Honey App Reviews

About Honey App

The Honey App, found online at JoinHoney.com, is a new browser plugin extension which says their goal is to ensure that their members “never miss a coupon code, ever again.” 

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the Honey App is a new service that “makes it ridiculously easy to save money and time.” Their job is to automatically find the best coupon codes for the website when you are currently shopping and then apply them to your order when you check out.

In order to use the Honey App, you simply need to download it and install it on your desktop browser. The Honey button will appear in your browser bar. Whenever you are shopping at one of their partner stores, you can click on the Honey button to view all available sales and coupon codes. 

If you are already in the checkout process, you can click the Find Savings button and Honey will automatically find and then apply the best coupon or coupons for your purchase. 

This website also says that they offer something called HoneyGold, which customers get when they take advantage of an exclusive offer. This HoneyGold can eventually be used toward rewards like Amazon gift cards, and more. 

Mobile Options

At this time, the Honey App is available on desktop versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari and Opera. The website says that they are currently working on expanding their desktop browser options, and have a plan to offer a mobile application in the near future so this app can be used when mobile shopping.  

Cost/Price Plans

The Honey App is actually completely free to download and to use at this time, and the website says that they are able to provide this service completely free to their members because they earn a small commission from the stores they partner with at certain times when one of their members makes a purchase.   

Refund Policy

Because the Honey App is completely free to use at this time, they do not offer their customers a Refund Policy, and any customer who uses this app to make a purchase must go directly to the third party website where they actually made their purchase and follow their stated Return and Refund Policies.  

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link on their website. 

Reputation

Currently the Honey App appears to have very positive reviews, both from their users and from technology blogs and websites that are excited about the concept of a browser extension being able to automatically apply coupon codes. 

Unfortunately this website does not provide a lot of information about how their HoneyGold rewards program works and what people can expect to earn from it if they decide to take advantage of the exclusive offers that earn it for you.

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other mobile applications that attempt to help people save money with their regular shopping habits, including Quidco, Checkout 51, Ibotta App, and many others. 

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your Honey App reviews below.

Read Next: Do Coupon Sites and Savings Apps Actually Work?

You May Also Be Interested In

36 ‘Honey App’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Have never saved anything!

August 24, 2020

Not worth the time to download another app. I’ve tried it for 4 months and have never saved anything. I already find the best deals by shopping online. It seems that the only pot sweetened is Hioney’s as they are probably benefiting off of my purchases.

Comment on this review...

pretty good!

May 17, 2020

i haven't had honey for very long, but i wanted to leave this review because so far i'm very impressed! my $60 total at gap ended up being $32! i haven't tried out the honey gold thing yet, so i'm not sure if that works. but i'm ready to believe this is a very honest and helpful company.

Comment on this review...

It is an advertising scam.

April 26, 2020

They say the app is free. come on, NOTHING is free.
they say they get a commission from the vendors. FALSE.
they make their money from selling the information, from the suckers that join the app. hence, a flood of emails, snail mails, and phone calls from dozens and dozens of companies that you have never done business with.

May 18, 2020

Thank you. That's why I am searching about it. I usually search for coupon codes when checking out online and the idea of Honey is appealing to me, but I am trying to figure out their angle. The way they are running ads all over tells me that they aren't sustaining themselves on a tip from the seller. I'll be damned if I need a bunch of targeted ads based on things that I already bought.

Comment on this review...

SCAM.

January 14, 2020

I tried to turn in my Honey points for a $70.00 Target gift card and NEVER received it. They send an automatic email response that had nothing to do with me not getting my gift card. This is a scam. They make money but you don't received anything.

Comment on this review...

acting chops?

December 29, 2019

I like the feelings invoced off the "I Don't Need a new phone" commercial now hear this I just want to hurt you're feelings a smidgen. after watching this henry zebrowski could play commercial roles so well I know it even better they can both be part of your add campaign. yea do that than get rid of the other guy you have know or that's a thumbs down for me brother.

Comment on this review...

Scam!

November 7, 2019

I've been with Honey over a year now. In the beginning they were great, but now they wont give me my Honey Gold even though it lists me having Gold on their site. Don't waste your time.

December 01, 2020

Same thing happened to me.

Comment on this review...

Not credited

October 1, 2019

Although Honey seems to do what it says about finding good prices and coupon codes, it falls short of applying purchase points to my account. I have made several hundreds of dollars of purchases that Honey says will add points to my account. Even after waiting over 2 months for the sales to "clear"' I only get about one in ten sales applied for points that I was told were pending. Most of these purchases came thru Amazon or Ebay so there should not have been a problem verifying them.

Comment on this review...

Used to be good, but not worth it anymore.

September 30, 2019

Ebay purchases used to have a decent return but now they only give back .1%. I went from getting cash back every other month to only getting cash back 1 time a year. Time to look for something else.

Comment on this review...

I do not like having my information shared with all the other companies.

June 18, 2019

I have subscribed to several different offers that promise this and that only to find my email inbox being flooded with ads from companies I never have done business with. I go through a couple of times a month and unsub from 95 percent of the companies I want nothing to do with only to find in a couple of months my email inbox has over 100 messages a day coming in and on average I delete 90 - 95 of them and never even open them. I really hate junk mail in what ever form it comes in. Don't get me started on ROBO CALLS!!!! Computers don't care if I cuss them out, too bad.

View all 2 Comments
July 17, 2019

Maybe you should read before you click accept on everything in a sign up process, if you agree for them to share your email, then they will. I've had no emails because I knew not to agree to it.

August 28, 2019

I signed up for honey and was really enjoying the discount coupons but when it came time to collect my honey gold I realized that my email had been changed to Russian affiliation,and a email name I never heard of, my amazon gift cards went to it, I tried changing it several times but it kept going back to that bogus account so I opted out of the app

Comment on this review...

Watch Your Personal Information

April 28, 2019

Well anyone who does install this app already knows what this app will do to their personal information. They know because right before you click the ADD button they tell you that they WILL share your information and they WILL change things you submit. I would be very careful I definitely will NOT be adding this app now. If they can go and will change what is, or what you are submitting, what else can they get access to, remember you are on shopping sites, site where you give your personal credit card information and bak information. I wouldn't touch this site with a ten foot pole!

View all 2 Comments
May 17, 2019

Thank you so much for sharing and awesome advise.

July 17, 2019

This can in no way access your payment information as a Chrome extension, stop trying to scare people

Comment on this review...

Horible

February 20, 2019

I was on amazon, and I decided I wanted to save money. I clicked on honey, and it showed me a bunch of codes. I went through EVERY single one of them and everything said "Code is invalid." So don't waste your time downloading this.

View all 3 Comments
March 26, 2019

Have that problem with Amazon period! Has nothing to do with honey. Amazon is not a good way to judge Honey.

August 28, 2019

check your email address with them

November 10, 2019

they use codes that might've already expired. they cant really help it. i used it today and only 1 of 5 worked but it still saved me for 40 bucks

Comment on this review...

I Love It!

February 17, 2019

It's saved me money automatically and I think it's a great little app!

September 19, 2019

lol Vivian do you think people can't pick up when someone who works for the company is writing these reviews? Like literally you couldn't have made the fakeness of all your replies to these comments more obvious.

Comment on this review...

very bad

January 16, 2019

why does this exist. just use google to find promo codes.

View all 5 Comments
February 17, 2019

Why go to the trouble of googling when Honey does the work for you immediately? I love it!

March 19, 2019

Vivian Vicky. What personal information does Honey sell to other sellers when you access there site thru Honey?

April 28, 2019

Not worth it, after you have had your information hacked!

July 17, 2019

"after you have had your information hacked" please don't say things like this when you clearly don't know what "hacking" is, honey is not malicious, too many people try to scare others.

December 20, 2019

Vivian Vicky and Alfie Atkinson. Funny thing about alliteration and assonance: it is easy to spot. It seems like it is also easy to fall into a pattern when making fake account names. Interesting that the pro-Honey people all have 5 star reviews with suspiciously similarly constructed names and very few details. Wasn't it Vivian Vicky who saved $40 one time? Wow. I know I am ready to hand over my credit card information! Alfie, did you give any details or just insult someone for being ignorant of an illegal activity?

Seems like almost everyone who has had experience with the company as a customer for any length of time has a similar story with several details revealed in their reviews with the same conclusion: suspected scam.

Those who back up Honey at least have cool names and viciously back their employer...err, I mean . . . no, yeah. That was what I meant.

I think I'll follow the crowd who back up their claims with at least a few details. On the other hand, I could just jump on the wagon with people who have clever names and cumbersome comebacks towards customers who accidentally misuse a word. Yes. I will certainly join with those who bash in the heads of anyone who cares to make a claim against the obviously angelic company who has attracted the attention of people who become particularly perturbed when Honey is persecuted!

Comment on this review...
review author image

Love it!

January 5, 2019

I've saved so much using honey. I have saved on Amazon, Groupon, airline tickets and so much more. Not exactly sure how the rewards work, but it doesn't matter. I wish I was keeping track of how much I have saved, but it's over $1,000 easily!

Comment on this review...

check for yourself before assuming it found the best deal

November 26, 2018

I find that most of the time I can find a better deal by checking myself on Amazon when honey says this is the best deal. I think when they say best deal that means that they will make themselves the most money not save me the most money

View all 2 Comments
February 17, 2019

Not sure how Honey makes money for itself but I find it very useful and have saved money. What do you mean 'checking yourself in Amazon'?

May 18, 2020

Vivian, Really? You don't know how to search Amazon for products?

Comment on this review...

joinHoney.com is a complete SCAM

October 19, 2018

I joined joinHoney.com in July 2018 when it offered a $30 cash back if purchased certain amount at Macy's directed from joinHoney.com website, which I did.

The transaction pending for a while on joinHoney.com after the purchase waiting to be verify. So I figured like Ebates, joinHoney.com will send a check to me.

Well, the Experience Specilitist of joinHoney.com I chat with, talked like a Used Car Salesmen, refused to honor the offer.

joinHoney.com is a SCAM

View all 2 Comments
February 17, 2019

I think Honey is great. It saved me money and I love it!

May 18, 2020

You're a shill though Vivian.

Comment on this review...

waste of my time

October 9, 2018

I wish I could add a minus in front of that rating. I won't waste another second with this useless junk.

Comment on this review...

It is greatly annouing

August 14, 2018

I want to get rid of it. I can't stand it. How do I do that from Safari and chrome?

November 08, 2018

just right click on the icon, and then click options. that will take you to browser extentions and click delete. as it gives you options to deactivate or delete, by deleting it you will no longer have it on your system. worked for me on opera browser

Comment on this review...

Takes to long for rewards

June 7, 2018

If you do manage to get rewards, you have to wait months for them to be applied to you account. All you see is pending for months.

Comment on this review...

Not as effective as it claims

February 28, 2018

I have had the app for over a year now and it has not been more useful than the actual offers displayed on the sites. It does the whole routine of scanning and looking for the best offers and coupons out there for you, but really at the end of it gives you the promo code that is already promoted by the website it is used on.
One would assume that it makes a thorough search on the back end and looks for the active coupons from third party coupon sites like Retail me not etc, but it does no such thing and often comes back with nothing!
I am often successful by simply searching for codes on Google myself. Pretty unimpressive.

May 18, 2020

I was looking for an app that does what you say, but doesn't bend me over the counter while doing it. Alas, the search continues.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review