HomeAdvisor.com Reviews

HomeAdvisor.com
( 40 reviews )

HomeAdvisor.com is a website which claims to have helped over 25 million homeowners find trusted home improvement and repair pros and requires absolutely no membership fee at any time.

The HomeAdvisor Pro Finder claims to be easy to use, with just three easy steps to find a service provider. First, you select the project category that best matches your repair or improvement need. You may be asked follow up questions to ensure that you are being directed to the right professional for your job.

After you have submitted you information, you will receive information on up to four different pre-screened, local home improvement professionals. Finally, these providers will either contact you, or you can access their contact information in order to get in touch with them on your schedule.

They promise that their service providers have passed a rigorous criminal and financial background check. In addition, if you have any complaints about the service you have received, you can file your complaints with HomeAdvisor.com, as well as post a rating and review, not unlike Angie’s List, a similar provider website.

HomeAdvisor also offers additional tools to their users to help them choose the right service provider. One of these is The Cost Guide, which allows you to see the local and national average costs for projects like the one you have.

Others include the Resource Center, which includes guides to projects you may be considering so you can better understand the scope and depth of what might be needed, or the Home911 App. This is a mobile app which gives you 24/7 access to emergency repair providers if you should ever need it.

You will never pay any fees for the matching services provided by this website. All fees are paid by the professionals who are recommended to you, since they have been provided with new client leads.

If you have any experience with HomeAdvisor.com or their products, please leave your reviews below.

HomeAdvisor.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Twice the Price For Labor
October 22, 2021

Sometimes when there is no one local willing to do a job it becomes necessary to expand the search for a contractor willing to do the job. To expand my search I reached out to home advisor and they sent someone out who decided not to do the job. The second person (two people) did the job.

The work was adequate using locally sourced materials rather than prefabbed parts as originally planned. The low rating is not for the work even though one of the metal panels has a wrinkle from being bent and back which hurts the appearance from the ground slightly. The low rating is for the billing practices of Home Advisor. There is a charge called a "booking charge" which I thought was for the price of the job including materials.

Later I found out that the booking charge was only for labor. About half of the booking charge actually went for payment of the labor. So half of the booking charge is profit for Home Advisor. If you want to pay double what the job would cost with a regular contractor then Home Advisor will be glad to take your money.

I guess Home Advisor does not grasp the concept of a reasonable profit. I will not be using their services again because they have priced themselves out of a job. I also believe that their wording borders on deceptive billing practices which are unclear.

That I would not recommend that company to anybody.
October 8, 2021

I have been using Dar Lawn Care & Landscape beginning last summer and they did a good job. Then the last two or three he has been nasty with me. He came to do my yard and I saw him breaking up some of sticks in my yard and putting in over the fence so I asked him why he was not taking them since he did last year and he said that he wasn't going to do them this year because of the size of his truck and the cost.

Last year he charged me and this summer $30.00 for the branch removal, raking the leaves and moving my yard. He never told me that it was just a service for last year. Then he started to leave and I asked him if he was still going to mow my grass and he said yes.

He asked my if my daughter could move her car and shed was getting ready to and she looked out of the window and gave her a dirty look and I looked out the window and he went and got in his truck and left without mowing my grass or anything. Also I always paid my bill each month.

Be aware of smooth talkers, investigate, investigate, investigate.
September 27, 2021

This complaint is for misrepresentation of product installed at 3920 Milky Way Court by Cruz and Co. Construction. Synthetic grass (Pro Green 1, 639 sq. ft.) purchased ($2.20 sq. ft.) and installed ($2.20 sq. ft.) invoiced for $7100.00 plus $400.in sales tax.

By switching the product, the company availed itself to $800.00 or more in profit at my expense. This is outright fraud and deceptive trade practices. Cruz and Co. Construction switched the product to an inferior product which cost $1.85 per sq. ft. The tenant suspected a bait and switch after using the backyard with her kids.

Also, the installation/workmanship is below average to average. Confirmed that Carlos Cruz did not install product that was paid for when sample was taken to an independent distributor who sells the product and admitted that Carlos Cruz is a customer. Contacted the company and this was his text reply verbatim, “I called my attorney and He said for you to go for it take your best shot we been here before. Turf pros are distributers I don't work for them you bought from me not from them I can rename my product how ever I want and price it up whatever I want .. if I sold it by their price no one would be in Business. I have to pick it up drop it off so I have to charge what it takes so By all means Do what you want and waste your time.”

Nothing was ever mentioned of an additional price. Cruz did not use the product quoted in his receipt or in his estimate. Recommend not to use this company, if you do be very suspicious of any product installed.

They sell leads from companies that pay to list.
August 21, 2021
They sell leads for contractors that sign up with them. That should tell you all you need to know. I needed a plumber and one I was referred to via FB had dozens of five star reviews. It all sounds good until I checked the Better Business Burea. No record but his previous plumber concern was sketchy.

Jo September 23, 2021

They also scam on credit fix it. Don't but into it.

Home Advisor does not deliver as promised.
August 19, 2021

They suck!

I requested a Plumber from them recently. They sent a Handyman. He did the best he could, but I NEEDED a Plumber. I am disappointed that they didn't take more time to focus on my needs and get me the right contractor. I think they keep both the customer as well as the contractor in the dark as to what is needed /required for the job. Consequently, things just are not done to completion.

e.g., the spout that was put on my bathtub fell off after a couple of uses. My 70-yr old sister was able to fix it for me.

Some things were done fine. Some were not. It too a lot longer than they indicated.

They have been a real disappointment. I will make sure I let everyone know.

Be warned before you use this company!
August 2, 2021
I've been a homeowner for 50 years and this is the WORST SERVICE I've ever experienced! Made appointment, contractor cancelled. Made 2nd appointment, contractor didn't understand what was needed. Not surprising, since Home advisor gives you a multiple-choice form to fill out but no opportunity to supply details. The contractor comes in blind. Then, when I cancelled, they only will refund 50% of the charge!

Horrible Customer Service
August 1, 2021

DO NOT USE HOME ADVISOR! Had broken garage door spring and used Home Advisor to book an appointment. Follow up emails from Home Advisor stated repair would take place on a Saturday, which I had plans.

The email gave links to open my account, but the link did not work. Attempted to open account from the website ad said I need a password. Called customer service twice, they sent another email to reset password. The links inside the email did not work either. Called customer service again and was told someone would call me back to reset password and I had to change appointment on the website. No one called back and I rearranged my plans for scheduled Saturday repair.

About 1 hour prior to scheduled time for service person to show up, received an email advising the repair person would be there and rescheduled till Monday. The reason in the email was the repair person had an emergency. Upon calling customer service I was told reason for cancellation was they were unable to locate any garage door repair persons in my area.

Cleaners
July 26, 2021
I contracted to have someone clean my mother’s home a few days ago. They were supposed to show up at 10:00 am this morning. Her house is empty and has been sold with the closing in 3 days. Today is the only day I had available to meet the cleaning crew. Well they didn’t show up. I contacted Home advisor. They scheduled another crew at 1:00 pm. Another no show. Long story short, no one showed up and after many e-mails back and forth Home Advisor sent me a message at 3:30 cancelling the contract saying no one was coming. I took off work for this and wasted a complete day and now have no time to get the house cleaned before closing unless I go do it myself after work.

Don't use their service!
June 28, 2021
This is the biggest scam I have ever seen. They get a person to supposedly work on your dishwasher, but never shows up. Then they take the payment out of your account. When you call back to get your money back, they send you to a third world speaker and not the person who is suppose to work on your appliance. I wish I never did this and want my money back. However, they keep transferring you away.

They will destroy your property.
June 25, 2021

I wish I had checked reviews before hiring them to mow my lawn. The best way to describe the damage they did is to actually show you: https://i.imgur.com/qwt7Z0n.jpg

The blades were unbalanced, they scalped the grass down to the dirt, and they drove figure 8's on my lawn. I've never seen anything like it.

I gave them a poor review, and HomeAdvisor sent me an automated E-Mail saying, "Your experience matters" from a "bot" named "Laura" pretending to care. I responded with the pictures showing what happened and... Nothing. After two weeks, zero response, but HomeAdvisor DID bump up the amount of spam mail they're sending me to get me to buy in to their other scams.

I've cancelled my account with them, and will NEVER recommend anyone use them. They absolutely DO NOT CARE about customers, or quality. Only about what money they can scam you out of.

Home Owner
May 16, 2021

This company should be shut down. They only care about the bottom line. They gave a

quote and charged me more than that. They didn't finish the job but still charged me. They told the contractor there won't be any parts but he said he couldn't fix it without parts.

Homeadvisor didn't tell me parts weren't included. I would think twice before using this company. Should have read the reviews first. Wouldn't have used them. STOP! THINK ABOUT IT! DON`T DO IT! YOU WILL BE SORRY!

HowardBrown June 12, 2021

I totally agree. I am a contractor and they scammed us of a lot of money. They tell Contractors have the option to take a project or hit a button that says I do not want that project. I hit the button many times because the job was too small or too far away. They charged my credit card anyway. When I called about this they said that I was set up differently. A PURE LIE! Contractors Beware.

HowardBrown June 12, 2021

They are a sorry Company.

STAY AWAY!!!!!
March 24, 2021

If I could give ZERO stars, I would. They are a terrible company to work with and have a horrible business model. They sell a "lead" which is a customer looking for some type of remodeling or construction work to as many contractors in the area who have to pay for these "leads".

Then the contractor has to spend their time bidding against countless other contractors to fight for the job. It has nothing to do with reputation or how good of a contractor you are and boils down to who will do it the cheapest.

Contractors who want to play this game typically just come out and give as basic of a quote as possible, typically just a line item or two with a price. A quality contractor will provide a detailed proposal with their quote price and take their time to understand the project and vision in order to provide a well thought out scope. Don't expect that through Home Advisor.

As a customer looking for getting bids, do a little more research online, search for some local general contractors in your area who specialize in whatever type of project you are looking to do. You can even use Yelp or Google Maps.

Whatever you do, stay FAR AWAY from Home Advisor, they are a complete and utter waste of time.

Unfair Practices
March 13, 2021

I was scheduled for a 1:00 appt. And my maid said she would be 1/2 hr. Late. You may reschedule or cancel any appointment 24 hours in advance for FREE. However, there is a $15 fee 2–24 hours before the job starts; inside of 2 hrs, the full booking amount is charged.

After over two hrs I called and was told there would be no kind of discount and they would only reschedule since the workers have a FOUR hr window.

The person I talked to was rude and didn't care about my inconvenience, only was told " they can be up to FOUR hrs. Late because that's their window " This is unacceptable for business practices where the customer will always be at fault. I will now have to post this across every social media platform I can.

Buyer Beware (Bait and Switch)
February 12, 2021

Wished I'd taken the time to review before using. Spoke with Customer Service Rep. after receiving an online quote/fixed price from Home Adviser ($185.33) which included a 15% discount which required me to entered my credit card information (too good to be true).

I asked the rep if the quote/fixed price was total cost of the job because I was reluctant to give my credit card information based on a quote/fixed price of a job sight unseen, granted I had called a couple of plumbers to get a few quotes prior to receiving Home Advisor (bogus) quote.

The rep stated that Home Adviser stood by the quote but that she could also provide plumbers in area and have them contact me for a quote, because she knew I didn't feel that a plumber could/would do the job for the price that was submitted to me.

I did select a plumber to come out to see the job and give me a legitimate quote for the job. I decided to go with the plumber and he did a great job.($600.00). I was billed but did not receive a discount, so I contacted Home Adviser again to ask why discount was not applied?

After talking to a rep and a supervisor, I was told that I hired the plumber directly and that the discount is not applicable. I had to be a member to receive the discount and fixed price. I had the option to come back after receiving quotes from plumbers and sign up.

Stay away from Homeadvisor. Never use this company!
December 13, 2020

Avoid this company. Scheduled a chimney cleaning. They postponed 3 times. Had to get someone else to come out. Informed them to cancel service They charged my credit card $481.00 anyway for a service that I cancelled and they never performed. And they will not refund the money. Dishonest company.

Late breaking news . They finally refunded my credit card, Yea!

HowardBrown June 12, 2021

They also screw their contractors.

Do not deal with HomeAdvisor, it’s a bait and switch scam!
December 10, 2020

Once you agree to the quote HomeAdvisor debits your debit card or charges your credit card before the work has begun and before a repairman, contractor, etc. arrives!

Upon arrival, you are quoted another fee by the person chosen and sent by HomeAdvisor! The fee charged by HomeAdvisor is not refundable, I had to pay twice!

They don’t post all reviews
November 21, 2020
I would give them 0 stars if I could. Be advised they DO NOT as a policy post negatives reviews for a contractor. They will only post positive reviews so if you have a problem with a contractor and they did nothing to resolve it and ripped you off, they will not post that.

They are rip off artists
November 20, 2020

Unbelievable these crooks are a scam artist from the word GO! Requested a plumbing job on a kitchen sink.

They programmed 2 plumbing companies to show up I cancelled one of them on the app thinking that would take care of it, as the first contractor completed the job and charged me on my credit card, the following day Home Advisor charged me for the contractor that was cancelled saying he completed the job, after spend 30 minutes with a rep on the phone she refused to return the charged monies as they had my credit information.

I asked to speak to her supervisor who she said would call me back, waited 3 hours called them again and same story supervisor was busy with other customers, now I have to stop payment on credit card and request a new card, this is obscene, Checked the Better Business site for other complaints on Home Advisor and found none except for this site to vent my frustration.

Scam
October 14, 2020
Will not put supervisors on phone. No call backs. Fake leads and never stop charging you. Even when leads turned off. 1700 in and no help. The last guy I talked to hung up. Get service! All he did was repeat what I said.

I was Home Advisor Pro TRASHHH
September 9, 2020
I wish I could give Zero Stars this service is just a scam. Stay away from this. They charge you for non existing leads that you cant't even communicate with and the charge you very expensive