NextDoor.com Reviews

NextDoor.com
( 101 reviews )
Website: NextDoor.com

NextDoor.com is a private social network designed just for you and the other members of your neighborhood and your community to interact online in order to make your neighborhood better and safer.

How Does NextDoor.com Work?

According to their website, the goal of this website is to give neighbors and communities a place to interact with each other to get to know each other better, and in the process, create a better and safer community.

To sign up as a member of NextDoor.com, you must submit your residential address as well as go through a series of multiple verifications to ensure that you are actually a member of the neighborhood, and not an outsider. 

Members must always use their real names, and not chosen internet handles, and they have completely control over how much information is shared and where it is shared. They also promise that their member information will never be available on public search engines like Google, and that no member information will ever be shared with third party advertisers.  

 

Once you are a member, NextDoor.com encourages you to use their site as a place to share information, like to spread the word about break-ins, find trustworthy babysitters or pet sitters, ask for help in locating lost pets, or simply to find out peoples’ names and organize neighborhood social functions.

Cost/Price Plans

This website is very adamant that they are completely free for members to sign up and use to interact with their neighbors and other members of their community. In order to ensure the most memberships and interaction, this website decided not to include membership costs. 

Refund Policy

Since no fees are paid at any time to NextDoor.com, there is no Refund Policy being offered by this website. Instead, if customers are ever invited by an ad or a link to go outside of this website and make a purchase, they will have to adhere to any Refund Policies offered by the website where they are actually making their purchase. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who have questions, concerns, or complaints they would like to direct to their Customer Service team can contact them by submitting them directly to their website through their Terms & Conditions page, which offers a Contact Us link at the bottom of the page.

Reputation

Unfortunately there are some negative complaints about this website online. However, none of these complaints appear to be about the security of this website or the lack of privacy measures, which is often what most people are concerned about when sharing details of their home life.

Most of the complaints by far were regarding the content of the information discussed on their neighborhood’s page, with most people saying that this is just a place for judgmental neighbors to sit around and gossip about the people in the neighborhood they don’t know or don’t like. Others complained that there were too many neighbors using this site as a way to sell or promote things for sale.

However, it does genuinely seem as though these experiences are not in the majority, and that your experience will depend greatly on the neighborhood you live in, and the “lead” contact in your neighborhood, as the lead is the person who establishes your neighborhood page and sends out the initial invitations. 

In general it seems as though there is a lot of good that can be taken away from the proper and appropriate use of this site, and the more neighbors who get involved, the more likely it is that the site will be used for what it is intended for.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

Certainly the internet is home to a wide variety of different social networks, and many neighborhoods already offer pages on popular social media sites like Facebook, or they may offer a Twitter handle for sharing of informational as well. 

If you have any experience with NextDoor.com or their products, please leave your reviews below.

NextDoor.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Censorship on steroids for sure!
October 12, 2021
It is ridiculous that they can suspend your account for 30 days and not even tell you why. I have not posted anything in the general section except questions for local contractors or local issues. I have posted and responded on political discussions, which is a private group. The censorship is ridiculous on Next Door!

CENSORSHIP
October 10, 2021
Censorship on Steroids! They will bully members by disabling accounts into compliance "speech". Needless to say I left that trash place.

Lack of control over harrassment by Leads
September 15, 2021

From the perspective of sharing information with neighbors, this is a useful app.

The problem with Nextdoor, is they have some corrupt and harassing Leads who they refuse to get into line.

I reported a Lead and he was told about it and retaliated against me. Now, that lead is on the board of my HOA. If anyone questions or criticized him, they are censored to the extreme. Even my posts complimenting other users on good they have done, are being deleted by this bullying and corrupt Lead. I wish Nextdoor had a more transparent and professional way to report corrupt behavior.

Stay away!
September 6, 2021
This San Francisco based company uses the U. S. Postal Service deceptively with mailings "signed" by nearby neighbors inviting participation to this platform. Next Door, Inc., harvests and markets personal data which is their primary mission. They advise prospective users to take "a moment" to read their 7000+ word terms. Another "moment" will be needed to read their 7500+ word "privacy" policy.

Nextdoor's contribution to society a net negative
August 31, 2021
Nextdoor.com bills itself as a neighborhood forum yet they continually are removing discussions and posts which contain information pertaining to public policy and how it affects neighborhoods, schools and local small businesses. In a divided America, it is important for neighbors to gain an understanding of each others's perspectives so that we might learn how to move forward as a people. The high level of censorship renders the service not only useless but also serves to increase the level of divisiveness. This makes nextdoor's contribution to society a net negative. I'm done with it.

Nextdoor Promotes Religious Bigotry.
August 29, 2021

I'm howling reading some of these reviews. Nextdoor may be a liberal group, but leftist? Never! If it were truly leftist, what happened to me never would have happened. One neighbor listed a problem, and another neighbor suggested that she get a candle dedicated to a particular Pagan deity (Santeria/Yoruba) and ask for help. Another neighbor piped in and started complaining that she should keep her religion to herself and that Nextdoor should not have religion or politics on it.

Now, this is a heavily Christian neighborhood, and neighbors are always blessing one another or calling on God or Jesus for something. I, also a member of a minority religion, albeit a different one, objected to her comment and offered support to the Santero. The good, fine upstanding Christian woman wrote a bunch of babbling about religious freedom and said that I should be banned from the site. I complained to Nextdoor about her bigoted comment, and I was banned for four days.

I just looked through my husband's account, and my account cannot be found, but the bigots are still there. I find religious bigotry disgusting. Nextdoor is hardly a leftie organization in my opinion. It's just fine for thumper Christians to spew their disdain against others who don't believe as they do.

No free speach here
August 7, 2021
They have deleted many posts that don’t agree with their narrative. So if you give out any information about the covid vaccine or your thoughts on whether it should be mandated. They just delete. We were having a decent conversation back and forth and they deleted any comments that were negative about covid vaccine mandates!! What happened to free speach

Hiding the truth
July 30, 2021

I tried to write a comment about the status of our reservoirs in California. I stated fact that 2 years ago our reservoirs were over capacity with enough water to last 5 years. Our reservoirs are now near empty. The California government is flushing our water into the ocean.

This comment was deleted within about an hour, without comment.

Next door nice idea but limits your free speech
July 20, 2021
Next door locks you out if they dont agree with your statement or question. They deem when others verbally attack your comment it had to be you. So much for fact checkers. Next door is now as dead a place as any other social media, let people bash america and thats ok, talk smack thats ok but stand up for free speech , oh no. Thats political. the hipocracy. Good day next door

CENSORSHIP!
July 17, 2021

Nextdoor has a laundry list of "guidelines" that might as well be directed to all conservatives. Even in a private group, you are prohibited from saying the 2020 was stolen or that the covid vax is not 100% safe or even that HCQ and Ivermectin can cure Covid. Not allowed... because you know, misinformation.

There are "Leads" that get reports and decide whether you need to go to ND jail or be banned permanently. There was a Trump group with over 1700 members that was deleted without warning or reason given. This is CCP censorship just like Facebook, Twitter, IG and YouTube. But I suppose if you are a liberal, you will like Nextdoor.

No Privacy
April 30, 2021
You don't have privacy with ND. They require you to use your full name and addtess and make that publicly available. Even if you protect address, they can find you and where you live on any other municipal public records site, using your full name. Every post you make ALWAYS has your full name. Totally not cool.

Too much reporting of others
March 26, 2021

I can be helpful.

1. Too many posts from all around the country- counted 16 just yesterday before I even got to our local newsfeed...... annoying

2. Too easy for people to report others - several are using this tool as their own personal vendetta when they could just easily mute

Dishonest Company
March 17, 2021
They sent me a physical letter pretending to be one of my neighbors, but it was post marked from out of state. i'm not an idiot. and the implication of this is that my neighborhood has been categorized, tracked, and sold by this social media company. I have never used the app and i don't even really know what it does but i don't really care, i know enough about their business model to give them one star.

BobMitchell April 27, 2021

I just signed up and they didn't ask for my house address so I am not sure how they might ever sell my address, unless they are going to bother drilling down from my zip/postal code to figure out which house I live in.

Communistic Platform with Extreme Censorship.
March 6, 2021
Communistic Platform with Extreme Censorship. Avoid!!! Unless you like to be controlled.

Janie Brown March 10, 2021

I also like being able to communicate with people in my country neighborhood but would prefer the site were non-political. Apparently they are pro gun-control which leads me to believe they may use information against it's users if the government asked. I like my God given rights and don't appreciate being manipulated by social media. I will be removing my account.

BobMitchell April 27, 2021

I think that you are complaining about the user groups in your neighbourhood, rather than the app developer. I do not believe that the app developer has anything to do with what your neighbours choose to post.

Too much bias censorship! No recourse.
March 2, 2021

Like many others have reported, this website is sadly supportive of leftist bias and censoring of conservatives. I have found it helpful in learning about little issues like Internet outages or services that neighbors have liked. But this is a hyper political world right now and this website does not equally apply its policies.

It’s “moderators” seem to be leftist activists bent on censorship of opposing points of view. I’ve even seen positive posts about neighbors supporting each other in the last winter storm devolve into accusations of the poster using racist conservative “dog whistles.” WTH!? If you point out that “speech you hate” is not “hate speech,”and you’re a conservative… You will be suspended and the leftists will be vindicated.

Clearly a more neutral site needs to be created that keeps the useful purpose and dumps the manipulative censorship.

BobMitchell April 27, 2021

As I understand it, the moderators are the members of your community that set up a virtual neighbourhood using this app. If I felt that my neighbourhood group was not inclusive and biased, I would be inclined to set up a neighbourhood group that is inclusive. If I might adapt an old saw: "Apps do not exclude people. People exclude people."

Nextdoor is misused to organize political protests. That should not be allowed.
February 14, 2021
I joined, but had to leave. The rules are supposed to forbid political activity, but the site was being used to organize a political protest against President Trump. I reported this, but they chose to allow it, so I left. What a joke this web site turned out to be. All they do is cause trouble.

CindyEdge March 02, 2021

Yep. Bias leftists.

BobMitchell April 27, 2021

I believe that you can set up bias rightist neighborhoods if you would feel more comfortable there.

Liberal, Tyrants of Censorship at San Francisco Based Company Nextdoor.com
February 4, 2021

This is a platform designed for liberals only. I was suspended for posting the actual insert info from Pfizer itself accusing me as spreading misinformation. This company is based in SAN FRANCISCO. Liberal capital of the country. It is absolutely disgusting the level they go to, to censor Americans who are trying to inform fellow citizens of any dangers. I will spread this far and wide without their platform and will likely reach far more people that are not sheep. Here is the BBB link to see for yourself that is an UNACCREDITED "business"

https://www.bbb.org/us/ca/san-francisco/profile/internet-service/nextdoorcom-inc-1116-447229

It shows as A

BBB Rating

CindyEdge March 02, 2021

I have experienced the same thing. They are leftists and they censor anyone who disagrees with them. They have “moderators” that kick people off and suspend accounts at will. With no recourse.

Lee April 13, 2021

FYI: To all users of the nextdoor community app. Beware, the app listens in on (surveils) your conversations/discussions from your phone and speaker without your permission. I've used ND to communicate and become friends with fellow conservatives in my community. Last night my wife and I met with 2 fellow ND members from our local Patriots group here in Florida. I use an alias but normal name on ND for several personal reasons and I don't use any other social medias. Last night I disclosed that for the first time to two of our ND friends while at dinner at a local restaurant. They understood and said that was probably a good idea.

When I got home, I went to check ND and my account was locked. ND said, I am not using my real name and need to supply a driver’s license to prove my name. #1. who are they to tell me what name I can or cannot call myself. They could only have known this from eves-dropping on our conversation at dinner through their app on my phone as I have NEVER told anyone. Spying is a huge violation of our privacy. People need to know this is happening and to put their phones in the microwave at home to block their signal before having delicate, personal or political conversations. Based out of the leftist quagmire cesspool city of San Francisco, this is par for the liberal left coast.

Whoa!! Is this now China? Has anyone heard of this before? Is that even legal? They will most certainly deny this, but they could not have found out by any other means, except spying through their app on my phone, listening to our conversation.. I tell everyone now to spread the word about this spying app and to delete it from their phone. You guys in the armpit of California I mean the U.S. can eat s

It Is My Opinion That NextDoor Is NOT Trustworthy As It Actively Supports Criminal Activities On NextDoor
January 18, 2021

It is my opinion that NextDoor is NOT trustworthy as it actively supports criminal activities on NextDoor, specifically unlicensed criminal contractors and unlicensed criminal businesses.

In March and April 2019, HuffPost and Wired reported that NextDoor had paid a firm to improve NextDoor's reputation.

"During the George Floyd protests, many members of the National Leads Forum - a community of Nextdoor moderators - criticized NextDoor member's support of the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement. Too many NextDoor users had their accounts suspended or their posts deleted for supporting BLM. On June 11, 2020 Nextdoor explicitly instructed its moderators to allow discussions on the Movement for Black Lives, including BLM." That instruction was and continues to be ignored by NextDoor moderators.

There is no customer service at NextDoor. There is no way to directly contact NextDoor. The hundreds of Reviews of NextDoor at BBB, which NextDoor is NOT a member of, are numerous and overwhelmingly and compellingly negative.

NextDoor is a for-profit corporation. NextDoor's revenues are solely based on ad views. I've come to the opinion that NextDoor promotes less good that it does the bad of scams, racism, unlicensed contractor criminals, sexism, hatred, unlicensed business criminals, bigotry, harassment, neighbor bashing, slander, gossip, bullying, name-calling, racial-profiling, nastiness, swearing; all the most extreme in truly bad behavior solely to acquire more ad views and their resulting profit to NextDoor.

I was also quite disturbed to later learn from the news that Nextdoor founder Nirav Tolia, when the good Lord passed out a conscience, a heart, a feeling for others, must have been out for a beer and missed out, plead down a very very un-neighborly charge of FELONY Hit-and-Run which resulted an injured woman to a sentence of 30 days in jail for Hit-And-Run. Several witnesses recorded his license plate and description, turned it over to police, who then showed up at Nextdoor founder Nirav Tolia's home where they arrested him. 1 John 3:4 ESV / Everyone who makes a practice of sinning also practices lawlessness; sin is lawlessness.

"Tolia has a lengthy history of lawsuits, including one for defrauding former business partners. In the court documents for a trademark suit, Tolia is even quoted calling himself "an angry driver."

In August 2020, NextDoor founder Nirav Tolia listed for sale his San Francisco home in the Pacific Heights neighborhood for $25 million. Tolia bought the home in 2011, for $7 million The Wall Street Journal reported.

NextDoor sent my family and I an invitation to join. We did. "Seems like a good idea, a social site in which the universe of participants is limited to your neighborhood and surrounding neighborhood. There's a potential for great benefit to post information relevant to your neighbors and to get such information, as well as local alerts and such."

Nextdoor is a privately-held company based in San Francisco with backing from prominent investors including Benchmark, Shasta Ventures, Greylock Partners, Kleiner Perkins, Riverwood Capital, Bond, Axel Springer, Comcast Ventures and others.

NextDoor has pros and cons. After a trial period of a year we've come to the opinion NextDoor's cons outweigh its pros. Unfortunately, my Nextdoor online neighborhood was hijacked by criminal activities. NextDoor is violating my state’s laws and my county’s laws and my city’s laws as it is, for profit, providing a platform for criminals to conduct their crimes. In my state as in all 50 states, conducting a contracting business without the required contractors license is a crime and a Deceptive Crime Practice and Fraud. In my state as in all 50 states, conducting a business without the required business license is a fine and a Deceptive Crime Practice and Fraud. In my county, as in most if not all counties in America, conducting a business without the required fictitious name certificate is a crime and a Deceptive Crime Practice and Fraud. In my city, as in most if not all cities in America, conducting a business without the required business license is a crime and a Deceptive Crime Practice and Fraud. In spite of numerous complaints to NextDoor, NextDoor continues to give these criminals a platform to conduct their criminal activities.

Misinformation by illegal criminal unlicensed contractors and unlicensed criminal businesses is routinely posted and re-posted and spammed that causes great harm and NextDoor continues to allow it. https://www.buzzfeednews.com/article/nicolenguyen/nextdoor-scams

NextDoor does not enforce its own rules and routinely itself violates its own rules. Even after being notified and being repeatedly notified of numerous and on-going public criminal activities on NextDoor, NextDoor continues to actively support criminal activities on NextDoor.

NextDoor is a for-profit corporation. NextDoor's revenues are solely based on ad views. In the year we used NextDoor, we've come to the opinion that NextDoor promotes less good that it does the bad of scams, racism, unlicensed contractor criminals, sexism, hatred, unlicensed business criminals, bigotry, harassment, neighbor bashing, slander, gossip, bullying, name-calling, racial-profiling, nastiness, swearing; all the most extreme in truly bad behavior solely to acquire more ad views and their resulting profit to NextDoor.

Although Proverbs 3:27 "Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, when it is in your power to act: The NextDoor leads aka moderators were and are clearly NOT supportive of military Veterans and Active Duty GIs.

After a trial period of a year we've come to the opinion that NextDoor is routinely actively involved in illegal racketeering and is illegally aiding and abetting criminal activities as it does nothing to ensure a legal, or safe environment like they falsely claim. NextDoor has repeatedly demonstrated it is only interested in its REVENUES no matter how obtained. Hence why they are a BILLION dollar company.

Proverbs 28:9 ESV / If one turns away his ear from hearing the law, even his prayer is an abomination. I wonder what NextDoor would be like if it actually enforced its own rules. That we will never know as long as "I'm from a corporation and I'm here to help," means help ONLY the corporation executives NOT you the corporation's customers or employees or shareholders or community or neighborhood.

Matthew 6:24-25 ESV / "No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.

Lydia July 17, 2021

Nextdoor is another arm of the Democratic party. This is in their guidelines:

Content promoting “All Lives Matter” is prohibited when it’s used to diminish racial equality, the Black Lives Matter movement, or Stop Asian Hate.

Content promoting “Blue Lives Matter” is prohibited when it’s used to diminish racial equality or the Black Lives Matter movement, but permitted when used to honor, celebrate, or thank the police for work done in a community.

Content promoting “White Lives Matter” is prohibited, as it is most commonly associated with white supremacist groups. See our Hate & Terror Groups policy for more information.

Nextdoor Will Censor Your INFO For Their Own Political Agenda
January 18, 2021

Nextdoor censored my honest accurate information about the side effects of the quickly dispensed COVID-19 Coronavirus vaccine that I made in good faith to educate people living in my area. Nextdoor also disabled my account to prevent me from posting to my neighbors. I do not deserve this blatant suppression of my right to free speech while they are now abusing their power to prevent my information from being published due to their own political agenda that includes suppressing my said freedom of speech which should be and is allowed by constitutional law! SEE BELOW!

IMPORTANT: Private companies utilizing public forums are indeed subject and can be litigated due to consequences for abusing the first amendment as Nextdoor has been doing to me and many hundreds of other people! They should be litigated for this bad faith!

CindyEdge March 02, 2021

They have a very obvious political bias. I'm quitting them because of it

Impossible to remove yourself from Nextdoor
January 1, 2021

Zero star review. Joined and enjoyed the content until I started seeing (and experiencing) selective censorship of different posts. In my previous neighborhood, Leads/moderators had personal agendas that made it impossible for them to be fair and impartial. They would not even follow Nextdoor's own guidelines when censoring posts. Nextdoor offers no assistance.

I requested permanent removal of my profile/account from Nextdoor (on numerous occasions). They would only "disable" my account. After moving to a new city several hundred miles away, I have learned that someone has somehow accessed my "disabled" account and had me join as a new member in my new neighborhood.

Because my account was disabled by Nextdoor, I can only assume they have done this to beef up their "active" member numbers for advertising purposes as I am not even able to access my own account to un-join in my neighborhood.

CindyEdge March 02, 2021

Yep. Experiencing the same thing. Extremely biased censorship. What do you expect from a company out of San Francisco. Their “moderators” view anything that disagrees with their political point of view as hate speech. It’s not hate speech it’s just speech they hate, so they censor it.