Gilt.com Reviews

Gilt.com
( 11 reviews )
Website: www.Gilt.com

About Gilt.com

Paying lower prices than the Suggested Retail Price is enticing, on Gilt.com there are tons of sales on anything you could possible imagine and discounts can be as high as 60% off of SRP. Subscribers can login to the site to view upcoming sales and see previews of specific items that will be available when the sale opens.

Membership to Gilt.com is free; becoming a member of their community enables you to access all of their exclusive sales. Each sale is only available for a couple of days, when factoring in the limited inventory and the number of members shopping on their site, it is easy to understand why there is urgency to buy an item you want as soon as you see it.

Not only can you take advantage of discounts offered for thousands of items through Gilt.com, but you can actually receive additional discounts. With their credit point reward program you can earn points to save even more money on your purchases. Points are applied to your account when you order specially marked items from certain vendors or by simply referring new members to their site.

Online reviews regarding the Gilt Groupe’s sales, products and customer service showed that many customers were satisfied with their experience. There were, however, other customers that did not share that same opinion.

Buying products on Gilt is easy; the hard part is waiting for your new purchase to arrive. Customers complained that they had to wait an extremely long time to receive their order; in fact, some of them waited over a month for their items to ship.

Other customers were unhappy with the quality of the clothing that was sent to them. They noticed that the merchandise looked worn and even discovered that what was supposed to be a designer piece was actually a knockoff. Customer service seemed to be another factor that contributed to poor online reviews; this was due to the agents’ lack of follow through and their careless attitude in response to customers’ problems.

Another topic of complaint was the return policy. Although the site makes it seem as if you able to return an item easily, there are many conditions that make it impossible to get your money back. Although it seemed as if a refund was easily obtainable, customers were typically issued store credits instead.

When there is a small window of time to make a purchase for something you see, the urgency is escalated and the product is more desirable. Read all of the details outlined in the return policies for each item because they are all different. If you rush into an order without reading the fine print, it is possible to discover that an item is deemed as a “Final Sale.”

You may also be interested in

11 ‘Gilt.com ’ Reviews
  • Sort Reviews By:

Buyer beware not what you think you will get!
June 13, 2021
Do not order anything from these criminals. I ordered cream for my face and they sent a totally different item...Wish I had read the reviews prior! Scam scam scam!!!! Do not waste your time as you will not get what you ordered!

Love the Cartier Watch; slow to ship
March 5, 2021

I bought my fiance a Cartier Pasha watch. It was a great price for a preowned watch. I saved a lot of money. It did take a couple weeks to ship but it arrived today and while it did not come in a fancy box, needless to say not Cartier, the watch is awesome! It appears/feels to be authentic and it looks new.

I am very happy overall!

Fake products And no refund after returning it
November 11, 2019

Be where of this company they will sell you fake products. I have return my products over a month ago without any site of a refund.. Been writing them for weeks and every day they keep on sending me the same email your refund will be processed would win 7 to 10 days. This is been going on for over a month! All of the beauty product or fake do not buy it!

Tom G March 05, 2021

I received authentic Cartier watch. Love it. Beware reviews from someone who spells Be where.

Susan C December 05, 2019

You can file a dispute with your credit card company

Susan C December 05, 2019

Contact your credit card company and file a dispute

Awesome
January 20, 2019

My purchase of home goods turned out to be a very pleasant experience. Keep up the good work Thank you!

Worst online vendor ever. Crooks. Buyer beware as they will send you something NOT what you ordered and not offer returns.
May 18, 2018
I shop for EVERYTHING online from groceries to clothing to furnishings. This was my first order form the Gilt Group and it was a rather expensive dining room table. The first time it arrived, it was severely damaged and had to be returned (2 holes that actually went thru the table form a fork lift). The second time when it arrived, it was almost comical. It was SO FAR from the item pictured. I immediately contacted them with pictures snipped from their site and the actual photo of the table that arrived and they look nothing alike. Nothing. They will not take the table back. They will not issue a refund. They will not even acknowledge that it’s not even close to what they have advertised. I walked the photos around my office and got 12 separate opinions. Everyone said that it was not even the same table. I am not being dramatic, but this company is criminal. I should have never strayed from Wayfair or Amazon. Both have impeccable customer service when it comes to all aspects of purchases and returns.

Carol a August 13, 2019

the same experience with me!!! beware of this company!

Never buy from Gilt.com
January 21, 2018
Never never buy from them. I've ordered Modloft bed back in November 2017, they promised to deliver it by end of December. After my multiple follow ups with them they told that the order can be delivered by the end of January. 1/19 I've received an email that the order cannot be delivered at all (they still have this product advertised on their website). Stay away from this retailer. They can cancel your order without any reason. They are not committed to customer satisfaction, very poor communication level. I wish read some reviews before ordering from them.

Buyer Beware - Faudsters, Misleading and Deceptive
December 16, 2017

I have worked in the retail sector for the past 15 years and for many years studied/worked in the legal industry in Australia (including consumer law). In all my years I have never seem such deception of consumers trust as I have experienced with Gilt. With the background I have I can surely appreciate the notion of mark-ups and retailers having this as their source of gross profit; however, to have such blatant and misleading practises on this point is outside the scope of what is reasonable and fair. The consumer should be able to trust that the retailer is giving them fair value for a product and not out to rip them off

I purchased a 'Kate Spade' Branded brangle for USD $89 marked down from USD $168 on the Gilt site, only to find inside the package a hangtag with a suggested retail from the original designer was USD $58.

I sent a complaint and Gilt stated they only price match with ourselves and not competitors. This provides absolutely no accountability especially on a product that they are on-selling as a middleman. They marketed it as a Kate Spade product (which it is as the hangtag in my package shows) and as such should be held accountable to the suggested retail pricing as that is FAIR VALUE of the product they are selling Further and even more concerning they should definitely not inflate the suggested retail price to over 280% (their suggested retail of USD $168) while marketing themselves as a designer discounted company.

The company then tried to palm of the blame as a mistaken tag in the package and the product being something differnt yet provided no evidence that it was besides their word. Clear skirting of responsibility.

This is completely disgusting behaviour from a retailer and I hope the appropriate ombusman in whatever country Gilt is registered shuts them down!

Dishonest merchant with pathetic customer service
November 22, 2016

I purchased an inexpensive canvas from gilt.com. I was shocked when I received the notification that it would take 2.5 to 3 months for the item to ship. I quickly proceeded to contact them and request that the order be cancelled. The response was that given that the item was in their warehouse and was being prepared for shipment, they couldn't cancel the order. Really?!?!? An endless exchange of emails and phone calls back and forth - all indicating that the order cannot be canceled as the item is being prepared to be shipped and that it would arrive in February...3 MONTHS from now!!! I am unaware of any shipping method in this century that would take this long and yet they would not proceed to cancel the order. That's a very dishonest excuse.

This is the absolute worst experience I have ever encountered from any eCom sites. And to think that a high end retailer like Saks Fifth bought gilt.com is beyond comprehension.

I used to buy from them regularly but I will never transact with them again...ever!

unethical. scam.
January 29, 2016
I referred a friend to Gilt city and in doing so, you get a $20 voucher if your refferal makes their first purchase. I wanted to purchase a Spa package on Gilt but when I was checking out their was no credit for $20. I contacted Gilt City about not being able to redeem my referral credit of $20 but they said I said it should apply but when I get check out and ready to pay it didn't show up. I believe this is a scam on Gilt's part. Their customer service is horrible. Consumers beware of their referral as they do not grant it as they say. I will never buy at Gilt City again. BUYERS BEWARE!

Never again
August 31, 2015
I gott a handbag that was damaged I was told too bad it can't be returned

Rosemarie S May 31, 2021

So glad I read reviews before ever ordering! What's with their designer clothes line?

I believe they may be taking photos from top line magazines ( photo ops)

This site cannot be trusted, very poor customer service
December 2, 2013
i bought a very expensive handbag that i paid thousands of dollars for as a brand new item. it arrived heavily creased in the leather of all 4 corners of the bag. the website states if an item arrives damaged they will refund your money. not only did they refused a refund they were extremely unprofessional placing blame on the parcel post ,my blurry photos , lack of rips in the bag as reasons for not honoring a refund. They lack reponsability for the items they are selling, and could care less about customer service. the item looks used.

Lupin December 06, 2013

Gilt sucks