Hear.com Reviews

Hear.com
( 18 reviews )
Website: www.Hear.com

Hear.com Review: A Detailed Look

Reviewopedia staff  -  Updated:  October 10, 2023

 

Hear.com states they aim to provide hearing aid products and services to customers suffering from various levels of hearing impairment.

They claim to offer a combination of the best hearing professionals paired with the latest and most technologically advanced hearing aid devices.

Below we take a closer look at the company and see if they live up to their promises.

How Does Hear.com Work?

Losing hearing can be a difficult process for many older Americans as they need to navigate the maze of product selection and insurance hurdles.  Hear.com aims to simplify this entire process.

To begin the process, customers will receive a free, personalized consultation during which they are encouraged to ask any questions they may have about the process of testing and assessing your hearing or about hearing aids themselves.

Hear.com will then schedule an appointment for a hearing test at a local partner test provider. 

During this appointment the hearing ear specialist you meet with will recommend a hearing aid device that meets your needs and then help fit you for the device.

Customers who use Hear.com to arrange their hearing test will be given a 45 day risk-free trial for their device, during which time your Hear.com representative will check in with you periodically to make sure you are completely satisfied.

If you feel as though your device does need further adjustments, your Hear.com representative will arrange up to five free service appointments for you, and they will oversee the warranty of your purchase.

Partner Brands

Hear.com network of providers work with many of today’s leading hearing aid manufacturers.  These include:

  • Signia
  • Oticon
  • Phonak
  • Starkey
  • ReSound
  • Unitron
  • Widex
  • Rexton
  • Audio Service
  • Bernafon
  • Beltone


They also offer their in house brand, Horizon Hearing Aids, which have the latest technology and are geared more towards younger and highly active users.

From these brands you will have a number of options based on how much you want to spend and what features you’re prioritizing.  

Some devices will have the latest technology, such as Bluetooth connectivity and AI capabilities.

Overall, Hear.com claims to have a 92% success rate for helping customers find a hearing aid device through their network. that satisfies customers.

Customer Reviews & Complaints

Hear.com provides country-wide service spread across over 2,000 audiologists and sell a range of devices at various price points, so customer experiences can vary.

Overall though, we find that Hear.com has mostly positive ratings across a number of consumer review websites.

Most customers appreciate the ongoing professional customer support since, in many cases, getting the perfectly fitting device requires several adjustments.

Furthermore, the 45-day trial period gives customers plenty of time to fully evaluate their hearing aids and determine if they want to keep them or not.  

Positive reviews also mentioned how helpful the follow up appointments were, both in-person or via tele-health.

Some negative customer reviews were mentioned having to wait too long for sending their device in for repair and other shipping delays.

Some other customers were unhappy and felt misled by their consultant in regards to how likely it would be that their insurance would provide financial assistance.

There are also some complaints regarding certain models of hearing aids and users experiencing technical issues with them, such as the Bluetooth not working properly.

Hear.com is accredited by the BBB and has an A+ rating from them.  They also have a good record of closing any complaints submitted on that platform.

In general, their customer service representatives make an effort to reply to negative customer reviews and attempt to resolve issues via refund or alternative solutions.

Customer Service

Customers who would like to contact customer service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by 786-574-3799 or by submitting your contact information on their website for a callback.

You can also use their mobile app to speak with a representative and check on or make changes to your scheduled appointments.  

Finally, you can also send them an email at [email protected].

 

Cost & Price Plans

The service provided by Hear.com – the consultation, recommendations, and appointment reservations – are all free of charge.

The services that you receive during your appointments will have costs associated, and the hearing aids themselves will range in price from $799 for a basic device to up to $3,100 for a premium hearing aid.

This is a very wide price range, but the Hear.com states that they cannot do a better job of estimating what kind of prices you will pay until you complete the free consultation process and actually have your hearing tested.

On Hear.com they also provide options for monthly payments based on the level of hearing aid you choose.  

In general, the more active your lifestyle the better (and more expensive) hearing aid you're likely to require to account for a range of different and more challenging environments.

Hear.com offers financing options through Allegro and CareCredit.  Monthly payments (per device) estimates for a 36-month period are as follows:

  • Essentials   -  $139
  • Advanced  -  $169
  • Premium  -  $199
  • Luxury  -  $229


During your phone consultation your representative should also help guide you through your insurance options.

Traditionally, Medicare has not covered hearing aids but your standard insurance plan may provide some assistance, depending on your individual policy.

There have been some measures in the works to make hearing aids more affordable so it’s definitely worth exploring all your options during your consultation.

 

Refund Policy

The company offers a 45-day trial period in which they will work with you to get you accustomed to your hearing aids.  

After 30 days of working with your coach to optimize your experience you will evaluate your results and progress.  If at that time you are not satisfied you can return the product for a full refund.

Competitors and Alternatives

There are many providers of hearing aids aside from your doctor’s office, including the major retailer Costco which provides centers with audiology services and offers discounts on several major brand name hearing aids.

If you’re confident in doing your own research on hearing aids and know what you need you can also turn to many over the counter sellers that sell directly to customers, with no audiology appointments necessary.

Other companies offering similar services to Hear.com include MDHearingAid and Audicus.

Is Hear.com Legitimate?

Choosing the right hearing aid is an important decision that can have a large impact on your quality of life.  Some researchers say can it can also be the third largest lifetime expense.

Hear.com is a solid service to use if you need assistance selecting a hearing aid solution or if you’re unhappy with your current options.

The company has mostly positive customer reviews, a responsive customer service team, and offers a trial period for their products.

Further, a purchase from them also comes with included follow up appointments which can help you calibrate your product and provide you with other needed resources.

If you have any experience with Hear.com or their products, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Hear.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Don't do it!
February 9, 2024

They lie to you. they don't tell you that they are not in any Insurance list of accredited. Meaning no insurance will deal with them. They send you all this stuff and don't tell you that you have to send it back. They try and tell you that you got a discount reinsurance when they are marking up product and then discounting it. They give you the run around when you complain.

Poor customer services and fail to back their customers with any fail safe plan.
February 7, 2024

They would be a good hearing aid if it weren't for their poor service. I received only few a visits and never finished getting them tuned to my hearing. The specialist quit and for months I continued to attempt to get services, but there was no one available near my location. I have been left with difficulties using the hearing aids. Need serviced badly and feel they should extend services because of their lacking abilities. They finally got new receptionist months later after being closed for several months and she had no clue how to help. This is the most expensive mistake ever and doubt I will ever get any service to compensate .....

Don't do it!
December 20, 2023
Do not believe anything they say about insurance coverage. They are not in network with ANY insurance companies. I like the aids, but wish I would have cancelled the 45 day test! Sure wish I could do that again! Do not buy!!!! unless you plan on footing entire bill. and they are expensive! Wish I would have shopped around.

Aggressive sales calls- intrusive requests
October 17, 2023
If I could give zero or minus stars I would. I went to the site to find out pricing and had to give more info than I wanted and opted to finish online but before I could get done online they started calling and didn't stop even though I said I couldn't give info they wanted as I was traveling to call back the following week. Still calls continued and one after another. I would decline and they would call immediately Because of this I won't consider their product.

Harassed and badgered
October 8, 2023

I contacted hear.com to inquire about hearing aids. I talked with their representative to get an idea of models and pricing.

He kept pushing to pay a fee to see one of their doctors. I mentioned a few time that all I wanted was an idea of pricing as I already had a full neatest with audiogram.

After I finally hung up, I kept receiving harassing phone calls later that day. I think it was 4 calls over the next few hours.

I finally told the last caller to never call again. They did call a couple more time ps over a couple days and they were ignored.

Beware and stay away

beware of support after the 45 day trial period
September 18, 2023
it has been 3 months since I sent my hearing aids in for repair. 1st they lost them; 2nd they supposedly sent replacement by UPS.....never received. Their backroom support sucks. would not recommend them

Insurance - I didn't give hear.com a chance
April 12, 2023

The guy I talked with from hear.com was really nice and things were being set up - I was so excited! The next day I called my insurance provider and they were against the idea - not in the network and not paying a dime!

I've spoke with 2 agents with no accents and pleasant. Who knows? This could have been great.

Hear.com sucks
October 4, 2022

These are good for conversation’s, they are garbage if you want the Bluetooth to work. These are a waste of money, I will never order them again. Total scam artist.

bad service
September 27, 2022
After 45 days, service is bad.

They are very involved in the process.
August 30, 2022
Just like having a personal audiologist. You get an examination and hearing testing by video communication and you get follow up counseling and adjustments with a specialist.

Online Interactive Ad Has Scam Written All Over It.
July 9, 2022

I have not purchased from this company but the online Ad that asks several questions has scam written all over it. No matter how one answers the questions he or she qualifies.

For example, my age I entered 99. Get real. Also, several online companies offer a similar hearing aid for a fraction of the price.

Service sucks! You're on your own!
March 3, 2022
Great sales pitch but couldn't even get my package to me before they scheduled the Audiologist. Customer service went down hill from there. Aids are good but don't let them lie to you. If you need supplies or service you are on your own. STAY AWAY!

Total Scam
August 1, 2020
They claim to contact your insurance company and assure you that part of the cost is covered by your insurance. Then they claim that it was denied and try to collect the entire cost from the customer. Except upon investigation I found that they never contacted my insurance company and never submitted a claim for reimbursement. Now they are taking me to court to collect.

A wonderful hearing aid
January 14, 2020
I purchased my hearing aids in September 2019. I had previously worn Phonac aids for 9 years. I often took them out because my ears would itch terribly and background noises drove me crazy. I can’t begin to tell you how happy I am with my Sonia stiletto hearing aids. I don’t even realize that I’m wearing them. They are so comfortable . My hearing is so much better with them and I can easily control the volume with my smart phone . I am able to answer my phone now and clearly hear what the other person is saying because it streams right to my ears. I am very pleased and would highly recommend these aids! There is a 30 day trial period so you have nothing to lose and everything to gsin

LeslyPichardo January 20, 2020

Hi Patricia! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with hear.com. You're right the Signia Styletto devices are one of the best hearing aids in the market right now. We are so happy that you'd recommend our service and product. If there's anything we can do to help you in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out. Happy Hearing! - hear.com team

Hear. Com revuew
January 7, 2020
The lady I dealt with was so very helpful in getting me set up with the right audiologist. Now with hearing aids I am hearing things I had forgotten were there, the jingle of Christmas bells were a real joy this year.

LeslyPichardo January 08, 2020

Hi Velma. Thank you for taking the time to share your story with hearing aids. Getting hearing aids is a beautiful experience. Glad you were able to experience your holiday season to the fullest. Happy hearing - hear.com team

I'm happy I made this choice
December 12, 2019

I have been avoiding this for a long time, but finally after too many social gatherings where I could not understand people, not hearing my wife (according to her) and straining to understand the TV shows, I did it.

Hear Canada office had a great specialist who was very helpful, a nice small friendly office that I can drop into at any time for a cleaning, and a payment plan so I could spread my payments.

Yes - I can hear others now, hear my wife, and they gave me a special box to stream the TV straight to my ears. Now I can watch the game and not disturb others.

LeslyPichardo December 23, 2019

Hi Michael. Thank you for taking the time to share your story with us. Many people avoid getting hearing aids, but when they finally take that next step to improve their hearing they realize all the benefits. We are happy you are enjoying the devices and better hearing! Have a happy holiday season. - hear.com team

LeslyPichardo December 23, 2019

Hi Michael. Thank you for taking the time to share your story with us. Many people avoid getting hearing aids, but when they finally take that next step to improve their hearing they realize the benefits. We are happy you are enjoying the devices and better hearing! Have a happy holiday season. - hear.com team

I love my hearin aids
November 21, 2019
Other than the cost love my hearing aids

LeslyPichardo December 05, 2019

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We know the cost associated with hearing aids, luckily we offer the option to finance and we do work with insurance companies to make the better hearing more affordable. Happy Hearing - hear.com team

Stay away from hear.com
April 28, 2017
Horrible company...I completed an inquiry online to have a consultation. The representative asked me a few questions about my hearing loss and said he'll schedule me for a hearing evaluation with a hearing professional in my area.. wonderful.. not until he asked for $50.00 to schedule the appointment to secure my slot.. I told the rep I will not give my credit card information over the phone. With no explanation he said okay and hung up the phone,but remembered to tell me to have a good day. I felt like this was a scam and was happy I didn't move forward with such company.

frank herrmann February 03, 2018

Scam operation. They tell you insurance will pay $1000.00 and you pay the rest then after a month or two they say you still owe them. Lying con artists.

PeterLevy August 01, 2020

He's right, they claim insurance coverage and then try to collect the entire sum from you. They never even file the claim with the insurance company.

LindaKyle Wright June 12, 2021

They are blocking my review! Getting attorney! Maybe they will listen then!

Andrew April 19, 2022

I was considering buying their product. But after reading the reviews from several sources. I will not. I don't know how they claim a 4.5 rating. Well over 60% of the reviews were very negative and touted poor customer service and lack of good faith to honor their claims. Reviews are very helpful. Especially when a product is so costly. Not worth taking chances. Plenty of reputable dealers locally.

martinhudson July 09, 2022

The online Interactive Ad has scam written all over it. No matter how one answers the questions he or she qualifies for an overpriced aid one can buy on Amazon for much less. So, I did not go further. I answered that age question with 99.