PC Matic Reviews

PC Matic
( 29 reviews )
Website: www.PCMatic.com

PC Matic, formerly PC Pitstop, is an online application used to scan your computer for viruses, from where the company states its software will remove any existing viruses and block the threat of new ones.

In addition, it is able to locate updates and apply these updates to programs running on your computer.  PC Matic offers increased security, increased performance, increased speed and stability.

PC Matic compiles data generated from scans of all their customers.  This information is gathered and computed in a database called Cloud.  Integrating Cloud into PC Matic’s design allows real-time protection.  This means that any new viruses or bugs are instantly added to their database and then used to improve the scans on your computer.

A year of service, with a 30-day guarantee, is $49.99, which is a little pricey.  The only requirement for this program is an internet connection.  PC Matic can also be used on up to 5 computers and updates are automatically downloaded for free.

Another service, included for free, is the availability of scan reports, which can be directly emailed to you.  These reports outline what the program’s scans are finding and where viruses or problems may be coming from.  

It's important to remember there are many viruses that are hard to find and there are constantly new ones being discovered, so any anti-virus software is going to have gaps.

From the PC Matic Website, you can download a free scan check, which is quick and simple.  This scan will detect viruses that may be on your computer.  If there is a virus, the idea is, you will buy this program to remove the virus.  Is the free scan a real scan or a real scam?

If you have any experience with PC Matic or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

PC Matic Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

PC Matic
June 25, 2022

I have had a problem with the auto-reboot feature and contacted PC Matic support and have done everything they had suggested including installing a new hard drive and auto-reboot still fails to work. When I emailed support that it failed to work even after installing a new hard drive they became silent. I now question if PC Matic is a scam.

These people are a scam!
December 1, 2021

I know it is an antivirus, but how did it come to the fact that they have a driver for the i7 2600 processor from 2009, how the newest on the Intel website is from 2015 to windows 8? And the fact that windows 10 was released in 2015, I will not even mention. It's a scam...

Very Poor Customer Service.
October 13, 2021

I saw the TV adds for PC Matic so I signed up. It took 3 days before I could sign in to my account. By this time I knew I made a big mistake. Called and 3 times and ask to be taken off as a customer. I got 3 e-mails asking how they were doing? So I answered them and asked to be taken off as a customer.

No reply by phone or e-mail came. On 12 October 2021, I received an e-mail letting me know that I could get PC Matic for free, and it listed ways to do this. I called again and asked to be taken off as a customer on 13 October 2021.

Impossible to Cancel Subscription
July 9, 2021
I am being billed twice on the same day. I want to cancel my subscription. PCMatic makes it impossible to cancel my subscription.

Don't do business with these people.
April 14, 2021
These people were just trying to rip me off by telling me they were going to clean up my PC. This is just a very bad scam in my opinion. They did nothing to fix my PC. The ones that I was talking to on the phone were from India or Pakistan, and I could hardly understand them. What a waste of time and money !!!!

Scam, Fake, Scareware, a LIE!
February 8, 2021

PC Matic is a total scam. I'm an IT professional and gave it a try on my own systems and discovered terribly unethical practices:

Prior to installing PC Matic, I installed and scanned my system with 3 different proven anti-virus / anti-malware software titles; each of which found no viruses/malware. This set the benchmark. After installing PC Matic, I was told that I had several viruses, registry problems and junk on my computer that I could clean to "speed up" my PC. The problem is - the benchmark was already set. My computer is kept clean and in order, but for whatever reason, PC Matic informed me that I was in bad shape and needed to feed it $$$ to remedy the "problems".

Here's what PC Matic is: SCAREWARE. It's a lie to make you think your computer is severely compromised, compelling you to hand over your money for a lie!

Guest February 03, 2022

Could not agree more. Have been programming since 1978 on a IBM 360 my high school shared with Princeton University and moved on from there. They have a "white list" and "black list" and their programming will allow certain things in and not others. It does not do the job of programs like Malware Bytes which is a real security program and no I do not work for them

Waste of Money
April 29, 2019
Cannot scan my computers without PC Matic locking up!! Can not get help from their so called tech support, no telephone # to call Just a rip off!!!!!!!

Unfortunate Buyer
August 1, 2018
I Honestly believe PCMatic is a total scam. I purchased it with the understanding I could load it into 4 or 5 computers and I could only load it into two. It is useable in the two I loaded. When I try to use it a screen comes up asking me to purchase it like it's the first time. It is a scam and a COMPLETE waste of money. I rate it ZERO stars!!!

Kayla - PC Matic Support August 22, 2018

Hello Chuck,

Please be sure you're logged into your PC Matic account when trying to add additional PCs. If you're not logged in, it will ask for a payment, as it does not recognize you're an existing customer. If you need additional assistance, please reach out to our support team at www.pcmatic.com/help

Starlight EntertainmentSLA Luxury transportation January 10, 2019

To PC MATIC,

Thanks, I purchased your product on my computer. I then got a virus that shut down my computer. I lost all my files, pictures, website files!!!!!!!! I call you and you refunded my money,..... geee thanks for your protection and liability!!! I am totally disgusted with your "refund" you are cheats!!! People lose they're life and you refund?

Trust, lose everthing and they refund! Really? What about taking responsibility for lying?

Beware of PC Matic!
November 20, 2016

Beware of PC Matic. It is a scam. After you download their ant-virus program you download a virus that needs another one of their programs that is more money. That will happen several times. Be aware!

Any company that uses such an odd looking guy with his eyes too close together should be a red flag that its not a legitimate company

Very Pleased with 2016 Version
April 13, 2016

I normally do not have problems with my desktop computer. I use Panda, Malware bytes [premium] and have recently installed PC Matic [04/2016]. I have not encountered any of the problems others have had with versions purchased in 2011 thru 2015.

I did have a version I purchased for a laptop [Hp] in 2006 and thought it was inferior to the Norton program I had on my desktop, but I believe the 2016 update is far superior to previous editions. If my opinion changes I will write another review; but, as of now I'm of the opinion that whatever they did for the 2016 version moved the performance to the top of the ladder.

PC Matic Support May 23, 2016

Hi Bill,

Thanks for the kind words. We are constantly working hard at making PC Matic the best computer security product ever. We really appreciate the kind words.

Thanks,

PC Matic Support

CliftonA. Bode March 29, 2018

I have had PC MATIC, for almost a year, I tried to call them today, but guess what ? They do not provide any telephone number whatsoever, What kind of an, "Honest" business does not do that ? Then I wasted a good bit of my, time trying to email them a message, on THEIR, format, but when it came time to Send, the message, I discovered there is no, Send' button whatsoever. As for PC MATIC's service, I can not tell that they do anything for my computer. As of today, my, opinion of PC MATIS is no one cares about the business, beyond taking my, money, they, are a fly by night bunch of Gypsies who want Your, money, then they completely disappear. I am going to try to find the right federal office to report them to, there has to be a federal pen for thieves like this.

Clifton A. Bode

Don't trust
March 28, 2015

They have sucked us dry. Keeps calling and want more and more money. After paying for 5 years for 5 computers, they had the gall to call and charge my son an additional $100 to remove viruses from a computer that we had previously paid for. Keeps calling our home phone and putting pop ups to download additional versions on my pc.

Our credit card was hacked with illegal charges from Jamaica. Can't help but think it was PC Matic which hacked our credit card. Also, can't understand them when they call. Calls are coming from a foreign country. Can't trust them anymore unless they want to refund they money we have already paid. Guard your credit card that you use to pay for any services. Wish I would have never heard from them.

PC Matic Support May 23, 2016

Hi Gretchen,

PC Matic does not call any of it's customers. I believe you may have fallen for a technical support scam, where people pretend to be someone they are not. Our support is done only via online forums or email, and all of our employees reside in the US.

Thanks,

PC Matic Support

Total SCAM
October 25, 2014

It's the worst piece of scam ware/ransomware that's hit the Internet. They've scammed enough people to be able to afford fancy commercials that are total fabrications.

I'm a professional PC/IT person. Want good protection? By either Norton Security, or Norton 360, or BETTER still, get FREE protection with AVG 2015 Anti-Virus Free (www.avg.com), Malwarebytes (www.malwarebytes.org), and Superantispyware (www.superantispyware.com).

Those three combined, IF you regularly update Malwarebytes and Superantispyware, along with AVG will do a great job. Some people like Avast Anti-Virus better, but it's all a matter of personal preference. They're the top two rated free programs. Use ONE anti-virus, plus two good anti-malware/anti-spyware programs.

Does not work
November 30, 2013
I paid full amount for PC Matic software. My computer is slower than before and I experiencing freezing too which I did not have it before.

Ed Rosenberg April 21, 2014

I'm an 84 year old computer tech and have been into computers a long time and can say, "I have never had any virus or malware problems. Go to Avast.com and download the FREE version. Before you do that, go to control paned, all control panel items, Programs and features. Delete PCM, Noxtxn and any other anti virus programs. Do not delete any malware protection if you have it.

I LOVE HER
October 10, 2013
Bought PC Matic cause of that girl.Now my puter runs,no walk,no freeze.Thanks PC Matic here's $50 more!

It's a scam
July 4, 2013
Tried it and regret it. Don't follow in my path. It's a scam then junks up and slows down your computer, then ransoms you $50 to fix it

Why do people keep falling for this is beyond me
June 10, 2013
Look people, there are no magic fixes for broken pc's. Only a reputable pc tech can fix these issues, not some trash software you see on tv... Get a clue...

Mac July 01, 2013

Absolutely right, back up your data, wipe it out and start again. Better than trash ware.

scram
May 26, 2013
They tell more lies about PC Matic on TV than Obama does. Well maybe not that many. But you can get free programs and keep your $50.00 and get better results .. Forget it, Don't Buy it,...

Mark May 27, 2013

HEY WE'RE A VIRUS THAT MADE ENOUGH MONEY TO DO A TV AD :D USE US. I hate how viruses target unsuspecting users.

Angel July 01, 2013

What the heck does the president have to do with anything? He's the President people. You lost, we won. Get over it!

Richard July 03, 2013

your president has the biggest forked tongue in the history of these United States. The sad part is you're to dumb to see it after 6 years of this traitor. Mr. Smilealot and ride Air force 1 until it's rode hard and put up wet.

Supamigit August 22, 2013

Wow and let me guess you LOVE BUSH for all he did.. sad people ripping into OYUR counrties presidents... How about you vote a better one in. Anyway PC pitstop as most said after a Virtual test are exactlly as stated here they open up a one way train of malware and trash and Screws your registry something Rotten

Timelegend November 26, 2013

Supamsh*&t

Obama sucks so that explains why your post sucks. Consumer report did an in depth testing on registry cleaners and PC Matic didn't make it matter of fact only 6 software programs passed the test which was stringent.

James John March 19, 2014

Get over it teabaggers..we WON and you LOST. President Barack Obama! The BEST President this country has ever had!!!

James John March 19, 2014

And if you teabaggers don't like it...you can kiss my rosy red azz...heheh

Bill Mc October 25, 2014

James John, you need to realize that Obama's but is not your hat.

This Has To Be A Joke
April 10, 2013
There's Hitler and then there's pc-matic. I'm still trying to decide which is worse.

Report it
April 3, 2013
Everyone who bought it should report it to the FTC, Federal Trade Commission asap.

Misleading
March 19, 2013
This program is full of crap do not download if you don't know about computers they will infect you and use you to suck you dry, by having you call in and padding for the program