Handy.com Reviews

Handy.com
( 71 reviews )
Website: www.Handy.com

Handy.com is a website and company that promises they can help their customers book both expert home cleaners and handymen at just a moment's notice with their convenient and secure booking and payment system.

How Does Handy Work?

According to their website, all Handy professionals are experienced, friendly, background checked, and insured, so their clients can feel confident that they will be receiving the assistance of a well vetted professional when they book through their website.

All customers need to do is choose the type of service they are hoping to book, then select the date and time they would like their professional to come, including dates as soon as tomorrow.

All payments will be handled through their website, so if a customer has any issue or complaint with the service they have received or the service provider, they can address their concerns with Handy.com.  

Mobile Options

At this time, Handy.com does have a free downloadable app available for iPhones, and may be expanding their availability to other platforms in the future.

Cost/Price Plans

Customers who use this website to book their services will encounter no fees beyond what they are expected to pay for the services they request.  

Refund Policy

Handy.com does say that they offer a Refund Policy, stating that customers who are not 100% happy with the service they have received can speak to one of their representatives and always have the option to receive a full refund of what they paid for their services. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints is to do so by phone at 866-849-7492 or by submitting them directly to their website.

Reputation

This website is the new incarnation and version of the previous website Handybook.com, which provided essentially the same services and had some issues, which the owners claim have been improved with their new updated service.

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other companies that offer people the ability to book professional cleaners or professional handymen, though often these services are separated into different websites.

If you have any experience with Handy.com or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Handy.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

They are a scam! Please be careful
November 29, 2022
This company is built on scamming their customers. You will book an appointment, nobody will show up multiple times. If you ask for a refund, they will say they will send it via check and then it will never come. It is a scam to steal money and grow business. zero stars and someone look into this company please!

Lies!
October 17, 2022
Buyer beware! Handy.com stole from us. Told us they would refund the services that were offered because the work was horrible. Actually had to rehire someone else and pay twice. Handy.com said they issued a check refund and today we were told that they didn’t and to contact Lowes. Customer service reps continually lie (all documented) Please use extreme caution with these people

Crooks- Horrible Craftsmanship
October 17, 2022

This company has been giving me the run-around since early Aug. We bought the install service via Lowes, and this was the company Lowes contracted. The guy came to install our kitchen light and the light was crooked and hanging off the ceiling.

Weeks were spent dealing with Handy.com and they finally told us that a full refund would be issued for the service and a check would arrive 5 weeks later... (for something that could have just been refunded to my credit card) fast forward almost two months later, still no check.

Received a random text from Handy.com that they would be out on 10/21 at 8pm (a Friday night). Mind you, we had to pay for another company to repair the install that they claimed to be refunding. So, we paid for an install two times.... My Husband reached out to Handy.com and asked about the refund and was told, "oh, there is no refund" even though I have emails stating FULL REFUND in bold lettering from Handy.com.

They told us to reach out to Lowe's. Basically, starting this battle all over again. This company has the absolute worst customer service, had lies and stole from us. We waited for weeks for our money to be retuned only to find out they were never refunding us. Flat out lied about a refund.

Find someone else
October 6, 2022

The worst. I bought a disposal from Lowe’s, and opted the installation which ended up being through handy.com. I didn’t hear from them for days, called them and found out they had already scheduled an appointment.

Then over the next two weeks, they canceled my appointment twice and rescheduled it automatically. Both times the appointments were canceled the day of the expected service. I told him I had no faith that appointment would not be rescheduled again, and I wanted my money back.

Be Very Very Careful!!!
October 1, 2022

This service is often luck if the draw and I’d be VERY careful in booking a “ pro”. Unfortunately I had the service added on when I made a Costco purchase. The communication from Handy is terrible, and I didn’t know who my “pro “ would be.

In taking a chance on a “ vetted “ stranger you can be putting yourself in a situation like I was where I was told the fee I paid was just a deposit and I owed him 50 dollars more.

Maybe because I was a woman alone he decided to pull that but it was frightening and threatening. I ended up giving him 20 dollars as a tip to get him out of my home. There’s nothing like finding your own person and getting a feel for who you are dealing with. No matter how much they are vetted, many unpredictable things can occur. I’d never do this again!

Don’t use Handy
September 27, 2022
Awful. They won’t actually show up. Don’t buy anything from a vendor that uses Handy to install. It won’t actually happen. Handy won’t show up. It won’t get done. They will reschedule 3-4 times then just refund you. Then your stuck with product that needs to be assembled and installed and no one to do it.

Horrible Service
September 7, 2022

The worst experience ever-no shows for appointments-customer service horrible and assembler damaged product and then they are doing nothing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

UNRELIABLE AND POORLY MANAGED COMPANY
August 31, 2022

I have never been so frustrated! I purchased several items off Wayfair and paid for assembly for some of them, and the have contracted with Handy. I also purchased toilets from Lowes, who also uses Handy as their local installer.

For all of my purchases I was rescheduled numerous times--usually at the last minute. This is SO incredibly rude and disruptive, as I had scheduled all my activities around these appointments.

For the toilets, I finally gave up and had my money refunded by Lowes and hired a local plumber instead for less money.

My suggestion... DO NOT hire any help through handy.com!! If you need a service, simply find a local handyman who will actually show up for the job.

Hire your own installer!
August 28, 2022
Would be a negative rating if allowed. Miserable experience using this company! They 'guarantee' 'Pro's', which is total BUNK! They sent 'experienced' people to install a gazebo 'appx 5 hrs'. These people had NEVER put together a gazebo! It took over 8hrs WITH my husband and I finally helping the last 1.5 hrs! Then it was missing bolts (due to them not following the directions and putting them in the wrong places) and put together incorrectly! When chatting with a person online, they 'ended' the chat before completing a conversation because it wasn't a positive experience. 'Irish' was that person's name so beware..

do not use or hire on as a pro
August 25, 2022

i work on this platform , they lie steal and cheat those who use it , will list a cleaning job as if it was a 1 bed 1 bath you show up to clean it and its a 5 bedroom 3 bath but you only get paid to clean a 1 bedroom then if you complain they send you a automated response that says sorry you couldn't complete the job you claimed company lies steals and cheats until there pros snap

Horrible company
August 11, 2022

Yesterday, I was on the phone for almost 3 hours trying to find out when someone was coming to my house. Every single person I talked to on the phone and online chat couldn’t find my order, was extremely rude, was condescending, refused to help, kept passing me to several other people.

Then, as soon as I was on the phone with the company that I place my original order with to cancel my handy service, I received an email with an appointment.

NO THANK YOU!! After the hell this company put me through, I will never give my business to you and everyone is being made aware of everything! I am not the only person that has been treated this way by handy and I won’t be the last, sadly. However, I will make sure those I know will never go through this.

Cancelled and they still took money after I did ($280) and won’t refund!
July 29, 2022

It was a bad service, I cancelled after a few attempts to make it work. They confirmed in email that I cancelled, then 2 days later they took $280 off my credit card and still sent someone to my house.

I had to deny them and have been dealing with clearly outsourced email support that is telling me that since they sent someone, I won't be refunded. This is a terrible service that everyone should run away from.

Go find a an individual worker and leave this garbage attempt at a software as a service to fail. I'm contacting the BBB and dealing with cc dispute. This is the worst service I've ever experienced. Don't use.

What a disaster
June 25, 2022

It was a disaster start to finish.

He was over an hour late. I got 6 texts saying he was there. I found a number for him and called to see if he was coming. 35 min.later he walked in not wearing a mask like the many emails declared was required.

He looked at the boxes from Wayfair and said he wouldn’t do the job because Handy.com was only paying him $35. He left. During all this I called Handy Customer Service. She said systems were down and I should callback.

I explained that I was sitting in my new house that I’m not living in waiting for the service person to come. I asked to speak to a supervisor and she said it could be many hours until the supervisor got back to me. I am writing this five hours after that call and I still have not heard from a supervisor.

UNSAFE
June 18, 2022

They do not coordinate who shows up so two people who did not know each other show up. One is wearing a mini skirt and flip flops to assemble a heavy duty steel gazebo. She was also clearly high on something. She fought with the other worker and left early leaving my to assemble the project.

I requested a refund from handy. They took 18 days to reply and offered me 50% - this is after having called in and arguing how much I initially paid them even though I provided the invoice.

DO NOT use this service. DO NOT purchase this service through Wayfair.

Don't bother
June 14, 2022
Scheduled for Friday. Rescheduled for Monday. Nobody showed up. When I emailed I was told that the person was texting and calling me. I showed them my phone and message logs from my phone. Nothing there. Not sure if someone is lying or using the wrong phone number. They haven't responded so I assume lying. So, then the next day the story from handy changed to he contacted you via the app. Again, not true. Hey, if they want to take my $60 and pay someone for not showing up, that's a business model that is unsustainable and so good luck to them.

Why are they still in business?
June 14, 2022

One star is too high of a rating!!!

They were "no-shows" for (4) COSTCO dishwasher installation appointments.

My question is: Why are they still in business?

Scams, inaccuracies, lies and rip-offs!
May 23, 2022

Overall the company is a scam. Their bookings are not accurate. You get there and find that the deal is very different. Earlier today I drove 40 miles each way and spent an hour at the job site inspecting the parts for a very complicated assembly.

When I begin the instructions very very clearly stated it would require a minimum of two people l, even had an illustration Was an extra cross one person trying to do it. I got a hold of them and was told that since I couldn't do the job I would be paid only $15!(Five dollars less than the cost me in gas to get there and back) And then later modified that to say that I get nothing because client said I did nothing.

That's not accurate because she was upset but not at me. She described the whole thing is a rip off. When I went to look at the details they had erased everything. Her contact information, the discussion, everything.

I'm going to let Walmart and Wayfair know about it, I'll also be calling every gig group I can come up with, and then contact the attorney generals office as well as the labor board, Because the rules are not keeping with those of an independent contractor either. I would not work for this company again and I would not take any assignments from them.

Install from hell
April 29, 2022

I bought new appliances from Lowes in February. I had to pay extra as we live 22 miles from the Summerville store. The first date Handy just canceled on us during the hours they were due here.

Next date the guy showed up an hour late. They sent an electrician instead of a plumber. He had to read the instructions. Then he didn’t put the drain in and just left. After dinner I turned on the week old dishwasher. Within 5 minutes it starts making noises and lights were flashing.

The book says cut the power immediately. I called Samsung and it was determined the installer didn’t knock out the connection for the dishwasher. I immediately called Handy and said they needed to send someone immediately to fix this.

They tell me they can’t get anyone for 3 days. Friday comes and we get a text saying they canceled our appointment and rescheduled for 3/2. We were leaving town on 3/2 and they say they can’t get anyone here before then so to call a week before we get back to have it scheduled.

I call the first week in April. I’m told I can’t schedule, Lowes has to. I emailed Lowes. The assistant manager tried for over a week to get someone out. Finally last Friday Handy sends me email to pick a date. I give them 4/25-27. They say 4/27 at9-12. Ok I’m good with that. The next day I get a text it is now 11-2. The next day 1-4. At 2:30 on 4/27 the plumber calls and says he is still in Mt Pleasant and he isn’t getting stuck in traffic for a measly $100.

He says he would come 4/28. I tell him that doesn’t work as I have to take my car into Charleston for services. Then he says Saturday afternoon and I tell him we already have plans.

More calls to Lowes and Handy. I’m told Lisa will be here 4/29 from 12-3. Ok. I get a text yesterday saying they canceled that and it is now 5/2. Totally unacceptable! I have not had a working dishwasher for over 2 months and they have yet to consult us before changing appointments.

This company does NOT respect their clients nor provide them with satisfactory service!

JT May 23, 2022

They don't respect us pros either.

They don't reimburse their contractors
April 26, 2022

We are a contractor who has tried working for Handy. They are a scam!! They overcharge their customers & don't pay their contractors. Try using their portal...what a joke! If I could give them 0 stars I would.

Fraudulent Practice s
April 18, 2022

Stay away from this service if you don't want them to steal your money. First thing we experienced is the "Poor Scheduling". They kept cancelling the appointment on the day the item was to be set up.

They never gave a reason until I finally called. I was told they have no control over independent contactor cancelling My problem they never tried to resolve the issue in a timely matter with the customer.

Finally, I cancelled March 8,2022. They said the refund was processed. 7 days later I had to contact them again to get a status update. The request was escalated and then told they have confirmed the refund was processed on March 17,2022 give it 5-7 days. March 24,2022 no refund. I have tried to get written proof the refund was processed.

Now no response. As of today April 18, 2022 there's no refund received by the Klarna or my bank . Now we will file fraud charges against this company.