Kailo Patch Reviews

Kailo Patch
( 25 reviews )
Website: GoKailo.com

Kailo Patch Review: Legit or Scam?

Reviewopedia staff  -  Updated:  November 6, 2023
Editorial Note:  Reviewopedia is supported by our readers. This page contains Amazon affiliate links. Commissions do not affect our evaluations or recommendations.

 

The Kailo Patch is an analgesic pain-relieving adhesive body patch intended to relieve arthritic, neuropathic, and musculoskeletal pain.

We'll take a look at the company's claims, the science behind how the patch is claimed to work, and finally at real customer reviews and complaints about the Kailo Patch.

How Does the Kailo Patch Work?

The patch is marketed as a drug-free alternative to other pain relief methods.

The company behind the patch, Kailo Labs LLC, states the patch's effectiveness is backed by science and has been shown in an Institutional Review Board (IRB) approved study to significantly relieve pain.

The Kailo Patch uses a reusable adhesive, making it possible for you to reuse the patch multiple times.

According to the company, to use the Kailo Patch you should place it near (but slightly above) the source of pain. 

Then move it away from the pain and toward your brain, following the natural pathway of the nervous system.

Once you identify the source of pain you are supposed to remove the plastic on the device and place it on your skin or over lightweight clothing.  

The Kailo Patch was developed through crowdfunding, raising nearly 2 million U.S. dollars on Indiegogo.

It is claimed to work via 'bio-antenna' that the company states interacts with the electrical signals that naturally occur in your body.

These antenna are said to act by restoring proper communication between the painful area of the body and the brain.

According to Kailo, the patch contains billions of nanoparticles of silver and copper that act as capacitors, which can store an electrical charge.

The patch supposedly soaks in the body's ambient energy and directs it back at the body, acting as a bridge between the painful area and the brain, which processes pain signals.

The proposed mechanism of action behind the Kailo Patch has been criticized by pain experts, who state that it is inconsistent with our understanding of pain neurobiology. [1]

For example, the nerve signals supposedly soaked up by the Kailo Patch are faint and there is scant scientific evidence showing that the nanocapacitors alone can help relieve pain.

The claim that the Kailo patch does not have to be applied to the skin but works through clothing is also questionable.

The Science Behind the Kailo Patch

The Kailo Patch was tested in a clinical trial financed by Pain Relief Technologies, the distributors of patch, and run by a research company called Clarity Science LLC. [ 2 ]

The trial is prominently displayed on the company's website as evidence suggesting the effectiveness of the Kailo Patch.

The study reported statistically significant results showing that the Kailo Patch decreased pain levels significantly with no side-effects, with 91% of participants saying they were using less oral pain medication because of the patch.

However, the trial methodology was questionable and its results were potentially skewed. 

For example, a control group should be equivalent to the treatment group in all measures, but the control group in the study was much smaller than the test group, and the types of pain being experienced were not equally distributed between the two groups.

Additionally, some participants dropped out of the trial, though it is not clear why.

The study makes no mention of how the study participants were recruited and how many dropped out of the trial, thus potentially skewing the results significantly. 

Customer Reviews & Complaints

Customer reviews for the Kailo patch are mixed.

While some customers have reported significant pain relief after using the patch, others have not experienced any noticeable improvement.

On Amazon the Kailo Patch also gets mixed reviews, with a rating of 3.2 / 5 from over 2,000 customer reviews.

See Kailo Patch reviews on Amazon

Kailo Labs LLC has a rating of B+ from the BBB with 13 customer complaints in last 3 years and 7 complaints in previous 12 months.

Customer reviews for the Kailo Patch at the BBB average to only 2.47 / 5 stars from 19 customer reviews.

Kailo Patch reviews here on Reviewopedia are equally mixed, with some customers complaining about the ineffectiveness of the patch and poor customer service.

Customer Service

Kailo list several different email addresses on different websites. 

You can try contacting support using the following email addresses:

[email protected]
[email protected]
[email protected]

Additionally, you can use the contact form found at GoKailo.com/pages/contact-us.

The company lists its physical address as:

KAILO HEADQUARTERS
8184 S Highland Dr, Suite C6B,
Sandy, UT 84093

 

Cost & Price Plans

Customers will have a few purchasing options. 

Using the 'special offer' page at GoKailo.com you can buy a single Kailo Kit, which comes with a reusable Kailo, three adhesive pads, and a soft carrying case, for $119 with free domestic shipping.

Customers can also get additional discounts by placing a larger order.

You can buy the product from the manufacturer at GoKailo.com or from Amazon.

See Kailo Patch prices on Amazon

Competitors and Alternatives

One alternative to the Kailo Patch is to try a simple topical pain relief patch like the Biofreeze Menthol Pain Relief Patch.

The Biofreeze Patch has great reviews on Amazon with a rating of 4.5 / 5 from over 17,000 customer reviews.

It uses a cooling menthol formula that should offer pain relief that penetrates the skin and lasts for up to 8 hours.

The Biofreeze Patch is intended for:

  • sore muscles
  • simple backaches
  • sore joints
  • bruises
  • arthritis

Check Biofreeze Patch price on Amazon

One of the most effective ways to relieve muscle pain long-term is through exercise.

Low-impact exercises such as walking, swimming, and yoga can help strengthen the muscles and increase flexibility, reducing the risk of future pain and aiding in recovery.

Heat and cold therapies can also provide relief.  Applying heat through a warm compress or taking a hot shower can increase blood flow and loosen tight muscles.

Cold therapy, on the other hand, can help reduce inflammation and swelling.  Ice packs or a cold compress can be applied for 15-20 minutes at a time, several times a day.

Maintaining a healthy diet and adequate hydration is essential for healthy muscles and can also help prevent and reduce muscle pain.

Consuming foods rich in anti-inflammatory nutrients such as omega-3 fatty acids, vitamin D, and antioxidants can also help decrease inflammation and reduce pain.

Maintaining good posture can help prevent muscle pain.  Poor posture puts additional strain on the muscles in the back and neck, leading to pain and discomfort.

Ergonomic chairs, standing desks, and regular stretching can all help improve posture and prevent pain.

If the pain persists, over-the-counter pain relievers like ibuprofen or acetaminophen can provide temporary relief.

However, it's important to note that these medications only mask the pain and do not treat the underlying cause of the pain.

Overall, the best way to prevent and relieve muscle pain is through regular exercise, healthy eating habits, proper posture, and stress management.

While there may be quick fixes on the market, focusing on long-term habits and solutions can help prevent pain and improve overall health and well-being.

The Bottom Line

While products like the Kailo patch claim to provide relief, their efficacy is still uncertain and the proposed mechanism of action is questionable and has been criticized by some pain experts.

The company's claims are debatable, and there are many questions surrounding its credibility.

So is the Kailo Nanotech Patch worth trying? At a cost of over $100 our opinion is probably not.

While there are some positive customer reviews for the Kailo Patch on Amazon, as well as on the company’s own website, there are also an equally large number of negative reviews.

There’s also a good likelihood that the placebo effect comes into play to some extent for the positive reviews.

Without a lot of scientific evidence to back up this product’s efficacy, it’s most likely the Kailo Patch is just not as effective as is claimed by the company.

Fortunately, there are many proven ways to relieve back pain and muscle pain that are backed by scientific research.

If you have any experience with the Kailo Patch, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Kailo Patch Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

This Works Fantastically!
October 13, 2023

We have 3 full size patches and have bought the "flexible" smaller versions for 3 of our relatives. It is amazing! I have had 2 back surgeries and was feeling that I was heading for a third surgery when we discovered this patch. Since then, I am moving better than ever before. I would consume 6 Tylenol Arthritis maximum strength tablets every day and still not be able to move properly.

My wife regularly reports having to use one after waking up at night with severe pain and then sleeping soundly.

Like everything, you get out what you put in. Take the time to learn how to place the patch correctly. Experiment! I once had a massive headache, in desperation, I placed the pad on my head - it worked.

The adhesive works out too expensive for us, so we simply use paper tape to keep the pads in place.

I don't get reviews that either haven't used it for long (I'm excited to try it), or label it as a poor product because of an error (I lost it), or a bad service experience (They didn't answer the phone), or some perceived anti-profit bias (doesn't look like it should cost more than $5 to make). It either works or it doesn't. After 1 year of using this regularly, I can tell you it works. $119? What a bargain! I cannot recommend this strongly enough.

ElaineSaunders October 31, 2023

Excellent results. I use all the "traditional" methods, but Kailo beats them all. I have had to experiment with adhesives, and now use a tubular elastic bandage over the top. I am very skinny and initially had trouble siting it. I have suggested it to several people who are all very happy with the patch

If you open Kailo Flex Package they will not take it back or credit your Credit Card
September 23, 2023

I had great difficulty with trying to take the adhesive off the patch. My wife has tried it several times without any improvement. She had 2 car accidents and none were her fault. She has a titanium plate & screws in both her neck and lumbar and is in pain. I emailed Kailo and told them I wanted to return ($110.00) and credit my credit card. I had only received it for 4 days. They responded and said because I opened the package they could not credit my credit card. What a fraud. I would never recommend anybody to buy a Kailo Patch.

Regards

T. Carnell

Dallas, TX

Cheryl November 29, 2023

I have been trying to get someone to return my emails to return this product. Thank you for your review because, now, I know I probably won't hear from them! Terrible customer service!

Kailo Patch
May 24, 2023

Do NOT waste your time. I tried it, got a small bit of relief which was probably placebo effect. Tried ordering more adhesives, never received them. All I want now is a refund of my money. Will contact whomEVER I need to to get my money back. Beware of ANY company that does NOT have a working phone number for customer service. NEVER GOOD. Just remember this saying, “If it sounds too good to be true, ….”

Slv B.

Cheryl November 29, 2023

I have given up on thinking I will get a refund for this product. No-one one will return my emails. Sorry to say, I wish I had seen your review before ordering. Everything you say is so True!

Adhesive not strong enough to hold on body
April 29, 2023

I purchased Kailo attached to my left thigh and went to store to shop. Half hour later I notice that Kailo is gone.! Look all over to be able find it no success.

The adhesive is not strong enough to hold on thigh.

Notice on way to store that adhesive is not holding tight . Push on it few times to keep adhesive tight on thigh. It did got loose when I did not expected and got lost. Bad product.

It works for me!
April 27, 2023

I first ordered my patches about 2 years ago after having debilitating pain in my lower back from a bulging disk and a lot of arthritis. Even though I was on pain meds, I still had a lot of pain especially if I was working in the kitchen or was shopping for more than an hour or so, not always, but more often than not. In 2009 I had a spinal fusion on my upper neck for the same issues and was told that I would probably have same issues again at some time, so I figured I would end up having surgery again.

Then I saw an ad for the Kailo Patch. Yes, it was expensive and I was very skeptical, but decided to order it anyway. I put it on when the pain starts and much to my surprise, the pain subsides within about 10 minutes. Besides the patch and adhesive replacements at home, I also keep one in my purse at all times for when I am out shopping or away from home. I usually take it off at night as long as the pain is gone and I have never felt any heat when I put the patch on.

As long as this patch works for me, I feel good knowing that I may not have to have surgery anytime soon. In reading these other reviews, I see that a lot of people believe this to be a scam, but I believe that it just does not work for everyone. I think it also depends on where the patch needs to be placed.

It seems to work when placed on the back as opposed to the knee area. I truly believe in this product and guarantee, that I have not received any compensation for my review.

Bonnie ElizabethTwietmeyer September 13, 2023

I had a C3-5 spinal fusion done about 12 years ago, but it did not heal correctly and I ended up with a numb right hand. The neck pain has also returned. I also have a left shoulder joint that is disintegrated due to walking with a cane. It hurts all the time when used. This patch has alleviated a lot of that pain. Not a scam!

NOT everyone's magic pain cure, but worth a try!
March 6, 2023
Two reasons I'm giving only 4 stars: 1) it does NOT work for everyone, and 2) the adhesive strips are crap. My physical therapist keeps a spare in her purse. She lets patients try it, and if it helps, she gives them the website info to buy their own (and then wipes the patch with alcohol for the next trial). SHE was put onto it by ANOTHER physical therapist, who swears by it for controlling her bone-on-bone knee pain. My husband works in pharmaceuticals, so I know all about placebo effect. Am I convinced by the "science" behind the patch? No; but like many things in life--and medicine--the WHAT is more important than the HOW. When I put the patch on my hip, it was like I had finally found the OFF switch for pain! And I truly was not expecting a miracle, so it was a startling experience. I have been trying for over a year to sleep on my back because the hip pain would wake me up, but with a pair of Kailo patches, I can sleep on either side like a baby and walk without gimping. The beauty of the patch--beyond the sheer relief--is that, when it DOES work, you can retrain your body to proper movement and alignment. It's not enough to slap it on and sigh in relief--USE that pain-free window to stretch and strengthen the affected areas to help prevent the pain from coming back! It's a PATCH, not a CRUTCH! The adhesive strips are less durable than Band-aids; possibly they're fine for somebody who wears the patch short-term. I wear them 24/7 (I take them off to shower, but you don't have to), so I need the full adhesive sheet. I do wish the adhesive lasted longer because I have to keep buying more sheets, but at the same time, my skin is sensitive and usually gets a rash or peels from any tape attached longer than 36 hours. Kailo's adhesive has never even turned my skin pink, even after continuous wear for days--and that's a big plus to balance the negative aspect of buying new sheets. Folks who don't have that sensitivity might be annoyed by having to update the adhesive every few days (or every few hours, if using those strips). I'm very grateful for Kailo patches, but my friend and my dad got no relief at all. It's a hit-or-miss kind of miracle. I'm scheduled (finally!) for joint injections and hope to reserve the patches in future for long car trips or as needed on other body parts.

Kailo Flex doesn’t work
February 26, 2023

Bought a Std Kailo and it seemed to work for my lower back pain. Biggest problem is the adhesive, which lasted only a day or two and lack of flex. I brought a Kailo flex hoping it would be better. Waste of money. Yes they are more flexible but the adhesive is a disaster and they made no difference to my back pain.

It's a Crap Shoot!
January 15, 2023

Purchased the 3 Pack for $199. Used on my back, I have had surgery and rods placed for L1-4. Seemed to slightly reduce the pain level to dull present pain. Then it folded one night and would not adhere. Got out the second and in 3 days it had a bend in it and wouldn't hold.

Contacted customer service and after 5 days got a reply they would replace one. I requested they replace it and haven't heard from or received a replacement. Facebook now seems to be flooded with other advertisers as cheap as $29.99 for 10 sensors - WoW, maybe it works for some, but Kailo's customer service works for no one!

If it's working for you it's just placebo. Don't throw away the pain killers.
December 22, 2022

People, if it's working for you keep it to yourself, don't tell it to everybody. It is only a placebo effect. It is so obvious this is a scam.

It works!
December 4, 2022
I was fully prepared to return this item, but much to my delight, the patch works! It did not erase all of my pain (from rotator cuff surgery) but it greatly reduced it. I have since bought 3 more patches.

It does not work. Why would it?
November 29, 2022

0 stars. A well meaning relative gave me some patches to try . I have arthritis in knees and ligament pain in my arm.

I gave it a fair trial over 2 weeks and it did absolutely nothing. I examined the patch and concluded that a small change in sensation might be experienced just by having it stuck to the skin producing a little accumulated heat through insulation. Much the same could be experienced by taping aluminium foil to the skin or a thermo blanket. I compared it to a more traditional remedy for pain, the microwaved wheat bag and "Deep Heat" ointment. The results were so different. The heated wheat bag was so effective and comfortable. That worked. The ointment too.

People, because they have invested so much for essentially a silicone coated metallic pad want to justify their purchase and believe it works. The only people that Kailo would work for are the people selling it, improving and warming their bank balances. In short, I am convinced it's a worthless product and likely a con. But Kailo has a very nice building if you would check it out on Google Earth. They must be doing well!

DOHNutz December 17, 2022

Lol! Again, the reviews are split 50/50 pro and con. I haven’t used the Kailo product, and am more inclined to believe the negative reviews because companies pay representatives to go online and bombard sites with fake positive reviews in order to boost sales. On the other hand, competing companies also pay people to go on their competitors websites and review sites to leave fake negative reviews in order to direct traffic back to their own products.The only real solution is to experiment and try ONE on yourself before investing in bulk offers or wasting money trying to buy it for your suffering family members or friends, and YOU be the judge. If it works for YOU, then great! You will be an acceptable spokesperson. If it doesn’t work for YOU, then it doesn’t work at all and you should return it immediately within the company’s strict return policy deadline and demand an immediate refund.

It worked for my pain
November 20, 2022
It worked for my pain located cervical L 1-4 accompanied by sciatica. Sometimes when I have been on my feet for the whole day I'm in excruciating pain. I can not use codeine based products (seizures) So I really welcomed the relief these have brought me.I have NOT been asked to or paid to write this review.

It seems to work but company has no customer support.
November 17, 2022

I have used the patches on my knee and on my lower back. The patch seems to work but the adhesive is as pain to work with. The patch detaches at either end and I am looking for a method of attaching it above and to the front of my knee. There is no good way to speak to anyone at Kailo and discuss the problems. They are intent on selling only and support is non existant.

Deb February 07, 2023

I’m trying to find out if there’s any nickel in the metal. There’s no information whatsoever. I cannot find a phone number to contact the company. Just another quick fix scam.

Gayle April 14, 2023

I am allergic to nickel and have been using mine for about a week with no allergic reaction if this helps you at all.

It worked for me in two different locations on my body
October 6, 2022

I bought this for my husband's shoulder pain. He said he felt the heat and didn't like it...it itched, he said and didn't help his pain that much. We put it away. He passed away in Feb. so when my knee started giving me problems from a torn meniscus and bone on bone knee joints (scheduled for knee replacement on Oct. 20th, 2022) I thought I'd give it a try.

After experimenting with placement, and never feeling 'heat', I suddenly realized that my pain was greatly reduced and that my knee was not locking up like it had and caused extreme pain. I can now walk without the walker for my knee.

In May I started having piriformis syndrome from two discs at the L4 and L5 and S1 and the pain has been debilitating...can't work, can't walk, can't function on much of any level and no pain pills seemed to work well enough (Gabapentin). I tried the patch on my back in a couple different places and found it gave me relief at least in the butt area, if not down the leg.

It works like a Tenn's but without wires but only if placed correctly. Be prepared to experiment with location. It may not work but how many other solutions have you used that didn't work as expected? We are all different.

Rip off
January 21, 2022

They did not work for me. I returned everything just as they told me to. They then email me that the patches were not in envelope. Their way of not paying refund. DO NOT BUY ITS A RIP OFF

Total scam
November 2, 2021
I bought the patch and additional adhesive strips and it was a total waste of money! After I requested a refund and returning the whole product within the 90 days money back guarantee period they do not even respond emails, have no phone number to contact and basically ignored my requests. Not only did I loose the money I paid but also the money I spent on postage to send back the product! This is a total scam!!!!

I can't be without it.
October 22, 2021
My L4, L5 and S1 are shot to the point that two surgeons said I need a rod. And sciatica has been an issue as well. I bought this patch and it's a lifesaver. You just have to find the right spot for placement and BINGO. Read the directions for placement. I bought a second patch to use for my hip bursitis.

Charley November 21, 2021

I bought the patch about two weeks ago and have had great results with it. I have arthritis in my hip and could barely move because of the pain, I move the patch until I feel relief be cause the pain moves each day. It works for me ! Let’s me sleep and move a bit easier. Maybe it doesn’t work for doubters , but I had high expectations and it met them. Maybe I just manifested relief , at any rate , certainly glad I tried this product.

Was A Risk But Worked For Me!!!
November 18, 2020

When I read about Kailo, I felt that someone heard my cry for no more pain. I have severe arthritis in my back, knees and hands and recently had excruciating muscle pain in my right leg just above and to the side of my knee. I thought i was dying!!! That area is still very sore.

I use one or two canes to be able to just get up in the mornings. I have meds but nothing that I can get "hooked" on. That means I can feel better for a short amount of time and would have to take more nsaids. I don't do that. I exercise the best I can with my Total Gym.

Then I read about Kailo. Something that could relieve my pain - even just bringing the pain down to a dull roar would help!!! I knew it was a chance I would be taking and spending money I needed to keep in my pocket. But my one thought was maybe I could help someone else. I have good friends that have arthritis pain like I do.

I ordered the 3-pack: 2 for my knees and one for my back. When I received it I immediately used the two for my knees. I didn't feel heat or anything else except my pain not as bad as before I put them on. It took a few tries of moving them and then I found the perfect place for both legs. No Arthritis Pain!!!!

I say that Because that muscle pain wasn't gone but it was semi-quiet. That had to do with the placement of the Kailo. I was more interested in my knee pain for walking than the thigh pain. Everyone could see me not needing a cane in the house and at church.I would take one with me (they fold up) just in case. It was like a miracle for me. I am 69 years old and have had arthritis since I was 24.

Now I know there will be skeptics who will think I have been paid to say these things. I am a Christian woman and I believe in helping others whenever I can. Will it work for everyone one. I can see it doesn't. It did work for me. And just to prove what it does, to myself, I have taken them off!

I am back to barely able to walk, especially after sitting. I just felt I needed a break from Kailo. I will continue not using them until just before Thanksgiving. Yes, it's hard now but the thought of feeling much better for the holiday and 2 birthdays on that day is enough to get me through this.

My advice: try one of you have a lot of pain somewhere. Oh, I forgot to say that I have my third Kailo to one of my Pastors. I don't think it has been used because I haven't heard anything one way or another. I will ask for it back to use on my back. Hope this can help someone.

Kailo Patches
October 25, 2020

Warren Gibbs October 24, 2020

I am using this for leg pain which is completely stopped as long as the patch is located in a specific area of my thigh. I wish I could reach behind me and place one on my back.

My spouse cannot see to help me and the patch has not worked for her shoulder pain. It lessened her pain when she first placed it on her shoulder but not enough.

I told her this is because the patch is not properly placed and she has to move it around. She hurts to bad to experiment with placing the patch in different locations and doesn't want me too.

scam
October 14, 2020
worked when I put the first patch on and none of the rest worked at all