NextDoor.com Reviews

NextDoor.com
( 145 reviews )
Website: NextDoor.com

NextDoor.com is a social network designed to connect members of the same neighborhood with the aim of allowing users to interact with neighbors, as well as local businesses and public services.

The company states they provide services in 11 countries and 280,000 neighborhoods globally.

How Does NextDoor.com Work?

According to their website, the goal of this website is to give neighbors and communities a place to interact with each other to get to know each other better, and in the process, create a better and safer community.

To sign up as a member of NextDoor.com, you must submit your residential address as well as go through a series of multiple verifications to ensure that you are actually a member of the neighborhood, and not an outsider. 

Members must always use their real names, and not chosen internet handles, and they have completely control over how much information is shared and where it is shared.

They also promise that their member information will never be available on public search engines like Google, and that no member information will ever be shared with third party advertisers. 

Once you are a member, NextDoor encourages you to use their site as a place to share information, for example to spread the word about break-ins, find trustworthy babysitters or pet sitters, ask for help in locating lost pets, or simply to network and organize neighborhood social functions.

Cost/Price Plans

NextDoor states that they are free for users to sign up and connect with their neighbors and other members of their community.

In order to ensure the most memberships and interaction, this website decided not to include membership costs. 

Refund Policy

Since no fees are paid at any time to NextDoor.com, there is no Refund Policy being offered by this website.

Instead, if customers are ever invited by an ad or a link to go outside of this website and make a purchase, they will have to adhere to any Refund Policies offered by the website where they are actually making their purchase. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who have questions, concerns, or complaints they would like to direct to their Customer Service team can contact them by submitting them directly to their website through their Terms & Conditions page, which offers a Contact Us link at the bottom of the page.

Reputation

Unfortunately there are some negative complaints about this website online.

However, none of these complaints appear to be about the security of this website or the lack of privacy measures, which is often what most people are concerned about when sharing details of their home life.

Most of the complaints by far were regarding the content of the information discussed on their neighborhood’s page, with most people saying that this is just a place for judgmental neighbors to sit around and gossip about the people in the neighborhood they don’t know or don’t like.

Others complained that there were too many neighbors using this site as a way to sell or promote things for sale.

However, it does genuinely seem as though these experiences are not in the majority, and that your experience will depend greatly on the neighborhood you live in, and the “lead” contact in your neighborhood, as the lead is the person who establishes your neighborhood page and sends out the initial invitations. 

In general it seems as though there is a lot of good that can be taken away from the proper and appropriate use of this site, and the more neighbors who get involved, the more likely it is that the site will be used for what it is intended for.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

Certainly the internet is home to a wide variety of different social networks, and many neighborhoods already offer pages on popular social media sites like Facebook, or they may offer a Twitter handle for sharing of informational as well. 

If you have any experience with NextDoor or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

NextDoor.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

This site is a left-wing driven media site. Not really a neighborly site at all.
November 19, 2022
If zero is a number that’s what I would’ve given it. This is a left-wing information. Pushing big media company. Worse than Twitter or Facebook. I concur that they do not advise you why you are banned. I believe it’s because of my views and not because of what I said, because I always phrase things as to not seem politically biased.

NextDoor reflects how sick Amerikkka truly is
November 15, 2022
Nextdoor is just another platform that censors it users. You aren’t allowed to have a conversation about current events unless it’s PRO christo-fascist/Republican/Democratic-corporate-militarist-fascist. Any questioning of the anti-COVID vax mythology or racist-reactionary-Republican-based election fraud will be deleted and your account suspended for however long they decide without any warning. They don’t even tell you what they have banned you for. NextDoor is a sterling metaphor for Amerikkka -- full of pridefully ignorant, racist, entitled, alcohol- and drug-addled mindless, gun-loving, human-hating, faux-patriotic little Eichmanns who want the whole world to ascribe to their deep-seated desires for fascism.

Nextdoor censorship of conservative views.
November 11, 2022
Nextdoor is just another platform that censors it users. You aren’t allowed to have a conversation about current events unless it’s PRO liberal/Democrat. Any questioning of the cv vax or election fraud will be deleted and your account suspended for however long they decide without any warning. They don’t even tell you what they have banned you for.

Find Another App
November 10, 2022
I'd give this app a zero if I could. I have my own private "conservative" groups on line and for some reason I keep getting suspended upon posting. Today I posted something in one of my groups. I went to look at it and I have a 30 day suspension with no warning and no indication of why. Also, I have been lambasted for having an opinion against the norm and received quite nasty and name calling comments in the general forum and when I reported those no comment was ever removed. The censorship for this app is beyond ridiculous and I'm tired of it

just a bit about next doors procedures
October 20, 2022

I was a lead on Nextdoor for over 4 years, i did my best to follow the guidelines posted by the app when posting or reviewing posts, never voting to remove a post that did not violate the guidelines.

One of my posts were removed that did not violate any guidelines. The ensuing conversation on that post was 2 days running with 200 comments, and the determination based on the conversation was that a certain elected official that was due for re-election lied to the public.

When the post was removed, I questioned the removal asking what exact guideline was violated. And also accessed their, behind the black curtain, moderator community forum to report the violation, while in that forum i personally witnessed and responded to a post where a moderator was conspiring with other moderators to fabricate a guideline in an effort to remove a post that was contrary to the moderators personal religious beliefs.

Because I replied with "no one had the right to cut out the tongue, sew the mouth, or duct tape the mouth, of any user that didnt violate the guidelines", I was immediately removed as lead on the platform.

Update: My account has now been banned from the platform for reporting this.

Leftist Echo Chamber
October 18, 2022

Nothing but a leftist echo chamber.

Your garden variety libs, are bullies. Your dem voting neighbors, family members are all bullies at heart.

Post something they don't like, no matter how innocuous. Simply disagree with them and insults come out.

Echo, word for word their slings and arrows and the one being bullied gets banned.

I've been yeeted three times now and all of a sudden they need to verify my account with a "post card."

Not going to happen because they are unhinged and violent. The number of threats I've gotten by my "neighbors" is unbelievable. The fact that they never get booted believable because bullies always have each other's backs.

Liberal bullies won't always be in charge and they will find out how unproductive, and vile it is to bullied into silence.

Chinese Communist party
October 7, 2022
Run by communists just like Open Door is run my Chicomms.

Nextdoor is a far bizarre leftist dialog
September 23, 2022

I'm in town outside of Dallas, my account was suspended indefinitely for posting a photo of Trump/"orange man" hugging a U.S. flag, i was turned in by new neighbors from Southern Cal that chose to flag the post, welcome to communism my friends and Nextdoor.com is leading the way!

Their ethics rules are a guideposts for everything that's gone wrong with America today, it's sickening when read aloud, i'm surprised i wasn't shot at dawn by these liberal nazis !

TeeJay October 07, 2022

Where I live people have followed those they disagree with to work and had them fired. It is a bogus hate filled cancel culture platform

Unhelpful
September 8, 2022
We live in a gated community surrounded by and included in a nextdoor neighborhood. Wanted them to exclude us from the neighborhood since we have no contact with those residents, so we could make our own neighborhood. They would not do that. They were unhelpful.

Very biased platform.
September 6, 2022
Just a warning ...if you request to delete your account Nextdoor will refuse to delete if one of their censors suspended your account. My account was suspended for nothing more than a political discussion which another user disagreed with. No threat was made in my responses. No cursing or personal insults.

JessePetton September 23, 2022

100% accurate review, Thanks for posting!

LWSims October 10, 2022

Nextdoor doesn't allow national political comments in the General Feed, only in Groups. Members sign a statement they will comply with Nextdoor Community Guidelines, which most members don't read.

StephanieStevens October 18, 2022

"Nextdoor doesn't allow ANYONE POLITICALLY TO THE RIGHT OF MARX to make national political comments in the General Feed..."

Fixed it for you.

Very biased platform.
September 5, 2022
NextDoor is a very liberal platform. Moderators are fellow peers/users who don't appear to follow any consistent guideline. Most of NextDoor consists of ads that have little to do with neighborhood activities. Many of the posts are "cute dog" photos or posts about sirens that were heard in the areas. The platform is a "whiners" paradise.

LWSims October 10, 2022

Moderators are supposed to follow Guidelines written just for them on how to moderate. Nextdoor provides many opportunities for training for Moderators including national Zoom meetings. Nextdoor requests that neighborhood Leads set the tone on conversations that don't follow their Guidelines to the point of reporting content that violates them. In my area, we use Nextdoor to help reunite Lost pets, help neighbors in need, as well as share safety concerns. If every member would read and follow the ND Guidelines, we wouldn't see so much problematic content. Another part of the problem is that many in our society have become very negative, unneighborly, and rude, and are not receptive to improving their behavior. The problem is not Nextdoor since they promote kindness, neighborliness, and community, but the members who bring their uncivil behavior to Nextdoor, and act as if they are on Facebook.

StephanieStevens October 18, 2022

The problem is people like you LW.

You don't follow the guidelines, but heaven help someone who doesn't agree with you!

Nextdoor is way Too toxic
August 28, 2022
This site is filled with toxic unneighborly nasty people that all they wanna do is gossip about anything. This is the problem we have in our country nowadays no one is neighborly and kind to one another. This app explains why we have so many problems in this country. You people need to get a life. Maybe help your neighbors out, volunteer at a homeless shelter, help your elderly neighbors out or many other things I could think of. But now you got the time to gossip and slander character assassinate people.

JessePetton September 23, 2022

Yes, they asks you to comment on a topic, and if it doesn't abide by their "rules", you're banned! you're better off seeking a legitimate local website ran by your local city or town! Thanks for outing these hacks at Nextdoor!

Every review is 1 star (not just here, everywhere)
August 22, 2022

Cancel culture paradise. If you are interested in starting your own feral cat colony, think that Biden is the best president ever, or just like seeing blurry RING pictures coupled with wild imaginations about what it might be (spoiler alert: it's always dangerous) then ND is the right place for you.

If, however, you happen to be a sane, rational, or an otherwise normally adjusted person you'll find it's a cesspool of psychosis and misinformation.

AlanStein August 22, 2022

I find the people on there to be quite rude.

RobO August 28, 2022

100%

JessePetton September 23, 2022

Absolute accurate review, don't reward Nextdoor by using their website, a few years back this webpage was not bad, now, it's run by crazies with a leftist agenda!

Beware!
July 26, 2022
We moved here 6yrs. ago and used nextdoor for one yr. and LOVED it, learning, buying, etc. then one day we were BANNED and have been for the past 5yrs. with NO EXPLANATION, NO REASON, and told by HOW Pres. we're banned for LIFE at this area. We never once talked of politics, race, religion, anything controversal. We used primarily for referrals to fix house, gardening & buying from neighbors. We've asked EVERYONE in this area for help, but they tell us "it's a mess" and they won't help. HOW can someone do this to us and for life??? Now we're selling home and could use nextdoor for info. on home issues, power washing, etc. CAN ANYONE PLEEEAAASSSEEE HELP US??

RobO August 28, 2022

Same here no reason given. I deleted the app because there’s too much toxicity nastiness.

CmK September 05, 2022

You might find Yelp helpful.

pamelaCamara September 14, 2022

there is nobody to talk to to find out what your infraction is

LWSims October 10, 2022

Yes, there is someone you can communicate with at Nextdoor. I've been doing it for the past years. Click on the "Contact Us" link at the bottom of each Guideline Topic. They will send an email to you and assign someone to your question or comment. Also, Nextdoor asks Leads and moderators to send Private Messages to members who are reported and explain their infraction. Unfortunately, most ND members don't read the rules and Guidelines often enough, as they change often. Anyone can report content, but only moderators can vote. ND is using AI to flag content that violates the rules, but it's not always accurate.

StephanieStevens October 18, 2022

"Leads and moderators to send Private Messages to members who are reported and explain their infraction."

BWAHAHAHAHA

You're a funny little liar.

I have NOT once been PMd by a "lead" or "moderator" over my infractions. I just get yeeted.

Same thing happens to others who are not boot lickers to the "cool kids" (read liberals) like you.

Nextdoor a liberal fascist speech monitor
July 13, 2022

If I could give Nextdoor a 0 I would I was suspended at least 3 times from these commies People would lie curse at me and I would report them next thing I knew I was suspended The last suspension they claimed I was not using my real name but then went on to tell me I abused their guidelines.

Not only did the person who reported me for not using my real name call me a racist twice for posting about people using our community amenities and not living there. After I called the person out she lied and said she never called me a racist but I took screenshots and in two different posts she called me a racist I called Nextdoor and left a message after I was suspended. They started w the wrong person Not only did I send them the screenshot posts but found a post on Twitter that they suspended someone for posting God Bless AMERICA. https://twitter.com/libsoftiktok/status/1546697548961927168?s=21 NEXTDOOR are nothing but Marxists and need to be sued for what they are doing. I not only called an attorney to discuss this but feel we all need to start fighting back These platforms were meant to shut us up and were created for just this many years ago.

It is all part of the plan to **** conservative minds up I am done w these leftist platforms that talk about being kind and non discriminatory but don’t practice what they preach if anyone is interested in filing a class action lawsuit let me know

RobO August 28, 2022

100%

DomenickBizzaro August 30, 2022

would love to file a class action lawsuit

pamelaCamara September 14, 2022

for real

JessePetton September 23, 2022

you're 100% right, email me at [email protected], i would love to join a class action suit against these commies who ruin peoples ability to communicate with their local neighbors, we need to create a different website for neighbors, just call it 'Neighbors'

Discrimination on next door by mods....
July 6, 2022
Next door has too many left wingers who flag your post and get them disabled because you simply disagree with them....You are not allowed to say you are a Christian...It is okay for a person who is far left to use hate speech against the conservatives.... Also they support a terrorist group...These people attack conservatives free speech...I keep it clean and tactful but truthful and this is the 3rd time I have had my acct disabled.....Next door is nothing more than a left wing platform who targets conservatives and Christians.... Will not be going back...Stay away from next door it does not support free speech unless you are a left winger....

CmK September 05, 2022

Very true.

JessePetton September 23, 2022

Amen.

StephanieStevens October 18, 2022

I'm not a Christian, but they do yeet people they think are Christian.

Had one liberal harridan post "You're a joke, that's not very "Christian" of you.

My response "Oh, isn't that cute. You believe in an imaginary sky-fairy."

My account was permanently disabled.

The harridan who thought she could brow beat someone she mistakenly thought was a Christian: Still there.

This was not a thread about religion, but about the whole Roe V Wade dust up the left collectively lost their mind over. Liberals are so indoctrinated that they assume everyone who is anti-murder is a Christian. I simply stated that I no longer care about the "health and safety of women who get oopsie pregnancies" because the "safe, RARE, and legal" mantra is a LIE. Nothing unkind, uncivil, or cruel in my post.

No PM for a lead or moderator. Just a page screaming that my account was perma banned when I tried to log back in a few days later.

Censorship Galore!
June 11, 2022
This website is nothing more than a liberal think tank. Censorship galore abounds here in spades! God forbid if one should say in your 'conversation' with someone whom you do not agree with the actual truth! NOPE! NADA! NOT ALLOWED! You end up getting suspended like I did. So I just uninstalled their app off of my phone, told them about this and I'm completely done with these folks.

Mob mentality rules/Encourages public shaming
June 9, 2022

As others have observed, this app really is a breeding ground for unpleasant people too toxic to be invited into an offline social group. I live on the UES and my app feed is nothing but cranky seniors, bitter divorcees, and bored housewives trying to get people evicted, fired or arrested for minor infractions or just plain old mistakes that anybody could make on any given day.

Most concerning is how a lot of these attacks and smear campaigns are directed at people of color and service industry types, demonstrating the racism and classism so prevalent on that app.

What really gets me is what absolute cowards some of these online vigilantes are. The most outspoken use fake names or don't post photos, which I thought was required on that app.

Some of them are obscenely stupid and upload people's photos and embellish stories only to have the target of their attack see the post and call them on their blatant dishonesty. One woman swore a man "threw her dog across the street." An eyewitness to the altercation commented and said the man simply pulled the dog's leash in a panic because, as he was running and wasn't looking up, he almost tripped over the dog.

Another crazy person stalked two dog walkers a few blocks, snapped their photos, and badgered them with questions about the dogs because she was sure - absolutely sure - they were kidnapping dogs because the dogs didn't react to the walkers a certain way. The owners of the dogs had to step in to assure everyone the two people were excellent care providers.

God forbid you be homeless or mentally ill due to a global pandemic and behave erratically. Especially if you're a black man. All the White Women will run to post about the mean man that pulled his pants down on the Q train or shouted obscenities at them while they walked their store/breeder-bought Bison Frise or daschund.

Imagine being so miserable that you have to hunt down service industry people and front line workers and take their photos so you can hop on that app and virtue signal in exchange for praise for your bravery and concern for your community.

I've warned my dog walker to be very careful should he take my pup into Carl Schurz park in our neighborhood specifically for this reason.

The app fosters an environment that encourages mob mentality. "Ooooh! Post their photo on this Mommy Facebook group!!" Know why they do that? So they can have ANOTHER forum where they can squat for hours and harass/slander people they don't even know and try to get them fired. They live on these boards and forums.

The more prolific commenters rely on that app for their sole source of social interaction. Probably because their personalities are so rancid nobody wants to interact with them IRL.

DomenickBizzaro August 30, 2022

Yup I was harassed on Nextdoor. A nasty person accused me of having multiple accounts and had his friends attack me. He got 3 weeks suspension. Once his suspension was over he was commenting on every one of my posts as to antagonize me.. I blocked him but he can still post and see my comments.. blocking feature is a joke . You block someone but they can still see your posts and comment. After I told him to stop I was banned on Nextdoor indefinitely. This is the worst social media I have ever been on. Terrible people and all these people do is complain about stupid issues . It should be called neighbors against neighbors.

JessePetton September 23, 2022

Go to the Nextdoor guidelines and rules page, SICKENING !!!

No stars
June 4, 2022

No stars.

They ban without cause. They do not investigate and takes the word of the person that’s just as bad or worse on comments.

Please do not send me any invites to reopen my account.

CherieMoore July 26, 2022

Oh THANK YOU, THANK YOU for posting. We've gone half crazy trying to figure out just what in the world happened for us to not only be rejected, but banned FOR LIFE, or as long as we live at this address, we're told and we were given NO reason. We had NO arguments, no bad language, never talked about stuff like politics, religion, anything controversial, just banned. Guess someone has that kind of power.

FAguilera July 31, 2022

I am banned for one month while perps who send me vile and degrading private messages have open accounts.

Angelseven August 08, 2022

I just kicked off for a month for talking about our border crisis ! I was responding to someone talking about their car getting broken into… stated we had 200,000 coming in our border a month. We live in texas…. Never had all these break ins before… You know, i bet they have bots handling these suspensions or maybe a i employees (they have them at google). It is a scary world we live in!!!!

Lin August 22, 2022

The good part about suspension is that you will find you don’t miss it. So far, I have not. Will cancel it once I am allowed to log in.

pamelaCamara September 14, 2022

i have been banned because i no longer wanted to be on review team. now I cannot open the website my name Pam Fantasia. Phx Az

pamelaCamara September 14, 2022

well…Lin hasa very good point. lol!,,

No propaganda
May 29, 2022

Conservative propaganda promoting guns and religion (pretty sure Jesus did not carry and loved his enemies) right after the latest gun debacle in a supposed Memorial Day message.

NextDoor should maintain it is not a message board for anything; only local news and services, not religion and politics.

JessePetton September 23, 2022

Even if i don't agree with your viewpoint, i believe in your right to post it and not be removed, you're right it should be for local issues only but things that happen in our nations government spill over into our small communities as well. Thanks for having courage to speak up.

StephanieStevens October 18, 2022

Hey, as long as you're not banned post all the loony lib nuttery you desire. It's easier to just ignore women like you.

However, your side won't let the other side post their nuttery.

So, no sympathy from me.