HomeAdvisor.com Reviews

HomeAdvisor.com
( 24  Reviews )



Write a Review

About HomeAdvisor.com

HomeAdvisor.com is a website which claims to have helped over 25 million homeowners find trusted home improvement and repair pros and requires absolutely no membership fee at any time.

The HomeAdvisor Pro Finder claims to be easy to use, with just three easy steps to find a service provider. First, you select the project category that best matches your repair or improvement need. You may be asked follow up questions to ensure that you are being directed to the right professional for your job.

After you have submitted you information, you will receive information on up to four different pre-screened, local home improvement professionals. Finally, these providers will either contact you, or you can access their contact information in order to get in touch with them on your schedule.

They promise that their service providers have passed a rigorous criminal and financial background check. In addition, if you have any complaints about the service you have received, you can file your complaints with HomeAdvisor.com, as well as post a rating and review, not unlike Angie’s List, a similar provider website.

HomeAdvisor also offers additional tools to their users to help them choose the right service provider. One of these is The Cost Guide, which allows you to see the local and national average costs for projects like the one you have.

Others include the Resource Center, which includes guides to projects you may be considering so you can better understand the scope and depth of what might be needed, or the Home911 App. This is a mobile app which gives you 24/7 access to emergency repair providers if you should ever need it.

You will never pay any fees for the matching services provided by this website. All fees are paid by the professionals who are recommended to you, since they have been provided with new client leads.

If you have any experience with this website, please leave your HomeAdvisor.com reviews below.

24 ‘HomeAdvisor.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

They don’t post all reviews

November 21, 2020

I would give them 0 stars if I could. Be advised they DO NOT as a policy post negatives reviews for a contractor. They will only post positive reviews so if you have a problem with a contractor and they did nothing to resolve it and ripped you off, they will not post that.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

They are rip off artists

November 20, 2020

Unbelievable these crooks are a scam artist from the word GO! Requested a plumbing job on a kitchen sink, They programmed 2 plumbing companies to show up I cancelled one of them on the app thinking that would take care of it, as the first contractor completed the job and charged me on my credit card, the following day Home Advisor charged me for the contractor that was cancelled saying he completed the job, after spend 30 minutes with a rep on the phone she refused to return the charged monies as they had my credit information, I asked to speak to her supervisor who she said would call me back, waited 3 hours called them again and same story supervisor was busy with other customers, now I have to stop payment on credit card and request a new card, this is obscene, Checked the Better Business site for other complaints on Home Advisor and found none except for this site to vent my frustration.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Scam

October 14, 2020

Will not put supervisors on phone. No call backs. Fake leads and never stop charging you. Even when leads turned off. 1700 in and no help. The last guy I talked to hung up. Get service! All he did was repeat what I said.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

I was Home Advisor Pro TRASHHH

September 9, 2020

I wish I could give Zero Stars this service is just a scam. Stay away from this. They charge you for non existing leads that you cant even communicate with and the charge you very expensive

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Previous Home Advisor Pro

September 8, 2020

If you are a Pro do yourself a favor and spend your money elsewhere. This company will screw you every way to Sun. Bogus 150 dollar leads they will not credit. Plan to wait on hold for 15 to 30 min to try to resolve issues. If you don’t pay for their completely bogus leads they turn you into collection. Total crap company

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Home Advisor

March 28, 2020

I cant even begin to write all the complaints I have against them. I was notified by phone, about their services, and how wonderful they seemed to be. Had I not taken their service that day, at a supposed discount rate of 287.00 that day, it would be higher to join the membership. Then I was told, I would be only billed 10.00 and up, depending on the size of the job that I did. It was a total scam!! I explained to my ADVISOR LEADER, that I was going in for surgery, and could not do any business currently. My Advisor told me not to worry, nothing would happen until I was ready. Well, by a week later, my bank account was debited, 508.00. I called and complained, of course, got the run around.they started sending me blury messages, which was unadudable, and because it was a voice mail, you couldnt reply to them to say no.every time this happened, they charged my account,I had to cancel my debit card, to get them out of my account. then, they wanted my customer info, which now, Im worried, they tried to steer them to this bogas business. this corp. ought to be brought down, and jailed for their fradulant practices!! total garbage!! Please, dont fall for them, you will regret it!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

HomeAdvisor mis-advises service providers and scams homeowners

February 28, 2020

Unfortunately HomeAdvisor is currently receiving 4.5 stars by 1,886 reviewers on another site.

Every one of the reviews that I read on this site were submitted by satisfied homeowners that were pleased with the services they received from service providers and NOT necessarily from their experience with HomeAdvisor. It seems that homeowners are largely unaware that HomeAdvisor is scamming vendors at their expense.

Upon looking over the HomeAdvisor.com website to see if their service would benefit my home inspection company I received very little information and was required to provide all my contact information in order to learn more. I was contacted with a sales pitch that promised to provide leads that were represented as guaranteed prospects. I was required to pay over $500 to join. Through the registration process I provided detailed information about the services that I provide. These details were to be shared by HomeAdvisor with homeowners inquiring about my services when they were referred to my business.

I understood that I would be charged between $12 and to $20 per referral. I was required to provide my checking account information so that all fees could be drafted from my account. These fees were considered payment for leads that would generate opportunities for my business. In the first week I received 11 empty leads and $215 in drafts from my checking account. The leads turned out to be nothing more than general inquiries about my services, information that homeowners should have already received from HomeAdvisor upon referral to my company.

I requested that my relationship with HomeAdvisor be terminated immediately. I had to jump through many hoops to cancel. For weeks fees continued to draft from my account to HomeAdvisor, even after I believed my membership was cancelled. 2 years later I still receive sales calls from HomeAdvisor urging my return at a "discounted rate."

During one of these calls I expressed my dissatisfaction with the fees that are charged for less than promising leads. The representative's answer to this was,"well, all you have to do is
charge off the fees you paid for the empty leads to the next lead that contracts your services." I explained to him that I don't do business that way and I am not going to charge my clients for HomeAdvisor's empty promises. I was no longer interested, and I did not want to receive any further calls.

The calls continue. Most recently I answered a call from yet another representative and tried to explain that, "now is not a good time for me; I am in the middle of an inspection." to which he replied, "well what about the other 16 times that I have tried to call you?"

HomeAdvisor generates expensive empty leads for service providers and then encourages them to pass these expenses off to the homeowner in the form of hire costs for services. Homeowners believe that HomeAdvisor is looking out for their interests; in reality HomeAdvisor is a business and a higher quantity of providers paying for a higher amount of referrals is much more important to their bottom line than the best interests of their homeowners.

Based on my experience Home Advisor is not representing service providers as promised and they are not operating in the best interest of homeowners.

Home Advisor is a rip off for both homeowners and vendors.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Home advisor is scum

February 19, 2020

stay far away. they kept charging me when I turned off site... then called dept collectors. there scum

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Service Providers Beware

January 14, 2020

Service Providers Beware. Home Advisor will charge you $50-$100 (or more depending on your location) for the name and "phone number" of a potential lead even if you contact the lead on several occasions and they never return your phone call. In the beginning you are led to believe you can request a credit for these leads, however you later find out that unreturned calls/messages and/or a homeowner deciding that they don't want to do the project are not reasons for a refund. This is a major scam and I would highly advise any designers, engineers, architects, contractors, etc. avoid using this service.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

rude and fake

December 18, 2019

home advisor calls me 3 to 4 times a day. floods my email with advertisement. when I ask them to stop they just hang up on me. I sick of it. please do yourself a favor and don't ever contact them. Rude
Rude Rude

February 19, 2020

Home Advisor is the worst company out there. I turned off there service on the site. kept giving me leads. ... they had crdit collectors trying to get my money...
There scum

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

What the home owner dose not know

October 15, 2019

HomeAdvisor is selling already sold leads and CHARGING the CONTRACTOR!!!!!
HomeAdvisor is (PRETENDING) BY USING local company DOMAINS on the internet AS THE CONTRACTOR by saying when you call and they pick up the phone that HOME-ADVISOR is a PARTNER OF THE FACTITIOUS COMPANY THEY ARE CLAIMING TO BE PARTNERS WITH....
ALSO by FALSIFYING BEING A COMPANY THEY ARE NOT,IT IS GENERATING MORE FALSE INTERNET TRACTION

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Home Advisor

August 18, 2019

If you are a small business and have the finances to just be able to flush them down the toilet, then please sign up for this service. That is what it is like.

Nine out of ten leads, which you are charged for, and you are charged for all of them, are either bad or fake or even recycled. In fact all sights of this sort are the same. To bad that people have stopped reading newspaper. I had much better results because people had to respond to the add themselves by phone. Nothing is anonymous.

It is a free service for the people on line that are looking for services but as the consumer at Home Advisor,the one who pays their bills can make a complaint about a lead being a bad one your request for credit seems to fall on dead ears. They LOVE nothing but money and as a consumer of Home Advisor, they seem only think the money and not their clients,you.

This business should be rated zero for customer service and lack of good attitude towards their customers.

So...if you have money to flush or like abuse from someone you pay for a service, by all means, enroll in this service.

For me, it has been nothing but frustration and financially a disaster!!!!!

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Don't every use Home Advisor

July 11, 2019

Signed up in January after pushy salesperson kept hounding me to join as a carpet cleaning contractor. Told me leads would be $12 - 20 each depending on size of job. Also told me that if I didn't do a job or get the job when I called the customer, I could get a refund of the leads. HA well that never happened. I found out after 2 weeks when I was billed for leads that I was billed for every lead I got, even when customer's did not respond back after calls and emails thru the homeadvisor system, even when customers told me they didn't put in a lead to have carpets cleaned. The leads price was almost double what the rep told me on every lead. The percentage of jobs came out to making as much money as I was being charged - not a way to stay in business. I called customer service and complained - told them the rep said I wouldn't have to pay for any leads I didn't do the job for and then found out that not only was I getting charged, but I could see they sent the same lead to 2, 3 or 4 other contractors who were all getting charged the same lead fee as me - so home advisor was making up to $120 on one lead. Customer service told me it was my fault for not calling back customers within 10 minutes of the lead notification - hard to do when you are out on jobs providing great customer service to that current customer. Told her price is double what I was told and she apologized for inept sales rep. Then I said I wanted to cancel account and she said I could only cancel with refund within 7 days of sign up which the sales rep just so happened to forget to tell me - which she apologized for again. What a rip off company. They never did get the last payment for all my leads as I froze my credit card so it wouldn't get charged. Don't ever sign up with them unless you like to throw away your hard earned money.

August 18, 2019

As a business owner I agree completely with this person

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

contractor

April 4, 2019

they are scam they took your money to give you wrong lead or not correct information or lead from someone else do not waste your money someone from government need to check them out

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

RACKETT!

November 12, 2018

Keep in mind that I've become entirely frustrated by their BS. As a consumer you should know that they charge the contractor for each referral sent regardless of outcome. The scenario I've experienced again and again is they send referrals during the weekend which is way outside of my posted hours of operation and still collect a substantial fee upwards of $15 each. They've also collected fees for other contractors for the very same referral!! This is after the initial fee of $347.98 to join with promises of qualified leads galore. Their explanation to me is that is my fault for pausing my leads just before the weekend, that made the leads turn on automatically 2 days later on Sunday.
I smell a class action suit coming. Shame on what was the very reputable Angie's List, for selling out to this Racket.

View all 2 Comments
January 16, 2019

Yes! I had a very similar experience. I was give numerous bad leads as well as multiple leads being sent to unqualified competitors. When I refuted the charges with my credit company, Home Advisor turn my account over to an outside collection agency, which put me deeper in the hole. I also realized that Angie's List web portal sends unwitting consumers directly to Home Advisor bypassing paying Angie's List providers completely. As a paid Angie's List advertiser, I was getting ripped on both end. Stay away from this fraudulent company!!!!!!!!

August 18, 2019

Agree. Shut this business down

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review