Go Ahead Tours Reviews

Go Ahead Tours
( 9 reviews )

Go Ahead Tours is a travel company specializing in customizable tours to “the most interesting places in the world”, including locations in Europe, Africa, Asia, Australia, and the Americas.

Though there are many different travel tour companies around, like Trafalgar, which fully arrange travel itineraries from hotels to meal plans, Go Ahead Tours claims that their service is different, due to their “deeper understanding” of your travel destination.

Their website says their tour directors have a “vast knowledge” of history and culture that is second to none, and that provides their tour goers with more of a cultural immersion experience than is offered by many other companies.

Go Ahead Tours also provides their customers with a “Best Price Guarantee,” which says that if you find a lower price on the same tour from another company, they will match it. But it is important to remember that unlike many other companies, they include airfare in the cost of all their tours.

This company recommends making your tour reservations six to nine months in advance, and they provide a flexible payment program.

This program lets you hold your reservation by providing them with a $300 deposit, per person, for 72 hours risk free, or $450 for cruises, safaris, and special event tours.

You can pay off the rest of the tour cost as you go, with the final payment due 70 days prior to tour departure and 90 days prior to departure for cruises, safaris, and special event tours.

Their cancellation policy states that if you cancel your reservation with that first 72 hours, you can receive a full refund of your deposit.

After the first 72 hours, you will have to pay a cancellation fee depending on how far in advance you cancel your tour. The specific scale is published in their Terms & Conditions policy.

If you have any experience with Go Ahead Tours or their services, please leave your reviews below.

Go Ahead Tours Customer Reviews

  • Sort Reviews By:

Great Trip!
September 21, 2022

We had a wonderful trip in 2017, great guides, accomodations in all destinations. We traveled to London, Paris, Rome and Barcellona. Good value and well organized.

Looking forward to our next trip in two weeks to Ireland and Scottland!

Do Not Advise
August 31, 2022

The only reason I am giving 2 stars instead of 1 is because they did a great job in 2020 (ef tours) with my son's school tour during the covid-19 outbreak.

However, that being said...We booked a trip to South Africa for summer 2022 well in advance. Had it all paid for and we were really excited for the adventure. The problem was: it is impossible to have any communication with them that is actually meaningful.

Long (2-3 hours is common) hold times on the phone. Emails would get response but they would 'advise' we call...Uggghhh! I believe the tour would have been amazing had we gone but we just didn't feel comfortable using a company that does not communicate.

WendyPatton September 22, 2022

a little unnerving

Good Reason Not to Book on GoAhead Tours.
August 3, 2022

The price is good, but that’s where it ends. They are incredibly difficult to reach on the phone. The side tours at various locations often take you away from the main subject of the location.

Since we spent so many hours on bus time, I called and asked to cancel a booking I made for May 2023 where there would be a lot of bus time. They don’t want you to cancel any future tours, but I was allowed to cancel for $300 per person (total $600). That policy was never mentioned. Grand Circle costs more, but it’s worth it.

p.s. A Go Ahead representative also provided inaccurate information over the phone on entry requirements for Spain which if followed would have prevented us from getting into the country.

WendyPatton September 22, 2022

Looks like their best area for improvement as so many say that.

Poor Accessibility & Follow Up
June 5, 2022
We are booked for a trip to France in 2022. Everything looks wonderful, but the only issue is no one is ever available to talk with you. If you’re older or not comfortable strictly using email, I suggest you find a different agency.

PatriciaBlakeslee June 14, 2022

I too am having difficulty contacting customer service, no response to emails, phone contact, chat...

RobertaJohnson June 21, 2022

I have tried multiple times to contact EF GoAhead tours regarding our flights. I have emailed twice and I am now on hold at their customer service phone number ( and have been for over an hour). They need to step up their customer service if they want future tour attendees.

PamPearce August 18, 2022

Exactly!!!

Great Tours with exceptional guides!
May 29, 2022

Traveling with EF has been wonderful. I have been on 2 tours and got nothing but the best guides. The hotels, food, transportation and cost were awesome.

I recommend EF because they work with you on making the experience A+. Greece and the Tuscany Wine Tour was over the top. EF even let me extend my stay and fly home later.

The excursions are great, and it also allows for touring on your own time.

No contact with company?
July 18, 2021
If not for there tours and guides I wold NOT WALK but run from this company. Absolutely no contact with company either via telephone or email! NONE!!!!

A.Harrower May 19, 2022

That has been my problem also. They don't answer calls, emails, etc. I paid $198 down and they said I could cancel anytime before June 20. Now I don't think I will ever get that money back if I cancel.

Would not refund trip THEY cancelled
April 1, 2020

Our trip was to be in May 2020 and was cancelled by Go Ahead due to the Coronavirus after we had paid the full cost of the trip for two. When contacted about a refund, the only way we would NOT lose our deposit of $600 was if we allowed them to keep the entire amount paid until the trip was rescheduled or changed to another tour.

We asked them to refund everything EXCEPT the deposit and carry the deposit until another trip could be scheduled. They refused to consider carrying our deposit. The only way to get our $6000 payment back was to lose our $600 deposit.

After several wonderful tours, Go Ahead proved themselves to be unconcerned about our financial loss or hardships caused by their inflexibility.

MarshaHanson December 01, 2020

The same thing happened to me. They are running a scam. Do not use this company to book travel. They will never return your deposit if for some valid reason you have to cancel.

Have not yet taken tour.....
June 30, 2015
I am scheduled for Rural Landscapes of Ireland & Britain and so far am not happy with their customer service. On numerous occasions I have tried to reach them with no luck. Seems like after you book and pay no one wants to deal with you any longer. Hope the tour is better than their customer service.

PamPearce August 18, 2022

True

The Trip of a lifetime!
July 22, 2013
I traveled with Go Ahead Tours last May and could not have been happier! The food was great, the tour guides were knowledgeable, and the sights we're amazing. Highly recommended!