NextDoor.com Reviews

NextDoor.com
Based on 56  Reviews



Review It

About NextDoor.com

NextDoor.com is a new, private social network designed just for you and the other members of your neighborhood and your community to interact online in order to make your neighborhood better and safer.

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the goal of this website is to give neighbors and communities a place to interact with each other to get to know each other better, and in the process, create a better and safer community.

To sign up as a member of NextDoor.com, you must submit your residential address as well as go through a series of multiple verifications to ensure that you are actually a member of the neighborhood, and not an outsider. 

Members must always use their real names, and not chosen internet handles, and they have completely control over how much information is shared and where it is shared. They also promise that their member information will never be available on public search engines like Google, and that no member information will ever be shared with third party advertisers. 

Once you are a member, NextDoor.com encourages you to use their site as a place to share information, like to spread the word about break-ins, find trustworthy babysitters or pet sitters, ask for help in locating lost pets, or simply to find out peoples’ names and organize neighborhood social functions.

Cost/Price Plans

This website is very adamant that they are completely free for members to sign up and use to interact with their neighbors and other members of their community. In order to ensure the most memberships and interaction, this website decided not to include membership costs. 

Refund Policy

Since no fees are paid at any time to NextDoor.com, there is no Refund Policy being offered by this website. Instead, if customers are ever invited by an ad or a link to go outside of this website and make a purchase, they will have to adhere to any Refund Policies offered by the website where they are actually making their purchase. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who have questions, concerns, or complaints they would like to direct to their Customer Service team can contact them by submitting them directly to their website through their Terms & Conditions page, which offers a Contact Us link at the bottom of the page.

Reputation

Unfortunately there are some negative complaints about this website online. However, none of these complaints appear to be about the security of this website or the lack of privacy measures, which is often what most people are concerned about when sharing details of their home life.

Most of the complaints by far were regarding the content of the information discussed on their neighborhood’s page, with most people saying that this is just a place for judgmental neighbors to sit around and gossip about the people in the neighborhood they don’t know or don’t like. Others complained that there were too many neighbors using this site as a way to sell or promote things for sale.

However, it does genuinely seem as though these experiences are not in the majority, and that your experience will depend greatly on the neighborhood you live in, and the “lead” contact in your neighborhood, as the lead is the person who establishes your neighborhood page and sends out the initial invitations. 

In general it seems as though there is a lot of good that can be taken away from the proper and appropriate use of this site, and the more neighbors who get involved, the more likely it is that the site will be used for what it is intended for.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

Certainly the internet is home to a wide variety of different social networks, and many neighborhoods already offer pages on popular social media sites like Facebook, or they may offer a Twitter handle for sharing of informational as well. 

If you have any experience with this company or their products, please leave your NextDoor.com reviews below.

Related Articles

56 ‘NextDoor.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Nextdoor is a great asset to our community



March25, 2017

I live in Bakersfield California and my wife and I became members about 6 months ago. I have found Nextdoor to be a wealth of community and big and small business information. You can buy /sell or give away almost anything a person could have.It has helped us find our animals and its another unique resource in the neighborhoods search for help in crime.I look at Nextdoor far more than I look at any other site.Of course there are people and information that is not helpful but I just scroll past what I am not interested in.There are always going to be morons that say things,period. I love that people use real names and live in our community. Thank you Nextdoor!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
April 29, 2017

Ken,
You're living in a dream world. Just wait until you find out what manipulation is done via Nextdoor. I wish you well. Since you mentioned crime, you should begin research on who is the criminal and the fact it could be you, according to Nextdoor. The small things you listed sound very nice, just look out. That organization is a billion dollar plus one that really likes people like you who are willing to do exactly as you are told. Again, I wish you very well

April 30, 2017

Mbradford, I have no idea who you are and I dont care. I use the Nextdoor app as I do every tool on the internet,including Yahoo and WebMD. I am well aware of manipulation by virtue of being an LVN/RN for 34 years. Try working with a bunch of stick up their ass males and females and you can take pictures of manipulation. Nextdoor is a TOOL to be used in conjunction with other information-period. I find out whats going on and what I dont wish to read,I dont. I am sorry for what happened to you on the site but not everyone has those type of experiences.I stand by my comment. If I am a criminal I am far more stupid than they are. Good day.

March 28, 2019

The web site was designed for people just like Ken....our point reaffirmed....call 1-800-CRY-BABY Ken...

Your Comment

Gestapo Investigation!



February6, 2017

This all started with a woman who posted about being harassed by a neighbor. He called the cops because she parked her car at her kid's bus stop. I couldn't help but get emotional because of what happened to me years ago. When I was in grade school, 3 mornings in a row, a strange guy was standing near our bus stop. I remember coming home from school and telling my Mom about it. Little did I know about how much danger we were in. It was clear this guy was up to no good. Thank God nothing happened to any of us. Maybe it was because were quiet and stuck together. Or maybe a neighbor was watching. I realized how important this is, so I knew in my heart what I had to do! I posted it on the Nextdoor site. I applauded this woman for being at her kid's bus stop. It made them all safe! People responded to me with overwhelming support! Including a police officer! In fact, one woman even felt bad about what I went through. I thanked everyone and all was good. Weeks went buy. And then out of the blue, I get Nextdoor's Gestapo letter. The said they were investigating me about the "bus stop" post. They claimed it may be offensive! What? You got to be kidding me! I DID NOTHING WRONG! I BLEW UP! I got on their site and wrote a scathing lettter back. I bleep out all swear words so there was no actual cussing. Then I told them they can put their bogus site right where the sun doesn't shine! They wrote back whining about my hurtful statement and that this too will be investigated. Well they got a lot of nerve when they were the ones who attacked me first! I had to endure Gestapo invesigations from a prior job and I'll be d(bleep) if I'm going to put up with it from these people! They're NOT my employer! They are also nothing but a lost cause! So I deleted my membership! These clowns can investigate me all they want. But it will do NO good because I'm no longer a member. And I will NEVER BE AGAIN!

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 6 Comments
April 14, 2017

Wow, what a rant! Emo much?

April 29, 2017

Michelle,
That was no rant. "Robert" sounds more like the police to me. I also have a dim view of Nextdoor. I appreciated your post even if "Robert" did not.

April 30, 2017

Michelle, I cant follow your post. I have tried to read it but you really do not give any information on what you reported and what happened to you. I understand that a complaint from someone at Nextdoor caused an "investigation" I do not think this site would pay for resources that constitute an investigation into your post. Its good that you and Mbradford decided to not use the site anymore. I have been contacted several times for my posts because someone flagged them. People will censor very quickly when they dont like what you are writing. No big deal.

May 15, 2017

I had a similar experience. Evidently, it's not what's listed on their guidelines page, it's whatever they want to label as "offensive'...even when it's not. These people, (running the site) are screaming liberals!

May 19, 2017

Well said!

March 28, 2019

The website will not allow you to post negative comment about the police department, or other long tern members....they will disable and ban your account . They do not want hr truth, they want fluff so they can get more advertising dollars....It is a corporate information and money grab.,...waste of time

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Billy Moore



November14, 2016

It has been my pleasure to have Billy Moore as my handyman for the last eight plus years.
Billy Moore is a polite, genial gentlemen who cares about the quality of his workmanship.
He's built fence sections, installed light fixtures, and a dishwasher. He's trimmed trees. Billy Moore has helped me keep my home in good repair. He leaves the work area as clean (or cleaner) as when the project began.
I highly recommend Billy Moore if you're looking for someone to do quality home repairs.

A Satisfied Customer

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 5 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
April 17, 2017

Your lovely sales pitch will work to a certain degree, that is until the Gestapo decides to shut you down. Just wait and see!

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Leads have all the Power? It's Rigged!



October27, 2016

They give so much power to a neighborhood "Lead" who is nothing more than the 1st person to join! I've recruited many more people than her. My neighborhood has a Homeowners Association (HOA) but the Lead started the Nextdoor "neighborhood" with multiple areas & HOAs. I could understand if we had a small community but we have 140 parcels which is more than the Nextdoor minimum! But our lead has "Blackballed" our request for our own neighborhood like an '80s fraternity! To make matters worse the "Lead" named our geographical neighborhood after the nearby cemetery. Try getting your neighbors to join an app & tell them they belong to a neighborhood of those who passed.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 6 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
April 14, 2017

Leads don't have any power to speak of. About all a lead can do is delete an abusive post. Leads cannot ban people and cannot actually prevent anyone from posting. If your lead is not doing his job then you can contact nextdoor, there are ways to deal with bad leads.

April 29, 2017

Oh "Robert," you sound so perfectly "Nextdoor" to me; that is, more like the "police." You should consider using the name of Roscoe White. It fits so much better for you. So, how do you deal with a bad "Robert," aka,, Roscoe White? I'd really like to know, okay? And please, take no offence to me at all. I'm just a bad old guy who never bothers anyone.

September 26, 2017

Robert, you're wrong. Leads can, and do, stop replies to your post. As more people advertise their used clothes, your post, however important and helpful, fades and becomes completely unread. Leads also delete posts that are against their personal beliefs. We had a pit bull kill an infant. The pro-pit bull owners went on a rampage, and the Lead did nothing but block members posting facts about dangerous dogs. We had a post of a Death Threat posted against a member, and that post was deleted because it made the neighborhood appear unsafe. It's censorship.

Your Comment

review author image
1 Review

Our lead is mentally imbalanced, paranoid, a busy-body.



August16, 2016

I know our lead personally -- she is semi-insane. She will instigate controversial issues (and even lie about other people) on the site, just so she can later become the central figure resolving it. If you contradict her in any way, she vindictively will delete your account.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 7 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
April 14, 2017

Leads cannot delete accounts nor can they block anyone from posting. If your lead is a psycho then contact nextdoor tech support with a well-written argument and provide supporting evidence. Problems leads can be dealt with.

April 29, 2017

Say "Robert" you sound very suspicious to me? And your role? You are the police or what? Leads can do anything including kill an account without reason. Nextdoor is very manipulative and self serving with tons of money coming in.

September 26, 2017

Without wasting time, Robert, you are wrong.

Mbradford is correct. I suspect Robert may not actually participate other than selling things.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Reunited



August3, 2016

We are so thankful for nextdoor.com Our two large black dogs accidentally got out of our gate. We looked for them until 3am on a Saturday night and then all day long on Sunday. One woman walking her dog recommended nextdoor.com and we created an account. The first thing we saw was a post about our dogs being spotted. We got an idea about where to look for them from the last place they were spotted and we drove to that area with a favorite squeaky toy. within 10 minutes a good neighbor heard the toy and chased us down and told us where we could find them. Another neighbor had taken them into their home for their protection. We feel so blessed to have been reunited with our boys and thankful for the wonderful neighbors who worked together to rescue our boys. Thanks so much to nextdoor.com we may have never seen our boys again as their chip was not found by a vet they were taken to.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 2 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
August 07, 2017

Leads Are disusting trolls who control the invorment they want to see.Leads where I live have chased off the christian community for sharing church activities in the neighborhood. There is no feedom of speech unless one has found a dog,then the rest of the hood chimes in saying "kill it" or "dump it in the country.The leads have created a hostile environment and have torn the neighbors apart.Most disusting environment I'd had the pleasure to be a part of.

Your Comment

review author image
2 Reviews

Very useful although "neighbors will be neighbors!"



November13, 2015

Nextdoor.com is a great way to connect with your neighbors -- find out where the car break-ins are happening, who's having a garage sale, what that construction on Terasita is about.

However, like any unmoderated group, there's a strong "crotchety" vibe (like that review up above! wow!). Best to use the site for the good things, mute and report the meanies, and try to elevate the conversation a bit.

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 3 People Found This Review Helpful
1 Comment
September 26, 2017

Graham, it sounds like you live in one of the few out of 80,000 neighborhoods nationwide that enjoy a homogeneous group of neighbors.

We have bullies, disrespectful leftists, hate mongers promoted by our Leads and the moderators in SF, and most of the intelligent discussions have been deleted.

Your Comment
review author image
1 Review

Censorship at its best



October5, 2015

I am a community leader and joined Nextdoor to keep my community abreast of current issues and events and have always provided facts. Any of my posts that disputed certain member's unsupported claims or innuendo were flagged or deleted and when I reached a following of approximately 100 people, my account was deleted by Nextdoor as they stated my posts were dominating the site or were controversial. While the site is great for sharing information, anyone disputing erroneous information and providing facts and challenging anyone in a manner that is deemed by the censors, which they call leads, to be contrary to what they feel is acceptable to them, at their discretion, can be deleted at anytime, as was my account. I hold several state licenses and am a degreed professional that has always provided facts along with my statements and the site is ridden with Narcissistic, ego tripping socialists that expect everything to go their way. I'm not referring to foul language, strictly controversial topics As an example, I mentioned that there were unlicensed people cutting hair in the community and my posts were flagged ass I was being "negative".

Did You Find This Review Helpful?
out of 10 People Found This Review Helpful
View all 3 Comments
July 11, 2017

Sounds like your "NextDoor" site was run by a bunch of democRATs.

March 02, 2018

Yes indeed. Same thing here in Virginia Village Denver CO. Run by a bunch of liberal Nazi's.

March 28, 2019

the site is also racist and strictly for white people

Your Comment

Leave a Review