The Sportsman's Guide Reviews

The Sportsman's Guide
( 17  Reviews )


We’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you're not only helping other customers, but our planet too!

About The Sportsman's Guide

The Sportsman’s Guide, found online at SportsmansGuide.com, is a company that promises their customers “everything to outfit your passion, at the lowest prices guaranteed.” 

How Does It Work?

According to their website, the goal of The Sportsman’s Guide is the same as the day they were established in 1977 – to provide their customers with everything they need for their favorite outdoor past times at the lowest possible prices.

As with any other online retailer, customers are invited to go to their website and look through their current inventory by category, including Ammo & Shooting, Guns, Hunting, Military Surplus, Boots & Shoes, Clothing, Fishing, Boating, Camping, Truck Accessories, Outdoor Creation, Tools & Power Equipment, and Home & Gifts.

They also offer their customers the ability to join their Membership Club, which is priced at $29.99 per year and offers their customers discounts on every purchase they make, as well as access to deals and promotions that are exclusive to their club members. In addition, if you do not have savings in a given year that is equivalent to the price of your membership, they invite you to cancel your membership and request a refund of the fee.  

Cost/Price Plans

This company sells a wide variety of products making it difficult to quote a single price range for the items you will find here; that being said, The Sportsman’s Guide does promise their customers the most affordable prices in the industry.

To live up to this promise, they do provide their customers with a policy that states if within 30 days of the date of purchase you find a lower advertised price for any item that they sell, including if this price is in their own catalog, you will be given a refund in the difference in price. 

The lower priced item must be in stock, and regularly priced. Items found in clearance, on an auction site, or with a special membership price will not qualify for the refund. 

Refund Policy

The website says that they strive to make their customer’s return process as simple as possible, so they never require you to contact Customer Service in advance of making a return. Instead they ask their customers to complete the return form on the back of their invoice and send it along with the merchandise you are returning to the address listed on their website and on your invoice as well.   

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to contact Customer Service with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 888-844-0667 or by submitting them directly to their website through the Contact Us link.

Reputation

Unfortunately it seems that this retailer does have some fairly negative reviews out there written by customers who have had very poor experiences and are warning other customers against dealing with them.

These negative experiences range from customers complaining of defective merchandise that the company denied responsibility for, as well as some frustrated customers who were unable to take advantage of the low price guarantee.

But perhaps the most commonly repeated complaints are those that have to do with backordered items. Customers purchase equipment that has a published date saying it will be available to ship at that time and customers say this date is pushed back again and again and again – one customer even claimed their order was delayed for an entire year, and during that time period they were never able to cancel their order and receive a refund of their payment.   

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many different retailers who specialize in products designed for outdoor hobbies and recreation, including REI.com, SourceOutdoor.com, The Outdoor Exchange, HeartlandAmerica.com, and many others. 

If you have experience with this company or their products, please leave your The Sportsman’s Guide reviews below.

17 ‘The Sportsman's Guide’ Reviews
Sort Reviews By:

Do not order!

May 19, 2021

Do not order from Sportsmans Guide! I ordered 2 outdoor rocking chairs, when they arrived both were damaged. I sent them back and repeatedly emailed, not 1 response! I called a couple of times and spoke to someone and repeated what was said in all unanswered emails, they are damaged!

When I finally received the refund, Sportsmans Guide charged me for the shipping! This company is a joke! Don't waste your money here!

Comment on this review...

Membership is a scam

November 19, 2020

They're ok if it's in stock BUT back orders are literally never filled. They also delete any honest responses if its not positive. It seems like a scam for membership fees

Comment on this review...

Terrible

November 9, 2020

I've been a member of theirs for years and have ordered a ton of stuff. In April I ordered 2k rounds of 9mm. It was on back-order, no problem, I knew it was and I was willing to wait. Couple weeks later I get an email saying it is delayed some more and asks if I still want it. Yes. Ship date comes and goes, nothing.

I check the order status and it says it's been canceled because the manufacturer couldn't deliver by the promised date? I've emailed back and forth with them a dozen times and they are 0 help. First they tried to blame me for not responding to the back-order confirmation, which I did and they acknowledged.

Then they keep telling me to replace my order and there is nothing else they can do. Well that would be all fine and good except they have no ammo available and now with everything going on it would cost me $900 more than when I ordered 6 months ago.

I just want what I ordered. I'm sure they got the ammo in and just decided that they could make triple the profit on it so they screwed me over who's been waiting on it for half the year. I canceled everything with them and hope they go out of business. Their customer service is some if the worst I have ever experienced and their morals are worse than a liberals. I hope you get what you deserve.

Comment on this review...

I saved $

August 25, 2020

The Benjamin Rifle/Airbow Case I ordered and received was a bargain. I appreciate that. The "review" message they sent me was annoying, at the least. There was no chance to review them or their product I bought. I do not know why they sent me a sales promotion rather than the "review" that was in the subject title it had. To clarify why they had no intention of allowing me to review their sale or their product. Their send address to get my review (if I could reply there) is: [email protected] I do not understand them.

Comment on this review...

Bad Company

August 12, 2020

This is a company with little or no customer service. If you find your product back ordered but can't get in touch to cancel the order then here is what you do:
Call the credit card company you placed the order with and have them terminate your current card and issue you anew card with a new number. Simple as that! When Sportsmans Guide tries to charge your "card" it will be declined. That's it. He who laughs last laughs best!
The very best to all of you honest people out there.

View all 2 Comments
October 23, 2020

THESE SLUGS OFFERED A CLUB BUX DEAL WHERE YOU GET $20 FOR EVERY $100 YOU SPEND SO I ORDERED $300 WORTH OF STUFF. THEN MY ORDER DOESN'T ARRIVE I SEE THEY CALLED MY CELL AND I SPEND A WEEK TRYING TO CALL THEM BACK ONLY FOR THE RECORDING TO SAY WE WON'T TAKE YOUR CALL AT THIS TIME CALL LATER. COMPLETELY INCOMPETENT AND SHADY

October 24, 2020

DIDO !!!

Comment on this review...

RUN AWAY

August 8, 2020

Worst outdoor supply company I've ever had the misfortune of encountering. Took order

Comment on this review...

absent customer service

April 7, 2020

I emailed 3 times to find out my order status and each time I got a robot email saying “ don’t worry, we’ll get back to you”. BS! If I ever get an answer or the product, I won’t order from them again. Sportsmansguide took me to never never land: that is, never answer my emails and never got my product.

Comment on this review...

Experience - Very Good

January 3, 2020

I have had a good experience with this company. When items are shipped, you get an invoice and a preprinted return mailing label. You have to order as soon as possible as quantities are limited. If you get in touch with a Customer Service Employee, remember, they are underpaid and over worked. They are ususally not trained well and some can be convicts in a prison system.
I had some issues on the 1990's where I had to return some items. I had no problems. I order mostlty military items. You will take a chance, so be warned when ordering foreign made items. I still order from this company.

October 24, 2020

For this you give '5 *****'s'!? This review looks like it was written by a (sorry) SG supervisor hoping to keep their pathetic job.... PLEASE save your BOO-HOO's. A business needs to be run like one and it either flies or sucks. (What's that I hear, a sucking sound?)......

Comment on this review...

Absolutely one of the WORST merchants I've EVER delt with

October 25, 2019

Absolutely one of the WORST merchants…
Absolutely one of the WORST merchants I've EVER delt with. They can't get an order right - and - their website is misleading and WRONG - and they are NOT customer centered.

October 27, 2019

Unfortunately 'DIDO' on this comment. I became a member long ago and quit two or three times. Once in a blue moon I try again but then reminded why I quit. Too bad, many of the products good but not (good)customer service, mess with you on their 'guarantee' for returns, faulty website (often will not complete order), etc. Say they will make it right for you and then don't follow through.VERY aggravating!

Comment on this review...

Deceptive labeling/returns big hassle

May 22, 2019

I ordered 4xl shirts. I could not get it over my head and the shirts measured out at medium. The shirt tags had been cut probably to remove the size. The shirts were stuffed in a plastic bag and a 4xl label was slapped on. The return has been a big hassle.
S G could only email the label instructions, no label? They are probably hoping I will forget about it during the big time delay. S G wanted me to pay return shipping for their mistake. S G stated they would snail mail, pre paid label.

Comment on this review...

Horrible Customer Service!

February 28, 2019

Horrible customer service, Especially Rep: James and Leslie. cancels orders with no notification. Rude, unprofessional and unethical. I will order from somewhere else from now on, suggest everyone else does the same. These type of business do not deserve our hard earned money!

October 24, 2020

Think that's bad,.... I went through the hassle to get to this guy; Steve Shallman | Director eCommerce Development | Sportsman's Guide, who was to 'fix me up', etc. Gave one (probably auto-reply) email to me and never responded to my comments or requests. There ya go. Phony's all the way up the line designed to ignore their customers wishes. Real pro's! A disrespectful dept. for everything!

Comment on this review...

Horrible customer service, DO NOT shop here

March 14, 2018

They shipped wrong item, then refused to refund my money. Don't walk, RUN away from this company. Shop elsewhere, they have terrible customer service.

Comment on this review...

Worst customer service ever

October 24, 2017

I had my order canceled without them contacting me first. There was a question regarding my FFL dealer (for a firearms transfer) and instead of working with me, they just canceled my order. Then when I tried to re-order they wouldn't honor the price.

Very rude customer service and from my experience several of them are seriously undereducated and unable to think logically or comprehend what customers are asking. Sportsman's Guide often has great prices, but it's not worth the horrible service in my opinion. There are plenty of other online retailers with similar prices and much better service.

Comment on this review...

Cold, terrible and uncaring customer service. They do not honor their satisfaction guarantee.

July 21, 2017

They may have a wide selection of items, but their customer service is cold, uncaring and is truly terrible! They claim to have the strongest guarantee in the business as they say, "Order with complete confidence! Your satisfaction is guaranteed, period," but I absolutely disagree as I was not satisfied with my order one bit and there is no such thing as satisfaction guaranteed, period.

They also claim to have a lowest price guarantee, as they say, "If you find a lower advertised price for an item we sell within 30 days of placing your order, we will refund you the difference. Proof of purchase and a copy of the retailer’s lower advertised price is required." Guess what? I did exactly all that, I already bought the item and showed them the proof of purchase and the retailer's lower advertised price and they absolutely refused to honor the lowest price guarantee that they claim to have, and then ignored me. Absolutely despicable as they did not stand behind their words one bit at all. They will not honor their words and their satisfaction guarantee is a lie.

If you shop with this company, know that their customer service is truly terrible and they will not stand behind the satisfaction guarantee that they claim to have. I was a Club Member of SPG and they did show me as a customer a single ounce of respect. 0/10 company. Despicable company that rather side with their money than with the customer and the guarantees that they claim to have. From my experience, I do not recommend this company at all. Worst customer service, ever! I shake my head at this company as it's probably the worst business I have encountered in my life.

View all 2 Comments
July 21, 2017

Unknowingly I have made 2 reviews, but I had to get the message across of this business with the worst customer service I have come across in my life.

October 27, 2019

No one really knows just how good, bad or indifferent a business is until something goes wrong. Sometimes just the fact that (too many) somethings tells the story. Unfortunately S.G. is looking to crown themselves with that title............

Comment on this review...

DONT GIVE THEM YOUR MONEY!!

November 9, 2016

this company has the worst customer service items are shipped late orders are canceled for no reason... they don't like when your use a legit coupon at check out. the buyers club sucks and is a waist of money!!! my advice stay away the sportsmans guide and do business with a company that cares about its customers

Comment on this review...

They don't deserve your money

August 29, 2016

I've just completed my first and most certainly my last transaction with Sportsman's Guide. I ordered a night table safe and long story short, had to call in FIVE times to verify credit card information because I was a new customer. Why five times? Because whatever needed to be done on their end as a result of the verification in order to progress the order forward, just wasn't done. They even had me conferenced in with the issuing bank - something I've had to do with online orders in years and years and through thousands of orders, exactly NEVER. But even then, the order sat pending, thus resulting in yet another call.

No kidding, I spent a total of 3 hours on the phone for this order, including with supervisors twice, and not a single person sounded as though they cared even slightly.

Their processes are ridiculous. Their staff simple couldn't care less (including supervisors), and it's evident that management has absolutely no interest in improving things after a long history of complaints and poor ratings.

They simply do not deserve your hard earned money. With so many other places to get the stuff we want, I will never ever choose Sportsman's Guide again and would very strongly encourage you to spend you hard earned money someplace more deserving.

Comment on this review...

low price guarantee ? not in my experience .

December 22, 2015

A few minutes ago I experienced Sportsman guide low price guarantee first hand . upon placing a few cases of ammo in my cart I decided to check out some other online stores to see if I could do better . Easily I found several sites with better prices . and one in particular with a $65 savings plus free shipping . So I called SG and asked if they would just meet this price and being a long time customer of SG figured I could use their club 4 pay plan and spread out the wallet shock over 4 months . No go , they wouldn't even match the offer . No guarantee there . So lesson learned Sportsman guide is not the cheapest place around , so do your homework boys and girls , there are better places and deals out there . and remember there are no guarantees in life no matter what they claim .

Comment on this review...

Leave a Review

 
  • We’re partnering with OneTreePlanted.org to plant a tree for every review posted on Reviewopedia. When you add your review to Reviewopedia you’re not only helping other customers, but our planet too!