NextDoor.com Reviews

NextDoor.com
( 175 reviews )
Website: NextDoor.com

NextDoor.com is a social network designed to connect members of the same neighborhood with the aim of allowing users to interact with neighbors, as well as local businesses and public services.

The company states they provide services in 11 countries and 280,000 neighborhoods globally.

How Does NextDoor.com Work?

According to their website, the goal of this website is to give neighbors and communities a place to interact with each other to get to know each other better, and in the process, create a better and safer community.

To sign up as a member of NextDoor.com, you must submit your residential address as well as go through a series of multiple verifications to ensure that you are actually a member of the neighborhood, and not an outsider. 

Members must always use their real names, and not chosen internet handles, and they have completely control over how much information is shared and where it is shared.

They also promise that their member information will never be available on public search engines like Google, and that no member information will ever be shared with third party advertisers. 

Once you are a member, NextDoor encourages you to use their site as a place to share information, for example to spread the word about break-ins, find trustworthy babysitters or pet sitters, ask for help in locating lost pets, or simply to network and organize neighborhood social functions.

Cost/Price Plans

NextDoor states that they are free for users to sign up and connect with their neighbors and other members of their community.

In order to ensure the most memberships and interaction, this website decided not to include membership costs. 

Refund Policy

Since no fees are paid at any time to NextDoor.com, there is no Refund Policy being offered by this website.

Instead, if customers are ever invited by an ad or a link to go outside of this website and make a purchase, they will have to adhere to any Refund Policies offered by the website where they are actually making their purchase. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who have questions, concerns, or complaints they would like to direct to their Customer Service team can contact them by submitting them directly to their website through their Terms & Conditions page, which offers a Contact Us link at the bottom of the page.

Reputation

Unfortunately there are some negative complaints about this website online.

However, none of these complaints appear to be about the security of this website or the lack of privacy measures, which is often what most people are concerned about when sharing details of their home life.

Most of the complaints by far were regarding the content of the information discussed on their neighborhood’s page, with most people saying that this is just a place for judgmental neighbors to sit around and gossip about the people in the neighborhood they don’t know or don’t like.

Others complained that there were too many neighbors using this site as a way to sell or promote things for sale.

However, it does genuinely seem as though these experiences are not in the majority, and that your experience will depend greatly on the neighborhood you live in, and the “lead” contact in your neighborhood, as the lead is the person who establishes your neighborhood page and sends out the initial invitations. 

In general it seems as though there is a lot of good that can be taken away from the proper and appropriate use of this site, and the more neighbors who get involved, the more likely it is that the site will be used for what it is intended for.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

Certainly the internet is home to a wide variety of different social networks, and many neighborhoods already offer pages on popular social media sites like Facebook, or they may offer a Twitter handle for sharing of informational as well. 

If you have any experience with NextDoor or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

NextDoor.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

unethical company
February 21, 2024
I cancelled my subscription with them 2 months ago and they still keep trying to charge my card. You cant get any type of help without reactivating your account which im not doing

Way too much information on NextDoor
February 20, 2024
NextDoor is full of misinformation and misleading statements, which they seem to encourage. There are many posts of photos with someone just standing at someone's door knocking, or walking down a street, and because the user doesn't know them they have posted their photo as a potential criminal!! What sane person does that?! Yet if the fallacy in this is pointed out, they erase your comment as being "unfriendly!" From everything I see, NextDoor promotes paranoia and hysteria and resists any effort toward truth. Someone told me it is MAGA, and now its issues make sense.

Crazy Liberal Site
February 7, 2024
The worst “neighborhood” site I have encountered. Two years ago I shortened my name on the site because I saw others do it. I felt better having shortened my first and last name. Instead of sending me an email and saying, hey, we don’t allow that, you have to show your whole name, they deactivated my account and banned me indefinitely. I believe it had more to do with the fact I responded to a liberal on the site against dementia Joe Biden, that crazy liberal reported me and then I was banned. Is this America anymore?? Hate hate hate Next Door. Liberal crazies running the site.

next-door, is a toxic troubling biased site with a train wreck of a CEO
January 31, 2024

There is no way I can recommend this absolutely horrible app in good faith to my fellow man.

This site is so corrupt and biased, and ran so poorly. It's shameful and embarrassing for this corporation.

It's a shame, because the site could have a good premise. But unfortunately, the corporation, CEO, and minions Destroyed this site- for Possibly being a decent helpful neighborly site.

The moderators, leads,and customer support team are completely juvenile, and vindictive, Along with not following the company guidelines.

When you are active on the site, everybody tattles on everybody for trigger words and comments. It's Extremely childish.

The moderators and leads do not adhere to the company policy guidelines, but intern they pick and choose what they feel is incorrect lingo by their feelings; Not by the company guidelines!

When you write the company to report an issue, such as a poor moderators and a vindictive leads. You will either be ignored, Receive an incompetent representative, who Clearly does not read your complaint, nor cares, and just writes back with a bunch of misinformation, or they will deactivate your account for being difficult Because you wish to accuse a fellow team member. Hence the word, vindictive.

This company prides itself on being neighborly, kind, nondiscriminatory, non-bulling, and racist. But yet they are all the above.

Who wants to be on a site that behaves like teenagers? I sure don't.

Do yourself a favor before you join this app.

Do your own research.

Start with the Better Business Bureau. 99% one star reviews with the same complaint I am writing above. There are also other review sites that are exactly the same.

If that is not enough evidence for you not to join this toxic site, then I don't know what to tell you.

And to end; The site does nothing regarding assisting the fellow neighbor, other than the occasional lost dog or lost cat.

It really is a waste of time.

Horrible Forum not accountable for their actions.
January 27, 2024
Since I established myself as a member the unidentifiable "neighborhood lead" has suspended me three times all because: I asked a crime follow-up question and ND says I had other intent in asking if the police were called to report the incident; and I also confirmed happenings that the city council approved that were negative for the taxpaying community; and commented on an OP wherein they used the term "homeless", in my comment I used "unhomed" and my comment removed wherein the OP's post was not removed; Once the neighborhood lead subjectively has you on their radar they continually censor and unfairly remove your comments then suspend your account. ND will not answer questions as to what in your comment was unacceptable and acts as a dictatorship. ND site is a true example of intimidation and discrimination. If you are thinking of joining, don't, this site will leave you feeling abused and not valuable to society.

Nextdoor is very abusive!
December 2, 2023

I voice my opinions about the injustices done to people such as me, on that website/app, and those people keep hiding my comments like a bunch of Communists that they are!!!

Then they also have the nerve to suspend me like if I was some troublemaker which I'm not. They abuse their authority and treat us unfairly just because they don't like what we say! I will find a much better app than this, and I hope they feel bad about how they treated me and several others!

Very toxic and bigoted people running this horrible app! I wish I could sue for emotional damages!

Toxic site for toxic people
December 1, 2023
This site contains advocation of illegal activities, trying to point it out results in banning and suspension. Disgusting moderation practices.

liberal and censorship of the left!
November 13, 2023
I have been censored, called a racist for stating facts of a robbery that I personal witnessed and stating the suspects were black. And over all experience of this very liberal sited is they do not believe in freedom of speech unless it fits their agenda. You will have 1st amendment rights taken away by some woke hidden person who lords over every post that does not fit or check the democrat boxes, this is ran by the woke Gestapo.

Nuremberg Code violating KILLERS W KEYBOARDS
November 8, 2023

The most fascist platform i have seen, they will censor all medical and scientific information, actively preventing informed consent, in the middle of a medically experimental crisis, they censor all truthful science and information and push and publish only corporate-approved disinformation and misinformation, and prevent u also from criticizing them. They actively disseminate false information as truth, going above and beyond to protect the profits of big pharmaceutical companies w a very well known criminal history, by preventing ppl from sharing concerning information that contradicts the propaganda.

They censored me for using one word 'wrong'('scamdemic' - experimental medical decisions), they censored me when i asked qs about the 5g tower down my street (medical experiment, new tech), they censored me when i made a comment that a homeless man needs a priest, because he was talking to himself (called it 'shaming', yet i did not post the video, just expressed compassion!?), they censored me when i made comments about the Nuremberg Code, and they censored me for criticizing them.

too many sensitive individuals
October 29, 2023

too many sensitive individuals on this app that complain if they dont like your choice of words they just shut you off with out even telling you what you said that was so upsetting, and of course a normal person would not be offended in any way what is written.

Blatantly Biased
September 30, 2023
I only downloaded the app to help find the owner of a lost dog but I wish I had read the reviews first, lol. I witnessed so much hate, rhetoric, and racism it was unbelievable. One of my neighbors posted a video of a kid kicking and breaking her door. The whole thing became about whether he was just a “kid being a kid” or a thug. Other neighbors chimed in that he had done the same thing to them. The boy was African-American so the word “thug” was greatly offensive to some so it became about race instead of the behavior the woman was trying to stop. ALL truly offensive and racist remarks came from the left but none of those comments were removed by Nextdoor. The only comments removed were those made by reasonable, unoffending people. I deleted the app and won’t be getting it again. Ever!

Absolutely Useless.
September 29, 2023
Useless. No useful information, but a lot of complaining, nasty remarks, requests for money and individuals recommending themselves or a family member -often pretending to be an independent reference- for jobs they are in no way qualified to undertake.

Awful moderators. Awful site. Called names shamed
September 26, 2023

Absolutely awful - I got called names for people disagreeing with a petition I shared for the ltns on my road - reported it..they stated it didn't break guidelines, meanwhile all my shared articles relating to politics, local councillors etc are being hidden as they break guidelines.

Absolutely shameful practice.

One sided , biased crap. Unfortunately myself and several neighbours have all had the same issues and have left it . I think it should be reported for supporting bullying and shaming of people whose opinions differ..I'm a full grown adult - I understand people have a difference of opinion. But as an adult I choose to ignore the post. Not comment on them constantly shaming the person. How this is being allowed I'll never know but I'm determined to share the word and try to ensure people steer clear of this app ! Shamed for being working class, driving, called a liar amongst other names I won't mention. All allowed. Me posting an article relating to Lambeth councils residents survey results etc is deemed inappropriate. Awful experience. Awful moderators. Awful people. Not all but most! Please steer clear !

OscarAnthony December 02, 2023

I agree. Those people abuse their authority like the fascists that they are. They wrongly accuse me of being "disrespectful" when we are the ones being disrespected by them. So I'm with you.

Not Safe for Christians or Conservatives
September 21, 2023
They are blatantly biased in their removal of content and encourage one belief system to troll the other by deleting content from only one side, leads speaking on behalf of the troll. Eventually strangers (to me maybe friends of the activist and/or lead) joined the thread and started trolling as well. They tied a direct response to a post that was based on logic alone to my political beliefs and then extended it to my Christian beliefs. I have evidence of many very derogatory remarks attacking my religion (based on speculation or the fact that I wear a cross...broad stroke accusations that were wildly inaccurate about both my political beliefs and religious beliefs) comments that remained while reasonable rebuttals were removed. There were a lot of "you people" epithets etc. People started sending private messages that they shared the same experience. I started downloading the content of my interactions on nextdoor.com and got blocked.

Me September 23, 2023

Correct and I agree

UinAZ February 07, 2024

Agreed!

Unfair practices/assessments
September 12, 2023

I was a neighbor on Nextdoor in a large Texas city and it was great, it was being used for it’s intended purpose, to build a better community. Then I moved to a small town in Texas. Here Nextdoor is a dumpster fire. A great divide between political parties, 75% vs 25% where the majority harasses the minority on a daily basis. I’m a reviewer and there are so many reported comments that ND has to remove, yet there no punishment, other than removal of their comments. It happens over and over and because of that, it will remain a dumpster fire.

One of these persons (in the 75%) sent a made up/fake comment on a private message between the two of us to Nextdoor support and because of that fake comment that was never a part of our conversation (where she she claimed she’d told me to stop messaging her) which she never wrote in the course of our conversation, I was suspended for 14 days. So I appealed, fortunately I take screenshots and I sent ND an email, providing these screenshots as proof of the conversation as it was when I left the private messaging conversation. Undeniable proof.

Where this person’s “fake” comment she sent to ND came from, I don’t know but it never appeared during the conversation as of when I left it. Screenshots prove it. Again, Nextdoor somehow sided with this woman and denied my appeal. So I appealed that decision. I pointed out step by step who said what in chronological order supported again by the screenshots up until the time I permanently left that private messaging conversation. I’m awaiting a response. How anyone can deny what was actually said vs a comment (lie) that came out of nowhere to be sent to ND I just don’t understand. It was made up and that was never in the conversation.

Meanwhile this woman is allowed to continue with all the comments that get her in trouble time after time. So much so she created a proven number of FOUR accounts, which she stated herself on the main feed, they were in the very same neighborhood using DIFFERENT NAMES and I’m the one that got suspended. I’m a dedicated reviewer trying to improve the Nextdoor experience in this town and Nextdoor support knows that.

Yet despite my record of being honest, fair and unbiased, backed up with actual screenshots I received the punishment, for this woman’s lie. This is egregious and an obvious unfair assessment of the situation and consequent punishment.

Tooty January 28, 2024

ND 100% denies appeals, why they have an appeal process in place is questionable being that they never say they are wrong, never admit to being wrong regardless of evidence, and always side with personal friends of their leads - their display of entitlement is disgusting.

NEXTDOOR is heavily socialist/liberal controlled
August 7, 2023

Clearly, there are many more that see what Nextdoor really is because of all the one star comments... here is my review (from experiences)...

I completely agree that Nextdoor is silencing those with Conservative opinions. They are in fact the worst "social site" on the internet... even worse than Fbook!

I recently made a comment regarding a person selling flowers on the streets, while their babies sat in the shade... in the HOT blistering heat in TEXAS... I posted this comment... "Naturally gotta wonder, is she American or someone here illegally?" It is well known FACT that people (non American) are here illegally, and needy. My comment was removed, as "disrespectful". Nothing disrespectful about questioning this behavior.

On another note, the same day, I made a comment regarding Governor Abbott of Texas as being the better choice for Texas than ANY Democrat, because people are moving here in droves from Democrat led cities and states... to escape crime ridden (primarily) Democrat cities, and states. My comment was removed.

CLEARLY, it appears that Nextdoor is stifling opposing views, and opinions. I have documented each and every time I have been silenced... and also this REVIEW. It appears that Nextdoor is not for Conservative, rational thinkers. Nor is it about "community" and "neighbors". It appears to be a very divisive platform, where the socialists and liberals have a voice over Conservative ideas and opinions

BarbaraHyatt January 16, 2024

That likely depends on where you live. I'm in a neighborhood that is very conservative, so the leads shut down anything that doesn't fit that agenda.

Next door
August 3, 2023

My intention is people need to lock vehicles and stop letting animals get free and removing fees.. it's every other post. It's not disrespectful. It's disrespectful to get a animal and then dump it and or to remove it cause you choose to get it and now it's a big inconvenience somehow.

What is disrespectful is the people that keep wanting to flag and afraid of the truth.

What's disrespectful is my freedom to express the truth. How would you feel if you were that pet stuck in 100 plus degrees and outside dumped or scared and not know where you were?

What's disrespectful is the people that don't lock vehicles up and complain like it is the community fault. What do you think happens when you lock a vehicle and hide items? Less likely to get broken into or rummage through.

Sad for our country that things have come this far...
July 20, 2023

Absolutely disgusting gang stalking app that assists Karens and other busy bodies spy on, stalk, harass, slander, ridicule, bully, shame, and ultimately destroy neighbors they don’t even know.

Secretly of course – just like the Stasi of East Germany, the Gestapo of Nazi Germany, the KKK, etc... reading over these reviews it seems many of you have allowed yourselves to become distracted by the Right vs. Left narrative.

Yes, this company was founded by some San Francisco leftists, but they really don’t care. If you move a lot , you will find that both the fascists on the right and the commies on the left are using this app to try and take over neighborhoods and drive the people they don’t like out (or better yet, have them secretly ‘disappeared’).

Have things really gotten to this point in the good ol’ US of A? Sadly yes, and the argument could be made that things have always been this way , if you take into account the great American tradition of extra-legal judiciary measures (that word that you’re not allowed to mention if you want your review posted.

Its not even a question IF its happening, just a question of HOW MANY victims there have been at this point, and how many of those were innocent.

But this app is just a tool, a weapon if you will, and weapons don’t have agency of their own. Whatever prevailing doctrine in whatever particular town, rest assured this app will be weaponized against anyone who not only dare opposes, but also anyone even suspected of not being completely on-board with the programming.

The biggest clown world punchline of this all is that the Nextdoor Corporation likes to promote itself as a great way to foster neighborliness and build ‘nice’ communities, when we all know that in the real world its being used to engender hatred, discord, and negativity. Those who use this app to try and gain 100% control over their environment are the ones who should be ashamed, and maybe should try reading the US Constitution (for once).

All few remaining sensible and freedom loving Americans be aware, and maybe we should band together to try and have this company taken down. Class action lawsuits are being organized, but it may already be too late for America.

Me September 23, 2023

I am with you completely

Nextdoor leads and moderators are derisive
July 9, 2023

I am writing this letter to express my deep dissatisfaction and frustration with the recent series of suspensions I have received on your political discussion board. This marks the third time that I have been suspended for a month, and what concerns me the most is that this time, I was not even given an opportunity to have my post reviewed. Such actions demonstrate a clear disregard for fairness and due process.

As a participant in your political discussion board, I have always strived to engage in civil and respectful discourse while expressing my opinions and engaging with other members. I understand that differing viewpoints are to be expected in any political forum, but it is disheartening to see that the board appears to be run by individuals who have a particular agenda. It seems that anyone who disagrees with their opinions or points of view is at risk of being banned.

To mitigate the potential for conflict, I have taken the initiative to advise people to either mute or block me on the board, or remove me from their respective feeds. I believe this is a fair and reasonable solution for those who may find my viewpoints challenging or uncomfortable. However, it has come to my attention that the moderators have been using unblocked users to make derisive comments, which goes against the principles of a healthy and respectful discussion environment.

I firmly believe that if a discussion board, particularly one centered around politics, cannot act in compliance with its own guidelines and foster an atmosphere of unbiased debate, it should be reconsidered and possibly shut down. The current state of affairs raises serious concerns about the integrity and fairness of the board, as well as the intentions and motivations of those who oversee it.

Moreover, I cannot help but feel targeted as an older person with a strong moral compass. Discrimination based on age or personal values is not only unjust but also detrimental to creating a diverse and inclusive space for intellectual exchange. This unfair treatment undermines the very essence of democracy, where differing opinions should be encouraged and respected.

I hereby request a thorough investigation into the circumstances surrounding my suspensions, as well as the moderation practices of your political discussion board. I kindly ask that you address my concerns promptly and transparently, providing me with a fair opportunity to present my case and engage in a constructive dialogue to reach a resolution.

Mike August 07, 2023

I second that

Me September 23, 2023

I also second that Mickey, exactly the same kind of experience

Kasarija September 30, 2023

I second your second.

AlexOpalenik October 15, 2023

They constantly censure your thoughts and speech. I feel like I am in Communist China or something. Doesn't seem like America with these socialists running this platform.

Sensoring people when there's no cause.
May 24, 2023

I like the app because I've been able to reach out to my neighbors and slowly let them get to know me and get a feel for who I am. What I don't like is being taken down off the app for my opinions. Wanting to give my neighbors the truth about details of bad things happening in my neighborhood county etc. You get suspended for for next to nothing and it's to keep you from trying to bring people together while it's about keeping it apart.

I mean what's wrong with all of us meeting in the park and having kegs and BBQ. we come together as a community we can all walk and it's a chance for us all to slap each other with a good game and shake hands. Then you know who's in the trenches with you if war ever comes to our nation. Right now we're all so divided with the drug addiction and police brutality and especially internet and censoring us telling the truth. Crazy.

This app is no good. To be a neighborhood app that's for the community they sure sensor things that matter. I'm not racist but they say I'm violating guidelines when I talk about people being biostatistics toward my people. My pets were stolen plain and simple and they kick me off before I could tell the story. Same with my animal being euthanized. Kicked me off for 30 days next afternoon I get the call after some lady talks crap tome about the subject. Ya there's funny stuff going on.

It's a great source to reach out to your community though. So I use it don't agree with the way they run it because when you sensor it's a clear violation on the constitutional rights we have been set forth

Mike August 07, 2023

Agreed

Me September 23, 2023

Yep I agree

AlexOpalenik October 15, 2023

The same thing happened to me. I got censured and thrown off this platform several times. I am not a racist, I don't use profanity, and I am not mean to people. But if you have conservative views, you are done for. They will censure you for anything you say, even if it is totally innocent. They want to stop what you think and stop your speech. Socialists and Communists running this platform. Really sad here in America.