HomeServe USA Reviews

HomeServe USA
( 46 reviews )

HomeServe USA Review: A Detailed Look

Reviewopedia staff  -  Updated:  July 25, 2023

 

HomeServe USA is an independent home repair service plans provider that covers services for plumbing, heating & cooling or electrical repairs.

The company states that they work with 600 partners throughout the US and Canada and that, since 2003, they have provided their services to over 4 million customers.

How Does HomeServe Work?

According to their website, more than 64% of consumers do not have the $1,000 on hand that they need on average to cover an unexpected, emergency home repair.

HomeServe USA points out that many people believe that when there is a problem with their sewer or other home utility piping, the repairs are the responsibility of the utility company or the city in which they live.

Unfortunately, many times this simply isn’t the case, and the homeowners themselves are responsible for these repairs which often end up being in the thousands of dollars to fix.

The goal of HomeServe USA is to provide their customers with a home service repair plan that will cover the repairs not covered by insurance or by the utility companies themselves. 

Their website says that they offer affordable plans which provide repair service 24 hours a day, seven days a week, with all repair work being done by local, licensed, and insured technicians with a $0 deductible and a one-year guarantee on all covered repairs.

Cost & Price Plans

The website is very clear that in order to determine pricing, customers will need to submit their personal residential zip code to the computer and see what kinds of plans will be available in their local area.

There, you will be able to see the costs of the different kinds of plans that you may want to purchase.

The website does say, however, that their plans can be as low as $4 per month, though it appears that they charge their fees annually rather than monthly.  

Refund Policy

Unfortunately this website does not appear to offer their customers any information regarding the opportunity to cancel their service and to receive a refund.

Generally speaking, most companies that offer their customers the opportunity to pay month-to-month without long term contracts will not provide a Refund Policy.

Companies that ask customers to pay for memberships annually may offer a policy that will provide a refund of fees paid as long as the service is canceled within the first 30 days.

This website does not indicate either of these approaches, so concerned customers will need to speak to a company representative regarding what policies, if any, they have regarding refunds.      

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to speak with Customer Service about their questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by:

Phone: 855-336-2465
email: [email protected]
Website’s Live Chat feature when available. 

HomeServe Reviews and Complaints

HomeServe appears to have mixed to negative customer reviews found online.

Consumer Reports conducted a review of HomeServe USA and other similar emergency repair service plans and concluded that most consumers should avoid these types of paid plans. 

Their report does reference a lawsuit filed against this company for misleading customers about the nature of some repairs and whose responsibility certain repairs were.

HomeServe USA did not admit wrongdoing but they did choose to settle the lawsuit. 

The reality, according to Consumer Reports, is that homeowners who have home insurance are better off simply taking the money they would pay into an annual plan and saving that money in a savings account to put toward repairs only after they know for a fact that the repairs are not covered under their home insurance plan.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

As mentioned above, there are different companies that offer similar services, but specific companies will be different depending on where you live and the type of coverage you hope to invest in.   

If you have any experience with HomeServe USA or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

HomeServe USA Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Scam
January 9, 2024

Debited my bank account after I had canceled order. Tried to get a refund but was unable to. Fighting with bank and HomeServe to recoup $200.

No warning on billing
December 17, 2023

I was forced into an overcharged bank account when " Home Serve " hit my personal checking account for a renewal. They never let me know of any billing, no warning, no notification of pending billing...NOTHING.

So the billing that they hit me for was $ 89.88......cost me the $89.99 plus $75.00 for fees and then bounced two other checks!!!

.I cancelled ...done with "blind" billing practices.

TERRIBLE!
December 11, 2023

Terrible customer service. We have a service contract that is overpriced which we are cancelling. When you call a computer wastes your time pushing buttons that send you to people who send you to other people who send you to yet another department.

Contract scam
November 22, 2023

This company is a scam DO NOT USE.

I’ve been paying them for almost 2 year’s. I had an issue with my washer and needed service. I called to file a claim and was told that they have no one to service my area. So wait am I hearing this correctly? I’ve been Paying a monthly fee for almost two years and now that I need service . You don’t have a service provider in my area. I now have to contract outside and pay full price and wait for home serve to approve my service. Unbelievable. I requested to speak with a supervisor that transferred me to a sales coordinator who then told me “Josh he couldn’t help “

Be very careful with HomeServe - some policies are not worth it
November 20, 2023

I can't even begin to register both my irritation/disappointment with Homeserve - please read on:

Back in June of 2022, we signed up for their appliance repair program, and the person I spoke with (and I made sure to clarify it twice), indicated to me that if the appliance cannot be repaired (i.e. if a unit is too old to repair due to the value of the unit vs. repair costs), it would be replaced with another unit of equal or lesser value.

Being senior citizens, this made us feel good because it definitely sounded a worthwhile investment and we signed up.

Recently, we had to call in a service request for our Samsung Dryer because of a motor grinding noise and it not heating anymore. I paid the $25 service fee, but when I spoke with the customer service rep handling the call, I clarified again (based on what I was told previously) that if it could not be repaired, how would they replace it? She stated that there was no replacement and that this policy does not cover replacement costs. I was devastated - fit to be tied (based on what I was promised in the very beginning).

I've since requested both a refund of the $25 service fee (which I canceled) and also the amount I paid for the entire time since I first signed up for that program. Now whether they'll do that remains to be seen.

This is the 2nd time I was short changed by Home Serve. Several years ago we had an Air Conditioning issue (and we had an AC repair policy with Home Serve). When the service tech arrived, he diagnosed that the coils in the attic needed replacement (estimated cost of around $2500). Home Serve disapproved the request and we ended up having to purchase an entirely new AC/Heating system instead of getting it repaired. We were fit to be tied, and we immediately canceled that particular Home Service policy.

So please be aware that with regard to both appliance repair and AC repair policies, stay away from Home Serve, especially if you have older units (even if in great condition).

Even when talking to customer service, I was passed off back and forth between agents before I finally talked to somebody who seemed to care and/or knew who could handle this issue.

Do Not Pay Premium in Full
October 31, 2023

I had canceled a Premium Heating service plan. I paid $555 for a yearly plan. I canceled after 6 months. Shaun at Home Serve USA refused the refund for the remaining 6 months stating they performed the yearly Heating System Tune up.

Shaun also stated if I paid the premium on a monthly basis there would have been no additional charges.

Our experience
October 24, 2023

We have a blocked sewer line, and have a HomeServe contract that covers this.

The first plumber company HomeServe sent said they need to do a camera inspection and would bring a snake upon their return.

I am later informed by HomeServe that that plumbing company does not have the proper equipment to do this job, and they will find another company who can.

Next day, another company is scheduled, and comes out to our home. They only brought a snake, no camera, since the camera wasn’t on the work order. They did have a snake that could reach over 150 feet. The technician said he would be back in the morning with the camera.

HomeServe called me that their authorization for the camera work only applied for the first plumber, not the second. I explained that HomeServe sent the second plumber since the original plumber did not have the equipment - like talking to a wall!

This morning I called the second plumber, and was told HomeServe did not authorize them to do the camera work! I called HomeServe and was told this second plumber did not have a long enough cable to do the job. I explained that they did, but HomeServe insisted they did not, and their escalation team would find a company that could.

I called the second plumbing company, told them what HomeServe said. This company insisted they have the extra long cable and camera equipment, told HomeServe they had it, but we’re unable to get their authorization.

I am still in limbo, totally frustrated, and inconvenienced by not having a functioning sewer line.

Terrible service from HomeServe

Won’t even send us a policy!
October 19, 2023
My mother has been paying for service for over 1 year. We have requested a print out of their policy 3 times! Each time they state they will mail it to her and she never gets one. I requested it be mailed to my home—never got one. How can my mother possibly do business with you if you don’t send her a policy. Poor business practices yields poor reviews, poor word of mouth, and now…one less customer.

Bad business practices
September 7, 2023
I called when my sewer backed up and flooded our basement. They said they would send someone out in two days. That was August 24. A plumber finally arrived on September 7. The basement flooded each time it rained while we waited. The plumber was not equipped with a camera to check the sewer line and said Homeserve would need to send someone else out. I called homeserve immediately after the plumber left and was told they would not send anyone else out because my basement was dry right now (it’s not raining), that my basement had to be flooded before they could send someone out because the plumber would need the flood to investigate the sewer line problem. And that was all they would do for me… absolutely nothing. When I asked to talk to a manager, I was told I could pay for someone to come and camera my sewer line and prove to homeserve that they should send someone out. I have been paying for this insurance for two or more years. I could have saved that money and used it now.

Do not Buy their service.
August 8, 2023

It's almost a scam. They not only do not cover your cost, but also waste your precious time when an emergency comes.

I've been paying for the plan for more than a year, and I've finally realized it's a scam after calling them for services two times. In both cases they denied coverage. This is how it works: the contract is written in a way to ensure that they will almost never see a case that they need to cover.

I suspect that they work with service contractors to find any reason that allows them to deny coverage, and making it a model in which Homeserve basically becomes a service sourcing company for their contractors.

After they denied coverage in my recent call based on a speculation that my neighbor's yard work was responsible for the damage to my sewage line, I've had enough I canceled my plan immediately. In a nut shell, this company is not an insurance company, rather they are a service dispatcher, in which they get to charge both ways.

DONT BUY THEIR SERVICE.

Major frustration and head-ache
July 14, 2023

For more than 10 years I am with home serve paying for the protection of water lines, sewer, and premium plumbing through Cleveland water company.

In June 19/2023 I called them to fix the main shut off valve in my house, to tell the story short, after few days they told me the job was done, and they asked me to rate my experience with Wiese Plumbing but in fact no plumber showed up and nothing was done, many calls to home serve and the Wiese Plumbing but they don't cooperate, at last I cancelled my subscription. Don't never ever deal with home serve, they suck the money from their customers but when you need them you don't receive any service, just head-ache and a major frustration.

Fraudsters
June 24, 2023
They stole $101 out of my account, I do not know these people, I did not speak with anyone from this company and I do not have a contract of any kind with these people. THEY STOLE $101 AUTO DEBIT OUT OF MY ACCOUNT. THIEVES AND FRAUDSTERS.

Bad company management
March 31, 2023

I've been paying into Homeserve for 8 years, and I pay Homeserve $120 a month. That amounts to about$11,500 over an 8 year period. I am not satisfied with Homeserve's service.

4 days ago my electric in my kitchen and living room went out. I telephoned them. NO technician (electrician) has reached out to me. Homeserve told me that they sent out requests to 2 companies, however, both companies are a very FAR distance from where I reside.

I tried telephoning them but no one picked up. I wonder why. I live in Ceres, California. On each side of Ceres is Modesto and Turlock; both thriving cities where there are many/plenty of electricians.

There's also a lot of electricians in my city of Ceres. I am a senior and single. Tired of this third rate treatment. Please advise.

Diana Spinnato

2000 Bavil Drive

Ceres, CA 95307

(209) 996-2336

Also, the code I was supposed to be sent in order to authorize/send this message was NOT received. I tried 2 times. What a scam!

JZ December 01, 2023

Scam

Not there when you need them!!
March 1, 2023
Homeserve's coverage isn't worth the paper it's printed on. They are not there when you need them and will not reimburse you for your expenses when you have the repairs made. They are Scam Artists!!!

Reliable
February 8, 2023

I am a licensed plumber who provides warranty work for homeserve usa. I have been receiving calls from them for the last year and a half. I have read through almost all the negative reviews and have not seen on instance where home serve failed the client. Homeserve does an extensive back ground check on contractors. As far as home serve removing monies from peoples bank accounts thats not a true statement either. All there payments come through a utility company, in my 30 plus years of being a residential plumbing service and repair company out of all the home warranty companies out there I have found homeserve usa to be a reliable trustworthy company. I even have my home as well as my mother signed up..

raymondwei August 08, 2023

you are a shameful promoter. Sick.

WARNING: My mom is out $750, but you don't have to be.
January 27, 2023

WARNING: My mom is out $750, but you don't have to be. Upon becoming Power Of Attorney for my mom, I noticed 3 withdrawals for $31.42 - going to HomeServeUSA. I called their Customer Service 1-855-336-2465 and spoke w/ representative Allen Bower. He explained that my mom was enrolled in 3 protection plans for water/sewer/gas lines. I asked for documentation regarding her enrollment. He said they do not have any. He said she was enrolled by outbound call representative Maythya Utsey in Jan 2021, but there are NO NOTES regarding the enrollment conversation. Allen said where there should be enrollment notes, there was only an "X".

I explained that my mom's home is only 19 yrs old and she didn't need these plans. We have zero documentation of her enrolling in these plans. The company has zero written documentation of her enrollment in these plans. My mom does not have an email address, so how did they confirm her enrollment? I asked for a refund. He cancelled the plans and filed an enrollment dispute request and said I should get a call from management in 48 hours. I emailed their Customer Service to confirm the cancellations. I then looked them up on the Better Business Bureau website. Bam! I saw the company had 731 complaints on BBB in the last 3 yrs. I also found many complains about HomeServeUSA on The RipOff Report. Next day I got a call from Shawn Clark with Office of President, (423)-680-5171 [email protected] Shawn said he requested original phone call between the outbound rep and my mom and that it could take 48 hrs. He then proceeded to "sell" the benefit of their plans and explain that homes as young as my mom's could still need this type of protection plan. I replied that the chances of sewer lines failing in less than 20 years is too remote to justify an 80 year old on a fixed income to incur the expenses. He disagreed. I asked him what percent of homes less than 20 yrs old have failing sewer lines. He couldn't answer that question. He was irritated and kept telling me that I was not listening to him. I tell him that I will look forward to hearing from him next week and say good-bye.

He calls me back in 5 minutes bcuz they "miraculously" FOUND the 2 year old call, REVIEWED the call and NOW claims that my mother called their office and enrolled in their plans and he would NOT refund her money. This is EXACT opposite of what customer service rep Allen Bower told me the day before. When I challenged him and asked to hear the enrollment call he said NOT without a lawyer, court order and subpoena. His response was all the evidence I needed to know that he was making the whole thing up. Do NOT do business with HomeServeUSA.

With over 731 written complaints in 3 years, imagine how many people have been robbed and never made a complaint. https://www.bbb.org/us/ct/norwalk/profile/water-and-sewer-line-protection/homeserve-usa-corp-0111-87067998/complaints

https://www.bbb.org/us/ct/norwalk/profile/water-and-sewer-line-protection/homeserve-usa-corp-0111-87067998/complaints

TERRIBLE!!! DO NOT TRUST OR BUY FROM THEM!!!! IMHO
January 24, 2023

Waited for days for them to send someone to fix my dead elec water heater. They wanted to send people from Detroit. Had to wait for them to call, three different times, to which they said I am three (3) hours away and wouldn't come that far.

Then, after 5-6 more calls to them, I was advised I (!!!) had to contact a local plumber to which the two of them said they are months behind, maybe even 3-4 months. So, I quit paying the bill and canceled the monthly, and finally found a local plumber, who got my water heater replaced, who said the old one was definitely bad and should be covered by the warranty.

After telling them this, HomeServe, still said no way. TERRIBLE!!! DO NOT TRUST OR BUY FROM THEM!!!! IMHO

J January 24, 2023

Same experience

dont get near home serve
December 3, 2022
I checked my bank account today and home serve had got $65/58 cents out of my account somehow, and they sent the paper work to a different addrest across town to some one I never knew.

I guess ask them for all kinds of water repair
November 11, 2022

I have had HOMESERVE for a few years I thought since it said exterior all would be covered, wrong. I had a drain leaking well when the plumber came out he said it wasn't covered. It was external, insurance companies say anything to cheat you but 1 good thing the plumber wanted $4,200 HomeServe said $700.

plumbing repair not fixed
October 20, 2022

I called for a water leak in my house the tech came out within 24 hours and stood in middle of living room said he could not repair anything . the leak is in second floor of plumbing. he never even looked at pipes. since then home serve gives me a bunch of bs about water needs turned off and bunch of other stuff.

I have used this company for 5 years always satisfied till now if no resolved on Thursday oct. 20 cancelling all my plans this fly by night company used to be reliable not any more. I will speak to upper management very displeased with service right now been waiting a week for a repair.