EcoHeat Heater Reviews

EcoHeat Heater
( 20 reviews )

Reviewopedia is supported by our readers. This page contains Amazon links through which we may earn a small commission for purchases.

The EcoHeat S heater is a portable ceramic space heater whose creators state aims to keep you warm while using 30% less energy than regular heaters.

The seller makes a lot of impressive claims about the unit’s capabilities and benefits.  The heater is also aggressively promoted by affiliate marketers.

Presumably this is because the seller is offering a high commission on the product due to a large mark-up.

How Does the EcoHeat Work?

EcoHeat creators state this portable unit uses innovative PTC Ceramic Technology to heat spaces and allows for rapid heating and efficient distribution, reducing energy costs to customers.

They also claim the unit is small, lightweight, and quiet unlike other portable heaters that emit annoying sounds while heating up, yet still packs a powerful punch while reducing energy consumption.

The specifications state that the its wattage is 650-1200 Watts, which is lower than the wattage of most commercial space heaters.

Perhaps the two most important features are its energy saving function and its auto shut off safety function.

The energy saver is intended to help you save money, while the importance of the safety feature cannot be overstated as portable space heaters present clear risks and are responsible for many house fires.

At first glance, this product sounds like a dream – it claims to keep your home warm and cozy without an exorbitant energy bill.

Unfortunately, the EcoHeat S is likely not a legitimate product, given that it is very difficult to find solid answers regarding the manufacture of the product.

The EcoHeat heater, or a very similar product, is also marketed under the name Top Heat Portable Heater using a nearly identical sales page.

While we cannot recommend this specific product, choosing the right space heater does not have to be difficult if you know the type of heater you're looking for.

Is the EcoHeat S Heater Legitimate?

There are currently multiple companies selling identical or very similar products under different names.  

The Alpha Heater and Amper Heat are two other examples of this.

The way these companies work is by purchasing these heaters wholesale from overseas sites, then rebranding them in conjunction with slick marketing campaigns.

They hope that people don’t take the time to research these heaters or look for online reviews.

If anyone takes the time to investigate this product you can find the unbranded versions (or something very similar) for sale on Amazon and Alibaba at a fraction of the cost.  

( Generic unbranded heater on AliBaba priced much lower )


Further, those units reveal that they are only 350 watt heaters.  The average modern space heater operates at 650 watts for a low temperature setting and at 1,500 watts at a high setting.

Therefore it’s safe to assume that the EcoHeat S is greatly underpowered.

Cost and Price Plans

The various EcoHeat S sales pages generally state that a single unit is normally priced at $178, but their 50% off discount brings that price down to $89.  The sales pages offer discounts for ordering multiple units. 

Additionally, the website promotions continually had pop-ups that offer further discounts (first a 10% discount and then a 15% discount, from what we found) bringing down final price for a single unit further.

Customer Service

It's difficult to get information regarding this company as the product is being sold on a large number of similar websites.

One of the websites, Hyperstech.com list the following contact information:

International: +44 20 3808 9234, available 24h
Brazil: +552135003992, available between 9:00am to 14:00pm, Monday to Friday (Brazil Time, GMT-5)

Email: [email protected]

Physical Address: Novads OU, Valukoja 22 11415 Tallinn Estonia

The return policy states that the company will issue a refund within 90 days of purchase if you are dissatisfied with your heater.

This is a generous return policy, but unfortunately, the lack of information available about the EcoHeat S makes it difficult to verify whether they will honor this policy.

The company has neither a BBB or other commercial profile to help us gather information about their customer service.

Online Customer Reviews & Complaints

You will find positive customer reviews about the EcoHeat S on their website, but unfortunately, that is the only place you will find them.

With the EcoHeat being the latest product name for this ceramic heater there isn’t much online feedback for this specific company. 

However the reviews for the other nearly identical products ( such as the Alpha Heater or the Amper Heater ) have many customer complaints.

Some customers claimed that the units were defective and quit working after several uses.  Others had issues with the power plug falling out of the outlets

Most commonly, customers felt that the unit did not provide enough heat to be worth the price.

Competitors and Alternatives

It’s always a safe bet to stick with established brands that have been manufacturing these types of products for years.  Low quality heaters are likely to be ineffective and could even pose a danger should they malfunction.

Some of the leading options for ceramic heaters include Lasko and Vornado, both of which make more powerful and longer lasting products than the EcoHeat.  

These options are also available from major retailers with proven customer satisfaction records.

The Vornado AVH10 Vortex Heater is one popular option. 

This efficient but powerful heater is a New York Times top pick and an Amazon’s choice selection.  It has the latest safety & comfort features and is reasonably priced as well.

The Bottom Line

Heating costs account for nearly a third of annual energy bills in the U.S.  This means that, on average, American households spend over $800.00 to heat their homes every year.

This makes it understandable why the idea of an energy saving household heater would be so appealing.

However, information about the the EcoHeat S heater is hard to come by, which makes it impossible for us to recommend.  We suggest skipping this purchase and finding another way to stay warm this winter.

If you have any experience with the EcoHeat S heater, please leave your reviews below.

See Also:  How to Choose the Right Type of Space Heater

You may also be interested in

EcoHeat Heater Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Always read reviews before purchasing
November 8, 2022

Had 2 bought and there was a problem with payment. I am still getting emails to say they have held them in my basket at the original price even though the special offer ended that night. I am glad I have read the above reviews. Lucky the payment didn’t go through.

Scam so beware
January 14, 2020
As several people have stated it comes with a European plug so worthless in US. Do not buy!!!!!!!!!!!!

JanSöderman October 28, 2022

350 W....it's a joke. Dont buy

Ridiculous!
December 23, 2019
I researched this company fully to make sure it wasn't from China, but it ended up coming from there anyway!!!! They sent me a unit with a European plug!!! I LIVE IN CANADA!!!

Works great
April 7, 2019
Buy it on Amazon, $40.00 and comes with a standard two prong plug for use in the U.S. Works great right out of the box.

Thank goodness
February 10, 2019
Thank goodness I read all these reviews first as the heater is in my basket. We are desperate here in Canaries for some winter warmth as it’s warmer outside than in the house! Thank you all for writing those reviews. I am sorry you have been duped!

Don't buy if you live in the US
February 9, 2019
It comes, as mentioned above, with a European two pronged plug, and is 220 volts. It cannot be used here and they shouldn't advertise them here. After looking at the above comments about returns, I have received the same send it back and we will proceed from there email. A terrible waste of money.

Exagirated claims
February 3, 2019
I don't have a problem with 240 volts as I live in the UK What I do object to is having to buy a three pin plug adapter because the heater has only a 2 pin electric razor plug Who has those all around the house? Also energy use is a bit far fetched I have a Smart Meter fitted also a Home Display Meter which shows TV use is 3 pence for an hour and the heater use is 14 pence This against the makers claim of using the same as a TV

James February 14, 2019

Thanks for that information, do you know if it is better than other heaters or just the same? cheers

PaulArnott March 28, 2022

You don't get heat for free! All heaters are expensive, it varies with the output wattage which is usually in the 300-3000 watt range.

Return
January 30, 2019

To anyone who has returned one of these:

Would you mind letting us know if you are successful at returning and receiving a refund? I have 3 to return :(

EmmaGourley November 20, 2022

How do we get refund???? It said 30 day no quibble money back but not so when I request it!!!! How much is it to send back ???!!!!

Scam
January 30, 2019
They did not advertise this came with European plug...and yet they sent it to the US. No way to return it. DO NOT BUY IT!

Help
January 29, 2019

Hi Everyone,

Was wondering if you could please post a comment if you are successful at returning

Gail January 30, 2019

No. I have no success. The plug is a Euro plug that cannot be used where I live.

LiliRoome-Smith January 30, 2019

The cost for returning the unit from Canada to Estonia is $65.75 with tracking and will take 4-6 weeks. For faster delivery the cost is much higher.

LiliRoome-Smith January 30, 2019

To return the unit from Canada to Estonia is will cost $65.75 with tracking and take 4-6 weeks to be delivered. The cost is much higher for faster deliver.

SCAM
January 28, 2019

This product and company is a joke. First, they advertise the following:

“EcoHeat S will be delivered within 10-15 working days, depending on the carrier traffic conditions and/or specific country custom rules.”

When I complained that I have not seen mine yet, I got this response:

“This is to inform you that delivery takes around 30-40 working days from the day of shipment. We are sorry for the confusion between the shipping time and the delivery time.”

I ordered 2 units. They billed me for 2 units and shipped 1 unit. The unit is 220 volts with a European plug. This is not stated in their sales literature. When I pointed this out they suggested I buy a power converter. That’s not safe for a home heater. Of course, they said I could package it all up and pay to have it shipped back to Estonia. At that point they will “proceed further”.

This is a mess. Do not buy this, or anything from this company.

Dave February 01, 2019

Bought this thro` Paypal--,returned it costing £17 to the firm under the name NOVADS TALLINN ESTONIA --Still awaiting refund--Birmingham address on package for returns was a none existing address so don't return it there.

Paypal is taking up my case.

Gail December 23, 2019

I researched this company fully to make sure it wasn't from China, but it ended up coming from there anyway!!!! They sent me a unit with a European plug!!! I LIVE IN CANADA!!!

Cannot be used in Canada
January 22, 2019

I purchased the Ecoheat S and it came with a European plug. It isn't safe to use a converter for a heating appliance, therefore, after contacting Hyperstech, they do not pay for the return of the product. You have to send it back and pay the cost of mailing it. Not a very good company to buy from, customer service is nil.

Gail January 30, 2019

I wish I had read your review before I purchased. Had the same problem. a scam.

Working well but a bit noisy
January 18, 2019
I ordered 3 fans and they are all working well. Cool design! Heats up a small room in no time. Shipping took about 3 weeks from China to Norway. Only negative I can think of is that they are a bit noisy. If you need a quiet fan, don't buy this.

Disappointing Performance
January 17, 2019

I bought 2 of these heaters and now wish I hadn't. They are compact and appear well made, but don't come with a UK 13a plug, just a two pin plug similar to a shaver socket.

The heat isn't great and in the office where one is used, staff have gone back to a conventional fan heater.

useless in US
January 16, 2019
JUST RECEIVED MY HEATERS (2 THOUGHT WAS SUPPOSE TO BE 3) SAW THAT THEY ARE TOTALLY USELESS HERE IN US...WANT TO RELTURN THEM ...JUST HOW DO I DO THAT AS NOWHERE CAN I FIND ADDRESS OR PHONE NUMBER...JUST SUPER ....

LiliRoome-Smith January 22, 2019

Hello,

I just bought one of the heaters and have to return it, as I cannot use it in Canada. The return address is:

Novads OU

Pallasti 28

Harjumma, Tallinn

Estonia 11401

They do not pay for the return, I am taking mine to the post office today, therefore, I can't give you the amount to ship it back. I hope this helps.

Gail January 30, 2019

Thank you!

What a scam
January 14, 2019
Will echo the previous writers, this cannot be plugged into any 120 volt socket. Thry recommend using a converter plug. Not very safe for a heating unit. They have no business selling to U.S. customers. Need to contact someone in product safety.

Gail January 30, 2019

I wish I had read this review before purchased. I was scammed too.

RipOff, this should not be sold in the US
January 10, 2019

do not buy if you live in the US heater is 240v and has a eurorpean plug.

could use a converter but not very safe or cost effective.

if you contact them to return they are not very helpful, you have to send to Estonia!!

and pay for shipping.

Power outlet Requirements
January 7, 2019

I wish the previous reviews were available before I ordered my 3 EcoHeat S heaters for the cost of 2 option. The heaters DO NOT plug into any room, as advertised, because they require 240V, not the standard 120V. They will NOT WORK for me in Canada. The EcoHeat videos from USA show the heaters in action but carefully do not show the power cord or outlet. The ads make no mention of the power specification. Now I have a major rewiring project to get 240V outlets in some rooms.

Another issue I have is that I ordered the 3 heater option for the cost of 2 and only received 2 heaters. I really don't need these headaches at my stage in life.

EcoHeat s
January 6, 2019

This heater has the false claim the it can be plugged in for use in any room. Unfortunately it operates on 220v.

What house in the USA has 220v outlets in every room? Don't waste your time or money and purchase this heater if you live in the USA. No mention of the required voltage in ANY of the ads

that I read before I made the purchase.

EcoHeat S Safety Concerns
December 22, 2018

The company claims: You can plug it into any area of your home that you’re utilizing at that very moment – be it your bedroom, the baby’s nursery, your garage, or your home office. "A special installation is not necessary for the small heater. All you need to do is plug the appliance’s cable into the wall socket." However, you can't simply plug it into your wall socket in the United States. According to the EcoHeat instruction manual, you plug the product into a standard AC220-240V electrical outlet. Well, we have 120V in the United States. The company claims EcoHeat S is one of the safest portable devices. A mini-sized portable heat oscillating device, suitable for use on the table or any small place. However, according to the EcoHeat instruction manual that comes with the heater, there are a lot of safety warnings that contradict the company claim that, "due to safety protection you don’t have to worry about accidents." According to the manual, "keep the product out of the reach of children and pets. Do not leave the product unattended while it is in use. Place the product on a flat, steady, stable, heat-resistant surface. This heater is hot when in use. To avoid burns, do not let bare skin touch a hot surface. Keep combustible materials, such as furniture, pillows, bedding, paper, clothes, and curtains at least 3 feet from all sides of the heater. Children should be supervised to ensure they do not play with the appliance. This appliance is not for use by persons (including children) with reduced physical, sensory or mental capabilities, or lack of experience or knowledge. Allow the product to completely cool before handling or cleaning it." My 83 year old father and my 5 year old autistic grandson are not safe around this heater.

Steve November 01, 2022

After less than a half year of use the heating elements didn't come on anymore.

Giwreh November 13, 2022

ANY electric heater has the same "efficiency". The number of watts you put in as electricity, come out as heat. It does not matter what. The cost of the electricity used, is ALWAYS the same compared to the KW power out. "Savings" are impossible. Savings do occur when using a heat pump principle. (And that is not 'a simple device') The SCAM = the marketing and the price. Mini ceramic core electric heaters (which are ALWAYS of very low power, compared to classic electric heaters) can be found in household device shops all over, since more than 25 years. If you just want to heat a cold corner (for one person...) like your home office desk, you can use such a ceramic heater (which can be found in versions ranging from 350-650 watts, usually). But to know if the product is SAFE and under legal guarantee, my advice is to NEVER EVER buy it online from whatever obscure retailer (including Amazon !!!! ... lol) , buy it in a LEGIT (real life... lol) home appliances shop, where "your cashier ticket holds the guarantee".

RobertSvensson November 18, 2022

Very good comment! It seems that most people do not know that all space heaters, regardless of type, have the same "efficiency", which means that all power you put in comes out as heat. No heater is more "efficient" or more money-saving than the other. You always need a certain amount of watts to heat a space. The only difference might be the circulation (fan) effectiveness.