Goldbelly Reviews

Goldbelly
( 35 reviews )

Goldbelly is an online food marketplace for regional and artisanal food that aims to connect food lovers with iconic eateries all over the US by allowing users to order food using their portal.

How Does Goldbelly Work?

According to their website, the creators of Goldbelly.com genuinely believe that America’s greatest foods are made by “passionate regional food makers and small batch artisans.”

Unfortunately this means that these foods are only available to customers who can physically get to their location. Goldbelly.com wanted to provide both their customers and these regional food makers with a way to reach a much wider audience and get the appreciation they deserve.

To shop their website, all you have to do is choose the region from which you are interested in eating – The Northeast, The Midwest, The South, or The West – or you can choose the individual state from which you are hoping to order. 

If you're simply looking for the country’s best bacon or pie, you can also search their website by food offerings.

Cost/Price Plans

Obviously the cost of the product you are ordering will depend on what you are ordering, the volume of what you are ordering, and whether or not shipping charges will be involved. 

This company also offers customers monthly subscription options for customers who are interested in regular deliveries of what Goldbelly.com has to offer.

Customers can choose from their specific monthly boxes, like their Bacon Box, Sandwich Box, Cookie Box, Cake Box, and many others, or you can simply choose to give the Best of Goldbelly Monthly Box. 

These individual boxes will be priced between $49 and $79 for a single box, while customers who are interested in choosing repeating subscriptions will pay between $199 for a three month subscription and $749 for a full year subscription.

Goldbelly Refund Policy

Unfortunately due to the nature of these products, the Goldbelly website states that all items are considered Final Sale. 

If an item does arrive to your home either damaged or spoiled, they ask that you contact their Customer Service team by email as soon as possible so they can help resolve your issue.

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to speak to their Customer Service team about their questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by going to their Customer Support page and clicking on their Submit a Request link.

Reputation

This company does have some serious customer complaints at this time, and they all appear to be about the same general problem: delivery. 

Many different customers spoke about how they were willing to pay significantly higher than retailer prices for the products they were ordering because of their special nature, but then the products were not actually shipped when they were supposed to be.

This means that items chosen as gifts or for special occasions didn’t arrive when they were supposed to, and many customers said they were very underwhelmed by the Goldbelly Customer Service team, who they felt weren’t very helpful. 

The experience which was supposed to be special ultimately turned out to be very frustrating and upsetting for some customers. 

The bottom line appears to be that customers may want to try this company for a non-special occasion first to test out their experience before relying on this company for a more important event or a gift.

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many different monthly delivery box services that focus on bringing their customers regional or international food specialties, as well as those that focus on specialty meats, cheese, sweets, chocolates, coffee, and more. 

So if a customer believes that Goldbelly isn’t really offering what they are hoping to find, there are other options available which may be a better fit. 

If you have any experience with Goldbelly or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Goldbelly Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Nope
January 25, 2023
A friend sent us Brownies they arrived in good time but looked horrible when we opened the tin. There was no ingredients list and my daughter has food allergies. They looked stale too. Taste wasn’t horrible that’s why I gave it an extra star. Over priced I am sure

Jacques Torres chocolates from Gold Belly
January 13, 2023

I purchased a box of 25 Jacques' Signature Chocolates for 79.95. I would have rather spent money on a box of Russell Stover chocolates at 6.95 for 17 pieces. They would have tasted fresher and had more flavor. These are grossly overpriced, under-flavored and tasted stale. If they were indeed fresh then they found a way to impart staleness as a flavor. I will never be purchasing from Gold Belly nor Jacque again. Save your money and buy fresh and tasty chocolates from your local chocolatier or Walgreens.

Wasted my money on expensive desserts for Christmas from Goldbelly
December 26, 2022

How I wish I had read customer experiences and reviews before ordering from this company. What customer service? It doesn't exist so forget about even trying to reach them by phone as a last resort for help with orders.

Orders didn't arrive, a cookie order which did arrived came with cookies missing parts of their shapes. Half a candy cane sugar cookie? Ridiculous.

Lost over $300 with this horrible company. Christmas dreams of unique desserts absolutely ruined

Top Quality!
December 16, 2022

I received a dozen sfogliatella as a Christmas gift from my twin. They are the most delicious ones I have had since I lived in New York some 43 years ago!

Shipping was great! The order was even a day early during this hectic season. Thank you.

Horrible
December 16, 2022
Horrible delivery service experience! Food was left in my doorstep at 10:PM, thawed, dry ice was gone, food was not edible. Customer Service has not responded emails and Chat service is a Robot that does not resolve anything.

JUST HORRIBLE!
July 19, 2022

Absolutely Horrible! $89 for Lox and Bagel. Bagels were stale and lox was not fresh. It was pre-packaged Acme Crap. Not fresh as advertised and certainly not from any NY City Deli as advertised. They offered a $15 Coupon. Oh come on!!!! Do not Buy!!! You've been warned!

lec December 26, 2022

how I wish I had read customer reviews before ordering. Am in complete agreement with horrible service

Terrible service and don’t deliver on time even when you pay extra for specific shipping dates
June 17, 2022
I ordered a cake for my sons birthday-had to pay an additional $35 in shipping to choose the date I needed it delivered for my party. They communicated the day before that it would be delayed (after the party) and won’t refund/credit anything. Unacceptable service.

lec December 26, 2022

Wish I hadn't wasted my money on Goldbelly

Nothing was in the box, no customer service
June 15, 2022

Only 1/4 of the order was in the box, still don’t have any contact from customer service, paid over 120,00 for the dinner, what a shame….You would think QC would be at the forefront…. NOPE

Too expensive and poor service
May 9, 2022

Poor delivery and service. I ordered a charcuterie box for my mother for Mother’s Day and it was delivered with the small ice pack melted and the cheese/meat hot. It was inedible. You have to send in pictures (so don’t throw the stuff away).

The only solution they offered was a credit to their site (which expires) or to resend the box. However, since it was after Mother’s Day, the surprise is gone. I do not recommend this service, especially since this cost me more than $100.

Don't waste your money
May 5, 2022

Do not waste your money! I was shipped a wedding cake that arrived late and with 1 very small dry ice pack that had melted. I contacted customer service and was told their policy does not allow for refunds. They were willing to ship me another melted cake but not refund my money for a damaged product. Worst customer experience ever!

Subscription Scam artists
April 13, 2022
These people are scam.. I signed up for their subscription and they set me a $83.33 cake, that would have cost 20 bucks at the store. I informed them that I didn't want their cake that was up charged 400%.. And they told me to enjoy my cake and that refunds are not given.

Subscription Scam artists
April 13, 2022

These people are scam.. I signed up for their subscription and they set me a $83.33 cake that would have cost 20 bucks at the store.

I informed them that I didn't want their cake that was upcharged 400%.. And they told me to enjoy my cake and that refunds are not given.

Goldbelly - Do not use!!!!!
April 12, 2022

As I was hosting an event for a Children's Cancer fund raiser, I ordered cheesecake from Junior's Cheesecake in Brooklyn NY through Goldbelly.

I ordered mini samplers on Tuesday for delivery on Friday. The Friday delivery came with a premium for shipping. Not only did I not receive my items on Friday, when I attempted to call both Goldbelly and Juniors Cheesecake, I could not get any response. I finally called the Junior restaurant who told me that they would relay my information the following Monday...after my event.

I canceled my order on Monday. I received an email saying my items had shipped and would be delivered on Wednesday...more than a week after I ordered and 3 days after my event.

Nothing like scrambling at the last minute to cover the inadequacies of Goldbelly.

82 year old mom disappointed
March 12, 2022

I bought a cake for my mother's

81st birthday last year. It was the most I ever spent on a cake. It was worth it she loved it. So this year I told her I would get the same cake. She was very excited. I ordered the cake on March 3rd. We picked a later date then was offered. We had chosen March 11th. On the 11th I got a email saying the cake would arrive by March 16th. It was still out for delivery.

That means we were getting a old cake. 5 days after the birthday party. We called customer service. Their solution was send a new cake. Or credit. NO REFUND!

Why would I order again? They tried to send me a old cake. 5 days after a the event. I will never buy from them again.

Beware once the cake leaves the factory. It's on you. They don't care what happens from there. As I was told by the the rep. " We are not responsible for perishable products once we ship them". Thank you Goldbelly for all your help.

Don’t seem to be able too fulfill orders correctly on a timely basis
March 11, 2022

Placed order 3 weeks prior. I asked for a specific date of delivery paid in full. Now no one knows where order is/ if it has shipped. Very poor response and delivery.

lec December 26, 2022

Completely agree after wasting over $300 on desserts. Customer service is non existent

Save your Money—Give a Whole Foods Giftcard Instead!
March 8, 2022
We received the organic fruit box for our 35th anniversary from our Matron of Honor. It was not chilled, it consisted of waxed, small weird apples, blood oranges and four avocados. I know she spent $75. on the box. The apples were mushy and mealy and this morning I cut open one of the blood oranges— it was dry and bitter. I am now in a weird position of telling my friend that she was had or to just keep quiet. I would want to know, which is why I’m posting this…..

Georgetown Cupcakes…sells for Goldbelly
February 17, 2022
My cupcakes didn’t look at all like the picture on website! More icing on lid than on cupcakes. Mine came from georgetown cupcakes..AUSTIN…I sent pictures as soon as I opened box..have heard nothing…

Terrible Service
February 10, 2022

Order arrived lukewarm and dough all lumped together and shipped with a measly icepack. Contacted customer service and they try to blame you and send you link to their terms and conditions to write off the blame.

They only want to credit you 25% of your order as a store credit. What terrible service, do not buy anything from them they can't even ship food correctly let alone guarantee your satisfaction after you spend quite a bit on their food.

Unprofessional
January 26, 2022

The reviews that are posted on here - I agree with all of them. I ordered a two pies from them, one chicken and one apple. Well, UPS was two days late with delivery. By the time, the items arrived - the dry ice was already half way melted and I had serious doubts if I should bake these.

I did as per instructions that were provided and both pies caved in and the contents leaked out leaving a hot, burned mess in my oven. Customer service refused to refund or send another shipment. Extremely disappointed and will never deal with them again

Bad customer service
December 7, 2021

Terrible customer service! Refused to refund my money or credit the cost of my order which was inedible. I had ordered crab legs came in so salty it gagged you. $169 down the drain. I feel like if you’re going to ship and associate your name with a product you should stand behind it.

They refused to budge, I contacted the actual supplier, and they are in the process of sending me another order, admitting sometimes they get in a salty batch. Shame on Goldbelly for not contacting them and finding out this is a legitimate issue, instead of making me feel like I was a liar. Bad customer service beware.