TrueCar Reviews

TrueCar
( 134  Reviews )



Write a Review
134 ‘TrueCar’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
Malleri
Guest

Very misleading

October 12, 2013

This service lets you believe that they won't give out your contact information without your permission first. Well apparently I didn't read the fine print. Before I even completed my online profile, my phone started ringing and my email inbox was full. I had at least 15 calls or emails from dealerships within 24 hours. That's not what I thought I was signing up for...

Barb
October 13, 2013

This same thing happened to me. I was new to this site and using it on my phone and in order to see which dealers where offering the deals you had to give your info out and the calls were within 5 minutes. I even received a text from one dealer.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Chris
Guest

dealers laugh at it

October 11, 2013

Its a excuse to get you in the door. Mcgrath Hyundai in Illinois laughed when I walked in stating I was a truecar customer. Stating I try to get you as close to the price as I can. Thousand off. Also the car that was quoted, which I called to verify it was there, turned out not to really be there. They showed me what other colors and models. Now I'm on the junk mail list with numerous calls and email. It was a big mistake.

View all 2 Comments
joe
October 30, 2013

i used trucar in 2012 to buy an Infiniti in Los Angeles and got the vehicle at below cost. dealers didnt laugh, they matched the lowest price.

Ben
November 02, 2013

Chris that sounds like the dealers issue, maybe you should have walked away.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Michael
Guest

trucar, used to be good, now they're sellouts.

October 3, 2013

I used trucar for two new car purchases in the last few years. Recently went to purchase again and their site has changed. No longer does it show invoice and the best deals, they show the deals from their partner dealers now. They've sold out, time for the next startup to move in. Just skip them and Go straight to the dealer with an email copying all the other local dealers.

View all 2 Comments
Spine Bob
October 08, 2013

I agree completely, truecar is a complete waste of time.
I have been a member of USAA for over 30 years and found truecar to be worthless and only advantageous to the car dealer and USAA.
What a shame!
Avoid truecar you are wasting your time!

lisa
October 26, 2013

They suck

Comment on this review...
review author image
Shripad
Guest

Great in theory.. does not work in practise

September 27, 2013

I took truecar quotes to different dealers and all of them said they did not have the car.They tried to sell me a different car. I called true car to let them know that dealers tried a "bait and switch" but they did not care.

My advice is to call the dealers before hand and ask them if they will sell at that price and if they have the said model. Saves you time driving around.

September 20, 2014

The info you get from Truecar is only accurate if the dealer has that exact vehicle. Truecar does not have the ability to find the exact vehicle you want in dealers inventories. All you filled out was a ordering guide for a vehicle. Finding it is up to you and the dealer together. Don't forget if it's not in the dealers inventory they don't have to honor the price. What you should do is look at the dealers inventory and then ask for the truecar price on that exact vehicle the dealer has in stock. The dealer has the ability but may not want to. Let's look at this open minded. If the dealer knows you have a certificate on a vehicle and they only have to honor it if it's in their inventory they hope they don't so they have to get it from another dealer and then they have the right to charge more because it states that on your certificate "has to be in dealers stock". Ask for the truecar price on one in stock and see where that takes you. I have been in the auto business over 25 years and haved worked my way upto GM and have seen a few things over the years and get a kick out of reading these comments. I use truecar the correct way. Truecar only gives information and for the most part is very accurate. 99% only seen them off a couple of times and I have used them for years. But the information does not sell vehicles people do and if you have a bad dealer anything can happen and truecar has no controll of that. If that dealer keeps getting bad comments giving to truecar I have seen truecar stop letting that dealer be a truecar dealer and kick them off the program. But let's face it truecar will try and get the dealer to do business correctly for a while because they do get paid for each dealer on the truecar program. And if you are a customer in the meantime you may think the truecar program does not work. Hope that helps you and many others...

Comment on this review...
review author image
Kay S
Guest

Just a way to get your email and phone number

September 27, 2013

Went to TrueCars.com last evening after seeing a commercial for them. In order to get your 'certificate' you have to give your name, email, address and phone #. IMMEDIATELY I was bombarded with emails from several dealerships. This morning, I began getting more emails and phone messages from dealerships and even got 3 emails from 3 different people at the same dealership! These guys must really be hungry, Anyway, I think this is a scam because I checked out other local dealerships and their 'Internet' price is very close to what TrueCars offered. Don't waste your time with TrueCars.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Car Dealer
Guest

TrueCar...

September 14, 2013

They are bottom feeders

Comment on this review...
review author image
Mark
Guest

Best Car Buying Tool Ever - No Games - You Control the Deal

September 13, 2013

September 2013

I used TrueCar to get the best possible deal. TrueCar gave me price quotes from 3 dealers closest to my zip code. I visited with the lowest-priced dealer and drove a car. Loved it. They did not have the exact car I wanted in stock, and refused to do the deal if they had to trade with another dealer. I changed my zip code on TrueCar.com a few times to get pricing from every participating dealer within 25 miles from me. (never use your real phone number on your account, unless you like being barraged with calls - use your real email address, though, so you can get info from TrueCar - you can always use your delete key when the dealers barrage you with emails)

Then I called every local dealer and asked if they would sell the car I wanted at the lowest TrueCar price I found. Most dealers declined to do a deal at that price, which reaffirmed I was getting a great price. The lowest TrueCar dealer quote was much lower than most dealers would go. I just had to find one who would match the quote out of a dozen dealers in my area (Chicago suburbs)

I found another dealer who had the exact car/options I wanted, and we started the paperwork, but they tried to sneak in the $795 destination fee outside of the certificate price. I showed them the TrueCar certificate, which explains that the destination fee is included in the price. They would not do the deal. This told me they were a sleazy bait-and-switch dealer, and I was getting a great quote from the other dealer.

Finally, a third dealer I spoke with was willing to locate/trade for the exact vehicle I wanted, and honor the other dealer's certificate. They were 25 miles away, but worth the trip. I can still have the car serviced at the dealership closest to me.

I can see why dealership owners hate TrueCar, because it forces them to either match the best deal, or lose the sale to another dealer. There is almost no opportunity for funny business and games.

Here is the best-case scenario. This assumes you have already driven this model and have decided what options you want. You're ready to buy,

1) Use TrueCar.com to find the best price in your area from all nearby TrueCar dealers - including all incentives.
2) See if the dealer with the best price has the exact car you want in stock and available for sale. Most dealerships list their inventory on their web sites. Write the stock number on the TrueCar certificate.
3) Walk into the dealership and present the certificate. You're done.

If you are considering cars in dealer stock with different sets of options, run the TrueCar pricing for each situation.. The dealer cannot play games with the options if you have a certificate for the exact options for a car on their lot.

The certificate is the key to avoiding any games. They have to honor it or risk getting dropped from the TrueCar program.

Lastly, don't get suckered into any dealer add-ons, like pinstriping, door guards, fabric protection, rustproofing, UV protective coating, etc. These are major profit areas for dealers, marked way up. You can shop around for these things elsewhere at much better prices. Do your TrueCar deal and drive out of there as quickly as possible.

View all 6 Comments
Carguy
September 21, 2013

I am just wondering - when you go to McDonalds do you first shop around at three other burger joints to make sure they have the best deal? And then do you go in and say "I know you are making a $3.00 profit on that $6.00 Value meal, so I just want to pay you $2.50 for it"? Granted cars do cost a lot more, but the profit margins at dealerships are much lower than the average person thinks.

So should dealerships sell all their cars below the actual cost and pay Truecar $300 per car for that opportunity? That isn't a very smart business model unless they want to go out of business!

JCR
September 26, 2013

Until car dealers figure out a way to avoid wasting 5 hours of the buyer's time and buyers walking away feeling like they were taken, services like these will flourish. It seems like you don't like having an informed buyer to negotiate with you.

btw, buying a happy meal is in no way similar to buying a car - your analogy sucks.

Mr. Reno Car Buyer
October 01, 2013

The True Car prices sometimes vary greatly. Kelly Blue / Car Gurus prices are closer to market prices in Reno - Sacramento Area. Certified used cars pictured but at lot cars have normal wear.

IDSW
October 10, 2013

To Carguy and JCR.

Carguy, I get it. I am an Internet Director of a small dealer but it is not all Truecars fault. Dealers set the pricing and we need to do a better job of policing each other. If a customer gets $6800 off and Odyssey I say let them be happy. But, I do think they would have been happy with $5800 or even $4800 off too! We dealers need to stop advertising these stupid prices in hopes that volume will make up the difference. Last time I checked a thousand negative deals still equals negative profit. And any customer who thinks a dealer can't lose money in misinformed. It happens more than you think.

To JCR. I get the analogy. Why is it that consumers think that when it comes to buying a car it's "open season" on ultra cheapness and negotiating? The car business is one of the only business where consumers can negotiate a dealers profit to 1% or less. 1%, are you freaking kidding me? Have you ever owned a business and kept the doors open on 1%? And the service department isn't any better. I see P&L statements and they are quite the opposite of what you would think.

Spending 5 hours of your time is a little too long and I agree. 2 - 3 hours max. You mentioned being taken. Who's fault is that? It's yours, the consumers. Not the dealers. Take some responsibility for your own actions and decisions. I am sick of customers playing the victim. You know what would really make you puke, is if you really knew how much those new jeans and shoes you buy really cost But I guess it doesn't matter because the price doesn't have a "comma" in it. Well add it up over your lifetime and then do the math.

julio victor
October 12, 2013

if you cant make a profit on 1% get the heck out of the business dude.

ben
November 02, 2013

Its time for the car dealers to stop crying, you are snakes and always will be.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Diana
Guest

Scam alert

September 5, 2013

So, I tried to get some quotes on the Hyundai Sonata

Two dealership certificates were available. I clicked on one and read the fine print which said that it expired on 9/03/2013 (today is 9/05/2013)

So I called truecar and questioned as to why the 'savings' shows as expired. The Rep stated that those savings may no longer be valid. I questioned as to then why do they appear on the site. She said the site was updated every Thursday.

I asked... "So you are telling me that the information on truecar is not valid ...correct?" She wouldn't answer the question.

Mrs. Painter (No, not related to Scott)
September 11, 2013

In total agreement with what everyone said here. I don't have the time to haggle or get worked over by car salesmen. Truecar services the dealer not the consumer. By submitted to their "frisk and search", you have to give them everything info-wise before they show their pricing certificate and then you're disappointed (sounds a lot like on-line dating) ;-)! The dealer doesn't even bother to acknowledge the certificate. What's worse for me, is my bank subcontracted this service (which used to be fantastic) and a great tool, to these guys. Now, car-buying is the pits! And for some reason, maybe it has to do with how your location is tracked, I am sent to the same dealership repeated even when I try to branch out.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Henry
Guest

True Car is a sales lead for the dealer

August 31, 2013

I got a quote for a 2013 Honda Accord Sport, $21404. Spreen Honda of Redlands said that will honor because they "still had the car in the lot." This is when the true colors of the dealer started to show. I am too tired to detailed exactly what happened, but I can tell you that there was still room for negotiation. Unfortunately, I gave up and agreed on a price.
This what I didn't do and should have done: walk with the qoute on hand and a pre-approved check. Things may have gone a little bit better.

Comment on this review...
review author image
ER
Guest

Dont waste your time

August 27, 2013

This website is a complete joke. All they do is provide the same pricing info you can get at many other sites. You give them your email only to receive numerous unwanted advertisements from delaership. Then the sales reps wont honor the "guarnteed saving" certificate. I got a Truecar certificate for a savings of over $4,000. They didn't even come close to offering that much. they have every excuse why they cant't offer the price stated on the certicate. And they don't even have the car you want on the lot to start. Its a total bait & switch tactic that is so unethical that the website should be closed down immediately!!!!!!!!!!!
Please don't waste your time with this site. email a few different dealerships you want a quote from & let them fight for your business. i worked great for me. I got a price $1,000 below the factory invoice.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Bill
Guest

What a sham

August 10, 2013

It's obvious that the car dealerships do not respect this program, and only involve themselves to gain leads.

I recently researched pickup pricing using Truecar.com, and with disappointing results. Let me explain.

When I conducted my search I was away from home on a business trip. I live in Florida, but was working on a project in Boston, so immediately I started getting calls from the dealers in the Boston area. Come to find out that the genius who programmed the Truecar.com system thought it would be a good idea to detect where you were "physically" when you made an inquiry and have the local car dealers call you.

After about a month I got that problem fixed, and tried again. Ok, so I'm forgiving.

The next time I found that the car delears in Tampa, Fl were not serious about the "price guarantee". They just wanted my to have my e-mail address, so they could fill my mail box up with advertisements.

I approached several of the dealerships with my price guarantee, and they all polite, but were not intending on meeting any kind of pricing agreement.

This is a joke! Don't waste your time.

View all 4 Comments
Susan H.
August 16, 2013

This was a joke of a website. Took the information to the dealer and they said it did not mean anything. They said it was worthless. Just a way to get people to buy a vehicle.

Frank
August 24, 2013

Yep, I had the same experience.

Jay
August 29, 2013

it clearly says what city it is searching the prices of at the top of the page. sounds like the error occurred somewhere between the chair and the keyboard not on the site itself

jim
September 20, 2013

scam scam crooked as the dealers

Comment on this review...
review author image
David H
Guest

I don't get it.

July 29, 2013

When you double check the listing against the dealers' own websites the prices are exactly the same, and a lot of the cars you find have been sold long ago. Just a waste of time for me!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Sue Nonymous
Guest

Buyer Beware

July 25, 2013

I've spent more than 8 months completing research on buying a car. I used the American Express car buying program which is facilitated by Truecar. I generated the certificates for Nissan, Subaru, and Honda. The Nissan had 3 dealerships and via email, none of them appeared to understand the program. One of them called me and thought I had a loan from American Express (NOT!). Then Autobarn Subaru emailed me. I asked about info for two cars in transit. The staff told me via email she would find out the pricing. That was a huge red flag. I already had my certificate. I emailed her back and told her I already had the pricing from the certificate and if she didn't understand the program, to please get me a salesperson who did. Well . . . I got a call from their manager who proceeded to argue with me over the phone about the program. She said she didn't know anything about a certificate. I told her I generated a certificate and she should have a copy of it. She then found the certificate and I asked her if she had it, and she confirmed she did. Then she argued with me about the destination fee. American Express/Truecar price includes the destination fee. It is on the certificate. She continued to call argue with me and then I said she was wasting my time and I hung up on her. She called me back about 5 minutes later!!! She "apologized" for the misunderstanding and then proceeded to argue with me again about the destination fee. I finally told her she was wasting my time since she didn't understand the program and told her to not call me again.

Thankfully, we were able to find a Honda dealer who did understand the program and gave us a fair price on a Honda CRV with no added destination fee or doc fee. We paid for the price of the car, title, registration, license, and tax. I was upfront about the terms I wanted and they agreed.

This program works well if you give the dealers boundaries and tell them directly what your terms are. If they can't meet the terms, then walk away. You have the power to walk away ( or hang up the phone).

View all 4 Comments
Bobby
August 16, 2013

This person who said that there was no Dealer Fee or Destination Fee is an idiot...It tells you that there is additional fees and if there is any added options to the car..this person did not want the dealer to make anything its a wonder why this country is falling apart.

Donald Moran
August 29, 2013

The True Car price is too high but it does include freight. Dealer fees are not included. Of course all dealer fees are simply additional profit for the dealer. The only true fees are those imposed by the state. Dealers use the word fee to imply they are something other than profit.

Using this scam dealers can increase the price if the buyer is unaware of the facts.

Anyone buying at the True Car price paid too much. At a minimum they paid $300 too much. Why use True Car and give them the $300?

tim
August 29, 2013

My certificate says "The estimated TrueCar Dealer Price includes the $810 destination fee (which is listed in the configured MSRP of your Virtual Vehicle) and the $776 regional fee."

jim
September 20, 2013

jim don't forget ad fees!!!!!!!! joke

Comment on this review...
review author image
Leslie Berro
Guest

Free Oil Changes Because of TrueCar!!

July 25, 2013

Not only was I well informed about base pricing and convenience pkgs when negotiating my new lease on a 2013 GMC Terrain, because of the little icons that appear above some dealerships names, I was able to receive free oil changes for the life of the 39 month lease. I also knew the value of my trade in and received an extra $500 because I could show what a vehicle of the same condition is worth. I will definitely use their service again in the future.

jim
September 20, 2013

you proberly work for the dealers

Comment on this review...
review author image
Tom
Guest

NOT Hassle Free Car Buying, just another way for sleazy dealers to get in the door and then play games

July 25, 2013

There are so many caveats to the Guarantee Savings claims that gives dealer outs. This is no more hassle free buying than it is going to the dealership and negotiation on your own. Called the Jenkins Hyundai dealership in Leesburg twice to confirm price, options and the that they actually had the car before making the hour trip to their dealership. Once I already the shenanigans started. They just sold the car, we can get you another vehicle but it will cost $1500 more than the so called guarantee savings certificate price etc. This service is just another way for sleazy dealer to get you in the door so that they can play their games.

Truecar.com is nothing but a sales lead generator for ALL dealerships that sign up with them. There is nothing "preferred" about them.

View all 4 Comments
Consumer Who Gets it
July 25, 2013

What we have here is another consumer with out an ounce of brains and wants something for nothing. Most likely the vehicle they offered was an ad unit which was a loss leader designed to drive traffic into the dealership. If it was a ad unit, it most likely stated " One at this price" What this consumer doesn't understand, anything on sale, it is law that it cannot be held just because someone says I am driving an hour to come and buy it. It's first come, first serve. Like any business, dealers are not in business to lose money. But then again, that's not what you want to hear :(

John kui
July 25, 2013

I had the exact problem at a dealership thanks to true car!

Jake
July 27, 2013

Truecar is a really good program used it twice already!!! Luckly I haven't had a bad experience but seems like it's the dealers that are being diss honest not truecar!!!

jim
September 20, 2013

sure if you work for the dealership

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review