StoryWorth Reviews

StoryWorth
( 28 reviews )
Website: StoryWorth.com

StoryWorth is a company offering a service where life stories from a loved one, prompted by weekly questions provided by StoryWorth, are compiled into a personalized keepsake hardcover book.

How Does it Work?

StoryWorth is a membership program that allows you to send questions to your loved ones, which hopefully prompts a story in return. 

Your loved one will get new prompts every week, answering questions such as “What were your grandparents like?”  

You can choose questions from the library or write your own if you wish, and you can change your weekly questions if you want to adjust the topics, too. 

StoryWorth will collect these responses for a year and then bind them into a hardbound book.

When you purchase a subscription, you get a year’s worth of story prompts for a single storyteller as well as unlimited recipients and one black and whit e hardcover book. 

If you have a storyteller who doesn't have an email address, you can purchase an audio plan, which will allow them to tell their stories without a hardcover book.

You can also order additional books after the subscription has ended, including options for color books up to 480 pages long.  Each book is 6x9 inches and can include photos if you so choose. 

If you are interested in sharing stories from multiple storytellers, you can purchase multiple subscriptions to include all of their stories in the same book. 

The company also offers transcription for an additional fee, with transcriptions handled by actual humans.

Cost and Price Plans

The StoryWorth standard subscription plan costs $99 and includes a years worth of response stories bound into a hardcover book up to 480 pages in length with a full color cover and black & white interior.

This service includes one hardcover book shipped anywhere in the US.

Customers can also upgrade to a color interior at the time of printing, costing $40 - $60 additional depending on the length of the book.

You will want to take time to review the interior of your book before ordering, as fixing errors after the book is printed is more difficult.

Ordering multiple books is possible, but it’s recommended that you purchase one book first to see what it looks like, then you can make any necessary corrections before ordering the remainder of the books.

Books can be shipped internationally but may require additional shipping fees.

When your subscription ends, you can renew for an additional year of story prompts or you can print your book. 

Customer Reviews & Complaints

We have found reviews where customers rave about how great of a gift the StoryWorth book is for remembering loved ones and their stories, and also an innovative way to preserve your unique family history. 

One feature of StoryWorth that customers cite is that all customer information is treated with discretion and courtesy.  The company has an official commitment to privacy so that only you decide who sees your stories.

The books themselves are hardcover and high-quality, and usually take only ten business days to arrive.  Economy and expedited shipping are available. 

If you’re not sure how to get started with StoryWorth or need more ideas for what your book will look like, you can visit the company’s website to see additional book examples, too.

Customer Service

The company offers full refunds within the first 30 days of purchase as long as no books have been printed.  Printed options cannot be exchanged or returned.

If you have problems with your order, you can reach customer service and find additional contact information by emailing at [email protected] or check out the latest updates on their social media channels on Pinterest, Facebook, Twitter, or Instagram. 

No phone number is listed on the company’s website.

StoryWorth Competitors and Alternatives

There are a number of other storytelling tools and apps out there to help you get to know your loved ones more closely.  Some of the more popular ones are Storycorps, Saving Memories Forever, and FamilySearch Memories.

Storycorps began as a recording booth in New York’s Grand Central Terminal - today, it has a mobile app for iOS and Android devices.  This app lets you interview family members or loved ones at any time.

Saving Memories Forever is a website and mobile app that also allows you to record family stories - this app is also free.

While both Storycorps and Saving Memories Forever offer great solutions to people who want to document their heritage - and are free - they don’t offer printed versions of the collected stories in book form.

If you want a program that will allow you to create an actual book, StoryWorth is one of the only options out there.

FamilySearch Memories, a website that allows you to organize photos and documents into albums, does produce a final product, but does not create a storybook.

If you have any experience with StoryWorth or their products, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

StoryWorth Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

StoryWorth prompts
September 5, 2022

StoryWorth talks about a year of prompts and questions. Not true. You will be lucky to get 4.

Real people did not help the customers.
August 12, 2022

I have read most of the other reviews and agree with most every one that is negative. With all my problems, I was never able to actually talk to anyone in person for help. I have “lost” entire chapters of stories and one would think with a company such as this would have a backup in order to “hold” chapters. I am not a book writer and why would I feel it necessary to back it up as that should be their responsibility.

My photos and the descriptions got so totally messed up in one chapter and I tried everything under the sun to correct. It. I was labeling people, cities and countries. It was so terribly frustrating. Finally I typed out descriptions and they were able to correct it but WHY did it happen????

Most of the time they had a computerized generated answers to my questions so it did not even help when I ran into problems.

I have looked back on dates and found other people had complained about the same things. But with a lot of time spanning in between - they had done NOTHING to improve their systems.

I was so relieved when I finally finished the year long process. If my son had not given this gift to me - I would have thrown it out the door and gone with a different company. The idea is great - they just have done a terrible job of helping people complete all the problems.

The stress is finally gone since I am done. I will not recommend this company to anyone else.

SiriC. September 26, 2022

Hi Melodee my name is Siri Chilukuri and I’m actually doing an article on Storyworth. Wondering if we can chat more about your issues with the service, you can email me at [email protected]

Hooray to Storyworth
July 9, 2022

Storyworth is not expensive and you get so much for your money. I read some of the reviews, and I’m very surprised. This service provides you with the opportunity to tell your stories, and those stories will be handed down to your descendants. I’m not the savviest person on the computer, and I found it easy to navigate.

You can be as creative as you want to be in writing your stories. You can make them long or short. You can add a few or several pictures. You need to have the time to do this, and it does require a lot of editing- but so what. In the end. I was thrilled with the quality of the book.

My daughter took the extra step of ordering the book in color. I highly recommend Storyworth to anyone wanting to tell the story of their life.

Storyworth launched a product without proper testing to ensure it works,
June 28, 2022

If you use Norton, don't buy Storyworth. Got Storyworth as a gift, have done 2 stories so far and have a problem with both of them.

Tried to upload photos into the stories, but can't.

Storyworth has an "Attach a Photo" link, but it doesn't work. Went thru customer support twice including speaking to a supervisor. Their claim is that because I have Norton security on my laptop, the photo link won't work and I have to call Norton to get it to work. My wife also has Storyworth, and uses her phone to post and can post photos.

She also has Norton security on her phone, so their explanation is suspect.

Disappointed
June 18, 2022

Initially I thought this was a great idea. Basically the gifted acts as an interviewer by asking the recipient a weekly question. I went through this process for 52 weeks as my daughter sent me weekly questions.

I spent many hours weekly, writing and attaching photographs using Microsoft Word. I spend quite a bit of time wrapping photographs with descriptive text and proofing each week's work prior to submitting it to Storyworth.

I was very disappointed to find Storyworth would undo all of my formatting to put it back to email format. I went back and forth with them about this issue but they didn't seem to care.

There are also many pages where words have double spacing between letters l I k e t h I s. It's very upsetting given all the work I put in to this process. I could not recommend this process unless they print in a reasonable format submitted by the author.

Tom, KathiOlejnik June 22, 2022

I, too, had this same issue. I was told "if you had already deleted any additional spacing in the edit page, then what you see in the preview of your book is what the book will look like. There is no way to change the spacing between the words when you preview your book even though it looks fine in the edit page.

I was also told their

"system is set up to accept text and photos from a variety of email systems and convert it automatically into a formatted book layout. They don't offer bold, italics, underline, etc. The book is meant to be print much like a novel book, so it's best to keep extra formatting to a minimum."

Quoted from a text I was sent. I replied this is not acceptable.

SiriC. September 26, 2022

Hi Jim, my name is Siri Chilukuri and I’m actually doing an article on Storyworth. Wondering if we can chat more about your issues with the service, you can email me at [email protected]

Storyworth publishing quality control is non existent
May 15, 2022

I was given Storyworth for my Birthday from my children. I was so excited about the concept and looked forward to it since I love to write and the thought of leaving a living legacy was so intriguing to me. So I started getting my weekly questions and I wrote and added phots and after 40 questions I felt like I had covered all of the subjects that I wanted to leave my heirs even though the program is up to 52 questions. So I went ahead and ordered my 4 books. One for my my wife and I and three for my children and their families.

When I received the books I found that many/most of the photo captions did not line up with the correct photos. They were either out of order or on different pages. What a disappointment after spending over $500 on these books and the time and energy I put into these.

So I contacted Storyworth to let them know about the problem. After a lot of back and forth they did nothing but blame me for not having edited it before publication. I went ahead and corrected the stories based on their recommended method of adding the captions below the photos (I had them on top of the photos) Instead of publishing me 4 new books , they wanted me to pay full price for 4 new books! What kind of customer satisfaction program do they have?

So, they took was what a positive experience and ruined it because they had no system to check the books for errors before publishing.

I was going to gift this to several family members but I won't now and I would caution anyone considering using this to understand that they have no quality control in their publishing of these books.

SiriC. September 26, 2022

Hi Mike, my name is Siri Chilukuri and I’m actually doing an article on Storyworth. Wondering if we can chat more about your issues with the service, you can email me at [email protected]

Avoid Storyworth At All Costs
May 10, 2022
I would advise anyone thinking about buying a subscription to Storyworth to save their money. The idea is fabulous, but the system just does not work. The customer service is TERRIBLE - and to get Sarah to respond to me, I spent an hour leaving terrible reviews on all their social media platforms. Save your $$, and write your own version in word, and have it printed at your local print store. I gave one star, because I had to to have my review posted - but they get NO STARS.

Do NOT use this company!
April 26, 2022

The concept of an older person leaving stories of times past for loved ones is great. HOWEVER, StoryWorth is not the company to use. The site is not user friendly for older people. I gave this as a gift.

After a year of stories, my mom tried to order her free book. The site kept changing her order to color options. And she could not get it to the black and white option. So she ordered and was charged the extra $40. She emailed customer service about the issue. They offered to change her book to black and white but refused to refund the $40. She then requested a call from customer service. The caller told her to get black and white she would have to drag the black and white writing to the order box and that it is not just an option that can be chosen.

She then requested the changes and a refund. This representative told her that changes weren't allowed. My mom told him she had an email stating that the change could be made. The rep refused to make changes and also told her no matter if a change was allowed they would under no circumstance give a refund. So my mom is frustrated and I am beyond disappointed!!!

Please, please read all the reviews and know that this company has poor customer service!!!! She is waiting on receiving her book before she gives her final review. But as of right now she is unhappy with this company!

Editing sucks
March 22, 2022

The idea is great, They response to question quickly. However, I would highly recommend going to another company which has better editing. Storyworth has very few tools to help design and create the look you want.

Unfortunately l have two books to complete. My Mom and my Dad's.. I am going to use another company for my book.

JoMac March 28, 2022

Thanks for the sanity check, Jody. My son gifted me with a Storyworth subscription for Christmas and my intial excitement was dampened almost immediately when I realized just how inflexible the options are for fonts (no italics or bold!!) and photos (can't wrap text around photos; the only option seems to be plopping a photo in its own line between paragraphs).

Very clunky. It's a "one size fits all" approach that profits the company but not the customer. Also, there are no options for seeking advice from a customer service agent; all questions must be submitted via email and the email responses are not particularly helpful. Think offshore help desk canned responses to FAQs.

Net, the concept is wonderful; the execution? Not so much. More's the pity.

Not what it claims to be.
February 17, 2022

Gift from daughter and in most cases it was easy to use. However multiple times the system erased sentences and paragraphs. One time it erased 20 pages. No way to retrieve if it arbitrarily delete’s. They have no fall system that ask, Are you sure you want delete.

They have contracted with support group that has no phone interaction. Very frustrating after writing pages and pages and then it is gone. They say if you post your story from time time you can retrieve any accidentally or system glitch, this is not true.

Who would want to post if you're not finished with the story. You can only upload one pic at a time. I’m going to try writing in word and then up load to Story Worth.

RonMurrell March 21, 2022

I (accidently) deleted a chapter but on contacting StoryWorth they retrieved it straight away.

Customer Service is terrible and no refunds even if there issue. - UPDATE
February 14, 2022

Update - I was contacted by Sarah in Customer Service, who apologized and said she was refunding my damaged book. They need rational people like Sarah in their business. I am upping my rating accordingly.

As a business this company gets a 2-star review at best. The concept and the end book product are 4-5 stars. However, if you have any problems, their customer service is a big zero in my experience.I ordered one book to review before buying additional. The book was damaged in shipment with a crushed corner. I emailed them the same day it was delivered with pictures.They would not process a refund and never told me they wouldn't. I order additional copies and then they send a copy without telling me. Now I have an extra book I do not need.Taylor and Robin are both very poor communicators and do not have a customer first approach. They should take a lesson from Mixbook. That is why Mixbook is so successful with loyal customers who recommend their service all the time.Storyworth is just poorly managed and does not know how to succeed in the service industry - just look at all the bad reviews due to customer service!

I question this company’s integrity?
January 15, 2022

Customer service is terrible. They charged me for two copies of my book, but so far I have only received one copy. Plus I was charged way more than the posted prices in the bills. I question the company’s integrity and honesty.

Stay away from this.
December 27, 2021

System is not user friendly. Difficult to edit. Not easy to make smooth transition. Customer service terrible. Taylor H who responds to all email a computer and not a smart one. If you want to talk to someone almost impossible. I was 28th in line when I called and after 30 min. gave up. Save your money and try the competition. They could not possibly be worse.

If you like talking to a computer, that's not very bright this is where you should go. If there is the slightest problem or question that is not in their menu they are of no help. I am most unhappy with Storyworth. I tried getting them to help with a problem and had to take back the money I paid. I would not recommend them.

JohnSheff January 14, 2022

Try handwrittenlegacies.com. They just send you a pdf book after filling out a small quiz about the person all offline. You can then make as many copies as you want.

Subscription emails not sent
December 27, 2021
Family did not receive their emails on Chiritmas as they were supposed to. I hope this is not a preview of what is to come!

Fran May 10, 2022

I have had the same experience with emails not being sent when the company told me they would be. I'm asking for a refund, and finding another alternative. The company seem to learn nothing from their bad reviews.

Frustrating experience
November 10, 2021
Seemingly good idea and easy to use. Not so fast! If you go EXACTLY by their format… fine, maybe. Change format even slightly, then you are in trouble. The publishing format is awful. The customer service is not much better. I would check out the competition before giving these people your money. Extremely frustrating experience!!

Ok if you are very computer saavy
November 8, 2021

Not the best at all. Better to have your relatives write down stories in email to you. The questions are actually lifted from various people's stories. I know this because I wrote some very specific questions that are now featured. Plus the layouts are difficult, I guarantee this won't work for seniors.

Received the wrong book - no response from the company
August 16, 2021

I have had a horrible experience with Storyworth.

My father spent a year journaling passages through their clunky interface. I ordered a copy of his book, "Stories from My Dad"

I did not receive my father's writings, the content in my book is someone else's personal journal entries.

This is an egregious violation of the company's promise to protect privacy and confidentiality. I have access to Mike's personal stories. Who knows who received my father's book passages?

I have emailed them 3 times in the past week and received no response from them on reprinting my book or how to rectify their mistake.

Don't waste your time. Journal in a Word document and have your local print shop produce a book at the end, if you want to follow this week-by-week format.

Amateurish and Limiting
June 23, 2021

If you expect a book without pictures, indenting, underlining, bold or italics font, then this might work for you. You can't underline book titles or url addresses. Pictures work only SOME of the time. Bullet points are impossible. Indenting left and right for citations and quotes -- cant be done.

There are freakish occurrences of lines of text that will center on the page for no known reason. And then there have been the times that the software stalls or loses sections or even "locks up" and prevents further editing.

The concept is good, but this [version of the] product is amateurish and limiting. Too bad the Customer Service is so poor -- I had hoped that they would have cared enough to respond. Caveat emptor!

Story - Worthless. Buyer Beware!
March 3, 2021

Don’t waste your money on this product. Based on personal experience (I purchased this for my mom in May 2020): something will quite possibly not work with the platform they use; there is a strong chance that you’ll receive, after being ignored, poor customer service from people who will attempt to gaslight you as opposed to help you.

This company blames users for errors that are inherent to their product. Save you and the people you love frustration and wasted time. Have them use a simple word processing application and help them add pictures if they need that help. Create positive memories with your family rather than the shared frustrations of StoryWorth’s shoddy product and (almost criminal) ‘customer service.’

What we need is a review of the writers final product, was it worth it?
February 10, 2021
The concept is great, The tools and process are beta at best, The effort to edit is something far greater than effort to write. Two many redundant questions. My expectation is that the finished product will not be anywhere close to the hype.

Tom, KathiOlejnik June 22, 2022

Agree. After I had the first book printed there were many issues I could not go back and change before ordering more books. I haven't yet and may not order more. What I was able to do was put 52 chapters in chronological order. Prior to this the subjects jumped all over the book and yes, many questions are redundant. They better not ever use the titles that I made up when Story Worth's did not fit the bill.