GoodRx.com Reviews

GoodRx.com
( 16 reviews )
Website: www.GoodRx.com

GoodRx, found online at GoodRx.com, is a company who states their aim is to help American citizens be informed about their prescription drug purchases so that they can get the best prices at the pharmacy.

How Does GoodRx Work?

According to their website, prescription drugs cost far too much in the United States, resulting in almost half of Americans having difficulty paying for the prescription medication they are prescribed, and 25% of Americans avoiding filling their prescriptions all together.

In fact, the number one reason Americans do not follow a medication routine recommended by their doctor is cost. 

But the truth is that prices for prescription drugs can vary widely depending on the pharmacy that you go to, because U.S drug prices are neither fixed nor regulated.

GoodRx gives people the ability to compare drug prices from different pharmacies in your local area, print free coupons, and save up to 80%.

When you search the name of the drug on their website, you will be shown the comparative prices from all the pharmacies in your area, and will be able to download a coupon which will provide you legal access to a contracted prescription drug access based on agreements made between your pharmacy and a Pharmacy Benefit Manager.

If the pharmacist you choose has trouble processing the coupon or if they refuse to honor it, you can contact GoodRx at 888-277-3911 and most problems will be able to be addressed quickly, according to their website. 

Mobile Options

GoodRx does provide a mobile application for iOS and Android devices, for people who may ever need to find discounts or pharmacies while on the go.  

Cost/Price Plans

This website isn’t an online or foreign pharmacy and doesn’t actually sell anything at all at this time. All the information they provide is free, the coupons they provide are free to download, and the phone service they provide in case of problems is free to use as well.

Refund Policy

Since this company does not provide any services or products for sale, they do not offer any Refund Policy for their customers. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to contact Customer Service with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 888-799-2553 or by submitting them directly to their website through their Contact Us link. 

GoodRx Reputation

We found that this company has many positive reviews online, most of which come from people who were prescribed a medication not covered by their insurance and company and yet were still able to get it at a reasonable price using the coupons available from GoodRx.com.

Though they are clearly the minority, there are some negative reviews posted online about this company, with people angry that the coupons were either not accepted at the pharmacy they went to, or that the discount they received was not as good as advertised.

However, it does seem that some of the fault with these problems lies with the pharmacies themselves, as some customers reported calling ahead to make sure the coupon was taken, but then it was denied when they arrived.

The most troublesome reviews with this website have to do with the phone number they provide their customers to call if the pharmacy is having a problem taking their coupon. Some customers complained that this number was worthless because they were placed on hold for so long, it just became too bothersome to wait. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

When it comes to prescription drugs, often times the pharmaceutical companies themselves will offer a coupon on their website.

Many times simply asking your doctor for a more affordable alternative can go a long way toward helping patients save money, but there is another mobile app called WeRx which offers a similar service to GoodRx.  

If you have any experience with GoodRx or their services, please leave your reviews below.

See Also: Do Coupon Sites and Savings Apps Actually Work?

You may also be interested in

GoodRx.com Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Incredible FREE Service!
September 20, 2020

Good RX consistently out performs my Silver Script prescription insurance.

You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. It’s free!

About Negative Reviews: When I read the negative reviews I see people that have NO patience mostly. If you truly need to save money this free service is for you! Sometimes the pharmacy has to try several times to get the coupon to go through but in my case it always does. I have had to step aside while they work on it sometimes but the savings are incredible and if your on a limited income it’s a MUST!

My COSTCO pharmacy hates it and they are the only pharmacy I use that doesn’t accept the coupon prices always. I just transfer my script to one of my other pharmacies.

This is so good that it’s a form of income for me as dollars saved is dollars earned and you do not pay any taxes when they save you money like a job. So if you have lots of scripts this is for you (if your more patient than you have money)!

Insurance Adds the coupon
June 9, 2020

My insurance rider adds the goodrx coupon to what I pay at the pharmacy.

IMO, they’re both scams.

CVS did not honor their own quote
December 13, 2019

Yesterday I got 2 Good Rx coupons sent to my phone. Went right away to the pharmacy (CVS) and gave them my scripts and the coupons off my hone. Today I went back for pickup and was told one script had gone up 400% overnight.

The other was double what they had quoted me the day before. I went ahead and got the cheaper one because I was out, but I refused to pay the much higher price for the other. I have dealt with GoodRx before at Walmart without problems several times before for this same script, just wanted to avoid the crowds this near X-mas.

Richard February 18, 2020

I am constantly amazed at the amount of ignorant people that believe they are stating FACTS!! Many do not take the time to investigate and confirm. I worked in a pharmacy so I am knowledgeable "NOT"!!!! I saved money on three individuals prescriptions through GOOD RX!! I used Walmart Pharmacy, there was one of the drugs they did not have yet they ordered it!!!!! One of the issuers is the generic replacement!! ASK YOUR DOCTOR IF IT IS OK!!!!! DUH Many doctors do not have the pharmaceutical expertise that a pharmacist has!!!!!! People have an amazing amount of information available and yet I find a great deal do not utilize the resources or they do not pay attention to who or what is providing the information!! Not just one source, lok at a minimum of 3 or 4!!!! (This takes to much time??? DUH) EWho is providing the information??? Mayo Clinic,Cleveland clinic, probably reputable!!!! DUH A celebrity, probably "NOT"

Bob September 20, 2020

NEVER use CVS or COSTCO pharmacy as they hate GoodRX because they can't make as much money when you use GoodRX. Just transfer your script to the next pharmacy listed on Good RX app.

You need patience and to learn how to use this free service!

Carol September 17, 2021

I have no trouble with the Good RX at Walmart or Walgreens. Very helpful to know if your insurance is higher they can use the Good RX to make it cheaper. Very Very thankful.

Senior Citizens need to know about this and I have told several people and they are surprised at the money they can save. Thanks.

Americantired of India October 26, 2021

My family left CVS years ago due to service issues. As soon as I saw the cheaper prices as CVS, I figured I would pass on GoodRx even though I need the medicine and my insurance refuses to cover it.

Conflicting information on commercial
August 6, 2019

I've been seeing a commercial by goodrx that has a man who says, that with his great insurance and the discount by goodrx, he saves a lot.

At the bottom of the tv screen, it says that you can not combine your insurance with the discounted price. However, this man on the commercial talks about combining his insurance with the discounted price.

So which is it? I would think they would pay more attention to what the people are saying on their commercials.

GayleSmith Reid August 16, 2019

i have saved a lot of money on my meds also

Richard February 18, 2020

LETS FIND SOMETHING WRONG!!! DUH

I am constantly amazed at the amount of ignorant people that believe they are stating FACTS!! Many do not take the time to investigate and confirm. I worked in a pharmacy so I am knowledgeable "NOT"!!!! I saved money on three individuals prescriptions through GOOD RX!! I used Walmart Pharmacy, there was one of the drugs they did not have yet they ordered it!!!!! One of the issuers is the generic replacement!! ASK YOUR DOCTOR IF IT IS OK!!!!! DUH Many doctors do not have the pharmaceutical expertise that a pharmacist has!!!!!! People have an amazing amount of information available and yet I find a great deal do not utilize the resources or they do not pay attention to who or what is providing the information!! Not just one source, lok at a minimum of 3 or 4!!!! (This takes to much time??? DUH) EWho is providing the information??? Mayo Clinic,Cleveland clinic, probably reputable!!!! DUH A celebrity, probably "NOT"

Love this program!
July 19, 2019
WE ALWAYS save a ton of money with these coupons. We beat our insurance coverage price every single time. Love seeing the different prices and pharmacies to choose from. GoodRX really helps!

Not really a scam but false advertising for sure
June 1, 2019

I have been a regular user of Goodrx and have yet to get the advertised coupon for the lowest price at Walgreen's for the last four months for one of my drugs. I did find out why though. These coupons are for basically generic drugs and there are many distributors and manufacturers of the different drugs. Goodrx negotiates a price with a manufacturer but Walgreens doesn't always buy from the same manufacturer. One pharmacist told me he had no control over which manufacturer they can order from and cannot even special order it.

I complained to Goodrx Customer Service and the women called 6 different pharmacists in my area and none carried the drug from the manufacturer that the the coupon with the lowest price was for. I still was able to get it at half price but Goodrx should get their house in order with Walgreens. I am sure Walgreens has working relationships with all the distributors and may have a problem with favoring one company because they offer a lower rate to their customers. I am without insurance right now and it has save me money but they are too aggressive with their advertising and the so called lowest price.

Right now Goodrx deserves the criticism for their shaky coupon pricing. They know the deal is out there but getting Walgreens to supply it is another thing. Walgreens gets lots of free advertising to be so casual about not having the coupon price available. I suppose they also lose revenue due to shrinking percentages on the lower priced drugs. Goodrx is giving themselves a bad name with not being able give their customers a better chance of getting the low prices.

bevconnors June 08, 2019

you still got your meds at a good discount. but there always has to be ONE that has to complain . dont you have something else to do ?

Kameron Fulp December 11, 2019

Thank you for the honest review.

I worked in a pharmacy for a few years and it's not just Walgreens. I believe that all pharmacies act in this way.

It says a lot that you are still a customer and that you still get your drugs cheaper. I plan to sign up; my $1100/month Rx appears to be under $30/month at the highest price they have listed (mail order.

Richard February 18, 2020

I am constantly amazed at the amount of ignorant people that believe they are stating FACTS!! Many do not take the time to investigate and confirm. I worked in a pharmacy so I am knowledgeable "NOT"!!!! I saved money on three individuals prescriptions through GOOD RX!! I used Walmart Pharmacy, there was one of the drugs they did not have yet they ordered it!!!!! One of the issuers is the generic replacement!! ASK YOUR DOCTOR IF IT IS OK!!!!! DUH Many doctors do not have the pharmaceutical expertise that a pharmacist has!!!!!! People have an amazing amount of information available and yet I find a great deal do not utilize the resources or they do not pay attention to who or what is providing the information!! Not just one source, lok at a minimum of 3 or 4!!!! (This takes to much time??? DUH) EWho is providing the information??? Mayo Clinic,Cleveland clinic, probably reputable!!!! DUH A celebrity, probably "NOT"

Good Rx
May 5, 2019
I ordered my medication Glyburide 5mg 360count (3months) Walmart pharmacy said $83.00 Good rx said $51.43 with COUPON ( I thought card

GOODRX card holder
July 14, 2018

GoodRX is not a scam. Today I filled a prescription that would have cost me $723.92 without my GoodRX card. Using my GoodRX card the prescription was $128.57! Kroger will keep your card on file and it's good for your whole family. I don't know how they do it, but they do!!!

You can get on line and find out your discount before going to your favorite pharmacy. They will even tell you what pharmacy has the best price in your area. Walmart also excepts Good RX, they don't keep it on file like some pharmacies. This is not a scam, it will save you money and every little bit helps. Thank You GoodRX from a loyal customer

Most likely a scam(pharmacy viewpoint)
January 17, 2018

I work in a pharmacy and my pharmacy does not accept goodrx for two reasons. First goodrx does not pay us what they say they'll pay most of the time so they rip pharmacies off by giving false prices to us.

Second, we don't accept goodrx because it is clearly a scam. It is a company that can pay for advertising, employees, a website, an app, and say that they will cover part of your medication cost as well. Where do they get the money to keep goodrx going? That's simple. When we bill goodrx, goodrx gets your information electronically because we have to send it to them for billing. Then goodrx sells your information to others that want it. I highly doubt that some multimillionaire that own this company runs this company just to give away all his money for the good of others. So those are the two reasons we don't take goodrx. Use at your own risk. I know i wouldn't.

CharHumphreys July 14, 2018

I don'tbelieve GoodRX is a scam, they do exactly what they say, and they save me Alot!!! I filled a perscription today for 180 pills, to last for 3 months. Without my GodRX discount card they would cost me$723.57. With my discount card they cost me $128.57. Get your card and look up how much your meds will cost before going to your favorite pharmacy. I don't know how they do it, I nust know they do!!! Ever little bit Helps. Thank You GoodRX!!!! Chareene Humphreys

CharHumphreys July 14, 2018

Your customers are really missing out, that's sad

L JStringfello October 03, 2019

That has been my experience also. Card might be legit, but worthless if a pharmacy won't accept it.

Richard February 18, 2020

Amazing long review that is so incorrect it becomes amazing!!

Perfect example to investigate [email protected]!!!

I am constantly amazed at the amount of ignorant people that believe they are stating FACTS!! Many do not take the time to investigate and confirm. I worked in a pharmacy so I am knowledgeable "NOT"!!!! I saved money on three individuals prescriptions through GOOD RX!! I used Walmart Pharmacy, there was one of the drugs they did not have yet they ordered it!!!!! One of the issuers is the generic replacement!! ASK YOUR DOCTOR IF IT IS OK!!!!! DUH Many doctors do not have the pharmaceutical expertise that a pharmacist has!!!!!! People have an amazing amount of information available and yet I find a great deal do not utilize the resources or they do not pay attention to who or what is providing the information!! Not just one source, lok at a minimum of 3 or 4!!!! (This takes to much time??? DUH) EWho is providing the information??? Mayo Clinic,Cleveland clinic, probably reputable!!!! DUH A celebrity, probably "NOT"

Bob September 20, 2020

The person that left this review probably can't turn on a faucet!

" Review

Most likely a scam(pharmacy viewpoint)".

This is a great FREE service and is a must for low income people or folks who value their money. Learn how to use it and be patient. It's Free money!

JasonTaylor September 13, 2021

I don't go to your pharmacy, because I've been saving hundreds of dollars going where GoodRX tells me to go. Why should I pay you $500 for something that I can get for $50? I don't really care how it works. And everyone is giving their info and their face pics away all over the place. I'm a tech guy. They have way less of my info that they have of yours.

But now, your pharmacy doesn't have any of my money. And if your pharmacy won't accept it, transfer the script three miles away to one that will. The website tells you a half dozen or more places near you and how much they will charge with the coupon.

No one has as yet given a good explanation of how this works, but if I can pay one tenth the price for something at a legit pharmacy, why would I pay more?

Goodrx lives up to its name
December 5, 2017

My prescription at CVS was going to be $188 which I couldn't afford so I told the pharmacist I would have to come back(which I had no intention of doing because I didn't have the money). I was sitting in my car and figured I would see if I could find some kind of coupon on the internet and stumbled across goodrx which gave me a price of $29.

I was thinking this just sounds too good to be true but what do I have to lose. 5 minutes later I walked out of CVS with my prescription that I paid $29 for. Goodrx is the real deal!!

A Scam
November 8, 2017
Attempted to use, at Walmart, no discount. Paid almost double what the GoodRx site said. Don't waste your time.

CharHumphreys July 14, 2018

Change your pharmacy, you'll be glad you did!!!

JasonTaylor September 13, 2021

Try again, dude. It's pretty simple to do. You made a mistake. Look at all of us old people who did it right. We could buy airline tickets with the money we saved, but we just keep it in the bank for now, since we are afraid of you, because you won't wear a mask and you have delta.

Ripoff
October 28, 2017
Did all the things as instructed, verified prescription to insure match with the coupon, verified quantities, size, etc, etc. Walmart refused to honor the advertised goodrx price, just double the price. Contacted goodrx, no help, not even lip service. If you want to be ripped off use the coupon. Must be a kickback thing going on with Walmart. Oct 26 2017

ShaunaRussell November 07, 2017

This has been a life saver.. THANK YOU!

JasonTaylor September 13, 2021

Note that Roy C is unable to learn. Or, he's just a pharma rep. He's complained twice. The rest of us are banking big bucks. $297 scripts for $23? Yes. I'll take that.

There are some pharmacies that just do the coupons for you now, so you don't have to do anything at all. Those are the best.

Not Accepted anywhere!
September 19, 2016
Tried using the Good rx savings card and was told at three major drug stores that it was NOT ACCEPTED EVER. What a waste of time

CharHumphreys July 14, 2018

I have been using my card for over a year.Never been refused!!

The web site will tell you what pharmacies have the best prices in your area. Check them out yourself,you'll be glad you did!!!

JasonTaylor September 13, 2021

Learn how to use it. There are clear directions online. Read the manual. It's pretty simple.

Prices unfounded
May 2, 2016
Prices posted are unfounded and do not have any reimbursement to the pharmacy for suggested prices, so the price suggested is merely made up and used for marketing and to drive more visits to their site. Also, the only way to give a review is to sign up and give info out so the company can in turn do MORE marketing.

JasonTaylor September 13, 2021

Uhmm... really? I bring the coupon and pay the price on the coupon. you are flat out wrong. This thing saves me 90%, in general. How does it work? I don't know and don't care.

Did me no good, waste of time
April 18, 2016
Wasted time checking for deals for my husband and myself. 1st pharmacy - with the best 'deals' for my husband - does not accept their discount coupons at all. The second pharmacy, accepted the coupons but the prices were not as quoted on-line... $39.96 not $26.94, $16.62 not $12.98, and the worst one $110.74 not $22.32. My crappy insurance that does not really do much of anything until the deductible is met gave us better prices.

worked for me
March 3, 2016
one of my scripts would have been $298 with a $175 deductible through my ins co. with Goodrx the script only cost me 20.67. another would have been 20.50; with goodrx it was 13.51. i saved around $294 and i am a senior and couldn't be happier!

gary skinner March 31, 2016

whoever started this goodrx should be given a humanitatian award or something.we seniors are at the mercy of greedy pharmacuticals.and politicians are bought off so as to not put a cap or any kind of control.gw skinner

JasonTaylor September 13, 2021

This is typical of what I've found. The price is one-tenth. I have serious doubts my Medicare script plan is worth renewing. It's not paying for itself. Goodrx is paying for itself because it's costing me zero. And it can be done with zero infomation. Just print the coupons after checking for where you want to go. Transfer the script.