Turo Reviews

Turo
( 39 reviews )
Website: www.Turo.com

Turo is a company that allows car owners the option to earn extra money by renting their cars out to pre-screened and approved renters using their secure and fully insured service.

How Does Turo Work?

Turo.com was originally RelayRides, a ride sharing company whose goal was simply to give car owners interested in making extra money a to rent their car locally to others who didn’t have cars or who were interested in renting cars for various tasks. 

Now that RelayRides has changed into Turo.com, they have changed their focus as well. Their new approach to local car renting is to promote their selection of vehicles to travelers who are interested in not getting the same old boring stock sedan from a traditional car rental company.

In addition, they not only get a car that has more personality or interesting features than what they may get from a rental car company, but they also have a chance to speak to the car’s owner about their local community and perhaps get some insight on places to go or events to participate in. 

Outside of the evolve focus on traveling and tourism, many of the aspects of this company’s rental system have remained the same. Car owners still set their own parameters for how long they are willing to rent their, the rental instructions, and the rental price. 

In addition, Turo says that each car rented through their service is insured up to $1 million, and that each renter that uses their service has been pre-screened for eligibility - no renters with bad driving history or unconfirmed identities will be allowed to rent. This insurance will cover all damage or thefts from your car, with no out of pocket expenses to the car owner.  

Cost/Price Plans

Car owners set the prices for their car rentals, but when doing so they need to keep in mind that 75% of the rental and mileage charges go to the car owner while 25% is taken by Turo.com. Three days after the completion of your rental reservation, your part of the fees will be deposited into your bank account.     

Refund Policy

Since this service is free for car owners to participate in, they do not offer a Refund Policy to them. Customers who are renting cars will want to know both their cancellation policies and potential for refunds up front.   

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact their Customer Service team with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 866-735-2901 or by submitting them directly to their website through the Email Us link.

Reputation

Unfortunately the transition from RelayRides to Turo appears to be fairly new, and therefore there are not many reviews available for the company in its new incarnation at this time. 

However, during their life as RelayRides, this service appeared to receive positive reviews from both independent reviewers and renters, and they were always well liked when compared to other rental by owner services because they do have options of locations nationwide unlike other services which are specific to certain metropolitan areas.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

While there are many rental car companies out there, services that allow regular car owners to rent their car out are fewer and far between, including GetAround.com and many others

If you have any experience with Turo or their products, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Turo Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Reimbursement
July 20, 2022

Turo is great if you are a guest but if you are a host it's awful. You don't get reimbursed for your fuel when guests don't feel up. Turo also takes your money and gives you the hardest time getting it back. It's insane how you can call and speak with a representative about anything else except reimbursement. This company is a total rip off for people using the site to make money. You will end up paying Turo more than you'll make.

LB July 22, 2022

I find the above review interesting because as a new customer--i felt I was not treated well by turo--and the host is now getting ugly too.

I bought the "protection plan" as advised by my brother--I was in a bind and needed a car fast and really did not have time to research-lesson learned slow down and read the fine print.

The protection plan I was told on the phone had a 3,000.00 deductible--when I looked on the site/app it said 2,000.00 deductible. So already we are off to a bad start with the company lying to me and not creating trust. I got a stone chip on the way to work. They now want me to give them 500.00 up front and then they will get quotes and reimburse me what they owe me or charge me what I owe...

I was not born yesterday and know that a stone chip does not cost 500.00 to fix--so I am refusing to pay and after reading reviews about how hard it is to get a refund from them--I am start to refuse. I offered the host that I would pay the damage--pay for a stone chip and not a windshield replacement as they are trying to charge me for.

I did not find turo cheap either and the car I got was nothing special--damaged with rust, peeling cheap tint job and not the cleanest for a rental. I could never in good conscience recommend them to anyone.

I rented this car last minute when mine broke down and i needed to get to work as a nurse--looking like it will cost me more then I made--great lesson learned. Never make a purchase in haste...slow down and let other people pick up. Don't trust a business you know nothing about.

They are very polite to me now as they are trying to swindle me--and I know passive aggressive behavior when I see it. My insurance company advised me they do not cover damage to a car I rent from a private individual so that puts you in a position to buy their lame protection plan aka insurance.

LB July 22, 2022

excuse the typo above--should say I was smart not to pay them the 500.00 they are demanding after seeing they are slow to refund-- I will hold to my standards and boundaries--and only pay a reasonable amount to the owner for the damage done--I am done with turo--they will never get another dime of my business/money.

Great Communication
July 8, 2022
Ben & Victoria Sullivan were the perfect hosts. Rented their car in Honolulu. They were quick to respond with any questions and extremely accommodating with all concerns. I'd definitely rent with them again.

Horrible Service from Turo
June 20, 2022
Horrible company. Don't use them as they don't care. They delivered the vehicle to the wrong airport and I had to spend $100 to get to the airport. When I finally got to the location, it only had 1/4 tank of gas. Vehicle broke down twice. Waited three hours for service. Turo sucks, don't, I repeat, don't trust them.

fees, fees, fees, weeks and months after the rental
May 17, 2022

The renters get a low percentage of the rental and try to make it up with bogus fees after you return the rental. I got a $50 cleaning fee for a wrapper lying in the floor.

Turo declined it and agreed with me on the dispute and then turned around 3 days later and charged me without discussion. You are better off with a rental agency.

Collect money then cancel the rental
May 4, 2022

WOW, this was a VERY VERY BAD experience. Rented the SUV, put the full fees on my CC, and within minutes it showed on the top right of the page it was canceled and at the same time, I checked my bank account and bingo, the charge was still pending and when I called the bank it had already been paid to the people.

CAUTION.... don't use this company unless you want major headaches, on and how they collect deposits is very hokee also, I won't even go there, anyhow, 3 hours wasted.. just rent from the BIG boys, I like the concept like AirBnB( which has worked like clockwork) but TURO, forget it.

Rent- great. Host- TURO is awful
April 29, 2022

If you are looking to rent, I would highly recommend. If you’re looking to host… I would be cautious. As a host l, I can tell you most of us do a good job, we work hard and we will bend over backward to make sure our customers are taken care of. Prices are fair and we do what we can.

TURO the company on the other hand is a joke. They lost your car and make you jump through the most arbitrary hoops imaginable. They are making a stupid amount of money thanks to the rental shortage, yet they won’t take a phone call to get to the bottom of a problem.

I never write reviews, especially not a negative one that I sank my life savings into because I needed an income. But holy cow, I’ve been hung up on the few times I’ve made it through.

Currently a car is unlisted because the pictures of a Mini Cooper is “off road” I live on an island, it is parked in a grassy parking lot. They won’t accept that after I hired a professional photographer to shoot the pictures.

They are unhelpful and completely overwhelmed. They have all the resources they could need to run a successful company based on the percentage they take but they do not.

It’s sad and frustrating because I really want the concept of allowing locals in an area to prosper rather than the large conglomerates but here we are.

July 20, 2022

You are absolutely right. I too am a host on Turo and I've invested in several vehicles to make money on this platform. You can call and speak to anyone until you have a problem. I had over 1200 deducted from my earnings and now having to go through a live chat to get to the bottom which I was on chat with for over 4 hours.

Runaway. They Don't Understand Their Responsibilities...
April 19, 2022

Runaway from this company. There is a trap for you. They don't take care of their responsibilities. I am a 1st and last time user of their services!

Avoid Turo at all costs
March 17, 2022

Just had a car cancelled at literally the last minute, had to be on the phone with four different customer service people (one with a terrible connection and a literal rooster crowing in the background) for forty five minutes to get money back. The last one chided me for being upset.

Not sure what kind of training they provide but the customer service is worse than Comcast. Never again. It's worth paying a little more for a real rental car.

Unlawful charges
February 22, 2022

My experience with Turo is awful. They sent an email after we rented that we smoked in the vehicle, which none of us smoke and won't respond to any emails and they charge your credit card without any confirmation.

Do NOT use TURO!! You're responsible for damage for 24 hours AFTER vehicle is returned.
November 16, 2021

I rarely write reviews, but we made a mistake using Turo and want to warn others!!! You have no recourse if the vehicle is damaged within 24 hours after you return it to the owner.

We returned our vehicle and 23 hours later the car owner submitted a claim that there was a crack in the windshield. We washed the car before returning and I wiped the windshield and there was no crack. When we met at the airport we both walked around the car and confirmed all was good.

Later, they sent "a" picture of a minor crack, but there's no proof its the same car or that it wasn't completed AFTER we returned THE VEHICLE! It was so unfair I started looking through my travel videos & pics and I even found a video of the mountains where I spanned the windshield as we drove to the airport. There was no crack on the windshield. We sent in the video and no response.

As others mentioned, they are very difficult to reach after the first initial discovery. We felt very taken advantage of and they had little to no burden of proof on their side.

I've rented a ton of cars from reputable agencies and never had an issue. Don't use Turo.

Scam Artists
April 3, 2021
Turo charged my debit card over $600 without any explanation. I tried to call them and I get a recording that says my account is not in good standing and then it hangs up on me with no option to talk to anyone. DO NOT USE TURO!!!!! THEY ARE SCAM ARTISTS.

G.A. with the Red Chevrolet
March 10, 2021

My first experience with Turo was awesome. The second was so horrendous, I WILL NEVER USE TURO AGAIN. If ever you're in Chicago and come across a dude with the initials G.A., with a red Chevrolet.... RUN FOR THE HILLS.

He tried to scam me for bodywork. Claimed pre-existing scratches were new. Practically begged and begged to work things out one on one and pay him directly. Always take your own photos upon pick up and drop off of the car. Front, Back, Driver, and Passenger Sides. Long shots, medium shots, close-ups.

Thanks to our photos, business attorney, and phone calls to the Better Business Bureau, and State Attorney, the scam went no were.

Sadly, I think this low life still has an account and is renting cars on the site. It can easily be a financial nightmare for someone, especially now when many people are out of work because of the pandemic. I don't believe in hell, but if it exists, there's a special place for G.A. with the Red Chevrolet in Chicago.

Terrible Customer Support
February 24, 2021

I had a very negative experience with Turo. As they are a very small, new company to the market, they are very reactive instead proactive when it comes to their customers.

Also, when you try to call/email/chat with them, they have representatives that seem to not be able to assist you and you end up being transferred again and again. Or, you can just be told that they cannot help you and that you will be contacted back, but never get a response to help you out with solving a problem.

They also have a certain host, Christopher, that I would use extreme caution with if you were to rent from him. He seems nice enough to your face, but he cannot be confided in and will stab you in the back given the opportunity to satisfy his needs.

Horrible F-ing Company
October 13, 2020

I’d give them a lower rating if possible. Renters consistently destroy your vehicle and Turo is incredibly unresponsive. Impossible to deal with.

DO NOT RENT YOUR CAR OUT W/ TURO. It is not worth the measly amount of money you may make after all the cleaning

Lots of nickle and dime fees - don't trust the face value price
June 24, 2020
I rented a jeep. Took it out to big bear lake. It got dirty. That's why there is a cleaning fee right? There were a few scratches on one of the black freedom panels. This just scrapes right off. Very delicate. I had the vehicle for 3 days. Drove it 700 miles. Cost me ~1k after all the extra nickle and dime fees they charged. Never again will I rent using Turo.

Fraud charges 2 months after renting
December 29, 2019
I rented a car from their service. Everything was fine however not needing the car for the full time I returned it early. Even then everything was fine the host picked up the car charged me as discussed and we were all buttoned up. However tonight I received a charge that showed up on my American Express for $48.00 from Turo. This is now over 2 months after renting the car. I went to contact Amex first who will be disputing the charge but I also reached out to Turo to discuss. They only have online operators who respond and so I texted my concerns. From the conversation they told me that the host has not provided any proof but has submitted requests for an unpaid parking ticket that supposedly they received. Again more concerned with Turo not getting any proof prior to just submitting payment and saying that they have up to 90 days to submit any pay requests for things of this nature. My concern again is first I did not receive any parking tickets while having the vehicle and second that they didn’t receive proof that it was a valid debt to be paid prior to submitting a bill to my account unannounced. I’ve rented cars hundreds of times while on business trips and vacations and I’ve never had this happen with any other rental car agency. Looks like they're hosts have found a way to scam clients and they don’t even have to provide any valid proof for Turo to authorize payment. Now I have to spend the time to dispute something that should not be charged to my account. This company is a scam choose to rent elsewhere.

Not extra money for host
August 20, 2019
My guest totaled my vehicle. That is a risk that I had assumed. What I did not factor in the equation, was Turo would completely turn their back on even attempting to recover any claim. I never even spoke to a human being. I was completely ignored and then without further explanation, my claim dropped. Don't do it.

July 20, 2022

But don't they have insurance through turo on the vehicle?

Bad service from Host and Turo's customer's service
June 29, 2019

I tried to rent from Greg, twice when both cars are available. The first time he said it was a scheduling conflict, the second time he didn't bother to respond at all. Clearly, both cars are available for rent, however, it appears that Greg doesn't want to rent his cars to African Americans.

I think this is a horrible attitude to have on Turo and will certainly give Turo a bad reputation. I once leased out my car on Turo and never did I turn down someone when the car was online and showing that it was available.

I tried to call Turo and they never answered my call. They left me on hold and then the phone hung up after 10 minutes.

Greg's page:

https://turo.com/en-us/drivers/19075

Think Twice
March 20, 2019

Arrived at the location, and 'my rental' was apparently having mechanical issues. After waiting a couple of hours I had no choice but to rent the owners other car.Not wasn't happy.

And once TURO has your money - NO REFUNDS or recourse.

Next time I'm just going to rent from a major car rental company.

CAR OWNERS BEWARE- DO NOT RENT YOUR CAR WITH TURO
June 21, 2018

I used TURO as a car owner using a BMW 740li 2012. Costly car. I chose the best insurance, and after damage had been done to my vehicle they refused to cover all of it. They said they would only cover SOME of the damage due to pictures being turned in after the 24hr period.

Even though wear and tear on the vehicle was covered as I purchased the most expensive insurance (60/40 PREMIUM).

The damage was not seen until later as it was underneath the car bumper. Keep in mind I have had a perfect rental history all 5 star reviews. 7 in total.

When I went to escalate the file to an executive account rep since it had been going on 10 months that our file was in dispute and we ACCIDENTLY called one of the representatives cell personal phone which was PUBLICLY ONLINE and they said we violated terms and shut down our account. Completely.

Also they if we disagree with what they say we can go to a third party representative which they choose, and pay for. I asked if I can choose a 3rd party in which I pay for and they said No. I have a hard time believing that when you send all of your claims to one company that is supposed to be a neutral third party.

I would love to see what percentage is ruled in favor of turo vs consumer.

We refused to settle on the limited damage coverage that was being offered and therefore have been stuck for 10 months!

TURO is the WORST. DO NOT USE.

REPRESENTATIVES INVOLVED:

Brendan Low

Todd Armstrong

Kenneth Chan

Luke Beale