Mackenzie Limited Reviews

Mackenzie Limited
( 39 reviews )

Mackenzie Limited, found online at MackenzieLTD.com, is a company that states they were established in 1984 focusing on the finer foods of Scotland and British Wales and have since expanded in large scale gourmet food.  

How Does It Work?

According to their website, since Mackenzie Limited was established in the early 80s they became famous for their Scottish Smoked Salmon, which is still one of their most popular products. 

Today, their website says that they offer more than 400 unique products over 10 different categories, including Smoked Salmon, Caviar, Hors D'Oeuvres, Sides, Entrees, Brunch, Sweets, Gifts, Sale, and more.

Their website says that they take their pursuit of culinary excellence very seriously, which is why they have traveled the world to find “the best of the best.”

Mackenzie Limited states that their passion and uncompromising stance on quality means that customers who order from their company will know they are getting the best. 

Ingredients and Side Effects

As customers look through the products that they have available, customers will see that each individual product page offers their customers a link to Ingredients where they can see the full ingredient list of that particular product.

Customers also have the ability to check for items to which they may be allergic or have other known negative side effects or reactions.   

Cost/Price Plans

Because this company sells such a wide variety of products at this time, there is no real way to quote a single or static price range for the products that you will find here.

When customers go through the website looking at available products, all prices will be clearly displayed so you know what you will be spending before you submit your purchase.

Refund Policy

Unfortunately this company does not appear to offer any kind of standard or traditional Refund or Return Policy for their customers at this time.

Customers who receive their order and believe that there is an issue or a problem should contact their Customer Service as soon as possible to report the issue, and be prepared to take pictures if necessary. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 877-867-6851 or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link. 

Reputation

Unfortunately this website does not appear to have many customer reviews at this time, making it difficult for new customers to decide whether or not they would like to purchase products from this company, especially because they do not offer a clearly published and detailed Refund Policy on their website.

Concerned customers can contact their Customer Service team before making a purchase to see what kinds of consumer protection policies their company does have in place.

Or they can first use this company for a small purchase for themselves before relying on them to deliver a gift for a special occasion.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many different companies and websites that specialize in gourmet food from around the world being shipped to your home, so customers who are not able to find the types of foods they are hoping for at this website should have a variety of other options that may better meet their needs. 

If you have any experience with Mackenzie Limited or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Mackenzie Limited Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Not worth the price
May 13, 2024
We purchased a coconut cake and a chocolate cake and I was really looking forward to the coconut cake. I am unimpressed with the coconut cake, not nearly as tasty as the website, and the catalog indicate. Wow, we have not had any of the chocolate cake we have had the coconut cake and it wasn’t bad but it wasn’t worth 49 or $50 that I paid for it either. I will not buy from McKenzie again.

Don't plan on getting order when stated
January 23, 2024
Makenzie ships when they want. It could be up to a week later than stated. Do no plan on going anywhere for a week to 10 days while you wait for your "overnight" order.

BUYER BEWARE!
January 20, 2024

I was extremely dissatisfied with the 4 oz. packs of MacKenzie Scottish Smoked Salmon I ordered this past Christmas. I addressed the following communication to their customer service department and was further dismayed to find the only thing they were willing to do was to offer a 20% discount on a future order; quite ludicrous the notion that one would ever do business with them again after this experience! Adding insult to injury, they have continued to send me numerous texts touting "Our Scottish Smoked Salmon, a FLAGSHIP product (emphasis mine) imported from Scotland, is something to rave about."

To Whom It May Concern,

I am contacting you to express my extreme disappointment with the smoked salmon I ordered for Christmas. I have purchased your smoked salmon whole sides several times in the past, and it was always wonderful. This time, I ordered a half-dozen four-ounce packages and to my dismay, found rather than the uniform size, shape, and thickness of the individual slices, the packets contained a mishmash of misshapen pieces of all different sizes and thicknesses that appeared as if they were leftover trimmings. Please understand that nowhere within your website description is it stated that the four-ounce package product is anything less than what a repeat customer would expect from Mackenzie, or that it would be not only second-rate to that of the whole side, but more like ninth, or tenth rate. I only wish this contact format allowed for me to forward you a photo depiction of what I was relegated to serving my guests!

Please note I did offer MacKenzie the opportunity to make some reasonable restitution prior to posting my review, however they refused to budge.

VictoriaAllen March 05, 2024

The reviews overall of this company are very poor. I am most grateful because the prices are very high. Lovely photos, but I gather that the food is not so good.

JRnFL May 13, 2024

Victoria Allen you are correct. The food looks great on the website and on the catalog, which is how I ended up finding McKenzie, but it is definitely not worth the high price.

Buyer Beware -- Refused refund
January 5, 2024
On November 27 I placed an order for two sets of two boxes with gingerbread trees. The company is telling me that I received the package BUT FedEx shows that they delivered one package of two--not two. The company is refusing to refund my money! I would not order from them ever!! Integrity in business is key to online businesses -- clearly lacking here & I am out over $64~~ Nice profit for them!

They Make it SOOoooooo Hard
January 3, 2024
You can't stack Gift Cards on the website so you have to order by phone, but on the phone they won't accept the coupons they send you in email. Those can only be used on the website. This means it will cost me more to get my gifts than it should. On top of this, their food is just passable and full of additives. Not worth the trouble of doing business with them.

Fail to provide info, blame the customer for a ruined dinner!
January 3, 2024
After 4 calls to you after Christmas, 3 of which promised a call from a supervisor, I just got off the phone with Chantrice. I ordered TWO chatteaubriand en croutes to serve my family for Christmas dinner. On 12/24, I called the help # at Mackenzie to ask if I needed to adjust the cooking time or temperature to cook the TWO items. I was told that there is no information to cook two and the agent proceeded to read the instructions, which I already had. I followed those instructions exactly with my TWO chateaubriands and they were ruined! The pastry split, the pate oozed out all over sheet and I had a mess. I sent pictures to customer rep, Steve. I expected compensation for at least one of the items. However, Chantrice informed me that this was my fault because I made the decision to cook both of them at the same time! I am appalled at this absurd idea that despite the fact that I reached out to your company for advice and was not told that I should NOT cook two at the same time, that this information is not provided anywhere on your website or even on the box containing TWO chateaubriands, that I am at fault here. Can you please explain the "outstanding customer service" you state on your website?

Failed Delivery for the Holidays
December 24, 2023
I will NEVER order from this company again. Called on 12/14 to ask if my order will definitely be delivered by Christmas. I was told "absolutely yes". Their website said "Order by 12/19 for guaranteed Christmas delivery" so I trusted their word. Today is December 24 and my gift did not arrive. UPS tracking shows estimated delivery for Wed, 12/27. And, they charge $18.95 for shipping! Very sad that this company lies to their customers. Lesson learned. DO NOT order from Mackenzie Limited!

Didn’t arrive on date promised. It will be 5 days late and the family will no longer be together.
December 22, 2023
I ordered dinner to be delivered by the 21st. I screenshot the confirmation with the date. It didn’t show up by noon yesterday(21st) so I called. I was lied to saying it would be there. Today I call again because the order still had not shown up and am told it is arriving on the 26th. It won’t matter then as we will not be all together. I purchased it for a family meal planned for December 23. What a terrible disappointment and now I need to scramble to feed my guests.

Good Service, Many Poor Quality Food Items
December 3, 2023

I do wish I had seen this site before I ordered from McKenzie. I read one review where the author said that they didn’t print bad reviews on their website, and that has got to be very true. Ironically, I had no problem with my overnight delivery. It all arrived nicely packaged in two big boxes with dry ice.

My issue is with the quality of the food. The chicken cordon bleu, the ham was so tough that it was almost inedible. The potatoes au gratin, which the directions said to prepare as frozen, still did not cook completely after being in the oven for an hour and 15 minutes.

The Boursin cheese and bread appetizers were bland and almost tasteless. There was a little bit of cheese in the bottom of this little muffin. Asparagus spears, which they have as an appetizer, become soggy and lifeless once you take them out of the oven. I don’t mind paying for good food, but I do take issue paying for poor quality food. I basically created an entire meal for a big dinner party, and many of those items were simply not edible.

I’m going to post a negative review on the McKinsey website and see if it ever gets printed. Somehow I’m thinking it’s not.

VictoriaAllen March 05, 2024

I am so glad to have gotten on these reviews, as this company has beautiful photos and sky high prices. The food sounds very poor, and I shall toss the next of these extravagant catalogs in the wastebasket. Never have I seen so many poor reviews for such delicious looking food. Wow!

Shipping is terrible
June 21, 2023

They don't publish any bad reviews, shipping is terrible. Paid for overnight on two occasions and both did not arrive until second day. They blame it on shipping company but really twice??? Too bad, the food is good but if you are trying for a special occasion they will fail you and not offer any reimbursement of shipping. I paid $61 and they did nothing when I called...

Horrible company! Do not order from here
June 19, 2023
If I could give negative stars …I would!! Ordered a gift for a birthday. I ordered 2 lobster and Crab cake duos, Lobster Bisque and 2 orders of crab cakes. On the day of the birthday…a Saturday….I received the order. It had been FedExed from Oregon!!! I thought I was ordering east coast lobster. The items were still frozen…however, the 4 bags that dry ice had been in were all empty. It took 4 days to go from oregano to Scottsdale, AZ. I did not receive any lobster!!! In its place I received 2 boxes of baked potatoes!! 16 of them!! I did receive the bisque…and no crab cakes!! I immediately called to rectify the situation. Customer service was terrible. They informed me they would start a file and someone would call me in 2-3 business days!!! This was Saturday…the day of the birthday … they did call on Monday. However, by then I had replaced the gift and refused the charge on my visa. When I told the customer service representative that she essentially hung up on me.

VictoriaAllen March 05, 2024

Outrageous. Thank goodness I decided not to order from this group.

Bad Customer Service
January 2, 2023

My order was delayed by FED EX for no noted reason 5 days, they won't follow up, had to go to my bank to dispute charges. Never order here as you'll regret it. They shouldn't be in business.

If there customer service is this bad it shows there is no care taken with the food!!

Poor quality food. Poor customer service.
December 11, 2022

We ordered soft shell crab. They were inedible. Very fishy tasting. We pitched the second package and contacted customer service. They offered 20% off of a future order. That is insulting as their prices are high plus the shipping.

We also ordered appetizers which are vacuum packed and look fine. We gave them every opportunity to make this right. We talked to customer service 2 times and this is the best they can do. We will never order from them again.

No Follow-Up from Customer Service
November 18, 2022
The products I received were OK taste-wise, but nothing spectacular. Prices are little high, especially shipping. But I have to agree with other reviewers that the customer service is horrendous. My last order as for three items. Two shipped correctly and one was the wrong item. I called "customer service" and should have been more perceptive when I was told they couldn't help me, that the info would be put into a request form and someone would contact me as a follow-up. That was over a month ago, and I've never been contacted. Now I'm stuck with something I didn't order, and don't like. Obviously, this is my LAST order.

EdMatthews February 18, 2023

Follow up: Three months later, and the company never made an effort to fix the situation. In addition, I have tried several times to discontinue getting catalogs, but the Mackenzie refuses to honor my request. Oh, and like many companies they only post positive reviews on their website. Beware.

Horrible customer service
October 27, 2022

I received two boxes of Halloween cookies as a gift. One box was Halloween witch hat cookies which were cute to look at, but were so hard you could not bite into them. I contacted the company immediately to report the problem and was immediately made to feel as though I was somehow at fault for this problem and was told a case was being set up and I would be contacted later. At no time was anything said about "we are sorry this happened and we will take action" I was contacted two more times and questions asked about the inedible cookies but still no apology. Finally the end result was 20% off of that box of cookies., What a poor way to handle their error.

DeborahMcMaster December 12, 2022

My experience was just as poor today!

The Worst Customer Service Ever
May 5, 2022

My order arrived in a damaged box, all items were warm to the touch (should have been frozen), some items were missing, and the Lobster Tail were thawed and dripping from their container. Not only was my holiday meal ruined, but the best their customer service could say is "I'll send this to Corporate and they should get back to you in a few business days. Please take some pictures of the box to prove what happened". This company should not be in the retail consumer products business and thay may not last long with this type of service.

Terrible service
April 13, 2022

Do not use this company, outrageous shipping costs and poor customer service. Difficult website to navigate. This was a gift and my gift has yet to be sent...

Crap!
March 4, 2022
Received a coupon for my birthday and decided to order the breakfast sandwiches. Because their magazine looked so gourmet I thought each sandwich would be individually wrapped and it would ship with an ice pack. All the 15 sandwiches were in pieces because they were all just thrown into one bag. It arrived with no ice pack! They tasted like CRAP! I would never order from this company!

Do not order from these jokers
December 15, 2021

Horrible experience. They lost most of a $271 order placed 12/6, a small portion of which was delivered 12/9. I contacted them immediately and was promised that they would be in touch with the warehouse and have it sent out..

It is now 12/15, I have called them four times and been promised resolution every time. No one has ever gotten back to me, they don't have any information for me when I call them, and the order has not been fulfilled.

They refuse to refund shipping cost, which is the only thing I have requested thus far, but I don't believe that my friends will receive anything we bought for them.

The best part? I have been told that the confusion started because I "ordered online". Wow. Just wow.

Horrible Customer Service
December 11, 2020

Worst customer service - have sent 4 online contact messages (2 to Mackenzie Ltd and 2 to their parent company Chesapeake Bay Crab Cakes). No response at all. Also tried calling 4 times - 30 minute wait on each and immediately disconnected after someone answers (actually heard one of the individuals who answered having a conversation when it rang through - she hung up after she realized I was on the line!).

I was unable to place an order online due to website problems (the reason for my first contact request), so ordered over the phone (they would not honor any of the discounts they had sent me - they were online discounts only!). Received order and one item (Buche de Noel) was smashed on one end. Tried to contact both online and by phone with no luck.

Worst customer service ever - will never do business with them again!