Page Publishing Reviews

Page Publishing, found online at PagePublishing.com, is a company that states they can help authors transform their book from a rough draft to published hardcopy or eBook with professional help every step of the way. 

How Does It Work?

Interested writers can submit their manuscript directly to them for review. Submitted in almost any digital format is preferable, though they do review traditionally typed and handwritten manuscripts as well. 

Manuscripts that are accepted for publication will then be taken through every aspect of the publishing process, including editing, page design and typesetting, cover design, printing, distribution, copyright registration, press release creation and distribution, book signings and event coordination, and royalty management.

They say this entire process should take no more than six months on average, and your book will be available through the world's largest retail book outlets. 

Cost/Price Plans

The website does not discuss cost directly, choosing instead to say that they provide these services for "a minimal investment." They do however say that they take 20 cents per book for every book sold.      

Refund Policy

This company does not publish and likely does not offer a standard Refund Policy for their services. They may offer a Cancelation Policy for customers who wish to withdraw their book from publication before it gets too far into the process, but writers should discuss this with a representative before committing to the publication.  

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who would like to speak to their Customer Service team about their questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by phone at 800-204-6099, by email at [email protected], or by submitting them directly to the website. 

Reputation

There does not seem to be many user reviews available for this company, and though there are some posted reviews from customers who believe this company charges an exorbitant upfront author fee, these reviews have not been verified. 

Competitors and Alternatives?

There are many companies in today's market that offer to help writers publish and self-publish their works, including companies like Lulu.com, and many others.        

If you have any experience with Page Publishing or their services, please leave your reviews below.

Page Publishing Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

A very expensive scam. Here's the contract they gave me
January 22, 2023

Stay away, this is a very expensive scam. I had to find this out the hard way. I have a book with them. I'm going to give you all the real scoop on these crooks.

They stopped returning my calls when my coordinator quit, apparently because she was tired of lying. I had a good relationship with her, at least I thought I did, but turns out she's a liar too.

This company had me in an exclusive 2 year contract. Every two years I have to pay $90+ dollars to keep my book on sale. Only in the fine print do they tell you that if you do not call or write them to cancel the publishing contract two months before my contract expires that I would be stuck with them for another two years.

The only other company I heard charged a two year renewal fee was Fulton Books but I can't confirm it directly. I threatened to give them a bad review if they didn't return my call and lo and behold they called within minutes after not returning many calls and emails.

They put in the renewal contract that any dispute with them must be in writing and settled in arbitration. Not in court, or through a class action suit. Two sections stood out to me, now watch this...from right out of the contract. I am now with another publisher and they are the best. An absolute breath of fresh air but I will get to them later.

First, the contract:

1. Publisher makes no representations, projections or guarantees as to the projected sales volume of the Work.

2. Any dispute, controversy, or claim between Publisher and Author regarding this Renewal

Agreement or the original Publishing Agreement will be submitted to mandatory and binding arbitration under the terms of the rules of the American Arbitration Association as then in effect. All claims must be brought in the party's individual capacity and not as a class member in any purported class or representative proceeding. Arbitration proceedings shall be heard in Crawford County, Pennsylvania by a single arbitrator serving at the mutual designation of the parties and each party shall be solely responsible for their own attorney's fees in connection with said arbitration.

Any issue concerning the applicability, interpretation, or enforceability of these procedures, including any contention that all or parts of these procedures are invalid or unenforceable, will be governed by the Federal Arbitration Act. No discovery will be permitted in connection with the arbitration and all aspects of the arbitration will be confidential. Any arbitration award shall not include exemplary or punitive damages. The arbitration award will be final and binding on the parties and may be entered in any court having jurisdiction.

The publisher for my new book is so fair, I just love that whole team. They get back to me right away, their agreement is fair, it's not an exclusive so I still retain 100% of my rights, not that I would even think of going anywhere else. I don't have to pay $90 every 2 years. My sales have been great. I actually sold books and a lot of them which shocked me because I didn't sell any through Page. They market my book, and even built my website. I can check my royalties as they come in. The difference between New Book Authors Publishing (the best publisher) and these scam artists is night and day. The terms about arbitration is to keep people from writing bad reviews about them. Do not engage them. They are liars and crooks.

Beware of Page Publishing
January 8, 2023

I signed an agreement with Page Publishing on July 13, 2022. The entire project was to take six- ten months to complete, and cost $4,000.00. Part of the agreement guarantees a full copy edit of my manuscript. This includes proper syntax, word usage, sentence structure, consistency and much more.

However, upon receipt of the initial edit, it was evident that my manuscript was not reviewed by an editor. The only corrections made were punctuation marks. That is why I asked for a full refund of $1293 after the first edit, which was refused.

I am very disappointed with the poor, unsatisfactory service provided by Page Publishing. In my opinion, the coordinator, who I caught not being truthful with me, is in charge of the whole process. I believe that there was no editor.

During the second edit, I found more errors made on their end that needed to be corrected. This raises the question, did anyone initially read my manuscript? Also, I was told to point out which parts of my manuscript contained poor editing, which I believe is the editor's responsibility. This confirms that they only rewrote the corrections that I made. This is not what I signed up for.

Furthermore, there is no customer service. Nobody knows anything. All questions in my case were directed towards an untruthful coordinator. I have sent them multiple emails and letters asking for a refund and officially ending my cooperation with Page Publishing. I have yet to receive a response on this matter. I will go into more detail later. Thank you. Peter Luk

My experience with Page Publishing
October 28, 2022
I published Modern Gothic through Page Publishing, which is available on Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Google Play, etc. I personally found them to be very helpful, and they fulfilled their obligations.

Just another scam
June 13, 2022

I was not impressed with this company. They are only interested in getting your money. I had the same experience with Christian Faith Publishing. I was not impressed with them either.

Seems like companies that are charging authors a lot of money can run expensive commercials and ads. Their websites also look like infomercials. After reading the reviews here from beginning to end and reading better business bureau complaints on Page, and confirmation from my interactions with them I decided not to take a chance.

It took weeks to find a publisher because there are way too many scammers out there pretending to be publishing companies. One company that called itself a ghostwriting service and "publisher" tried to charge me $16,000 to market my book and guaranteed me thousands of sales. Too many liars!

I went to message forums and Facebook groups to learn how to publish my book on my own but found a lot of the authors make a lot of rookie mistakes that ultimately hurt their books. Some of them were banned from Amazon for breaking rules they didn't know about. Rather than take a chance on doing it myself, I did take the advice of some of the other authors I saw here and in some feedback comments on other platforms and went with New Book Authors Publishing.

Now I'm going to pay it forward and recommend the same. They did a great job with my book. They were friendly and actually cared about my book. I'm publishing my second now, which I did right away. I'll do my best to warn other authors about the scammers. I have a long list of them that didn't sit right with me.

Please please please research these companies before you work with them. Find one who works for you and if it sounds too good to be true then it is. If they have commercials and pressure you into publishing a book, they are not real publishers. Real publishing companies don't chase clients like desperate fools.

The Rise Of A Street General, An Autobiography by Michael Turtoe Stewart
March 11, 2022

I am the author of the book; The Rise Of A Street General, An Autobiography by Michael Turtoe Stewart.

Me and my cousin paid a total of $3,522 to have my book professional published by Page Publishing company.

I paid to have this book placed into the Online Book Club only to discover later that the Editing & Proofreading was of poor quality. There was total of 108 misspelled words & bad usage of words. I believe this company intentionally failed to uphold their obligation as a professional company for two reasons: 1) my book was not a common part of this company genre and 2) being that i am Black.

I believe it was this company intentions to cause me public embarrassment.

Any one that read my book will have no problem detecting all the errors in this book. I have filed a compliant with the BBB in hopes to have this matter rectified and be financially compensated.

If you are a black author with a nonfiction urban story you want published. I suggest you consider another that has a history of publishing black authors works.

If anyone doubt me. Read my book yourself. Then leave an opinion.

BeelinePublishing April 27, 2022

This seems to be yet another example of someone playing the race card. It flies in the face of logic to believe any publisher would intentionally create a failure for any reason, let alone the color of the author's skin, because by doing so, they lose money.

The failure is more likely incompetence on the part of the publishing company, perhaps by placing the account into the hands of an employee with inadequate skills or training. The fact that other authors who are not black have had similar experiences discounts the racial accusation by this author.

ColtonJ welch May 26, 2022

I’m rethinking on page publishing for my book so page publishing, HEY I’m Colton J welch I can and will have my book withdrawn from here if it’s accepted and horrible I have a promise from y’all and blm and I’m white but still BLM

SCAM - Sad they are allowed to do this...
October 5, 2021
My experience with Page Publishing mirrors many complaints here. I'm interested in joining a class action lawsuit or attending a social group with those of similar experiences. Any information is helpful

Don’t use Page Publishing
July 14, 2021

Scam.

They do have a great art department and page designers. They will not do a complete edit on manuscript for customers. You will have to give page and line numbers in Excel to their experts to “edit”.

Yes, you will have to pay an English major to check grammar and more! They will do a very general edit and mail it make for you “to approve” in a PDF formate. You will have to re read your manuscript and find errors for them.

Yes, Chicago Manual is quoted but not used with authenticity or consistently. Of course every time they insert your corrected spelling or grammar they MISSED- they count as their edit!

The coordinators copy and paste their response., never being honest. Worse experience ever! Don’t go with them! Liars and thieves!

Amateurish books
June 15, 2021

Read the reviews here and on the feedback page of Page Publishing's website and contacted them about publishing my book and was disappointed with everything I learned about them.

Unfortunately, I don't have room in my budget to make large monthly payments to them for a monthly bill, not that I would have published with them even if I could afford it. Somehow, I got the distinct feeling Page Publishing didn't care about plunging me into debt.

I ended up going with one of the other companies recommended here, New Book Authors and I am so glad I made that choice. They were super nice and did a great job on my book. Page Publishing is okay, but I was not impressed with the quality of the books they published, which looked a little generic and amateurish to me on top of their outrageous publishing fees.

I felt like I needed my lawyer present, the contract was so sketchy. So naturally I backed out before signing anything. Plus they hound you so much you end up feeling guilty for not responding to them. I told them I was no longer interested and that I'm already published and I'm still getting emails months later. I regret even giving them my information.

Chance Evers and Two for the Seesaw
December 18, 2020

Every book requires scrutiny and direction from editing professionals. I received great care from one of Page Publishing's project coordinators, Lana Beers. From there I developed a sense of trust with the copy editors. They were honest from the very beginning, noting that although this is a painstaking process, it is necessary to arrive at a finished product everyone can be proud of.

The inventiveness and attention to detail from the artists in developing covers for both of my books, "Chance Evers" and "Two for the Seesaw," gave me the confidence I needed to promote them. You can see their work by searching Bill Heitland at www.twofortheseesaw.com or Goodreads at https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/55579315-chance-evers

I recommend Page Publishing for anyone who would want their work to stand out.

My two cents
August 4, 2020

I came here a few weeks ago because I grew tired of looking for a traditional publisher. The whole experience was killing my self-esteem and I almost gave up on publishing my first book. These companies just don't give you the opportunity. I wasted my time submitting my manuscript to dozens of publishing companies, and most of them didn't even read it before telling me no. Eventually, I decided to go a different route. Even though I read mixed reviews about hybrid publishers, Page Publishing seemed like a good place to start.

That said, I always do my research. After reading comments on the Better Business Bureau, Quora, and a bunch of other reviews out there, I decided not to go with Page Publishing. $3700 just seems a bit high to me for the quality of work, not to mention how they treat their customers.

I took the advice I found in the comments here and chose New Book Authors publishing as the publisher of my children's book. I worked with Junior, the illustrator. He did a phenomenal job with the artwork. The end result was a beautiful children's book, my dream come true. If you could see me I am beaming ear to ear. I'm so glad I went this route. Just thought I'd offer my two cents.

An Actual Page Publishing User Here
April 6, 2020

I wish I had found this page BEFORE going to Page Publishing. I suspected that something was not right with them, but also knew that I had no experience whatsoever in this area.

So I went to them, with the knowledge that I was "paying for education" in this area. So, call me crazy, but even though I had a manuscript that had been edited TWICE by industry professionals, they still said that they needed to do their own editing. Also, I had my cover photo shot by a professional photographer I know, so they didn't have to do anything there either. After their "edit" they came back with less than a dozen corrections in a 300 page manuscript. The fee they charged me was roughly $3700.00. In their sales pitch, they offer you a web page for your book. The "web page" they offer is INTERNAL. You actually have to sign onto their site to access it, so it's not accessible to the public. They also mention radio interviews, which I have yet to hear anything about. They dangle a "marketing package" out there, which actually you can put together yourself for a fraction of what they want to charge you!

Much of this is not really made clear until you sign the initial contract. It actually took them a year for my book to go live. During that period, they align the "stages" of publishing your book to coincide with the payment schedule they've set up. You're admonished that should you miss a payment, publishing of your book will be suspended until you make the payment. Once the payments have all been made they place your book online and make it available in print form. You are informed that you will get "Quarterly sales reports", however you will only get royalty checks if your payout is $100.00 or greater. If it's less than, your payout will be sent in the next quarter. Funny, but despite several persons through my OWN PROMOTION on social media have alerted me that they have purchased the book, and have shown proof that they have done so, my quarterly report only reflect less than 6 copies sold. While I certainly never expected to "get rich" with the sales of the book, it's publication and distribution means a lot to me, and of course is my work. I certainly didn't intend to make a bunch of scam artists rich off of my effort. STAY AWAY FROM THESE PEOPLE!!!

Page publishing
March 6, 2020
Helpful people (Jenna was great) and professional work. You get what you pay for!

Read every review I could find
January 23, 2020

I read every review I could find before taking a leap of faith and boy am I glad I stopped here! Their book covers looked mediocre for what you pay, and they ask for 3,000 and still take a cut of your royalties. If I'm covering my own overhead, then why am I giving them a percentage of my royalties?

After reading everything else I went with New Book Authors as everyone else suggested. I also used their marketing and they don't take a piece of the royalties. I was sold from that point and haven't looked back. They did a good job on the marketing and a beautiful job on the book.

Thanks for the feedback. It helps when people are trying to make a decision.

Victorious Vicky August 04, 2020

I took your advice and chose New Book Authors as the publisher of my children's book. I worked with an illustrator named Junior, who was very patient with me. The end result was a beautiful children's book. I am BEAMING ear to ear. I'm so glad I went this route, as I was really skeptical at first.

They promise the moon
June 3, 2019
I watched a guy use this company to publish a book of...(drum roll)...really bad poetry. Yes, they not only accepted his compilation of truly horrible 2-line rhymes - they also filled his head with notions of becoming a best-selling author. So, he borrowed the $3000 (while living in a hotel) with dreams of making it big. Last I heard, he was on Facebook begging for someone to buy his book...and homeless still.

Really?
October 15, 2018
You have to be kidding me if you think any of the “publishers” mentioned above (including the vultures who are leaving comments to call them) are legitimate. If you are working with and/or paying them any amount of money, you have failed as a writer. Just give up. It’s ok.

Quality just isn't there. Don't waste you money.
April 2, 2018
I am pretty sure that for all their hype they do not do what they say as far as editing is concerned. I Looked at the books they have listed on their website. Their covers are nothing special, any talented amateur Could do as good a job using a cheap android tablet and free apps from playstore. On the other hand when I went to Amazon books and had a peak inside I have to doubt that these books were ever seen by a professional editor. The copyright page on every book is done badly. The proof reader failed miserably, as almost every book has typos and/or other errors on the first page. I suspect that there is no editing done at all. Certainly there can't be anybody proof reading the books before they are published. One book even has typos in the Table of Contents. Absolutely inexcusable and if it was my book I would be demanding proper service or my money back.

Thank you everyone!!
February 6, 2018
I'm new to publishing and just got a couple emails from book publishers and page was one of them. I'm SO GRATEFUL that I looked them up first!!

LakieshaAinttrippin Edwards February 21, 2018

Thank GOD I decided to come here because I've had page one of the publishing company. Good I came here first..

FredaHood September 05, 2018

Did you find Page Publishers to be a reliable source, easy to work with, trustworthy and helpful? I am a first time author and can't afford mistakes.

Fred W October 16, 2018

Freda, I did not find them honest at all. I am still getting spam from page publishing, and it is very annoying. 8 ended up publishing with newbookauthors.com and was happy with that, and just published my second book. I don't like page iv their sales tactics or the fact that they pretend not to be a real publisher and not a vanity publisher who as accepts everyone. Doing my research really saved my butt because I very nearly paid them to publish my book after seeing the commercials.

J.Green December 02, 2022

Thank you. I sent my manuscript to them after I looked them up. The site I went to seemed okay and I saw they were distributed by Macmillan. Now, I'll head elsewhere.

Be Judicious and Do Your Homework
September 10, 2017

There are a lot of people jumping on the publishing bandwagon making all sort of claims.

As a publisher for over 25 years, I've heard many sob stories from authors who paid big bucks to get their book published.

Authors, please do your homework before committing your hard-earned cash!

Michael Matthews October 24, 2017

I was recently approved for publication by Page Publishing, but they did not inform me about the initial up front fees until they'd told me the news, and after I had become very excited. It seemed as id they set me up by getting me excited about the prospect of publishing my works.

I feel they should state up front they the up front costs BEFORE they tell you your work has been accepted. Thank you.

DanielCooper December 03, 2017

Thank you Mr. Michael Matthews, for that well-needed piece of advice. See, there are some people out there who are not considerate enough to help the next man/woman who may be in peril when it comes to matters such as these. It's people like ourselves who cares for others that these things matter...THANX AGAIN!!!! I did the same thing on Poetry.com

Ray G. April 14, 2018

What I find curious are the many publishers out there who won't tell us the "good" literary agents to get to them. Why put everybody through endless nonsense and spend months doing homework? That seems so counter-productive and insane. They put all these companies between them and the authors and say, "Sink or swim!" But WHY?

Much Better Options Available
June 11, 2017
Why pay these rip-off Vanity Presses to publish your work. CreateSpace is a great option and costs nothing to follow their simple step-by-step publishing program. If you have questions, please contact me. I have helped over 20 authors become published authors who are extremely happy with the results. I have published 12 books through them and have never paid a dime. I can order one or one-hundred books with books costing an averag$3,00 with shipping. Check the out, what have you got to lose except about $3000/00

MistressofKF June 12, 2017

This is not helpful if you are here just to plug your own services. Please stop posting SPAM, we are trying to get information about Page publishing, good or bad. You're just here to promote your services. Get lost. This has bad news written all over it.

Nana Osei-Bonsu Jr. June 30, 2017

Hello Mac McGovern, I will like to contact you for some advise with respect to publishing a book. my email address is [email protected] Thank you

Aaron White August 01, 2017

I would like to learn more myself. Please email me, as well, at: [email protected] Thanks.

Marla Schachtel August 08, 2017

Mac:

I also, would like to learn more about self publishing. Please ema me at

[email protected]

Thanks

Michael August 12, 2017

Hi Mac, I'm excited to learn more of create space and I'm happy that I've done my research on this bogus page publishing company. Plz email me: [email protected]

My name is Michael, hope to hear from you soon.

Alethea August 17, 2017

I would like to know how to add illustrations for children's books if possible. [email protected]

DanielCooper December 03, 2017

Thanks Mr. McGovern for your helpful review, now I need to know how to get in touch with you, please send me your email address. My address is [email protected], thanks again.

LauraLoehr January 31, 2018

Mac McGovern if you can email me at [email protected] I have a few questions about the site you are referencing thanks Thomas....

Destiny Williams February 12, 2018

I emailed this guy and he was really shady so I went directly to the web site he suggested and they didn't offer enough information about for people like me, who don't know their way around a computer. But he's right, $3000 is too much and their book covers aren't very good so I'm not sure I can trust the quality of their work. I would prefer to have the help of traditional publisher if I can find one worth working with. I looked Mac McGovern up and he doesn't seem to be selling any books. I need help from someone who can get my book out there. It's a great book if anyone wants to read it!

MacMcGovern February 13, 2018

He does not sell books because he does not market them. Sometime, legacy has far greater value than money.

MacMcGovern February 13, 2018

I do not sell books because I do not market them. Sometime, legacy is far more important than money. Regardless of how you go, you will have to market your book to sell it. there are many self-publishers who sell a lot of books and some who get contracts with traditional publishers. Either way, if you pay to publish your work it makes no difference how good you think it is, it probably will not sell. Do your homework and when the time is right, I hope you make the right decisions and that you enjoy some degree of success with you book.

Mac

QuartezRichardson September 09, 2018

Sir,

I would love to get your help on publishing my work. If you could please give me some type of way to contact you.

Ella J September 27, 2018

I would also like to know more. If you could leave contact info, that would be great. Congrats on your published works. Would love to know the titles.

DeniseAbda September 27, 2018

I would also like to know more. How can I contact you if you are willing to help with my publication

MacMcGovern September 27, 2018
MacMcGovern September 28, 2018

Quartez, Ella. and Denise,

Contact me at [email protected]

BluThunderButt October 15, 2018

If you have to turn to any of these types of “publishers,” you have failed as a writer.

Fred W October 16, 2018

I cant believe people are actually contacting this person. I looked him up and he hasn't sold any books. If you are writing a book only family and friends will read you might find the information he provides useful. There are self publishing companies that allow you to DIY but most of those companies can't get your book in physical book stores because they won't accept them. There are a bunch of steps you have to follow first. Most of the DIY self-publishing companies like lulu and even KDP can't guarantee your book will be accepted into bookstores. Createspace was fine but it is defunct and other bookstores refuse to accept books published by Amazon KDP. They hate Anazon. I also read an article that said Amazon is suppressing self-published KDP books to get self-published authors to buy sponsored ads. That's why they moved Createspace to KDP. They can make more money on self published books under KDP. Page publishing is not a good option because of the cost and mediocre books. Even their book covers look amateurish and generic. Find a publisher, and if there's a fee, just make sure they're not charging thousands up front then double-dipping by taking royalties too. I used Newbookauthors.com. I paid $550 but they don't collect royalties because everything is covered up front in the $550. That's a small price to pay. I'm selling books and I see my book sales in real time. They also grandfathered my price in for future books.

They Will Never Stop Calling
March 4, 2017

My father expressed interest in Page Publishing about a year and a half ago. At the time, he was terminally ill and working on a memoir. He had only a few pages written, but still they called and called, wanting over three grand to get the process started. My father quickly became more interested in other ways to finish out the remainder of his life, and never did much writing. Still, they called, encouraging him to write, to leave something we could remember him by.

When my father died, I expected the calls to our house to stop, but they didn't. I explained that he was dead, but they kept calling once a week or so. They used hard rebuttals for every possible excuse and were sometimes very aggressive. Someone actually said to me, "Would you consider honoring your father's memory by writing a book about your relationship with him?"

Even after I explained to them that I'm not interested, and that the person who expressed interest is now deceased, they still kept calling me, asking if *I* want to write a book and publish with them. It's been over a year since my father's death, and I got another call today. Once they get your number, they will NEVER leave you or your family alone.

BethCarr February 21, 2018

I just called the 1-800 number from the commercial on TV. I wanted the free authors submission kit. First they asked for my name and became a little frustrated when I only gave my first initial. I asked them to repeat the name of the company since I didn't catch it from the commercial. I immediately googled them. The next question was for my phone number. I saw the scam alert and stated that I didn't want want phone calls, I just wanted the kit sent to me. The agent said she was unable to proceed w/out my phone number. I politely thanked her and hung up. Thanks for the heads up.