CD Baby Reviews

CD Baby
( 7  Reviews )

Website:   www.CDBaby.com


Write a Review

About CD Baby

CD Baby, found online at CDBaby.com, is a company who describes themselves as the world's largest online distributor of independent music who promises that when you buy from them, your money goes directly to the artist. 

According to their website, there are many different talented and budding musicians around the world who need a platform to get their music out there, earn money from it, and begin getting the recognition that they deserve, and CD Baby can do all of this.

How Does It Work?

In order to create and distribute music with this company, you must choose a type of membership, whether Standard or Pro, both of which have different pricing and different features. 

Regardless of what membership you choose, you can always sell your music on their website, and through the companies they work with via their distribution partnership, which includes a wide variety of major online distributers like iTunes and Spotify, but also includes brick-and-mortar music stores as well.

Cost/Price Plans

As a Standard member, it costs $12.95 per single and $49 to create and record an album, while Pro members will pay $39 per single and $99 per album, as this membership includes a variety of song registration and global publishing features. 

Regardless of the type of membership you choose, all fees will only be charged one time - there are no annual fees like there are at other music distributor websites - and all members will be charged a 9% fee for all music sold or downloaded.

Mobile Options

CD Baby utilizes mobile applications in as much as their distribution will go through popular music mobile applications like Spotify.

Refund Policy

Since CD Baby also sells the music of the artists they work with, they do have a Refund Policy which pertains to customers who have purchase music through their site. Defective and unopened CDs can be returned for a refund within 60 days, while music that simply isn't liked can be returned in 30 days.

As far as a Refund Policy for artists' membership, the website does not have information detailing if they offer anything. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers or members who questions, concerns, or complaints can contact them by email at [email protected], by phone at 800-289-6923, or by traditional mail at 13909 NE Airport Way, Portland, OR 97230.

Reputation

CD Baby seems to have a very positive reputation in general online, as they are a company whose services have been long established in the music community. There are some negative reviews from customers regarding unhelpful customer service representatives, but the company says many of these complaints are not within their control - they are simply a part of distributing music independently. 

Is It Safe?

There does not seem to be any complaints regarding safety at this time.

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are a few different companies that offer similar distribution services, like TuneCore and Ditto Music.

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your CD Baby reviews below.

7 ‘CD Baby’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Crooks

March 3, 2021

Complete scam. Cdbaby took (stole) my money over a year ago for publishing administration. They never actually set it up or provided the service. They have not responded to multiple emails nor to a bbb complaint. Basically they stole my money and did not even attempt to provide the service. Complete crooks do not fall for their con.

Comment on this review...

8 years experience - still sucks

March 1, 2021

Many, many issues. I have been using their services for more than 8 years, and every single time there are issues with the releases. Featured artists randomly don't get tagged, if they get tagged, the song does not appear on their page, if you write them to correct it ASAP because you spent $1000 on studio works, photo shooting, promotion, marketing plan, and you had been preparing for the release for 2 months before it would be out, they say "it takes up to 30 days to fix it, sorry for the inconveniences", and then they close the chat without saying goodbye.

You can not customize the capitalization of the title, they "inspect" your song for extremely long time before they would send it to distribution, they are not flexible when something is wrong on their side, etc etc etc.

I know there are not too many good options for indie artists out there, but this is unacceptable, makes me think that they do not care too much about you once you paid the fee. Why haven't I changed yet? Good question. Still waiting for something better. As soon as I find it, I would migrate our whole discography there for sure.

March 11, 2021

I agree completely with you. 3 of my singles will be late and one I sent 5 weeks in advance like they asked.

Cd Baby is a complete rip off and I've been trying to tell everyone that so they can go to someone else. The amount you spend for distribution of your music, service, quality, speed should be a major priority, but it is not.

These 3 singles will be the last I do with CD Baby. I'm going for DistroKid and give them a try because so far based on research, it's way better than CD Baby and they're faster apparently with unlimited downloads. Immediately more bang for your buck. Whereas with CD Baby, you have to cut and sell a kidney for each upload.

Comment on this review...

CDBaby is a total scam

May 2, 2019

CD Baby is a total scam. Just want to get this out there. They market their service as a turnkey publishing

Comment on this review...

Gave me wrong cd edition

November 29, 2017

Pre-ordered Ninja Sex Party's Under the Covers: Volume 2; the cd and packaging are both in great condition, but they sent me the regular edition instead of the pre-order edition and poster. A bit irked about that, but I'm happy to own the disc.
Cdbaby keot pushing the delivery date back, we were to the point where we were ready to sue. We aren't the first to have this issue.
Overall, I would only order from them if I couldn't get a physical copy anywhere else.

Comment on this review...

CD Baby made an illegal copyright claim on my legally copyrighted property!

November 29, 2015

CD Baby made a third party claim on a song I legally own the copyright to and uploaded to YouTube. Upon asking them to remove it they instead stated that they collect ad revenue that the song makes and sends me the money. In reality I have never had any association with these people and as such they have no idea how to even send me money. THEY ARE LIARS. They are taking independent artists' music without permission and trying to make money off of it. My next step is to contact my attorney.

Comment on this review...

somewhat pleased wtih this company

November 22, 2014

staff is helpful, but overall experience was ok .I would only recommend them if you have the patience.

April 07, 2015

its been a while since that comment i cant even get them to answer my email got me wondering if it was just a prelonged SCAM as usual

Comment on this review...

Not the best as they make out they are

November 22, 2014

I was happy when i first found them, i thought they was great... But then after i published my album they started to list & categorize my music under the wrong genres that i never even specified.
When i contacted the staff at customer service about it "they" well some said they could not fix it, others did later on when i contacted again about it, some kind of lies going on among staff.
One day, after two years later of being an artist with them i decided to delete my album. And guess what? Around one month later they are still selling my album on "tradebit", that's kind fraudulent in a sense that they state in their terms and conditions that "you" have 100% rights over your music. I heared the same thing from another artist before it happened to me, i guess i should of listened. Anyway I could sit here rant & say some curses at cdbaby but i am not even going to waste my energy at them. My advice is to stay away from them and here are some better distributors i found> "loudr.fm", "venzodigital.com"(this one is itunes only but still good), "routenote.com", and for CDs (Createspace) > "www.createspace.com/Products/CD/",

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review