Vacasa Reviews

( 45 reviews )

Vacasa Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

RUN from Vacasa
September 20, 2023

Rented a home in VT for a three day weekend with a group of people in their late 60’s who were having a reunion. Was looking forward to spending the weekend cooking, eating and enjoying each others company for the first time on 40+ years.

People were coming from various parts of the country. Got a call less than 24 hours before checking that the oven was not operational, which put a big damper on our weekend plans.

All the shopping had already been done and paid for so we had to replan meals and start again with more trips to the grocery store and more expense. It took someone from Vacasa 5 days to get back to me (after numerous calls and texts asking to speak to a supervisor) and in their infinite wisdom, give us back $20 a day for the loss of this “amenity.”

That’s $60 out of an $1,800 fee, about 3% of the total rental. Not sure about you, but I consider a functional oven part of a house, not an amenity.

Will NEVER deal with them again. Be careful on other rental sites as they list on VRBO and others and then you are stuck. Much better to deal directly with the owner than a big, faceless corporation who only seems to care about the bottom line and doesn’t care about their customers satisfaction one iota.

Very disappointed
August 12, 2023

Very disappointed in Game On 203 in Salvo, NC Outer Banks. Definitely not worth $4,700 for the week. When we arrived, two cleaners were leaving and house smelled like weed. Blinds broken and/or missing. Molding near front door missing. Spaghetti or some type of food on glass coffee table and running down the side. Toothpaste running down cabinet in upstairs master bathroom. Contact lense on bedroom floor and dining room floor (which means no vacuuming or sweeping was done). Cup and stuff behind couch in basement. Goldfish crackers under sofa in living room. Stove and oven was not clean. Bookshelf has soda (or drink) stains on it. Beds did not have “sticker” indicating beds were clean. Neither did toilets. Pool was dirty when we arrived and pool people never came to clean it or hot tub. Not 1 lounge chair on the property except the broken one in pool area. Cannot lay by the pool or on the deck. Bugs was smashed on walls, there were spider nests in the house, holes in pool liner, liner was torn away from side of pool. We had to add water daily ourselves. Tiles in the home were cracked and loose. The carpet disgustingly soiled, not all hot tub jets work. There was even dirt on ceiling. The air return vents look like they’ve never been cleaned. Stair step to lower level has a hole in it. One guest twisted ankle on it because you can’t see it going down. Pots dirty. Bedroom doors didn’t lock. One tub not draining with black stuff in it. Called and spoke to a foreigner asked for someone to fix the drain. No one ever came.

Will not be renting from Vacasa again.

411 Oceanwalk Highly Disappointing
July 8, 2023

We left a day early because we were highly disappointed with this space. The photos are so misleading. The wall switches for the bathrooms light and fan were installed backwards and the shower curtain was full of disgusting mold and mildew, which took an entire day to replace after several calls, text message and e-mails to Vacasa.

And someone left the replacement shower curtain on the kitchen counter expecting us to spend time switching it out. The tub handles were extremely hard to turn on/off. The floor was recently replaced with gray artificial wood panels and looked nice, however, after walking barefoot for a few minutes, your feet are black as charcoals. I don’t get it. We had to turn off the air conditioner in the living room because the vent was dotted with black mold making us sick. Shame on the owners that maintain this apartment!

They obviously do not care about the renters who spend over $1,000 just for a few nights. It’s in great need of refurbishing and updating. In addition, it look like someone threw a shredded scarf over the curtain rod in the bedroom. And what topped off the stay is that they provided eight towels, five hand towels but only two wash clothes for a four-day, three nights stay for two people.

After calling, texting and emailing them several times, like I mentioned earlier, the Vacasa rep said they will not supply any additional wash clothes. Who do know would use the SAME WASH CLOTHE to wash their face, arm pits and private parts for four days and three nights during the summer time while vacationing at the beach?? That is disgusting! Shame on the Owners of 411 Oceanwalk! Shame on Vacasa for sponsoring such trifling cheap owners!!

Poor property management
June 20, 2023

On Sat, Feb 18, 2023 at 12:17 PM Adele Cuddy wrote:

1-1st Manager- Kevin Daltrey-Promised fireplace would be addressed beginning of season cussed out contractor we hired for repairs and guests as they were standing there unimpressive performance by Vacasa staff

2- Jake addressed issue of fireplace promised this was addressed, obviously not as demonstrated by the pictures we took when closing for the season. Why did the summer cleaning crew NEVER report this? Neighbors reported smoke throughout the fall season. ( We are now stuck replacing carpet, cleaning the chimney, lock on stove and replacement of sign on lock on shed which was also cut and wood need used. IS it not in the contract guests may not use fireplace inside of wood house. Hazard for neighbors my property a wood house that had a closed fireplace and basically the ashes left for us to clean and guest to view.

We have tried multiple times to ask for a conference call but never happened. We had a local cleaner replace towels and clean beds as Vacasa did not have sufficient cleaning support. ( Nancy wants our cleaner to sign contract with them for future use, cleaner stated on multiple time they were used to fill in shortages. For the final close of the season the calendar was booked and asked Jake to have the house cleaned in the AM as it NEVER should have been rented. We arrived clean10-hourw stated they never have been to the house and left as we did not want to wait in the parking lot, they took all sheets and towel, We cleaned our own house made beds vacuumed did dishes and was rudely address by Nancy who knew nothing about the situation Lacked empathy no worries 89 year old grandmother can sit in the drive after 10 hour trip for the one week we wanted to use our property.

If you do not have consistent cleaner crew to report damages, why should I pay insurance for a season that was never properly overseen?

Well Nancy stated since it was never reported during season we could not file for insurance, that’s what we pay premium price for FULL-service rental property.

Wouldn't come back.


Stayed Sep 2022

Bill P.

The lake was beautiful. The beds were comfortable. The house was dated from the 60s. Not clean. Found a little piece of chicken in the kitchen sink. A big sized dead spider in kitchen, and many spiders and webs.

Published Sep 19, 2022

Host’s response:

Bill, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We're pleased that you loved the lake views and found our home comfy! That said, we apologize for the cleaning details that were missed and thank you for bringing this to our attention so housekeeping could be addressed. We hope the compensation you received helped alleviate some of your frustration. We enjoyed having you as our guest and we hope to have the opportunity to better impress you on your next getaway.

George’s pond


Stayed Sep 2022

Tom T.

Musty smell, broken dish washer, plates in cabinets still wet & some dirty, for sale sign on front a surprise, vanity light bulb burst when first turned on & no broom & no replacement bulbs. View of George’s pond was beautiful. I doubt Vacasa inspects it’s listings.

Why entrust my home to Vacasa? Next year is going to be different?

Please provide a cost analyst showing what fees I am paying for, the reservation moves and if indeed they were not moved or just cancelled.

Adele Cuddy

No A/C
May 22, 2023
It’s Monday, May 23, 2023…almost noon. We checked into our Vacasa vacation rental at 3309 Topsail Dunes, NC on Saturday and reported the air conditioning wasn’t working! It’s still not fixed! Numerous texts! NOTHING from local maintenance! Not acceptable! Will NEVER rent a Vacasa residence again!

Beware Of Unauthorized Charges
February 8, 2023

I booked a house for a family get together. Not only was the advertised price half what it turned out to actually be after fees and taxes, but I was charged insurance. On the pay now screen, it showed "Insurance ------". There was no quoted price, nor a place to accept or decline insurance. I contacted the service rep during my vacation weekend who told me to contact Billing. The Billing Department opened Monday. When I spoke with a service rep they declined to refund me for insurance I did not select, nor was even quoted a price for.

I will never rent anything from VACASA again.

Horrible, customer, relations, and business practices!
December 30, 2022

If I could leave less than one star, I would. These people are horrible to deal with, and turned our vacation into a nightmare. Do not do business with them! We had a reservation, drove six hours, and when we arrived at the property, there were issues with the booking I was told.

When speaking with their customer service representative Melanie, she specifically told me there were issues with the information transferred from and instructed me to cancel my booking and rebook through their website. With her on the phone, I canceled the booking, and then proceeded to book online to which was unsuccessful because the room became unavailable.

It is New Year’s Eve weekend, and everything is booked, and all this company can say is unfortunately, you’ll have to find something else. What horrible way to do business and to treat people. I will never use them again and would recommend finding a different company to do business with if you want to be sure you don’t get screwed.

Do NOT Recommend
November 29, 2022
The house we rented from Vacasa had so many issues. The door lock on to the bottom floor didn't work, and wasn't locked when we arrived. We had to ok replace the batteries ourself. The bottom floor smelled like cigarette smoke. The TV in the living room kept shutting itself off. The Keurig was broken, I ordered the piece to fix it myself. The regular coffee pot had old coffee in it. The floors were dirty. The house clearly hasn't been cleaned well. Also, we reached out about an item that was left and they are charging a fee for looking for it, whether they find it or not. It's been two months, shouldn't the item just be in a lost and found item location? This should be a courtesy. I've worked in the hospitality industry before, we charged shipping for items, but a fee just to look for it? That's ridiculous. DON'T rent from this company. I recommend finding another. I'll never rent from them again, and based on their 1.2 star review average, there are many others that feel the same.

Horrible Customer Service!
October 17, 2022

This review is not for our stay but for actions after our departure. Our stay was in Pacific Beach in Washington State, October 24-26.

Shortly after departing to return home, we realized that we had left some items behind. Without having a direct contact with the property manager, we sent an email to the review address that was provided. I have contacted VACASA 5 times by phone since then and cannot get an answer if the items were recovered or not. The customer service reps seem very friendly but don't keep their promise of getting back to me. The big issue it seems that the VACASA person in Pacific Beach is not responding to repeated contact attempts.

I find it very frustrating when it seems simple, if you cannot contact a property manager REPLACE them.

I'm not sure what else can be done but I will avoid AT ALL COST any VACASA Rentals in the future.

Horrible management
October 11, 2022

I rented a 4 bedroom home in Bethany beach DE for 5 days. After arriving I called immediately to let them know there were stains all over the carpet, one of the stools for table was all ripped up and refrigerator had rust all over it. None of these are big issues for me I just wanted it on record so I wouldn’t be blamed.

Fireplace did not work, they said someone would get in touch with us within 45 minutes.

Next day I called again, this time it was again the fireplace that they never called back on and the smoke detector was beeping every minute (dead battery), I informed them that I disconnected the smoke detector and they need to get it fixed, again I was told 45 minutes.

I figured, no smoke detector, kind of a big deal they would certainly do something about it. I was wrong.

The next day a bunch of men show up and start painting the stairs to my unit, I explained, there are 7 people here all coming and going all day that they could come back when we checked out. The guy in charge got nasty with me complaining that I was being cooperative.

Then the night before checkout at about 7pm someone knocks on the door to fix the fireplace and sliding glass door (there was not problem with any door), I informed him that I no longer cared about the fireplace, there was never any issue with a sliding door but that the smoke detector was broken. He says he can’t fix the smoke detector and good night.

So other than the location was great, the Vacasa experience is a complete fail.

DIshonest realtor, sham, takes your money and won't refund it!
October 7, 2022
Vacasa listed a rental that was damaged in Hurricane Ian and uninhabitable. They took our money and won't refund it until the date of the rental at the end of November. We can't rent another place until we get our money back. Vacasa cancelled our rental, not us!!!

Charging Cancellation Fees for Homes Effected by Ian
October 3, 2022
We rented a home for this winter in Cape Coral, Florida through Vacasa. Cape Coral was devastated by Hurricane Ian. Vacasa is insisting on charging me several hundred dollars to cancel the reservation. Don't do business with this company; in my opinion this is terrible customer service.

Company without a heart or soul
September 29, 2022
I live in Venice Florida and yesterday we were hit with the eye of hurricane Ian. Streets are flooded and impassable, trees down, damage inside and outside of my home, 2.5 million people without power. And yet when I called to ask for a refund for a coming stay, I was told no. How heartless. How mean. How horrible. How uncaring. What a terrible policy. What am I supposed to do? Grow wings and fly there?

Vacasa Is a Bad Business!!!
August 17, 2022

Why would you subject yourself and your loved ones to bad memories as a result of VACASA EXPLOITATION. Your choice, so WHY NOT have fond memories of your holiday.

I made a booking thru, submitted my credit card info only to learn I had been redirected to VACASA. I had already had a bad experience with them so I didn't continue with finalizing the reservation.

VACASA charged my card ASAP, sent me emails to finalize my reservation. I called wrote VACASA to cancel the reservation within days, reservation was a month or longer out.

They never cancelled, never refunded, and have been 'incommunicado' for weeks. MICHAEL S RUPPENTHAL

Stinky and Dirty Ebb and Flow in Gold Beach, OR
August 4, 2022

We stayed July 22-25, 2022 at Vacasa's Ebb and Flow unit in Gold Beach Oregon. When we arrived there was a funky odor even before we went inside. We discovered an outdoor size garbage can packed and overflowing in the hot garage. It looked like 2+ weeks of garbage including dirty diapers. I called Vacasa and they told me that I would have to dispose of it myself.

I dragged it down the road in the dark and emptied it bag by bag. It took overnight to air out the unit. There was also a big pile of dirty laundry in the garage, and we only had 3 washcloths for the 4 of us for 4 days. The twin bedsheets had not been changed and there was sand in the sheets. We had to wash the sheets and remake the beds.

The floors had not been cleaned or vacuumed. After walking around a bit, my feet were filthy. The kitchen counters and dining table had not been wiped down. There was a loose tread on the stairs. We had to remove the piece of tread to avoid tripping on it.

We reported all these issues multiple times to Vacasa and they never sent anyone to remedy the situation. They only offered to refund me the cleaning deposit, which in no way covered all the cleaning we had to do to make the unit livable. This was my first and last experience with Vacasa!

Worst Vacation Experience Ever
July 22, 2022

We had reservations to stay at 4875 Pescadero Avenue in San Diego with Vacasa and had paid an incredible amount of money ($4,000 for 4 days) to be able to stay there.

When we arrived, the distance from where we had to park to the front door was longer than it should have been.

The property had been advertised as being all on one level, but when we arrived, we learned that was not true. The property itself was not nearly as nice as pictures on the site had shown.

Since I have orthopedic difficulties that make it difficult for me to go up and down stairs, this was a disadvantage right away.

The property had been advertised as having Wifi. When we arrived, we could not get Wifi to work, so we called for help. Help couldn’t come out until the next day. After we had left the property, we received a call late in the afternoon of the next day indicating help was on the way.

The property had no air conditioning, so we were only able to sleep off and on during the first night there because even with 2 fans, the temperature was 82 degrees.

After that, we realized we couldn’t stay there any longer, so I called Vacasa to cancel our reservation. They were glad to do so, but they refused to refund anything even though we left that very morning. I protested to the bank my MasterCard is from, but I was not able to win.

We had to move to a hotel to be able to get air conditioning.

This trip ended up being a financial disaster. We had hoped for a vacation of a lifetime, but then Vacasa happened. Don’t ever let this happen to you.

VACASA management is a big fraud
July 21, 2022

VACASA management is a big fraud. They will never honor what they say. Will keep adding expenses in to your account & will find ways to create more expenses so company gets more profit & minimum or negative cash flow to the property owner who invested & is liable for lots of expenses to maintain property.


July 9, 2022

We rented at Whitney Beach 6701 GOM Dr, #332, LBK FL 34228.

Upon entrance of the unit the outside wall of unit is collapsing. Upon entering front door of unit ceiling is collapsing. Outside collapsing wall caused damage to inside bedroom wall. Non working bedroom blinds. Broomsticks used as locks for sliding glass door on bottom floor unit. Should we go on?

Called Vacasa within 10 minutes of entering unit, operator stated someone would be out 6/2/22. Vacasa was a no show or call.

So as to not completely ruin our vacation, these issues would be dealt with on our last week.

No one at Vacasa contacted us after numerous emails. The unit has obvious code violations therefore we contacted LBK code enforcement and they wrote two code violations. After the code inspection (on our vacation), Vacasa finally called only after we searched for the company’s CEO’s and email addresses and blasted them all with there failure as a management company. A management company that does not manage, go figure.

Vacasa offered $1k refund for renting a unit with code violations knowingly and willingly.

EXTREMELY OFFENSIVE. Vacasa district manager admitted issues with unit. The owner is also at fault.

Vacasa received a final demand letter from us, they still owe $430.00 and time is ticking.

All $ should have been refunded back to c/c on file. Vacasa you are playing a game refunding the balance of $430.00 on a check. You’ve proven to be dishonest.

Vacasa don’t push us anymore, you will not like the outcome.

Our advice to others; many of us in these situations are 1,000’s of miles away from home with no help except for Vacasa Management Company who is useless! We reached out to the town’s council members, code enforcement, HOA on-site manager and other owners on-site.

Hope this is helpful to others who have to endure Vacasa Property Management or an owner who willingly rents there unit with multiple violations.

No control of heat or air, won’t post review.
July 1, 2022

Terrible experience, rental should have been torn down. No screens, no thermostat. No control of air or cooling when Seattle experienced 90: degree days. Dirty property. No refund and they never posted our review on website for others to see.

This is a dishonest company.

July 1, 2022

Our family recently rented a Vacasa home in OBX. We had the maximum allotted number of guests (12) so every bed was spoken for. Upon arrival, we noticed poison oak everywhere and couldn't use the deck stairs.

There was dried dog feces on the top deck as well as in 2 of the bedrooms, marijuana on a night stand, 4 beds still had dirty sheets on them and had the covers pulled up, ice maker on main floor broken, fridge on 2nd floor not working, and jetted tub not working.

In one of the bunk rooms, the top bunk was off limits because the ceiling fan switch was broken. The fan was running at high speed and nearly nailed one of the children in the head with no way to turn it off.

There was no deck furniture other than a few broken chairs. We had 10 deck chairs delivered the next day and the office manager came and pulled the poison oak off of the steps. She said the company was a mess and short staffed but she didn't care because she was retiring soon.

After 3 days of phone calls, the office manager advised for us to get through the week and we would discuss the issues after our stay. She said she would refund a large portion of our fees and see what else she could do for us.

They did provide bags of ice for us and the 2nd story fridge was fixed later in the week, but we were left cleaning up dog crap and washing dirty used bedding.

A comprehensive list was emailed following our vacation and after 3 weeks and numerous emails, the office manager responded. She said she found it "strange" that all of the issues weren't previously discussed with her while we were on vacation even though the way it was handled was agreed upon.

We were offered a 10% discount on our next stay and they refunded $149 in cleaning fees and thought that was more than fair. This company doesn't care about their guests time or money whatsoever.