Advance America Cash Advance Reviews

Advance America was established in 1997 and is currently one of the nation’s largest payday loan companies, offering full service operations both at local locations and online.

The company offer several different types of loan products and it’s important to understand the terms, limitations, and consequences of each one.

Below we’ll take a closer look at the cash advance options this company offers and analyze their customer feedback and reviews.

How Does It Work?

To its credit Advance America does provide their customers with almost immediate access to money. 

Depending on the state you live in and if there’s a physical location nearby, you can obtain a payday loan either same day or within one business day

Currently Advance America operates in the following states:

  • Alabama
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nevada
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming


If applying in person you will need your

  • Social Security number
  • Active bank account information
  • Proof of income
  • Government-issued ID

Online applicants will additionally require a valid email address.

Advance America Loans and Rates

  • Payday Loans - Designated as small short term bridge loans until your next paycheck arrives. 

Depending on your income and the state that you live in, this can be up to several hundred dollars.  For instance, in California you can borrow up to $255.

These loans, also called cash advances, are meant to be paid back within 2-4 weeks.

The benefits of these loans are that they can tide you over in an emergency as they have an easy application, don't require good credit, and have quick approval.

The downside is that the rate at which you borrow can be extremely high.

  • Installment Loans - These are meant for larger purchases/expenses that won’t be paid off with the next paycheck.

    This is akin to a personal loan, which you can payback in smaller amounts over a longer time frame - ranging from 3 to 24 months.  Terms and rates will depend on your state and circumstance.

  • Title Loans - These types of loans allow you to borrow against an asset, in this case being a car, truck, RV or motorcycle.

Rates and terms will again vary on your location, appraised value of assets, and personal factors.  

For example in California you can borrow from $2,510 to $25,000 from rates starting at 36%APR.  This option only applies if your assets are fully paid off and in your name.

Make sure to carefully read your loan agreement with these loans, while you may be getting a lower rate your vehicle is at risk of repossession if you fail to meet Advance America’s terms.

  • Flex Line of Credit - This is a good option to pursue as a safety net for future use.  If approved a credit line is yours to use similar to a credit card.  You only pay when you use it and it saves you the time of having to reapply for another loan.

    You can obtain payday loans from Advance America at their in house locations as quickly as ten minutes after your application has been approved, or from their online website, in which case the funds will be directly deposited into your bank account the next day.

Is Advance America Legitimate?

In an effort to combat the negative stereotypes associated with payday loans, Advance America claims to be committed to following all Federal and individual state laws associated with giving payday loans.

They are a member of the Community Financial Services Association of America (CFSA), which is the only national organization dedicated to promoting responsible regulation of the payday advance industry.

As a member of CFSA, Advance America claims that they make sure all their terms, conditions, fees, and payback schedules are as clear and easy to understand as possible, so that their clients have the best chance at successfully paying back their short term loans.

Although Advance America makes such these assurances, it's still up to borrowers to ensure they completely understand the terms and conditions of the agreement before they accept a loan.

Warnings About Payday Loans

Payday loans are extremely controversial.  Because payday loans are targeted at people who need cash immediately and have may no other means of receiving it, these companies are able to charge high interest rates, with the nationwide average being as high as 390% APR.

Often these high interest rates result in people’s inability to be able to pay back these short term loans on time, which results in a series of fees making it even more difficult for those struggling financially to keep up with it.

Because of this problematic cycle, individual states have created rules and regulations regarding the approval of payday loans and limiting their fees.

Some states have outlawed the practice, while others have few regulations that limit payday lenders.

Customer Service

If you have any questions or issues you can reach customer support at their phone number (844) 562-6480.  You can also directly message the company on Facebook or through their online chat feature on the website.

If you are doing business with a local Advance America chain then it might be best to reach out to them directly.

Advance America Customer Reviews & Complaints

The company has mixed online reviews with some customers reporting a satisfactory experience and others recounting horror stories from dealing with this service.

Some customers reported issues with Advance America withdrawing money from their accounts the day before they received their paycheck, which set them up for overdraft fees.

Others reported issues with the company not working with them when they ran into financial troubles after borrowing money, reporting that instead of working with them Advance America sent accounts to collections and repossessed vehicles.

There are also a large number of complaints that stem from online scams unassociated with Advance America.  

Online scammers use their name with promises of loans.  They then try to obtain a small deposit from you to initiate the loan.  Beware of anyone that contacts you requesting for you to deposit money or share your banking login information.

Competitors and Alternatives

Some possible alternatives to consider include:

  1. Payday Alternative Loan from a local Credit Union will usually offer better terms and more payoff time.
  2. Check rates from companies offering bad credit personal loans
  3. Borrow from Friends or family
  4. See if you can apply for a low interest credit card
  5. Workout a payment plan with your creditor
  6. Paycheck advance apps such as Earnin, which let you borrow against your check without fees.
  7. Try to pick up quick side hustles like driving for a ride sharing app or manual labor work.
  8. Sell possessions
  9. Turn to local charities or community organizations

Some of these options may not be practical in a true emergency situation but could be worth pursuing as preventive measures for future issues.

Is Advance America Worth It?

Payday loan companies should be relied upon only in extreme cases and when you are absolutely sure that you have funds incoming in time to repay the loan.

There are many dangers in incurring more debt than what you started with by using these kinds of loans.

If you have any experience with Advance America Cash Advance, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

Advance America Cash Advance Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

It was a scam
February 26, 2021
I got a text from a number claiming to be this company. And guess what it was a scam. Cause in the state I live in you can not get any kind of a payday loan.

Tristan August 27, 2021

Was it by an Alex from a (415) area code number by any chance?

We put our customers first
October 14, 2020
I've been with AA for 15 years and we put our customers first.

Scam artists
September 5, 2019

It's too bad that a legitimate company is getting drug through the mud due to scammers pretending to be from Advance America. They are not from Advance America!!!!

If anyone asks for money upfront to loan you money, hang up. Sure you will pay higher interest rates when using a quick service such as Advance America, but that's very clear on their website and due to the higher risk involved in loaning money to those with less than stellar credit.

Too bad so many people think that these scammers are actually from Advance America. I do not, nor have I ever worked for Advance America but a search online and you will quickly find that they are a legitimate business and not at all affiliated with these scam artists.

Antron June 22, 2022

I was just talking to two guys from Advance Americas telling me that they work for them. I was told that my credit was not at 720 but if they sent me money and I send it back to them I will be able to get the loan because the credit would increase.

They put the money in my back account, and they have been calling me so I can send it back to them. I called Advance America and am waiting on a response from them. If anyone knows anything, please email me.

Advance America is a legitimate company
September 5, 2019

Advance America is a legitimate company that will NEVER, UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE, ask for money upfront. These scammers are using the companies name to sound as if they are a legitimate company, remember that anyone can claim they are from whatever company they choose. Scam artists know to use a reputable company name if they want to pull off their intended scam.

Don't ever pay out money in advance for a loan, or the promise of a loan. Go to one of Advance America's storefront locations or their website to apply for a Payday or installment loan. That's the only way to know that you are not being scammed.

The internet is full of people looking to take advantage of people who are down on their luck and couldn't care less if they leave you penniless. Their goal is to get as much from you as possible.

If anyone calls you and offers you a loan, ask for their information, name, company name, and physical address. Even if they don't ask for money upfront, beware of lenders calling you to loan you money, especially with so many strings attached. The only strings attached to a legitimate loan is interest fees. Hope this helps someone from getting taken to the cleaners.

I was going to fall for it
July 31, 2019
I just got a call from Mark who said he was form advance America. He offered me $5,000 loan but he needed my user name and password in order to verify my bank account. He already had my accounting routing number and account number. I was going to fall for it because I need money to move out of state but had reservations.

I will never use them ever again
May 29, 2019

they want you to borrow, but once you do , beware I had double payments taken out of my account. and they get rude.. how is that suppose to get customers...???

yes they returned one , but I made a payment ,cause it was getting late the day they suppose to take it and I was afraid of a penalty...oh, apply it to your loan...she said...

on top of it all , I was in a negative balance.....I will never use them ever again....

SCAM
August 18, 2017

Scam from jack jones saying I was approve for 7000 didn't reply 817 -768-7425 don't reply this is a scam

Beware !!
July 18, 2017

Wow these guys got a call from Melvin Bond stating

Hello, This is Melvin bond from AdvanceAmerica need to inform you that your Loan Application has been fully Approved by our company and your approval amount is between $2000 to $7000 and there is no upfront, no processing fees and no hidden charges,

To get this loan call us back on

(209) 479-7193

I called him back he had all my info I told him I never applied for a loan from them and how did they have my info he sorta changed the subject and asked me do I need money or not I went along with it saying yea how much are the payments knowing something was fishy I was curious and wanted to see how much they are gonna try and scam me he then asked mor my bank PIN number and user name and password I laughed and said ok guy who actually gives that info over the phone he said o could change it asap but he just needs to make sure it's a real bank account so he can deposit the money ... what a scam these jerks need to get a real job !! Beware !! This site needs to be put all over the internet and news so people can be aware of this stuff!!!

Been receiving texts messages and calls
March 3, 2017

I have been receiving texts messages and calls from Advance America. I was ignoring all of them until today I decided to call them. I talked to this man that told me that I have been approved for 10,0000 dollars in installment payments. Then he asked if I needed all of it I said no just 1500.00 and he said that I at least needed to get 3000.00 because that is the least that they could approve.

I said ok and then he verified my Bank Information and account # of where the money was going to be deposited. He told me that I had to go to a Walgreens or CVS store and get a card in the amount of 275.00 (this was to verify that I could pay the monthly payment) to verify financial procedure for state government of TX. He told me that before I entered the store to give him a call so that he could continue with deposit procedure.

He also asked me when was I going to do this I told him today after 5:00 pm and he said ok that he would update my account with this information. Something did not sound right to me so I decided to look for the reviews and came across this page. Thank you!!!

BEWARE
March 2, 2017

I got the same calls as mentioned in many of these articles and came very close to falling for it. I spent hrs. on my lap top trying to find this page. Thank the LORD I finally did. I'm really in a bind for funds right now and came very close to falling into this. "Naiy" was the girls name.

She told me I didn't have to pay anything but I did have to go to the store and prove I had the payment amount and confirm my identity and then call Her while I was at the Dollar General and She would transfer $3000 into my account while I was still on the phone with Her.

Something smelled bad about it and I began My search on them. Very happy for this site but PLEASE make it easier for us DUMMYS to find. Thank You and BEWARE.

Be careful.
December 9, 2016

I get an email and the guy from Advance America says I can get a $3,500 loan. So he tells me he will put $800 into my account by mobile deposit. Like an idiot I give him the info. They do put $856 into my account then the guys instructs me to get iTunes cards for $100. First for $500 which was 10 of the $50 ones.

I do that and email the pictures of them like an idiot and then there is $300 left but he asked for $400. I said wait this is bull. I run to the bank and close my account and kept the $300.

Total SCAM
December 2, 2016

Applied for a loan on line for my father. They called and said he was approved for a $5,000 loan and I had to bring his Drivers License, they kept calling it a driving license and proof that he could afford the $350 monthly payments to a CVS. Once we got there they would put us through to the Federal Loan. I asked to speak to him now, they did transfer me. His name was Samuel, badge # 771. He told me I needed to go to CVS to do a physical verification because my dad is sick and can't talk.

Samuel told me to bring his DL and proof that he will pay the 1st monthly payment of $350 and then within 7 minutes after they had proof, they would deposit the money into his checking account. Told Samuel to deposit the money 1st and once I could get the money out in about 24-48 hours, I would go thru with the verification. He told me he was awaiting my return phone call.

Total SCAM. Told him if there is any activity on my fathers account, I would contact the banks fraud department and they would deal with them. This is a crime that they continue to think people, especially the elderly, are stupid. I would highly recommend everyone stay away from them, they are SCAM ARTISTS and I truly do not believe they are calling from Los Angeles, CA like they claim

My advise is keep receipts
October 8, 2016

I borrowed a loan sound 7 Years ago. I defaulted and I made payments to a collection agency paying the whole amount. I recently got a call from a mediator that I owed it again and they had a case number in district court. I went to advance America and the female advised that advance pay claimed it as a loss and sold it to a collection agency. She advised that she tells people make sure they pay their loans.

What happens if you default and pay a collection agency that agency will sell it to a other agency when you are almost through paying it . That is a crime to steal that female would not give me the name of the agency advance America sold it to. I believe agencies like this should be reported to attorney general and FBI.

They call your family members and try to intimidate to pay loan over and over. My advise is keep receipts. Go to court if there you need to and show judge that these collection agencies ae scammers. Belinda V.

Try to scam seniors.
October 8, 2016

This company tried to commit a scam and unfortunately, I fell for it and gave all of my banking info. I was told that I was approved for a loan of $ 1500 and that all I had to do was go to 7/11 and get a card and they would deposit $ 500 in my bank account that I had to then return to them to verify that I was the right person. I was asked for my online user information for my bank and gave it to them; however it was incorrect.

After reading online reviews for this company, I sent an email and told them to cancel my request for funding because it was a scam. I received a return email from the alleged supervisor MICHAEL WHITE who called me an "old dumb idiot".

I may be old, but I am not an idiot. I suspect that MICHAEL WHITE is an undereducated moron who has no better way to earn a living than to try to scam seniors.

I refused
August 23, 2016

Advance American is full of .... Indian sounding man name tom stevens from New York called me saying I was approved for a loan of 7000. I declined to have it dropped into my banking account, I chose to wire it, then he says I have to purchase $140 apple iTunes cards which I did, then he asked me to pay insurance of 260.00 I told him to go to ....I refused.

Told him this sounds like a scam and I am done. Then he claims he will send me a cashier check for the $140 but I would not give him my correct address, I gave him a work address.

No joke its a scam
April 22, 2016

New number scam 1 661-622-6769 no joke its a scam I want no association. Please beware mike O'Conner at fastwire payday

Brewster is at advance america do not trust.

Fastwire broker att: Mike O'Conner refers you over to advance America they all have mid eastern accents. Sounds Indian.

This is a scam
April 3, 2016

This company call me and also text me telling me I am approved for $5000 I have to two texted send money western union and then they would put the money in my acct. I ask I have never heard of any body applying for a loan and if you approved you has to send money for your deposited.

This is a scam do not call nor text me again. He call again this time text me From fastpaydayloan his name is mike phone number 6469151528 again another text from the same number only the name of this one is newyourkpaydayloan.Net same phone number I call he answer I told him you think I am a dam fool I has my attorney looking into it.

This is a scam and also I call the bbb and he hung up. Have not heard from them again texting me nor calling. Please everybody do your search before talking.

I consider this spam
January 27, 2016

They keep phoning 'Kyle' at my phone number insisting that he call Joanna. About once a week, maybe more. I consider this spam.

I do not know what to do
January 20, 2016

I received an e-mail from Cash Advance (Speedy Cash) indicating they were going to take me to court for a balance on a loan which, I do not remember doing at all.

They are requesting I make a payment asap or they are seeking further action. I e-mail them back and indicated they need to send me proof I did indeed apply successfully for this loan. I'm still awaiting there response. I do not know what to do in the meantime.

This # was a scam
November 16, 2015

received call from a guy named Steve Jones ext. 119 stated I was approved for a loan for $ 5000.00. all I had to do was sent 241.00 via money gram to Layne Henderson in California for insurance. I did, He called back saying that he had tried 3 times to transfer the money in my account and that it would not let him, He said that I need to send 450.00 for activation fee for the cards one for 200.00 and 200.00 and 50.00, I did and he say that he got 250.00 but did not get the other 200.00.

I went to the store where I purchased the cards and they called money gram and said that all 3 cards were picked up. I call him back and he said that he did not get it. I call Advance America and she told me that it was a Scam that you never have to pay money to receive money and they do not loan $ 5000.00. She advise me to file a report about this.

This man (Steve) keeps calling me saying that I would have to pay the 200.00 more to get my loan and when I do call him. then he said that I owed state to state taxes of $1100.00. I told him he was full of $$$$. I told him that he was a scam artist and that he might have got me but no more. I ask for my money back and he told me that I did not complete the process and when I did I would get all money that I had invested plus the $5000.00.

the # 347-836-4898 and I also get a recorded message from # 347-779-0958 and when I called this # back Steve answered the phone and I told him that I was still getting calls from here even after I told them to stop and he told me that this # was a scam. I said well it came from you. he processed to get mad at me and I told him that I was going to check into getting to the bottom of this and he said that if I sued that they would sue me for not forfilling my part. I told him that I had not signed anything and had not agreed to any terms and the he said that he was leaving the office and that he would call me back the next day with the information as how to get the money. I told him not to call me again and that I hoped that went he went home that he did not sleep a bit for what he was doing to people.

Fool me once shame on you fool me twice shame on me, I ask for a physcial address and he said that I had it in my email that he sent me. I have not to this day received any email not my money back

These people need to be stop. What do I need to do to get my money back? any advise I live in North Carolina