1800Accountant Reviews

1800Accountant
( 27 reviews )

1800Accountant is a company that aims to assist its customers by providing them with access to their very own personal accountant that can help them manage their finances throughout the year. 

How Does 1800Accountant Work?

According to their website, 1800Accountant was started by two former members of Price Waterhouse, one of the largest and most well known accounting companies in the United States in order to give small businesses and individuals access to quality accounting year round, not just at tax time.

Clients of this company will be assigned a personal account depending on your personal needs and circumstances. The website says that their large and varied staff allows them to provide you with an expert for your particular industry or tax situation.  

Cost/Price Plans

This website does not list pricing information for their services at this time, other than to say that providing your initial information to this company to get started is completely free. 

Refund Policy

The website does not discuss any potential Refund or Guarantee Policies. Customers who are interested in whether or not they offer these types of policies should speak to one of their representatives about them before using their services.   

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to speak to their Customer Service team about their questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 800-222-6868, by email at [email protected], or by submitting them directly to the website.

Reputation

There are not many user reviews available for this company at this time, but those that are available seem to say the same thing, that while the services can be expensive, the quality and expertise are quite good.     

If you have any experience with 1800Accountant or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

1800Accountant Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Bad Service. Expensive Mistake
July 1, 2022

These guys will sell you a set of services that they say will save you money in the long run. It's a lie. They do the absolute minimum - you end up doing most of the work yourself.

They cost me money in late filing fees and penalties. They don't answer questions, don't explain, don't take any responsibility.

Avoid. Avoid. Avoid.

Do not use this service. They are useless.
May 24, 2022

They will talk you into a subscription, then do nothing for you...

The accountant's work is terrible. I ended up doing my own taxes, and paid 1/10 of what the 'expert' had calculated.

SCAM SCAM SCAM
May 17, 2022

SCAM. They are pushy, they make you feel like your business is going to explode without their expert advice. Read the 1 star reviews and you'll see that they don't offer anything near what their sales people say they do.

CPAs charge a lot but if you have a good one you can get ahold of them easily enough and have them help you with your questions.

1800-accountants does not provide anything special and for the almost $3K price tag, they should have really good reviews. I was so stressed out after talking with them. READ THE REVIEWS. SO glad I didn't sign up with them!

Scam company
May 10, 2022
Would give them 0 stars if I could. Company is nothing but an expensive scam. Do not use them.

Scam! No, I'm not "dazzled"
May 3, 2022

What a scam! 0 stars if possible! After the initial pitch call, it sounded good... I approved the $2600+ charge for supposed services I needed.

After the call (which conveniently ended right before end of business hours) I did some more research and what they said my business needed was legally not true. I called next morning for a refund.

No services had been provided, no team call... Only the sales pitch and sign up. They said they would only refund partially because of the "resource allocation fee" which cost $263!

When I called to complain, they replied that I hadn't given them a chance to "dazzle me" yet. Yeah... I'm not Dazzled... Stay away from this scam!

Terrible experience. I'd give them 0 if I could.
May 2, 2022

As many of the other one-star reviews have said, the salespeople will paint a picture of having a personal accountant you can contact with questions as often as you like.

This couldn't be further from the truth. After the first consult, my accountant never replied to any of the messages I sent him, never sent me the information he promised or completed the work he said he would.

I'm lucky I read other reviews here and cancelled within the first month and got a refund (although they still charged me for the month I "used". At best, this company has terrible customer service, and at worst, is intentionally taking their customer's money with no intention of providing the services they promised.

They Do Not Know How To Speak To Their Clients!!!
April 19, 2022

Their services are wack!!! Mr. David (supervisor) does not know how to speak to his clients!!! And they will charge you for services that they are not helping you with!!! And read the fine print, they will charge you for services they did not complete, they will not refund you because you're seeing the charge 30 days later!! Trust me I'm not a small fry!! Ya'll will be hearing from my legal team!! Mr. David I'm still waiting for you to cancel my service, sir!

SCAM
April 5, 2022

I should read all these reviews beforehand. Is a waste of time and money.

The payroll company they use GUSTO is very bad as well!

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY

I thought this company would help me!!!
March 21, 2022

I thought this company would help me with bookkeeping and business taxes and boy was I wrong. They had multiple double transactions that I didn't even realize until tax season.

I literally had to redo an entire years' worth of books because of their laziness to pay attention to detail. Then so I canceled with them, it took them two months to get my books straight which it only took me 3 days!!!

Then I decided I would give them one more chance and used them to do taxes on another business of mine.

Well... that was also a mistake! They didn't file the correct paperwork and didn't advise me on anything after the taxes were complete. Their communication is horrible, and it takes over a week for anyone to respond to any of my messages. I now have to pay someone else to fix their mistake.

Is it legitimate or Scam?
December 16, 2021

I started to run business, Since January 2021. I opened the website and tried to sell clothes. But My business is stuck due to covid19. I can't ship or they can't order.

So I didn't report the IRS, what I supposed to report every three month.

And later I decided to report on October 2021, then I contacted 1800ACCOUNTANT. They charged me for $400 EVEN to report the IRS. They said, they will take care everything, all I have to do is : fill out the forms. I did everything.

After a few month, in November 2021, I got notifications: saying that my account out was log in today. I go to their website and changed password.

In December 2021, they sent me an email saying that my 2021, 4 quarterly report is due in next month, January 15,2022.

I relied to their email address but the savers couldn't find the email address. Just came back to me.

When we spoke on the phone. They said, they can't report the past quarter because it's already passed. They will do in December 2021.

But now their story is changed.

This is a total ripoff
August 24, 2021

I gave this one star because I could not give a lower rating. I signed up with 1 800 Accountants when I started my own business and was advised that they would take care of my business and personal taxes. That was 2013.

When I tried to fill out their forms there were repeated computer problems, such as freezing up and not permitting entries. It is my fault that I just put things off. So this March I try to get my taxes done, and I am told that was only for accounting services not tax preparation. I had been paying $49.99 per month for 8 Years. They wanted over $ 8,000 to do my taxes. Up Front.

So I stupidly paid the additional costs and sent in all of the forms and documents required. 5 MONTHS later I have the taxes prepared for only 3 years. Every time I try to get any information I am advised that they are working on the taxes. For $ 8,000 I could have hired someone for $ 1,000 per week with the rest to be a bonus when completed and I would have had my taxes completed a long time ago.

This is a total ripoff.

They screwed me
August 7, 2021
The person assigned to my taxes quit and they never handed it off to anyone. Eventually, the mistake was caught but my taxes filed late and I had to pay $2k in penalties to the IRS. 1800Accountant refuses to refund me

It is a scam!!!
July 16, 2021

It is a scam!! having worked in the past with different companies providing accounting and bookkeeping services I came to the conclusion that 1800Accountants is a scam. Not only they will charge you for services that they wont provide but also they lie about what they can actually do for you.

One example is that I tried running payroll with them ($1000/year for 1 employee at one company) and it's been 4 months and they havent been able to set it up...they use Gusto! it took me two days to set it up with Gusto and is the same thing....

Great company to work with
July 9, 2021
I decided to go with 1800accountant to start my LLC. So far i am pleased with the service. I received my articles of organization within a few days. I had an issue with it at first with it having the wrong address. But after a few minute phone call they had it straightened out and sent an amended form to have it fixed. Customer service is very friendly and helpful. I definitely recommend 1800accountant to help get your business started.

AlKempf August 24, 2021

Quit working with them ASAP. They are a total ripoff. Good service up front and then absolute poor service afterwords. Perhaps calling the service I received Poor is giving them more credit than they deserve.

Malpractice and no responsibility taken
May 18, 2021
They charged me $4000 for the year and told me I was free from paying the CA $800 franchise tax. Now a year later after a pandemic I'm being told by current CPA that I not only still owe it, but that I have penalties and interest. What's worse is that 1800 Accountant is not taking responsibility. Rip off and malpractice. I would NEVER recommend them to anybody!!

They almost got me
August 2, 2020

I was referred to 1800 Accountant via LegalZoom. I set up an LLC a few months ago and was getting behind on the paperwork. I was called by Legal Zoom and told that they would schedule a consultation with a tax consultant. When I was called by a guy named Michael I was asked if I had received any EIDL or PPL loans via the government to which I agreed. I was instructed about how the tax classification that I wanted to be filed under needed to be filed. I was then told that I had 75 days after filing the LLC, and that it was day 73 and we had to file this right away, lest the IRS would choose the classification for me. I was told that the annual fee of 1,200 could be broken up into installments. Bullcrap.

I told him that I could possibly call someone to get the money (despite the fact he knew I had the money after I had foolishly disclosed my loans)within the hour, yet that wasnt good enough! The representative told me that it would be better if I could call him back within the next 20 minutes because he was about to go into a meeting. I eagerly told him I would, got off the phone and immediately blocked him.

He then emailed me three times afterwards.

Not today 1800 Accountants!

Over promise and under deliver
July 22, 2020
As someone who used to work here.. You will be treated as a statistic. You will sold glitter and sunshine so they can get you past your first 30 days so they don't have to deliver the services. After that, you'll be ignored and they'll flex their no cancellation policy.

1800Accountant are Shysters
June 17, 2020

After starting a new Business we were talked into using them. Cost us $3,400 and they told us we would be completely covered full package. Turns out we only got software to do our own taxes. The personal Bookkeeper they promised us, turns out Bulls#!t. They named their software "Bookkeeper". The Accountant they told us would walk us through our Tax year, also bulls#!t. They have a program called accountant. All you get is an Adviser to walk you thru doing your own data entry on the software. Then when you try to complain they never get specific on emails about their promised services. The whole time they lie. To top it off all their people sound like they are telecommuters, contracting their services to 1800 Accountant. Most of these contractors are the real-deal but they are just part timing and constantly being switched out. Meaning lost documents, unfinished task, and a headache. I had to hire someone inhouse just to process our taxes and deal with these shyster.

DO YOURSELF A FAVOR STAY CLEAR OF THE SCAM. Save your money, if you want to do your own taxes get a tax program. If your want someone to do it for you go fine a CPA near you. Both choices will save you time, Money, and a headache.

1-800 Accountant is a SCAM! Please Dont Fall for it!
May 16, 2020
They lost all my personal information. spent over $2500 to do my taxes. They lost my w2's atleast 6 times! not even joking! They said send em over again we will have someone else go over them... I was like no I want a refund... They cancelled my account and never received a refund. Please keep your identity safe and don't go through these guys. $2500 is a lot of money but losing your identity could be far worse... Stay safe.

Scam Artists
April 2, 2020
These people screwed up my tax return and it costed me thousands of dollars. When I complained, they canceled my subscription and will not refund me. Find someone else. These people are criminals.