NextDoor.com Reviews

About NextDoor.com

NextDoor.com is a new, private social network designed just for you and the other members of your neighborhood and your community to interact online in order to make your neighborhood better and safer.

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the goal of this website is to give neighbors and communities a place to interact with each other to get to know each other better, and in the process, create a better and safer community.

To sign up as a member of NextDoor.com, you must submit your residential address as well as go through a series of multiple verifications to ensure that you are actually a member of the neighborhood, and not an outsider. 

Members must always use their real names, and not chosen internet handles, and they have completely control over how much information is shared and where it is shared. They also promise that their member information will never be available on public search engines like Google, and that no member information will ever be shared with third party advertisers. 

Once you are a member, NextDoor.com encourages you to use their site as a place to share information, like to spread the word about break-ins, find trustworthy babysitters or pet sitters, ask for help in locating lost pets, or simply to find out peoples’ names and organize neighborhood social functions.

Cost/Price Plans

This website is very adamant that they are completely free for members to sign up and use to interact with their neighbors and other members of their community. In order to ensure the most memberships and interaction, this website decided not to include membership costs. 

Refund Policy

Since no fees are paid at any time to NextDoor.com, there is no Refund Policy being offered by this website. Instead, if customers are ever invited by an ad or a link to go outside of this website and make a purchase, they will have to adhere to any Refund Policies offered by the website where they are actually making their purchase. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who have questions, concerns, or complaints they would like to direct to their Customer Service team can contact them by submitting them directly to their website through their Terms & Conditions page, which offers a Contact Us link at the bottom of the page.

Reputation

Unfortunately there are some negative complaints about this website online. However, none of these complaints appear to be about the security of this website or the lack of privacy measures, which is often what most people are concerned about when sharing details of their home life.

Most of the complaints by far were regarding the content of the information discussed on their neighborhood’s page, with most people saying that this is just a place for judgmental neighbors to sit around and gossip about the people in the neighborhood they don’t know or don’t like. Others complained that there were too many neighbors using this site as a way to sell or promote things for sale.

However, it does genuinely seem as though these experiences are not in the majority, and that your experience will depend greatly on the neighborhood you live in, and the “lead” contact in your neighborhood, as the lead is the person who establishes your neighborhood page and sends out the initial invitations. 

In general it seems as though there is a lot of good that can be taken away from the proper and appropriate use of this site, and the more neighbors who get involved, the more likely it is that the site will be used for what it is intended for.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

Certainly the internet is home to a wide variety of different social networks, and many neighborhoods already offer pages on popular social media sites like Facebook, or they may offer a Twitter handle for sharing of informational as well. 

If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your NextDoor.com reviews below.

You May Also Be Interested In

80 ‘NextDoor.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Leftist/Liberal Biased Site

October 20, 2020

Moderators can censor your comments and frequently do without explanation or recourse. Name calling, profanity, and double-standards are allowed but reporting news, facts, and using reason to argue are frowned upon. Can be and often is just as biased and capricious as Twitter or Facebook.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Next Door

September 20, 2020

I believe this is a good idea that can be useful to local and service businesses like mine. DH Financial Health Insurance Services. Yet, in spite of it being a good concept, it will fail from the overall management of the business, areas of neglect and it not having available. "live" customer support. Next Door is now charging for Zip Code area promotion of your business, and state, while drafting monthly payments from your checking account, that you must have customer recommendations before they promote your business; HOWEVER, they have NOWHERE on their website for your clients to place their reviews, or recommendations. My clients explored the website and could not place their reviews on it; therefore, my business is NOT being displayed nor promoted. Next Door ,in the meanwhile, is consistently withdrawing $31 a month from me. NEXT DOOR IS UNREACHABLE TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM!! THEY DO NOT ANSWER YOUR EMAILS SENT TO THE EMAIL : AGENCY SUPPORT ... NOR ON THEIR TELEPHONE LINE, WHEN YOU LEAVE A VOICE MAIL MESSAGE: IT SAYS TO WRITE TO AGENCY SUPPORT WHO NEVER RESPONDS:CALLS NOR WRITE. YET, THEY ARE ALIVE TO TAKE THE $31 DRAFT EACH MONTH. I WILL SOON REPORT -- THIS ABUSE OF MY CONSUMER RIGHTS AND CONSUMER TRUST-- TO THE PROPER
AUTHORITIES. I AM HOPING, BEFORE I TAKE THAT STRINGENT ACTION, I WILL HEAR FROM THEM.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Nextdoor.com/Liberal Heaven

September 19, 2020

These guys are a real piece of work !! They only want those who toe the Bidet / Come Holla mark and no Trump folks like myself. I started a group at their suggestion with the word "Patriot" in it and it was geared towards the Conservative viewpoint.The folks at Nextdoor didn't like my Conservative views and disabled my account.However they left the liberal poster who made all sorts of outrageous posts to the group on their site . Talk about bias. I should have been smarter they are based in San Fran and are part of the Nancy Pelosi, Maxine Waters ilk. Nice "honest" folks!!! Stay as far away from these liberal clowns as you can.

October 20, 2020

My experience was very much the same.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Very Biased Website

September 13, 2020

This website allows unkind and judgmental postings of the far left on controversial subjects, but if a conservative reacts with comments to that posting then they are admonished and forbidden back into the site until signing a pledge to "be kind, not judgmental, in your conversations." They will admonish and blacklist you by taking the word of troublemakers and criminals without trying to get to the truth of the matter by giving you a chance to respond to their accusations. I find this website to be very biased and poorly run. If I could rate it less than one, I would.

View all 2 Comments
September 19, 2020

Amen brother I agree 100%!

October 20, 2020

My experience was similar.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

They will suspend you if you blink

August 6, 2020

Full of controversial topics, but god forbid if you are even slightly unfriendly.

I started a thread supportive of law enforcement and got reported for violation of terms. Later, I told an idiot that I tended to block idiots and they gave me a suspension.

1 star rated. Better options out there. Plus, you use your real name and neighborhood, which can potentially create problems.

View all 2 Comments
September 19, 2020

The fools at Nextdoor are plentiful and stupid. MAGA 2020!

October 20, 2020

I just deactivated my account and could not be happier.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Censorship Alive and Well on Nextdoor

August 3, 2020

I was suspended for 3 days a while back and only got back on recently. Basically, liberals are allowed to spew hate, vulgarity, and call people racists, but as soon as a conservative engages in truth and facts, they're shut down. After purposefully NOT directing any comments at one individual, I finally called him out for mocking Secret Service agents in the Presidential motorcade as clowns. He's the same one who told me I was a racist. I'm suspended for 30 days...if I go back on, it will be strictly to report people's comments that I find offensive. I certainly advise people to stay away from Nextdoor!

September 19, 2020

I am not wasting any more of my time dealing with these brainwashed idiots!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Not what it seems!

July 24, 2020

I downloaded the Nextdoor app recently. It became abundantly clear that it was NOT what it advertised to be. It's just one more instrument of the Left Wing Liberal Fascists. Their motto is, "You're entitled to your own opinion so long as it's the same as mine!" Needless to say I deleted the app.

September 19, 2020

Well put my friend and how true!!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

this site allows vulgar attacks

July 23, 2020

when you try to protect yourself by altering the full legal name they require because someone used it to find you and harrass you outside of nextdoor you get kicked off but the vulgar spewing harrasser is all good and protected

View all 2 Comments
September 19, 2020

Have been there and experienced that!

October 20, 2020

Sounds familiar.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Straight Up Criminal Website. Complete Liability and Rip-off. Consumer and Good Samaritan Warning.

July 21, 2020

Nextdoor is not what it claims to be. If it isn't in writing, don't believe it. Look at the results.
In other words consider all of this:

An incident occured in a local neighborhood where a "lead" had a false phone number that lead to a dead-end trail for a roofing company that was not even in the area. This sketchy "lead" showed up taking pictures of other people's cars without the consent of the property owners. They initially showed up knocking on doors but later reverted to taking pictures of their vehicles including license plate numbers. This conduct exposes unsuspecting property owners to identity theft and fraud. A second incident occured where rocks were thrown at houses by delinquent kids out at night. A third incident occured where a delinquent kid wearing a hoodie was eavesdropping a conversation near somebody's bedroom while trespassing on property at midnight. Caught on camera. These incidents are all linked to sockpuppet accounts found with false names and fictitious contact details. A political bias is shown in the "moderators" of the website that additionally favor libel related postings against veterans of the United States Military. Another incident occured where local neighbors were setting off particularly noisy fireworks for two consecutive days straight prior to the 4th of July. All of this was precipitated under the current direction of the "leads" and "moderators" on a local nextdoor listing. Another incident occured where one of the "leads" in the local area libeled a military veteran for alleged mail theft. The lead never provided material evidence of these allegations and because he was buddy-buddy with the admins and moderators, he was actually allowed to libel a United States Military Veteran who served his country honorably and was good enough to retire after 20 years. The veteran defended himself as he was jogging and told that "lead" to mind his own business warning him of potential civil court action if he continued. This "lead" made an explicit violent threat against this veteran just after the veteran was kicked off the Nextdoor website by one of the admins so that the veteran could not actually be able to prove an explicit violent threat was made during the libel thread that this "lead" instigated. Additionally, the content is not accessible under a traditional search engine. Other reviews have shown that the "moderators" and "admins" have Carte Blanche to delete anything that goes against their own left-leaning liberal biases. Posts proven and shown as libel are not taken down while those defending themselves against the libel postings are simultaneously kicked. This is a sneaky way of ducking out of a pending lawsuit for defamation. Finally, Nextdoor demonstrates a source of divide and conquer as shown by repeated racist postings falsely accusing people of being inferior because of the way they look. Neighbors have been making written threats of "knowing where you are" pending any kind of tactful disagreement about what they say vs. what they are actually doing. Selective Enforcement and Double Standards are the norm.

September 19, 2020

110% CORRECT!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Another left leaning SJW site

July 14, 2020

Been suspended twice. First for calling looters and rioters 'thugs' and second for calling out that lecturing strangers in public for not wearing masks, even if they have a medical condition that prevents them, is mask shaming. Nextdoor admins are pushing their SJW leftest agenda. If you disagree with them, you get suspended. Looking forward to my next suspension.

View all 2 Comments
September 19, 2020

I removed myself was tired of their crap and nonsense!! They have no love for anyone but themselves. Kind of queer if you ask me!

October 20, 2020

Deactivated my account today. Happy day!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Temporarily Banned

June 22, 2020

Nextdoor.com is one-sided. I was temporarily banned and I was not informed of the reason. Probably because I stated something negative about a BLM protest, consisting of all white teens, crowding both sides of a small road, and seriously impeding cars, suv's, and me on a bicycle. I think all that I said was that 'they should move back because there was no shoulder, no curb, nothing but a narrow two lane road with about 30 large white teens waving signs above the road and chanting. Two more days and then I can get back on the "neighborhood" website.

September 19, 2020

Don't go back !! Repeating the same behavior over and over with the same results is the definition of insanity.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Their stated purpose is not served..

June 18, 2020

A website for neighbors has gotta have room for negativity and members just want fluff. That's what facebook is for. There are a lot of legal, safety, and ethics issues right now trickling down to the little towns, and we need help, discussion, and answers. This website is not the place.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Tried to open a private folder.

June 14, 2020

I was on Nextdoor for a number of years but never used it much, however, about two months ago I logged in just to see what was going on and got a warning from AVG that “This site is trying to read your file “Tax Returns” do you wish to let it? To say the least I said no and got off of my local Nextdoor never to go back!

June 19, 2020

I had no idea this might be a problem with Nextdoor. Thank you.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

NextDoor should not censor informational conversation

May 26, 2020

NextDoor censors - they don't allow conversations to happen - they delete them. That is a terrible way to treat people. Everyone should have the right to say what's on their mind.
Specifically, I said I was missing a whole conversation about how to boost our immune system during this covid-19 time. I know that China and S Korea have successfully treated patients with high-dose IV Vit C. I know my doctor has stopped covid-19 symptoms in people with Viraclear. I know a doctor in NYC has treated people with glutathione. I know of many ways to boost the immune system. That post was pulled.
Then I posted info about the 9-part Vaccine series currently running that was explaining that vaccines are not effective or safe. That post was attacked. Then I was told that I would be banned if I wrote anymore about it.
Well - that info is life-saving. People cannot blindly trust vaccines. They have too much foreign stuff in them that sickens, injures and kills. Bill Gates' vaccines do not have a good history anywhere in the world. They're a ticket to extermination, basically, and we need to be able to say this.

June 19, 2020

Far-left website. If your idea differs in the slightest, you get kicked out of the discussion.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Not for good neighborhoods

May 19, 2020

Just a lot of bullying and childish behavior. just like a mini fakebook site. nothing obviously is being monitored.

June 19, 2020

Well stated. That has been my experience also.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review