The Palm Beach Letter Reviews

The Palm Beach Letter, available from The Palm Beach Research Group, describes itself as a publication that aims to provide its subscribers with useful advice about building wealth, living well, and investing.

This publication was initially created by Mark Ford, a man who went from a poor Peace Corps volunteer to a millionaire, from working with a series of wealthy and successful businessmen and learning their financial strategies. 

Through that life experience, he realized that wealthy people do not actually make money in the way that Wall Street traditionally advises average investors to invest. They do not choose to invest in risky or "long shot" stocks. Instead, wealthy people make investments into stocks and strategies that deliver steady appreciation and substantial dividends each month.

All of these strategies and recommendations are compiled into The Palm Beach Letter, their monthly financial newsletter whose goal is not to make stock recommendations, but rather to teach people how to become wealthy.

These reports include things like Income for Life, also called the 770 Account, a report which explains how you can use a whole life insurance policy to increase your savings account. Another report, called the Legacy Portfolio, describes the top ten businesses in the world which would be worth using in a long term investment strategy.

Customers who are interested in receiving their report can purchase a Gold member subscription to The Palm Beach Letter for a flat cost of $99. This subscription will include the current issue of the letter, as well the next twelve month's issues.

You will also receive weekly updates, access to back issues with current recommendations, four Special Reports, and their Wealth Builder essays. 

Before you subscribe, you should know that as financial journalists, and not as advisors or brokers, they are not able to give you personalized advice, just general advice and strategies of which you may not be aware.

Also, they promise that if you have any complaints or problems throughout your entire subscription period, you can call their customer service at phone number 888-501-2598 and speak to about potentially receiving a refund.

If you have any experience with The Palm Beach Letter, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

The Palm Beach Letter Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

So-So Advice, but Scammy Upsells and Marketing Techniques
February 23, 2019

Palm Beach Research and Casey Research both fall under Legacy Research's larger organization. Here's what I told them yesterday:

*****************

Guys,

I want to contact you about your spammy, slimy, high-pressure upselling techniques.

A couple years back I started with subscriptions to Casey Report and got upsold to Crisis Investing. I think that Casey's team has some good advice, but the constant email annoyances were terrible. You guys have been absolutely the worst on the sheer volume of email that you send.

However, when I heard Palm Beach was going to offer crypto advice, I signed up for the Palm Beach Letter. Then, of course, I realized that the Letter wasn't really offering anything of value and I would have to get Teeka's Palm Beach Confidential to get the REAL advice. I chose to accept the upsell. Teeka's recommendations haven't done anything for me, but now you want me to buy the REAL REAL advice via yet another upsell! The nerve!!

Thankfully I don't get any email from any of the Legacy Research firms at present. What relief! However, your guy Spencer at Palm Beach left a couple messages for me about my account. I thought it might actually be important, so I called him back today. Only to get a high-pressure sales call on Teeka's REAL REAL stuff. You have a recording, somewhere, so be sure to check it out. It's funny that he insists that it's not a sales call when it clearly is.

It's pretty awful how you treat your customers who have paid you thousands of dollars for your services. As these subscriptions wrap up I'll be canceling each and every one of them. Other people offer advice from an Austrian viewpoint, and I'm willing to bet that they don't treat paying customers as poorly as the Legacy Research Group does.

Simply stated: It doesn't matter if the advice is good, if you are going to bombard a paying customer with BS upsells. Especially when these upsells appear to be for something that we've already paid for. It is evident that you are not interested in serving the customer. Only yourselves.

...OK, let me see about getting this out into some social media platforms after I hit SEND...

Mark W. Marasch

PatriciaConoly October 04, 2019

I just wanted to say that I gave it a thumbs up even though it doesn’t reflect that in the numbers! Thank you for a very thorough and helpful review!

palm beach letter scam
November 26, 2018
I never received the book that was promised. when i called to say that i didn't want the email service, they said it was too late to cancel. But i never received anything from them and still got charged.

Almost but not quite
February 11, 2018
I read the article and was just about to order the book for $4.95, and then I saw something about a newsletter that they were very vague about. No terms and conditions at the bottom of the article and no number to call. DING DING these were bells going off in my head to check them out, even though their page to a retiree sounds very appealing. I am so glad I did Google them and read your statements. I guess if it sounds to good to be true it usually is. It is a shame that the powers that be let scammers do this to people and something should be done about it, but I don't know who to call and complain to, do any of you out there know who to call?

PatriciaConoly October 04, 2019

It’s the powers that be who not only continue to allow this to happen, but are also behind it in most cases, in my humble opinion!

THANK YOU FOR THE REVIEWS!!
September 20, 2017

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I was getting ready to sign up and then decided to check them out. Usually if it sounds too good to be true, it is!! I am so sorry everyone who wrote a review have gone through, and I certainly hope they have gotten some help and their money back by now!! If not, please keep after them - they sounds like Class 1 crooks who have their system down right - which makes me so mad!!!!! You don't know who to believe, and who not to anymore which to me is a very sad thing!!! I really appreciate it when people leave a review and let others know if something is real of if it is the true!!! We just hope they have gotten their money back and have turned them in for how they are taking advantage of people!!!! THANK YOU TO ALL OF YOU AGAIN!!!!

Dissat consumer
December 6, 2016

I subscribed for a year, then cancelled. There were many emails with "valuable info" which I didn't find very helpful, so I called after I saw my credit card had been charged $129 after the first year completed. I was told by the "first agent" that I would receive a refund within 5-7 business days. Now 3 weeks later, I noticed I haven't yet received the refund to my credit card, so I called 888-501-2598 and spoke with the "second agent", who told me from her review of their call notes that my original request could not be processed since the charge was pending, and that PBRG's call notes indicated that "the customer would call back" to request the refund once the charge had cleared (I do NOT recall the original agent telling me that at all.)

I asked the second agent why PBRG wouldn't just follow up on its own in several days (after the charge had cleared its pending status), instead of making me go thru the steps to RE-REQUEST what I had made perfectly clear during my first call -- "I want to cancel, and to receive a refund for the $129 charge at the beginning of the second year." I suggested to the second agent that she forward my recorded comments in my conversation with her, to her management team, so they can hopefully tighten up this currently sloppy aspect of their cancellation process, which has rendered me a dissatisfied Customer.

I wonder how many others may have experienced the same response, including perhaps NOT BEING REFUNDED AT ALL (i.e., the refund issue being "out of sight, out of mind"). Not Best Practices, by any stretch. If I am contacted by PBRG with a confirmation that they have indeed effectively changed their practices to eliminate this process defect, then I will consider revisiting this critique, and perhaps changing my overall (currently very low) rating of their company. Otherwise, I would recommend you steer clear of PBRG.

I fell for the Palm Beach Letter Scam (Face Plant!)
March 31, 2016

I was dumb enough to bite. Thankfully, Capital One was in my wallet and they got my money back eventually. You get nothing from these jerks but a paperback black book, after about the 60 days' trial they supposedly give you to change your mind (with none of the so-called extras they promise either). I started trying to cancel after about 30 days. Forget about it; no way to reach them.

Please don't fall for this BS. It is most assuredly a SCAM! As for calling them, not happening ~ their phone number is perpetually busy, unless it's late, when you will get a recording telling you just that, you are SOL, it's after hours. I feel pretty darn stupid. Don't fall for it.

sarajsh May 11, 2016

thanks, you just saved me from signing up. so most of what they said was lies, eh? thought so, that's why i checked them out.

Scam Plus
March 23, 2016
These scammers charged my credit card $99.00 and $128.00 and sent me an eMail saying that they charged me $0.00 (my ass) and then told me there was nothing they could do about it. Swell. Swell, Hell!

sarajsh May 11, 2016

thanks. you just saved me from signing up.

A Refund??
February 24, 2016
I canceled my subscription two days after I ordered it. I asked for a refund as stated in their ad. Over the last 6 weeks, I have requested a refund every other day and get the same canned letter "we will get back with you in 24 hours." They won't even stop the emails that I don't want. I have since turned them over to the Better Business Bureau in Florida. Don't have much faith that I will get my money back. I will continue to repeat my story on venues like this until I do.

Christine March 08, 2016

I am having the same problem now with the Palm Beach letter. They will not answer my requests for cancellation and I have made 3 requests so far. If they don't answer soon, I will file a dispute with my credit card company.

sarajsh May 11, 2016

thank you. you just saved me from signing up.

Belinda Walker September 20, 2017

THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I was getting ready to sign up and then decided to check them out. Usually if it sounds too good to be true, it is!! I am so sorry you have gone through, and I certainly hope you have gotten some help and your money back by now!! If not, please keep after them - they sounds like Class 1 crooks who have their system down right - which makes me so mad!!!!! You don't know who to believe, and who not to anymore which to me is a very sad thing!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I was getting ready to sign up and then decided to check them out. Usually if it sounds too good to be true, it is!! I am so sorry you have gone through, and I certainly hope you have gotten some help and your money back by now!! If not, please keep after them - they sounds like Class 1 crooks who have their system down right - which makes me so mad!!!!! You don't know who to believe, and who not to anymore which to me is a very sad thing!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I was getting ready to sign up and then decided to check them out. Usually if it sounds too good to be true, it is!! I am so sorry you have gone through, and I certainly hope you have gotten some help and your money back by now!! If not, please keep after them - they sounds like Class 1 crooks who have their system down right - which makes me so mad!!!!! You don't know who to believe, and who not to anymore which to me is a very sad thing!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I was getting ready to sign up and then decided to check them out. Usually if it sounds too good to be true, it is!! I am so sorry you have gone through, and I certainly hope you have gotten some help and your money back by now!! If not, please keep after them - they sounds like Class 1 crooks who have their system down right - which makes me so mad!!!!! You don't know who to believe, and who not to anymore which to me is a very sad thing!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I was getting ready to sign up and then decided to check them out. Usually if it sounds too good to be true, it is!! I am so sorry you have gone through, and I certainly hope you have gotten some help and your money back by now!! If not, please keep after them - they sounds like Class 1 crooks who have their system down right - which makes me so mad!!!!! You don't know who to believe, and who not to anymore which to me is a very sad thing!!! THANK YOU SO MUCH!!! I was getting ready to sign up and then decided to check them out. Usually if it sounds too good to be true, it is!! I am so sorry you have gone through, and I certainly hope you have gotten some help and your money back by now!! If not, please keep after them - they sounds like Class 1 crooks who have their system down right - which makes me so mad!!!!! You don't know who to believe, and who not to anymore which to me is a very sad thing!!!

Looking for a devil's advocate
February 22, 2016

Has anyone actually had a positive experience, or made any money, using their ideas?

I have not purchased anything from them , so far. and would simply like to know if there is even a small window here to learn what to do, instead of what not to do.

Thanks

sarajsh May 11, 2016

good luck with that. I'm sure there is someone, though.

Fooled! August 18, 2017

I got taken by them too, for $1500. They refused to refund my money within the trial period, telling me they had to look into it and then not getting back to me. When I called back I was told I had to speak to a specific person for my refund who was always unavailable. Almost all of their stock recommendations were years old and well past the buy up to prices. Others that weren't were cheap gold mining stocks - like who would be stupid enough to buy any of those? Plus you get bombarded with emails by their so called partners always trying to sell you something else! Palm Beach Research Group is noghing but a giant scam!

BruceSimpson November 22, 2017

Go to your bank or card provider. They will step in and get your money back. Just show them the written promise of a refund.

Such A Scam
February 18, 2016
I have been trying to reach someone at this company for 2 months to cancel and have yet to get a return call or response to an email. Just called again and was told wait time 59 minutes? Are they crazy?

joseph craven February 20, 2016

same experience. still no refund or response.

Palm beach letter rip off
February 17, 2016

Palm beach letter is a rip off

I ordered the palm beach letter 30 days trial , paid $ 49. and when I want to cancel after only 2 days because the information was obsolete, the costumer service number is disconnected and sending my cancelation they never responded, I have not received any confirmation or anything from them

sarajsh May 11, 2016

how did you manage to pay only $49. on 5/11/2016 their lowest subscription was $59...the ad I saw was. anyway, thanks, you saved me from signing up.

Palm beach letter rip off
December 24, 2015
I only ordered the booklet for $4.95. I said NO to every extra option they offered. My credit card was only billed for the $4.95 then a month later a $94.00 debit was charged to my credit card! This was a complete rip off!! It was totally unauthorized. I will be disputing the charge . As of now I have only been getting an answering machine.

j. muszynski January 16, 2016

I also ordered the booklet for $4.95. I said NO to every extra option they offered. This was all done by a machine recording after they take credit card info. It goes on and on, do you want to take advantage of this or that yes or no. At least 5 to 7 times. My credit card was only billed for the $4.95 then a month later a $94.00 debit was charged to my credit card! This was a complete rip off!! It was totally unauthorized. I will be disputing the charge . As of now I have only been getting an answering machine.

joseph craven February 20, 2016

let the buyer beware. This publication is a sham.

sarajsh May 11, 2016

can you dispute through your credit card? they are usually pretty good about that. Let BBB and your states's attorney general know, too. Or is it *their* attorney general? hmm.