Alpha Heater Reviews

Alpha Heater
( 25 reviews )

Reviewopedia is supported by our readers. This page contains Amazon links through which we may earn a small commission for purchases.

The Alpha Heater is a portable convection space heater whose creators state aims to keep you warm while using 30% less energy than regular heaters.

The seller makes a lot of impressive claims about the unit’s capabilities and benefits.

How Does the Alpha Heater Work?

Alpha Heater creators state this portable unit uses innovative PTC Ceramic Technology to heat spaces and allows for rapid heating and efficient distribution, reducing energy costs to customers.

They also claim the unit is small, lightweight, and quiet unlike other portable heaters that emit annoying sounds while heating up, yet still packs a powerful punch while reducing energy consumption.

The specifications state that the its wattage is 650-1200 Watts, which is lower than the wattage of most commercial space heaters.

Perhaps the two most important features are its energy saving function and its auto shut off safety function.

The energy saver is intended to help you save money, while the importance of the safety feature cannot be overstated as portable space heaters present clear risks and are responsible for many house fires.

At first glance, this product sounds like a dream – it claims to keep your home warm and cozy without an exorbitant energy bill.

Unfortunately, the Alpha Heater is likely not a legitimate product, given that it is very difficult to find solid answers to some of our burning questions about the product, including “Where is it made?”  and “Who designed and manufactures the Alpha Heater?

The Alpha Heater is also marketed under the name Amper Heat using a nearly identical sales page at GetAmperHeat.com.

While we cannot recommend this specific product, choosing the right space heater does not have to be difficult if you know the type of heater you're looking for.

Is the Alpha Heater Legitimate?

There are currently a number of different marketers promoting identical or very similar space heaters under different names.  

The Alpha Heater and Amper Heat are just two examples.  The way these companies work is by purchasing cheaply made heaters wholesale from overseas sites, then rebranding them in conjunction with slick marketing campaigns.

They hope that people don’t take the time to research these heaters or look for online reviews.

If anyone takes the time to investigate this product you can find the unbranded versions for sale on Alibaba or Amazon at a fraction of the cost these companies charge.

( Generic unbranded heater on AliBaba priced much lower )

Further, those units reveal that they are only 350 watt heaters.

The average modern space heater operates at 650 watts for a low temperature setting and at 1,500 watts at a high setting.

Therefore it’s safe to assume that the Alpha Heater is greatly underpowered.

Cost and Price Plans

The Alpha Heater sales page states a single unit is normally priced at $169.98, but their 50% off discount brings that price down to $84.99.  The sales page offers discounts for ordering multiple units. 

Additionally, the website promotion continually had pop-ups that offer further discounts (first a 10% discount and then a 15% discount, from what we found) bringing the final price for a single unit to $72.24.

Customer Service

If you have questions about the product or your order, you can contact customer service team by dialing 866-895-6759 or e-mailing [email protected]

The return policy states that the company will issue a refund within 90 days of purchase if you are dissatisfied with your heater.

This is a generous return policy, but unfortunately, the lack of information available about Alpha Heater makes it difficult to verify whether they will honor this policy.

The company has neither a BBB or other commercial profile to help us gather information about their customer service.

Online Customer Reviews & Complaints

You will find positive customer reviews about Alpha Heater on their website, but unfortunately, that is the only place you will find them.

The company has only a tiny social media presence, with only three reviews on their Facebook page- unfortunately, all of these reviews are negative. Customers claim that the Alpha Heater is a rip off, a scam, unsafe, and does not work.

Competitors and Alternatives

It isn't a good idea to go cheap on a space heater from an unreputable company.  These heaters will likely not be effective, not have a warranty, and could even pose a fire risk if they malfunction.

It's a safer bet to stick with established brands that have been manufacturing these types of products for years.

Some of the leading options for ceramic heaters include Lasko and Vornado, both of which make more powerful and longer lasting products than the Alpha Heater.

These options are also available from major retailers with proven customer satisfaction records.

For example, the Vornado AVH10 Vortex Heater is a popular option. 

This efficient but powerful heater is a New York Times top pick and an Amazon’s choice selection.  It has the latest safety & comfort features and is reasonably priced as well.

The Bottom Line

Heating costs account for nearly a third of annual energy bills in the U.S.  This means that, on average, American households spend over $800.00 to heat their homes every year.

This makes it understandable why the idea of an energy saving household heater would be so appealing.

However, information about the Alpha Heater is hard to come by, which makes it impossible for us to recommend.  We suggest skipping this purchase and finding another way to stay warm this winter.

If you have any experience with the Alpha Heater, please leave your reviews below.

See Also:  How to Choose the Right Type of Space Heater

You may also be interested in

Alpha Heater Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Total P.O.S... Scam!!!
March 12, 2022

If I could give this product negative stars I would. It's a total scam and rip off. It can't and won't heat even the smallest of spaces, let alone 350 sq ft. I am a licensed electrician and was looking for a space heater for a small office space. It's on a dedicated 20 amp breaker and it won't run for more than 10 min without the unit shutting off. Total piece of garbage.

Do not buy! Repeat, do not buy!
February 22, 2022

This is a SCAM! I purchased, upon delivery, the box was opened, it didn't work in ANY home (yes, tried out elsewhere. They DO NOT STAND BY THEIR PRODUCT. I want to return, they start a "we will give you this much back." "You are responsible for return costs." Never purchase this piece of crap.

Do not buy!
February 22, 2022

Do not buy, no customer service, total ripoff, can't give no stars...Bought 2 neither worked.

Tried to get replacements but they tell me I didn't buy them, mysteriously my order my email, and my credit card receipt have mysteriously vanished from their system.

They Do Not Perform As Advertised!!!
February 4, 2022

They do not perform as advertised on their websites. They might heat up 16 sq. Ft. If you can make them stay on long enough. I bought 4 of these and 4 members of my family tried to make them work, nada!!! Junk!!! Don't buy!!!

KatieBuchanan February 15, 2022

Awful, I bought 3, 2 of them started melting and burning, I unplugged the 3rd before it can. The company will not give return information and waste your time to be sure the 30 day passes. They are rude and hang up on you.

If it sounds too good to be true, it is
January 30, 2022

I am amazed by all the web sites that claim how great this heater is. They ought to be sued for misrepresenting facts!!!

They are as bad, if not worse than the manufacturer. We expect that from the manufacturer, but we are expecting accurate information from those who claim to have tested the heater.

The heater might be able to heat a small bathroom, or be a personal heater, but other than that don't expect it to heat a room, even a small room.

When you go on their web site there is no place to leave a review, and all that are posted are 5 stars reviews.

If it looks too good to be believed, it probably isn't true. But we keep hoping to find that miracle product, and so we buy.

Safety and Value
January 10, 2022

They sure have Very clever marketing. But what a piece of JUNK!.. I ordered 1 unit back in October 2021 to help with heating in Garage.. Total cost CDN $77.34. It falls out of the wall plug and stay on for 2 mins and cuts off.. Have to wait until the machine cools or "Feels like working" to have it repeat the 2 mins run. Wrote a complaint, demanded a refund but no reply. This Item is simply GARBAGE.. Go to Canadian Tire and receive value for your money.. 100% SCAM!!!

BarbaraG. January 22, 2022

Thank you, Gerry for sharing your experience with The Alpha Heater!!

Junk of the First Water! China 1 US Citizen 0
January 7, 2022

Great visual design...great marketing spiel...plug it in and it falls out...plug it in sideways or upside down and it falls out...markings on boxes "made in China" (never doubted that for a bit!)...sold by 4 or more online retailers....same pitches...prices vary...these things are DANGEROUS!...where is the FTC?

Got hooked and bought 3 of these turkeys...aha! but with 50% off and in this quantity only cost $39.95 each...would have saved much stress and aggravation by just throwing the $$ out the window!!!

Learned (again) one of life's key lessons...don't believe the BS you read on the internet...and do not expect our government agencies who are responsible for putting the kibosh on trash like this to do anything...and for heaven's sake, don't buy unless you can go somewhere an touch/inspect....my head hurts just thinking about how easy it is for us to get conned!

SCAM!
January 6, 2022
Complete scam. Never received. Says it was delivered by DHL then when I called they say it was USPS.

GetAlphaHeater.com
December 18, 2021
I had to put one star to write this. When I ordered it they charged me the wrong price, so I called and they did refund me. A big rip off 2 out of 3 bad so far. Cost more to send back and get replaced 3 year warranty does not cover processing and s&h. Did not want to risk spending more on processing and s&h. Cannot write a review on the website. There is s clue I have had several friends that have something similar and no problems. Unfortunately I did not know there was so many people selling something similar. My fault for not researching.

Not worth it
December 15, 2021

Works ok to warm up a bathroom or other small room. They claim a 500 ft room will go from 35 degrees to 70 in 2 0r 3 minutes, all I can say is BS.

I have run two of them in my 800 ft basement for two whole days and the temp never got higher than 65 and without heat, the basement never gets colder than 58 or so. I haven't checked the cost yet, but I'll bet its a lot more than pennies a day.

Junk
December 13, 2021
Bought 6 and three went out as soon as they came on, by the end of the day 1 worked. couldn't email because the email does not exist, after over an hour talking to customer service. only 70% of my $ was refunded. They don't even want they're junk back.

TOO HEAVY, FALLS OUT of SOCKET
December 12, 2021

I've give it a zero if I could. The unit is so heavy it falls out of the wall socket. I followed directions to the "t" but it only blew cool air. I returned it.

By the way, I tried to email, found that their email doesn't exist, tried to call their phone number, no one answered and I called many times.

Waste of money.
December 7, 2021
Does not work. Waste of money.

RandalBanks December 11, 2021

Agree ! Worthless POS!

Good for Southern winters
December 1, 2021
We use daily in 'winter' in SC, if we have a sunny day we barely turn it on, but if cloudy, we will run it for a few hours a day, negating the need for the heat pump to ever come on. This product will make a room that is colder than the rest of the house warm as the other rooms. It is what it is I would buy again only, paid 75$ for two. But for cold parts of country, maybe not worth it.

Another Chinese Scam
November 29, 2021

Heater doesn't work, at least mine did not. Their return policy states you have 30 days to return and receive refund less shipping and buyer is to pay for return shipping. That should be cancelled out if buyer receives a defective product.

They try to offer you only 75% less shipping. I refused and told them I would file a claim with credit card. They evidentially gave me the purchase price less shipping and I paid the return postage.

Wasted $18.39 in postage. They probably just keep shipping out all the returns that do not work and buyers just keep excepting the 75% plus paying the postage

Unsafe to use
November 28, 2021
On site will not allow you to add a review, ordered 2, they are 2 prong only and fall out of your outlet, unsafe. Called and they told me to plug in upside down, it also falls out of socket, would definitely not recommend to purchase!!

Kat November 29, 2021

Thanks. I’ll not be ordering this!

Junk don't buy
November 25, 2021

Bought 3 of these heaters, first of all took 4 weeks to arrive, product was shipped in a plastic envelope all 3 boxes were smashed. The heater works but not as advertised and the degrees on display is in celsius only. Worse thing is heater wont stay plugged in! It's JUNK and not worth $150.00. Going to get my money back hopefully...

ZERO rating is more like it...it's JUNK, avoid purchasing
November 18, 2021
Piece of JUNK...I plugged it in and like other reviewers it hung at an angle, partially exposing the prongs. within minutes, the unit made a POP sound and shut off. I've not been able to get it to go back on. I contacted customer service for a refund, hopefully they will honor their refund policy...Bottom line, don't buy this piece of JUNK.

The company will not return all of your money/
November 4, 2021
If I could give less than 1 star I would. First they say a 30 day money back guarantee but that is false, when you call to request a return they talk you into keeping it and returning some of your money. Second it doesn't work the way they said it does. DON'T BUY IT. It is a scam.

Alpha Heater Fail!
November 4, 2021
Watch out for this product. I ordered 2 Alpha Heaters. The unit doesn't stay plugged in. It hangs on an angle leaving the plug prongs partially exposed. Shock and fire hazard if the prongs arc. Couldn't give them away! I was too afraid of something happening and too embarrassed to promote the product. Beware. Not happy!