IAP Career College Reviews

IAP Career College
( 18 reviews )

IAP Career College Review: Is it Legit?

Reviewopedia staff  -  Updated:  July 16, 2023

 

IAP Career College is a private online career college that offers a variety of online courses and certificate programs for people seeking to develop their skills and knowledge to advance their careers or start their own business.

How Does it Work?

IAP (International Association of Professions) provides over 100 programs and certifications in various fields such as entrepreneurship, creative arts, beauty, event planning, and other trades or non-traditional careers.

All programs are designed to give students the practical skills and knowledge they need to succeed in their chosen career field.

One of the primary benefits of IAP Career College is the flexibility of its courses. 

Though the courses start at a particular time, they are designed to be self-paced, which means that students can study and complete assignments when they have time.

This provides a flexible learning environment that's ideal for working professionals or anyone with a busy schedule.

The basic certificate courses (affiliate link) are designed to be completed in 6 weeks (part-time), though can be completed in as little as 4 weeks or as long as 12 weeks.

The master certificate courses are designed to be completed in 12 weeks (part-time), though can be completed in as little as 4 weeks or as long as 24 weeks.

IAP Career College also provides ongoing support and resources to its students, including personalized support from instructors, access to a student forum, and job placement assistance.

Is IAP Career College Accredited?

IAP Career College is not accredited by a regional or specialized accrediting agency in the same way that a traditional College or University is.

While IAP Career College may provide comprehensive courses and certificates, these courses are not recognized as formal academic degrees by accredited educational institutions

The certificates are also not recognized by any state or federal education authorities.

However, this doesn't necessarily mean that IAP college doesn't offer high-quality education and training programs that can help you gain valuable skills and knowledge.

Upon successful completion of their courses, students receive a certificate of completion which may be useful in demonstrating their skills to potential employers.

If you are looking for a program that provides formal academic degrees or is accredited by a recognized agency, you may want to consider researching other institutions that meet those criteria.

Cost & Price Plans

The cost of courses and certificate programs at IAP Career College varies, depending on the program.

Compared to traditional in-person college or university programs, the courses and certificates are generally more affordable.

IAP Career College basic 6 week certificate courses have prices ranging from $149 to $189, while the Master Certification courses are generally priced between $297 and $377.

These fees include access to a faculty member for personal teaching assistance and career advice (for a certain amount of time, depending on the course) and a textbook in e-book format.

The course fee includes the downloadable certificate (PDF).  You may also order an official printed certificate for a fee of $35 or the first certificate (and $10 for each additional certificate) + $5.00 S&H.

IAP allows students to pay for the course in two equal installments, with the first payment being due on or before the course start date and the final payment being due 30 days later.   

Refund Policy

IAP Career College states that you may request a refund up to 30 days after you register for a course if you are unsatisfied.

Students are only entitled to a refund on one course, and not entitled to a refund after taking the exam at the end of the course.

Students are also able to transfer their registration to another course with the same registration fee for no additional cost at any time up to the day before the official start date.

If you wish to change registrations more than once, there is a $25 fee per each additional change.

If you're not able to compete a course due to an illness or emergency, an Academic Advisor can help you with rescheduling your course up to 6 months after the official start date. 

Customer Service Contact Info

Customers who wish to contact Customer Service with questions, concerns, or complaints can do so by:

Phone:  888-322-5621
Email:   [email protected]
Or by submitting directly to their website through their Contact Us link.

IAP College Reviews & Complaints

IAP Career College reviews are generally positive on Reviewopedia and other review websites.

Positive reviews recommend IAP for its flexible learning environment, affordable prices, and the quality of the education and training provided.

Many students have also noted that the college provides excellent support and resources for its students, including personalized instruction, a student forum, and job placement assistance.

The college's focus on practical skills and hands-on learning has been praised by many students, who feel that the education and training provided by the college has helped them to succeed in their chosen career field.

The company gets an A+ rating from the BBB with only 4 customer complaints in last 3 years and none in the last 12 months. 

Student reviews at the BBB give IAP a rating of 4.7/5 from 15 customer reviews.

However, some students have noted that the lack of accreditation may limit the value of the courses or certificates in some job markets.

Other concerns expressed by students include technical issues with the online learning platform, limited feedback from instructors, and difficulty in finding employment after completing the program.

Some students have also noted that the quality of instruction may vary depending on the instructor, and that the coursework may be less challenging than they expected.

The Bottom Line

IAP Career College is a viable option for students seeking flexible, self-paced, and affordable courses (affiliate link) and certificate programs that can provide practical skills and knowledge in various fields.

The college provides ongoing support and resources for its students, including personalized instruction, and job placement assistance.

However, while the college provides high-quality education and training, the lack of accreditation may limit the value of the courses or certificates in some job markets. 

Potential students should consider the lack of accreditation before enrolling and ensure that the program meets their specific needs and goals.

If you have any experience with IAP Career College or their services, please leave your reviews below.

You may also be interested in

IAP Career College Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Amazing courses
May 19, 2024

"I recently completed the 'Interior Decorating' course offered by IAP, and I must say it was an incredible experience! The course provided me with a comprehensive understanding

of design principles, color theory, and spatial relationships. The skills I gained have already started to benefit my career, and I feel more confident in my ability to create beautiful and functional spaces. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in interior decorating!"

GO SOMEWHERE ELSE
February 9, 2024

Go somewhere else.

They may seem convincing on their website. But do not be fooled. The program I took was over 10 years old, which in this day and age, renders their coursework obsolete. When attempting to receive a refund AND give them feedback, they tried to tell me that I was the one who was confused.

Bogus. Don't bother. Do some research and find a better option. I wish I could put this review more places where someone falling for their advertising could see this because the world needs to know the truth and avoid them at all costs.

They didn't even say they would update the course or thank me for my feedback. Ridiculous. Instead, they defend their programs, which is obviously a huge red flag. Absurd.

The course focuses on teaching what you need learn to enhance your knowledge and pass the course.
January 6, 2024

Marilyn M

I just finished the Professional Genealogist course. It is self-paced and affordable.

I highly recommend this course because of the knowledge I received. The material is on point and direct. There is no time wasted in learning unimportant things.

I am so grateful for the experience and the easy to follow guidelines and text. I completed the course in less than a month.

It was a very positive experience for me at almost 74 years old.

Death Doula course
August 12, 2023

I have to say that this was such an informative course, with links to so many educational websites related to End of Life. From Advanced Care Directives to vigil planning, podcasts, books, to free educational sites to dig further into this career, business instruction- with more links for further education on finance and business planning.

If anything i feel I've learned more useful applicable knowledge - on my own time, than if i had to schlep to a brick and mortar building and study on their schedule.

I cant recommend this course more, and not only can i be there for a dying person, i now know how to do this preparation for myself and my family, and i can also apply this business knowledge to my farm business. This is true education. I am incredibly grateful to all who contributed to creating this course. Thank you!

Waste
April 5, 2023

I took the Bookkeeping Course. There is ONE Section that covers Bookkeeping, and it only refers students to OTHER SOURCES. I found this "course" to be USELESS.

I contacted the "college" to ask "What exactly am I paying for?", I was IGNORED.

Save your money! You will learn A LOT MORE on Youtube - For Free!!

Highly Recommend!
July 28, 2022

I just completed my course in Life Coaching and I'm so happy to have taken this course. The material is self-paced and affordable. It's easy to understand. If you're interested in dipping your toe into a new profession or even extending knowledge on your current one, IAP is a great program to look into.

Step by step lay out of the information
June 10, 2022

I took two courses; Event Planning and Digital Marketing. Both were extremely helpful, but I wanted to have more specifics on how to price my services.

Im excited to take the Masters class for Event Planning as the information in the original Event Planning gave me lots of tips to make sure that I was able to stay legal and not fall into possibly being sued or paying a heavy fine because I did not obtain a permit or permission before hand. Very informative!

So Worth It!
June 4, 2022

Hey everyone.

I'm currently taking the Death Doula course and the writer's style is so uncomplicated, non-technical.

No complex computer systems for logging on or logging off are utilized here. A big bonus for us basic computer users!

The PDF text is easy to read, review with too.

Death doula course
May 11, 2022
I just finished the Death Doula course, I found it to be very informative and easy to follow. I am in my 60’s and not very computer savvy but I had no problem with this course. My certificate arrived in the mail in less than two weeks. I am so thankful for this online study option!! Very positive experience!

Have Confidence in IAP Career College !
July 29, 2021
I've earned a Bachelor's already and currently working on my BS in Nursing. I wanted to expand my Nursing Degree to Nurse Consulting so I funded my own startup for a Consulting Business. This course really taught me everything I lacked on the Business side of Consulting! I'm very pleased with the information provided and what I learned!

Use your own judgment
May 11, 2021

Anyone who believes that a government stamp of approval via accreditation under a statutorily created regulatory regime, is dreaming in technicolour. History is replete with examples of "accredited" institutions that were scamming people like you would not believe.

One of the reasons these unscrupulous "businesses " were able to scam people, was the very accreditation many rely upon as a guarantor of quality. Use your own judgment and talk to people who have taken the programs; as always, "caveat emptor" applies in this regard as in many others.

Because I am already in the industry, this course is perfect!
March 10, 2021

I advise people to read and not to invest in anything they do not understand!! I'm already a licensed massage therapist, a licensed laser technician and will be attending school for my esthetics license.

I've worked for many spas and been in the spa business for many years and looking for extra info and guidance in opening my own Spa. I needed the information Spa owners will not teach me because of fear of me becoming their competition.

Because I'm already in the industry, this course was perfect!! They never promised to license anyone. Professional licensing for massage therapy, skin care, operating a spa or salon comes from the state that you live in, not from a school!

You don't need a certificate to open your own spa, the certificate doesn't mean much. It's the knowledge that you need. You need proper guidance in running daily operations and organizing and marketing your business and this course teaches you exactly that!!

Again Do Not Invest in an industry that you do not understand or have any passion for in order to make a quick buck!! You will lose!!

Inn keeping "Course"
January 17, 2020

This class is a waste of money. There is no instruction. I paid my registration fee and in return received a 200 page PDF document with instructions to read it over the next 4 to 12 weeks.

I read it in one day. The information provided is mostly common sense and links to websites.

Therese (Tag) Goulet March 02, 2020

Hi Leah, up to three hours of personalized one-on-one instruction with a Faculty Member is included with each IAP Career College basic certificate course, but it sounds like you didn't take advantage of that service. As of March 2020 we have a 100% satisfaction guarantee, so please contact [email protected] and we will ensure you receive a full refund.

Never too Old for school
May 3, 2019
I'm very pleased with the course I took. Thank you so much!

DenishaFoster October 02, 2019

so can you use a certification that you get from there school as a legitimate license for your career do you know if that is the case?

DenishaFoster October 02, 2019

is there a license you get from the iap college that is legitimate and you can you use for working in whatever career you have chosen to do?

DenishaFoster October 02, 2019

or is it just a certificate of completion?

Deborah Jean September 24, 2020

I would like to know as well. I hope Kim answers.

RenataBracale December 05, 2020

Is not legit and they don't give you any license. It's a SCAM, and low quality materials without instructor. Don't waste your money with them.

Therese (Tag) Goulet January 23, 2022

We're glad you enjoyed the course Kim! Anyone with questions can visit the website at iapcollege.com where there is support available 24 hours per day year round. Every student in one of the 6 week courses (there are about 100 different careers) can have up to 3 hours of personal instruction by Zoom with an instructor. Check the About Us page on the website to read about some of the instructors.

IAP ONLINE CLASSES
March 27, 2019

I took one of IAP courses and i love it they help me a lot there were a lot of cake decorating stuff that i didn't know but know with this courses i learn a lot and I'm with my second one on how to be come a bakery owner i love them both

Training for a specific purpose
June 25, 2018

It's an untrue statement that the career topics / fields for which IAP provides training and certificates do not require a certificate or training.

The field of Career Coaching requires training and some level of certification, even if it is basic, self paced, and independent study.

When it comes to the topic of accreditation, first it needs to be understood that there are some career fields which are not included in what would be regarded as a "regulated profession".

In other words, there is no occupational "accreditation" for that job, therefore there is no corresponding accreditation academically. Since none exists, is is therefore not needed for any academic endeavor in that topic.

Now, is it possible that IAP could join an Accrediting body such as DETC or IACET? Sure. However, the reality is that accreditation is no assurance of quality, but only peer review, unless we are referring to the large Regional Accrediting Associations - which accredit entire schools, not individual programs, so once again in this case, not applicable.

In the instance of the Career Coaching course, it is recognized by several associations of Career Coaches as continuing education and the corresponding membership in the IAP itself is acknowledged and regarded as noteworthy.

If you know the field in which you desire to take a course with IAP and how it will be perceived by peers in that field, you will have no problems.

IAPO
October 21, 2016
I took the Interior Decorator Course, and learned so many things, and got links to products and companies, that I would have never known about if it wasn't for this course. I think the course was great for the price, and taught me what I needed to know to get my foot in the field.

LaShawnMiddleton September 20, 2018

I took 3 of the courses and loved the knowledge that I gained. The courses are very informative and useful. Very detailed step by step information.

IAP Career College
September 22, 2016

Thank you for providing information about IAP Career College. I appreciate your aim of providing prospective students with accurate and balanced information. With respect to accreditation, it may help readers to know that the type of college accreditation for programs that cost thousands of dollars simply isn't an option for programs like ours.

To quote from an article at the Better Business Bureau website: “Because of the low cost and short length of our courses, we don’t fall under the jurisdiction of the Alberta Private Vocational Training Act. So, how do we establish credibility? BBB Accreditation made sense. It’s relatively inexpensive, it helps build trust with the new name and we knew people would be checking us out online."

Thanks again for including us on your website. Please feel free to contact me if you'd like more information. - Therese (Tag) Goulet, Director, IAP Career College

PamelaLewis May 24, 2022

Would you all have Medical Billing and Coding as a course soon.