Lomi Compost Reviews

Lomi Compost
( 39 reviews )
Website: Pela.Earth

The Lomi Compost from Pela is a machine aiming to make it easier to turn food scraps into a usable compost which is rich in nutrients. 

The Lomi compost could be used for a home garden, houseplants, flowerbeds, and other household uses. 

Lomi creators state their product can help customers change the way they deal with waste, so less goes into the landfills.

How Does it Work?

Lomi is different from other types of kitchen composters because it works in three different ways.  It will break down the waste, create compost, and decompose bioplastics. 

It uses heat, moisture, and smart sensors to help improve the rate of biodegradation, allowing you to create usable compost relatively quickly.

The machine is easy to use, as it only requires a single button.  There are no complicated settings or programming to worry about with the compost machine. It is a user-friendly device.

It is possible to add waste to Lomi while it is running.  While this is convenient, it is important to keep in mind that it will start the cycle over again.

It’s better to wait to add new material until the current cycle is complete unless it is still early in the cycle.

In the United States and Canada, the product will be 110V. The Australian Plug will be 220V to 240V. The EU version will have a type C plug.

The EU version will run at 220 to 240V as well.  You can run a cycle whenever needed.

It’s recommended that you do not leave food scraps just sitting in the compost machine, though, as it could start to lead to odors.

Pela, the company that makes the product, looks to provide green solutions even with the construction of the compost machine.  It's made from recyclable plastic, while the interior pieces are made from durable metal.

Loma is also going to be part of the Pela 360 program. This means that instead of tossing the machine into the landfill, owners can send it back to the company, so it can be disposed of properly.

How Big is the Lomi Composter?

One of the benefits of the Lomi Compost compared with other compost bins is the size. 

The measurements for the product are only 16” wide,  13” deep, and 12” high.  It's small enough to easily fit into most kitchens without any issue.

The appearance of the compost bin is kitchen-friendly, as well. It should fit in well with other appliances thanks to the design and white color.

How Long Does Lomi Take to Turn Waste into Compost?

The length of time it takes will depend on a couple of factors.

First, it will depend on the cycle that you choose. Second, it depends on the types of items that are in the machine.  The Eco cycle will provide quality compost in about 20 hours.

The Express cycle is the shortest and will create neutral natural fertilizer in about six hours.  The Bioplastics cycle can also produce fertilizer. This will take about 24 hours.

The end product of all of the cycles will be usable compost. The Eco cycle will provide the most mature compost.

The number of times that you might have to use the product each week will vary, as well.  It will depend on the amount of food waste you have.

In some cases, a household with just two people might only need to run the machine two or three times a week.  For a larger household, it might need to be run daily.

What Food Scraps Can Be Used?

You can use a range of fruits, vegetables, meats, dairy products, and other items in the compost machine.

The IndieGogo site and the manual will have full instructions on what can and can’t be used with the machine.

How Much Will the Lomi Compost Cost?

There are several tiers on IndieGoGo for the compost machine.

  • IndieGoGo Special – $379 for a single machine.
  • Lomi – Early International - $399 for a single machine
  • 2 Lomi Special –  $699 for two machines
  • 4 Lomi Special – $1,299 for four machines
  • 10 Lomi Special – $3,199 for 10 machines

The estimated delivery is December of 2021 for all products except for the Early International offering, which is September of 2022.

Is There a Warranty?

Lomi will come with a 1-year warranty, which will be extended to a 3-year warranty when the buyer registers the product.

The warranty will cover manufacturer defects in the product material or workmanship.

Is the Lomi Compost Worth It?

Although there is a lot of excitement around the Lomi Compost and all of the new technology it is bringing to composting, it's not yet available, and there aren’t any customer reviews yet to determine whether it is legit.

However, all of the information that is being provided appears to be upfront and honest, and those who are interested in composting their food scraps will want to check the machine out to see if it might work well for their needs.

As mentioned, Pela says that making a preorder through IndieGoGo will be the cheapest price available for the machine, so it may be a good decision to order early.

If you have any experience with the Lomi Compost, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Lomi Compost Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Does not work as advertised. A rip off. Save your money.
July 2, 2022

It is a rip off I ordered a Lomi and have used it 7 times It does not work as advertised and the compost to be used in the garden comes out like a cow patty.

No customer service nor does their website give information on how to contact them.

Don’t waste your money or kitchen counter space. $500 thrown away.

After you buy their product, they "automatically" enroll you in a service you do NOT want!
July 2, 2022

I hate this company. I have been trying since June 24, 2022, to cancel their subscription service for quarterly receipts of charcoal to use in the machine. They have made it as hard as possible. I cannot find the cancel subscription button, although I scrolled to the bottom of my account (as instructed) and although their is a place that says "Manage Membership."

First of all, I never enrolled in their "subscription service" for charcoal. They "automatically" put me in it. Second, there website makes it appear that you "must request" this service. They do NOT clearly indicate that enrollment is "automatic." What a SCAM!!! They are SCAMMERS!

Good machine but beware
June 30, 2022

I purchased this to be more efficient. I must say the machine works well and make fertile soil out of food waste quickly. However, they don’t tell or warn you not to leave the compost in the bucket!

I made a batch of compost and forgot it for about a week or so…when I opened the unit and tried to remove the basket it wouldn’t move. The compost was almost rock hard!!!! I had to get a screw driver and hammer and gently break up the compost.

After removing as much as I could, the basket was still stuck and the paddle was not moving. I tried soaking it in vinegar & baking soda overnight. A little of the compost came off but it was still stuck.

I looked and saw that several people had written and said they encountered a problem with the paddle getting stuck. And made several suggestions. I wrote to customer service and finally got a reply. They suggested putting boiling water in the bucket and letting it soak for about 1/2 hr. I did that…still nothing.

Eventually we used a steamer and more boiling water and I was finally able to get the bucket out. With a lot of elbow grease, thin wire and several hours of time spent….the paddle was freed and bucket removed!

I responded to the email from customer service about how difficult it was to get the machine operational again and that they need to include a warning about leaving compost in the bucket….no response.

Bottom line: don’t ever leave compost sitting in the bucket and make sure you clean it thoroughly.

Inferior product - poorly made
June 30, 2022
The first time I used it, it worked. The second time I tried, I could not get the lid to go back on to securely close the unit. If I take the bucket out, the lid completely shuts, but with the bucket securely placed back in, the lid does not close no matter how many times you try to jiggle or turn the lid to go on. I contacted customer service for assistance, but they will not return my calls or emails. This product is worthless if you can't get the lid on!

Want a full refund for never received Lomi.
June 22, 2022
If I could give this company zero I would. Never received the Lomi to date when promised in early June. No response. No live chat. The poorest customer response and service EVER. Am contacting US and Canadian consumer protection to report.

Not Worth It!
June 21, 2022

The concept of turning food waste into a compost in 15 hours is amazing but wait till you get your electric bill. I didn't mind that, but I tried using the GROW compost on my plants and there was mold now on my plants.

Also, the RED light started blinking after 2 weeks because of that the GROW mode doesn't look the same as it used to dry and it looked like a soil, now it's damp, wet and clumpy.

I just bought it early June and so I'm trying to return it, but I know they'll play games by not responding. So I'm cancelling my cc purchase instead.

Buyer beware!,,,,
June 9, 2022

I have not even received the Lomi, but I want to warn anyone considering this item that the purchase process is a bait and switch. You think you are getting the composted for 49 dollars and viola, you are charged another $481!

There is no way, other than mail, to contact Pela and they never get back to you. I tried, without success, to cancel my order. I tried, without success to get them to contact me. I have turned this purchase over to my credit cards fraud team. I hope it can be returned.

SusanneBlair June 09, 2022

I meant to say that you can only contact them via Email.

No good
June 3, 2022
Horrible customer service. Don't buy it. Not worth the money. They say you can try it for 30 days. Lies. They don't email or call you back.

LucyHorton June 05, 2022

I believe this product is a scam. I am going to explore filing a complaint with the equivalent of state attorney general in British Columbia, where the company is headquartered. I would like to see this company investigated. We'd like to tretunr this useless monstrosity, but it would cost hundreds of dollars to ship it to Canada. I'll needd to find a US address.

Do NOT buy this defective product.

Save your money, this product is a SCAM.
June 2, 2022
This product is an absolute scam. They have made the return process as hard as absolutely possible. I’ve been fighting with them for weeks now. I can’t believe I was stupid enough to fall for this.

Rip Off
May 29, 2022

Update #7 from Lomi received last NOVEMBER stated that Lomi would be shipping soon. I've contacted them multiple times over the last 6 months and still don't have one. I paid for two.

The last email was 2 hours ago. When I clicked on the link to leave feedback, it says that link has expired. I think they took my money with no intention of sending me anything.

Stay Away Does NOT work as claimed
May 27, 2022

I have only used my Lomi 3 times and only the first time went through the soil cycle successfully. Since then I’ve taken to cutting up the scraps into smaller than 1 inch pieces and it gets stuck repeatedly. I emailed customer support and all they told me is that yes, scraps should be small when placed into the Lomi.

Yesterday I cut lettuce and carrot peels into 1/4 inch pieces, practically shredded, and it stopped processing after 15-20 seconds, I would “clear” the obstruction and without fail it would stop and flash red every time in any cycle!

I spent 20 minutes monitoring the thing and it failed every time. I would NOT recommend this item to anyone. If this could not process lettuce which practically composts itself, what is the purpose of having it never mind the cost which is high, that I happily paid expecting it would work as promised. And don’t get me started about the tablet & charcoal subscription that you are stuck with for 2 years!!! Run, run away from this product.

Works great...until it doesn't
May 24, 2022
I was so excited to receive my Lomi. It worked great for about 6 weeks. Now it no longer grinds the food. It shuts off a few hours into the cycle no matter which cycle is chosen. There is no helpful trouble shooting guide. There is no way to contact the company except through email which has been ignored. Now it's just a $500 addition to the land fill. Very disappointed. One star is too many for this product.

SandraLevarek May 25, 2022

Me too disappointed... no support

Very disappointed in Lomi
May 18, 2022

After using Lomi on a nearly daily basis for about 3 months, I would discourage anyone from buying it.

First, it does not really compost. It shreds and dehydrates kitchen waste. If you try to use it as compost, it rehydrates and begins to mould.

Secondly, if you want to replace the activated charcoal pellets that allow you to use the machine indoors without a lot of odors, you have to sign up for their program where they send you new charcoal every 3 months.

In my experience, the charcoal needs to be replaced much more frequently than that. What kind of a company sells a product that requires replacing a filter, but refuses to just sell the replacement when you need it. It’s a scam in my books.

Thirdly, if you want the 3 year extended warranty, you also have to sign up for their costly program. You can’t just purchase it like any regular legit company does.

Does not do what it says it does
May 11, 2022
The Lomi does break down and dehydrate food scraps, but it does not create soil, and in my experience I couldn’t even use the recommended 10% ratio of the Lomi-soil to my actual soil. The Lomi-soil rehydrates, and became moldy in my case. It also managed to harden in my plant pots (I used less than 10% of the Lomi-soil in my soil ratio), causing me to throw out a lot of store-bought soil, and repot a bunch of plants. Very disappointing. I’m also stuck in a “subscription” with them wherein I have to keep buying charcoal and pellets for, I believe, two years. Overpriced and does not meet expectations.

Customer service, what's that?
May 11, 2022

Worked great for about a week. After that is won't turn on, a light flashing says heating issue. Look in book for troubleshooting. It mentions the problem, and that's where it ends. No tips to fix it. Reset it several times didn't do anything.

Sent emails, contacted through Instagram, Facebook. Absolutely NO RESPONSE. No phone number, no way to contact them other than what I have tried.

Broke after 4 uses. No service help
May 6, 2022

We were gifted this Lomi from a friend who never opened the box. We used it 4 times with great success. Loaded #5 and got an error message indicating ventilation fan error. The manual only recommended resetting to clear the error which did not work.

Attempts to resolve with Lomi were not productive. Not only are they offering no warranty since we were not the original purchaser, they have not offered any solution to what we now know is a known flaw. You will read similar issues with other reviews.

Sad that a machine designed to reduce landfill waste will actually be adding plastic, metal and electronics to our landfill when we throw it away.

Did not perform as expected
May 4, 2022

I have tried many combinations of items and cycle times and have had zero good results with Lomi.

very POOR customer service
May 3, 2022
I asked to cancel my order over a week ago. They (Katrina (Lomi)) agreed. Today, they attempted to charge my card. FAIL

VERY discouraged and upset
April 28, 2022

I am so discouraged. We did not read reviews before we ordered. We had success for a few weeks, but now when I start it, within seconds a light flashes saying that there is a ventilation issue. There is no information on how to fix this.

I see that other people have had the same issue. It is with the fan. What????? The product is new. I also don't see how you contact the company. VERY disappointing. Maybe this review will get some attention and I can then write a positive review. One is clearly needed.

BryanIp May 12, 2022

I have the same issue. Good to know that I'm not the only one.

LucyHorton June 05, 2022

Yes, we have the same problem.

Does NOT wor as advertised!!!
April 27, 2022

This this is worthless!!! It worked twice, and then nothing. I ran it on grow mode ( to make compost) twice, and then tried the express mode, and it hasn't worked right since. No sounds of indications that it is not working correctly.

Just a lot of wasted time and energy. POOR customer service!! We add food, and 5-20 hrs later (depending on the mode) when we open it up,it looks exactly the same. I would not buy this or recommend this to others.