Houzz.com Reviews

Houzz.com
( 43 reviews )
Website: www.Houzz.com

Houzz.com is a website that describes itself as the new way to design a home, beginning as a hobby website and now home to 30 million members and home décor and design lovers around the world.

How Does Houzz Work?

According to their website, Houzz.com began quietly as a side project intended for people to share their home design and décor photos, get inspiration from other people’s photos, and to share and offer advice on home projects.

But since its original inception, it has grown rapidly, becoming home to more than 30 million people who are a range of homeowners, home design enthusiasts, and home improvement professionals. 

Visitors can go to their website and look at their pictures, information, and inspirational photos by category, including Kitchen, Bath, Bedroom, Living, Outdoor, Lighting, and Décor. They can also search through the Stories and Advice offered by other members. 

But perhaps most importantly, their website also says they can help you find home professionals for any project you may have, or to shop for items for your home from a catalog of more than three millions products.  

Mobile Options

Currently this website does provide a downloadable mobile application for both iOS and Android devices. At this time, there is no information available on whether or not they will expand their mobile offerings in the future.

Cost & Price Plans

Using this website in any capacity is free for all users, whether or not they choose to enroll in their website as a member.

If you do wish to become a contributing member of their website, submitting your advice, stories, or photos, you will need to create a website account, though doing this is free as well. 

Finally, using their website to find a professional or to shop for a product is also free, but of course whatever fees are required to pay for your professional or product will vary depending on your needs and choices.  

Refund Policy

As a website that is free to use in almost every capacity that it offers to members, there is no Refund Policy offered by Houzz.com.

If you do use this website to find a home service professional, you will be taken to a third party website in order to finalize your purchase. This website is the one you will need to contact if you have any issues and are considering requesting a refund. 

If you do purchase an item for your home that is being sold through the Houzz.com marketplace, you will need to review the individual Return and Refund Policy for the specific item you are purchasing – each item will have a link on its page that will take you to the Refund Policy which applies to that product. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to contact Customer Service with any questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by submitting them directly to their website using the Contact Us link.   

Is Houzz Legit?

In general, this website appears well liked by users and by other websites, publications, and companies that specialize in home décor, design, and inspiration. 

There are some negative reviews of this company that generally have to do with ordering products from their websites. Complaints ranged from issues with long shipping times or delayed product shipping, to believing that the product they ordered was poor or unsatisfactory in quality. 

That being said, the vast majority of reviews for this website were very positive, and people found the information on this website helpful or beneficial to their home design needs. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many other websites and mobile applications designed to help people find high quality professional workers for their home projects, including HomeAdvisor.com, as well as websites for home décor items, such as Wayfair.com, CasaGear.com, Joss & Main, and many others.  

If you have any experience with Houzz.com or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Houzz.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Contractor ripped off
November 19, 2022
I am a roofing contractor here in florida. I signed up with this website, regarding business, in regards to actually making money. Instead I paid this company $2,000, with no qualified leads, just a complete fraudulent experience. I just want to put this out for every contractor that's out there. Especially roofing contractors that work very hard for their money. This company is not worth your money. They will actually take it, with no leads! This is why I signed up with them. Leads so that we were able to make more money off of. Just a complete fraudulent company run away from them.

Solomon Green Onyx
October 23, 2022
Solomon with Green Onyx was very professional. Quality workmanship on prepping hinge notches and doorknob opening and then installed backwards as all prep was completed on the wrong edge. Green Onyx is not replacing the door UUGGHH!

Poor communications
October 23, 2022
Impossible to contact ! Orders take forever to arrive

Contractor Fraud
October 6, 2022
I hired a contractor from houzz for a Deck Project. The contractor from “Exterior Productions” (Brian Gavin) is a fraud has abandoned the project. He’s so unprofessional not reliable @ all and did not follow contract! I am left with an unfinished deck and no Railings. Contractor famous line “ It is what it is”. He lied that he has a crew to work with and shows up with a 2 teenagers one of them was his own son. He was hired on September of 2021. Abandoned project on August 2022. What a disgrace on his end!

Houzz is not a legit review site
September 16, 2022

Houzz is not a legit review site. I have posted several honest reviews on a builder I personally used and Houzz removed them without notifying me or telling me why. They give me generic jargon that does not relate to what I posted. Houzz is bought and paid for by the builders that use it. They will not allow a negative review. They are fake...

They Are A Scam!
August 29, 2022

I am a remodeling professional. I have been awarded the Angi Super Service award 5 years in a row. I had agreed to advertise with Houzz based on the backend services they offered. The 1st year was terrible! I was going to just let the contract drop after the year... just wasted the advertising money!

I was at a trade show where a representative made all kinds of promises to me that she wasn't able to fulfill! They wouldn't let me out of the contract & I have wasted the money for a second time!

They send me & call me with leads that are not in my geographic trade area or services I provide! The people at Houzz say they will/ have made the changes, but I still have my time wasted, too!

I will never do business with them again & recommend for anyone else not to start to do business with them!! As many others have said, THEY ARE A SCAM!

No Customer Service
July 20, 2022

I came to this business to order a countertop for a bathroom vanity, I picked out my stone, paid my 50% down and was told to come back in two weeks. Fine.

On the day that it was supposed to be ready, I called first thing in the morning so that we wouldn't travel an hour up to Aiken and an hour back unnecessarily. I was told that it had just gone thru final inspection and was ready to pick up, I told them we would be there after 1:30.

When we got there, I went in the office, paid my balance, never got a receipt but was told to go to the left bay to pick it up. As the workers were putting the piece in the car, my husband noticed that the hole for the faucet was not cut all the way thru. And I noticed that there was no drain hole. The men said no problem, we'll just cut it now. We waited in our car. One of the men came up to the car and said he noticed on the order form that we had asked for a

1 3/4 inch drain hole and he didn't have a bit that size. It was out on a job and we would have to come back the next day. He then said he had a 1 3/8 inch bit, but I said it had to be at least 1 1/2 and he said he could do that.

My husband went back into the office to notify them of the problem. He was told "What do you want me to do about it?" Thats when he got a little excited. They cut it and the counter stayed in the car until our contractor was ready to install it. They brought it in the house and glued it to the vanity. He worked getting the plumbing ready to install the sink. That's when they discovered that the hole was slanted and the drain would not go in. I called Affordable Quality Marble & Granite, explained the problem and asked what they could do for me.

I was told someone would call me back. They did not. I called the next morning and was told by the person answering the phone that they would have to talk to the manager about it. I called back at 11:40 AM and was told the manager was out of the office. I called back at 3:17 and at that time was told that because my husband had complained at the pickup, was irate(in their estimation) they were not going to work with us on the problem.

So now I have a countertop I can't use and they don't care. They have no customer service abilities whatsoever. If your order goes smoothly, you're lucky. If not, you're wrong and they have no responsibility. You're on your own. I would NOT recommend this company to anybody.

Bait And Switch Company - Watch Out!
July 17, 2022

This is a bad company. I never used the app during the trial and they charged me for a month subscription. They told me I could evaluate the project the next month if I paid the subscription. I asked to cancel the subscription on July 5th. They went ahead and charged me the next week. I was then informed that I had signed up for a yearly package paid monthly. THESE GUYS ARE HORRIBLE. I do not want to use their program and if I had known that it was a yearly commitment I would not have signed up for their product.

Don't Buy From This E-commerce Site Ever!
July 11, 2022

The worst company to deal with. Can't get a real person on the phone to talk to. Hard to contact anyone for returns. If you buy anything big they won't help to return back to to the company they represent.

Houzz and Their "BUILDER OF THE YEAR", JOSH DOYLE Scam
June 23, 2022

I'm sure this has been said before, but if I could give Houzz a zero I would. Their recommendations for "professionals" in the industry must be funded with kickbacks from same professionals because If you knew what my clients are going through with your "Builder of the Year", Josh Doyle, you would be ashamed.

Their turnover of employees (project managers, to be specific) are disturbing at best. I have spoken with two of them. Their vendors, who I have also spoken with, are also fed up with their practices. And their policies, some of which are spelled out in their advertising are elusive.

Does their site say free 3-D's? There is zero accountability for all the mistakes they have made, to date, on my clients home. It's about lack of establishing a relationship of honesty and follow through. Today, my client found out that the two zone HVAC system that was suppose to be incorporated into the "custom home" was missed, forgotten???

And the response the homeowners got was, again, "too late, parts are already ordered". This has been their excuse every step of the way. And because there have been so many project managers on this house, no on can keep track of who said what and when.

And so it always comes back to my clients as if it was their fault. Hope you get the picture. Stay away from Josh Doyle Builders and Houzz, their accomplice in greed.

Do not believe the reviews on HOUZZ
May 11, 2022

Do not buy anything from Houzz retails based on the reviews.

My negative review of Resistance Swim Spa who manufacturer steel pools and are based in Wales keeps being taken down. I purchased a swim spa based on the positive reviews on HOUZZ and my experience has been nothing short of horrendous.

I believe the Houzz reviews for Resistance Swim Spa are not a true reflection of this company.

Over 3 years on and endless calls/emails we have been left in a terrible state with a pool that leaks, equipment that doesn't work, not enough circulation in the pool resulting in green algae and no way to filter the water and after spending almost £50k we still cannot use this pool as it is not fit for purpose.

I'm trying to post pictures to show you the shocking state of it but my posts keeps being taken down and our only recourse is legal action.

Please think very carefully before you purchase anything from this business.

Criscuolo Design & Restoration - Easton, Connecticut
May 2, 2022
Anthony and his team completed a total remodel of my kitchen taking down walls and expanding the space to connect the living, dining and kitchen areas. Removed weight supporting beams and reconstructed supports out of view. Did an outstanding job, within budget and completed just before the pandemic so with our confinement to our house, we couldn't be happier with the success of this project and have enjoyed the new space more than we ever imagined. Highly recommend Anthony Criscuolo and his team for any renovations.

Did Not Receive Product - No Communication
March 18, 2022

Ordered a rug on February 18, 2022 with a delivery date of February 28-March 3. Due date came and went without even a notification that delivery was going to be late.

Contacted on March 11 and was told product was "on the dock" ready to be delivered within 5-7 days. Well 7 days has come and gone without a peep from Houzz.

I cancelled my order TODAY!!! I will NEVER EVER do business with Houzz again!! Communication to me is everything, and they did not communicate at all with me. BUYER BEWARE!!!

It's a scam
March 15, 2022

Place is an absolute scam. Somehow I have an account made here, after learning of this I have tried to have it removed. Without success.

I know I didn't set up account as I would have never used the account name that was given to me. I have unsubscribed to emails 7 times now yet still receive mail every day. I have called to have my account deleted to no success.

Stay clear of this company people. I can't be more genuine.

Almost impossible to get refunds
March 14, 2022

Horrible experience!!! My medicine cabinet arrived completely broken and also didn't fit.

So when I asked for a refund they said they couldn't provide me with one because the I had stated that the item had arrived broken so that they had issued an AUTOMATIC replacement and that I had to wait until the new replacement arrived and returned it so that I could get a refund.

Ridiculous! How is this legal??

Buyer Beware
December 21, 2021
I did most of my shopping online and given this year's supply/demand issues, I started shopping for Christmas in October. Most business extend their return policy for the holidays or at the least provide store credit for gifts that either miss the mark or turn out to be duplicates. It is not the case for this company. In today's market when there is so many competitors in pricing and delivery, you're much better off getting your goods from another supplier who understands good customer relations as Houzz most definitely does not.

Defective Light Fixture
December 15, 2021
Purchased two light fixtures but took two months to get an installer. One of the fixtures had a manufacturing defect. They refused to let me return it because it was past their 30 day return policy. The actual manufacturer says they have a one year warranty. I think this means Houzz is buying factory seconds or defectives and selling them as perfect. Never again.

Horrible experience. Advice: Do not use this company
October 6, 2021

There is a reason there are 35 reviews and only 1 star. Houzz is horrible. I purchased an item through this company. The Houzz website indicated the item was in stock and gave me an estimated delivery date of roughly 5 days after the purchase via standard shipping. On the estimated delivery date, the status of the order on the Houzz website still said "processing", so clearly the item was not going to arrive when stated.

After contacting Houzz multiple times for a status, I was informed the item had been backordered. No one cared to tell me prior to this that the item was, in fact, NOT in stock, but was backordered. I would have never placed an order for a backordered item. Houzz didn't seem to care one bit that their website was deceiving customers. I told them to cancel the order. More than 24 hours later, suddenly the item was available and shipped. Houzz (not some random third party merchant) charged my credit card. I did not authorize the use of my credit card for a backordered item. I made it very clear to Houzz that the order was to be cancelled, but they charged my card anyway.

Then they sent return instructions saying after the item is received by them and inspected, they will refund my money, minus the return shipping cost (for an item I told them to cancel). I reminded them that they changed the status of the item after purchase. You can't do that without giving me the opportunity to opt out free of charge. They quickly came back saying, just this once, they will cover the return shipping cost, but would still not refund my money until they received the item and inspected it.

Clearly, they are attempting to leave it open so they can say it was damaged and I was responsible so wouldn't have to give the refund. I pointed out to them that they charged my card the second they shipped the item. I wasn't given the opportunity to receive and inspect the item before they charged my card. What right do they have to receive and inspect the item before issuing the refund? I told them to issue the refund the very second the item is scanned by the carrier or I will go to the FTC.

They attempted to blame the merchant for the issues; however, the item was listed on Houzz's website and they are fully responsible for the content on their website. Additionally, it was Houzz (not some random third party merchant) that charged my card. In my opinion, this company is a scam and should be avoided. I would strongly urge everyone to use other resources. Your money and time are too valuable to deal with company that doesn't honor its commitments to customers.

Houzz company
September 9, 2021
Houzz Very bad company I ordered a dinning room table and I received it broken top the marble is broken I contacted the company sent them pictures I want to return it they offered me to buy the marble top alone I got it broken they want even replace it or take it back it’s $2,700 they not picking it up or giving me my refund I had to call my credit card company to dispute the charge worst company u would ever think off

Poor experience, unethical company
June 18, 2021
Very unethical company. I order an item, they canceled on me. A day later they have it relisted and over $100 more in price. There are better companies to do business with.