HomeServe USA Reviews

HomeServe USA
( 19 reviews )

HomeServe USA is an independent home repair service plans provider that covers services for plumbing, heating & cooling or electrical repairs.

The company states that they work with 600 partners throughout the US and Canada and that, since 2003, they have provided their services to over 4 million customers.

How Does HomeServe Work?

According to their website, more than 64% of consumers do not have the $1,000 on hand that they need on average to cover an unexpected, emergency home repair.

HomeServe USA points out that many people believe that when there is a problem with their sewer or other home utility piping, the repairs are the responsibility of the utility company or the city in which they live.

Unfortunately, many times this simply isn’t the case, and the homeowners themselves are responsible for these repairs which often end up being in the thousands of dollars to fix.

The goal of HomeServe USA is to provide their customers with a home service repair plan that will cover the repairs not covered by insurance or by the utility companies themselves. 

Their website says that they offer affordable plans which provide repair service 24 hours a day, seven days a week, with all repair work being done by local, licensed, and insured technicians with a $0 deductible and a one-year guarantee on all covered repairs.

Cost/Price Plans

The website is very clear that in order to determine pricing, customers will need to submit their personal residential zip code to the computer and see what kinds of plans will be available in their local area. There, you will be able to see the costs of the different kinds of plans that you may want to purchase.

The website does say, however, that their plans can be as low as $4 per month, though it appears that they charge their fees annually rather than monthly.  

Refund Policy

Unfortunately this website does not appear to offer their customers any information regarding the opportunity to cancel their service and to receive a refund.

Generally speaking, most companies that offer their customers the opportunity to pay month-to-month without long term contracts will not provide a Refund Policy, and those that ask customers to pay for memberships annually may offer a policy that will provide a refund of fees paid as long as the service is canceled within the first 30 days.

This website does not indicate either of these approaches, so concerned customers will need to speak to a company representative regarding what policies, if any, they have regarding refunds.      

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to speak with Customer Service about their questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 855-336-2465, by email at [email protected], or by using their website’s Live Chat feature whenever it is available. 

HomeServe USA Reputation

Though this company does appear to have positive reviews from the few customer reviews which are found online, Consumer Reports actually conducted a review of HomeServe USA and similar emergency repair service plans and concluded that most consumers should avoid these types of paid plans. 

Their report does reference a lawsuit filed against this company for misleading customers about the nature of some repairs and whose responsibility certain repairs were. HomeServe USA did not admit wrongdoing but they did choose to settle the lawsuit. 

The reality, according to Consumer Reports, is that homeowners who have home insurance are better off simply taking the money they would pay into an annual plan and saving that money in a savings account to put toward repairs only after they know for a fact that the repairs are not covered under their home insurance plan.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

As mentioned above, there are different companies that offer similar services, but specific companies will be different depending on where you live and the type of coverage you hope to invest in.   

If you have any experience with HomeServe USA or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

HomeServe USA Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

BEWARE!!!
May 11, 2022

If I could give them a zero, I would. I called on 2/2/22 because I had a sewage backup in my basement. I was told they had 12/24 hours to get back with me. this was not acceptable because we couldn't use the water nor flush the toilets.

After insisting that this was an emergency, the call taker changed it to critical. A plumber contacted me but offered an appointment on the 7th and said this was their first available appointment. This was not acceptable. I call HomeServe back. They behaved as though this was their only plumber, and they made no attempt to locate anyone else.

I asked to file a complaint. The call taker supposedly started the process and told me someone would get back with me. No one every did. I had to pay out of pocket to get the sewage problem repaired.

Someone from the "President's" office contacted me after I filed a review with the Better Business Bureau. This person went back and forth with me, even seeming to question whether snaking out a sewage drain was covered under my contract but eventually agreed to reimburse me.

Then she stopped communicating with me, will not return my phone calls, nor respond to my emails. And, I was not reimbursed for my out of pocket expense. This company is the worst. They are taking your money for coverage and failing to provide service. They should not be allowed to continue to operate in this manner.

What's the use of having a paid contract that is to provide emergency water/sewage coverage, if the company does not honer the contract. And HomeServe has done this apparently without any repercussions.

Waste of Money
April 28, 2022

I had a kitchen sink strainer that was leaking water under my sink and needed replacing. I've been paying $7.89 for years now thinking it would be covered. I called Home Serve and a plumber called me and different times he could get here. I called Home Serve to make sure it was covered. It wasn't. I decided to look at the exclusions and was shocked. They basically cover nothing expensive or hard that you would want a plumber to fix. The only thing it covered was snaking a few drains. Doesn't even cover repairing pipes breaking due to freezing. It's a waste of money, other plans cover more. I canceled it. Make sure any plan u have with them you read the exclusions part good.

Horrible!
April 19, 2022

They installed a new water heater that worked for 6 weeks. after that, no hot water and Sulfer smell when hot water tap is even turned on. When he came back, I told him(a teen) that I have well water and need an aluminum anode rod put in. he said he never heard of that! When asked what anode rod was in, he looked it up and said it was a coregard sacrificial anode. I looked it up and they can be magnesium or aluminum. also, in the troubleshooting part of their manual, it says to turn it up to 140 degrees from 120 and that should help. He said he wasn't allowed to. He said I needed an electrician. Hours later, I have hot water (for now) but the smell is horrible which is not an electrical problem! Stay away!

WFMN April 27, 2022

Never had an experience with them !!!!However!!! As a engineer [retired] when I read their mail to the area I live at , I found they have a problem/// they don't know what they are doing / saying etc I live in an area in brodheadsville / the homes in my area all have wells/they are telling people that they need protection for the pipe lines that go from pohopoco drive to their property and need to replace them should they fail and would have to pay for the repairs not true!!!! Sounds like a fraudulent company to me beware !

WFMN April 27, 2022

PEOPLE BEWARE!!!!!!

If they can't solve something so simple
February 13, 2022
I requested that they fix an electrical contact because it was not working and I needed it to connect the Christmas tree lights since November 2021 and the technician came until the end of January and the last thing is that he could not fix it, I still have the problem in February and no one has been able to come to solve it, it is incredible that they can not solve something so simple, I can imagine the problem in which people with more serious problems would be found or are found.

Office of the president of this company doesnt even respond!
February 10, 2022

Terrible, couldn't get furnace fixed because no local contractors will work with Homeserve as they do not pay the contractors. 5 contractors called every single one said the same thing..NO WAY! WONT TOUCH IT!

Homeserve hasn't responded to anything and its been 6 days since I called for repair, filed with BBB and demanded full refund of contract money from day 1 when it started almost 20 years ago!...BEWARE TOTAL SCAMMERS and they don't care..Their office of the president wont even call me back!

Very Dissatisfied.
February 7, 2022

I have been a long time Homeserve customer, however that will change. in the past two years they have sent sub standard technicians to perform routine preventative maintenance on my boiler. As a result, it has cost me the inconvenience of extra service calls. Their technicians are not qualified and unprofessional. Their customer service leaves a lot to be desired. Don't waste your time and money.

You would be better off with a local plumbing & heating outfit.

Denied claims and reimbursement checks
January 24, 2022

Made a claim in 2019 on a sewer line that leaked. I have the sewer line coverage. Homeserve sent their own Plumbing Co out and he described the leak slightly different then what they cover so I was denied.

I called them back with a description and their own wording in the contract after the job was complete. They gave me a reimbursement check. Never take a reimbursement, make them pay the contractor.

Had another claim they denied and said I had my one reimbursement. I cant believe the Louisville Water Company allows Homeserve to partner up and put their bill on the water bill. I canceled and will look for another Insurance Co.

Horrible service! Dont Use
December 20, 2021

If i could give them 0 stars i would. This company is so heartless and inhuman, they have absolutely no compassion.

My boiler stopped working in 25 degree weather, i called homeserve to have someone come fix it on the same day, they wouldn't give me an appointment until the following day, after making a fuss they agreed to send someone to fix it on the same day.

I was 15 mins away from home when they called and the technician refused to wait. After calling the company again the representative was very cold hearted and dismissive. The supervisor took 4 hours to call back, and with a very nonchalant "i don't care" attitude basically said there was nothing she could do.

I am very disappointed at how inhumane these people are to leave someone in a freezing house at 25 degrees outside and refusing to wait 15 minutes when i was suppose to get a call that they were on the way. Homeserve claims to have "emergency" repair service which is a lie!

All they care about is getting your money and not providing the service on their website. I would rather pay more for another company that's compassionate than be left out in the cold by homeserve!. HORRIBLE COMPANY

full investigation and Repair
August 12, 2021
we called the home serve to change the thermostat and instead he damaged the system and I have no A/C and replaced my old thermostat that was working and installed another one simple as we asked but he damaged the system because he did not know how to install it. What a shame it is 100 degree and I regret calling you I am requesting a full investigation. thanks

Big Scam, Impossible to get Customer Service
July 8, 2021
Worst scam out there. Helps them selves to your accounts without any instruction for cancelling. You're out of luck if misfortune happens within 30 days of policy. Customer service line is evasive and only wants to upsell.

All they want is your money...run away
December 31, 2020

So very nice until you have a claim. Been paying for hot water tank repair and replacement for over 13 years on a water tank that is now 21 years old. Rusty hot water coming from the tank. Affecting laundry, showers, cooking, etc.

Was told insurance would not cover replacement until it leaks or blows, flooding my game room and damaging carpet furniture, etc. and there is no repair to stop the rusty water since the tank is corroded.

Sorry for the inconvenience is their reply. Would they like to bathe their children or wash their face in the morning in rusty water? How ridiculous is that? Save your money.

I STRONGLY SUGGEST YOU AVOID THEM
December 26, 2020

After making a payment for 1 full year on my master card, 3 weeks later I receive a letter saying they haven't received payment. After talking to Alexi who works for homeserve, she asked me if - - - -was my last 4 numbers on my credit card and also said is this your expiration date. I said yes so how can you say that you never received payment.

A week later I talk to Julie and again she asks the same questions. I said you people are a joke. I emailed them the following. The 3 pages that was sent to me to be filled out, was filled out with all my information, signed, and dated. A copy of my credit card statement, a copy of my bank statement and a copy of my checkbook register all showing it was paid.

They are still saying that they haven't received payment. I did notify better business bureau to report them. They truly have dishonest people working for them and may also be a dishonest company. I would be happy to send anyone all my information so that they could see for them selves.

Strongly suggest you avoid them
December 21, 2020

I received in the mail about HomeServe on 10-31-20. I filled the 3 forms out putting my credit card information, signing it and putting my email address and phone number. I paid this on 11-3-20. Being paid on 11-3-20 on my credit card then paying and deducting from my checking account. Both statements clearly show both paid on 11-3 -20 for $95.76.

On 11-25-20 I receive a letter in the mail stating that they have not received payment. I spoke with Alexi after I called and she asked if - - - - these 4 numbers were the last 4 on your credit card AND THEN said is this the expiration date. I said yes so if have that information how can you say that I did not pay.

It's been 2 weeks now and they are saying they are researching and can't find anything. I email all copes back to them for viewing. The 3 pages form sent, a copy of my bank statement and a copy of my Master Card Statement.

WHAT A JOKE. WE THINK THEY HAVE SOMEONE INSIDE BEING DISHONEST. I STRONGLY SUGGEST YOU AVOID THEM

Do Not Agree To Anything! Say No! Do Not Sign Up!
November 21, 2020

This company is a complete rip off. Do not give them any of your hard earned money. You are better off putting money away each month in a shoe box to cover any home repairs you may need. They use words to make you feel comfortable and then when you need the service they change the wording.

And now they know all the small print in the contract you agreed too. Only to tell you it isn't covered and didn't you read your information on your policy. They prey on senior citizens. Shame on all of you that work for that company!

Avoid Homeserve at all cost
October 15, 2020

The natural gas line to my 87 year old mothers house was shut off by the gas company due to a leak. My mothers only income is $1200 monthly, but she paid her monthly payment to Homeserve for many years to cover this gas line. When I called them 8 days ago, it took 2 days for them to send a plumber out for an estimate. 8 day into this mess, I still don't have any information from Homeserve except for them to tell me that most of the repair will not be covered because of some fine print they came up with.

Every time I call Homeserve I get a different person and I need to re-explain the problem from the start, then wait 20 minutes while they research the job. My mother has been in her house without any heat or hot water and I am no closer to getting her gas line repaired than I was a week ago.

Think long and hard before you throw your money away to Homeserve. Mike Rowe I'm sure is very proud of putting his name on this company.

Scam Robbing Senior Citizens
July 30, 2020
My parents paid for this service for 7 years. When they needed it in 2020, we waited 3 days. It took that long to get a CLAIM NUMBER. Still no plumber. Fun fact, I was able to call a local plumber and schedule an appointment for Friday, 2 days later, so a total of 5 days, but HomeServe was predicting 2 WEEKS before one of their contracted plumbers could come to my home. So my husband and I did the work ourselves. $200 later, the blockage is cleared, the insurance SCAM is canceled, and I will be filing a small claims suit for their 7 years of premiums. The best part? When I canceled, the guy tried to act like we'd EVER come back as customers. I laughed and said No.

Do not live up to contracted responsiblities
April 27, 2020
I have HomeServe's exterior sewer line coverage. In 2017 when I attempted to use the coverage I was told that they did not cover clearing a blockage in my exterior sewer line because the plumber would enter the line from the interior of my house. Then, in 2020, they did suddenly cover what I had been denied coverage for in 2017. When they came to clear the sewer line, however, they damaged my home by jetting the blockage. Then I was told that the reason for the blockage could not be determined until the line was less cloudy. Once the line was less cloudy, video of the line showed a belly in the line, but HomeServe refused to honor contracted responsibility to repair the exterior sewer line. They stated that were not obligated to repair the sewer line because there was not blockage to the line at the time the video examination of the line was completed. When the line was cleared, however, the line was too cloudy to permit any examination of the line for problems that would have caused the blockage.

Left in the cold in KC
January 8, 2020
I paid for HomeServe for several years and felt comfortable that, as a senior citizen, I had good service plans - for heating and cooling and my interior plumbing and drainage system. When my furnace developed a cracked heat exchanger, which I found in Dec. 4, and the gas company had to turn off service, the HS technician said it couldn't be fixed and that I needed a new furnace. To my surprise, they don't cover heat exchangers, along with a long list of other exceptions. I got a second tech from a local company who repaired the heat exchanger and updated the lines to current code for less than $1000. The HomeServe warranty did nothing for me after being a loyal customer for years. I now am adding to my emergency household repair account and no more HomeServe. Just call me left in the cold in KC. Cheryeal Mack, president, Foxtown East Neighborhood Assoc., Kansas City, Mo.

Attempted Robbery
September 24, 2019

My husband and I had never even heard of this company until we woke up today to find they charged our bank account for $86.88 leaving us exactly ¢0.65 to our names.

We called our bank to put a stop payment to this ASAP.