Freelancer.com Reviews

Freelancer.com
( 154 reviews )
154 ‘Freelancer.com ’ Reviews
  • Sort Reviews By:

CRIMINALS FREELANCER.COM/DREAMZ MANAGEMENT SOLUTIONS
January 3, 2013

This is not a post for a job but more for the criminal activities by DREAMZ MANAGEMENT SOLUTIONS.

I hired these inexperienced and unreliable people to add product attributes and pricing to an existing 150 products. Amir ([email protected]) promised they would be able to do this in a timely fashion which was not the case, they have no clue how JOOMLA/VIRTUEMART works and stalled the project for a long period of time and came up with excuses each time I contacted him.

The initial payment was supposed to be 100$, he changed a few descriptions so I offered to give him 25$ which in my opinion was fair. I told him I was going to hire a reliable, professional competent programmer. I got no response. It went into dispute today and 10 mins later he accepted my disputed offer. I thought that both sides would be happy with the outcome.

This is where these imbeciles start their CRIMINAL ACTIVITY. He logged on my server and deleted all 150 products from my website; they never entered these products it was done by someone else. I have a backup but just come to show how these low life’s can destroy an honest community by doing these things… This confirmed my first intuition with these people from the beginning, they are scumbags.

I felt a need to warn other people about these clowns.

Charles May 31, 2013

Okay Max, no update at all since January. Just goes to prove Freelancer.Com is a complete scam.

Steve February 27, 2013

Max, Ethan and all off you are probably the same person from freelancer just replying with generic email. Sad!

Adrian h January 13, 2013

Hi max can you comment on the following please? Is suspending accounts common place in freelancer and what reasons do you suspend accounts? What about taking payments out of paypal accounts without verification?

Do i have to send you photos of my passport and bills and photos of me holding such things to be enabled to withdraw money. Why is the site so slow and buggy?

How come when i change 500 dollars from usd into aud and back to usd am i left with $430 dollars? Is it true that you take 10% of the money earnt from the employee and 5% from the employer?

Max f January 10, 2013

Hi Jack. This is Max from Freelancer.com. It's unfortunate that you had a bad experience with this user. I've forwarded the username to our Support Team and we will conduct an investigation. I will provide an update on this matter. Should you have any other concern, please send an e-mail to [email protected] Thank you.

Impossible to use.
December 31, 2012

They are not authorized by US law to suspend accounts with money in them for "verification purposes", and certainly not because I stopped an unauthorized payment that THEY forced on me!

I was posting a project, which was supposed to be a free activity on this site. However, in the review process for the project a $199 fee was added to the posting of the project. Note that the average bid for this project was under a $100 dollars, and I did not authorize this $199 fee. Before that, I rejected the fee and tried to repost the project without the fee multiple times. This was not allowed. When I looked at the statement for the fee, which I did not have enough money deposited on the site to pay, it said that I would have to deposit on the next page if I wanted to post the project. I was given the impression that if I clicked through, I could change the project settings and then I wouldn't have to pay the fee. Instead, the money was taken out of my account.

Username- thoughtspeech

→Project ID- 4082357

Edit- my account has been suspended because I suspended the UNAUTHORIZED Paypal payment. Freelancer wouldn't offer any hope of giving me back the $199, and it won't even let me get away with the $9 that Paypal was responsible for! In addition, they are forbidding me from taking any additional money that has been released to their site by my other employers.

Very Very Bad company
December 30, 2012
when you try to withdraw funds, they suspend your account, then try to get you to send in high res photos of you holding your passport and current bill statement, not only that i had to wait one and a half months in order to get to this stage in withdrawal, then you have the exchange rates which are criminal, the nonexistant customer support etc etc avoid at all costs

They do not care about you
December 27, 2012

They do not care about the ultimate end user: the freelancer. They charge both sides (project creators and project bidders) and will do whatever it takes to keep the money they squeeze out of both ends.

Example #1: If you put in a bid and are accepted, then do work and are not paid (partially your fault for not creating milestones and handing in the 100% completed work before being paid, sure..), they do not give a hoot whether you get paid. Even when you complain to them about an employer not paying you, they gladly place the blame back on you and don't lift a finger to punish the thief either in the form of a negative review (you aren't allowed to leave one if the project is never marked as "complete") or any other punitive measure.

Example #2: If you accept a project that is set to earn you, say, $500 dollars, 10% is instantly taken from you. $50. Say the employer never gets back to you, follows up, or anything even results (no work is even done, etc), you CANNOT get back your $50. You can plead them, but your pleas will surely fall on deaf ears and automatons towing the company line about the necessity of following their high and mighty "policies" .. USE THESE GUYS AS A LAST RESORT, or if you do use them, TREAD CAREFULLY!

Erwin January 04, 2013

I had like 100 finished projects in vWorker, freelancer imported one wrong and they want me to pay to open it again and close it correctly.

Support don't help in anything, only pointless canned answers. You will be robbed constantly in this scam.

Pat H December 29, 2012

When freelancer acquired vWorker, I had ~$400 on account with vWorker. I was done with vWorker because they could not supply a Sherpa to manage my SEO project.

The funds were transferred to freelancer. I’ve had some emails from freelancer with instructions on how to have my money refunded. None of these suggestions work. Freelancer does not know how to fix this problem and has shown little interest in fixing this problem. Perhaps freelancer does not have the resources. Either way, my money is gone. Lesson learned.

Charged me without my permission
December 25, 2012

I was signed up for the free membership for several years.

One day, $5.37 was taken from my PayPal account. Apparently, they had upgraded my membership without my permission from free to basic. I requested that they refund me, and they said they would only return $4.95. In other words, they basically stole 42 cents from me. I would be very careful with this site

Syah December 30, 2012

Definitely a scam, I face same problem. I immediately open dispute with paypal and they asked me to close dispute and follow their procedure for a refund or limit my account. Don't waste your time with them, a bunch of m0r0n working together to steal money from people.

Employer
December 23, 2012

Watch for the hidden fees - there are lots of them! Like when you make a deposit payment they secretly hook up your PayPal account to withdraw what they want when they want, without asking you again - ouch!

Anyway the site now looks more like some cheap and nasty game show than a serious pro job/work site.

Adrian h January 13, 2013

Hi max can you comment on the following please? Is suspending accounts common place in freelancer and what reasons do you suspend accounts? What about taking payments out of paypal accounts without verification?

Do i have to send you photos of my passport and bills and photos of me holding such things to be enabled to withdraw money. Why is the site so slow and buggy?

How come when i change 500 dollars from usd into aud and back to usd am i left with $430 dollars? Is it true that you take 10% of the money earnt from the employee and 5% from the employer?

Max f January 10, 2013

Hi Steve. Max here from Freelancer.com. If you want more information about the Freelancer fees and charges, please visit this link: http://www.freelancer.com/news/articles.html, and view the Fees and Charges section of the page. We're constantly improving our system and processes to make things clearer to users. If you think that you've been wrongfully charged, please send an e-mail to [email protected] and we'll look into it. Thanks.

Freelancer scam company. AVOID YOU WILL BE HAPPY YOU DID.
December 14, 2012

Very bad company, the idea is good but they make it near on impossible to withdraw money, i am still waiting for 4 weeks now to withdraw money, first they tell you you can use a variety of options to withdraw money pay pal, money bookers, express withdrawal to your bank account, but because it's your fist withdrawal you have to wait two weeks, you wait two weeks then your withdrawal is cancelled because you have usd in your account not aud, then you have to exchange your usd to aud at $.90 aud for every dollar when the current rate is one usd for one aud, then they charge 15 dollar exchange fee.

Then you put in for a withdrawal again, wait two week, because it's your first withdrawal, then you withdrawal is rejected again, no reason given, now you find out that because you didn''t earn the money you can't use any of the options available pay pal, express withdrawal, moneybookers, instead you have to request the money to be reversed into your account that credited, none of this is explained to you, it's all in the terms and conditions, they love quoting the terms and conditions.

I've then been requested to provide details of when i deposited the money, the amount deposited, the date deposited, the email of the account etc etc, very annoying,

i have been reading about others problems when withdrawing money and the next step is them suspending the account freezing your funds and asking for a photo of your holding your passport in your name, in hd of course, then they ignore the requests, etc etc

also anytime you ask a question via sending a ticket you may have to wait anywhere from one to three days to get an answer, then if you do not answer within 24 hours they assume the ticket has been resolved, then you have to make another ticket.

thats just one of the problems i had with freelancer, there are many more i had with their website/system. not happy avoid, you will be happy.

Do not trust freelancer.com or any freelancer on it
December 14, 2012
Freelancer.com is full of scammers protected by freelancer.com. The users on the site will take your money and disappear, even the users with over 300 positive reviews. Freelancer will do nothing about this, they won't even ban the scammer and you cannot leave a negative review for the scammer until you release all the funds. Freelancer will simply tell you "too bad". Never use this site!

Max f January 10, 2013

Hi Paul. I'm sorry if your experience at the site wasn't great. I'd like to help. Please send the username of this scammer that you encountered and we'll conduct an investigation. Thank you and we hope to hear from you.

BEWARE OF FREELANCER.COM
December 8, 2012

Thank you for posting this! I found it because I was searching for ways to post a scathing review of freelancer.com myself. I am a freelance voice over talent. During the only job I received on freelancer.com, the employer decided not to pay, and simply leave the site. You see, freelancer.com took money from my account as a “fee” before I was even paid by the employer.

As a result, for my honest work I ended up PAYING $30 TO FREELANCER.COM, and not even being paid what was promised by the employer.

freelancer.com offers no protection (such as escrow, or dispute resolution) for the freelancers on the site, and really don’t even deserve to use the term “freelancer”. I am truly disgusted by this money stealing site!

DON’T USE FREELANCER.COM !!! BEWARE !

Jane December 19, 2012

Freelancer.Com is still a VERY dubious company with VERY illegal, illegitimate scam in history. They have so many hidden charges and fees. If you post a contest and nobody gives you an acceptable design that you can use, you cannot get your money back! That’s totally absurd and they have very dirty business practices. I really hate losing money this way.

I wish I’d read this earlier.

Freelancer.com - worst company on the planet
November 30, 2012
Negotiating around their webite is a nightmare. Almost all of the people I hired (5) were useless. Their customer service is non-existant. Did I leave anything out? Oh, their fees are too high and they will hold your funds for ransom.

Phil December 14, 2012

So what service is better?

The worst freelance website
November 30, 2012

I will set notes:

- website too slow

- website not organized, hard to understand ("simple is good")

- 70% of projects are fake

- home of scam employer

- lot of ads

- you always have to pay (to pass test - to highlight bid...)

- hard to win a project even if you are "BILL GATE"

- when they acquired Vworker my life become a hill ("Hate you freelancer.com")

Peter g December 30, 2012

odesk is worth a try anything would be better than this site, trust me on this one please, all reviews on here are true i have had first hand experience.

So t December 14, 2012

Sounds like you are developing a competing site? Or do you have a better site in mind? Please share!

Freelancer.com steals your money
November 18, 2012

Freelancer.com charged me twice on my Credit Card, will not refund me and will not even email me back. The only way I could actually speak to anyone is by going to a section on their website which has a chat online option ( its only on pages where you buy something ) Anyways they told me the same, that I need to email higher management. Still no email, I lost $600. I have never had so much hatred for an online company. I HATE FREELANCER.COM they should be arrested and thrown in jail.

Matt November 30, 2012

Freelancer.com is a scam company. Don't link your credit cards, PayPal, or anything else to your Freelancer account or they will just start charging you automatically for absolutely no reason. Then, when you chat (because they don't have a phone believe it or not), they will run you around in circles trying to get you to give up. There are a lot of great competitors to Freelancer.com out there. I suggest trying guru.com, elance.com, or odesk.com. Anything but Freelancer.com.

Max f November 20, 2012

Hello Chris. This is Max from Freelancer.com. We apologize if this has happened to you. I would like to help. Please send your username to [email protected] We'll look into these double charges to your account and resolve it quickly as possible. Thank you and we hope to hear from you soon.

I hate freelancer.com !!!!
November 16, 2012

I don't think its a scam but:

Last time I paid a seller they had a bug on the site and they double charge me.

So I ask for a refund.

It took about 2 weeks until they gave me one and since that time they limited my account and harass me with many questions. Each time I answer they have some more questions.

I just can't belive how bad service they can give...

Yesterday I uploaded money to pay for a project (www.rtw.com) . Now they don't let me pay...

"for account security reasons until we can verify your identity. You can continue to work and receive payments, but you won’t be able to transfer or withdraw funds. To verify your identity, visit the Verification Center."

The only reason I started using them was that they bought the amasing scriptlance.com site, and now I don't have an alternative...

Wong h April 04, 2017

I totally agree with you. Recently in 2017 they still double charge my, it is not shown on my freelancer account transaction but appear on my credit card and they still deny it asked me sort it with the bank. This is really a scam company. Do not use Freelancer.com if you don want to lose your money!!

Adding: privacy abuse (personal data published), illegal threats
November 7, 2012

After I have engaged in consumer protest against their policies they have... PUBLISHED MY PERSONAL DATA ON WIKIPEDIA. See entry for Freelancer.com, go to history of editions and see what was happening on August.

Have I mentioned I received illegal threats from their representative? They said I am to shut up (remove my posts - my blog is Get a Hindu at the Blogspot) or they will "commence actions against me" (!)

This is beyond scam and lack of ethics. This is personal.

Freelancer; Scammers protecting scammers
November 1, 2012

Huge huge huge huge scam company, and guess what? Their policies and practices encourage scammed freelancers. I hired one of their freelancers. There was a 2 week project deadline. This freelancer gave me a plethora of excuses ranging from sickness, to Internet going down, to storms, etc. The 2 weeks pass, he provides me with a half completed job and begs me to release a "milestone" so he can afford to keep working on it assuring me he would have it complete in 1 more week. I reluctantly release a portion of the funds to him, and he literally COPIES and PASTED a design from one the websites I gave him as a sample. HE STOLE their code and imported it into my site, and he wasn't even crafty about it leaving references to their company name, offer, etc. When I pointed that out to him, he said he was just trying to give me what I asked for! By stealing it? WTF?

I reported him and showed the evidence of his scam to freelancer support.

They DO not care!

This was evidence that there is someone scamming people on their site. Do you think they suspended the account? Nope. Instead they initially return email with some form/cut and paste responses. After being challenged further to have some accountability, they further suggested that I try to "work it out" with the freelancer, and that there is nothing they can do.

Finally, they tell me to leave feedback.

I go to try and do that and guess what? There is no option.

They inform me that it is past the "reasonable" time limit to do so!

WTF is that?

I'll tell you what it is. It's one scammer (freelancer) protecting their own (freelance scammer)

And why would they do that you ask?

Because every time that scammer freelancer accepts another project, they get a % of the milestone, and that's really only what they are after!

Freelancer.com gets paid when you deposit funds and make milestone payments. Why would they limit the amount of jobs their freelancers can get, even if the freelancer is a their and scammer? They know that most people won't be bothered to fight it, or go the extra length to complain on a blog site like this, and even if we do, there are a lot of would-be employers getting caught in this trap daily.

In other words, they're getting away with it.

I'm seriously considering looking into getting a class action suit initiated against them for collective damages, and hopefully to put them out of business. Thankfully I have a lawyer in the family, and coincidentally their firm specializes in online scams. If anyone has similar stories and wants to post them here, I'll consider giving my contact information with respect to getting in touch.

I don't think it will be easy but it will send a message!

Charles May 31, 2013

@Got Scammed - great post! you covered many good points!

@Max - what's that other wise you saw negative Freelancer.Com reviews? I want to add to them. (Oh wait, you posted in Novemember and have not made a single follow up post on this whole site. You don't actdually give acrap.)

@Labkhan1 - are you for real? Do you even know what you're saying?

ChaimS November 14, 2012

Why should he do what they say while having his funds seized? This is just some company with overgrown ego. Apart from that, they have no respect for privacy - if a bank published its customer's personal data, it would be TOAST. Sorry, Freelancer.com is toast as well!

LABKHAN1 November 13, 2012

if your account is suspended just give them right answers what thy ask from u im 100% sure thy will active it again

LABKHAN1 November 13, 2012

100% right

Max f November 07, 2012

Hello. This is Max from Freelancer.com. I saw a similar post at a different site and I'm posting my reply here as well. It is unfortunate this has happened to you. We also apologize if your customer support experience wasn't satisfactory. I would like to help you. Please send the freelancer's username to [email protected] and we will conduct an investigation. I will also forward your feedback about our site's support to our Support managers. In the future, we strongly suggest that you withhold from releasing a Milestone until you are completely satisfied with the work completed. As to the matter of charges, Freelancer.com will only take project fees when a project is awarded or other charges when you use our paid services. I'd like to assure you that we do not get any percentage from milestone payments. Please visit this link (http://www.freelancer.com/news/articles.html) and view our Fees and Charges section for the complete list .While issues do arise, we work hard to resolve them and make sure they don't happen again. I hope I've adequately addressed your concerns. If you have further concerns, please send me an e-mail and I will respond to them immediately. Thank you and we hope to hear from you soon.

To me it is a defraud
November 1, 2012

They had taken my money before I was eligible to use your services. They have exposed me to a commitment to pay before they give me the ability to pay someone.

Unbelievable !!!!

Vaxo November 24, 2012

Max you and your company are bunch of %$£%$£%$ stealing other peoples money!

Max f November 07, 2012

Hi Luca. My name is Max and I work for Freelancer.com. I'd like to help. If you think that there were unauthorized charges made to your account, please send your username to [email protected] We'll look into your concerns and refund the charges. Thank you and we hope to hear from you soon.

Money gone!
October 24, 2012

Hello, this is a good day, a really good day.

My luck is that my withdraw was done in time, because and now I have -$500 negative ballance due to a problem with one of my employers.

Why the hell you take money from me if he scammed you.

If Freelancer.com gets scammed, the next person scammed will be the users.

You can take my account, in your Freelancer Hell.

I'm sorry for my account good reviews, I worked a lot to build my reputation.

I found great employers there, I've made some money, but Freelancer.com is crap.

SUPPORT are robots, they are there only to tell you that he can't do anything, and don't hesitate to contact them again hahaha.

DON't WORK WITH FREELANCER, I WAS SO LUCKY, JUST DON'T WORK WITH THEM, STAY AWAY FROM FREELANCER.COM!

If they try to advance and get my hardworked money from me, we'll se on a process.

Hope higher persons in Freelancer.com will see this, not the robots from the support.

Sorry for my English, I'm very angry!

Another scammed guy,

Andy.

ChaimS November 03, 2012

All you can do is copying and pasting those same lame statements! Where were you before? Now you care because this guy files his complaints?! Freelancer.com created just way too much bad karma and all people are entitled to PROTEST!

Let's use Google: see what media wrote about the company and send each and everyone of them information about Freelancer.com's misconduct! Tell them about our case, paste links to websites like this, ask not to promote this unethical scheme! Cut those lies, sugar-coating and covering the truth!

Freelancer.com's management is perfectly aware of all the bad issues. But instead of repairing company's processes they... go deeper into it. Don't remember cases that Freelancer.com denied freelancer's withdrawal just because... they got problems with the customer (!)

This is just sick and unacceptable. If you are a customer of Freelancer.com, just delete your account for your own safety.

Andy October 30, 2012

Ok, I've sended you a message.

Max f October 25, 2012

Hi Andy. This is Max from Freelancer.com. It's unfortunate that this has happened to you. I'd like help. Please send your username to [email protected] and we'll assist you with your account concerns. Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Stealing providers money
October 9, 2012

yes its true, My id is imaginativegfx on freelancer.com

Please check my profile I'm a very old user of this site, More than 75 reviews, 5 star rating and won 17 contest, but I have to say that they are stealing designers money.

This is to aware all provider about freelancer.com fraudent behavior.

I won few contests on freelancer.com recently

http://www.freelancer.com/contest/contest.php?project_id=6930

client paid me but, freelancer.com not allowed me to withdraw the fund to my bank saying that client's details are not verified.

My question is why don't freelancer.com verify these details before any one posting the job. once someone posted a job and I worked on it and now I'm unpaid for done work. Is not it cheating.

2nd one

https://www.freelancer.com/contest/contest.php?project_id=9519

I participated in this job after checking that client details are verified. His email, profile and payment, all are verified.

I feel that I will get money for this contest. I won and client paid me. I withdraw some money into my bank account. Now freelancer.com Reversed All Prize Awarded and my account is showing negative

balance. Now suspended.

They also closed his account So that I can't communicate with him and deleted the contest to end all possibilities to communication with him.

I honestly worked on contest and need money for done work. if a client is fraud than Freelancer.com is responsible for this. I will not pay for negative balance. Instead I will love to leave the freelancer.com and soon you all will realize that this kind of behavior by freelancer.com will lead to the closing of this website

Charles May 31, 2013

Obviously, Max doesn't care....

Narinder December 06, 2012

Dear Max, Can you give me honest answer? Why don't you verify the money deposit at YOUR website before someone post a job or contest.

Kate October 26, 2012

That's also wrong. If someone steals a credit card and buys gas, the gas station doesn't have to pay back the money to the owner of the credit card. The credit card company takes care of that; that's why credit card companies pay staff to watch for suspicious transactions. If they see a suspicious transaction, they suspend the card BEFORE the money is sent. This is what happens during the "authorization" process. If the money is spent wrongfully, the seller of the product is not the one responsible for the cost. Requiring the freelancer to reimburse the money to the rightful credit card owner is fraud. No real credit card company makes the seller provide a refund on fraudulent credit card activity, and only stupid people would fall for that lame excuse.

Max f October 17, 2012

Hi Narinder. This is Max from Freelancer.com. I've seen a similar post at another site and we'll post our reply here as well. I've taken note of your feedback about our account verification procedures and be assured that Freelancer will continue to improve on it.

I've looked into your case and unfortunately, the owner that created the contest used a credit card that wasn't his own. Committing credit card fraud results in immediate account closure. All payments that he made, including those made to you, were reversed and returned to the real owner of the credit card. We've refunded to you the prize fees that were deducted when you were awarded the fraudulent contests. Since you have already withdrawn the payments, the reversals resulted in a negative balance. In order to remove it, you will have to return the amount that you have withdrawn.

We do hope you consider our recommended action as you have accumulated already a sizeable amount of reviews and reputation. Please be assured that we will continue to improve on the work that we do to serve users better. Thank you.

They are a scam
October 6, 2012
they are scam and they have very very big bugs in their system. keep away!

Charles May 31, 2013

ChaimS, you're being too hard on poor old Max. He did say "fix these immediately".

Oh, if you didn't know, for Freelancer.Com "immediately" means "never".

Sorry, so sick of Freelancer.Com. I notice Max never made a single followup post (typical of Freelancer.Com) and now seems to be gone. Maybe he was ethical after all and couldn't handle the fraud of Freelancer.Com. (How corrupt does someone have to be to work there??)

ChaimS November 07, 2012

Yeah yeah Max... what will you send to the engineering team? Information they have bugs? Nothing new on Freelancer.com. In case you cared, you would ask what bugs are there etc. This would be... well... not customer support per se, but cooperating with the client to improve this bad site. But you prefer jellyfish lies just to defend the undefendable... this is just disgusting...

Max f October 11, 2012

Hello Huseyin. This is Max from Freelancer.com. We appreciate the feedback. It is unfortunate you feel this way. We would like to ask if you can send the details of the site bugs that you encountered to [email protected] I will forward this information to our Engineering Team for validation and fix these immediately. Thank you and we hope to hear from you soon.

Caution ! Freelancer.com - SCAM !
September 27, 2012

I became the victim of swindlers from freelancer-com

They stole my money of $220

They should be stopped!!!

Andy October 24, 2012

Yeah sure!

Max f October 17, 2012

Hi Oleg. We appreciate the feedback. Be assured that our Support Teams dedicate themselves in answering all enquiries and resolving concerns as quickly as possible. Again, we do hope you allow us to help you. Thank you.

Oleg October 05, 2012

Max, Client support freelancer-com is group of stupid robots which copy and insert the text. I am sure you it know

Max f October 04, 2012

Hi Oleg. This is Max from Freelancer.com. I'm helping Emir with addressing user concerns posted here. I saw one of your posts at another site and we'd really like to help you. Please send your username to [email protected] I'll help you resolve the issues around your account. Thank you and we hope to hear from you soon.

Related Reviews

No reviews yet
No reviews yet