DentalPlans.com Reviews

About DentalPlans.com

DentalPlans.com is a site that offers discounted dental plans that you can use at any of their listed participating dentists. This is not a dental insurance policy so you can use the plan and the discounts as much as you need to without having yearly limits.

They have individual plans starting at $79.95/year and family plans starting at $129.95/year. There is also a special deal through their site for an additional three months for free. This plan can be used in combination with dental insurance policies to help pay for additional costs once your dental insurance maximum limits have been reached. They offer over 30 dental plans for over 100,000 dentists nationwide.

It is easy to sign up for a plan at DentalPlans.com and you can immediately use the printable discount card. With a dental plan membership you can save on routine checkups, cleanings, fillings, crowns, braces, root canals, oral surgery or dentures.

There are a few problems associated with this dental discount plan program. Many dentists don’t accept the plan, even though they have listed as a participating dentist. Another issue which may arise is the possibility of spending more for some dental services than what you would typically pay through an insurance plan. In addition, you cannot obtain any refunds for processed payments, there aren’t prorated refunds either. If you don’t cancel the plan, the automatic renewal system charges your credit card on file after your plan has expired.

Dental insurance is not that expensive and you never know when you may need an unexpected and unplanned procedure done. If you purchase dental insurance, without involving an agent who charges additional commission fees, you may be surprised at how affordable they truly are.

You May Also Be Interested In

22 ‘DentalPlans.com’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:
review author image
1 Review

A Rip Off!

July 23, 2019

Charge my credit card a renewal fee that I did not want and the card was invalid. I canceled my card do to skimmers and they still were able to process a invalid card?! Refused to refund all my money back. Spoke to 3 useless customer service reps. Also charged me a renewal fee when my plan didn't expire for another month . This company is a joke. I would stay away from this one. There are better discounts out there. Besides the dentist work with them to take your money. I found better dentist with much cheaper prices without a plan. Look around before you pay more then you should.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Rebekah

August 10, 2016

While I had Louisiana Dental insurance through DentalPlans.com last year, it was great with my dentist. They saved me lots of money. I had lots of work done and it was 40-50% in most cases so I got well over the annual amount I paid; however, this plan is no longer offered in my area so I had to change. I have yet to use my new plan, but have had nothing but trouble with DentalPlans.com on my renewal. They quoted me an annual price and I gave my banking information for the payment and after they deducted my annual amount, they continued to charge my bank additional charges causing nsf fees because I wasn't expecting additional charges. Contacting them is a mess because you have to wait on hold approximately 45 minutes to just get a Customer Service person to assist with the issues. They took care of my first set of fees quickly, but then it happened again and this time around, I am going on 8 days of trying to communicate with different levels of personnel to get the matter cleared up. My bank has provided information proving Dental Plans is charging my account and they are giving me trouble clearing it up. I will keep this plan this year since I already paid for it, but i will not renew again due to the financial issues and the lack of concern to clear up the matter quickly on their part.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Scam? -- Not so far ...

March 27, 2016

In January 2016 at the suggestion of the dental receptionist I picked a plan with my dentist's name who subscribed to the plan, in this case Carrington Care Plus. In NJ the only other option I had was to pick an HMO under the Affordable Care Act in which my dentist did not participate. It is like buying a coupon book for dental care, meaning there is always a charge, but less than if one had no plan at all. I called the dental office before subscribing to the plan to insure what was posted was accepted by the dentist. To date, I've had one front cap and teeth cleaning amounting to $315 with the dental plan. It would have been closer to 2x this amount. Carrington Care Plus is invalid in FL, but my being in NJ such a fact did not concern me. In this age of insurance and middlemen, I'll probably keep the Plan until I change dentists or he opts out of the Plan. The prescription part did not work at my pharmacy, but I bought it for dental coverage. Dental Plans are NOT insurance, may not cover all services and may have a cap on reimbursements. It's best to ask ahead of the service for coverage. In my case, I'm lucky to have good teeth and gums, too, my being in my mid-50s. I suggest asking your dentist's office what Plan(s) and sources to find these that they recommend before paying for one. My previous dentist, now retired, gave me a discount due to my economic circumstance and thus no Plan was needed. The others in my area do not offer this, so a Plan or insurance is a good idea. I've already saved what I paid for the plan. So far I'm a happy camper. I'll contact my credit card company when I leave this plan, should I get another electrical engineering job with health and dental insurance, which will be overkill protection from miscellaneous charges from DentalPlans.com. Since I give the card I used for DentalPlans.com a lot of business, it is in its best interest to follow my instructions of no more charges by this company or everyone, almost, will be happy. I do suggest always using a major credit card, not a debit card, for maximum shopping protection, i.e. the card's lawyers represent you for free.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

Discounts not nearly as presented

January 11, 2016

Only receive a $14 discount on exam, cleaning and two X-rays. Not nearly the discount portrayed. Beware.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

don't use this company

January 22, 2015

Do NOT use this company under any circumstances. They are an administrative nightmare. Once they have your credit card they automatically renew you when they want and how they want. If you try and cancel they give you a run around. I have had to dispute the charge twice thru my cc company. Companies like this need to be removed from the face of the earth!!!!

March 01, 2019

National Association of Preferred Providers sends you off to a third party and then they give you falsified information. Wanted to be on a Dental Insurance that my Dentist accepts, they stated you are in, 136.50 down and 99.per month. 5,000 maximum paid you now have your preferred insurance. NOT got my card it is only a Discount card. Its all BS. I tried my best to get descent coverage, not I pay in partial payments because I do not trust insurance companies after that scenario. My CC company has been informed. Thought I was knowledgeable enough not to be given fraudulent information, think again.

Comment on this review...
review author image
1 Review

I had a great experience with Dental Plans. Don't understand why the others got bad service.

November 30, 2014

I wondered if these plans would really work. So I called ahead to the specialist dentist my regular dentist recommended, to see what their price was for the procedure I needed. I was quoted their regular price.

Then, I mentioned one of the plans listed that they took, and asked if they really gave a discount for this. They said, yes, and then told me the price using this dental discount plan, and it was truly 50% off.

I repeated to the receptionist...you mean I get that big discount if I have the plan? She said yes, again.

So I went for my dental procedure, and sure enough, I got that discount. It more than paid for my yearly fee here.

I am sorry others did not have this positive experience. I am about to renew my coverage and am very pleased with the savings. Thank you.

Comment on this review...

Costly Disappointment

March 13, 2014

After one visit to the only dentist that carries dentemax, my wife was given a 5 minute check up and probe, and an X-ray even though we provided the X-ray of the troubled tooth. She spent more time with the hygienist. They want to do a root canal for $1276.00, a deep cleaning for $378.00, a crown for $1078, followed by another cleaning for $122.00. Altogether, future visits add up to $2854.00 I may have left something out above. Oh by the way, the initial visit cost $189.00. When I asked how much the future visits would be with dentemax, I was told, that was the dentemax price.......far from the quoted estimates for the needed treatments. I am going to call them tomorrow 3/14/14, but if anyone has any advice I would be grateful. I found out I saved a whole $30.00 on my initial visit. Being on a fixed income I can not afford their prices. I feel we have been ripped off. Over and out.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Ellyn Wexler
Guest

A major scam

September 3, 2013

Stay away from this organization. They provide nothing except a way to fund their company.

Comment on this review...
review author image
BW6850
Guest

BAIT AND SWITCH....DOES NOT DELIVER!

August 16, 2013

THIS IS A BAIT AND SWITCH COMPANY. They offer plans that promise free cleanings and when you see the dentist, not one dentist on the list will do the free cleaning. All will say that a deep cleaning is needed just to get some business. They make promises that they cannot deliver and will not refund money. They automatically charge your credit card for each following year without your permission. The only way to get this stopped is to sign up on their site and change that option. I only picked one star because they would not give NO stars as an option. RUN FROM THIS COMPANY AND DON'T GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY."

Comment on this review...
review author image
Dr. R
Guest

Providers listed without approval

August 15, 2013

I am an Endodontist (root canal dental specialist). My name is on dentalplans.com as a provider for 5 different plans. I was never asked if I would agree to these discounts. They put my name as a provider without my knowledge. The EXAMPLE fees listed are only an EXAMPLE. There is no third party to regulate the discount. Is it 5%, 10%, 20%, 50%. Does the Dentist go off of the negotiated accepted fees by that insurance company? I do not participate in ANY discount plan. The saying “too good to be true” applies here……You have been scammed. What would your dentist say if you offered him $130 every January for a 10% discount for all treatment needed in that coming year?........ What would your dentist say if you offered him $130 every January for a 20% discount for all treatment needed in that coming year?........... What would your dentist say if you offered him $130 every January for a 50% discount for all treatment needed in that coming year? If your dentist would not accept the money directly why would he accept this discount plan when he does not see any of the membership fee.

Comment on this review...
review author image
Megan
Guest

They love to charge

May 7, 2013

I got an email for renewal so I went on the website to message them and cancel it. They miraculously didn't get that email. They went ahead and charged me for the services again. I called today and still have to pay the processing fee for them not getting my email. Your $15 processing charge that doesn't get refunded is going to get spread a lot farther than the good news about your plans.

I agree with some of the above that they do mark up and I highly recommend doing your research first! Quite the hustle. :)

Comment on this review...
review author image
Dwight B
Guest

Check the prices!!I

April 30, 2013

First of all to some previous reviewers: why would you sign up for a dental plan before checking on what dentists accept the plan??
I mean, CALL THE DENTIST and ask him!
Anyway, I was with DentalPlans.com for about 3 years. I had no problem with the discounts. However, about a month ago I needed a root canal and a crown, and when the root canal specialist said he did not accept the plan I had, I went looking for another, and found CIGNA Dental Discount plan, for $62 a year. It provided deep discounts on the root canal, and I also verified that my regular dentist accepted it, so of course I switched. NOW, here's the reason for my two-star rating. DentalPlans.com offers the CIGNA plan too, for $130 a year (give or take $5). If you buy it directly from CIGNA, it costs $62. Thats a 100% mark-up for dentalplans.com. In my book that is the scam.

Comment on this review...
review author image
MnGee
Guest

Site is misleading!

April 16, 2013

I called my preferred dentist to verify that they accept the Cigna Plan that I intended to purchase. Yes, they accept that plan. However, they said the "sample" chart on DentalPlans.com was not accurate. The discount would be only 5% to 10%, not the almost 50% discount shown on the site's chart. So I called DentalPlans.com Customer Service and was told the chart is only an "example" and that each dentist determines the exact amount of discount they would actually offer. (My dentist offers another plan that costs 35% less that the Cigna Plan and gives me a flat 20% discount on any dental service, including cosmetic.) Buyer beware!

Comment on this review...
review author image
LHALL
Guest

SO FAR SO GOOD:)

March 25, 2013

Though DentalPlans site shows info on many dentists that participate, I had my doubts so I've called and checked on the dentist's availability in my area before I signed up. Yes, most dentists did not participate like the site indicated, however, the one I found to be really caring and their prices definitely reflect what's mentioned on my plan:) I've had everyone's teeth cleaned for less than half the price I've paid to the previous dentist. Also, a few of my kids need braces so they not only gave me the list of orthodontists that participate in the plan (20% discount) but they also gave me $750 office referral coupon for each kid! The staff is more informative and helpful than the previous one....as I said, so far so good and I would definitely recommend it esp if you don't have dental insurance like me.

June Stafford
April 15, 2013

I just canceled with them, i was mislead from the beginning, the Lady that spoke to me was not truefull, I never used their plan and never plan to, All I want from them is to be reimbursed.
Sincerely
June Stafford

Comment on this review...
review author image
Kelly
Guest

Wasn't a scam for me

March 9, 2013

I signed up for a dental discount plan and it hasn't been a scam at all. Yes, you need to use a dentist who will accept the plan but I found one on the website, called to make sure they accepted the plan and began seeing that dentist. I've had a cleaning, filling and root canal done all at a discounted price.

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review