Big Fish Games Reviews

Big Fish Games
( 59 reviews )

Big Fish Games Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Good Experience
January 1, 2013

I am pretty careful when purchasing anything online, especially downloadable files. However, I have been a member of Big Fish Games for a few years and have never had any problems. McAfee automatically scans each of the downloads and I always get the message that the files are safe.

I will say that I am a member of their monthly membership club, so I cannot comment on the experiences of others who bought one game and was automatically enrolled in the club, The membership is $6.99/month and you get a credit each month to buy a game (just lie a membership at Audible.com for audio books). Most of the games have a free hour trial so you can see if you like the game before using your credit on it.

I would recommend the site.

Hot i January 12, 2013

What a Scam company - I purhased a game last summer, and without any agreement for a monthly service charge - just realized they've been hitting my credit card monthly since last July. Just disputed charges since this scam company won't refund my $

S H January 12, 2013

BIG FISH is a SCAM Company - DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THEM !!!

Bginn April 27, 2013

They're not a scam, I've purchased at least 20 games from them over the last couple of years, never once had a charge I didn't authorize. There is a box that is already checked when you go to purchase your game that is for their game club, you do have to uncheck the box or you will be signed up for the club. So maybe that is a little shady, but it takes a nanosecond to uncheck the box, you just have to actually pay attention to what you are purchasing. It's really unfair to call a site that thousands of people use with no problems a scam just because you didn't pay attention to what you were doing. And before you say there was no check box, the check out has been exactly the same for the last 2-3 years that I have been using it, with the same box each time I checked out.

Gene May 25, 2013

A little shady? It's a lot shady in my book. Been there done that. I'd like to get my wife a few games (trials comes in Windows 8). Can't use a prepaid credit card e.g. one purchased at Wal-Mart. Wife has many of their games bought at Wal-Mart, etc. but these new ones especially in Windows 8 are strickly only internet and you must set up an account or no purchase. I wonder how much M$ is getting for this??

Scam??? ARE YOU KIDDING???
December 22, 2012

I have been a member of BigFish for a couple years. I have **never** had an issue that they have not corrected within 2 or 3 days. I have had computer issues, game issues, "operator" issues…. but *never* overcharge issues. When I have emailed them with a question or problem, with the exception of Thanksgiving week, they responded within 2 days. If the problem isn't corrected in the first email, they will continue to work until it *is* corrected--until the customer is happy.

I am not connected with BF other than being a customer. I had to post this because I just can't stand to see someone "trashed" as some of you have trashed this company!!

Seismicsam March 31, 2013

I too have been a member since 2006 and have never, ever felt scammed in anyway.

Bginn April 27, 2013

It's in now way a scam. I've bought dozens of games over the last 2-3 years and have never had an issue. I love the site!

Scammers
November 21, 2012

I bought two games I liked very much from Big Fish Games. As I normally do when purchasing ANYTHING online I made sure as I bought the games that there wasn't anything that would catch me unawares clicked (as sometimes when you download things, if you aren't paying attention, you wind up accepting and downloading toolbars).

So imagine my surprise when I checked my bank account and saw TWO charges from two separate months for membership charges when I never signed up for a membership.

Nor did they send me an e-mail saying anything about signing up for a membership.

A good reputable company NEVER secretly charges their customers and they make a request for you to join openly and tell you about the charges. I have never been so disappointed in any company I've ever bought from before. I will never willingly or knowingly buy from Big Fish Games again.

I just sent my request for a refund and am still waiting for a response. I will update when I find out whether or not they give me the run around about refunding me these hidden charges.

Baxter K November 29, 2012

same happened to me only I accidentally found the "membership" when I was checking a game out and canceled immediately before they charged me again. They don't tell you about the bait and switch. Scammers. stay away

Aaron December 18, 2012

CALL THEM AT 866-921-6960!!

I just got off the phone with them and complained how they wrongfully charged me and I demand a refund and they didn't even put up a fight. Already sent me back my 2 months of payments back thru paypal!

Emily January 22, 2013

If you do your part to make it right, they are more than willing to work with you! Instead of just complaining that you got scammed, call them to get your money back. Easy and fast.

David B March 01, 2013

Or we could put pressure on them to stop signing people up for services they didn't ask for. I choose that option. I was similarly scammed and reported it to my credit card company not as a disputed charge but as fraud. I encourage others to do likewise.

Bob H March 22, 2013

A similar thing happened to me. When I queried it with PayPal they said "The payment was sent as part of a billing agreement and is considered to be

an authorized payment." Whatever that means. They did refund my money quickly, however. My advice to have nothing to do with these people.

Maria D April 30, 2013

same thing happened to me. Paid for a specific game with paypal and next month paypal was charged again without my permission and without giving my password again!!!!!!!!unbelievable.

People who defend this site, could you explain to me why tbig fish games hasn't answered to any of my emails and questions about this situation? My money are refunded because I informed paypal, if it was my mistake why doesn't the site explain it to me and defend itself??

Be carefull!!!!!!

exceptional service!
November 21, 2012
I had purchased a game, ran spectacular, worth every penny! However, i accidentally signed up for a monthly subscription (oops!) and didn't notice until two months after when my credit card company contacted me to clarify the charges. i immidately contacted big fish and within five minutes the charges were refunded, in full, and my subscription was cancelled. Spectacular business contact and amazing customer service, i hope to be a repeat customer!

Totally Scam
November 17, 2012

I made an one time purchased for 7.14$ and they keep charging from my credit card TWICE every month. Try to reach them by email for refunding but found there have no email for customer support! It's clear that they are try to set obstacle for any intension for refund!

100% scam, never touch them!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Lena January 06, 2013

866-921-6960

Not a scam
November 16, 2012

I have been a member of Big Fish for over a year. It was very clear to me that I was signing up for a membership. The monthly fee gives you a credit towards a game and at $6.99 I think their pretty cheap for what you get.

You also get punches towards other game credits for every purchase.

They have chat customer service that is very responsive and courteous.

I love their games too.

David B March 01, 2013

Is a scam. Hundreds of people are complaining and they are well aware that people are unhappy about being automatically signed up, yet they continue to do it.

Bob H March 22, 2013

They scammed me.

Nutmeg August 11, 2013

I have played BF for YEARS, was a game member as well until I noticed that they were charging for games I got that were supposed to be free. I took particular and detailed note of the process each time I checked out noting that the game was $0.00. I am very picky when it comes to monitoring where my charges are going. Furthermore, I have a specific account from my bank that was set up for BF game membership and purchases. As one who has defended BF to the end, they are not above making mistakes. One must pay very close attention to details when doing transactions online and I found this out with BF in particular. What it showed during the checkout process and what actually happened in reality upon looking at the bank statement were two different things. So before people begin defending BF and diss these complaints, ya all need to know that this company, although I think they try hard, are not perfect. And they DO charge when they should not be. I am currently working with them to get this resolved. I personally have problems with their current new system where one must jump through all these hoops to get a game installed. Not sure if it was due to security purposes or what but for me, I think I have reached my max. It has become a royal headache having to sign in several times following a game purchase and then to sign in again. Frankly, it's nutty. Maybe some complaints are the fault of the user but not all as I have personally found out.

Sweet, unauthorized payments
November 11, 2012

So yes, as with everyone else on this page I purchased a game for $2.99 a month ago only as a reference from another gaming site for something there of better quality (Store credit for a $2.99 purchase on another site referenced by them which turned out to be Big Fish Games). When I signed up there was no mention of recurring payments of any kind on the page or in the terms of service. I purchased my game for $2.99 and say two boxes, one to purchase the game on CD for an extra fee ($8 for a CD not including shipping, really?) and the other to sign up for a free monthly trial of their membership service. "Free for a month and you can cancel afterwords". Haha, no.

So I made sure both of these boxes weren't selected and moved on with my $2.99 purchase making sure to read the rest of the pages as I went. Nowhere on my receipt did it say anything about a recurring payment. Well today (A month after my purchase, not even two months if I were to have gone by the free trial) I received a lovely unauthorized payment on my paypal account for a membership service by them that I hadn't signed up with. Cancelled that ASAP, filed a complaint with them via paypal and have tried calling only to have the phone ring off the hook. Awaiting a reply from them still, as well as my refund.

I STRONGLY SUGGEST NOT USING THIS SITE OR SERVICE. Complete rip off.

Scam
October 24, 2012

Yeah, this is indeed a scam.

I bought one game and they later charged me for monthly fees...that they neglected to mention earlier.

S. H January 12, 2013

Thanks for the heads up - wished I had looked online prior to buying a game from these Scam Artist. Now I will spend the rest of my Saturday online hitting every "review Board" I can to keep others from getting scammed too. My bank is researching "Fraudulent Activity" as well. Everyone who reads this BEWARE - DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH BIG FISH GAMES !

Total Scam!
October 15, 2012
Like everyone says, they take your CC# and send you monthly bills. Winzip should be punished for associating with these con artists.

S. H January 12, 2013

I plan to see what legal action can be taken.

S H January 12, 2013

Legal Action coming !

LOUSY LOUSY LOUSY
October 5, 2012
Did not receive the download. No customer service. Yet continued to withdraw from my paypal account.

Very nice gaming site, excellent customer service.
September 26, 2012

I've been a customer of this company's for about six months now, have purchased six or seven games from them, and have to say I've never had any trouble with them at all. I've contacted their helpdesk twice by phone--once due to my own mistake (I'd accidentally bought two games under different emails and needed help consolidating my accounts) and once just to ask questions about their unlimited subscription service. The agents were helpful, spoke clearly and fluently, and went the second mile getting my needs met. To my astonishment, the second agent not only answered all my questions but uncovered a dissatisfaction I'd had with something I thought was just a gravity issue that couldn't be helped--she figured out the problem and then gracefully fixed it before I even knew what was going on. Both of my encounters felt like training manuals for call centers--I wish all agents were like them.

Yes, you do have to be careful not to accidentally sign up for their membership thing (not the unlimited sub, but some kind of "discount card" thing that lets you buy games more cheaply). And the games are not in my opinion cheap in general--most of them are US$9.99, which feels high to me--but they sure have a lot of them, and the hour-long demos you can do on all of them gives you a great preview before you take the plunge on anything. Plus they do have sales that make the games' cost hurt less. So overall I'm going to have to say I'm completely satisfied with the service and would recommend it to others who want a nice clearinghouse of casual games.

GamerGal November 11, 2012

I forgot to mention the part where I was a corporate shill, posting false comments to make the company look better from all of these negative reviews of people being billed without having signed up for anything.

Anna November 21, 2012

I have to agree with you Gamer Girl. There was NO option there for me to sign up for that membership. I got the discount from going through another game saying that if I bought a game for $2.99 on Big Fish Games I could get 20 gems. They had a special promo code for me to type in to Big Fish Games. I had NO option to choose to sign up for a membership or not.

Unrealistic Dealers
September 26, 2012

I play their BlackJack game a LOT! If you play for free, it's fine -

and fun. If you expect to win using odds of BJ, forget it. All you have to do is keep track o the number of times the dealer shows a ten or and ace on the deal, and you'll figure out how rigged this game really is. If you do happen to hit a nineteen or twenty on the deal, the dealer hits 21 a disproportionate number of times. And if you hit on twelve, you're going to bust about 90% of the time. It's entertainment until you get frustrated and go all-in just to get all-out. LOL

Top of all gaming sites
June 30, 2012
I wish every vendor has their customer service. They are the best. I've never had a bit of problems with their site. Once in awhile I've run into a game problem which they are quick to correct either refunding my money or giving me a game credit. Since I do belong to their monthly membership, I would rather have the game credit. And you are dealing with someone who speaks English, not someone overseas in a call center. I know some people have problems their computers but it's operator error, an older computer, fire wall, etc. I have a newer computer and never had a problem downloading even with my older computer.

Contact number for refund
June 15, 2012

This is a racket but they return your money if you ask for it. I found a contact number (866) 921-6960 for Big Fish Games on the Better Business Bureau site (http://www.bbb.org/western-washington/business-reviews/games-and-supplies/big-fish-games-in-seattle-wa-39000589). Big Fish was very cooperative when I called this number. If you are not satisfied, you can file a complaint on that BBB site. Surprisingly Big Fish has an A+ rating because they satisfy complainers.

They make their money from the poor folks who don't bother to complain about the fact that they were tricked into a monthly charge for some club they never wanted.

Scam
June 9, 2012
Me and my friend caitlin bought a single game ( for £2.99) using her card and it doesn't say anywhere that it charges on a monthly basis. It says it's McAfee and Master Card secure but it isn't. If you see this then DO NOT buy any games it takes out monthly fees and the games are not worth the time, money and hassle. They're worth £2.99.

Rip Off
April 18, 2012
Yep i got stung after giving them my card details for a single game purchase. They used the bank details to start billing me on a monthly basis. How can they get away with this and has anyone got any success stories with regard to getting their money back at all????

Gary May 12, 2012

download free games from bit torrent. All the big fish games are there for free.

Jenak3769 October 16, 2013

LMAO at gary but good point , i do the same , some one will have created a crack code to ac tivate it ,,, without the client , or any other garbage my hat goes off to those people ,

Big Fish Games is a Scam
January 31, 2012
Do not, under any circumstances, purchase anything from Big Fish Games. If you do, you will be charged a monthly fee whether you signed up or not. Then, good luck trying to get a refund. The Seattle owner of this company -- Paul Thelen -- should be ashamed of how he operates this "business."

Arlys c October 13, 2012

I purchased a disk at Target . When I attempt to install i get the activation from ticket purchase. Can't download the game. I alread paid for it a at store.

Cindy November 04, 2012

Had I known the reviews about the Big Fish Games, I wouldn't have made the mistake of uploading these games. I bought 4 games and paid through credit card. But since then, I noticed that I was being charged monthly! I came upon this link to check if there are other complaints about this company. And true enough, the same problem! Now, I am filing to get a refund!

Don't Waste Your Money
January 5, 2012
scam... I don't know if I'm doing it right but I did the free trial for a game, i like it, so i bought it, after I bought it< they were telling me that my time was up for the trial again. I was supposed to be playing so it sent me a message that said I should press a button so it would re download and that didn't work.

Great Games
November 29, 2011
Big Fish Games is one of the best sites I have found to get game software. They're prices are great and you can join a club and get an even bigger discount. I mostly played the hidden object games, but they have a ton of other games divided into different genres so it is easy to find what you want. You can even try a game for a full hour to see if you like it before buying it. They are always having specials and deals on different games too. All the games I have downloaded have worked perfectly without any problems what so ever. I would highly recommend checking them out. I'm sure you will find some games you will enjoy. Big Fish Games definitely gets a big thumbs up in my book.

Leon B December 25, 2011

Yes they have good games. but are not upfront about their membership fees and recurring charges.Bad business practices. many custosmers have complained about the same problem.search- big fish games scam