HomeAdvisor.com Reviews

HomeAdvisor.com
( 24  Reviews )



Write a Review
24 ‘HomeAdvisor.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

Home Advisor FRAUD

September 6, 2018

I am a contractor. Signed up 2 months ago. Have only received two leads in that time. Leads I was not interested in. When I signed up, I was told that the charges for leads sent to me would be $14-$34 for residential work depending on size, $70 for commercial work and $25-$55 for new construction work depending on size. I was also told that there would be no charges if I did not take advantage of the leads they send. I received two texts for work I was not interested in and never replied to the texts. When I got my credit card bill there was a $146 charge for one of these texts and a $98 charge for the other text. Called customer service to get refund to no avail. Was told by one of their supervisors that the rep who signed me up gave me the wrong information. She lied? Waiting for supervisor's supervisor to call me back. Told them not to send any more leads. Called my credit card company to dispute charges. Will cancel my account once the dust settles.

View all 2 Comments
October 03, 2018

Thank you, I had a bad feeling about it and glad I checked.

October 03, 2018

Thanks for the info. I was about ready to sign up but had a hunch it might be good to check first.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Moldservices inlimited inc

June 18, 2018

pleased with the services received from this company
Mold testing was done and they did a good job, no Problems!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

TERRIBLE COMPANY!

August 15, 2017

Absolutely DO NOT use this website for ANYTHING. This company is full of extremely rude and disrespectful customer service and sales employees. Not to mention the entire thing is a SHAM. Not only to the contractors (like me) that pay an initial fee of $300 per year and then anywhere from $40-90 per lead but to the customers that get their information stolen and sold. On many occasions, I tried to contact customers that "requested information" from me just to find out that they never requested building information from Home Advisor and/or they didn't exist. When I called to cancel my membership after a full year of scam customers (and 100's of $) the lady had the nerve to fight me the entire time telling me she's "sorry I didn't know how to use their services" and that if I was more available to make calls right away I would have gotten more customers. I run a successful Construction Company and I don't need some know it all sales rep to tell me how to get customers. I will never recommend this company to ANYONE I know.
Also, about 8 months after I canceled my membership, I got a call from another very RUDE and disrespectful sales rep trying to get me to rejoin. I simply told him it didn't work for me and that I wasn't going to join again, so it is a waste of both of our time and he started to get rude and aggressive in his responses. I don't know why this company thinks it's OK to talk to potential clients with condescending rude tones. It's absolutely absurd to me. STAY AWAY!

August 18, 2019

Pay attention people. They are telling the truth.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Contractors are good. The company itself is a bunch of con men.

March 17, 2017

As a contractor for this company I and everyone else that is a real client will tell you that they use misleading information and confusing processess to maximize their own charges and profits from every contractor that gives them their creditcard information. Dont be fooled by the positive reviews. look carefully at them and you will see that they are coached, proabably a paid for service to get positive reviews. Upon signing up the asked me to have friends give me positive reviews just to look good to the customers. Clearly they are in the business of manipulation. Bait and switch lures, high charges and automatically accepted leads and automatically charged credit cards weekly before you can review your month bill. Thats right, they charge you weekly, you see it monthly. I cant believe there is not a class action law suit yet. I lost hundreds of dollars immediately before I could even build my profile. My case manager was conveniently unavailable for days as soon as i gave her my credit card info. I wish i could take it all back now but they retracted their 30 day money back guarantee offer as soon as i gave them my Credit Card. I made an expensive mistake. Please dont do the same or allow this company to get any more exposure. Stay Local.

View all 2 Comments
August 15, 2017

I couldn't have said it better myself. This company is a complete RIP OFF and they thrive on getting small businesses to trust that they will get clients right away after they charge you in excess. I'm writing a review on the BBB ASAP.

October 03, 2018

Thanks for the review and comment, very helpful.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

BLOCK WALL

April 19, 2016

I WOULD LIKE TO TELL YOU ABOUT A GREAT CONTRACTOR,
"MICK MARIANO MASONRY". I HIRED MICK TO PUT IN A 300' BLOCK WALL, HE GAVE ME THE LOWEST PRICE I COULD FIND FROM 6 CONTRACTORS. HE SHOWED UP ON TIME, HAD THE RIGHT EQUIPMENT, DID WHAT HE SAID HE WOULD DO, PLUS SOME EXTRA WORK THAT HE DIDN'T CHARGE ME FOR. THE WALL CAME OUT WONDERFUL, I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND MICK MARIANO MASONRY NO MATER HOW LITTLE OR BIG THE JOB, HIS CREW SURE DOES GOOD WORK, THEY ARE CAREFUL OF HE LANDSCAPE YOU MIGHT HAVE IN THE GROUND ALSO. THEY CLEANED UP AFTER THE FINISHED THE WALL. WE LOVE THE WORK THEY DID, AND WOULD HIRE THEM TO DO ANY MORE WORK WE MIGHT WANT DONE.

DON HARRIS
APPLE VALLEY, CA.

Comment on this review...

BOA General Contractor

April 7, 2016

I'm a General Contractor BOA Heavy Construction Corp. for 17 years. I had a lot of bad experiences with the Home Advisor covers all of the "leading" processing sites like Yodle, Moreover Angel list.
Home Advisor promised to refund my credit to Visa Card if I lost one Lead from no answering or disconnecting. They did not promise and mass randomly vacuumed my debit card without confirming with a lead. We hit 20 leads, only 2 Leads per month just win for an interview, hopefully one job wins. 20 lead cost from 700 to 1000 credit card. Once a lead was an addition job $98.00 a lead. I called and no answer until I called 5 times. A client annoyed to say he didn't interest, but just curiously quote for free. I didn't bother to meet him. Once day in Somerville, Mass, One Lead accepted my call and We went to visit the homeowner about remodeling basement with added bathroom. I saw there is 7 illegal Mexicans/Brazilians line up on her porch to wait for winning the job. I purposely gave her a rough error price $14,000 estimated. Original Massachusetts Appraised $45,000, New bathroom, new laundry room, new floor entire wall with two rooms electric-plumbing. Client must picked below than $14,000. Next day I drove by there was a big "Stop-Work" poster by the City on her door. Mexicans must ran out budget money did all bad jobs for cheap money that City Code did not approve it. I bet you there is over 10 contractors visited one client for price quote. It is not worth to join Home Advisor. And sometimes, I identify the Lead posted several days ago. Perhaps the illegal Mexicans took the job before me and you too. Google Ad Word is a better source of all contractors, not the "Pay-Lead" system sites. Trump is clean for us if he wins.

Comment on this review...

Painter Jimmy T's

February 20, 2016

I had my two bathrooms painted by Jimmy T's Painting...He not only is professional but he is so trustworthy and I recommend him to everyone needing small paint jobs.

Reneesenora

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

AMF Inspections & Engineering

November 20, 2015

We are having a full second story added to our home and required a structural engineering inspection. We contacted AFM Inspections & Engineering, PLLC. They came within two days and were on time. Anthony Marmo was every professional and he was extremely forth coming in explaining what he was looking at and why. I was very pleased using AFM and highly recommend them.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Thomas and Betty Moon
Guest

Our new kitchen

November 5, 2013

The places recommended for choosing the granite had a large and varied selection and the staff were very helpful. The place that fabricated the granite for the countertop did a wonderful job. Its crew was timely, courteous and very professional. The backsplash was also smashing! The glass subway tiles were just beautiful!
Mr. LaRue of LaRue Construction organized and supervised the installation of the new kitchen(new sink,faucets,stovetop, handles and pulls for the cabinets and drawers) in a timely fashion.
We are very satisfied with Mr. LaRue's attention to the protection of our property while demolition was in progress as well as to how materials were carted away. His recommendations for where the granite can be chosen, the fabrication of the countertop, the selection of tiles for the backsplash and possible places to select high-end kitchen appliances were right on. We are thrilled with our choices and enjoying their conveniences and efficiencies.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review