Smile Direct Club Reviews

Smile Direct Club is a company that markets a brand of wearable teeth aligners using their proprietary Smart Sculpt and Comfort Sense technologies, as well as providing telehealth services such as doctor video chats and treatment notifications through their app.

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the creators of Smile Direct Club believed that everyone deserved a beautiful smile, which hasn’t always been possible when traditionally the cost of correcting your teeth could easily break your bank account.

But Smile Direct Club realized that the recent innovations in 3D printing and telehealth could completely change the invisible aligner market. 

To drastically reduce their prices when compared to other providers, the first thing they did was cut out the need for monthly dentist appointments. Instead, once their customers complete an initial evaluation with a licensed professional that clears them for this treatment, they will never need to visit a dentist again.

All aligners will be made off of the at home dental impressions.  Because this system isn’t immediately overseen by a doctor, it is only appropriate for people who need minor to moderate teeth correction, including space between teeth, crowding, rotations, and some bite correction.

Depending on your particular issues, your treatment may take between three and ten months. 

Cost/Price Plans

The ultimate goal of Smile Direct Club is to make sure that their system is affordable for almost any budget. To do this, they price their initial evaluation at just $95 to see if you are a good candidate for their system.

If you're, their full treatment plan is priced at $1500, no matter what the specifics of your treatment are. They say that their customers are really paying for an outcome, not for the specific treatment they are receiving.

Finally, at the end of all treatments you will need to purchase a retainer to maintain your new smile, which they sell for $99.

This company also offers their customers a payment plan, saying that their SmilePay feature asks customers to pay $299 up front and then $99 per month, and this plan requires no credit check and charges no interest.  

Refund Policy

This company actually does provide their customers with a surprisingly good Refund Policy, given the nature of their products. Any customer who goes through the $95 dollar evaluation and is determined to not be a suitable match for their invisible aligner system will be refunded their evaluation fee.

However, it is important to note that this is only an option for those who do the evaluation – customers who do not show up to the evaluation or who cancel less than 24 hours beforehand will not be refunded their fee.

In addition, if you are currently a member and you decide to for any reason to cancel your service, you can return any unused Invisible Aligners and you will be prorated a refund of the cost of any remaining, unused aligners left from your total purchase price.

However, all shipping charges are still the responsibility of the customer.  

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to contact Customer Service with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 800-848-7566, by email at [email protected], or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link.

Reputation

This company seems to have mixed reviews at this time, but generally it seems as though this system is pretty well liked.

That being said, customers can tell from the provided Before and After photos on the Smile Direct Club website that these aligners are genuinely intended to fix the smallest of problems when it comes to tooth alignment. 

Many of the reviews stated that they were good for people who had traditional braces as a child but had since stopped wearing a retainer and had experienced some slight movement.

Other people said that they had been told their whole lives that they did not need braces but they never felt fully comfortable with their smile until after this product. If you have a more significantly noticeable problem, you will need to speak to a professional. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

As discussed on the Smile Direct Club website, there are many other alternatives for people who either don’t want to use this system or who aren’t good candidates for it, including traditional braces or the original Invisalign system.

Customers may want to speak to their dentist about the best options for them before committing to any specific option. 

If you have any experience with Smile Direct Club or their products, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Smile Direct Club Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Worst customer service in the world
August 10, 2022

This company is the absolute worst to deal with when it comes to customer service. I have been trying to get a solution to a problem for FIVE MONTHS. I call, text, email, fill out the contact form on the website, do the online chat, and get zero response.

On the rare times I actually reach an actual person, I get told that they will pass my request to someone and they will reach out to me. I scheduled a phone call appointment for today in order to cancel the service.

Apparently I need to cut up the aligners so I have to speak with someone to find out how to cancel. I waited for two hours and nothing, and I even confirmed the time earlier in the day. I have been charged $88.89 a month and have not been able to use the aligners at ALL. I am beyond frustrated and furious, and am about to take legal action.

I absolutely urge anyone looking into this service to look somewhere else. This place is unbelievable.

Stay Away From Smile Direct
July 16, 2022

Smile Direct is a scam. The 4 month plan you wear aligners all the time. The 10 month plan you wear them while you sleep.

I paid over $3,000 for the 10 month plan. I also paid extra for a retainer. I did everything as instructed. I wore the aligners at night and while I slept. I changed aligners each week.

My teeth hurt constantly, but I was told that was natural. After 4 months, I discovered I was out of aligners. I contacted Smile Direct and was told the dentist/orthodontist who made my aligners determined that my teeth wouldn't allow for the part time ten month schedule, so they went ahead and sent me the full-time four month schedule.

But they never told me or asked if I was ok with the full-time (i was not which is why I chose the part-time). The reason my teeth hurt all the time is because I wasn't wearing the aligners all the time because SD never alerted me that they sent the full-time.

They also never sent the retainer. Now my teeth look worse than before and three of them (including the two upper front teeth) have chipped due to the mess SD made. I asked for a refund and was given a $100 credit.

Now I'm looking at $12,000 for orthodontic work to stop the pain, partially straighten my teeth and repair three chipped teeth. Stay away from Smile Direct.

Terrible Service
June 27, 2022
The initial service, promptness and professionalism are all great....just don't ask for anything else. I have been waiting 6 months for my retainers. After asking again in March, I was told six weeks. YESTERDAY, June 26th I received an email telling me that NONE of the 3 credit cards I had submitted worked and they didn't order my retainers. They tried to charge me on May 19th. I had to wait 5 weeks for a message? On top of that ALL OF THOSE CARDS ARE ACTIVE! And, I charged the retainers to one while speaking with a rep who could not expedite my retainers...BAD SERVICE!!!

Unprofessional and sloppy
June 23, 2022

Do not purchase from them. Demanding a bank card during Covid is illegal. Dropping the ball constantly and then after screwing it up twice wanting me to pay for another set that was offered when I paid the account in full. Basically ruined my experience of finally getting my teeth fixed and they still aren’t right.

4 months turned into 2 year treatment plan
June 7, 2022

At first I was excited about the results. I only needed to wear the liners for 4 months. After 4 months my middle gap was gone, however I noticed that I had a larger side space.

No problem they said, just wear the second for 3 months. 3 months went by and now the center gap had opened back up and the spaces are now shared between the middle and side.

So for the 3rd time, I had a new set fitted. Just finished the 3rd set and yep the spaces are still there. So now I am headed back in for a 4th time.

I asked them for a refund and they said there is no way to predict how long it will take each person. But it has been a year and a half for a 4 month treatment plan and it's still going. This will be my last time, I will demand a refund.

Auto subscription to replacement retainers
May 22, 2022
Results were ok, not perfect but I also did not wear them for 22 hours a day as prescribed. I am more annoyed about the way they charge you for retainers after you have finished the initial course. There is no way to see or cancel the subscription online that they place nor any way to remove your payment method apart from contacting them directly. However they were quick to respond and cancel the order but I would prefer not to have to do this in the first place.

Initial Visit
May 7, 2022
I made an appointment and met with Alec, she was very informative and told me exactly what to expect, I was pleased and decided to go ahead with the procedure.

Customer Service
April 18, 2022
Their customer service is the worst I've ever experienced. You better hope that you never have to speak to a smile direct rep, I have been trying to reach someone for 3 weeks now, and I have spent multiple hours on the phone waiting for a rep to pick up. They told me over 2 months ago that they have sent me my retainer, and I have received anything yet and I can't get anyone to tell me where it it. In the meantime my teeth have started to recess. TERRIBLE!

Do Not Use Smile Direct!
April 14, 2022
wish I could give zero stars! they took my money and left me with a gap in the front! They kept sending me off telling me someone would call and never did but they sure enough reached out to tell me that I was all paid in full

Don’t waste your money
April 6, 2022

Don’t waste your money. I purchased this and followed directions and took pics of before an no change.

Spoke to dentist and said he did not recommend. My dentist is going to this himself that won’t damage gums or teeth.

Alignment and care
March 20, 2022
Smile direct will not honor their guarantee of correcting your teeth if not happy with the outcome. Their liners caused my teeth to line up on top of each other causing pain and discomfort. I highly recommend using another company that will ensure your health is a priority and correct any alignment issues. Best advice is spend the money to see an orthodontist.

The worst service imaginable
March 2, 2022

This company is a nightmare to work with. DON'T DO IT!!! They told me I would have straight teeth in 9 months... yet here I am 19 months later and I still don't have straight teeth!!!

The "touch ups" are necessary because they don't get it right the first time. I've had 3. Each time it's 4-6 weeks to get the next set of aligners...further delaying the process. I just called them because I had my 3D scan 6 weeks ago and still don't have my new aligners.

THEY DIDN'T PUT THE ORDER IN UNTIL TODAY! then they had the nerve to tell me I have to wait another 4-5 weeks for the aligners because they are unable to expedite them. The customer service team is separate from the people in the kiosks and is separate from the manufacturer... they don't have a way to call each other!!!!

It is the most disorganized company on the planet. To add insult to injury, they read from scripts! They don't listen to what you have to say, they just parrot it back and tell you they can't help you and then ask "how else can I make you smile today?" Seriously??? They don't make you smile at all! SAVE YOURSELF TIME, MONEY AND AGGRAVATION.

Customer service is garbage
February 24, 2022

They won’t call back to send replacement aligners.

Do not, I repeat Do not waste your money
December 4, 2021

I've been working with smile direct since Sept of 2019. Yes, you heard that right, 2019. While the website says 6 months, I've had multiple multiple multiple retreatments and the customer service is always awful. Just today I followed up b/c I sent in new impressions for a retreatment a month ago.

The bot (or maybe person) told me that my impressions didn't work, and I needed to resubmit. I'm like....it's been a month and I was NEVER notified that they weren't accepted. I get having to do more than 1 treatment, but I've been at this for two years, and feel like there is an issue everytime I complete a program. Do not recommend.

Shady Marketing Led to a Waste in Money
November 23, 2021
I tried using Smile Direct for over a year to straighten one tooth, and they could not accomplish that. I did what everyone does--I went online and looked for other people's opinions and tried to find people with the issue similar to my own. After seeing success, I eagerly spent the money. After a year, there was virtually no progress. In trying to write an honest review, which is what I wanted when I was looking to try the product, I attempted to write my review on a few sites that looked neutral and appeared made to solicate reviews. I found out pretty quickly that Smile Direct setup dummy pages to boost their reviews and forbid negative reviews on all Facebook groups, even with photo evidence. I tried saying that Smile Direct didn't work for me on a Facebook group with before and after photos, and the post was revoked within 2 seconds. There is a site, consumeraffairs.com, in which every link takes you to the SD website to make a purchase. This means they are using manipulative advertising and marketing tactics to lure in people to try the product, as they would see so many people have great experiences. There is literally no neutral party from which to get user reviews of Smile Direct online. It is an unethical practice.

Ask a dentist before spending 2k!!!
December 4, 2020

I decided to get rid of my gap. So I took a step by joining the smile direct club to do it . It was a bit painful the first few months. and the first aligner felt like it would not fit. But I wore all the aligners they sent on the box. followed everything they said don't smoke cigarettes, don't drink anything hot, and don't eat with them on. ( I couldn't cause the pain in my teeth, I actually lost weight) then the gap closed. I looked amazing. After all that pain I was finally done. Could not be more wrong. then we get the the retainers where you should only wear at night (the problem was that when i would wake up i had the gap again) so i decided to wear it throughout the day my mouth was always in pain if i took them off longer than 3 hours to put them back in i had to build up courage. For the next year I wore two different sets of aligners, the first one cracked and they replaced it for me free. The second one cracked also so i decided to call in and ask for advice on what i should do about my gap and is it normal to have to wear the retainers all day? They advised me that the only way to fix that is after you do the aligners to go to a dentist for advice on how to get rid of that gap and that aligners are only made to temporarily shift your teeth to where they told you it would shift but you need to do procedures to complete the process. My advice to you is to go through your dentist so they can do both the aligners and procedures that need to be done to give you the smile you really want. The aligners might cost an extra $500 compared to theirs but it's worth it because they will monitor your progress. And I'm sure they will provide financing if needed. but if you are looking to save money this is not the way to go, with the 2k i spenk there for nothing now i have to spend more money for other procedures that i didn't think i would need. my advice is go to your dentist before making a 2k decision to see if it's for you. a box cannot advise you on something that important.

2020 Smile Direct is Horrible
April 24, 2020
Received aligners 8/2019 that were the wrong fit they belonged to someone else. Smile Direct had me get a re-evaluation 10/2019. I didn't receive he new aligners until 1/2020 those didn't fit as well. I requested a cancellation. Smile Direct would not cancel the order, they gave me the run around. I shipped the aligners back on 3/28 and they still haven't cancelled. I now have a collection agency calling me and can't get through to anyone that can help me at Smile Direct. I keep being told that they are waiting to count my aligners before I can receive a refund.

Terrible Terrrible Terrible
February 25, 2020
Received my first aligners within the 3-4 week allotted time. Month 1 Week 1 fit fine. Month 1 week 2 had fitting issues. Was instructed to try Month 1 Week 3/4, didn't fit way too tight. Had to come back for another scan. Second batch of aligners never showed. Called to find out what happened. Was told they lost the second batch. Case manager said their records show a batch to be delivered the next day. I was confused. The next day came and gone, no aligners. Called to cancel my whole subscription. Was given instructions on returning original aligners with a possible refund. Should take 7-10 business days after receiving original aligners. Two weeks passed with no update. I called to find out status. Was told nothing was passed on to Case Managers, they are doing so now. Have to wait another 7-10 business days. This place is a joke!!! Incompetent company, wouldn't recommend!!

I' Pissed
February 21, 2020
After nearly six months of ill fitting aligners, I asked about the length of time I needed to wear the retainers. They had the nerve to tel me for a lifetime! 100 X 2 X 25 = 5,000 on top of 1,895 for the aligners. What a ripoff! And on top of everything my teeth aren't even straight and my side gap is not closed. False advertising!! Can we say BBB complaint.

I had 4 teeth that broke apart and fell out with Smile Direct Club
February 7, 2020

Could not edit typos, had to resubmit with corrections:

I have 4 teeth that has fallen out as a result of using Smile Direct Club aligners. I've spoken to 3 account rep over an 1 1/2 year period who had me send in cell phone pics of the damage to my teeth. I went to a dentist and had dentist take professional pics to send to them. He told me they could not accept them, and that it must be pics from my cell phone. Really? I took more pics and sent them and they said it didn't fit the format of the templates they sent me. Long story short, they said after reviewing my initial scans, they saw that I had damage before I was approved for the aligners and decided to approve me anyway to help me improve my smile. Here's the kicker, they continued to charge my account even a year after they knew my teeth were broken out and that I had a terrible outcome. I finally had to go to the bank and fill out forms to have them not to be able to charge my account again. They came back and started charging my account again. Which made me have to change my debit card information and put on file that they had no right to withdraw money from my account. I filed a complaint with the Better Business Bureau, and they lied and said it was my fault that the product didn't work because I didn't order the retainers. Why would I order retainers when the aligners resulted in my teeth damage. The saga continues.