HomeAdvisor Reviews

HomeAdvisor
( 57 reviews )

HomeAdvisor Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

They sell leads from companies that pay to list.
August 21, 2021
They sell leads for contractors that sign up with them. That should tell you all you need to know. I needed a plumber and one I was referred to via FB had dozens of five star reviews. It all sounds good until I checked the Better Business Burea. No record but his previous plumber concern was sketchy.

Jo September 23, 2021

They also scam on credit fix it. Don't but into it.

Home Advisor does not deliver as promised.
August 19, 2021

They suck!

I requested a Plumber from them recently. They sent a Handyman. He did the best he could, but I NEEDED a Plumber. I am disappointed that they didn't take more time to focus on my needs and get me the right contractor. I think they keep both the customer as well as the contractor in the dark as to what is needed /required for the job. Consequently, things just are not done to completion.

e.g., the spout that was put on my bathtub fell off after a couple of uses. My 70-yr old sister was able to fix it for me.

Some things were done fine. Some were not. It too a lot longer than they indicated.

They have been a real disappointment. I will make sure I let everyone know.

Be warned before you use this company!
August 2, 2021
I've been a homeowner for 50 years and this is the WORST SERVICE I've ever experienced! Made appointment, contractor cancelled. Made 2nd appointment, contractor didn't understand what was needed. Not surprising, since Home advisor gives you a multiple-choice form to fill out but no opportunity to supply details. The contractor comes in blind. Then, when I cancelled, they only will refund 50% of the charge!

Horrible Customer Service
August 1, 2021

DO NOT USE HOME ADVISOR! Had broken garage door spring and used Home Advisor to book an appointment. Follow up emails from Home Advisor stated repair would take place on a Saturday, which I had plans.

The email gave links to open my account, but the link did not work. Attempted to open account from the website ad said I need a password. Called customer service twice, they sent another email to reset password. The links inside the email did not work either. Called customer service again and was told someone would call me back to reset password and I had to change appointment on the website. No one called back and I rearranged my plans for scheduled Saturday repair.

About 1 hour prior to scheduled time for service person to show up, received an email advising the repair person would be there and rescheduled till Monday. The reason in the email was the repair person had an emergency. Upon calling customer service I was told reason for cancellation was they were unable to locate any garage door repair persons in my area.

Cleaners
July 26, 2021
I contracted to have someone clean my mother’s home a few days ago. They were supposed to show up at 10:00 am this morning. Her house is empty and has been sold with the closing in 3 days. Today is the only day I had available to meet the cleaning crew. Well they didn’t show up. I contacted Home advisor. They scheduled another crew at 1:00 pm. Another no show. Long story short, no one showed up and after many e-mails back and forth Home Advisor sent me a message at 3:30 cancelling the contract saying no one was coming. I took off work for this and wasted a complete day and now have no time to get the house cleaned before closing unless I go do it myself after work.

Don't use their service!
June 28, 2021
This is the biggest scam I have ever seen. They get a person to supposedly work on your dishwasher, but never shows up. Then they take the payment out of your account. When you call back to get your money back, they send you to a third world speaker and not the person who is suppose to work on your appliance. I wish I never did this and want my money back. However, they keep transferring you away.

They will destroy your property.
June 25, 2021

I wish I had checked reviews before hiring them to mow my lawn. The best way to describe the damage they did is to actually show you: https://i.imgur.com/qwt7Z0n.jpg

The blades were unbalanced, they scalped the grass down to the dirt, and they drove figure 8's on my lawn. I've never seen anything like it.

I gave them a poor review, and HomeAdvisor sent me an automated E-Mail saying, "Your experience matters" from a "bot" named "Laura" pretending to care. I responded with the pictures showing what happened and... Nothing. After two weeks, zero response, but HomeAdvisor DID bump up the amount of spam mail they're sending me to get me to buy in to their other scams.

I've cancelled my account with them, and will NEVER recommend anyone use them. They absolutely DO NOT CARE about customers, or quality. Only about what money they can scam you out of.

Home Owner
May 16, 2021

This company should be shut down. They only care about the bottom line. They gave a

quote and charged me more than that. They didn't finish the job but still charged me. They told the contractor there won't be any parts but he said he couldn't fix it without parts.

Homeadvisor didn't tell me parts weren't included. I would think twice before using this company. Should have read the reviews first. Wouldn't have used them. STOP! THINK ABOUT IT! DON`T DO IT! YOU WILL BE SORRY!

HowardBrown June 12, 2021

I totally agree. I am a contractor and they scammed us of a lot of money. They tell Contractors have the option to take a project or hit a button that says I do not want that project. I hit the button many times because the job was too small or too far away. They charged my credit card anyway. When I called about this they said that I was set up differently. A PURE LIE! Contractors Beware.

HowardBrown June 12, 2021

They are a sorry Company.

STAY AWAY!!!!!
March 24, 2021

If I could give ZERO stars, I would. They are a terrible company to work with and have a horrible business model. They sell a "lead" which is a customer looking for some type of remodeling or construction work to as many contractors in the area who have to pay for these "leads".

Then the contractor has to spend their time bidding against countless other contractors to fight for the job. It has nothing to do with reputation or how good of a contractor you are and boils down to who will do it the cheapest.

Contractors who want to play this game typically just come out and give as basic of a quote as possible, typically just a line item or two with a price. A quality contractor will provide a detailed proposal with their quote price and take their time to understand the project and vision in order to provide a well thought out scope. Don't expect that through Home Advisor.

As a customer looking for getting bids, do a little more research online, search for some local general contractors in your area who specialize in whatever type of project you are looking to do. You can even use Yelp or Google Maps.

Whatever you do, stay FAR AWAY from Home Advisor, they are a complete and utter waste of time.

Unfair Practices
March 13, 2021

I was scheduled for a 1:00 appt. And my maid said she would be 1/2 hr. Late. You may reschedule or cancel any appointment 24 hours in advance for FREE. However, there is a $15 fee 2–24 hours before the job starts; inside of 2 hrs, the full booking amount is charged.

After over two hrs I called and was told there would be no kind of discount and they would only reschedule since the workers have a FOUR hr window.

The person I talked to was rude and didn't care about my inconvenience, only was told " they can be up to FOUR hrs. Late because that's their window " This is unacceptable for business practices where the customer will always be at fault. I will now have to post this across every social media platform I can.

Buyer Beware (Bait and Switch)
February 12, 2021

Wished I'd taken the time to review before using. Spoke with Customer Service Rep. after receiving an online quote/fixed price from Home Adviser ($185.33) which included a 15% discount which required me to entered my credit card information (too good to be true).

I asked the rep if the quote/fixed price was total cost of the job because I was reluctant to give my credit card information based on a quote/fixed price of a job sight unseen, granted I had called a couple of plumbers to get a few quotes prior to receiving Home Advisor (bogus) quote.

The rep stated that Home Adviser stood by the quote but that she could also provide plumbers in area and have them contact me for a quote, because she knew I didn't feel that a plumber could/would do the job for the price that was submitted to me.

I did select a plumber to come out to see the job and give me a legitimate quote for the job. I decided to go with the plumber and he did a great job.($600.00). I was billed but did not receive a discount, so I contacted Home Adviser again to ask why discount was not applied?

After talking to a rep and a supervisor, I was told that I hired the plumber directly and that the discount is not applicable. I had to be a member to receive the discount and fixed price. I had the option to come back after receiving quotes from plumbers and sign up.

Stay away from Homeadvisor. Never use this company!
December 13, 2020

Avoid this company. Scheduled a chimney cleaning. They postponed 3 times. Had to get someone else to come out. Informed them to cancel service They charged my credit card $481.00 anyway for a service that I cancelled and they never performed. And they will not refund the money. Dishonest company.

Late breaking news . They finally refunded my credit card, Yea!

HowardBrown June 12, 2021

They also screw their contractors.

Do not deal with HomeAdvisor, it’s a bait and switch scam!
December 10, 2020

Once you agree to the quote HomeAdvisor debits your debit card or charges your credit card before the work has begun and before a repairman, contractor, etc. arrives!

Upon arrival, you are quoted another fee by the person chosen and sent by HomeAdvisor! The fee charged by HomeAdvisor is not refundable, I had to pay twice!

They don’t post all reviews
November 21, 2020
I would give them 0 stars if I could. Be advised they DO NOT as a policy post negatives reviews for a contractor. They will only post positive reviews so if you have a problem with a contractor and they did nothing to resolve it and ripped you off, they will not post that.

They are rip off artists
November 20, 2020

Unbelievable these crooks are a scam artist from the word GO! Requested a plumbing job on a kitchen sink.

They programmed 2 plumbing companies to show up I cancelled one of them on the app thinking that would take care of it, as the first contractor completed the job and charged me on my credit card, the following day Home Advisor charged me for the contractor that was cancelled saying he completed the job, after spend 30 minutes with a rep on the phone she refused to return the charged monies as they had my credit information.

I asked to speak to her supervisor who she said would call me back, waited 3 hours called them again and same story supervisor was busy with other customers, now I have to stop payment on credit card and request a new card, this is obscene, Checked the Better Business site for other complaints on Home Advisor and found none except for this site to vent my frustration.

Scam
October 14, 2020
Will not put supervisors on phone. No call backs. Fake leads and never stop charging you. Even when leads turned off. 1700 in and no help. The last guy I talked to hung up. Get service! All he did was repeat what I said.

I was Home Advisor Pro TRASHHH
September 9, 2020
I wish I could give Zero Stars this service is just a scam. Stay away from this. They charge you for non existing leads that you cant't even communicate with and the charge you very expensive

Previous Home Advisor Pro
September 8, 2020
If you are a Pro do yourself a favor and spend your money elsewhere. This company will screw you every way to Sun. Bogus 150 dollar leads they will not credit. Plan to wait on hold for 15 to 30 min to try to resolve issues. If you don’t pay for their completely bogus leads they turn you into collection. Total crap company

Home Advisor
March 28, 2020
I cant't even begin to write all the complaints I have against them. I was notified by phone, about their services, and how wonderful they seemed to be. Had I not taken their service that day, at a supposed discount rate of 287.00 that day, it would be higher to join the membership. Then I was told, I would be only billed 10.00 and up, depending on the size of the job that I did. It was a total scam!! I explained to my ADVISOR LEADER, that I was going in for surgery, and could not do any business currently. My Advisor told me not to worry, nothing would happen until I was ready. Well, by a week later, my bank account was debited, 508.00. I called and complained, of course, got the run around.they started sending me blury messages, which was unadudable, and because it was a voice mail, you couldnt reply to them to say no.every time this happened, they charged my account,I had to cancel my debit card, to get them out of my account. then, they wanted my customer info, which now, I'm worried, they tried to steer them to this bogas business. this corp. ought to be brought down, and jailed for their fradulant practices!! total garbage!! Please, don't fall for them, you will regret it!!!

HomeAdvisor mis-advises service providers and scams homeowners
February 28, 2020

Unfortunately HomeAdvisor is currently receiving 4.5 stars by 1,886 reviewers on another site.

Every one of the reviews that I read on this site were submitted by satisfied homeowners that were pleased with the services they received from service providers and NOT necessarily from their experience with HomeAdvisor. It seems that homeowners are largely unaware that HomeAdvisor is scamming vendors at their expense.

Upon looking over the HomeAdvisor.com website to see if their service would benefit my home inspection company I received very little information and was required to provide all my contact information in order to learn more. I was contacted with a sales pitch that promised to provide leads that were represented as guaranteed prospects. I was required to pay over $500 to join. Through the registration process I provided detailed information about the services that I provide. These details were to be shared by HomeAdvisor with homeowners inquiring about my services when they were referred to my business.

I understood that I would be charged between $12 and to $20 per referral. I was required to provide my checking account information so that all fees could be drafted from my account. These fees were considered payment for leads that would generate opportunities for my business. In the first week I received 11 empty leads and $215 in drafts from my checking account. The leads turned out to be nothing more than general inquiries about my services, information that homeowners should have already received from HomeAdvisor upon referral to my company.

I requested that my relationship with HomeAdvisor be terminated immediately. I had to jump through many hoops to cancel. For weeks fees continued to draft from my account to HomeAdvisor, even after I believed my membership was cancelled. 2 years later I still receive sales calls from HomeAdvisor urging my return at a "discounted rate."

During one of these calls I expressed my dissatisfaction with the fees that are charged for less than promising leads. The representative's answer to this was,"well, all you have to do is

charge off the fees you paid for the empty leads to the next lead that contracts your services." I explained to him that I don't do business that way and I am not going to charge my clients for HomeAdvisor's empty promises. I was no longer interested, and I did not want to receive any further calls.

The calls continue. Most recently I answered a call from yet another representative and tried to explain that, "now is not a good time for me; I am in the middle of an inspection." to which he replied, "well what about the other 16 times that I have tried to call you?"

HomeAdvisor generates expensive empty leads for service providers and then encourages them to pass these expenses off to the homeowner in the form of hire costs for services. Homeowners believe that HomeAdvisor is looking out for their interests; in reality HomeAdvisor is a business and a higher quantity of providers paying for a higher amount of referrals is much more important to their bottom line than the best interests of their homeowners.

Based on my experience Home Advisor is not representing service providers as promised and they are not operating in the best interest of homeowners.

Home Advisor is a rip off for both homeowners and vendors.

RobertAllen January 22, 2021

I signed up.

Got a bunch of bogus leads.

Protested charge with credit card company while it was a pending charge - US Bank would not allow charge to be protested.