Freelancer.com Reviews

151 ‘Freelancer.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Fouad
Guest

Negative Balance Error !

October 18, 2013

Hello,
Yesterday i was surprised when i logged in ! i have 260 AUD , and 0 USD
so it was changed to 260 AUD and -56$

i clicked on transactions:
17 Oct 2013 09:29 Reversal of [Done milestone payment from NotGoingHome for project Graphic Design (Partial payment for project) (USD) from 08/25/2013 at 21:11 EDT] (USD) USD -56.00

NotGoingHome awarded us a project, and created a 56$ milestone we finished the work but they disappeared, they didn't release the payment!

So i dont know why i was charged for something i didnt receive ! they created it why they charged me ?

There is always an error in the system !

View all 3 Comments
Kristopher Y. (Freelancer.com)
October 19, 2013

Hello Fouad,

Good day to you!

This is Kristopher for Freelancer.com. I understand that your account incurred a negative balance of $56.00 USD when a payment made by your employer "NotGoingHome" had been reversed.

I found your existing support ticket and saw that you were informed by our Support Team to contact your employer to settle the issue regarding the payment. Please expect a follow up email from on the said ticket with my email address, [email protected]

I will make sure to personally monitor this situation together with you by sending a follow up email to your employer as well. We will also notify the other concerned team handling your employer's account after it had encountered issues from within.

If you need further assistance or clarifications, please don't hesitate to contact us again through this site or your Support Ticket as well.

Fouad
October 21, 2013

Thank you Krostopher, but its not my problem to deduct the amount from my balance !

January 04, 2014

yea! why would you take money from his account?

Comment on this review...
review author image
Fraudwatcher
Guest

I HATE freelancer.com. TOTAL SCAM

August 15, 2013

If I ever heard about freelancer.com before I finished the job, I would have never used it. I got one project from there and I completed my job very well. And my employer was so happy with the job and kindly left a review, paid before I even asked. And guess what I get, NOTHING.
Freelancer.com took my money and won't give it back to me. They asked me verify my information for security reason. And I DID everything they asked to get my money. And then, of course they keep giving me some bullshit about security. And now they told me my employer needs to do same thing.
Seriously? Their questions were already rude enough. Treating me like I did something wrong. And then my employer too? I told them, My employer has paid the payment and he thinks it's all done. It's been over 2 weeks since job has been done and I can't contact him. EVER SINCE, I said I can't contact him, ALL THEY SAY IS ' WELL, UNTIL YOU CONTACT HIM TO DO VERIFICATION, WE CAN'T RELEASE THE MONEY.' That is the only thing I get everytime.

Don't ever use this website. Total scam and fraud. Basically all you do is, you will get a project, work hard and give all the money to them. That's how their system works.

P.S, Don't even think about posting bullshit on this 'Abe'. Stop stocking people here.

View all 18 Comments
Kristopher
August 18, 2013

Hi Fraudwatcher,

I am Kristopher from Freelancer.com. Thanks for alerting us regarding the bad service you have received from customer support, along with additional concerns about your hard earned funds.

We would like to hear your feedback about your experience so that we can work on it to improve our service to our valued customers like you. Feel free to send me an email to [email protected] with your username so that I can personally investigate why you are having difficulty getting your earned funds.

I look forward to receiving your response soon.

Chaim S.
August 19, 2013

Hi Kristopher. Why have I been harassed by Freelancer.com? Why have you been insulting and blackmailing me? Why have you spilled my private data?

Another UnHappy FREElancer
August 19, 2013

I am sick and tired of the abuse from Freelancer.com - I have been an active member since 2005 and every since the company was bought and changed from GetAFreelancer.com it's been a total vacuum for my earned profits. They've constantly kept increasing fees, taken money out of my account for a paid membership that I did NOT agree to use under the guise of trying to tell me I was under a "Trial Membership" and after it expired they had authorization to take money from my account to pay for the
"Paid Membership".

In order to bid on projects you must have matching skills selected in your profile. i.e. if someone posts a project to build an eCommerce site, you must have "ecommerce" selected as one of your skills. Well I've had 20 skills selected for the last 6 years. When I log in I and attempt to bid on a project I get a nice little notification that I must update my "SKILLS" in order to bid.

After going to update my skills, I notice that a majority of my skills are unchecked / no longer selected. At the top of the page it says that I can have up to 20 skills selected and I have the ability to change my skills 5 times.

So I added ONE skill which was ecommerce. The page magically refreshes after I click save and suddenly I have NO selected skills and only eCommerce as my only skill. At the top of the page, I now have "0" times left to update my skills or change then and NOW I am offered the option to PAY MONEY to update or add to my skills.

TOTAL B.S. - I HATE THIS COMPANY - I have never been so irritated with any online service provider as I have been with this company. They're stealing from people on a daily basis and rigging their system to extract as much money as possible from every single user they've got.

I hope someone forms a class action lawsuit to investigate and tear down their internally rigged scam scheme. I've read countess articles, blog posts and unhappy comments about exactly the same thing I've been through and much worse.

They're scoundrels no doubt.

Kristopher Y.
August 21, 2013

Hello Another UnHappy FREElancer,

This is Kristopher from Freelancer.com. I can see you have experienced some issues around our membership fees and in changing/adding skills to your Freelancer.com profile.

I want to make sure any issues experienced are resolved. Send me an email with your username to [email protected] so that I can rectify your concerns with the paid membership fees charged to you & assist in adding skills to your profile.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kristopher Y.
August 21, 2013

Hello Another UnHappy FREElancer,

This is Kristopher from Freelancer.com. I can see you have experienced some issues around our membership fees and in changing/adding skills to your Freelancer.com profile.

I want to make sure any issues experienced are resolved. Send me an email with your username to [email protected] so that I can rectify your concerns with the paid membership fees charged to you & assist in adding skills to your profile.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Chaim S.
August 22, 2013

Hi Kristopher Y. I am Chaim Kovalsky, author of Get a Hindu blog. Please tell me why have you at Freelancer.com been spilling my private data? Why have you been threatening me? Why have you been trying to illegally threaten me into silence? Hope to hear from you too.

Lai
August 24, 2013

Hi Chaim,

It seems they ignored you. If you could, contact a lawyer.

Freelancer dot com is a joke.

Chaim S.
August 26, 2013

Hi Lay .Yes, they have been doing it for many months. No wonder why - see my article: "Insults, Injuries, Statements". The intensity of their abuse is simply unexplainable.

Yeah, I am afraid I will have no other choice but to make it official. The biggest flaw of it is I will have to find legal assistance in Australia.

Chaim S.
August 26, 2013

Sorry, it was LAI I meant. I need some sleep, I am afraid.

Lai
August 28, 2013

You're welcome Chaim.

I was one of their victims. Unfortunately this service (reviewopedia.com) doesn't support direct link to a specific review (though I've contacted them to suggest that feature one or two months ago). But my review is under the nick "Greensea", on Jan 10, 2013, -- I was talking about vWorker merging process to Freelancer(dot)com, and about vWorker's former CEO Ian Ippolito. The review seems to stand at page #3 counting down from the biggest page number -- at this time it is #3 (the total is 5 pages, so counting down as 5 -> 4 -> 3).

Wish you the best.

Kristopher Y.
August 28, 2013

Hello Lai,

This is Kristopher from Freelancer.com. We have come accross your post with the username "Greensea" and it shows that one of my colleagues (Ethan Flynn) have sent a response to your concern about your migrated vWorker account.

We were waiting for a response from you so that we can assist with your concern. We have assisted a lot of vWorker migrated users who requested to locate their account and merged it to their existing Freelancer.com accounts as well and it was done successfully.

We also want the same for you. Feel free to send me a direct to [email protected] along with the usernames or email addresses you have registered with both vWorker and Freelancer.com accounts so that we may locate it and possible recommend for merging as well.

I look forward to your response soon.

Lai
August 28, 2013

No thanks I waited enough.

I believe I was talking to Chaim.

Chaim S.
August 29, 2013

Kristopher: Your customer support had been blackmailing me (ticket EWQ-697-92677). You have told me that either I remove my articles about you or you will inform my local authorities about purported offense of mine. Is this legitimate?

Lai
August 31, 2013

No thanks.

I believe I was talking to Chaim.

Chaim S.
September 03, 2013

Kristopher: Why had Freelancer.com been disseminating my private data from user database?

Freelancer.com is Scam
September 19, 2013

Worst Site Freelancer.com, where we complain they send their support Team,which you all know ,copy paste tricks:) omg. They show others that they are trying to help....But they don't.

So Freeelancer.com change your policies ,and thefts .Otherwise you will be in hell for sure.Sick freelancer.com. ugh i feel like vomitting when i see thier page.
MoneyWorshippers.

Kristopher Y. (Freelancer.com)
September 23, 2013

Hello Freelancer.com is Scam,

This is Kristopher for Freelancer.com. We appreciate your recent comment/feedback that we have come across this site. We know that there is a reason why you have made a feedback like this and we like to understand what had triggered this particular situation.

At this point I want to hear your thoughts and comments about your personal experience with our customer support group. We always strive to bring into existence a confirming customer experience.

Send me an email to [email protected] and we'll have the details be reviewed so that we can improve more on our service towards valued customers like you. We also like to know if there is any specific incident that you can give as an example when you send me an email.

I look forward to your response soon.

January 30, 2014

OP: Next time it should be:

P.S, Don't even think about posting bullshit on this 'Abe' AND your friends. Stop stocking people here.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Citizen
Guest

Something Else to Consider

July 12, 2013

Is there a possibility of malware from Freelancer.com?

View all 2 Comments
Abe
July 13, 2013

Hi,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. I understand that you are worried about getting malware from the site.

To set your expectations, the site itself is safe; however, we would highly recommend that you contact Support in case you find any user content that you think may contain malware so they can look into it.

Thanks,
Abe

Chaim S.
July 14, 2013

Hi Abe. What about privacy policy. Why don't you inform the users you do whatever you fancy with their private data (including govt. ID scans etc.). Why don't you inform you export user data abroad and users have no control what happens with those?

Comment on this review...
review author image
Mario Maric
Guest

Account Verification ?! After 1.5 year and around ~140 completed projects ?

July 5, 2013

Hello,

I've started working over Freelancer 1.5 years ago.

I have great employers and had a great opinion about Freelancer.com, but after today... I've changed my opinion about them.

Today I've requested withdraw, so I can receive money next week. After receiving confirmation email that I've requested withdrawal, additional email came to verify my account.

I have around ~140 completed projects, with average score 5.0 and currently locked 400$ on my balance and ~1500$ in milestones.

I have few really serious projects ongoing, and that money in milestones is just a half of money that I should receive.

My current balance: http://prntscr.com/1dsbx6
Upcoming milestones: http://prntscr.com/1dsc22
Reputation: http://prntscr.com/1dsc4k

I've also sent my personal ID, the picture where I'm holding confirmation number and one letter that I've received on my post address from Payoneer. (they asked for 2 scanned bills/letters received on address, but I just don't have it...). Then I should wait 2-3 business days, and as weekend is coming, I can assume that I will get reply in 5 days, and I don't know what to do.

After getting into this, I've searched and saw that a lot of people couldn't resolve their issues and I will now notify all my employers about issues that I have. Probably they will dispute milestones on PayPal and get their money back, but what can I do ?

Support is often not helpful at all, sometime I think that they start to argue with me, as they don't understand simple questions.

In the last few months, a lot of new employers/freelancers are just agents, scammers and cheaters.

View all 12 Comments
Mario
July 06, 2013

Update:

They did answered to me, I'm on step 3 of verification. But, they just don't understand that I don't receive often letters over post office from my bank. And also I don't receive letters for utility bills, as I'm not the owner of the house where I live (owner is my father).

They don't accept Payoneer letter that I've received on SAME address, with my Payoneer credit card - that is linked with my Freelancer account.

They should really change method of verification.

I've explained them in details, but they don't answer nor accept it.

Abe
July 06, 2013

Hi Mario,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. I understand that you are experiencing difficulties with verifying your account due to the number of available utility bills you can use for verification.

I found your existing support ticket that has been escalated to the proper department already. I will personally ask the department that is handling your case for a follow-up.

Kindly wait for their response.

Regards,
Abe

Mario
July 06, 2013

Hello Abe,

Thank you very much. I was really honest when I wrote everything, I still think that Freelancer is great, but that you should ask new Freelancers and Employers to do verification process.

Yesterday I was really disturbed when I realized that my account got suspended, without any previous notification.

I hope that we will resolve all issues today, on the mutual satisfaction.

Thank you,
Mario

Mario
July 06, 2013

Hello,

Few minutes ago I've got Verified:

http://prntscr.com/1dx9tp

Thank you Abe and I'm looking forward to have good cooperation like we had before.

You should also think about enabling verification for new members, and in that way you will not have a lot of fake projects and people who will scam each others.

Thank you again once more,

Mario

ChaimS
July 06, 2013

Hi Abe. When will you tell me why Freelancer.com feels free to compromise user privacy by publishing their private data and exporting those to third countries without full disclosure? What about infringed copyright? Why have I been slandered by you after launching articles criticizing you at Get a Hindu blog?

Chaim S.
July 07, 2013

Abe: Why has Freelancer.com compromised my privacy by revealing my personal data?

Abe
July 08, 2013

Hi Mario,

The proper department just informed me that they have finished reviewing your account and you should now have full access to it again.

Please let me know if you require any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Abe

Chaim S.
July 12, 2013

What about my question, Abe? Why had Freelancer.com been spilling my private data on purpose?

Mushtaq Magri
July 19, 2013

same thing happen to me 2 days ago.They put limited access on my account I have one month saving in that more than 990$.I provide them all possible documents they are asking me to provide driving license.What a bullshit and i clearly sent them twice that i don't have driving license because i never need that and they are also asking me to ask you employer to reply us i leave more than 30 messages for employer but they are not responding to me and i told to freelancer that they are answering....how i can force some one for verification its duty of freelancer to verify them before they post.They give me job i done that now you freelancer put me and my whole family in trouble but they are saying that your account got permanently blocked if you didnot ask your employer to reply.....What the bull shit is this..

Abe
July 20, 2013

Hi Mushtaq,

Can you provide me with your username or any tickets that you have raised with our Support Team so we can review your case? Just send the details to [email protected] and indicate that the message is for Abe.

I'll wait for your email.

Kind regards,
Abe

Chaim S.
July 30, 2013

In case you had your sight impaired, Abe (asked this question before). Why does Freelancer.com personnel spill user data (including name and surname)?

Chaim S.
August 26, 2013

Pardon: it was LAI I meant

Comment on this review...
review author image
Ross G
Guest

Freelancer is a complete scam!

July 5, 2013

This started 3 weeks ago when a programmer couldn't do the job and gave me the money back - Freelancer.com just took the advantage and kept holding my money!

Tried to talk with Chat, Phone and Email support but all they said: "Can't help you". That's where I had no chance and I had to turn to PayPal for a dispute.

1 hour later, they set my account to -$210 just because I claimed that I want my money back and even when the programmer paid me back, they set my account to $0 so I won't have a choice to take the money back.

I'm willing to go anywhere needed and invest as much money as needed to make this issue completed and stop that online scam.

View all 2 Comments
Abe
July 06, 2013

Hi Ross,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. I understand that you had issues with retrieving your deposit which ended with a chargeback claim. Can you forward the details of your issue along with your username to [email protected]? Just make sure to address it to Abe so Support can forward your case directly to me for review.

I will wait for your email.

Regards,
Abe

Chaim S.
July 10, 2013

Hi Abe. When will you tell me why Freelancer.com spilled private data from its database? Why have you been threatening me and fellow people into silence?

Comment on this review...
review author image
Pascal Weidenbach
Guest

Be careful with freelancer.com

June 27, 2013

If somebody is looking for a freelancer job – don't use freelancer.com. They took my money and never gave it back to me. I suggest SEOClerks.com , as the best site for freelancers.

Abe
July 04, 2013

Hi Pascal,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. Can you please forward the details of what happened with your funds along with your username to [email protected]? Please indicate that the email is for Abe so I can personally look into what happened.

I will wait for your email.

Thanks,
Abe

Comment on this review...
review author image
Fouad
Guest

Commission Problem

June 26, 2013

Hello !

I am a scriptlance user, but since freelancer took over scriptlance, i switched !

I was awarded a 660$ project then the client stopped replying and he doesn't want to pay nor continue.

I was already charged 66$, i contacted the support system they said they can't issue any refund.

Why should i pay the commission if i was scammed ?!

Regards !!

View all 3 Comments
Abe
July 04, 2013

Hi Fouad,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. I understand that your employer stopped responding to you and the project has yet to be completed. Kindly forward the details of the project along with your username to [email protected] and indicate that the email is for Abe so I can personally look into this.

I will wait for your email.

Thanks,
Abe

Abe
July 11, 2013

Hi Fouad,

This is just a confirmation that we have received your ticket and responded to it already.

Let me know if you require any further assistance.

Kind regards,
Abe

January 04, 2014

what happened? fuad? did they help you? did you get your money back?

Comment on this review...
review author image
taz
Guest

Anniversary Card

June 16, 2013

I had my 3D anniversary card designed, developed and completed within 5 days. I set up 2 milestones one at 50% completion and the other was released on completion. I selected the freelancer based on experience, and previous projects completed. I had no issues using the freelancer site and if anything I'm looking forward to using it again. The amount of money I saved and the ability to have it organised and completed all within the vicinity of my own home. Way to go freelancer and thank you for looking after my financials.

View all 3 Comments
James
August 05, 2013

This is so obviously PR from freelancer.com to counterbalance the many, many negative reviews. Unethical!

Sheri
October 21, 2013

hahaha, like a real client would use that verbiage?!

"I set up 2 milestones one at 50% completion and the other was released on completion."

They would be like "I used this site for an anniversary card and the project went great! Would def. use again!"

TazmanianDevil
November 11, 2013

I think "australia" is the big give-away here, considering the company is from australia!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Adrea
Guest

Graphic Designers are scamming freelancers

June 15, 2013

Graphic designers are posting jobs for $30 and in turn sell them to their clients for a lot more money. They tell you they will own all rights to the logo or whatever. So they are claiming your work as their own.

I have also complained many times that people are googling images and putting them directly into their work...and then WINNING. They are never deleted, never suspended, nothing.

I'm done with freelancer.com

Abe
June 18, 2013

Hi Adrea,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. I understand that you have encountered issues with graphic design related projects and contests. We would be more than glad to look into what happened.

Please send an email to [email protected] and indicate that the email is for Abe.

Thanks,
Abe

Comment on this review...
review author image
Edison
Guest

Account Limited

June 11, 2013

To verify your identity, visit the Verification Center.

End dher they dont acept my personl data i send 5 times
for me the freelancer.com is a full scam site

View all 2 Comments
Abe
June 18, 2013

Hi Edison,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. I understand that you are encountering difficulties with verifying your account through our Verification Center. Can you please send an email to [email protected] and ask the ticket to be forwarded to me so I can personally look into your issue?

Thanks,
Abe

sara0401
June 19, 2013

Another freelancer robot??

Comment on this review...
review author image
Anonymousent
Guest

Nickle and dime

June 4, 2013

I was on there as an employer not a freelancer, and there were too many fees, and their dispute resolution SUCKS. I am done with being nickled and dimed, and am only using Elance now.

Abe
June 18, 2013

Hi,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. It appears that you had some issues with our Dispute Resolution Service and the fees on our site. We would like to look into this and help you if possible.

Please send an email to [email protected] with your username and the details of your concern. Also, please indicate that the ticket is for me so I can personally assist you with this.

Thanks,
Abe

Comment on this review...
review author image
Nicole
Guest

This company is a scam!!

May 31, 2013

We used freelancer.com to try to find a person to complete our e-commerce site. We had a project budget of $500-700. We found a freelancer to complete the project, and we paid $150 for what they call a milestone payment. The person working never did any work on our site. He kept sending us emails telling us to send him money outside of paypal because the company takes too much out and he didnt have a credit card linked with paypal. Knowing this was in violation (and very shady) we felt uneasy to continue working with both freelancer.com, and the person who won the bid on our project. Seeing as NO work was completed on our site, we asked for a refund of the $150 originally paid. Freelancer said they do not offer refunds, and that we would have to find another person to complete the project through their site. In the meantime they locked us out of our account, and there is no one to talk to. Three weeks in dealing with these people we now have to open a paypal dispute. These people are total scammers and a complete waste of time and money. I would FIND ANOTHER COMPANY!!

View all 2 Comments
Abe
June 18, 2013

Hi Nicole,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. I understand that you had some issues with the freelancer that you hired for your project and the Milestone Payment that you created for them. We would like to look into your issue and resolve it if possible.

Please send an email to [email protected] and include your username and the details of your concern. Also, indicate on your email that the ticket is for me so I can personally assist you with this.

Thanks,
Abe

January 04, 2014

Nicole, so your dispute has been solved?

Comment on this review...
review author image
Rick
Guest

Freelancer.Com scams the freelancer

May 31, 2013

After reading all these reviews, it's hard to add anything new, but I want anyone still considering (or worse, actually using!) to quickly move on.

I started on Freelancer.Com after they bought vWorker. As I already had a good reputation, I didn't go research Freelancer.Com (that's probably why Freelancer.Com MUST keep buying new victims). I have made several thousand USD and have some good clients, but Freelancer.Com has still scammed me. Once I got to the point I was fed up with them, I found this site. Here are some points, almost all of them echoed by the other comments, except for the first. I haven't seen this point mentioned yet:

1. Completion Rate: The completion rate is calcuated by total number of projects SENT TO YOU (not accepted, just sent to you) divided by the completed. Yes, I had someone trash my Completion Rate because he kept sending me a job and I wouldn't accept it until he had all the requirements for me to start! (He wasn't trying to be malicious and didn't even know this was happening... why would he??)

2. I was awarded $2000 projects from a client but he never responded. Of course, I wasn't foolish enough to accept because he lacked project details, but I couldn't figure out the reason for someone to do this. Either it was to make the compition loose money and maybe leave or ?? (Of course, it also didn't help my completion rate.) There is something very wrong with Freelancer.Com to set up their system this way.

3. I've completed projects for clients, been paid by the clients, received 5 Star rating had the money deposited to my account. All good. A few weeks later when I go to make my first withdrawal, oh guess what? There are problems with the CLIENT FUNDS. I don't even find out until the money is missing from my PayPal account. I eventually find out from Freelancer.Com support that there is an issue with the client funds and that I should contact them for payment. Um, EXCUSE ME FREELANCER.COM - WHAT IS THE POINT OF YOU AGAIN?? The thing is, I was talking to the client and he even sent me the pictures he had to take with his ID and other information. Turns out, Freelancer.Com charged his CC over $3000 for $150 project! (His laywer was taking over the situation.)

4. I've been awarded projects, had milestone payments deposited, did the work and had the client cancel. Everything gone EXCEPT my fee - of courese, I still had to pay that fee. No Refunds. No Exceptions.

5. I've had milestone payments created, delivered the work to the client and requested the milestone to be released. Client acknowledges I did almost 70% of the project but wants me to finish it before he pays me. I say no, pay me the 50% milestone first. It goes to arbitration. I lose. Why??

I sitll have a 5 Star rating on Freelancer.Com, though I'm sure they'll cancel my account if they can figure out my username. Everything above I can support from my own experience.

If you don't trust the reviews you've read here, then come back and post your own WHEN you get scammed by Freelancer.Com. (I expect scammers to use any website they can. I don't expect to be scammed by the website operators directly!)

Abe
June 19, 2013

Hi Rick,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. Your Completion Rate should only be affected by projects that you have accepted. Mind if we take a look into your account so we can figure out what happened?

Kindly forward your details along with the other concerns that you have raised here to [email protected] Also, please indicate that the message is for Abe so I can personally assist you with this.

We will wait for your email.

Thanks,
Abe

Comment on this review...
review author image
K.P.
Guest

How I lost my money at freelancer.com

May 15, 2013

At the first half of February, 2013 I got a payment from employer M. (a little bit more than $1K). M. is a reputable employer (member of Rent-A-Coder / VWorker / Freelancer.com since 2004, reputation is 5.0 based on almost 60 reviews; 80+ projects completed).
I got more transfers from other employers and made some successful withdrawals after that payment (some days my balance at freelancer.com was close to 0) and felt happy with my job.
Everything has collapsed at the 2nd half of April. I’ve requested a new withdrawal ($800+ - my balance at freelancer.com was a bit more that that amount) but got nothing in time. I thought that there was a bug in freelancer.com software and made another request for withdrawal of the same amount. In a day I've noticed that my request was just disappeared from the respective list at freelancer.com. I would like to highlight that during that time I have not got any messages from freelancer.com other than “Latest projects and contests matching your skills.”
Of course I've submitted a ticket to freelancer.com support. They have responded that employer M. is having an account issue with them (as I noted above, the reputation of M. on that site shouldn't cause any doubts), and that the amount which I have received from M. cannot be withdrawn.
There were a lot of words… Here is the model (please note that all dates, amounts and user names are close but not exactly match to real data):
1-Feb-2013: Payment of $1100 from M.; balance is $1100
10-Feb-2013: Payment of $500 from A.; balance is $1600
21-Feb-2013: Withdrawal of $1000 – OK, balance is $600
1-Mar-2013: Withdrawal of $550 – OK, balance is $50
10-Mar-2013: Payment of $400 from B., balance is $450
25-Mar-2013: Withdrawal of $400 – OK, balance is $50
10-Apr-2013: Payment of $800; balance is $850
20-Apr-2103: Withdrawal of $800 – REJECTED since amount of $1100 (= payment from M. at 1-Feb-2013) became unavailable to withdrawal :-O

Also I got an advice to contact M. directly and ask to resolve that account issue. It would be a good joke if it wouldn't concern the sensitive amount of money: I thought that the main aim of freelancer.com is to establish secure relationships between freelancers and employers, i.e. freelancer.com guarantees that freelancer will be paid for its job if it has been done, and that employer will pay for the job which has been done only.

CONCLUSION. IMHO since you have earned your first money at freelancer.com you cannot feel safe: at any moment any of your former or current employer(s) can be declared as having account issues with them and amounts you have received from that employer will be locked – despite of how long ago etc. it was.

Abe
June 26, 2013

Hi K.P.,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. I understand that you had issues with withdrawing your earnings due to an issue with a past employer. Can you forward the details of your concern to me along with your username? Just send an email to [email protected] and indicate that the email is for Abe.

We will wait for your response.

Thanks,
Abe

Comment on this review...
review author image
Scammed Freelancer from USA
Guest

Scammed by multiple "jobs" - out about $200+

May 15, 2013

I did a few jobs on this site. It's a waste of time, avoid like the plague.

First off:

- Everyone thinks they should pay an engineer less than a convenience store worker.

Really.

- Employers can cancel at any time, the bill is footed by the provider.

So you get pushed out, you pay the bill. Oh, the provider pays the bill too. Double fees - no refunds.

- No complaint system for nonpaying employers

I was scammed out of $150 worth of work with this. The guy set things up, I did the work - he took off. Milestones gone, payments gone - my hours of time - those were gone too. Can I complain? Nope. FYI - the company that did this to me: MOWBI dot Com - Bill's a thief - doesn't pay his workers, overcharges for a garbage product.

So - go to a different site. If there's fees on all ends - like with Freelancer.com - then it's a scam, avoid like the plague. Elance is 1000% more reputable, and I've had NO losses with Elance.

Abe
June 19, 2013

Hi,

This is Abe from Freelancer.com. I understand that you had some issues with a canceled project, and I'd like to assist you. Please send an email to [email protected] containing your username and details about the canceled project and if it checks out, we can issue a refund to your account.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Abe

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review