NextDoor.com Reviews

NextDoor.com
Based on 56  Reviews



Review It

About NextDoor.com

NextDoor.com is a new, private social network designed just for you and the other members of your neighborhood and your community to interact online in order to make your neighborhood better and safer.

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the goal of this website is to give neighbors and communities a place to interact with each other to get to know each other better, and in the process, create a better and safer community.

To sign up as a member of NextDoor.com, you must submit your residential address as well as go through a series of multiple verifications to ensure that you are actually a member of the neighborhood, and not an outsider. 

Members must always use their real names, and not chosen internet handles, and they have completely control over how much information is shared and where it is shared. They also promise that their member information will never be available on public search engines like Google, and that no member information will ever be shared with third party advertisers. 

Once you are a member, NextDoor.com encourages you to use their site as a place to share information, like to spread the word about break-ins, find trustworthy babysitters or pet sitters, ask for help in locating lost pets, or simply to find out peoples’ names and organize neighborhood social functions.

Cost/Price Plans

This website is very adamant that they are completely free for members to sign up and use to interact with their neighbors and other members of their community. In order to ensure the most memberships and interaction, this website decided not to include membership costs. 

Refund Policy

Since no fees are paid at any time to NextDoor.com, there is no Refund Policy being offered by this website. Instead, if customers are ever invited by an ad or a link to go outside of this website and make a purchase, they will have to adhere to any Refund Policies offered by the website where they are actually making their purchase. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who have questions, concerns, or complaints they would like to direct to their Customer Service team can contact them by submitting them directly to their website through their Terms & Conditions page, which offers a Contact Us link at the bottom of the page.

Reputation

Unfortunately there are some negative complaints about this website online. However, none of these complaints appear to be about the security of this website or the lack of privacy measures, which is often what most people are concerned about when sharing details of their home life.

Most of the complaints by far were regarding the content of the information discussed on their neighborhood’s page, with most people saying that this is just a place for judgmental neighbors to sit around and gossip about the people in the neighborhood they don’t know or don’t like. Others complained that there were too many neighbors using this site as a way to sell or promote things for sale.

However, it does genuinely seem as though these experiences are not in the majority, and that your experience will depend greatly on the neighborhood you live in, and the “lead” contact in your neighborhood, as the lead is the person who establishes your neighborhood page and sends out the initial invitations. 

In general it seems as though there is a lot of good that can be taken away from the proper and appropriate use of this site, and the more neighbors who get involved, the more likely it is that the site will be used for what it is intended for.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

Certainly the internet is home to a wide variety of different social networks, and many neighborhoods already offer pages on popular social media sites like Facebook, or they may offer a Twitter handle for sharing of informational as well. 

If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your NextDoor.com reviews below.

Related Articles

56 ‘NextDoor.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Wonder where did they get my E-mail address since I didn't give permission?



June4, 2019

Last Saturday, I received a envelope and look at it strange, wonder what it's for? It's about the website called Nextdoor.com. Yesterday, I check my e-mail messages ( offer, friends, etc.) and saw a message from Nextdoor.com. I was suspicious and wonder where did they get my e-mail message? Someone should investigate this. P.S. I agree with the person who was right about discrimination. This site need to be shut down.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
October 21, 2019

This is exactly why I was researching this company and reading reviews. I got an invite in my mailbox. When I tried to sign up, it asked for access to my yahoo contacts before it would complete the process. I am always suspicious of a company that insists on my personal contact list.

November 08, 2019

I received the invite in the mail. When I tried to sign up, it wanted access to my yahoo contacts, I did not continue. Why did they need my contact list?

November 08, 2019

I stopped signing up when they wanted my contact list from yahoo.!!!

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

HONEST people giving reviews of nextdoor.com



May9, 2019

We were thinking "we" were the ONLY ones who found fault with nextdoor.com and thanks to the reviews listed above, we feel justified. We are in Chesapeake VA and "I" was bumped from using ND because I disagreed with a popular person. For the past two yrs. have NOT been allowed to ever use ND again. I did NOT violate any rules, use bad language, threaten anyone, ridicule anyone nor disrespect anyone, yet was bumped. Recently husband and adult son tried to get on ND for reasons to sell some of their items and they've been refused to join and neither one has ever used ND. This is open discrimination at it's worst!!!!!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
October 01, 2019

Nextdoor does not really vet its Leads. So, a Lead can be really irresponsible or completely overweening in his or her "will to power." It's also the participants and neighbors who can be the same. A majority can sink a Lead with negative feedback, even if the Lead is doing everything right. Or a majority of participants can let a corrupt Lead continue leading so long as the majority doesn't care.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

data



April4, 2019

Why do you have to let them have acess to all your email data ? Something doesnt sound right to me

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
April 19, 2019

Bingo! As soon as they asked for gmail conacts, it goes in the scam bin!

May 06, 2019

"Next Door" will only allow leftist leanings within the "News" "Political" categories. If you attempt to leave factual information for others to see -and it conflicts with their Socialist Ideologies - they will eliminate it - and throw you off for writing it! BEWARE OF BIG BROTHER WHO IS A LIBERAL WOLF IN SHEEP CLOTHING!

June 30, 2019

What would you expect from a company based in San Francisco? Conservative viewpoints? They probably have ANTIFA members working for them! Hahaha

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Nextdoor.com bunch of cry babies



March28, 2019

This web site if for a bunch of no life crybabies with nothing better to do than cry about drivers, the local news, and the long line at the golf course. They should rename the site 1-800-CRY-BABY. Seriously, get a life.....bunch of neighbors you would never hang out with in the real world......they live for the anonymity of hiding behind their computers and would never complain about something to someones face because their a bunch of cowards.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Scam To Steal Your Private Data- Snowflake City



March23, 2019

First, being out of Marxist stronghold S.F, that raised a red flag. And I read it's all about the good of the communities they serve. Sorry, they are here for one reason -to make a buck, and their users are the bank. Their IPO raised $285 mil, and are valued at $1.5 Bil. Sound familiar? Yea, Fakebook and all the money it made by stealing, sharing, and selling users private information. This is another tool to fool you out of your privacy and money. My advise - run away as fast as you can. It's a scam full of snowflakes and narcissists.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

POSSIBLY a great resource



March17, 2019

Yes, this site scoops up free data, but we knew that. It can still be a great community resource.

How are the roads? Who knows a reliable plumber? Anyone know this dog? Why are the cops here? Private message me if you’re interested in joining our Tuesday play group.

All these are typical posts. Guidelines can be interpreted stringently, meaning conversations may stay shallow, but that’s not a given.

It all depend on the Leads (moderators). Sometimes they can be quite subjective, and they don’t always verify names or addresses, which are SUPPOSED to be supplied honestly. (If you click on map view, bogus addresses can sometimes be spotted easily because they’re in the middle of the street).

All in all, it’s easier these days than a listserv,

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
Comment on this review
Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

>BEWARE WOMEN LIVING ALONE<



March16, 2019

This couple advertised themselves as "handimen". I was interested because of the woman involved and I am a widow living all alone. (Most "handimen" are male). The female was very pushy, which should have warned me. It turned out they were only looking for a fast buck. The man had no teeth, which was another warning. Well I learned my lesson, NEVER INVITE PERFECT STRANGERS INTO YOUR HOME! IF IT DOES NOT FEEL RIGHT, TRUST YOUR INSTINCTS!

Learned The Hard Way

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
September 30, 2019

Licensed Contractors are the only way to go. Don't subject yourself to being ripped oof by an unlicensed Contractor regardless of the size of the job. Check CSLB>CA>GOV to verify a license.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Snowflake site



March13, 2019

Recently I wrote a post on the Nextdoor.com about Narcan the overdose drug. The post merely asked how many times should you revive an overdosed habitual drug user. I never used a curse word and merely asked the question, “How many times should you revive a habitual drug user? Nobody answered the question and was trolled by every Persistent Debate Trollers on that site, and there’s plenty there. After 2 days Nextdoor.com removed the post and me from the site. I’m thinking if you can’t ask provocative questions on sites like this on matters that plague Pasco County; what good are they?
Ed lewis
Hudson. Fl
3058965930

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 4 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
May 09, 2019

We are in Chesapeake, VA and I was also bumped for asking questions, no vile behavior from me. My husband and adult son are not allowed to join and they've NEVER used it so there are certainly no violations from them. WHAT power to discriminate!!!!!

Your Comment

Leave a Review