

NEXTDOOR.com Promotes illegal Contractors
September 30, 2019
I am a California State Contractor. Licensed, Bonded, and insured. I have been banned by NextDoor.com for exposing the many individuals people recommend to their neighbors as not having a Contractors License. Not just a few but 95% of the dozens of people I was exposed to on their site. Be extremely careful who you expose yourself and your family to when hiring unlicensed people to perform work on your house. Unlicensed people use your own HomeOwners Insurance to cover themselves and their employees because they are not self insured. they can't be because they aren't legitimate companies. If anyone is hurt including your family members YOU are held responsible.

Charles S October 01, 2019

Thanks for this review. It is informative, helping the consumer understand the need and benefits of hiring someone with a contractor's license. especially at Nextdoor.com.

Selective censorship run amuck
September 12, 2019
Three of four of our neighborhood "Leads" have direct ties to the HOA (one as manager and two hold committee positions). I posted a photograph of a sidewalk, pointing out the poor edging job done by an unnamed landscape maintenance company. Sidewalk could have been in Anytown USA as there were no "landmarks", houses/buildings, street numbers, etc. appearing in the photo and I asked for opinions about the shoddy job. (I was extra careful to keep the sidewalk from being identified.) My post was removed within 20 minutes. I learned from the "Lead" with no ties to the HOA, my post was reported and removed by just one "Lead" and there was "no vote" to remove. Same thing has happened to others in the neighborhood. So Nextdoor is useless as a tool for allowing neighbors to freely communicate "general topics of local interest" as stated on their website. So, I tried to change my address to a different neighborhood where I own a rental home. That was 3 weeks ago and I still cannot access my Nextdoor account. Three contacts to Nextdoor via their "Help" site and one phone call later and still nothing.

Charles S October 01, 2019

Nextdoor does not really vet its Leads. So, a Lead can be really irresponsible or completely overweening in his or her "will to power." It's also the participants and neighbors who can be the same. A majority can sink a Lead with negative feedback, even if the Lead is doing everything right. Or a majority of participants can let a corrupt Lead continue leading so long as the majority doesn't care.

Nextdoor is not a "Private Social Network"
July 26, 2019

Nextdoor should NOT be described as a "Private Social Network" as this is not only misleading, but also factually incorrect.

Nextdoor automatically connects you with everyone in your neighborhood and surrounding neighborhoods (by default) which is a massive invasion of your privacy. Your profile (image, name, street address), posts, interests and reviews are essentially exposed to thousands of people when you use the platform. I think this and this is why so few people post and comment.

True social networks like Facebook or LinkedIn have a mutual connection model that allows you to create your own network, and control who sees your information and content.

LOL nextdoor LOL
June 30, 2019
nextdoor you mean hate your neighbor club they don't care about anything and if you contact you are wasting your time cause they don't ever run or monitor it its your neighbor that has been there the longest called the lead and if they want can and will do what ever to please them. if someone complains about your ad its up to them what happens. nextdoor has nothing to do with it. some can do no wrong others have to suffer.this site is governed by idiots. so if you have a problem you either kiss there A hole or throw your figure up and move on. I give the figure and do on to them before they do on to you remember when your figure brakes though the toilet paper thats nextdoor

Marcy A November 08, 2019

Sounds about right...thanks for your sense of humor

Nextdoor supports censorship and blocking posts
June 20, 2019
Nextdoor is the worst. Their censorship belongs in China, not the US. They cancelled my membership because I posted about our corrupt police department, even though their mission statement includes making neighborhoods safe. They removed my post about the corruption also. Their mission statement says they exist to make neighborhoods safer, but they hide the truth. Their policy requires that they notify people of removed posts, but I received nothing. They violate their own policies. Stay away from this biased site.

Joseph L June 19, 2020

I feel your pain too, James. I've been tossed out of so many discussions for the most insignificant comments. I wonder whether you would be tossed out for that same post about the police now that there has been so much publicity about brutality by a few bad cops.

Charles S October 01, 2019

Nextdoor does not really vet its Leads. So, a Lead can be really irresponsible or completely overweening in his or her "will to power." It's also the participants and neighbors who can be the same. A majority can sink a Lead with negative feedback, even if the Lead is doing everything right. Or a majority of participants can let a corrupt Lead continue leading so long as the majority doesn't care.

Laura F September 12, 2019

I feel your pain, James. Same thing has happened to me -- selective censorship by "Leads", who obviously are following their own agenda! No "help" from Nextdoor!

James G June 30, 2019

Thank you very much for your comments. I agree with you 100%. Nextdoor censorship is extremely subjective and inconsistent. My neighbor claimed I was ranting in violation of Nextdoor's guidelines. Define the difference between rants and passing along valuable information. I see others doing the same thing on Nextdoor but they are not taken down. Like you said, I will begin to apply the same guidelines to them now about posts I do not like and see how they like it!

Larry c June 30, 2019

nextdoor corruption does not treat all the same they pick and choose they kick me off for running an ad they say it was because someone reported me. then they let me back and many other are running ads and no problem a lead on nextdoor tells me report them i did nothing happened.then I find out the leads are the only ones kicking people off and the leads are one of your neighbors so if you live in an H.O.A your screwed. So my take is hate your neighbor do on to him or her before they do thats what nextdoor has to offer.

Wonder where did they get my E-mail address since I didn't give permission?
June 4, 2019
Last Saturday, I received a envelope and look at it strange, wonder what it's for? It's about the website called Nextdoor.com. Yesterday, I check my e-mail messages ( offer, friends, etc.) and saw a message from Nextdoor.com. I was suspicious and wonder where did they get my e-mail message? Someone should investigate this. P.S. I agree with the person who was right about discrimination. This site need to be shut down.

Jeanie Y November 08, 2019

I stopped signing up when they wanted my contact list from yahoo.!!!

Jeanie Y November 08, 2019

I received the invite in the mail. When I tried to sign up, it wanted access to my yahoo contacts, I did not continue. Why did they need my contact list?

Beth T October 21, 2019

This is exactly why I was researching this company and reading reviews. I got an invite in my mailbox. When I tried to sign up, it asked for access to my yahoo contacts before it would complete the process. I am always suspicious of a company that insists on my personal contact list.

HONEST people giving reviews of nextdoor.com
May 9, 2019
We were thinking "we" were the ONLY ones who found fault with nextdoor.com and thanks to the reviews listed above, we feel justified. We are in Chesapeake VA and "I" was bumped from using ND because I disagreed with a popular person. For the past two yrs. have NOT been allowed to ever use ND again. I did NOT violate any rules, use bad language, threaten anyone, ridicule anyone nor disrespect anyone, yet was bumped. Recently husband and adult son tried to get on ND for reasons to sell some of their items and they've been refused to join and neither one has ever used ND. This is open discrimination at it's worst!!!!!

Charles S October 01, 2019

Nextdoor does not really vet its Leads. So, a Lead can be really irresponsible or completely overweening in his or her "will to power." It's also the participants and neighbors who can be the same. A majority can sink a Lead with negative feedback, even if the Lead is doing everything right. Or a majority of participants can let a corrupt Lead continue leading so long as the majority doesn't care.

data
April 4, 2019
Why do you have to let them have acess to all your email data ? Something doesnt sound right to me

James G June 30, 2019

What would you expect from a company based in San Francisco? Conservative viewpoints? They probably have ANTIFA members working for them! Hahaha

Joseph C May 06, 2019

"Next Door" will only allow leftist leanings within the "News" "Political" categories. If you attempt to leave factual information for others to see -and it conflicts with their Socialist Ideologies - they will eliminate it - and throw you off for writing it! BEWARE OF BIG BROTHER WHO IS A LIBERAL WOLF IN SHEEP CLOTHING!

Thomas S April 19, 2019

Bingo! As soon as they asked for gmail conacts, it goes in the scam bin!

Nextdoor.com bunch of cry babies
March 28, 2019

This web site if for a bunch of no life crybabies with nothing better to do than cry about drivers, the local news, and the long line at the golf course. They should rename the site 1-800-CRY-BABY. Seriously, get a life.....bunch of neighbors you would never hang out with in the real world......they live for the anonymity of hiding behind their computers and would never complain about something to someones face because their a bunch of cowards.

Scam To Steal Your Private Data- Snowflake City
March 23, 2019
First, being out of Marxist stronghold S.F, that raised a red flag. And I read it's all about the good of the communities they serve. Sorry, they are here for one reason -to make a buck, and their users are the bank. Their IPO raised $285 mil, and are valued at $1.5 Bil. Sound familiar? Yea, Fakebook and all the money it made by stealing, sharing, and selling users private information. This is another tool to fool you out of your privacy and money. My advise - run away as fast as you can. It's a scam full of snowflakes and narcissists.

POSSIBLY a great resource
March 17, 2019

Yes, this site scoops up free data, but we knew that. It can still be a great community resource.

How are the roads? Who knows a reliable plumber? Anyone know this dog? Why are the cops here? Private message me if you’re interested in joining our Tuesday play group.

All these are typical posts. Guidelines can be interpreted stringently, meaning conversations may stay shallow, but that’s not a given.

It all depend on the Leads (moderators). Sometimes they can be quite subjective, and they don’t always verify names or addresses, which are SUPPOSED to be supplied honestly. (If you click on map view, bogus addresses can sometimes be spotted easily because they’re in the middle of the street).

All in all, it’s easier these days than a listserv,

>BEWARE WOMEN LIVING ALONE<
March 16, 2019

This couple advertised themselves as "handimen". I was interested because of the woman involved and I am a widow living all alone. (Most "handimen" are male). The female was very pushy, which should have warned me. It turned out they were only looking for a fast buck. The man had no teeth, which was another warning. Well I learned my lesson, NEVER INVITE PERFECT STRANGERS INTO YOUR HOME! IF IT DOES NOT FEEL RIGHT, TRUST YOUR INSTINCTS!

Learned The Hard Way

Tim G September 30, 2019

Licensed Contractors are the only way to go. Don't subject yourself to being ripped oof by an unlicensed Contractor regardless of the size of the job. Check CSLB>CA>GOV to verify a license.