Pro Power Save Reviews

Pro Power Save
( 37 reviews )

Pro Power Save Review: Legit or Scam?

Reviewopedia staff  -  Updated:  July 12, 2023


The Pro Power Save is a device the seller claims can help consumers reduce their electric bills by up to 90%.

Claims such as these often raise red flags as 'too good to be true'.  In addition, the Pro Power Save resembles other products that we've previously reviewed that are mostly scams.

We’ll take a closer look at the Pro Power Save to see if it's legit or if it's another scam to be avoided.

How is Pro Power Save claimed to work?

The advertisement for this device claims that using technology developed by Nikola Tesla the Pro Power Save will:

  • Stabilize your homes electric current
  • Clean power lines and reduce electric temperature
  • Reduce "dirty" electricity
  • Buffer electric current shock
  • Protect and prolong life of appliances
  • Save money on your electric bill
  • Reduce your exposure to harmful electromagnetic radiation (EMF/EMR)
  • Relies on Technology Invented by Nikola Tesla

 

They go on to say that all you have to do is plug it into an outlet near your breaker or, if using it on multiple electronic devices, then you will have to order more units and place them on opposite ends of your home.

The company states that for an average home it will take 2-3 weeks to stabilize the current and customers should start experiencing results within 6-8 weeks.

The truth is many of these claims are purposely vague, meant to sound impressive, and ultimately designed to play on people’s real needs of saving money on their electricity bills.

Below we list the reasons why we think people should not invest in the Pro Power Save.

3 Major Red Flags

  1. Misleading Advertising  -  The ads promoting this product use a lot of tricks to sound credible.  For instance they use the names of popular business and electronics magazines on the site.  

    They want people to think they’re endorsed by these legitimate organizations, when in reality they have zero relationship.

  2. Generic Product  -  This is a generic mass produced Chinese product.  If you search the main overseas wholesaler site Alibaba, you will find a variety of these units under the generic name of “Electricity Saving Box.”

    A moderately sized bulk order of around 100 units comes out to only $1.10 per device, with the true cost of manufacturing being a fraction of that.

    Pro Power Save is simply buying these, rebranding them with their logo, and selling the devices using a variety of aggressive sales tactics.

     

    Pro Power Save Generic

    ( Generic product found on AliBaba.com identical to the Pro Power Save, priced much lower )

  3. Not a New Scam  -  We have already reviewed the MiracleWatt Device here on Reviewopedia.  It ran the exact same ads and was selling the same product. 

    Below are photos from both ad campaigns.

 

( Identical ad and product, with a changed name, likely because of too many negative customer reviews )

 

On Reviewopedia, the MiracleWatt has a score of 2/5 from 51 customer reviews, with the the bulk of reviewers saying that the device had no affect on their power bills and that the customers felt scammed.

More interestingly, there are also comments from electricians and engineers stating their opinions on why these power saving devices don’t work.

Why Pro Power Save Won’t Save You Money

Firstly, when customers have disassembled the MiracleWatt (presumably the same product as the Pro Power Save), they found no circuitry to insinuate it has any digital or "smart" capabilities. 

Inside is only a small capacitor and LED lights… meaning that the Pro Power Save can't actually do what it claims.

The idea behind 'dirty electricity' filters is taking a concept that is potentially relevant in electric infrastructure engineering or with highly sensitive electrical equipment, and trying to make it relevant to a residential scenario.

What sellers of these filters allude to with their graphs of the misaligned voltage and current waves is a concept called Power Factor Correction, something that mainly applies to commercial/industrial sites.

In short, your home's Power factor = True power(kw)/Apparent Power(KVa)

True Power is the actual amount of energy that is put to work and Apparent Power is the total amount coming in, even if it is not being used.

In the most efficient scenario your power factor is 1, meaning that all of the energy is being put to use with zero waste.  The Department of Energy has a nice graphic illustrating this concept.

In your home you have resistive loads such as incandescent bulbs, coffee makers, and stoves and inductive loads such as air conditioners, vacuum cleaners, and electric fans.  

Inductive loads are the main culprit of a low power factor creating these “out of phase” waveforms.

The point is that industrial facilities with lagging power factor loads caused by heavy machinery, motors, compressors, transformers, etc get charged for their power factor whereas residential customers are only billed for their true power use not the apparent power.

So, even if the Pro Power Save did work it would only save the power company money and not affect your bill.

Additionally, it's also important to note that the quality of the electrical grid is constantly monitored by power companies and they take necessary steps to prevent any potential issues caused by harmonics or transients.

Customer Service

If you did purchase a Pro Power Save and need to contact customer service you can do so by email at [email protected] or phone at +1 (833) 685 2776.

Refunds:

The company claims to have a 90-day money back guarantee.  If you're unsatisfied you will have to ship the item back at your expense.  The device must be in the same packaging as you received it.

They also state that they have the right to charge a restocking fee of at minimum 15%.

Customer Reviews & Complaints

At this time there is not much real customer feedback, as this is a newly rebranded version of the product.  

We anticipate that the Pro Power Save will soon have the same negative reviews as its predecessor, the MiracleWatt.

Unfortunately, that will take more people falling for this gimmick and leaving negative reviews to warn others from making the same mistake.

Bottom Line

If you are looking to cut down on your power spending there are some things you can do to help, but purchasing the Pro Power Save should not be one of them.

Things that help:

  • Energy star appliances
  • Switching to LED lights
  • Smart power strips
  • Programmable thermostats
  • Disconnecting electronics when done charging/not in use

Energy Star rated appliances actually already have power factor correction capacitors built into them.

Ultimately, based on the customer feedback of similar products and on in depth reviews that have measured the effectiveness of these devices, we would not recommend this as a solution to cutting energy bills.

If you have any experience with the Pro Power Save device, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Pro Power Save Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

It didn't work
April 10, 2024
I bought two of these on a package deal.. The day it arrived, approximately 4 months ago, I plugged it in. IT NEVER DID ANYTHING NO REDUCTION IN MY BILL. I must say that it had a really pretty green light

Fake and Dangerous Scam Product
February 5, 2024

Dangerous and Fraudulent Scam Product. Absolutely stay far far away from. Expert electrical engineers have all agreed that there are no components inside that add up to what it claims to do. This product may be dangerous as it is not tested for safety and can cause fires.

If you've already been scammed - demand the money back and if they refuse anything less than 100% of your money back - threaten to report them to authorities and have them arrested! I did this and scared them into giving my money back after they tried a few excuses on me.

They are crooks.

I opened up the black box inside the product and it was literally nothing but a wire in a black plastic box with epoxy glue filling the box, made to look like a fancy component.

PRODUCT DOES NOT SAVE YOU $$$$$
January 4, 2024
Propower Save devices are a SCAM. They provide absolutely zero energy savings and do not provide any savings on your electric bill. To prove the devices have no value, they do not want you to return them when you request a refund. They will begin by offering you a 50% refund if you do not return them and settle for an 85% refund minus original shipping charges if you keep the devices. DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!!

StevenHagerty Sr. February 12, 2024

I've had two now for over a year and forgot about them till I saw the sales pitch on f/b. It was them I realized I haven't saved a thing!!I guess I got snaffooed and can only say buyer beware!!

Doesn't Work!
November 30, 2023

Scam, use them for a few month's with no change in my elec bill!

Nick December 09, 2023

I agree the power-saving, money-saving aspect is a scam. But isn't the regulation, i.e. "evening out" of the current accurate? My problem is that some of my devices are very sensitive to current fluctuations, like in brownouts, or when power goes off due to storm, then comes back on and off, fluctuating wildly sometimes when power is first restored, and damaging the (e.g. AC 120powered hot tub heater) device permanently.

TOTAL SCAM
November 13, 2023

This is fraud. FBI should shut them down. Even the money back guarantee is a scam.

DonChamberlin November 22, 2023

This is a fraud. It's just a capacitor in a box and it will do nothing to reduce your electric bill. I am a professional engineer who worked with the power industry and I know what I'm talking about. Don't waste your money. Shame on Amazon for selling this stuff.

BillWight November 30, 2023

YEP

Works well, for a night light
November 12, 2023
They do work as a very nice night light. I have one in my bedroom and it makes it nice to see the floor when I get up to pee. Otherwise, they are totally worthless.

RETURNS & REFUNDS ARE IMPOSSIBLE
October 27, 2023
I saw these on the "TOP 10 Products to buy for '2023 and ordered them for my husband's birthday. However, when he received them he said there is NO WAY these will work (he is an electronics engineer) and told me to return them. THIS IS A HUGE PROBLEM! They make it so complicated that once you get them, YOU CANNOT GET A REFUND! SAVE YOUR MONEY, CONTACT THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AND CONSUMER ADVOCATE TO REPORT THEM FOR FALSE ADVERTISING AND KEEPING THE PURCHASER LOCKED INTO A DEAL THAT CANNOT BE UNDONE!

love it
October 17, 2023
I was skeptical when I bought it but after using it for the past several months, I've noticed a huge reduction of my energy bill. Each month gives me more reductions.

Albottabing November 12, 2023

yep.... hahahaha

NickFergis November 13, 2023

This is a lie. It was written by the company. They are 100% a scam.

Not good
October 16, 2023

I have this plugged in at my house for the past 2 months. I can honestly say, it does not help or work.

do not buy
October 14, 2023

SCAM...didn't lower my electric bill 1 cent. complete waste of money. they charge you for return (15% plus you pay for shipping

Scam
October 14, 2023

Scam not endorsed by Musk, does not work.

NatalieMorales April 02, 2024

thank you for the honesty

Doesn't work
October 13, 2023

Doesn't live up to claims, for me anyways.

The devices (I foolishly bought 3 of them) are a total waste of money. A complete scam!
October 11, 2023

I ordered 3 pro power savings boxes. I've had them plugged in for the past 3 months. I have not saved 1 (one) single penny. A complete waste of money.

What a scam/sham. Please save your money.

KimMarlowe October 27, 2023

I fell for it too and am stuck with four!!! RETURNS & REFUNDS ARE IMPOSSIBLE! THIS OUTFIT & PRODUCT ARE TOTAL FRAUDS!

NatalieMorales April 02, 2024

Thank you, you are a life saver. I would have fallen for it. if it weren't for you. you are my hero

Does not work
October 9, 2023

Had the 2 highest electric bills I have ever had these last 2 months, had these gizmos in the upstairs bedroom and one in the plug in garage next to breaker box. Scammed!

DonK November 28, 2023

Yes, my electric bill actually increased. SCAM

Not worth it.
October 8, 2023

I saw the ad talking about "Pro Power Save " and I ordered 3 plugs in. However, my electric bill is the same or higher than normal. I called my local electric company and they said that it was a scam. No matter what the devices, they could not turn the electric meter back ward to save the money. I paid $113.24 and my refund was only $87.79. I lost $25.45 (15 % restocking fee + shipping fee).

Don't ever order it. Put them in the basket and wait for a couple days and think twice before ordering.

Does not work
October 4, 2023

This product is an absolute scam I bought three units and my electricity bill went up $40...Crooks

genadeshaies November 21, 2023

I went on the site and foolishly put 3 in the basket, I went to purchase them but never hit the confirm button, the payment went through anyways! I read the reviews afterwards and realized it was a scam. I phoned them a they tried to lower the price from 150$ to 35$. I said no I do not trust their product and they did refund me the total 150$. I feel like I dodged a bullet as I phoned 5 minutes after I ordered it. You can tell the company is super shady!

Not too sure as yet if they really do work!
September 24, 2023
I bought 3 and plugged them in different places downstairs in my home! Our power bill last month was $475.82 (summer) and this month $99.44! I’m surprised and hoping that these Pro Power Savers did make a difference! We’ll see what this months power bill will be and next month and will determine if they really do work!

NickFergis November 13, 2023

You are lying. This product is a total scam.

MikeEisenfeld December 02, 2023

Show the before and after power bill charges please.

My KWH’s increased using two.
September 15, 2023
I hoped they would lower my electric bill but (I used two) and my electric bill increased from $206.78 (for Aug.) to $254.00 (Sept). Never had a light bill that high in this house. My KWH usage increased. Did the Power Saver do a reverse?

Slick marketing with no results
September 13, 2023

These guys are masters of manipulation. They deceive us with their fancy lights and slick packaging. You can buy these on AliExpress for $6 and not the advertised $45 or more. At that price, many people would probably not feel so bad that they were burned and ripped off. This is nothing more than a dim LED light bulb doing absolutely nothing. Deceptive devices like this one have been on the market for years.

Don't waste your money
September 10, 2023
It's a scam!! My electric bill has not dropped at all. The past 2 months it has been over $100.00 higher than normal. Just another waste of money.