PuppySpot.com Reviews

PuppySpot.com
( 15  Reviews )



Write a Review

About PuppySpot.com

PuppySpot.com is the online home of PuppySpot, a company that says they are a community of dog lovers who are committed to connecting the nation’s top breeds to responsible individuals looking for a puppy.        

How Does It Work?

According to their website, PuppySpot.com is a business “rooted in the belief that dogs should be celebrated” and that owners should be able to expect trust, confidence, and transparency when finding a new puppy to bring home.

This website promises their customers that they have zero tolerance for puppy mills or substandard breeding practices, and that all of their puppies are “raised with love by breeders who are held to industry-leading standards.”

PuppySpot screens and vets all the breeders they work with, saying that they hold breeders to the highest standards with the health and safety of the dogs as the top priority. They claim that less than 15% of breeders that apply to work with their company are actually approved, which they say ensures that their dogs and owners will have a “premium experience.”

To search for your future puppy on this website, customers can look by breed in two different categories, Purebred Puppies and Designer Puppies. For those who don’t know, Designer Puppies are brands that have become famous for blending the appearance and character traits of two different Purebred breeds.

Cost/Price Plans

The cost of using this company to find your perfect puppy is completely free of charge, but the actual cost of the puppy will vary depending on the specific puppy you have chosen. 

Qualified customers will actually be able to finance the cost of the purebred or designer puppy through this website, but this option will not be available to everyone. Customers will need to apply to see what kinds of financing they may be able to take advantage of. 

Refund Policy

Surprisingly this company does provide their customers with a Health Guarantee for their puppies. This Guarantee states that their breeders are required to keep their puppies up-to-date on all vaccinations and de-wormings and every puppy must pass a thorough health check before being allowed to travel.

In order to activate your puppy’s Health Guarantee, you will need to take them to the vet within 48 hours of the puppy arriving home. This ensures that your puppy is happy and healthy right away. 

The Health Guarantee has a One Year Guarantee, which states that “If, within one year of purchase, your puppy is found to have a congenital or hereditary condition which adversely affects your puppy's health, we will provide you with a replacement puppy of equivalent value.”

The Health Guarantee continues throughout years two through ten of your puppy’s life, and if your puppy is found to have a congenital or hereditary condition that adversely affects your dog at this time, you will be provided with a credit of 50% to put toward the purchase of another puppy from their website.      

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 866-306-6064 or by submitting them directly to their website through their Email Us link. 

Reputation

This company actually appears to have many different positive reviews and a following of very happy customers who use and re-use their services whenever they are looking for a new friend and companion to bring home.

The fact that this company also offers their customers financing and a Health Guarantee is also very important and impressive. Customers will need to pay close attention to the details of this Guarantee policy, however, to make sure that they are doing what needs to be done to maintain the Guarantee.     

Competitors and Alternatives?

Probably the most relevant competitor to this website is the American Kennel Club, which does provide a page where they display purebred puppies for sale by breeders that are registered with the AKC, and of course people who are simply looking for a family pet will be able to find them at local shelters, rescue organizations, and from private sellers. 

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your PuppySpot.com reviews below.

Read Next:  How to Choose the Right Food for your Dog: A Detailed Guide

You May Also Be Interested In

15 ‘PuppySpot.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

They are the Grinch of Christmas

December 13, 2020

My puppy was promised at a certain price, $4,000 before Christmas for my loving son. Now the company is asking for more money because they didn’t do the work on time for his travel and they are offering different dates for delivery.

I don’t recommend this company, it is too expensive with terrible service. They are very sweet at the tiem of sale but don't provide good service or keep their word or agreements.

They don’t give care about spoiling your Christmas joy. Now my son is not getting his Christmas gift unless we pay $600 more. Horrible.

February 25, 2021

When did you get the pup?

Comment on this review...

Beware

December 4, 2020

Thank God for the honesty of the bad reviews on this website. I signed the contract for my puppy in mid November and started to do my research. I reached out to the PuppySpot people on their app to get answers to simple questions that were specific to my puppy. They promised to get back to me. They never did.

Then, on Monday after the holiday, I reached out again, and I asked them to make an appointment for me to speak to the breeder. They refused stating that they have to protect their breeders and that their breeders are busy raising their puppies and don't have time to talk to the soon to be owners -- that that's what PuppySpot was for. They said that they would get back to me to answer my questions. And again, they never did.

That's when the alarm bells really went off. Everything that I've read indicates that good breeders want to know that their puppies are going to conscientious owners who understand the breed, their challenges, and are prepared to raise that particular breed as best they can; and those breeders want to support their puppies' owners to be successful. I asked myself: what does it mean that they are dealing with breeders who are too busy breeding, who can't be bothered to speak to the owners? Ugh. Something's really wrong with this picture.

Last night, as my anxiety mounted, I went onto this website and read story after story of bad experiences and I'm so grateful that I did. My puppy was only 6 1/2 weeks old and I had time to cancel. PuppySpot is keeping $495 as an administrative/cancellation fee. It's not worth fighting them about if they truly return the other amounts, which are, frankly, exorbitant, but would have been worth every penny, if they had performed in the manner that they indicate they do. I count myself one of the lucky ones who was able to exit before a potentially compromised puppy arrived.

From the reviews on this website, it seems like it's hit or miss with this company. But I couldn't bare it if I was supporting a business that cares more about making money off of people who just want to bring a bundle of joy into their home for themselves and their families and do right by an innocent animal and give them the best home and life that they can -- with a business that may be the effective replacement of storefront pet shops, which are notorious for dealing with disreputable breeders and horrific puppy mills.

I'm not accusing.... I'm just sharing my own experience and the really, really bad feelings I started to get, which have been confirmed by others on this site. While I'm disappointed, I'm honestly more relieved that at least I was able to cancel when I did. The puppy that I chose may be one of the ones who would have been perfect. But if this business is going to represent itself as honorable, it has to act honorably, provide true support for owners with bona fide questions, and proactively support communications between breeders and owners before it's too late.

They truly need to clean up their act and treat the breeders, the families and most of all, the animals with utmost integrity and accountability. They must become impeccable with their word.

Comment on this review...

PuppySpot.com - not very fair

September 10, 2020

Tried to enter our puppies, full-blooded American Pit Bull Terriers, virtually the same dog and the American Staffordshire Terrier or American Bull Dog, and they would not allow us to list. These are very good temperamented dogs and were raised indoors with the family. Just because the name states "Pit Bull" doesn't mean everyone fights them. In fact, we make sure our puppies are not going to be fought. So, it is really not fair for them to exclude that breed, but not the others like Rottweilers, Great Danes, German Shepherds, all the bull dogs, etc. But, they helped me figure out why people like puppyfinder.com much better.

Comment on this review...

Beware Of PuppySpot

June 1, 2020

My entire experience with PuppySpot has been terrible and frustrating and extremely upsetting. What they specify on their web site is NOT at all what I experienced. They have one set of criteria for the pup's travel on their site. Watch out!!
I discovered when my pup reached 8 weeks and 2lbs and was ready for travel, that she had to be 5lbs to travel via ground transportation. Or, 3lbs via private charter. Then when she reached the 3lbs, and I was still waiting for them to nail down a set travel date, I was told that she wasn't 3lbs, but 2.13lbs, 3oz short for travel with the private charter. I was told that the private charter travel days were only Sat and Wed. Then when I asked that we move the tentative travel date closer, to travel on Sat, since that was still a whole week for my pup to gain back the lost 3oz, I was then told that travel to my area was only available on Wed., Sat was to another area, not mine.
PuppySpot tells you that they will be with you and updating you all along the way until your pup is with you. NOT TRUE. The App and Website only gave me weekly updates of her age, which I knew. The App had the correct age/date but the website was 4 days off. At 7-8 weeks I had to request updated pics. PuppySpot told me they don't bother the breeder. But that they would make a request on my behalf. WHAT??? I never got regular updates as to how my pup was doing, her progress on weight, how she was eating, etc.
Basically PuppySpot takes a lot of money from you, ALL upfront, even travel expenses. You end up waiting and hoping that they will get your pup to you.
I had no problem waiting for my pup to reach her goals. She was 4 weeks when I bought her. So I understood she had to be 8 weeks and 2lbs to travel, because that is what is specified on their website. But truth be told, there were hidden criterias, misinformation and miscommunications all along the way.
They kept apologizing for the misinformation and miscommunications...for not updating their website, etc. It is now June 1 and I've been waiting for my pup since she was 8 weeks/2lbs on May 26-28th.
I still don't know when I will get my puppy. The last tentative date I was given was June 10th. By then she will be 10 weeks old.
Also, you'd think as your pup is approaching her goals of 8 weeks and 2lbs, the "travel team" would be working on making the travel arrangements, even if it has to be tentative initially. Not so. They don't seem to be working on anything...Certainly NOT in getting travel arrangements in the works ahead of time. Instead, they seem to wait until the 8 weeks/2lbs are right on top of them and THEN they begin looking into travel arrangements. That makes for an even LONGER waiting time to get your pup.
I am very sad. I am very frustrated. I have asked that they start looking at commercial airlines that would fly my pup to my nearest airport.
We'll see what happens next. I am scared that my pup will not be in good condition whenever I do end up getting her. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.
I have never worked with a 3rd party before. But I fell in love with my pup when I saw her. I have always worked directly with a reputable breeder, which has always been a great experience.
Beware of PuppySpot. I would NEVER, EVER work with them again.

View all 2 Comments
October 12, 2020

Watch out everyone they take their money up front
and can slow roll you past the date the credit card company could help. Great phone system when it comes to blocking your call. When things don't go right you
are left holding the bag. Big Time breeder protection greater than customer help. I believe all complaints
based on my experience. My opinion..Be very careful..not your friends.

November 25, 2020

Thank you! I was just getting ready to buy a puppy. Thank God I decided to read the reviews first.

Comment on this review...

Theo is the greatest!!

May 8, 2020

Kudos to the staff for everything they do From start to finish and beyond!!

Comment on this review...

Puppy Spot Buyer be ware

March 2, 2020

PuppySpot at first glance appears to be responsive. That is the case until you actually receive your puppy. The first time I should have known was when I asked for Breeder information and they provided the excuse that they have to protect their breeders and puppies from theft. Well we have in the past purchased from breeders and the breeders are usually proud of the puppies We lost our dog and we went to PuppySpot based upon the reviews on their direct website. What I didn’t realize that when I attempt to leave a review on their direct website there doesn’t seem to be the ability to do so. I did not do a general check as I have done now. There seems to be several reviews over the internet of others who have experienced what I have experienced.

Breeders are usually anxious to share the information, then I asked for the USDA # for the Breeder and apparently that is a secret as well. It is my opinion and the opinion of more than one vet we have talked with that this is most likely puppies received from puppy mills. The puppy is from Missouri.
Unfortunately our puppy came to us skinny and according to the vet was treated aggressively for Gardia risk while in PuppySpot’s care. The vet was extremely clear that the type of medical care she received demonstrated that the breeder is well aware that it has this problem at the kennel and they sold her despite this issue. In addition the puppy guarantee is a joke. They delay, don’t respond, claim they didn’t receive complete record. Anything to delay and avoid.

We will do what we need to do to treat her. Her form of Gardia is so aggressive it has been over 3 months of treatment and she is still infected. As a result she misses out on puppy play dates, training and the like. She can’t go to parks and play with other dogs and my guess is the puppies who have come from this Breeder are experiencing the same issues. She is on a special diet and still on medicine. Puppies get sick. But the secrecy of the Breeder (Name and USDA#), the aggressive Medical treatment by the Breeder for Gardia type diseases, and lack of response is unacceptable.

We are not sure ultimately what other health affects she will suffer. If this doesn’t resolve we will need to take more aggressive medical action which has side affects. Beware of purchasing puppies from this company.

May 08, 2020

I am so sorry to hear about your story and unfortunate experience. In December of last year, I decided to get a puppy as a companion, since our Labrador Retriever who we raised from a puppy through 14 years of her life. At first, I was somewhat reluctant to deal with a company such as Puppy Spot. However, after some research and questioning of prior clients, in March of this year, I secured their services. I asked that they assist me in finding me a male puppy. Within a matter of two days, I had a choice of one puppy from a selection of three. I selected a fantastic, healthy, handsome, and bundle of joy. I .obtained the services of Puppy Spot, and they assisted me in finding a male Labradoodle. I chose Theodore (Theo), a nine and one half week old red puppy. From start to arrival in-flight home to San Diego, California from West Virginia, the personnel and the breeder were in daily contact with me in the preparation and logistics of bringing Theo to his new home. I can sincerely say that the staff of this company are very professional and have one mission. And that is getting the customer what they request and getting a healthy puppy to a hew home, safe and sound.
I am so please with Puppy Spot and their service that I am considering getting a second puppy!! Kudos to them for everything they do!!

Comment on this review...

Bad customer service

February 19, 2020

I will not be recommending this place to anybody because of bad customer service I asked if their could be a discount Because I know the dog I wanted was way overpriced coming out in 3400 and change. Long story short you tell me if I don’t buy now they’re going to raise the price because 900 people have you this dog that I was looking at. So I say go ahead and keep it

Comment on this review...

Best dog ever

December 4, 2019

Purchased Bobby "Bear" 3 years ago; AKC registered German Shepherd. Been the best dog I have ever had; from start til now. Just purchased another too. (Westie)

Comment on this review...

Sold me a puppy with a congenital blood disease

August 22, 2019

Two and a half years into her tiny life, our little Maltese Ellie was taken in to the emergency vet hospital where she was diagnosed with IMHA, and three failed blood transfusions later, we had to unfortunately put her down. It was devastating to our family. Puppyspot asked us to provide all her $5,300 in vet bills and medical records. They had their "vet" review it, and they said that it wasn't a proper diagnosis and deny our claim for any kind of reimbursement. We paid $3,500 for her and $5,300 in vet bills, a total of almost $9,000 for two and a half years of joy, and now we are without the 9K and our precious puppy that we loved so much. They are a scam and do not care about their customers or their puppies. They're just in it for the money, and it's ridiculous! PLEASE BEWARE!!!!!!!!

View all 4 Comments
September 25, 2019

Our puppy from them died after 2 months. On top of the $3,000 we paid for her we spent an additional 5,000 trying to save her. They refuse to honor the guarantee. The sure won’t allow me to leave a review that’s why all their reviews are good! Check the BBB reviews and watchdog sites. The real reviews are horrible! I wished I had done my homework.

November 25, 2020

I am so thankful for reading this before I purchased my dog. Thank you so much!

November 28, 2020

Glad you saved yourself a lot of heartache. Just a terrible company.

April 11, 2021

Maria and Sarah, I am so sorry for your loss! Thank you for sharing your story and raising awareness of this kind of place. Yes, at least they should have given you a replacement puppy as they state in their website. Again, i am so sorry for your loss!!

Comment on this review...

WARNING: STAY AWAY

May 24, 2019

Do not purchase a puppy from puppy spot. This has been the worst experience we have ever been through. They are kind until you have a problem. Good luck trying to get someone to return your calls or emails. Their phone system is set up to ignore you. You can never talk with anyone else expect your puppy manager. Whenever you call in it automatically directs you to them. They have your phone number on memory. This place is a scam. They make promises and don't live up to them. So if your puppy manager doesn't want to help you through your problems, you can never get in touch with anyone unless you call from a different number that their system doesn't recognize. I should have went with my gut feelings when my 1st concierge was a complete nightmare. So was the 2nd. We ended up dealing with a manager to purchase our puppy. The manager made us a promise that they are not living by and we have the agreement on email. This will have to goto court. We love our puppy but hate puppy spot. Will not recommended them nor will we be buying our 2nd puppy from this scam. We wish we could leave a zero star. WARNING Stay away!!! We read online that their reviews are fake. This one is 100% real!

View all 2 Comments
July 07, 2019

more specifics would help, like what problems happened that PuppySpot did not help with? thanks

October 24, 2019

I had a complaint and the employee BLOCKED my number. How is that for customer service?

Comment on this review...

Gibbs From Mississippi to Connecticut ! :)

February 10, 2019

I was so scared to fall into that 1 or 2 star experience but Guillermo and Mikayli were amazing help with my puppy! Gibbs is loved unconditionally by us and is completely spoiled lol! From the min I called to get info all the way to picking him up at the airport , puppyspot was AMAZING and always there for me with any questions or concerns I had! I TRULY RECOMMEND PUPPYSPOT TO ANYONE!

Comment on this review...

Total rip-off

February 1, 2019

I purchased what I was guaranteed to be a teacup Pomeranian. While they now state they make no guarantees to the size of the dog, they did listen to recordings and the agent did indeed guarantee this pup would be 5 lbs or under. At the “ripe old age” of 8 months, this pup is already 12 lbs. I called and spoke to the office numerous time, each time they assured me that they would get back to me. They blow me off, don’t get back to me and have not kept their word on any type of refund. Once the pup leaves them, there is no such thing as Customer Service. I paid $3,749 for a puppy that I could have rescued at the humane society for. Completely disappointed and let down by this organization and will NEVER recommend them to anyone I know.

View all 2 Comments
May 16, 2019

Total SCAM artist. Even with senior citizens! Tried to up Charge me 900.00. What rip off and Scam!

October 24, 2019

Horrible horrible horrible business. Stay away

Comment on this review...

Satisfied with PuppySpot

January 20, 2019

I had an amazing experience with PuppySpot. From beginning to end, they were communicative and almost immediate with their responses. Mara, the puppy chaperone, was absolutely amazing. She stayed in contact the entire trip from getting the puppy, to the airport, at her layover, and the second she landed. She reviewed all the paperwork and gave me helpful tips on how to care for my frenchie, took wonderful care of her during the flights, and overall gave me so much comfort and reassurance that puppy was in great hands. My experience was beyond great and I’m truly blessed to have my frenchie!

Comment on this review...

Breeders Beware

November 2, 2018

The reason I really wanted to use PuppySpot to place my English Bulldog puppies was they are sold "Pet Only." This way I feel they are going to families that really want them as family members not large breeders.

PuppySpot works hard to make a customer happy. You are paying thousands more than what myself as a breeder sell these puppies for outside. I offer a one year health guarantee. PuppySpot holds the breeder accountable for the health of the puppy. I fully understand this but if there are any issues PuppySpot comes right back to the breeder. They aren't offering you something special on top of what I'm willing to do. I do stand behind my puppies.

What they don't realize is they also work for the breeder. They have a mindset that we're here because our puppies can't sell otherwise. In order for me to furnish you with healthy, playful and excellent bloodlines I put a lot of work and spend a lot of money. To have quality dogs they really need to work with a breeder. Not all puppies have the same bloodlines. Please research the heritage of the puppy you're considering.There are English Bulldog puppies on their site I wouldn't ever consider buying.

It appears everyone works in a different office. There is no organization and no one knows what the other person has done or said. My last puppy was supposed to be at the airport at 10 am. A late night email changed this to 6 am. I wouldn't even have known this but I happen to look at my email around 4. I call to double check this because it's a 45 minute drive to the airport. I was there at 6 am just to find out it was 10. Now I'm looking at a 4 hour wait. They are not honest. The flight chaperone called me to say she missed her flight and she couldn't make it there in time for the 10 am flight. They told me she did not miss her flight. The chaperone called me directly.

At the health check if there are any health issues or cosmetic issues they cancel the sale. Ok I can understand that but sometimes it's a simple issue that can be fixed. They cancelled the sale on one of mine then called me to say the buyer backed out which was just a flat out lie. They just simply cannot be trusted.

If you want a quality dog for thousands less start looking online for breeders. Go to AKC Marketplace, look at FB Clubs especially for Bulldogs. Ask for references on breeder. Make sure you get a health guarantee. I suggest finding breeders that are small in home not large kennels. If it is a kennel just make sure they are responsible, have health checks on their adults before breeding and your able to see their facilities. Make sure they spend a lot of time spoiling and loving their puppies.

July 07, 2019

Thank you Robin for the informative review.

Comment on this review...

Puppy spot was awesome the Breeder was awful

August 7, 2018

I have nothing but good things to say about the puppy spot and the people they employ, they definitely did everything they said they would!!
My issue was after I received my Labrador retriever puppy who was almost 13 weeks old, I took him for a visit to the vet as required by the terms and conditions of PuppySpot. At the visit my puppy was diagnosed with an ear infection; no nig deal. I got his meds, but when the breeder contacted me to see if he arrived ok, I mentioned the ear infection and the response she gave me was that my dog was fine and my vet was scamming me for extra money. Two days later when my vet called with the results of his stool sample I found out he had gairdia, which made sense since he had loose stools and was going 6 times a day. He is on meds and will be fine; however, I caution anyone looking to get a Labrador retriever from the PuppySpot that they make sure it’s not coming from Jean Nelson of Avalon Kennels in Avery Texas!! The only thing this breeder seems to be concerned about is that you purchase the vitamins she suggests, vitamins that my vet said are good but not necessary if you are feeding your puppy a good quality food!

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review