Mackenzie Limited Reviews

Mackenzie Limited
( 20  Reviews )



Write a Review

About Mackenzie Limited

Mackenzie Limited, found online at MackenzieLTD.com, is a company that says they were established in 1984 focusing on the finer foods of Scotland and British Wales and have since expanded in large scale gourmet food.  

How Does It Work?

According to their website, since Mackenzie Limited was established in the early 80s they became famous for their Scottish Smoked Salmon, which is still one of their most popular products. 

Today, their website says that they offer more than 400 unique products over 10 different categories, including Smoked Salmon, Caviar, Hors D'Oeuvres, Sides, Entrees, Brunch, Sweets, Gifts, Sale, and more.

Their website says that they take their pursuit of culinary excellence very seriously, which is why they have traveled the world to find “the best of the best.” Mackenzie Limited says that their passion and uncompromising stance on quality means that customers who order from their company will know they are getting the best. 

Ingredients and Side Effects

As customers look through the products that they have available, customers will see that each individual product page offers their customers a link to Ingredients where they can see the full ingredient list of that particular product and have the ability to check for items to which they may be allergic or have other known negative side effects or reactions.   

Cost/Price Plans

Because this company sells such a wide variety of products at this time, there is no real way to quote a single or static price range for the products that you will find here. When customers go through the website looking at available products, all prices will be clearly displayed so you know what you will be spending before you submit your purchase.

Refund Policy

Unfortunately this company does not appear to offer any kind of standard or traditional Refund or Return Policy for their customers at this time. Customers who receive their order and believe that there is an issue or a problem should contact their Customer Service as soon as possible to report the issue, and be prepared to take pictures if necessary. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 877-867-6851 or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link. 

Reputation

Unfortunately this website does not appear to have many customer reviews at this time, making it difficult for new customers to decide whether or not they would like to purchase products from this company, especially because they do not offer a clearly published and detailed Refund Policy on their website.

Concerned customers can contact their Customer Service team before making a purchase to see what kinds of consumer protection policies their company does have in place, or you can first use this company for a small purchase for yourself before relying on them to deliver a gift for a special occasion.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many different companies and websites that specialize in gourmet food from around the world being shipped to your home, so customers who are not able to find the types of foods they are hoping for at this website should have a variety of other options that may better meet their needs. 

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your Mackenzie Limited reviews below.

You May Also Be Interested In

20 ‘Mackenzie Limited’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Horrible Customer Service

December 11, 2020

Worst customer service - have sent 4 online contact messages (2 to Mackenzie Ltd and 2 to their parent company Chesapeake Bay Crab Cakes). No response at all. Also tried calling 4 times - 30 minute wait on each and immediately disconnected after someone answers (actually heard one of the individuals who answered having a conversation when it rang through - she hung up after she realized I was on the line!).

I was unable to place an order online due to website problems (the reason for my first contact request), so ordered over the phone (they would not honor any of the discounts they had sent me - they were online discounts only!). Received order and one item (Buche de Noel) was smashed on one end. Tried to contact both online and by phone with no luck.

Worst customer service ever - will never do business with them again!

Comment on this review...

Worst customer service, ever!

December 11, 2020

Order arrived on time but was missing items. Called "customer support", such as it was. Was told there were 30 calls in front of me. That tells you a lot right there, LOTS OF COMPLAINTS.

Having nothing better to do, I waited. The representative, while polite and very sorry did nothing. She told me she would send an email off to corporate and I would get a response in two days. It has been 48 hours, which is two days, and nothing.

So I sent the email. After reading reviews here, clearly I will never hear from these charlatans again. I contacted my bank to dispute the charge, maybe that will get me somewhere. Their website looks very nice, legit, but this will be my first and last order with them.

Comment on this review...

Tasteless and overpriced

December 11, 2020

This was the worst gift I have sent for the most amount of money. Fortunately it was to family and so they were honest. The food was tasteless, if not inedible.

Comment on this review...

Credit card is charged, but no shipping email and no delivery of product

September 15, 2020

I placed an order on Sept 3, 2020 and received an email order confirmation that the product would ship on Sept 8. My credit card was charged on Sept 4, but I have not yet received either a shipping confirmation email nor the product I ordered. Today is Sept 15. I have emailed twice inquiring about the status of the order, but no response. I ordered from MacKenzie and Chesapeake Bay (same company) previously without issue, so it seems probable that covid-related labor (working from home?) may not be working very well at this company. There is no recourse to cancel since my credit card is already charged. I am very disappointed in the customer service and will not be ordering again. Too many other, better, companies offer fine edibles.

Comment on this review...

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

July 9, 2020

Average food at best. Exorbitantly priced. Customer service is non-existent. The pictures look good. Their website looks good.

TOO BAD THAT YOU CAN'T EAT PICTURES OR WEBSITES.

It would appear that if they can just get a few people's money, every week, even though people do not return, then that is enough to keep them alive.

A TRUE DISAPPOINTMENT!! NEVER AGAIN.

Go out to your favorite restaurant. Get 3 orders, and freeze 2 of them. You will get better food that you like for half the cost.

And please do more research online to see reviews of the company. My experience was a nightmare.

September 04, 2020

Thanks I was going to order a few items but something in my mind said check their reviews. Needless catalog has been tossed in the trash.

Comment on this review...

Time is the 4th dimension and they're 3rd rate at it

December 21, 2019

I ordered some cakes to take with me to a party. I was calling on Tuesday morning wanting to get them some time on Friday to drive to a party late Saturday morning. You can guess where this is going. Friday comes and goes with no delivery. Fool me once.

I won't make the mistake of ordering from these people again.

Comment on this review...

Great company and products

August 19, 2019

We've ordered from Mackenzie for many years, and I've never had any issues with company or the foods we've tried, they are all excellent. We usually rely on them for appetizers and desserts mainly, but on occasion add a side dish or two. Some are quite unique and I've never seen them anywhere else. We usually order around the holidays the most, but have also tried many of the things they have in their summer catalogs too and have never been disappointed.

Comment on this review...

MACKENZIE LIMITED IS LIMITED

June 14, 2019

If you are planning any event, do not rely on Mackenzie Limited. They will take your order and your money, and if the order does not arrive, they will leave you high and dry. We ordered a dinner for Father's Day. It was supposed to arrive the Thursday before. Telephoned on Thursday, as I was told by the agent from which I ordered that the package would arrive on Thursday and, by the latest on Saturday. Well, I was told that FedEx delivered the package on Wednesday. We were home all day; I am on vacation. No FedEx. You might ask, the reason I am blaming Mackenzie for FedEx not delivering the package. Well, first the agents at Mackenzie were extremely rude. The first told me that the package had been delivered and that the agent who took my order did not tell me when the package would arrive. After she tried to over talk me, I got the tracking number and telephoned FedEx. They, at least, although incompetent, were polite. I telephoned Mackenzie again. The second agent told me to wait until Saturday; she could not tell me what their procedure was for missing orders.
I called back and forth between Mackenzie and FedEx all day. Finally the last Mackenzie agent told me that they
would not send out another package.Mackenzie obfuscated all day. It was too late for them to do anything to make us whole. Mackenzie has lousy customer relations. On top of that, one does not find out that they do not refund the shipping costs until one looks at their website. When you order by telephone one is not informed of that policy. Get another provider. We should have
called Oink Express-they are always reliable. Home cooking always wins!

View all 2 Comments
June 15, 2019

Just a follow up. The next day, I disputed the charge with my bank. The money was back in my account the same day. Do not get frustrated. If there is any dispute, speak with the company. If the company does not respond satisfactorily, dispute the charge. No more headaches. We will never order from Limited Mackenzie again.

December 22, 2019

I am having a similar experience. My order , a cake to my father for Christmas ,was sent to the wrong address. I never received a confirmation of the order just a notice it was being shipped. They claimed I put wrong address in.They offered to ship for 50percent of the order. But they were so rude I decided to have Amex deal with them.

Comment on this review...

phony reviews - they did not post my negative ones

May 31, 2019

I wrote five reviews of recent food purchases. They posted the three positive reviews but did not post the two negative ones. I might add that the negatives were very specific and respectful. After two weeks I contacted customer service to ask about this and never received a reply.

April 21, 2020

Kit - I had the EXACT same experience as you. Five items, 3 positive, 2 negative. They ignored my first e-mail and were snarky when responding to my second. I will never do business with them again

Comment on this review...

Do they really take online orders?

February 28, 2019

There are some discount codes and some CB websites for Mackenzie products. However, I tried on 5 of my devices, I could finish every pieces of information, but only the shipping date. I can never choose a shipping date and finish the ordering process. Once you call them to place an order, codes are not accepted. GEE! Why don't you just quit everything and only leave a number to order on the website! Terrible

Comment on this review...

MAKE THAT THIRD-RATE FOOD

January 17, 2019

Sadly, we ordered 10 of the Stuffed Maine Lobster tails and they were so bad one was even left over. At a cost of $45 apiece!! plus shipping. And no way were they 8-1/2 ounces apiece. What an awful experience and awful waste of money. Plus disappointment at Christmas Eve dinner! interesting they have no online reviews -- only their cherry-picked testimonials.

Comment on this review...

Poor Service

January 7, 2019

Received crab cakes as a gift. They arrived with no dry ice, room temperature.

They arranged a reshipment but that too was delivered with no dry ice and warm to the touch. Customer service told me the crab cakes would be shipped from Wisconsin to my home in Florida. Curious because there isn’t a crab within 800 miles of Wisconsin. My guess is they come from Indonesia or China via cargo ships on Great Lakes.

I called customer service to ask them to refund the sender’s payment and I could overhear another customer service rep talking on the phone about high blood pressure vitamins.

The customer service is obviously not a part of MacKenzie.

Comment on this review...

A Sucker Is Born...

December 23, 2018

Fantastic catalog. Sleek pictures. Promises of great customer service. Don't even think about it.

I write this 2 weeks after placing my Christmas Eve dinner order (well over $500) and being told there is no order, no delivery, no contact, no apologies, BUT they did say they would return the payment I had made.
Gee, THANK YOU!

This is the most incredible joke for business I have ever experienced.

Stay AWAY!

Comment on this review...

Totally second rate food

December 22, 2018

I ordered Quiches, wild mushroom canapees and cherry tartlets. None of them come even close to what I know they should taste like. The cherry tartlets I tried made me sick to my stomach. Since I had unwrapped everything, and got rid of the box, I could certainly not return the sorry merchandise back. I wasted a good bit of money, and ended up throwing the lot in the trash.
Do not be deceived by the rosy descriptions they give to their "foods". Don't waste your money the way I did.

Comment on this review...

FOUL FOOD FOUL SERVICE

December 21, 2018

BUYER BEWARE! They don't do what they say will do. They shipped earlier than requested. You can't do that with frozen food. I requested a specific delivery date so my recipients would be there to receive it. As it sat on their porch for a week it was FOUL when they opened it.

I called their customer service center and was told that because it got there before the date they had done their job. The customer service center manager was extremely unhelpful and kept repeating the same thing. Broken record.

Don't do business with this company. I wish I had checked the reviews before I did. What a shame! Their catalog had such beautiful photos of the food but we'll never know how it tasted. They absolutely DO NOT CARE ABOUT CUSTOMER SATISFACTION!

Comment on this review...

Unbelivably Bad Customer Service

December 12, 2018

I don't know how the food I ordered tastes, but they have the worst customer service I have ever encountered in my long and extensive online shopping career. I picked a shipping date and they never acknowledged through email or on their website that the order had shipped. Fortunately, I was home when it arrived. There were 3 cardboard boxes inside the order and 2 of the 3 were torn open. I reported it immediately with photos through email to their customer service group. They called back to "talk about it". I missed the call. I returned the call. They were rude and told me I had the wrong order number but they would have someone else call me back. When a day went by and no one called, I called again. I sent pictures of the torn boxes, but they told me the food would be ok and just to use it anyway. This was to be a gift and it is not presentable. With shipping, I spent over $50 on 3 boxes of frozen soup. What a waste!

Comment on this review...

Don’t be waste your money and time.

October 24, 2018

We had received a gift basket and it was huge disappointment even if it was $10. It was $89 and it’s embarrassing to let the person that sent the gift know that this company hugely misrepresent the quality on every level. First it came with a huge cooler- environmental waste as the basket was a fraction of the size. The products were everything you can get in a Safeway and local Whole Foods . Care crackers, chocolate, some Scottish cookies- seriously no more than $20 at most and nothing spectacular. Even the basket was like from a cheap craft store!
Don’t waste your money and they don’t have independent reviews on their site- a warning sign as well.

Comment on this review...

Terrible Food

October 14, 2018

You can find better frozen food in the supermarket. I ordered several foods from this company, and they were all terrible. When I tried to post my reviews of their food on their website, none of them showed up. So, I have to believe their reviews are bogus. Save your money and shop somewhere else.

October 24, 2018

Thank you for posting . I had the same experience- very disappointing.

Comment on this review...
review author image

Products No Good

September 23, 2018

This was actually the second time I purchased from MacKenzie Ltd. And unfortunately the items I purchased were about as palatable as my first order. However, this is the first time I'm leaving a review. I purchased 3 items for approximately $200. Not one of them I would serve again. This place is a rip off. Their photographs in their catalogues are beautiful and look appetizing, but what you receive is far from what it looks like in the photos. Stay away from this place.

October 24, 2018

Thank you - I had the same experience..

Comment on this review...

Mackenzie Limited has no idea what Customer Service means

February 14, 2018

So it was about 3 weeks before Thanksgiving and I decided to celebrate w a few friends. I had always been curious about Turducken and chose to make this the year I took the leap and tried it.
I came across Mackenzie because they would send catalogs on occasion so I made a selection of many items including the Turducken to make a special complement to my Italian pasta.
I received the items in time and again had high expectations of what it would be like.
After cooking majority of items it became apparent the meal was very bland or disappointing
When I contacted them I got a response on Saturday. The rep said she would follow up the next day but as expected she called on Monday.
The level of attitude she gave me and with question after question it became apparent she wasn't acknowledging my disappointment w the food but actually questioning why I had placed such a large order. She then said they had never had any such complaints on their deliveries before to which I said that seemed difficult to believe that no One had ever been disappointed before.
At the end she claimed she couldn't hear me and the phone call was disconnected. Here's where the breakdown in communication was obvious. I proceeded to call back to continue the dialogue but was unable to be reconnected to her. She however made no such effort to call me back.
I sent an email to the company late that night and got a response from another rep.
The next rep seemed more sympathetic and said she would speak to someone in executive office to discuss some type of credit and claimed she would call back next day same time.
No call
and after a week plus I gave up completely and filed a complaint w my credit card. I figured you might ignore me but you wont avoid them. After not responding for nearly 6 weeks I finally saw the benefits because I got an email from the CEO WHO felt it was appropriate to accuse me of trying to rip off their company and besmirch their reputation.

I attached it below:

Dear Mr _________

As the owner of the company for the past 25 years, I am writing to express my disappointment with your treatment of this company.  We work tirelessly to offer exceptional products, and are always here for customers.  Your call was not only cut short by you hanging up, but you then proceeded to charge back your entire order with the credit card company under the proviso that every item was “not as described”.  Unfortunately, as you probably know, the hard working merchant like ourselves rarely wins these disputes.

 

Your actions are truly shameful that you would not allow us to resolve this issue, if that truly was your intention.  We are a small company of hard working individuals, and we would certainly have record if you’d called “multiple times”.  You did not. There certainly are a share of “customers” that simply want a free meal, and since you would not speak with us directly, it’s likely that we’ll never know the answer to that question. 

 

If you’d like to call us to resolve this and pay us for what we earned by sending you a VERY large order of SIXTEEN gourmet food items in November, please let me know.  If not, please make sure to delete all reference to all 3 of our catalogs below, as we will not accept any orders from you in the future.  Quite simply, we don’t want customers like you.  You have been removed from our system and blocked from placing orders at this point.  After so many years it’s too bad that I have to send an email like this, but your actions are unconscionable and the equivalent of theft sanctioned by the credit card companies.

 

I’d be surprised to hear back from you, but the part of me that thinks people are actually good and fair hopes that I do.  I sincerely don’t like being in this position of that I assure you.

 

Thank you,

Laura McManus .

I think her words speak for their overall approach to how the customer is always wrong.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review