NextDoor.com Reviews

About NextDoor.com

NextDoor.com is a new, private social network designed just for you and the other members of your neighborhood and your community to interact online in order to make your neighborhood better and safer.

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the goal of this website is to give neighbors and communities a place to interact with each other to get to know each other better, and in the process, create a better and safer community.

To sign up as a member of NextDoor.com, you must submit your residential address as well as go through a series of multiple verifications to ensure that you are actually a member of the neighborhood, and not an outsider. 

Members must always use their real names, and not chosen internet handles, and they have completely control over how much information is shared and where it is shared. They also promise that their member information will never be available on public search engines like Google, and that no member information will ever be shared with third party advertisers. 

Once you are a member, NextDoor.com encourages you to use their site as a place to share information, like to spread the word about break-ins, find trustworthy babysitters or pet sitters, ask for help in locating lost pets, or simply to find out peoples’ names and organize neighborhood social functions.

Cost/Price Plans

This website is very adamant that they are completely free for members to sign up and use to interact with their neighbors and other members of their community. In order to ensure the most memberships and interaction, this website decided not to include membership costs. 

Refund Policy

Since no fees are paid at any time to NextDoor.com, there is no Refund Policy being offered by this website. Instead, if customers are ever invited by an ad or a link to go outside of this website and make a purchase, they will have to adhere to any Refund Policies offered by the website where they are actually making their purchase. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who have questions, concerns, or complaints they would like to direct to their Customer Service team can contact them by submitting them directly to their website through their Terms & Conditions page, which offers a Contact Us link at the bottom of the page.

Reputation

Unfortunately there are some negative complaints about this website online. However, none of these complaints appear to be about the security of this website or the lack of privacy measures, which is often what most people are concerned about when sharing details of their home life.

Most of the complaints by far were regarding the content of the information discussed on their neighborhood’s page, with most people saying that this is just a place for judgmental neighbors to sit around and gossip about the people in the neighborhood they don’t know or don’t like. Others complained that there were too many neighbors using this site as a way to sell or promote things for sale.

However, it does genuinely seem as though these experiences are not in the majority, and that your experience will depend greatly on the neighborhood you live in, and the “lead” contact in your neighborhood, as the lead is the person who establishes your neighborhood page and sends out the initial invitations. 

In general it seems as though there is a lot of good that can be taken away from the proper and appropriate use of this site, and the more neighbors who get involved, the more likely it is that the site will be used for what it is intended for.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

Certainly the internet is home to a wide variety of different social networks, and many neighborhoods already offer pages on popular social media sites like Facebook, or they may offer a Twitter handle for sharing of informational as well. 

If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your NextDoor.com reviews below.

88 ‘NextDoor.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Communistic Platform with Extreme Censorship.

March 6, 2021

Communistic Platform with Extreme Censorship. Avoid!!! Unless you like to be controlled.

Comment on this review...

Too much bias censorship! No recourse.

March 2, 2021

Like many others have reported, this website is sadly supportive of leftist bias and censoring of conservatives. I have found it helpful in learning about little issues like Internet outages or services that neighbors have liked. But this is a hyper political world right now and this website does not equally apply its policies.

It’s “moderators” seem to be leftist activists bent on censorship of opposing points of view. I’ve even seen positive posts about neighbors supporting each other in the last winter storm devolve into accusations of the poster using racist conservative “dog whistles.” WTH!? If you point out that “speech you hate” is not “hate speech,”and you’re a conservative… You will be suspended and the leftists will be vindicated.

Clearly a more neutral site needs to be created that keeps the useful purpose and dumps the manipulative censorship.

Comment on this review...

Nextdoor is misused to organize political protests. That should not be allowed.

February 14, 2021

I joined, but had to leave. The rules are supposed to forbid political activity, but the site was being used to organize a political protest against President Trump. I reported this, but they chose to allow it, so I left. What a joke this web site turned out to be. All they do is cause trouble.

March 02, 2021

Yep. Bias leftists.

Comment on this review...

Liberal, Tyrants of Censorship at San Francisco Based Company Nextdoor.com

February 4, 2021

This is a platform designed for liberals only. I was suspended for posting the actual insert info from Pfizer itself accusing me as spreading misinformation. This company is based in SAN FRANCISCO. Liberal capital of the country. It is absolutely disgusting the level they go to, to censor Americans who are trying to inform fellow citizens of any dangers. I will spread this far and wide without their platform and will likely reach far more people that are not sheep. Here is the BBB link to see for yourself that is an UNACCREDITED "business"
https://www.bbb.org/us/ca/san-francisco/profile/internet-service/nextdoorcom-inc-1116-447229

It shows as A
BBB Rating

March 02, 2021

I have experienced the same thing. They are leftists and they censor anyone who disagrees with them. They have “moderators” that kick people off and suspend accounts at will. With no recourse.

Comment on this review...

It Is My Opinion That NextDoor Is NOT Trustworthy As It Actively Supports Criminal Activities On NextDoor

January 18, 2021

It is my opinion that NextDoor is NOT trustworthy as it actively supports criminal activities on NextDoor, specifically unlicensed criminal contractors and unlicensed criminal businesses.

In March and April 2019, HuffPost and Wired reported that NextDoor had paid a firm to improve NextDoor's reputation.

"During the George Floyd protests, many members of the National Leads Forum - a community of Nextdoor moderators - criticized NextDoor member's support of the Black Lives Matter (BLM) movement. Too many NextDoor users had their accounts suspended or their posts deleted for supporting BLM. On June 11, 2020 Nextdoor explicitly instructed its moderators to allow discussions on the Movement for Black Lives, including BLM." That instruction was and continues to be ignored by NextDoor moderators.

There is no customer service at NextDoor. There is no way to directly contact NextDoor. The hundreds of Reviews of NextDoor at BBB, which NextDoor is NOT a member of, are numerous and overwhelmingly and compellingly negative.

NextDoor is a for-profit corporation. NextDoor's revenues are solely based on ad views. I've come to the opinion that NextDoor promotes less good that it does the bad of scams, racism, unlicensed contractor criminals, sexism, hatred, unlicensed business criminals, bigotry, harassment, neighbor bashing, slander, gossip, bullying, name-calling, racial-profiling, nastiness, swearing; all the most extreme in truly bad behavior solely to acquire more ad views and their resulting profit to NextDoor.

I was also quite disturbed to later learn from the news that Nextdoor founder Nirav Tolia, when the good Lord passed out a conscience, a heart, a feeling for others, must have been out for a beer and missed out, plead down a very very un-neighborly charge of FELONY Hit-and-Run which resulted an injured woman to a sentence of 30 days in jail for Hit-And-Run. Several witnesses recorded his license plate and description, turned it over to police, who then showed up at Nextdoor founder Nirav Tolia's home where they arrested him. 1 John 3:4 ESV / Everyone who makes a practice of sinning also practices lawlessness; sin is lawlessness.

"Tolia has a lengthy history of lawsuits, including one for defrauding former business partners. In the court documents for a trademark suit, Tolia is even quoted calling himself "an angry driver."

In August 2020, NextDoor founder Nirav Tolia listed for sale his San Francisco home in the Pacific Heights neighborhood for $25 million. Tolia bought the home in 2011, for $7 million The Wall Street Journal reported.

NextDoor sent my family and I an invitation to join. We did. "Seems like a good idea, a social site in which the universe of participants is limited to your neighborhood and surrounding neighborhood. There's a potential for great benefit to post information relevant to your neighbors and to get such information, as well as local alerts and such."

Nextdoor is a privately-held company based in San Francisco with backing from prominent investors including Benchmark, Shasta Ventures, Greylock Partners, Kleiner Perkins, Riverwood Capital, Bond, Axel Springer, Comcast Ventures and others.

NextDoor has pros and cons. After a trial period of a year we've come to the opinion NextDoor's cons outweigh its pros. Unfortunately, my Nextdoor online neighborhood was hijacked by criminal activities. NextDoor is violating my state’s laws and my county’s laws and my city’s laws as it is, for profit, providing a platform for criminals to conduct their crimes. In my state as in all 50 states, conducting a contracting business without the required contractors license is a crime and a Deceptive Crime Practice and Fraud. In my state as in all 50 states, conducting a business without the required business license is a fine and a Deceptive Crime Practice and Fraud. In my county, as in most if not all counties in America, conducting a business without the required fictitious name certificate is a crime and a Deceptive Crime Practice and Fraud. In my city, as in most if not all cities in America, conducting a business without the required business license is a crime and a Deceptive Crime Practice and Fraud. In spite of numerous complaints to NextDoor, NextDoor continues to give these criminals a platform to conduct their criminal activities.

Misinformation by illegal criminal unlicensed contractors and unlicensed criminal businesses is routinely posted and re-posted and spammed that causes great harm and NextDoor continues to allow it. https://www.buzzfeednews.com/article/nicolenguyen/nextdoor-scams

NextDoor does not enforce its own rules and routinely itself violates its own rules. Even after being notified and being repeatedly notified of numerous and on-going public criminal activities on NextDoor, NextDoor continues to actively support criminal activities on NextDoor.

NextDoor is a for-profit corporation. NextDoor's revenues are solely based on ad views. In the year we used NextDoor, we've come to the opinion that NextDoor promotes less good that it does the bad of scams, racism, unlicensed contractor criminals, sexism, hatred, unlicensed business criminals, bigotry, harassment, neighbor bashing, slander, gossip, bullying, name-calling, racial-profiling, nastiness, swearing; all the most extreme in truly bad behavior solely to acquire more ad views and their resulting profit to NextDoor.

Although Proverbs 3:27 "Do not withhold good from those to whom it is due, when it is in your power to act: The NextDoor leads aka moderators were and are clearly NOT supportive of military Veterans and Active Duty GIs.

After a trial period of a year we've come to the opinion that NextDoor is routinely actively involved in illegal racketeering and is illegally aiding and abetting criminal activities as it does nothing to ensure a legal, or safe environment like they falsely claim. NextDoor has repeatedly demonstrated it is only interested in its REVENUES no matter how obtained. Hence why they are a BILLION dollar company.

Proverbs 28:9 ESV / If one turns away his ear from hearing the law, even his prayer is an abomination. I wonder what NextDoor would be like if it actually enforced its own rules. That we will never know as long as "I'm from a corporation and I'm here to help," means help ONLY the corporation executives NOT you the corporation's customers or employees or shareholders or community or neighborhood.

Matthew 6:24-25 ESV / "No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.

Comment on this review...

Nextdoor Will Censor Your INFO For Their Own Political Agenda

January 18, 2021

Nextdoor censored my honest accurate information about the side effects of the quickly dispensed COVID-19 Coronavirus vaccine that I made in good faith to educate people living in my area. Nextdoor also disabled my account to prevent me from posting to my neighbors. I do not deserve this blatant suppression of my right to free speech while they are now abusing their power to prevent my information from being published due to their own political agenda that includes suppressing my said freedom of speech which should be and is allowed by constitutional law! SEE BELOW!

IMPORTANT: Private companies utilizing public forums are indeed subject and can be litigated due to consequences for abusing the first amendment as Nextdoor has been doing to me and many hundreds of other people! They should be litigated for this bad faith!

March 02, 2021

They have a very obvious political bias. I'm quitting them because of it

Comment on this review...

Impossible to remove yourself from Nextdoor

January 1, 2021

Zero star review. Joined and enjoyed the content until I started seeing (and experiencing) selective censorship of different posts. In my previous neighborhood, Leads/moderators had personal agendas that made it impossible for them to be fair and impartial. They would not even follow Nextdoor's own guidelines when censoring posts. Nextdoor offers no assistance.

I requested permanent removal of my profile/account from Nextdoor (on numerous occasions). They would only "disable" my account. After moving to a new city several hundred miles away, I have learned that someone has somehow accessed my "disabled" account and had me join as a new member in my new neighborhood.

Because my account was disabled by Nextdoor, I can only assume they have done this to beef up their "active" member numbers for advertising purposes as I am not even able to access my own account to un-join in my neighborhood.

March 02, 2021

Yep. Experiencing the same thing. Extremely biased censorship. What do you expect from a company out of San Francisco. Their “moderators” view anything that disagrees with their political point of view as hate speech. It’s not hate speech it’s just speech they hate, so they censor it.

Comment on this review...

Censorship

December 11, 2020

NextDoor has joined the ranks of Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, etc. with their censorship of conservative views. Some liberal face masker got offended when I disagreed with them and called them sheeple. As a result I got banned for 14 days.

March 02, 2021

Yep. Same experience. Nasty leftists allowed to vent. I defended the person they were attacking and got suspended. I'm done with them.

Comment on this review...

Leftist/Liberal Biased Site

October 20, 2020

Moderators can censor your comments and frequently do without explanation or recourse. Name calling, profanity, and double-standards are allowed but reporting news, facts, and using reason to argue are frowned upon. Can be and often is just as biased and capricious as Twitter or Facebook.

Comment on this review...

Next Door

September 20, 2020

I believe this is a good idea that can be useful to local and service businesses like mine. Dh financial health insurance services. Yet, in spite of it being a good concept, it will fail from the overall management of the business, areas of neglect and it not having available. "Live" customer support.

Next door is now charging for zip code area promotion of your business, and state, while drafting monthly payments from your checking account, that you must have customer recommendations before they promote your business; however, they have nowhere on their website for your clients to place their reviews, or recommendations.

My clients explored the website and could not place their reviews on it; therefore, my business is not being displayed nor promoted. Next door ,in the meanwhile, is consistently withdrawing $31 a month from me. Next door is unreachable to correct the problem!!

They do not answer your emails sent to the email : agency support ... Nor on their telephone line, when you leave a voice mail message: it says to write to agency support who never responds to calls nor write. Yet, they are alive to take the $31 draft each month. I will soon report -- this abuse of my consumer rights and consumer trust-- to the proper authorities. I am hoping, before I take that stringent action, I will hear from them.

February 14, 2021

They are a liberal political organization pretending to be something they are not.

Comment on this review...

Nextdoor.com/Liberal Heaven

September 19, 2020

These guys are a real piece of work !! They only want those who toe the Bidet / Come Holla mark and no Trump folks like myself. I started a group at their suggestion with the word "Patriot" in it and it was geared towards the Conservative viewpoint.The folks at Nextdoor didn't like my Conservative views and disabled my account.However they left the liberal poster who made all sorts of outrageous posts to the group on their site . Talk about bias. I should have been smarter they are based in San Fran and are part of the Nancy Pelosi, Maxine Waters ilk. Nice "honest" folks!!! Stay as far away from these liberal clowns as you can.

View all 2 Comments
October 20, 2020

My experience was very much the same.

February 14, 2021

They allowed a group of liberals in my area to use the site to organize a protest against President Trump, even though it is clearly against the rules. I reported it, but they chose to allow it anyway.

Comment on this review...

Very Biased Website

September 13, 2020

This website allows unkind and judgmental postings of the far left on controversial subjects, but if a conservative reacts with comments to that posting then they are admonished and forbidden back into the site until signing a pledge to "be kind, not judgmental, in your conversations." They will admonish and blacklist you by taking the word of troublemakers and criminals without trying to get to the truth of the matter by giving you a chance to respond to their accusations. I find this website to be very biased and poorly run. If I could rate it less than one, I would.

View all 3 Comments
September 19, 2020

Amen brother I agree 100%!

October 20, 2020

My experience was similar.

March 02, 2021

Oh my goodness the exact same thing happened to me. I defended a perfectly good post that leftists were attacking. It was a positive post that these radicals were calling full of “dog whistles,” which was ridiculous. I said so and got suspended!

Comment on this review...
review author image

They will suspend you if you blink

August 6, 2020

Full of controversial topics, but god forbid if you are even slightly unfriendly.

I started a thread supportive of law enforcement and got reported for violation of terms. Later, I told an idiot that I tended to block idiots and they gave me a suspension.

1 star rated. Better options out there. Plus, you use your real name and neighborhood, which can potentially create problems.

View all 2 Comments
September 19, 2020

The fools at Nextdoor are plentiful and stupid. MAGA 2020!

October 20, 2020

I just deactivated my account and could not be happier.

Comment on this review...

Censorship Alive and Well on Nextdoor

August 3, 2020

I was suspended for 3 days a while back and only got back on recently. Basically, liberals are allowed to spew hate, vulgarity, and call people racists, but as soon as a conservative engages in truth and facts, they're shut down. After purposefully NOT directing any comments at one individual, I finally called him out for mocking Secret Service agents in the Presidential motorcade as clowns. He's the same one who told me I was a racist. I'm suspended for 30 days...if I go back on, it will be strictly to report people's comments that I find offensive. I certainly advise people to stay away from Nextdoor!

September 19, 2020

I am not wasting any more of my time dealing with these brainwashed idiots!!

Comment on this review...

Not what it seems!

July 24, 2020

I downloaded the Nextdoor app recently. It became abundantly clear that it was NOT what it advertised to be. It's just one more instrument of the Left Wing Liberal Fascists. Their motto is, "You're entitled to your own opinion so long as it's the same as mine!" Needless to say I deleted the app.

September 19, 2020

Well put my friend and how true!!!!

Comment on this review...

this site allows vulgar attacks

July 23, 2020

when you try to protect yourself by altering the full legal name they require because someone used it to find you and harrass you outside of nextdoor you get kicked off but the vulgar spewing harrasser is all good and protected

View all 2 Comments
September 19, 2020

Have been there and experienced that!

October 20, 2020

Sounds familiar.

Comment on this review...

Straight Up Criminal Website. Complete Liability and Rip-off. Consumer and Good Samaritan Warning.

July 21, 2020

Nextdoor is not what it claims to be. If it isn't in writing, don't believe it. Look at the results.
In other words consider all of this:

An incident occured in a local neighborhood where a "lead" had a false phone number that lead to a dead-end trail for a roofing company that was not even in the area. This sketchy "lead" showed up taking pictures of other people's cars without the consent of the property owners. They initially showed up knocking on doors but later reverted to taking pictures of their vehicles including license plate numbers. This conduct exposes unsuspecting property owners to identity theft and fraud. A second incident occured where rocks were thrown at houses by delinquent kids out at night. A third incident occured where a delinquent kid wearing a hoodie was eavesdropping a conversation near somebody's bedroom while trespassing on property at midnight. Caught on camera. These incidents are all linked to sockpuppet accounts found with false names and fictitious contact details. A political bias is shown in the "moderators" of the website that additionally favor libel related postings against veterans of the United States Military. Another incident occured where local neighbors were setting off particularly noisy fireworks for two consecutive days straight prior to the 4th of July. All of this was precipitated under the current direction of the "leads" and "moderators" on a local nextdoor listing. Another incident occured where one of the "leads" in the local area libeled a military veteran for alleged mail theft. The lead never provided material evidence of these allegations and because he was buddy-buddy with the admins and moderators, he was actually allowed to libel a United States Military Veteran who served his country honorably and was good enough to retire after 20 years. The veteran defended himself as he was jogging and told that "lead" to mind his own business warning him of potential civil court action if he continued. This "lead" made an explicit violent threat against this veteran just after the veteran was kicked off the Nextdoor website by one of the admins so that the veteran could not actually be able to prove an explicit violent threat was made during the libel thread that this "lead" instigated. Additionally, the content is not accessible under a traditional search engine. Other reviews have shown that the "moderators" and "admins" have Carte Blanche to delete anything that goes against their own left-leaning liberal biases. Posts proven and shown as libel are not taken down while those defending themselves against the libel postings are simultaneously kicked. This is a sneaky way of ducking out of a pending lawsuit for defamation. Finally, Nextdoor demonstrates a source of divide and conquer as shown by repeated racist postings falsely accusing people of being inferior because of the way they look. Neighbors have been making written threats of "knowing where you are" pending any kind of tactful disagreement about what they say vs. what they are actually doing. Selective Enforcement and Double Standards are the norm.

View all 3 Comments
September 19, 2020

110% CORRECT!!!

January 13, 2021

I think we can complain all we want. I'm sure our complaints fall on blind eyes and deaf ears. I've tried every way possible to contact them with no response - even on the "pissed consumer" topic!!

March 02, 2021

Yes you can’t get a hold of anybody to find out which one of your completely benign comments got you suspended. The fact that I am a conservative and expressed a conservative opinion I’m sure it had something to do with it. But there’s no recourse.

Comment on this review...

Another left leaning SJW site

July 14, 2020

Been suspended twice. First for calling looters and rioters 'thugs' and second for calling out that lecturing strangers in public for not wearing masks, even if they have a medical condition that prevents them, is mask shaming. Nextdoor admins are pushing their SJW leftest agenda. If you disagree with them, you get suspended. Looking forward to my next suspension.

View all 2 Comments
September 19, 2020

I removed myself was tired of their crap and nonsense!! They have no love for anyone but themselves. Kind of queer if you ask me!

October 20, 2020

Deactivated my account today. Happy day!

Comment on this review...

Temporarily Banned

June 22, 2020

Nextdoor.com is one-sided. I was temporarily banned and I was not informed of the reason. Probably because I stated something negative about a BLM protest, consisting of all white teens, crowding both sides of a small road, and seriously impeding cars, suv's, and me on a bicycle. I think all that I said was that 'they should move back because there was no shoulder, no curb, nothing but a narrow two lane road with about 30 large white teens waving signs above the road and chanting. Two more days and then I can get back on the "neighborhood" website.

September 19, 2020

Don't go back !! Repeating the same behavior over and over with the same results is the definition of insanity.

Comment on this review...

Their stated purpose is not served..

June 18, 2020

A website for neighbors has gotta have room for negativity and members just want fluff. That's what facebook is for. There are a lot of legal, safety, and ethics issues right now trickling down to the little towns, and we need help, discussion, and answers. This website is not the place.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review