Hopper Reviews

Hopper
( 25 reviews )
Website: www.Hopper.com

Hopper is an app whose creators state aims to help travelers know the best times buy airfare tickets so that they're able to get the lowest fares.

How Does Hopper Work?

According to their website, Hopper uses a four pronged approach to flight buying: predict, watch, buy, and fly.

Their data science has collected a huge archive of trillions of flight prices and they have analyzed that data to provide their customers with insightful predictions that consistently predict flight prices with 95% accuracy. 

To use Hopper, all you have to do is search for your trip by clicking the dates on their color coded calendar.

Hopper will then predict when they believe your flight will be the cheapest, and they will recommend to you that you either wait or go ahead and book. 

Customers who are instructed to Wait can simply tap on the binoculars icon to begin watching their chosen flight.

Hopper will send notifications to your phone as soon as the prices on your flight drop. When Hopper says Buy, customers can choose their flight and buy in just a few taps.   

Hopper says that they are one of the fastest growing travel apps, with more than 10 million installs since they were launched in 2015, and they are proud to be reinventing the way people plan their travel. 

Mobile Options

Currently this company provides mobile applications for both iOS and Android devices. 

Cost/Price Plans

Hopper is proud to be an accredited travel agency that provides real human beings who can help their customers arrange and book their flights, and they promise that they never charge their customers any hidden fees – the prices that are displayed are the prices that you will pay. 

Refund Policy

Generally speaking, any customer who has issues with the flights they have booked are directed to speak with the airline that is providing your travel, as this gives you the quickest and most effective way of managing your travel arrangements. 

However, the staff at Hopper is able to help their customers if you choose to reach out to them.

In addition, if you are having trouble with the Hopper app itself and the information it is supposed to be providing you with, you are welcome to contact their Customer Service team for assistance. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by email at [email protected] 

Hopper Reputation

Hopper.com states they have been named one of the best apps by New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Buzzfeed, Vogue, Tech Insider, TIME, and other publications.

They have also received awards including Apple's App Store Best of 2015, the Webby Award for Best Travel App, and Google Play's Best Apps of 2016.

Customers also appear to love this app and its services, as this mobile application gets positive ratings throughout the internet.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other websites, mobile applications, and services which try to help travelers arrange more affordable airfare and travel arrangements so that they can save money, including Skyscanner, Skiplagged.com, and many others. 

If you have any experience with the Hopper App or their products, please leave your reviews below.

Hopper Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Do not trust
November 13, 2022

I would put zero stars but not allowed. Price is never what they advertise and be assured that the charge to your card is more than you agree to pay!!

Beware, beware!!!

Don't do it!
November 1, 2022
I do not recommend this company. Frederic Lalonde is the CEO and Co-Founder of Hopper and they SCAM ON ANOTHER LEVEL!

This is a scam!!!!
October 19, 2022
Do not use this app!!! I booked for a hotel in Connecticut and they put me in New Jersey 3 hours away so I cannot use that motel and they're not going to refund me my money and there's no way to get a hold of customer service I've left several emails they don't answer you back it's a scam and I'm going to report it!!!

Worse travel app
October 17, 2022

I am a single mother who travels for work with my child due to not having any family to help. I have gave this site multiple chances now because of the deals, but 3 x now my reservation was completely messed up. 1ST TIME: hopper glitched and booked my reservation and then cancelled it without any cancelation email. At least I received my money back within an hour.

2nd time they scammed me out of $307.40. I sent them everything they asked for including my bank statements where they clearly took out the money and they could not help me or refund my money due to not able to find my transaction in their system. The bank was not able to refund my money as well due to Hopper not being a fraudulent charge. SO ridiculous. Literally gave them all the proof and information they asked for with no resolution.

3rd time: I'm currently sitting in front of the hotel. They are not allowing me to check in so I contacted Hopper multiple times, through the app and phone and have no response for over 2 hours. No one has called, emailed, or texted me.

I WARN EVERYONE DO NOT USE THIS SITE. THEY DO NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR CUSTOMERS AND WILL DO AND SAY EVERYTHING TO NOT GIVE YOU YOUR MONEY BACK.

Hoppers reimbursement policy is misleading.
October 11, 2022

Company is a scam company that will immediately charge your credit or debit card there extra fees that they refuse to reimburse you account, even if you decide to cancel everything during the initial session. There are no humans to talk with, to ask questions directly. I had to dispute the funds taken from my account, even after Hopper told me that they canceled everything for me. They are a SCAM company.

I was able to book directly with another hotel on my own and save money.

Charges higher than booking agreement
September 8, 2022

Really bad. The mention one amount and later hotels charge an additional amounts that they have no control off.

Really terrible experience.

Scam
August 29, 2022

I was charged a $5.00 TIP and $25.00 for vip support. Don't book through this site, it states the flight was going to be $230 & I got charged 260$. I canceled it because I was going to dispute with my bank because I was lied to but you will never ever get a human so you cant dispute with anyone...Never again. Expedia is the best. Should have never changed.

Do not use Hopper!!!
August 6, 2022

This is a fraudulent and scam company!

We look like idiots when we got to the hotel and our rooms was not available, never been booked with Quality Inn. Do not use this Hopper app. You will get scammed and never get your money back! There is no customer service! Fraud Alert!!!

Lipstick on a pig
June 22, 2022

I have done a fair bit of business with Hopper over the last year, and I will never use them again.

The customer service is nonexistent.

Dishonest Company - Beware of Scams
June 9, 2022

Firstly, let me preface my review by stating that if I could give Hopper zero stars, I would.

I used Hopper to research direct flights from LA to Portland and then returning. I have Delta air miles and so specifically looked at Delta flights and only Delta flights. I did find flights that suited my schedule and ‘watched’ them until Hopper informed me they had reached a price I was happy to purchase them for.

When I saved my flights (in order to watch them), I double checked the details so as to be sure I was watching the correct journey. All seemingly fine. Then I go to price freeze… I paid $90 to freeze the advertised price for a week so I could complete the transaction when I had more time. Hopper sent me a confirmation but when I opened the confirmation, not only was the price more expensive than what they’d advertised, they froze a completely different and random return leg - A Spirit flight that left at 6am with a three hour stop over in Vegas. Why?

Firstly, I would never take a 6am flight. Secondly, I would never choose a stop over on such a short flight. Thirdly, I would never fly with Spirit. My point being, I would never, NEVER have even researched that flight so it’s impossible for it to be the option I chose to price freeze!

This leads me to my second point… Customer service is nonexistent. You literally can’t get through to a human. Miraculously though, a few minutes after I Tweeted about my experience, I got an email. Curious… Anyway, a long story short: Hopper’s condescending customer support agent simply told me it was my mistake and there was nothing they could do about it, I should have checked the details of the price freeze before agreeing to it.

Yes, In hindsight this would have been the right thing to do. But in my defense, because I was only ever following one specific route, I naively assumed that that would be the route I was paying for. BEWARE: I suspect this is a scam. Hopper is a company lacking integrity and seems to be making money from unsuspecting customers. My guess is that the money comes from the un refundable fee you pay for flights you’re never going to purchase because the details are wrong.

False advertising at best
June 7, 2022

Do not deal with a company that participates in false advertising! Paid $25 fee to freeze my flight at $512. When I went to book it the site tried to charge me $1,700.

After numerous emails requesting more than a standard computerized response and reporting them to kayak I finally received an email from an employee.

Took several emails to finally have someone call me. Their first excuse was the flight was full which was false as I was able to book it for $636. Next they said they didn’t have my flight in contract with them at the time - then don’t sell me an insurance policy you can’t stand by!

After several hours of back and forth they only gave me my $25 fee back so I’m out an extra $124 False advertising at its best! I would not use this company since they don’t have fine print so to speak in their website yet pull it out of the woodwork when you finally reach them!

Hopper Freeze isn’t applied to your Flight
June 1, 2022

Hopper changed the policy of the "Freeze" so instead of the amount you spent to freeze the flight going towards your flight, it's just an additional fee for them to keep! So you'll pay the freeze amount on top of the flight price.

They didn't notify customers of this policy change. This isn't convenient for people at all. Literally no point of using this app. You're better off with Kayak or booking directly with the airline.

My flight was $227 each so I paid $452.96 and an additional $176 smh. NEVER AGAIN!

Never again
May 28, 2022

So I make a hotel “freeze” w Hopper & pay their fees. A few days before their pay deadline, I go to pay their discounted price. Room not available.

Refunded my fees as credits (no money back) and told (3-day email exchange) it was their error and to re-make the reservation and pay. I do.

Their site changed my dates, and I only get 1 of 2 needed nights. So I repeat process for 2nd nite and call hotel and confirm the 2-nite reservation.

We arrive and have to pay full price for 1st night because only 2nd night is paid-and Hopper used Expedia for 1 night and Hotels.com for other…so why the hell did I stress with Hopper, install their App, emails & calls?!? Never again!

Cannot get credit back on a cancelled flight
April 14, 2022

I cancelled a trip to Florida and trying to get my credit back. The airline was Allegiant, so I called them and they sent the credit to Hopper. Hopper is stalling and claims they have a team on this to issue credit. They asked for my Pay Pal information but nothing has been credited thus far.

Allegiant said their prices are the same as Hoppers so never go through a 3rd party. Especially if you have issues, You can not call anyone direct at Hopper and they stop communicating with you via email. You can't even escalate your issue with a manager. I will never use this site again.

Consumers, we are power in numbers and I have a lot of followers, Reach out via FACEBOOK, Instagram, Twitter and share your experience on these social media platforms. Eventually there will not be a Hopper any longer!

SCAM
April 4, 2022

Do not give this company any of your personal information. Somehow they got my credit card information and booked a $200 flight on my card. I tried to call the number linked to the flight through Hopper, and the recording said this number is nonexistent.

Do not use this company. This is a scam, and they are THIEVES. I am battling my credit card company to get my $200 back. I only give them a one star because I have to in order to post this.

False advertisement to get business
March 31, 2022

WARNING, SCAM. This company does not provide ANY customer service and does not provide "free" seating. It's literally false advertisement and I have reported them to justice.gov for fraud.

Scam - fraud - false deceptive advertising
March 29, 2022

Hopper is a scam!! Worse, it is operating its scams through false and deceptive advertising. Do not use this app!!!

I booked a flight on united through hopper and paid $68 to freeze the price. When I attempted just now to complete booking and pay the balance 5 days in advance, hopper's price increased by several hundred dollars over the initial price freeze. Hopper required additional payment to book the flight, while stating they were still saving me $100.

While in a chat with a hopper representative, I booked the flight from united, at the original price. There was no "Price increase" that hopper was claiming. Fraud, extortion, false and deceptive advertising all at the same time. Yes, of course I will be reporting these abuses for state and federal investigations.

Non-existent Customer Service
March 28, 2022
Hopper customer service is non-existent. It's been a month and still waiting for the refund after the flight booked change the layover from a couple of hours to 17 hours. It's easier to go straight to the airline. Do not use the Hopper app.

I feel mislead and cheated
January 24, 2022

I am a repeat customer. I bought flights via Hopper because of their "Buy Now" recommendation which I thought was trustworthy, along with their "Price Drop" guarantee.

When the price dropped a mere day after purchase by 40% - I expected Hopper to take responsibility. They offered me $20 back! Insulting.

At this point, even if I cancel the flight, paying a cancellation fee, buying the same again elsewhere, I still will be saving money!

I thought Hopper were a different kind of company. I feel very mislead and will not be making any purchase from them ever again.

Hopper is a scam for car rentals
January 21, 2022

My wife was on a travel nurse assignment in California. Her contracts are month to month and can be terminated at a moments notice. She needed a car so I went to Hopper for the first time. I entered that the car rental would be from January 1 to January 31, 2022 and found a Toyota Corolla for $850.00 for the month. I saw on my credit card a charge for $850.00 but I thought this was just a hold for the month for that amount.

She picked up the car at Sacramento airport on January 1, 2022 but her contract was terminated on January 3, 2022 and she returned the car on the 3rd and flew back home. Thrifty car rental charged our credit card $83.29 for the car rental. I have contacted Hopper several times through emails (because they refuse to give a phone number) and they say "It is up to the rental partner (Thrifty) to give permission to refund the $850.00".

Thrifty charged my card for the rental for a total $83.29 and Thrifty is done with the car rental. It is up to Hopper to refund the money but they refuse to and keep claiming it is Thrifty fault. Hopper is a scam and is holding a full month charge for $850.00 for a three day rental!

Be careful. If it is too good to be true then it is! Hopper has terrible business practices and won't even talk to you!