SkinStore Reviews

SkinStore
( 17 reviews )

SkinStore is an online retailer for beauty and healthcare products which states they have been a trusted source of the latest and most innovative clinical skin care and luxury spa products for over 18 years. 

How Does SkinStore Work?

According to their website, the SkinStore.com website was one of the first available online stores to stock their inventory with dermatologist-created and recommended products which are available to customers worldwide.

Today the website says that they carry more than 7,500 products in more than 250 different brand names across hair care, cosmetics, men’s, natural, and fragrances. 

In addition they also offer a section of their website created for both men and women looking for either information or advice on how to achieve healthier skin and hair.

This section is run by a professional esthetician consultation service, provided for free at SkinStore.com, and will include information on specific problems, conditions, ingredients, and more. 

Customers can go to this website and search through their inventory by the categories into which they have been divided, including Brands, Skin Care, Cosmetics, Hair Care, Natural, Men, Gifts, Tools, Fragrance, and Specials, or by using their website’s search feature to find a specific product you are interested in. 

Cost/Price Plans

As an online retailer of many different skincare and beauty products, the items that you find on this website are likely to vary widely in price, especially when you take into consideration various sales and promotional deals.

That being said, the website does promise that any order which totals more than $49.00 will be provided with free shipping, as long as the items in your order qualify. 

Refund Policy

The website states that all purchases made at the online SkinStore are backed by a 100% satisfaction guarantee. This guarantee promises that if you are unsatisfied with anything you receive from their store, you have 30 days in which to return them.

They do ask that customers return their purchases with all the included “parts, pieces, printed materials, and accessories,” in the product’s original packaging, and customers are asked to contact Customer Service for a Return Merchandise Authorization before mailing your return in. Customers who received free samples with their order are welcome to keep them. 

It is important to note that the website states that if you have an item that you are dissatisfied with that you would like to return after the 30 day window has passed, that you please contact their Customer Service team anyway as they would still like to help you in any they can.  

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to contact Customer Service with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 888-586-7546 or by email at [email protected] or at [email protected], depending on your specific issue.

Reputation

This company appears to have mixed reviews at this time, with many customers detailing positive experiences, an appreciation of their large selection, and happiness with the information available for free on their site.

Of the negative reviews which were available, unfortunately most of them expressed displeasure with the Customer Service team, who they felt were not sufficiently helpful when they experienced a problem.

One comment that was repeated more than once as well had to do with being charged immediately for a purchase that was backordered significantly and which they didn’t receive for many weeks after they paid.  

Competitors and Alternatives?

Online beauty supply and skincare stores are fairly popular and include well known competitors like Sephora.com and DermStore.com

If you have any experience with SkinStore or their products, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

SkinStore Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Deceive Buyers
November 1, 2022

Very disappointed with this site! Made 2 orders. I was immediately charged for the delivery of $ 15 from each order. For a week they wrote that they could not send the goods, because they were not in stock, wait. A week later they closed the orders, and the money for the delivery was not returned. wrote them more than 20 messages, but the money was never returned.

Received USED product- will not refund
August 4, 2022

Customer service makes you jumps through hoops to request a return. I received an eye cream that arrived USED. The eye cream has a human looking hair strand under the sticker seal. Gross! Customer service made me message them several times when I requested a return, giving me the run around. I even sent them a picture of the item twice and still am unable to return.

They make it as difficult as possible to return the item. I’m never ordering from SkinStore again (or the affiliate companies such as Dermstore and Look Fantastic, which are owned by the same company as SkinStore).

I also experienced a similar situation with Look Fantastic (received an expired sunscreen), and again, customer service made me jump through hoops to return. Sadly, I’ve been a customer of Dermstore for over a decade too.

Spend your money elsewhere, thank me later!
July 15, 2022

Worthless costumer service. They will not accommodate refund or offer replacement of a product you never received!

Buyers BEWARE!

Sells fake products
January 17, 2022

I am a long-time user of Perricone MD Face Finishing & Firming Tinted Moisturizer SPF30. Although I usually buy straight from Perricone or a department store (e.g., Macys, Neiman Marcus), I was sucked into an after-Christmas sale at Skin Store to stock up on skin care basics.

Big mistake. The Skin Store Perricone moisturizer is an *obvious fake* (despite realistic packaging). Buyer beware.

Scammmmmmm
February 17, 2021
Forget trying to get a refund on anything defective, even if you cancel even before the item is shipped. Scam. Don't buy.

You will never receive a refund
February 16, 2021

After they finally decided to ship my items, I ended up needing to return one. Oddly enough, "it never made it back to their warehouse". After reading MULTIPLE reviews and plenty of sites, this seems to be extremely common. I am out over $200 because they can't get their crap together.

Horrible experience! Do the research for yourself if you don't trust mine. I'll continue to warn on every site that I can. I'm disgusted that this website can still run.

BonnieBronson February 17, 2021

same thing happened to me...

Worst customer service ever.
October 22, 2020

I have been trying to get a refund for a defective product Skinstore sold to me for a month. I’m not going to go through the shenanigans they put me through just to get them to authorize a return.

On Oct. 9 they told me my refund had been processed. But I didn’t receive it. Today, Oct. 21, I’ve been told that the product has not arrived from the warehouse (?), and that until it does, the refund can’t be processed. When it is processed, it will take 14 days to get my money back. Unbelievable.

Price adjustment
May 26, 2020

I wish I would have seen these reviewed…

I wish I would have seen these reviewed before I purchased from them. I bought NuFACE through them. It was about $360 and that included a 15 percent discount. The very next day they were offering 25 Percent. They would not give me a credit for difference. They are impossible to get in touch with. In addition, cream was never with product. Would never purchase from them again. This was my first and last experience with them!

BEWARE OF SCAM
May 26, 2020

Order number: 212245782

Read all the tweets directed at them on Twitter. It's a scam.

You will never get your package nor refund. If you do get a package delivered, it won't be the products you ordered. Just read the tweets on Twitter, it says it all. And they conveniently do not have a customer service phone line.

What's even more baffling is the complete absence of credibility: in a Twitter DM I am being told my arrive will arrive in a few days (mind you my order is now a month old) while on their website, their customer service representative tells me through message that the parcel was returned to them.

They asked if I want a refund, I answered saying I do. Then they magically stop answering again. After following up for the umpteenth time with them, another customer representative says she's still waiting for me to confirm whether or not I want a refund. It is an obvious pathetic attempt to stall a customer to not issue a refund.

What a joke of a company/website.

Thank god i only spent 30 dollars, some people are being scammed off of hundreds of dollars!! Shame on you for scamming people!!!!!

User's recommendation: SCAM! DO NOT ORDER FROM THEIR WEBSITE!

Product or Service Mentioned: Skinstore Customer Care.

Monetary Loss: $38.

Preferred solution: Full refund.

SkinStore Cons: Do not stand behind customer, Customer service and no liability, No refund, No response on their website, No response on their twitter account.

Do not buy from skinstore.com under any circumstance
May 4, 2020
Trust me, if you have any issue with your order, they will blatantly lie. They lie to the credit card companies, too. They know what to say to get away with it so don't think that your credit card will back you up if you have an issue. NOT worth the discounts they offer, please take heed and don't end up like me, going back and forth with these scammers on their site's chatbox (they don't even communicate via email).

Stay away from skinstore
April 8, 2020

I called them to return a product and they told me i couldn’t return it because it had been opened. Wait what? They sell skincare! Of course someone would open the product. So even if you have a reaction to the product, they will not let you return. They keep telling me that they are sending it to another department for review and have sent me the same questionnaire twice and it is two months later and they are still giving me the run around. Worst customer service ever.

This site should take down your review saying they have a return policy because they don’t.

Legitimate?
December 12, 2019
I purchased Oud Extreme by Terry from their website. I am a regular purchaser of this perfume from Saks 5th Avenue but decided to go with Skinstore.com due to their discounted price on Black Friday. Well the product that arrived isn't packaged like the perfume I get from Saks. The label on the perfume is also different than what is on the Saks bottle. And it has an overwhelmingly alcohol scent, enough to knock your socks off! I contacted them to verify authenticity but I was told I would have to take the customer service representative's word for it. Furthermore, they won't accept a return because the product packaging has been opened. So how is this 100% satisfaction guaranteed?

MarcyRinaldi April 08, 2020

Yes this is a horrible company.

Stay away
May 21, 2019
This company does not represent the products that they are selling. Their customer service department is run thru social media!! The chat room, phone number cannot resolve any issues -they just refer you to their social media. Then, social media does not respond!!! I have spent hours trying to locate my order thru them and FedEx. Called, email, chat, submitted the forms required thru their webpage, FB messenger and instagram. NO ANSWER. I following up 4 days later and surprise, they ask me to do the same thing. I did, but to request a refund. I don't have time nor want to deal with an incompetent company. This is a $380.00 purchased. They should take it more serious.

Worst customer service ever
April 18, 2019
I have made an order with Skinstore that included 2 beauty bags. They have divided this order in two so they could charge me for extra delivery. I paid for the tracked delivery. My order was sent with untraceable delivery and is now lost. I have sent at least 10 e-mails to the customer service and used their chat but first they told me to wait 1 month before they can help me, after that I was offered 5 dollars store credit for the order that they lost and they even started lying to me saying that my delivery was free. Hello, I have the receipts! They completely ignore my question about who will pay my delivery costs back and refund the order. This is the worst, completely ignorant customer service I have ever experienced and I highly recommend never to do any business with them.

Run As Fast As You Can!
February 24, 2019
Terrible in every way. A Time Suck regarding returns on damaged expensive product.

dishonest business
February 12, 2019

I would give them negative stars if I can. I place an order with them previously, several months later an item from a company (THG) I don't recognize came to my house. After doing some digging I realize they are owned by the Skinstore. I contacted Skinstore and asked for a refund. Brittnee kept telling me it's a gift and then wanting to see an image of the credit card charge. I asked her to send me an email because I cannot find an email address for Skinstore. She sent me an email, but it's one of those emails that you can reply to. So I digged around and sent a reply to [email protected] No response, so I contacted them again after a week. This time I spoke with Sinead, Sinead said the email address is no longer valid (why put that on your website if it's not valid) and that I must email them by creating an account with them. So I do that, I compose the email using their online message service, and I keep on clicking send. They do not receive any emails....No problem with placing an order, but the moment something else happens, nothing seems to work. I had to call my credit card company to dispute the charge.

Horrible experience - now my bank is getting involved
November 2, 2017
Had ordered from SkinStore for years and they were very good, no problems. Recently they were bought by something called The Hut and have really gone downhill. I ordered two items in September but only one arrived. I contacted them and they apologized, said they were sending the second item ASAP. It never arrived. Now they want me to sign an affidavit swearing I didn't receive the second item, but this is impossible as I live in the UK. Their tracking shows my second item is stuck somewhere in the US but they won't give me a refund. I complained to my bank and they are opening an enquiry. This company is truly dreadful and I hope nobody else has to go through this experience. They should be shut down and I think they would be banned from trading in the UK, but the US has less consumer protection as far as I can see. Beware!