TrueCar Reviews

TrueCar
( 134  Reviews )



Write a Review
134 ‘TrueCar’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
JO
Guest

Misleading savings and sexist to men

November 30, 2013

11-26-13---true car---saves $3000 --not really this is a misleading and false statement they save you that but but do not not tell you that you could save that too--- you haggle and get a discount too---they don’t tell you that when you ck they tell the dealers distance and anyone can figure it out--- I came within 300 even though I never used their service and so they would say true car saved 2000--------- wrong wrong-

GUESS WHAT THEY-IN SANTA MONICA ----- --and they are sexist---probably some lesbian writes the ads that hate men—I don't have to take dud with me---sick sick---this is liberal co using their company for political gain---don’t use them go your self and quote what true car did and not give it to a lesbian feminist activist—there are plenty of other on line services that are not liberal scum

View all 2 Comments
clive
December 05, 2013

The author of this review is a certified jerk.

January 03, 2014

You, sir (JO), are a pos.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Charles Borre
Guest

No Real Deal

November 29, 2013

There are no deals here. They just take the MSRP and subtract any incentives and rebates. Nothing special from what you would get by walking into stealership.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Bruce
Guest

Good tool along with others

November 27, 2013

Before you even enter the dealership (or start emailing the Web sales teams) you have to fully educate yourself about the car you want. This is where TrueCar and Edmunds really help!

The great thing about the TC website is the ability to add in exactly the options you want and then get about the lowest price the dealership will accept. When I went to the dealership, I never showed the salesman my TC certificates, just told him that I had them...figured I'd let him tell me what price he wanted for the car and maybe he'll shoot lower then TC. He didn't, but as we haggled I ended up with a really good deal!

Yes, you will get calls and emails from the three dealerships once you click to print your TC certificates...but I expected that and I wouldn't say it's anything out of the ordinary

All in all Lady Rea's take is probably accurate...new cars are not the real profit centers for dealerships...used cars and service are where they make their $$$

Comment on this review...
review author image
Charles
Guest

TrueCar? Not very true......

November 27, 2013

So, I saw the commercial and I decided to check it out. I have a 2011 Jeep Sahara, and I wanted to purchase a new 2014 Jeep Rubicon. I knew that my email and phone were going to get rocked (no surprise there), but I am disappointed. My target price was $36k according to TrueCar (pretty awesome price in my opinion), only 1 dealership quoted me a price for a vehicle they had in stock and it was a Sahara for $36k, not a Rubicon. The other dealerships have my Rubicon in stock but want me to come down, talk to them and check out their inventory (wow, I just got bait and switched all from my computer). TrueCar was supposed to cut out the hassle, but its all the same game so don't be surprised.

I am still in contact with the first dealership, they agreed to email me a quote on a Rubicon. I am hopeful, but TrueCar, I'm sorry you did not cut out any hassle and you did not help me get a new car at a great price. In my opinion, TrueCar makes money off of selling your info to the dealerships, that is all.

Comment on this review...
review author image
joe brown
Guest

it is so far off the real price

November 20, 2013

the price posted are more then what dealer are selling the cars for. This site helps only the dealers

ann
November 22, 2013

Plus the car dealers will call non-stop if you give truecar.com your ph number. Which is maditory to register (I wasn't smart enough to put in a phoney number).

Comment on this review...
review author image
Lisa
Guest

Love TrueCar!

November 19, 2013

I used TrueCar.com when purchasing a new 2014 Dodge Journey, printed out the certificate and took it to the dealer. The dealer honored the TrueCar price plus gave me another $2,000 off in incentives. Love TrueCar! Definitely using it for my purchases in the future.

View all 2 Comments
November 26, 2014

Before TC, I didn't know exactly how much I can negotiate to get a fair deal. After using TC I was able to negotiate to get 16.6% off the mfsp.
which would have been unimaginable if i went in without the certificate.

if the dealer doesn't have the exact car u want, u still have the TC certificate as a reference so that u know how much discount u can ask for.

March 02, 2015

This is Bogus!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Lady Rae
Guest

PAY ATTENTION

November 15, 2013

To everyone on here complaining about pricing:

I work for a car dealership. I see everything that goes on when it comes to the sale of a new car. Let me tell you something interesting: dealers don't need to honor any pricing that this company tells you. They aren't in any legal contract to do so. They get you in the door and then give you the normal price everyone else gets. Here's another interesting detail: car dealerships don't make money on new cars! The average profit on a brand new Acura is around $200. If you want to haggle with someone you need to be looking at used vehicles. Even then, don't go and ask for some crazy amount of money of like $3000. It's not going to happen. Everyone price shops these days. If you sit down and look for a vehicle in your area, you will have the best price within 5 minutes. Just email and ask. If you are looking for a pre-owned vehicle there is usually more wiggle room in pricing, but depending on the vehicle, it may have been traded in for $14000 and then priced at $16000 before going through the shop. All of a sudden shop charges add an additional $3400 and the dealership is selling at a loss. This isn't 1976 when dealerships could just mark up vehicles by $6000 and get away with it. It's hard to make money in this business, so quit blamming the car dealers because you are looking at vehicles you can't afford. I love when people come into an ACURA store looking for KIA pricing and then get on these complaint sites talking about how unreasonable the dealership was to get to your payment. We are a business and we have to make money and believe it or not we aren't out to get you. We make almost nothing on new cars so suck it up and pay or get a used vehicle.

View all 8 Comments
Educated consumer.
November 17, 2013

I agree

joe brown
November 20, 2013

a dealer is here to make money there is no way a dealer only makes $200 on a car stop the lying

Solonge
November 23, 2013

Its very true about new cars having very little profit, a lot of new cars are actually sold at a loss because dealers get kickbacks for selling volume

jackie nelson
November 25, 2013

it's true. i used to date a honda salesman and he enlightened me about car sales...they only make between $150 and $300 on new cars. this guy isn't lying, you're just uninformed.

Saleman
November 27, 2013

Now I've heard everything. Awww the poor dealerships, getting bad mouthed by a bunch of losers because of........TrueCar and deceptive advertising practices!? And on top of that, if you are complaining about these practices you are too poor to buy a car? Really? So I guess anyone that wants to buy a new vehicle should prepare their anus and have enough money to overpay for a car, and just accept the fact that they will be lied to.

When someone wants to buy a car, they don't want to get jerked around, they don't want someone to hold their keys hostage, they don't want to get quoted a "target price" and then find out they were lied to when they get down to the dealership. Its common sense isn't it? This comment section is about TrueCar, and obviously TrueCar and the dealerships don't have any agreement with one another.

If you are a business, you do need to make a profit. Whats wrong with a little honesty. If you are only going to make $250 on a new car, tell that to the buyer up front. If you can't give them the savings, be honest, or don't call them and don't be a TrueCar dealership. When I go to BestBuy with a coupon for $100 off a TV, they don't laugh at me and say they don't have to honor any coupons, they also don't say their TV is out of stock (unless it really is). Courtesy people, come on.

The Truth
November 28, 2013

The dealers have a funny (dishonest) way of determining the "invoice" price. Yes, they make very little over invoice price per car. But, they make money from rebates, holdbacks, monthly/quarterly/annual incentives etc, etc, etc. if this was such a bad business, no one would be in it.

bought a lot of cars in my life
December 01, 2013

The biggest line of BS ever only 200 hey dumbass any one here can go on line and see that any vehicle invoice is over 200 dollars. Even a cheap car 15-20 thousand dollars has a mark up of around 1000.00 go sell your BS somewhere else.

December 24, 2013

What you are saying may be true for Acura but truecar quoted me 12.5% off on a 2014 Infiniti QX60. The dealer contacted me a few days later and offered, in writing, that they'd go 14% off. That's about $8,500 on the fully loaded car. That's actual savings of $8,500. I don't sell cars for a living. I am not in a conflict of interest as you are posting on here. Keep saying it but people doing their homework will enjoy truecar!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Dani
Guest

Would be good if it worked like they say.

November 11, 2013

I used TrueCar for the same reason everyone else does, I wanted to save a little money on a car. I wish I had never used it. They gave me a choice of 3 "certified" dealers, two of which didn't honor the TrueCar price like they are supposed to, the third was 20+ miles away and not accessible without a car, which I didn't have, and so it wasn't an option. Since my inquiry through TrueCar I have been getting 4+ emails, and 2+ calls a day from dealers. They won't leave me alone. Completely ridiculous and useless, and more annoying and frustrating then helpful. I wish I had never used it.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Mikey
Guest

I think some people are confused.

November 8, 2013

I haven't yet bought a car using truecar, but I have experimented with the certificates and dealers. I've seen the bait and switch, the manager's that don't accept the certificate, you name it. That's not Truecar's fault, some dealers are using the site for shady business; the only thing truecar is doing is giving you a quote for the vehicle you want. It's the dealer's job to obide by those rules.

View all 4 Comments
mmongus
November 10, 2013

This happened to me at Redwood City, CA Town Ford dealership with the C-Max Energi plug-in just today. The truecar.com website printed me 3 guaranteed pricing certificates, all $7K under MSRP and the first one I went to (ie Town Ford) would only give $3K in discounts. I figured the rest were the same bait and switch. Any deal that sounds too good to be true, is too good to be true.

Cindy
November 23, 2013

I think it is your job to negotiate with the dealer from the certificates

January 12, 2014

If Trucar issues certificates for cars the dealerships don't have, then it's useless, period. I can give you a certificate too for $300, good luck trying to get the car for the price

August 24, 2014

yes, but Truecar can drop them from their site and stop sending customer information to that business. If a company keeps doing business with a disreputable business then they deserve the reputation they get.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Neverjustafemale
Guest

True Car and Dealerships

November 6, 2013

They are both a scam. The dealerships tell you its only a virtual vehicle, so they don't have it in stock, but will do a bait and switch and truecar.com rep tells you that they get their information from the dealership. I am more inclined to believe truecar.com The dealerships use the service as bait to bring in the customer. The word "guaranteed savings" means absolutely nothing to either the dealership (scammers) or truecar.com. They should take the word "true" out of their name. As for the dealerships, well, they have all earned their "car salesman" saying for a reason. Unless you are buying from Mercedes Benz, BMW or another high end breed of car dealership, they will treat you like dirt and throw you to the curb. Do yourself a favor and go to the car auctions if you plan on paying less than 30K for a car. SO your homework and know what cars hold their value, what their mechanical history and integrity is and get your loan from your bank not the dealership with the percentage rate markup.

Comment on this review...
review author image
John Garrett
Guest

Just as advertised

November 2, 2013

My wife and I were looking to buy a 2014 Honda Accord Sport and had been looking at the cars at local dealers and thought about using our Costco connection, but that proved to be a joke. The only dealer they sent me to was about 45 miles away, when there are several participating dealers within 15 miles of our home. On a lark, I went to TrueCar.com and filed out the information and within an hour we had three quotes and one dealer was local and two were some distance away. The quotes were within a few hundred dollars of each other and all were better than we expected. I tried working with one dealer in Vallejo and wrote an email asking a few questions. I tried three times and never received a written response.l One salesman called and left a message on our answering machine that I couldn't understand; it was at a high volume and so distorted, the recorder kept cutting out. When they called again, it was two days after we bought the car we wanted at Manly Honda in Santa Rosa. Coincidently, we bought our last car there 5 years ago and were pleased. Use TrueCar.com; it works!

Comment on this review...
review author image
Rocco D
Guest

Only go to this website if you want your info sent to every dealer in your area

October 24, 2013

Just wanted to check out a few prices for curiosity purposed. Put my information in and didn't think as soon as I hit next all my info would be sent to every dealer in my area in a 30 mile radius. Before I was off the website I had 6 emails and 2 voice mails.

Frank
October 26, 2013

True car is a scam. None of their numbers are accurate.

Comment on this review...
review author image
RT
Guest

Forget the certificates. Use it as another information tool along edmunds.

October 19, 2013

You have to use edmunds tmv and true car and you get an idea on how to actually make the purchase.

You can get pretty good deals directly to your email and you can (certainly) negotiate at the dealership if you are showing you are willing to close a deal.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Jay Williams
Guest

TrueCar Sucks

October 18, 2013

I'm not sure what is worse TrueCar or Russ Darrow. Lies, mistakes and BS.

david
November 05, 2013

russ darrow >

Comment on this review...
review author image
JB Shooty
Guest

True Car Scam

October 18, 2013

This is a misinformation service. They quote all the rebates wrong. They blame the dealers. They "TrueCar" suck! Waste of my time

acott
November 05, 2013

don't bother , bring a "dude" with you

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review