Alpha Heater Reviews

Alpha Heater
( 44 reviews )

Reviewopedia is supported by our readers. This page contains Amazon links through which we may earn a small commission for purchases.

The Alpha Heater is a portable convection space heater whose creators state aims to keep you warm while using 30% less energy than regular heaters.

The seller makes a lot of impressive claims about the unit’s capabilities and benefits.

How Does the Alpha Heater Work?

Alpha Heater creators state this portable unit uses innovative PTC Ceramic Technology to heat spaces and allows for rapid heating and efficient distribution, reducing energy costs to customers.

They also claim the unit is small, lightweight, and quiet unlike other portable heaters that emit annoying sounds while heating up, yet still packs a powerful punch while reducing energy consumption.

The specifications state that the its wattage is 650-1200 Watts, which is lower than the wattage of most commercial space heaters.

Perhaps the two most important features are its energy saving function and its auto shut off safety function.

The energy saver is intended to help you save money, while the importance of the safety feature cannot be overstated as portable space heaters present clear risks and are responsible for many house fires.

At first glance, this product sounds like a dream – it claims to keep your home warm and cozy without an exorbitant energy bill.

Unfortunately, the Alpha Heater is likely not a legitimate product, given that it is very difficult to find solid answers to some of our burning questions about the product, including “Where is it made?”  and “Who designed and manufactures the Alpha Heater?

The Alpha Heater is also marketed under the name Amper Heat using a nearly identical sales page at GetAmperHeat.com.

While we cannot recommend this specific product, choosing the right space heater does not have to be difficult if you know the type of heater you're looking for.

Is the Alpha Heater Legitimate?

There are currently a number of different marketers promoting identical or very similar space heaters under different names.  

The Alpha Heater and Amper Heat are just two examples.  The way these companies work is by purchasing cheaply made heaters wholesale from overseas sites, then rebranding them in conjunction with slick marketing campaigns.

They hope that people don’t take the time to research these heaters or look for online reviews.

If anyone takes the time to investigate this product you can find the unbranded versions for sale on Alibaba or Amazon at a fraction of the cost these companies charge.

( Generic unbranded heater on AliBaba priced much lower )

Further, those units reveal that they are only 350 watt heaters.

The average modern space heater operates at 650 watts for a low temperature setting and at 1,500 watts at a high setting.

Therefore it’s safe to assume that the Alpha Heater is greatly underpowered.

Cost and Price Plans

The Alpha Heater sales page states a single unit is normally priced at $169.98, but their 50% off discount brings that price down to $84.99.  The sales page offers discounts for ordering multiple units. 

Additionally, the website promotion continually had pop-ups that offer further discounts (first a 10% discount and then a 15% discount, from what we found) bringing the final price for a single unit to $72.24.

Customer Service

If you have questions about the product or your order, you can contact customer service team by dialing 866-895-6759 or e-mailing [email protected]

The return policy states that the company will issue a refund within 90 days of purchase if you are dissatisfied with your heater.

This is a generous return policy, but unfortunately, the lack of information available about Alpha Heater makes it difficult to verify whether they will honor this policy.

The company has neither a BBB or other commercial profile to help us gather information about their customer service.

Online Customer Reviews & Complaints

You will find positive customer reviews about Alpha Heater on their website, but unfortunately, that is the only place you will find them.

The company has only a tiny social media presence, with only three reviews on their Facebook page- unfortunately, all of these reviews are negative. Customers claim that the Alpha Heater is a rip off, a scam, unsafe, and does not work.

Competitors and Alternatives

It isn't a good idea to go cheap on a space heater from an unreputable company.  These heaters will likely not be effective, not have a warranty, and could even pose a fire risk if they malfunction.

It's a safer bet to stick with established brands that have been manufacturing these types of products for years.

Some of the leading options for ceramic heaters include Lasko and Vornado, both of which make more powerful and longer lasting products than the Alpha Heater.

These options are also available from major retailers with proven customer satisfaction records.

For example, the Vornado AVH10 Vortex Heater is a popular option. 

This efficient but powerful heater is a New York Times top pick and an Amazon’s choice selection.  It has the latest safety & comfort features and is reasonably priced as well.

The Bottom Line

Heating costs account for nearly a third of annual energy bills in the U.S.  This means that, on average, American households spend over $800.00 to heat their homes every year.

This makes it understandable why the idea of an energy saving household heater would be so appealing.

However, information about the Alpha Heater is hard to come by, which makes it impossible for us to recommend.  We suggest skipping this purchase and finding another way to stay warm this winter.

If you have any experience with the Alpha Heater, please leave your reviews below.

See Also:  How to Choose the Right Type of Space Heater

You may also be interested in

Alpha Heater Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

I feel it's a scam and I've been had.
December 2, 2022
Don't buy from them. I can't get refund because they claim I did not supply enough info. I don't know how much more they want than original invoice.

Doesn't heat
November 29, 2022
Absolutely rubbish. 2hours of use in a tiny room and 0.1 degree increase. This is a scam. Do not waste your money on the heater. Was on discount for £42 but when I pushed buy on the site it ignored the discount and I paid £53. for it with £9.99 shipping. Totally scammed. Do not buy...

Big Waste of Money
November 28, 2022

The Alpha Heater is the biggest scam of 2022. I purchased 3 and none of the work as advertised. They fall out of the receptacle due to the poor design of the unit. It will not heat a 120 sq. ft. room no matter how long it runs. I was told by Victor at customer service 3 weeks ago that I would receive since they didn't work as advertised. I'm still waiting for the credit. This heater is a piece of junk, I would not recommend to buy one.

Watch Out if Falls off the wall!
November 23, 2022

Slickly marketed but poorly designed and overpriced. You can buy knock offs for half what these cost.

The BIG problem that this company tries to pretend it is not a problem is that they fall right off the wall in many peoples wall outlets due to the weight of the device being too heavy to keep the plug in the wall.

I have contacted them three times and unless it is "defective" they will do nothing but give you double talk.

DO NOT PURCHASE!!!
November 23, 2022
I wish I could give a no star rating. I also wished I had seen this page before I ordered. Like other comments I paid with PayPal and ended up purchasing two units by mistake. I called immediately to cancel the second order and was told that the orders were already shipped. ARE YOU KIDDING ME THEY DID NOT SHIP IN THE AMOUNT OF TIME IT TOOK ME TO MAKE A PHONE CALL!!!!!!! I will review again when I get the units and let you know if I think they are junk and a scam (I already believe this) and if I get my money back when returning the second unit.

Not a good investment
November 18, 2022

Being reliant upon gas central heating I thought I would get a couple of the Alpha Heaters to provide energy diversity. I admit to being a little skeptical regarding the claims being made but I intended to purchase a couple of small electric heaters, so why not try them.

Its not been very cold during the day therefore instead of using my gas heating during the evening I switched to the Alpha Heaters for a week. One in my lounge, one in my study.

Conclusion

Keeping tabs on the smart meter, the Alpha Heater was not more cost effective than the gas heating, in fact a little more expensive.

The one in my lounge was annoyingly noisy and distracting when watching television.

The one in my little study (10 ft x 7 ft) took the chill off and was fine.

Were they a good investment, no, not really, I could have bought a standard electric heater for considerably less.

Keeping in wall plug
November 16, 2022

I did not have the troubles other people have. With oil prices now at almost $5.00 per gallon we lowered out temperature to 68 degrees and move a few of the Alpha's to the rooms we're in. My bedroom is 11x15 and this works great. I also had a problem with it staying plugged in the wall. Very easy to solve that problem. Very simple if the engineers ask me for a solution, I want a fee. Shame on them for not doing this. Company, email me for solution.

Dangerous Pos, Biggest Scam Going!
November 13, 2022

This is not a heater it is a plug-in pos that can easily catch fire. Made of plastic you can get more heat from a candle. How they are allowed to post such lies is beyond me. But if your house burns down call Mark Zuckerberg or or Jeff Bezos...

Avoid
November 8, 2022
Feel like a fool, falling for their marketing scam. Paid $9.95 for shipping and 20 days later still no delivery. Website claims they ship with UPS, nope DHL then transfer to USPS. I think they are shipping via ox cart....

SCAM?
November 5, 2022
I recently bought this product. I received yesterday. I agree with most comments below. You can get more warmth from a hair dryer. I have applied for refund under their 30 day refund Guarantee scheme, , One can live in hope. Yes one of their customer support emails does not work. Can any body please leave a comment below if they have successfully had a refund from this company, If so how did they do it. Thanks

JamesinaGoulbourne November 10, 2022

Yes I got a refund because I used PayPal to make the initial transaction. I was horrified when I was duped into paying international postage when the company made out it was in the UK.

Not only that, after paying, the sales page transfers you to another sales page that says the transaction is not yet complete. You end up clicking thinking it is the same item you are purchasing but in reality they are selling you a second unit. I ended up paying $134.50 that is £114.

I was horrified and later found out how cheap these heaters are at Ebay, Amazon and Argos around the £20 -30. It was hard to get in touch with the company but eventually I did by searching history on my device to locate the sales page.

They replied to my email that it was the wrong department and they were sorry they couldn't help.

After getting PayPal involved, the company offered me a part refund to save me having to spend on the postage to return the heaters, but because I had raised the issue with them before they sent it out I refused their offer and requested a full refund.

PayPal intervened and I got the full refund. The heaters are still on their way but I will refuse to pay for their return.

It is total Junk and does not work and all positive reviews are false
November 1, 2022

This heater is TOTAL JUNK it does not work, falls out of the socket has no ground it is just pure JUNK I am embarrassed I even bought it . Please don't buy it and forget getting a refund you cant even find out who to call or where to send it back .If you got it from Margins Holdings Ltd good luck If you used Pay Pal like i did call them Pay pal is great. Go to the resolution center . I ordered 3 OOPS.

deg November 05, 2022

AGREE....Trying to get refund.

Read attached
October 19, 2022

Lots of these are being said being promoted to do some much and inexpensive...I bought at @50$....when get down cold even a small rv bathroom...its a Toy ...barely warm your fingers up. Please don't buy a package deal...(I) guarantee

you'll be sorry you did.

My name is Don Wells

and is declared 10/18/2022

@ 06:35 pm mountain standard time

Dangerous to humans and environment!
October 18, 2022
Alpha heater is a dangerous scam! The instructions are full of grammatical errors, but contain 11 danger warnings of fire, 8 for electrical shock, 3 risks to kids and 2 for burns. It also says not to leave it unattended and it cannot be disposed of in household trash because it is a danger to human health and the environment if not properly disposed of, but only says it is to be "separately collected " not recycled. Cheaply made in China P.R.C. Stay away from this product!

deg November 05, 2022

I just purchased one its performance nothing like advertised.

I have requested refund under their 30 day refund scheme. fingers crossed.

Very interesting your comment. The advert for tis product says it is an American product yet as you say its made in China.

Poppypoo62 November 12, 2022

Thank you for letting everyone know of your experience. We are now all well informed.

Electric Heaters use Electric
October 18, 2022

Just reading all the reviews on heaters. First look at the wattage used, most are at high heat is about 1800 watts. that would be 18-100 watt incandescent light bulbs.

A 100 watt lightbulb will put out approx. 385 degrees of heat which 18 of them would heat up a large room. Too bad today with LED lights which a 100 watts equivalence only puts out 87 degrees of heat.. By the way 18 - 100 watts bulbs will also light up your space..

justme November 02, 2022

heat is not measured in degrees, it is measured in joules, a watt = 1 joule / second. Temperature is measured in degrees. LED bulbs are so much more efficient than incandescent bulbs because they don't throw out a lot of heat energy which in many cases is unwanted.

I like it.
October 9, 2022

I really like mine it kept my downstairs warm on the cold night before I wanted to put the full heat on, it is quiet also.

Do you get an instant hot blast. no but if you leave it on its very effective.

Useless
October 8, 2022

You would get a lot more heat off a hair dryer, total rip off.

deg November 05, 2022

Agree

SCAM SCAM SCAM. Does Not Even Deserve 1 Star
October 4, 2022

I bought one pair 2 years ago right before the winter. The product boxes were in terrible shape. Heaters got broken, stopped working and started melting the plastic of the heater elements. This is complete scam. You wont be able to get your money back. Consider yourself lucky if you can get half of it. Don't even think of replacing with a working one. Be smart and don't buy anything from third parties. Go to a store or buy from amazon or ebay.

Junk Product...Does Not Work As Advertised...Scam
October 3, 2022

Absolute scam for sale, the heater is pure junk.

Do not waste your money
September 25, 2022

It took several months to receive the heater. When I finally received it, it was malfunctioning from the day I received it. No matter what setting or temp you set it on, it would shut off within one minute never reaching an appropriate temp.

A refund was rejected, stating it was returned outside of the acceptable time period despite the fact it was returned 1 day after receiving. They either refused to accept the fact that it took them months to ship the product, or they were unable to comprehend such a mathematical equation. Even if it worked correctly, it was made from such cheap plastic with haphazard structure, it would be a brief period of time before it would be broken.

The way it is built, it is so top heavy, it won't even stay in the outlet, it falls out. So I am stuck with a plastic piece of junk that does nothing but fall out of the wall. With remote, taxes, shipping, it came to seventy some dollars. Save your $... grab a blanket

Total P.O.S... Scam!!!
March 12, 2022

If I could give this product negative stars I would. It's a total scam and rip off. It can't and won't heat even the smallest of spaces, let alone 350 sq ft. I am a licensed electrician and was looking for a space heater for a small office space. It's on a dedicated 20 amp breaker and it won't run for more than 10 min without the unit shutting off. Total piece of garbage.