Mackenzie Limited Reviews

Mackenzie Limited
( 28 reviews )

Mackenzie Limited, found online at MackenzieLTD.com, is a company that states they were established in 1984 focusing on the finer foods of Scotland and British Wales and have since expanded in large scale gourmet food.  

How Does It Work?

According to their website, since Mackenzie Limited was established in the early 80s they became famous for their Scottish Smoked Salmon, which is still one of their most popular products. 

Today, their website says that they offer more than 400 unique products over 10 different categories, including Smoked Salmon, Caviar, Hors D'Oeuvres, Sides, Entrees, Brunch, Sweets, Gifts, Sale, and more.

Their website says that they take their pursuit of culinary excellence very seriously, which is why they have traveled the world to find “the best of the best.”

Mackenzie Limited states that their passion and uncompromising stance on quality means that customers who order from their company will know they are getting the best. 

Ingredients and Side Effects

As customers look through the products that they have available, customers will see that each individual product page offers their customers a link to Ingredients where they can see the full ingredient list of that particular product.

Customers also have the ability to check for items to which they may be allergic or have other known negative side effects or reactions.   

Cost/Price Plans

Because this company sells such a wide variety of products at this time, there is no real way to quote a single or static price range for the products that you will find here.

When customers go through the website looking at available products, all prices will be clearly displayed so you know what you will be spending before you submit your purchase.

Refund Policy

Unfortunately this company does not appear to offer any kind of standard or traditional Refund or Return Policy for their customers at this time.

Customers who receive their order and believe that there is an issue or a problem should contact their Customer Service as soon as possible to report the issue, and be prepared to take pictures if necessary. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 877-867-6851 or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link. 

Reputation

Unfortunately this website does not appear to have many customer reviews at this time, making it difficult for new customers to decide whether or not they would like to purchase products from this company, especially because they do not offer a clearly published and detailed Refund Policy on their website.

Concerned customers can contact their Customer Service team before making a purchase to see what kinds of consumer protection policies their company does have in place.

Or they can first use this company for a small purchase for themselves before relying on them to deliver a gift for a special occasion.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many different companies and websites that specialize in gourmet food from around the world being shipped to your home, so customers who are not able to find the types of foods they are hoping for at this website should have a variety of other options that may better meet their needs. 

If you have any experience with Mackenzie Limited or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Mackenzie Limited Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Bad Customer Service
January 2, 2023

My order was delayed by FED EX for no noted reason 5 days, they won't follow up, had to go to my bank to dispute charges. Never order here as you'll regret it. They shouldn't be in business.

If there customer service is this bad it shows there is no care taken with the food!!

Poor quality food. Poor customer service.
December 11, 2022

We ordered soft shell crab. They were inedible. Very fishy tasting. We pitched the second package and contacted customer service. They offered 20% off of a future order. That is insulting as their prices are high plus the shipping.

We also ordered appetizers which are vacuum packed and look fine. We gave them every opportunity to make this right. We talked to customer service 2 times and this is the best they can do. We will never order from them again.

No Follow-Up from Customer Service
November 18, 2022
The products I received were OK taste-wise, but nothing spectacular. Prices are little high, especially shipping. But I have to agree with other reviewers that the customer service is horrendous. My last order as for three items. Two shipped correctly and one was the wrong item. I called "customer service" and should have been more perceptive when I was told they couldn't help me, that the info would be put into a request form and someone would contact me as a follow-up. That was over a month ago, and I've never been contacted. Now I'm stuck with something I didn't order, and don't like. Obviously, this is my LAST order.

Horrible customer service
October 27, 2022

I received two boxes of Halloween cookies as a gift. One box was Halloween witch hat cookies which were cute to look at, but were so hard you could not bite into them. I contacted the company immediately to report the problem and was immediately made to feel as though I was somehow at fault for this problem and was told a case was being set up and I would be contacted later. At no time was anything said about "we are sorry this happened and we will take action" I was contacted two more times and questions asked about the inedible cookies but still no apology. Finally the end result was 20% off of that box of cookies., What a poor way to handle their error.

DeborahMcMaster December 12, 2022

My experience was just as poor today!

The Worst Customer Service Ever
May 5, 2022

My order arrived in a damaged box, all items were warm to the touch (should have been frozen), some items were missing, and the Lobster Tail were thawed and dripping from their container. Not only was my holiday meal ruined, but the best their customer service could say is "I'll send this to Corporate and they should get back to you in a few business days. Please take some pictures of the box to prove what happened". This company should not be in the retail consumer products business and thay may not last long with this type of service.

Terrible service
April 13, 2022

Do not use this company, outrageous shipping costs and poor customer service. Difficult website to navigate. This was a gift and my gift has yet to be sent...

Crap!
March 4, 2022
Received a coupon for my birthday and decided to order the breakfast sandwiches. Because their magazine looked so gourmet I thought each sandwich would be individually wrapped and it would ship with an ice pack. All the 15 sandwiches were in pieces because they were all just thrown into one bag. It arrived with no ice pack! They tasted like CRAP! I would never order from this company!

Do not order from these jokers
December 15, 2021

Horrible experience. They lost most of a $271 order placed 12/6, a small portion of which was delivered 12/9. I contacted them immediately and was promised that they would be in touch with the warehouse and have it sent out..

It is now 12/15, I have called them four times and been promised resolution every time. No one has ever gotten back to me, they don't have any information for me when I call them, and the order has not been fulfilled.

They refuse to refund shipping cost, which is the only thing I have requested thus far, but I don't believe that my friends will receive anything we bought for them.

The best part? I have been told that the confusion started because I "ordered online". Wow. Just wow.

Horrible Customer Service
December 11, 2020

Worst customer service - have sent 4 online contact messages (2 to Mackenzie Ltd and 2 to their parent company Chesapeake Bay Crab Cakes). No response at all. Also tried calling 4 times - 30 minute wait on each and immediately disconnected after someone answers (actually heard one of the individuals who answered having a conversation when it rang through - she hung up after she realized I was on the line!).

I was unable to place an order online due to website problems (the reason for my first contact request), so ordered over the phone (they would not honor any of the discounts they had sent me - they were online discounts only!). Received order and one item (Buche de Noel) was smashed on one end. Tried to contact both online and by phone with no luck.

Worst customer service ever - will never do business with them again!

Worst customer service, ever!
December 11, 2020

Order arrived on time but was missing items. Called "customer support", such as it was. Was told there were 30 calls in front of me. That tells you a lot right there, LOTS OF COMPLAINTS.

Having nothing better to do, I waited. The representative, while polite and very sorry did nothing. She told me she would send an email off to corporate and I would get a response in two days. It has been 48 hours, which is two days, and nothing.

So I sent the email. After reading reviews here, clearly I will never hear from these charlatans again. I contacted my bank to dispute the charge, maybe that will get me somewhere. Their website looks very nice, legit, but this will be my first and last order with them.

Tasteless and overpriced
December 11, 2020
This was the worst gift I have sent for the most amount of money. Fortunately it was to family and so they were honest. The food was tasteless, if not inedible.

Credit card is charged, but no shipping email and no delivery of product
September 15, 2020
I placed an order on Sept 3, 2020 and received an email order confirmation that the product would ship on Sept 8. My credit card was charged on Sept 4, but I have not yet received either a shipping confirmation email nor the product I ordered. Today is Sept 15. I have emailed twice inquiring about the status of the order, but no response. I ordered from MacKenzie and Chesapeake Bay (same company) previously without issue, so it seems probable that covid-related labor (working from home?) may not be working very well at this company. There is no recourse to cancel since my credit card is already charged. I am very disappointed in the customer service and will not be ordering again. Too many other, better, companies offer fine edibles.

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE
July 9, 2020

Average food at best. Exorbitantly priced. Customer service is non-existent. The pictures look good. Their website looks good.

TOO BAD THAT YOU CAN'T EAT PICTURES OR WEBSITES.

It would appear that if they can just get a few people's money, every week, even though people do not return, then that is enough to keep them alive.

A TRUE DISAPPOINTMENT!! NEVER AGAIN.

Go out to your favorite restaurant. Get 3 orders, and freeze 2 of them. You will get better food that you like for half the cost.

And please do more research online to see reviews of the company. My experience was a nightmare.

DebbieLove September 04, 2020

Thanks I was going to order a few items but something in my mind said check their reviews. Needless catalog has been tossed in the trash.

Time is the 4th dimension and they're 3rd rate at it
December 21, 2019

I ordered some cakes to take with me to a party. I was calling on Tuesday morning wanting to get them some time on Friday to drive to a party late Saturday morning. You can guess where this is going. Friday comes and goes with no delivery. Fool me once.

I won't make the mistake of ordering from these people again.

Great company and products
August 19, 2019
We've ordered from Mackenzie for many years, and I've never had any issues with company or the foods we've tried, they are all excellent. We usually rely on them for appetizers and desserts mainly, but on occasion add a side dish or two. Some are quite unique and I've never seen them anywhere else. We usually order around the holidays the most, but have also tried many of the things they have in their summer catalogs too and have never been disappointed.

MACKENZIE LIMITED IS LIMITED
June 14, 2019

If you are planning any event, do not rely on Mackenzie Limited. They will take your order and your money, and if the order does not arrive, they will leave you high and dry. We ordered a dinner for Father's Day. It was supposed to arrive the Thursday before. Telephoned on Thursday, as I was told by the agent from which I ordered that the package would arrive on Thursday and, by the latest on Saturday. Well, I was told that FedEx delivered the package on Wednesday. We were home all day; I am on vacation. No FedEx. You might ask, the reason I am blaming Mackenzie for FedEx not delivering the package. Well, first the agents at Mackenzie were extremely rude. The first told me that the package had been delivered and that the agent who took my order did not tell me when the package would arrive. After she tried to over talk me, I got the tracking number and telephoned FedEx. They, at least, although incompetent, were polite. I telephoned Mackenzie again. The second agent told me to wait until Saturday; she could not tell me what their procedure was for missing orders.

I called back and forth between Mackenzie and FedEx all day. Finally the last Mackenzie agent told me that they

would not send out another package.Mackenzie obfuscated all day. It was too late for them to do anything to make us whole. Mackenzie has lousy customer relations. On top of that, one does not find out that they do not refund the shipping costs until one looks at their website. When you order by telephone one is not informed of that policy. Get another provider. We should have

called Oink Express-they are always reliable. Home cooking always wins!

JoyceHumber Faison June 15, 2019

Just a follow up. The next day, I disputed the charge with my bank. The money was back in my account the same day. Do not get frustrated. If there is any dispute, speak with the company. If the company does not respond satisfactorily, dispute the charge. No more headaches. We will never order from Limited Mackenzie again.

FendellDustin Pillsbury December 22, 2019

I am having a similar experience. My order , a cake to my father for Christmas ,was sent to the wrong address. I never received a confirmation of the order just a notice it was being shipped. They claimed I put wrong address in.They offered to ship for 50percent of the order. But they were so rude I decided to have Amex deal with them.

phony reviews - they did not post my negative ones
May 31, 2019
I wrote five reviews of recent food purchases. They posted the three positive reviews but did not post the two negative ones. I might add that the negatives were very specific and respectful. After two weeks I contacted customer service to ask about this and never received a reply.

Shandy Hnetinka April 21, 2020

Kit - I had the EXACT same experience as you. Five items, 3 positive, 2 negative. They ignored my first e-mail and were snarky when responding to my second. I will never do business with them again

Do they really take online orders?
February 28, 2019
There are some discount codes and some CB websites for Mackenzie products. However, I tried on 5 of my devices, I could finish every pieces of information, but only the shipping date. I can never choose a shipping date and finish the ordering process. Once you call them to place an order, codes are not accepted. GEE! Why don't you just quit everything and only leave a number to order on the website! Terrible

MAKE THAT THIRD-RATE FOOD
January 17, 2019
Sadly, we ordered 10 of the Stuffed Maine Lobster tails and they were so bad one was even left over. At a cost of $45 apiece!! plus shipping. And no way were they 8-1/2 ounces apiece. What an awful experience and awful waste of money. Plus disappointment at Christmas Eve dinner! interesting they have no online reviews -- only their cherry-picked testimonials.

Poor Service
January 7, 2019

Received crab cakes as a gift. They arrived with no dry ice, room temperature.

They arranged a reshipment but that too was delivered with no dry ice and warm to the touch. Customer service told me the crab cakes would be shipped from Wisconsin to my home in Florida. Curious because there isn’t a crab within 800 miles of Wisconsin. My guess is they come from Indonesia or China via cargo ships on Great Lakes.

I called customer service to ask them to refund the sender’s payment and I could overhear another customer service rep talking on the phone about high blood pressure vitamins.

The customer service is obviously not a part of MacKenzie.